Self Insurer’s Tax

Filing frequency: Annual
Filing due: March 31
Payment frequency: Annual if prior year’s taxes were less than $10,000 Quarterly prepayments if taxes were more than $10,000
Payment due: Annual: March 31 Quarterly: March 31, April 30, July 31, October 31
Forms: TC-420, not available online, must electronically through Taxpayer Access Point
Statutes: §34A-2
Rules: R865-11Q-1
Information: Employers authorized by the Utah Labor Commission to provide their own worker’s compensation coverage must pay Self Insurer’s tax. The tax is the amount equivalent to the premium taxes that would have been paid under the admitted insurer tax by an insurance carrier.
Translate »

Please note . . .

TAP Scheduled Upgrade

Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) will be upgraded Friday, December 11 at 5:00pm through Monday, December 14 at 7:00am. TAP will be unavailable during this time.

Please note . . .

TC-69 Form Usually Requires Additional Schedules

When submitting a TC-69 paper form, you MUST also include the appropriate schedule(s). If you do not include the correct schedule(s), your business registration will be delayed.

Note: To save time and ensure all needed schedules are included, you can apply for a tax account online.

Effective: June 1, 2024 – To improve efficiency, we are moving all Utah State Business and Tax Registrations (TC-69 and related schedules) online.

Please note . . .

Sales tax filing is changing

All Utah sales and use tax returns and other sales-related tax returns must be filed electronically, beginning with returns due Nov. 2, 2020. File electronically using Taxpayer Access Point at tap.utah.gov.

This includes:

  • Third quarter, July-Sept 2020 (quarterly filers)
  • September 2020 (monthly filers)
  • Jan – Dec 2020 (annual filers)
  • All related schedules

You can continue to the PDF form below, or go to TAP to register and begin filing electronically now—no need to wait until the deadline!