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* Monthly webinars of various tax topics.

* Ability to access the recording and presentation after the event.

* Free to all attendees.




Utah State Tax Commission Monthly Webinars

tax.utah.gov/training/webinars

Information presented in past webinar recordings is current as of the date of the recording
and may not reflect legislative and other subsequent changes. For the most up-to-date
information, please refer to our Forms and Publications and our Recent Info and Tax Law
Changes page.

Each month, the Tax Commission holds live public

webinars on various tax topics, with access to the
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Process 2025 PDF
May 15, 2025 - Basics of What is Taxable and
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Sales Tax Licensing Requirements
and the Application Process




Who Needs a Sales and Use
Tax License?




Who Needs a Sales & Use Tax License?

Sellers with Utah nexus:

Nexus means a business has established a physical or economic presence in Utah or is
related to a business with a physical presence in Utah.

Definition of a “seller” 59-12-102 (121)

(a) “Seller” means a person that makes a sale, lease or rental of:
(i) tangible personal property
(ii) a product transferred electronically; or
(i) a service

(b) “Seller” includes a marketplace facilitator.




Who Needs a Sales & Use Tax License?

You have a physical presence in Utah if you:

 Have an office, warehouse, service center, etc.
* Maintain a stock of goods in Utah.

* Regularly solicit orders in Utah.
* Exception: Your Utah activity is only advertising or soliciting by mail,
email, internet, phone or similar means.

* Personally deliver property to Utah other than by common carrier.

* Lease or service property in Utah.




Who Needs a Sales & Use Tax License?

You have an economic presence in Utah if during the year or the prior
year you:

e Have more than $100,000 of sales in Utah; or

* Have more than 200 sales in Utah.
e 2025 SB 47 has repealed this 200 sales transaction threshold effective July 1, 2025

A seller also has nexus in Utah if:

* The seller has more than 10 percent interest in a related seller, or
* A related seller has more than 10 percent interest in the seller, or
* A related seller wholly owns the seller; and

* The seller sells the same or very similar line of products as the related seller under
the same or a very similar business name, or
* The related seller’s place of business or one of its in-state employees is used to
advertise, promote or assist sales by the seller.




What is Sales and Use Tax?
Sales Tax vs. Use Tax...

Sales Tax:

e Tax is applied to retail sales and leases of tangible personal property, products
transferred electronically, and certain services.

* The seller collects the Sales Tax from the buyer and pays it to the Tax
Commission.

Use Tax:

» Sales Tax was due on the purchase, but it was not charged or collected by the
seller.

e Buyer sends Use Tax directly to Tax Commission.

Note: Situations where a company may have no taxable sales, but receives items tax free
that should have been taxed , must apply for a sales and use tax number to remit the use
tax. (contractors, etc. )



Marketplace Facilitators and Sellers

Definitions:
Marketplace

A physical or electronic place, platform or forum where products (tangible personal property, products
transferred electronically or services) are offered for sale. Examples include booths, websites, catalogs and

dedicated sales software applications.

Marketplace Facilitator

A person or an affiliate who is paid by sellers to facilitate sales of the seller’s products (tangible personal
property, products transferred electronically or services) through a marketplace the person or affiliate owns. A
marketplace facilitator does not include a person who only provides payment processing services or, as of July 1,
2020, facilitates sales for restaurants.

Marketplace facilitators are considered the seller of goods and services they facilitate and must charge and pay
sales tax, file returns and respond to audits.

Marketplace Seller

A seller that sells products through a marketplace, regardless of whether the seller is licensed in Utah.




Marketplace Facilitators and Sellers

* As of October 1, 2019, marketplace facilitators that have Utah nexus for their facilitated
sales must have a Utah sales tax license and collect, report and pay sales tax on
facilitated sales.

* A marketplace facilitator can have nexus on its own direct sales, on sales it facilitates, or
both. Therefore, facilitators must determine nexus separately for their direct sales and
their facilitated sales.

* Marketplace sellers do not need to have a Utah sales tax license for facilitated sales
unless they have Utah nexus. A marketplace seller with a Utah sales tax license must file
sales tax returns but does not report sales made through a marketplace. Marketplace
sellers are not liable for taxes a facilitator is required to collect.




More information regarding nexus can be found in Publication 37 on the
Tax Commission website at tax.utah.gov

PUBLICATION 37 Business Activity and
Nexus in Utah

Rev. 10/23

8 210 North 1950 West
Tl Tt Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
801-297-2200
1 5
This publication is provided for general n-:xouosgﬁa‘:la.::v

guidance only. It does not contain all Utah

tax laws or rules. For more information,
call 801-297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335.

