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Utah State Tax Commission

• Monthly webinars of various tax topics.

• Ability to access the recording and presentation after the event.

• Free to all attendees.



Utah State Tax Commission Monthly Webinars
tax.utah.gov/training/webinars



Utah Tax Collection Topics



Topics

• Prepayments
• Extension Requirements
• Payment Agreements
• Tax Liens
• Outside Collection Agencies
• Waivers for Penalty and Interest
• Offer in Compromise
• Voluntary Disclosure Agreements



Prepayments
Individual Income Tax

Estimated prepayments are not required for 
individual income tax prior to April 15th.
• Prepayments can be made to reduce the tax you owe at the 

end of the year.

• May be required to qualify for an extension to avoid penalty. 



Prepayments
Corporate Income Tax

Quarterly Payments
• Every corporation having a Utah tax liability of $3,000 or more in the current tax year, or a tax 

liability of $3,000 or more in the previous tax year, must make quarterly estimated tax payments. 

• A corporation does not need to make quarterly estimated tax payments the first year it files in Utah 
if it pays the minimum tax on or before the due date, without the extension.

• Quarterly estimated payments are due on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th months of the 
corporation’s tax year, unless federal action changes the federal quarterly due dates.

• Corporations may elect to make the quarterly estimated tax payments equal to 100 percent of the 
prior year’s tax in four equal payments, or 90 percent of the current year’s tax based on the 
percentages below. As defined in UC §59-7-504(2), the applicable percentage of the required 
payment for annualized



Prepayments
Corporate Income Tax

Exceptions to Penalty on Estimated Tax
• Recurring Seasonal Exception- A corporation 

with recurring seasonal income may annualize 
its income before determining the amount of 
each estimated tax installment. Follow federal 
guidelines to determine seasonal income.

• If the corporation meets the seasonal exception 
at the federal level for any installment, check 
the appropriate box(es) on form TC-20, line 15.



Utah Tax Due Date
Individual Income Tax

When to File and Pay
• You must file your return and pay any tax due: 

1. by April 15, 2025, if you file on a calendar year basis (tax year ends Dec. 31, 2024); 
or

2. by the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year ends, if you file on a 
fiscal year basis. 

*If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is the next 
business day.

Note: The due date may change if the IRS changes the due date of the federal return. 

• You must pay all Utah income taxes for the tax year by the due date. You may be subject 
to penalties and interest if you do not file your return on time or do not pay all income 
tax due by the due date. See Penalties and Interest.

https://incometax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=466


Extension of Time to File
Individual Income Tax

Extensions of Time to File
• This is NOT an extension of time to pay your taxes – it is an extension to file your return.
• You get an automatic extension of up to six months to file your return. You do not need to file an extension 

form, but penalties will be assessed if you have not met the prepayment requirements.
• See instructions for line 40. All extension returns must be filed by Oct. 15, 2025.

Prepayment Requirements for Filing Extension
• You must prepay by the original due date:

• 90 percent of your current year tax due (TC-40, line 27 plus line 30);
• 100 percent of your previous years tax liability (2023 TC-40, line 27 plus line 30); or
• 90 percent of your 2024 tax due (TC-40, line 27 plus line 30) if you did not have a Utah tax liability 

in 2023 or if this is your first-year filing.

• You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, 1099-R, etc.), payments applied from 
previous year refunds, credits and credit carryovers, or payments made by the tax due date using 
form TC-546, Individual Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, or at tap.utah.gov. Interest is assessed 
on unpaid tax from the original filing due date until the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-546.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-546.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-546.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-546.pdf
http://tap.utah.gov/


Utah Tax Due Date
Corporations - Partnerships

Corporation and Partnership Due Dates:

Returns must be filed, and payments must be submitted on or before the 15th day 
of the fourth month following the close of the tax year or the due date of the 
federal return, whichever is later. 

*If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date becomes the next business day.