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, email taxada@utah.gov,
or call 801-297-3811 or TDD 801-297-2020. Flease allow three working days for a response.
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Purpose 2. have or use an office, distribution house, sales house,

The purpose of this publication is to define nexus and pro- warehouse, service enterprise or other place of business;

vide general guidelines for determining whether a business 3. maintain a stock of goods in Utah;

entity’s activities create nexus with the state of Utah. 4. regularly solicit orders (whether or not those orders

are accepted in Utah), unless the activity in Utah is
H" S H only advertising or solicitation by direct mail, email, the

Def"“tlons Internet, telephone or similar means;

Nexus 3 f

5. regularly deliver property in Utah other than by common
Nexus means a business entity has established a direct or cagrrier gr us. m;)il: (I:r v v

representational presence within a state or jurisdiction. This
presence allows the state to require the business to collect
and pay certain taxes.
The standards are different for determining whether a
business has nexus for purposes of sales tax or corporate 1. a. the seller has more than 10 percent interest in a
franchise/income tax. related seller, or

b. arelated seller has more than 10 percent interest in

6. regularly engage in any activity related to the leasing or
servicing of property located in Utah.

A seller also has nexus in Utah if:
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What is subject to sales
and use tax?




What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

Sales, rentals or leases of tangible personal property is
subject to sales tax.

Tangible Personal Property (as defined in 59-12-102(136)). Property that can be: seen,
weighed, measured, felt, touched, or is in any manner perceptible to the senses.

Tangible Personal Property includes:

Electricity

Water

Gas

Steam

Prewritten software




/ What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

Products transferred electronically are subject to sales and use tax, including:

» Sales of products transferred electronically, if a physical copy of the product
would be taxable. (CD, DVD, disk, tape, etc):
* Music, Ring tones, Movies
* Reading material
» Software
 (including access to software hosted on the cloud)

For example, the purchase of a music CD is taxable, so
downloaded music is also taxable.




What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

Admission or user fees for :

* theaters * amusement parks e pool parlors * tennis courts

* movies * amusement rides * bowling lanes * swimming pools

e operas * circuses « golf * water slides

*  museums * fairs *  miniature golf * jeep tours

* planetariums * races e golf driving ranges * any other amusement,

* shows * contests * batting cages entertainment, recreation,

e exhibitions * sporting events e skating rinks exhibition, cultural or athletic
e concerts * dances e ski lifts activity.

e carnivals * boxing matches e skiruns

e closed circuit * wrestling matches e ki trails

television broadcasts

billiard parlors * snowmobile trails

User fees include access charges for videos, video games, television programs and cable or satellite
broadcasts, if that access occurs anywhere other than the buyer’s home.

e T PTTTLL




What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

* Labor to repair, renovate and clean tangible personal property and products transferred
electronically. This includes maintenance agreements.

* Sales of memberships that entitle the buyer to discounted or free merchandise or
services that are subject to sales tax.

* For example:

* Memberships that let card holders enter a warehouse and buy merchandise
free of additional markup.

* Video memberships that let members rent videos at a reduced price.

Note: All purchases made with these membership cards are subject to sales tax at the time of purchase
unless an exemption applies.




What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

The storage, use or consumption in Utah of tangible personal property and products
transferred electronically.

Laundry and dry cleaning services when the labor is not performed by the buyer.

Use of assisted amusement devices when the device or ride is not operated by the
buyer.

Assisted cleaning or washing of tangible personal property if the cleaning or washing
labor is not performed by the buyer.

Stays at tourist homes, hotels, motels, campgrounds, trailer courts and similar
accommodations usually rented for less than 30 consecutive days.

Meals (prepared food) at restaurants or other eating places.




What is Taxable?

Utah Code 59-12-103

Sales of grocery food. Taxed statewide at the rate of 3 percent. (Sales of prepared food
are taxed at the full combined rate.)

Sales for residential use of gas, electricity, heat, coal, fuel-oil or other fuels. These
products are taxed at the state rate of 2 percent plus any applicable local and/or public
transit tax.

Sales for commercial use of gas, electricity, heat, coal, fuel-oil or other fuels. (Sales of
these items for industrial use may qualify for an entity-based exemption.)

In-state telecom services

Sales of prepaid telephone calling cards, including vending machine sales of prepaid
telephone calling cards, if the card can be used for in-state calls.



Non-taxable items
and services




Real Property

Non-Taxable

2

Real Property is NOT subject to sales tax

* Any right, title, estate, or interest in land, including all permanent buildings or structures
on the land.

What qualifies as real property?

* The land itself
. Excegltion: Dirt, rocks, and plants that are extracted from the land and sold separately are
taxable.

* Permanent structures on the land
e Astructure is considered “permanent” if attached to the real property through a sub-surface
foundation of concrete or steel.

* Tangible personal property that has been converted to real property
* Tangible items that are integrated into the land or permanent structures on the land that cannot
be removed without substantial effort or damage to the land or structure.

Note: the last owner of the tangible personal property prior to conversion must pay the
sales or use tax.




Real Property

_ i , Tangible Personal Property Converted to Real Property . &= ——

Items that are tangible personal property then converted to real property.
* Sales or use tax is due from the last owner of the tangible personal property prior to
conversion into real property.

Example:
A contractor purchases nails in order to frame a house. The house is then sold.

* The contractor must either pay sales tax when he purchased the nails or pay use tax if he
purchased the nails tax free.
* Sales tax is not due on purchase of the home.

Sales tax treatment of real property vs tangible personal property attached
to real property covered in detail in our October 2023 webinar. For more
information on the tax implications of these items, please see Tax
Commission publication 42.




Common Non-Taxable Services

* Services performed on real property-(Contractor, landscaper, excavation, etc.)

e Services on a human- (Doctor, hairstylist, massage therapist, fingernails, etc.)

e Professional Services — (Attorney, accountant, architect, etc.)

* You are paying for a person’s expertise, not for labor on tangible property

* Lessons-(Karate , indoor skydiving, rock climbing or surfing if a trained instructor is included
and actively instructing the participant.)




Sales and Use Tax Exemptions
Utah code 59-12-104

* 3 types of exemptions

1. Who is purchasing the items (government, churches, schools, etc.)
2. What they are doing with the item (resale, manufacturing, out of state, etc.)

3. What is the item (hay, prescription drugs, newspapers etc.)
* If you ONLY sell exempt items, you are not required to apply for a sales tax number.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter12/59-12-S104.html

Sales Related Taxes and Fees

* Certain types of purchases may be subject to taxes in addition to sales and use
taxes due to the nature of the product or service. Common sales-related taxes
include:

* Restaurant tax

* Transient room taxes

 Motor vehicle and off highway rental taxes
e Waste tire recycling fee

» Lubricating oil recycling fee
 Multi-channel video or audio services tax
 Municipal telecommunication license tax

e Electric Vehicle Charging Tax

NOTE — For more information regarding sales related taxes, view our
December 2023 webinar.



https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1050
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1074
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1020
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1082
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1007
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1025
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1028

Sales Related Taxes and Fees
Utah Code References

Utah Code References

* Restaurant tax - §59-12 part 6

* Transient room taxes - §59-12 parts 3, 3A and 6

* Motor vehicle rental taxes- §59-12 parts 6 and 12

e Waste tire recycling fee - §19-6 part 8

e Lubricating oil recycling fee - §19-6-714

* Multi-channel video or audio services tax - §59-26

* Municipal telecommunication license tax - §10-1 part 4
e Electric Vehicle Charging Tax - §59-30

NOTE — For more information regarding sales related taxes, view our
December 2023 webinar.



https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1050
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1074
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1020
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1082
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1007
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1025
https://tax.utah.gov/index.php?page_id=1028
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Applying for a Utah Sales and Use Tax Account

Taxpayer Access Point

S freamlined Sales Tax™
Governing Board, Inc.




Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

tap.utah.gov

Taxpayer Access Point G"_ﬂ e

Can | Help?

Business Sign In

Forgot username or password?

e a profile?

Returns Payments
wWithout signing in, you can file these returns, download Make your payment. APPIY Dnline
and import return templates.

File these applications online,

>  File your current year individual income tax return > Make an e-Check payment

Download return templates > Make a credit card payment

> Import your TC-109, TC-116, or TC-23 template
> File your County Reimbursement - TC-90CY

> Apply for tax account(s) - TC-69

~  Cile CAIT Dot Y

> Apply for a waiver or a pay plan

» Apply for a letter of good standing




Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

tap.utah.gov

Business Registration

Business Registration

Introduction Instruction

Instruction

Are you a sole proprietor applying for a tax license and are not a U.S. citizen?

Sole Proprietor No Yes

Section Error

@ You cannot complete this application online.

To register your business with the Tax Commission you must appear in person and provide proof that you are in the United States lawfully under 8 U.S.C. 1641.

Please bring with you:

- A completed TC-69 (Utah State Business and Tax Registration)

- Your employment authorization card

- Documentation showing the 1-94 (arrival/departure) number

- Alien Registration Number issued by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service




Taxpayer Access

Business Registration

Introduction

Information

Cancel Save Draft

Q"ia/nu !