Note: The due date may change if the IRS changes the due date of the federal 
return. 



Extension of Time to File
Corporations

Corporations are automatically allowed an extension of up to six months to file a return without 
filing an extension form.

• This is NOT an extension of time to pay your taxes – it is only an extension of time to file 
your  return. 

• To avoid penalty, the prepayment requirements must be met on or before the 
original return due date, and the return must be filed within the six-month extension 
period.

Extension Prepayments
• Extension prepayments must equal 90 percent of the current year’s tax liability (or the 

$100 minimum tax, whichever is greater) or 100 percent of the previous year’s tax 
liability.

• The tax used to compute the 90 percent amount includes the interest on installment 
sales and the recapture of low-income housing credit on the return.

Use form TC-559, Corporation/Partnership Payment Coupon to make the estimated 
prepayments.



Extension of Time to File
Partnerships

• Partnerships are automatically allowed an extension of up to five months to file a 
return without filing an extension form.

• This is NOT an extension of time to pay taxes – it is only an extension of time to file 
your return. 

• To avoid penalty, the partnership must pre-pay 100% of the current years tax 
liability on or before the original return due date and the return must be filed 
within the five-month extension period.



Payment Agreements
Individual Income Taxes

General Information:
• If you owe tax and are unable to pay the full amount, you may request a pay plan.

• When you enter into a pay plan agreement with the Utah State Tax Commission, you agree to 
complete specific actions by a given date. If those actions are not completed on time, there are 
consequences. 

• Generally, you may have up to 24 months to pay. However, it is better to pay the amount you 
owe as soon as you can to reduce the amount of interest you will pay.

• By approving your request, we agree to let you pay the tax you owe in monthly payments 
instead of immediately paying the tax in full. In return you agree to make your monthly 
payments on time. 

• You also agree to meet all of your future tax liabilities. This means that you must have enough 
withholding or prepayments so that your future tax liability is paid in full when you file a timely 
return.

• Any future year refunds due you from the Internal Revenue Service or the State will be applied 
against the amount you owe.



Payment Agreements
Individual Income Taxes

Important Notes:
• A pay plan cannot be set up until we process your return and determine the balance due. 

Payment plans are to be set up after the tax due date to allow you to pay as much as 
possible to reduce penalty and interest.

• You may request a pay plan for individual income tax online at tap.utah.gov, or over the 
phone at 801-297-7703 (800-662-4335 ext. 7703), or by sending in form TC-804, Individual 
Income Tax Payment Agreement Request to the Utah State Tax Commission.

• Pay plan requests are considered after your return is processed. If accepted, you will 
receive an email stating the terms and conditions of the agreement. A pay plan does 
not stop penalty and interest from accruing, and we may still file a tax lien to secure 
the debt.

• You may make payments prior to approval of the pay plan or receiving a billing notice.

Pay Plans are not a statutory right. They are a service offered by the Utah State Tax 
Commission and are subject to guidelines enforced by the Customer Service functional area.

http://tap.utah.gov/
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804.pdf


Payment Agreements
Individual Income Taxes – TC-804



Payment Agreements
Business Taxes

General Information:
• If you owe tax and are unable to pay the full amount, you may request a pay plan.

• When you enter into a pay plan agreement with the Utah State Tax Commission, you 
agree to complete specific actions by a given date. If those actions are not completed on 
time, there are consequences. 

• Time allowed to re-pay is based on the tax liability and type of business entity. However, 
it is better to pay the amount you owe as soon as you can to reduce the amount of 
interest you will pay.



Payment Agreements
Business Taxes

Important Notes:
• A pay plan cannot be set up until we process your return and determine the balance due. 

• You may request a pay plan for business taxes either online at tap.utah.gov, over the 
phone at 801-297-7703 (800-662-4335 ext. 7703), or by sending in form TC-804B, Business 
Tax Payment Agreement Request to the Utah State Tax Commission. If approved, you will 
receive an email confirming the acceptance of your request.

• Because all payment plan approvals and monthly reminders are sent by email, you must 
provide an email through your TAP account for e-reminder or contact our offices.

• You must agree to timely meet all of your future tax liabilities.

• A pay plan does not stop the accrual of penalty and interest. If you do not pay in full by the 
return due date, whether you request a payment agreement, any balance due will be 
subject to penalty and interest and a lien may be filed to secure the debt.

http://tap.utah.gov/
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804b.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804b.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804b.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804b.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-804b.pdf


Payment Agreements
Business Taxes



Utah Tax Liens

• A tax lien is a judgment filed by the Tax Commission against a taxpayer’s real or 
personal property when they neglect or refuse to pay a Utah tax balance.

• A lien is a public document that lists a delinquent taxpayer’s personal or business 
name, the tax type and amount owed at the time the lien is filed. The Tax Commission 
may use a lien to seize and sell a taxpayer’s real and personal property, if necessary, to 
pay a tax balance.

• If a person or business has a payment agreement with the Tax Commission, we may 
file a lien to secure that debt. If the payments are made as agreed, we will not take 
action on the lien.

• If we file a lien against you, we will send a certified Notice of Lien to the address listed 
on your account.



Utah Tax Liens

Liens will remain in place until the debt is satisfied.

• Tax liens may be issued against any business or individual with unpaid tax liability.

• In certain situations, a personal tax lien may be issued against owners/partners of a 
business for unpaid trust taxes.

The statute of limitations requires a lien to be issued within three years from the assessment 
date. Liens expire ten years from the assessment date and cannot be reissued.



Nonpayment Penalty Assessment

A nonpayment penalty assessment (NPPA) is based on UCA §59-1-302. An NPPA is a tool used to 
collect unpaid trust fund taxes from the personal assets of a responsible person. This penalty is 
not assessed against a proprietor or general partner of a business entity because they are already 
personally responsible for any unpaid trust fund taxes. 

The NPPA applies to: Sales and Use Tax Prepared Food Tax

Transient Room Tax Withholding Tax

Resort Communities Tax Municipal Telecommunications 
License Tax

Fuel Tax (Motor Fuel, Clean Fuel, 
Special Fuel, Aviation Fuel)

Municipal Energy Tax

Cannabinoid Products



Utah Tax Liens

In the event an account can not be resolved, the Tax Commission may 
commence any of the following:

• Revocation of tax license(s)

• Garnish bank or wages

• Seize assets of business or personal items and may include real property.



Utah Tax Liens

Removing a Tax Lien

There are two ways to have a lien withdrawn:

• Pay the full balance of the tax, penalty and interest. When the outstanding tax, 
penalty and interest have been paid, the lien will be withdrawn.

• Prove to the Tax Commission that the lien was issued in error.

Even after a lien is withdrawn it will still be listed in public records as set aside.



Utah Tax Liens

How Tax Liens Affect Your Credit Rating

• Credit reporting agencies have access to county records. A state tax lien may prevent you 
from selling or refinancing property and can make it difficult to acquire credit.

• When a lien against you is withdrawn, the Tax Commission will send you a Notice to Credit 
Bureaus. Send a copy of this notice to the credit bureau(s).

• For more information about liens, contact the Customer Service Functional Area at 801-
297-7703 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7703.



Outside Collection Agencies 
(OCA)

An account may be assigned to an outside collection agency if the following occurs:

• There is an active collection, and the debt is not fiduciary.
• The assessment date of at least one period is older than twelve months.
• Balance is greater than $100.
• Taxpayer(s) is not deceased.

If a taxpayer's balance has been assigned to an outside collection agency,  the taxpayer will need to contact 
the agency directly to resolve their balance.