Type of Registration

Click Yes for all that apply

Sales and Use Tax License

Mo Yes

oyer Withholding License

Mo Yes

Mineral Production

Mo ¥es

nsurance Premium

Mo Yes

Self-Insured Employer

Mo Yes

Cable operator or multi-channel video or audio service provic

s}
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Mo Yes

Natural Gas or Electricity Purchases for Resale or Ti

Mo Yes

Fuel Tax License (motor fuel, special fuel, aviation fuel, hydrogen, environmental

assurance fee, CNG, LNG)

Mo Yes

————
nternational Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)

Mo Yes

Click here for a description of each Utah tax and fee(s).

Qil & Gas Conservation and Severance

Mo Yes

Radioactive Wast

Mo Yes

Mo Yes

garette Stamper - §30 License & Bond

Mo Yes

Beer Tax (distnbutor/manufacturer only)

Mo Yes

Mining Severance

Mo Yes

Mo Yes

Micotine License

<

Previous

Next




Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement
https://tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs/pub-04

< Home

Business Registration

Business Registration

Introduction Disclosure Help
Information Is this business registration a result of a Voluntary Disclosure Agreement?

Type of Registration No Yes

Previous Accounts Enter the VDA or MTC number from your agreement.

Disclosure

Your online session will timeout after 60 minutes of inactivity. Save your work if you will be away from your computer.

Cancel Save Draft < Previous Next >



https://tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs/pub-04

Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

Business Registration

Introduction Sales and Use Tax
Information

When will you start selling or making purchases? If you have a Streamlined Sales Tax (SST) number,
Account Information . enter it here:

01-May-2025

Sales and Use Tax Part 1

Estimate your annual net sales and purchases subject to tax.
Are you a cable operator or multi-channel video or audio service provider with

$16,001 - $800,000 N no Utah sales tax liability?
Click "YES' to voluntarily file monthly: No Yes
No Yes

£
Business Description Describe the nature of your business in detail (include the types of products sold)

Selling shirts and hats

Required

Your online session will timeout after 60 minutes of inactivity. Save your work if you will be away from your computer.

Cancel Save Draft < Previous Next




Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

Sales and Use Tax

1.Will you sell goods or services from only one fimed Lah business location (includes vending machine operators and door-to-door sellers with only one warehouse)?

Mo Yes

2.Will you sell goods or services from more than one fined UHah business location (includes vending machine operators and door-to-door sellers with more than ocne
warehouse)?

Mo Yes

Will you do one or both of the following:
a.) sell goods or services that are shipped from outside Utah to a Utah customer(s)?

b.) have goods or materials delivered from outside Utah to a location{(s) in Utah other than your fixed place of business?

Mo Yes

AWill you do multi-level marketing?
v If yes, complete and attach form TC-82MLM., Multilevel Marketing Agreement at the end of the submission.

Mo Yes

5.Will you charge admission or fees for any entertainment, recreation, exhibition, cultural or athletic activity
provided somewhere other than your business location?

Mo Yes

5

G\Will you provide services (cleaning., washing, dry cleaning., repairing or removating tangible personal property)
at non-fixed places of business and not sell tangible personal property?

Mo Yes

T.\Will you receive recurring payments for leases or rentals of tangible personal property or services?

el Yeas

B.Are you a seller with mo physical or representational presence in Utah who is selling goods or services shipped direct by U5, mail or common carrier to Utah
customers? S5ee Pub 37, Business Activity and MNexus in Utah.
* If yes, complete and attach form TC-51 at the end of the submission.

el Yeas

9. Are you a marketplace facilitator that makes sales of products (tangible personal property, products transferred electronically or services)? See Pub 37, Business Activity and
Mexus in Utah.
* If yes, complete and attach form TC-51 at the end of the submission.

Mo Yes
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Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

Sales and Use Tax

ou sell grocery food? Ses Pub Z5 for the definiton of groceny: food.
['f=} res

['f=} res
15 Ars you a restaurant? Ses Pub 25 for the definition of restaurant
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Sales and Use Tax

20. ' Will you sell taxable municipal energy?

o es

21. Do you provide only the transportation component of taxable energy delivered to the point of sale or use?

Mo Yes

22, Will ywou sell disposable cell phones or disposable cell phone minutes?

Mo ¥es

23, Will you be the first seller in Utah of lubricating oil in packages of less than 55 gallons?

Mo ¥es

24, Are you a cable operator or a multi-channel video or audio service provider?

o es

25. Are you a sexually explicit business (see Utah Code §59-27-102)7

o es

26. Will you provide telecommunication services to end consumers?
+ If yes, complete and attach form TC-6820 at the end of the submission.

o es

27. Are you a telephone lime provider (radio, land line, WVOIP, etc.)?
+ If yes, complete and attach form TC-6820 at the end of the submission.