• Current OCA Vendors: 

• InteLogix (GC Services Limited Partnership)
725 Tollgate Rd, Suite E
Elgin, IL 60123
800-964-7921

• Professional Credit Services
P.O. Box 7548
Springfield, OR 97475
866-786-5135



U.S. Treasury Offset Program

• The Treasury Offset Program (TOP) is a government-wide debt collection program administered 
by Financial Management Services (FMS), a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. This 
program allows for state agencies to intercept federal income tax refunds and apply them to 
delinquent state tax.

• The Tax Commission sends Notice of Lien and Intent to Offset by certified mail to the last known 
address of the taxpayer explaining their debt will be forwarded to TOP if not satisfied within 60 
days.

• Once TOP receives the debt, the federal income tax refund may be taken to pay down 
the state debt. This process is referred to as offset. Any remaining amount is sent to the 
debtor. 

• Financial Management Services mails notification to the taxpayer explaining why the federal refund was 
reduced. 

• The letter includes pertinent state agency contact information and explains it could take several weeks 
before the federal refund reaches the state agency. It may take up to four weeks or more to update to 
USTC records.



U.S. Treasury Offset Program
• To avoid the treasury offset, the taxpayer must take one of the actions described below within 60 days from 

the date of the certified Notice of Lien and Intent to Offset.

• Pay the Debt
• The taxpayer must pay the full amount listed on the Notice of Lien and Intent to Offset to the Utah State Tax 

Commission, using the coupon portion of the notice. The Utah State Tax Commission also accepts payments online 
by e-check or credit card at tap.utah.gov.

• Request a Review
• A taxpayer who believes that all or part of the debt is not due or legally enforceable may request a review of his or 

her account by writing to the Utah State Tax Commission, 210 N. 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134. Please include 
a detailed explanation and daytime telephone number. A review may take up to 60 days to complete and the 
taxpayer will be required to send documentation to support assertions. The taxpayer may call (801) 297-2200 or toll-
free 1-800-662-4335.

• Bankruptcy
• Taxpayers who have filed for bankruptcy and the automatic bankruptcy stay is in effect may notify the Tax 

Commission at (801) 297-6219 or toll-free 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6219, OR they can send evidence concerning the 
bankruptcy to the Tax Commission at 210 N. 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134, ATTN: Bankruptcy Unit.

• Native American
If you are an enrolled tribal member and believe that all or part of the debt is not past due or legally enforceable, 
you may request a review of your account by calling (801) 297-2200 or toll-free 1-800-662-4335. You may be 
required to send documentation to support your statements.

http://tap.utah.gov/


Waivers of Penalty or Interest

• Return needs to be filed
• Posted to system

• Amount equal to the tax needs to be paid
• Posted to system
• Sales Tax monthly filers

• Excludes seller discount amount

• Penalty and Interest do not have to be paid for a waiver request to be submitted for 
review.

• Interest continues to accrue on any unpaid balance each month.
• Interest can only be waived when it can be proved that USTC caused the error.

• A waiver cannot be submitted for the same period twice
• We will send a rejection letter



The Waiver Process
• Waiver Request Letter

• Request must be put in writing
• Email waivers@utah.gov
• TAP request
• Fax – 801-297-6358
• Mail – 210 N 1950 W  Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
• Cannot waive based on a verbal request

• Name
• Address
• Phone Number
• Account Number
• Periods Involved
• What is Being Requested to be Waived?

• Penalty, interest or both
• We cannot waive lien, garnishment fees or audit penalties

• Stated Reason
• Clear and Detailed Explanation
• Supporting Documentation

mailto:waivers@utah.gov


The Waiver Process
• Reasonable Cause

• Pub. 17
• Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 

• Compliance History
• We review the previous three years
• Each tax type reviewed separately

• Large Dollar Waiver
• Total penalties and interest requested add up to more than $10,000
• Decision made by the Commissioners

• Denied Waivers
• Have 30-days from waiver decision to appeal

• Petition for Redetermination, TC-738
• Completed and sent to Appeals Unit



The Waiver Process
Reasonable Cause



Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA)

General Information
• Companies that have established a direct representational or economic presence in Utah must 

collect, file and pay certain taxes. The Tax Commission’s Voluntary Disclosure Program is designed to 
help businesses voluntarily resolve prior business tax liabilities. You may anonymously contact the 
Voluntary Disclosure Program to seek resolution of these liabilities and may benefit by avoiding 
penalties and receiving a limited look-back period.



Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA)

Voluntary Disclosure Process
Program Application

To apply for the Voluntary Disclosure Program, complete form TC-43, Voluntary Disclosure Program 
Application and email it to nexus@utah.gov. Get TC-43 online at tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs.

If you want to apply anonymously, do not disclose the name of the company or any information 
that could easily identify the company until you sign the agreement.

• Application Review
When we receive your completed application, we will review the specific facts and 
circumstances.

• The period of time for which an applicant pays back taxes and interest is:
1. usually three years
2. less than three years, if the company established a direct representational or economic presence 

in Utah less than three years before applying for the program; or
3. more than three years, if the unpaid tax is sales tax, withholding tax or another trust tax that the 

company collected or withheld more than three years ago.
4. Note: You will have to pay interest on the unpaid tax liabilities.

mailto:nexus@utah.gov
https://tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs
https://tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs
https://tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs


Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA)

Executing the Agreement
• If we accept your application, we will prepare an official Voluntary Disclosure Agreement (VDA). 

We may void the agreement if we find any material misrepresentations in the information 
received in support of the agreement. In that case, we may assess additional tax, penalty and 
interest.

• We will forward the VDA to your representative once we have approved and signed the 
agreement. You will then have 90 days to sign and return the VDA. Once you have signed, you 
will have 30 days to provide all requested information, registration, returns and schedules.

• After we receive all the required documentation, we will issue an assessment, and you will have 
30 days to pay. Payment plans are not offered through the VDA.

• If we do not receive your payment within 30 days, we will impose a penalty for failure to pay, 
and interest will continue to accrue.



Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA)



Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
(VDA)

Contact Information
You can contact the Utah Voluntary Disclosure Program at:

Voluntary Disclosure Program
Special Services Division
Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84134
Phone: 801-297-6299
Fax: 801-297-6358
E-mail: nexus@utah.gov

For voluntary disclosures involving more than one state you may contact the Multistate Tax 
Commission’s National Nexus Program for a streamlined, multi-state disclosure process at:

Director, National Nexus Program
Multistate Tax Commission
444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 425
Washington, DC 20001-1538
Phone: 202-695-8140
E-mail: nexus@mtc.gov
Website: mtc.gov

mailto:nexus@utah.gov
mailto:nexus@mtc.gov
http://mtc.gov/


Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

General Information
• An Offer in Compromise is the settlement of a tax liability for less than full payment. The Tax 

Commission will only accept an Offer in Compromise when we find we cannot collect the full 
amount of the tax liability. 

• You have the burden of proof to justify a settlement and provide enough documentation to prove 
your case.

* You do not have a legal right to an Offer in Compromise agreement.

Who Qualifies? We will only consider an Offer in Compromise Request after a review of 
your assets, liabilities, income and expenses.

Who Does NOT Qualify? You do not qualify for an Offer in Compromise if:
1. you have not filed all Utah tax returns;
2. you are involved in an open bankruptcy;
3. you can pay the tax liabilities within a reasonable amount of time; or
4. you and the Tax Commission have not thoroughly explored all other collection options.



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

Ability to Pay
• You must base your offer on the maximum amount of the liability you can pay. We will 

consider several factors to determine your capacity to pay. For example:
• Liquidation of assets and ongoing payments will not fully pay the tax liability.
• A non-liable spouse has property he or she may be willing to sell.
• A non-liable third party may consider buying your business assets.
• Amounts may be collectable through the successor liability or personal assessments 

programs.

Payment Terms
• You must pay by certified funds within 30 days of acceptance. If you are paying with personal 

check or credit card, it may take an additional 30 days to satisfy your liens.



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

Submitting an Offer Request
Complete and submit an Offer in Compromise Request, form TC-410. You must include a 
completed TC-805 for individuals and/or TC-803 for businesses.
• If the offer is being submitted by a third party, a Power of Attorney or form TC-737 must be attached.

• See the Offer in Compromise Request Checklist on the next slide for additional required documentation.

Requirements
• An Offer in Compromise Request must cover the total account liability. If we accept your offer, 

the liability for the period(s) covered by the offer is fully settled (with the exception of future 
audits).

*We will reject your Offer in Compromise Request if the information is incomplete or you have 
not provided all the required documentation.



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

How to Submit
• If your account is assigned to a collection agent, submit your Offer in Compromise Request to that 

agent.

• If your account is NOT assigned to a collection agent, send your Offer in Compromise Request to:
OIC/Waiver Unit
Utah State Tax Commission
210 N 1950
Salt Lake City, UT 84134

Reviewing Your Offer Request
• We will review your Offer in Compromise Request based on the information you provide.
• Note that additional information may be requested.
• If you do not qualify to have your Offer in Compromise Request considered, we will send you an 

Unmet Criteria letter



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

Collection Actions
We may suspend collection actions while we review your Offer in Compromise Request 
and, if we reject or deny your offer, for 30 days after the official denial.

Exceptions:
• We will continue collection actions if your offer seems frivolous or appears to be a delay tactic.

• Payments required due to an active payment agreement or garnishment must continue to be 
paid while the Offer in Compromise Request is being reviewed and are not considered part of the 
offered amount.

• If a garnishment is in place against you when you submit an Offer in Compromise Request, the 
garnishment will proceed. If your Offer in Compromise Request is accepted, the garnishment will 
be released at that time.



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

Approved Offers

• We will notify you in writing if we approve your Offer in Compromise Request.

• We will release all tax liens within 30 days of receiving your full offer payment. For an 
immediate lien release, you must pay with cash or certified funds.



Offer In Compromise
(OIC)

Denied or Rejected Offers
• We will notify you in writing if we deny or reject your Offer in Compromise Request. There are no 

appeal rights for a denied offer.
• You may discuss the denial reason(s) by contacting the collection agent noted on the denial letter. The 

agent will explain the denial and may schedule an appointment with you to discuss it further.

If you remain unsatisfied, you may either:
1. resubmit with missing documentation or increased offer amount if your offer is rejected; 
2. request a final review with Taxpayer Services Division Management. Send a written request to the 

Offer in Compromise Unit that includes:
•  A copy of the Denial of Offer letter.
• An explanation of why an additional review is justified.
• Any additional information or documents which were not included in your original Offer in Compromise 

Request.

*After division management finishes reviewing your written request, we will send a final written decision to 
you and your personal representative.



Tax Commission Resources
Contact Us

Practitioner Hotline 801-297-7790   or  1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790

Customer Service – payment processing & liens 801-297-2200   or   1-800-662-4335

Taxpayer Resources Unit – basic tax questions 801-297-7705   or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7705

TAP Support 801-297-3996 or   1-800-662-4335  ext. 3996

Email:  tapsupport@utah.gov

Taxpayer Advocate Service 801-297-7562 or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7562

Email taxmaster@utah.gov

Online Resources

Tax Commission Website tax.utah.gov

Forms and Publications tax.utah.gov/forms

Online Services (TAP) tap.utah.gov

Tax Practitioner Information tax.utah.gov/taxpros

Individual Income Tax incometax.utah.gov

Tax Training tax.utah.gov/training

X (formerly Twitter)
Facebook
Instagram

@UtahStateTax
Utah State Tax Commission
utahstatetaxcommission
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