Mo Wes

28. Do you ==l fuel for use in locomotive engines?

o es

29. Do you operate or use a car-sharimg program on a peer-to-peer business platformm? 5ee Pub 25 for the definition of car-sharing.

o es

30, Are yvou a charging station operator who sells electricity to charge electric vehicles or offers
vehicle charging subscriptions?

Mo Yes




Taxpayer Access Point (TAP)

Business Registration

Business Registration

Introduction Sales and Use Tax
Information
R A . Sales Tax Applicants... Temporary Sales Tax License for Special Events
Sales and Use Tax Part 1 NOTE: You must pay use tax on goods or services you You must get a temporary sales tax license any time you
purchase tax-free and then use. See line 4 of your Sales participate in a special event, even if you have a permanent sales
Sales and Use Tax Part 2 and Use Tax Return tax license.
Sales and Use Tax Fart 3 . i i i
Sales Tax Info A special event is a one-time event or an event that runs six
Sales and Use Tax Part 4 months or less where sales occur.
Sal d Use Tax Part § See Pub 25, online at tax.utah.gov/forms, for sales tax
SEIED A= LR P information. Find sales tax rates online at Examples include fairs, festivals, antique shows, gun shows, food
Sales Tax Applicants Infe tax.utah.gov/sales/rates. shows, art shows, auctions, mall kiosks, swap meets, conventions,

hobby shows, seasonal stands in malls, and similar events.

See more information at tax.utah.gov/sales/specialevents, or
call 801-297-6303, or toll free (outside the Salt Lake area)
1-800-662-4335, ext. 6303.

Your online session will timeout after 60 minutes of inactivity. Save your work if you will be away from your computer.

Q"'ia/nu 'y
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Streamlined Sales Tax

streamlinedsalestax. org

S freamlined Sales Tax™
Governing Board, Inc.

About Us « Committees « For Businesses -

For States - Certified Service Providers - Library ~ Contacts ~

_— States and businesses
SemiAnnal wok'klng together to create

Meeting

May 22, 2023 | Ier' mor’e un|fOI"m Sales
e use tax systems.

Register to collect and report
sales tax in Streamlined

Remote Marketplace Marketplace Sta tes

Sellers Sellers Facilitators
Register Now Log In

Learn more about sales tax registration and reporting requirements for:

Do you qualify for free sales tax calculation and reporting services?
T ——T——
Exemption about exemptions
Certificate



https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/

Streamlined Sales Tax

amlinedsalestax.or

Member State Map Full Member States

Arkansas MNorth Dakota

Georgia Ohio

Indiana Oklahoma
lowa Rhode Islamnd
Kansas South Dakota
Kentucky Utah
Michigan Vermont
Minnesota Washington
Mebraska West Virginia
Mevada Wisconsin
Mew |ersey Wyoming
Morth Carclina

Associate Member
States

Tennessee

Full Member States Mon-sales Tax States
Associate Member States fTex ta full Project States nor adwisory

Advisory States not conforming MNon-participating State

S d L



https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/

Special Events and
Requirements




What is a Special Event?

A one-time event, or an event that runs for 6 months or less held at a
location other than a sellers usual place of business.

Special Events fall under a variety of situations including:

Sporting events

State and County fairs
Festivals

Antique shows

Gun shows

Food shows

Art shows

Auctions

Auctions

Swap meets
Conventions

Hobby shows

Concerts

Seasonal stands in malls
Farmers Markets

Other similar events




Special Events

* ASeller participating in a special event(s) is required to obtain a Temporary
Sales Tax License and Special Return. The tax rate charged is calculated at the
tax rate where the event is being held.

* Tax collected at the event is reported and remitted on the temporary license.

* If a seller has a permanent Sales and Use Tax license, they still must obtain a
Special Event License and return for each event they participate in.

* To prevent double payment of tax, a seller would report all sales tax paid at a
special event on their Sales Tax return. Form TC-62, line 6.

Seller must file a temporary license/return and remit full payment either the last day of the
event or within 10 days after the event closes.



Special Events License

To register for a Special Event temporary license call:
801-297-6303 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 6303

If you are a seller who ONLY has sales at special events, you are
not required to have a permanent sales tax license.

Exception: If you wish to purchase tax free materials or
products intended for resale at the special event, you will need
a permanent Sales Tax License.

tax.utah.gov/sales/specialevents



https://tax.utah.gov/sales/specialevents

What should | do if | am purchasing an existing business?

* If you are purchasing a business, Utah law requires you to:
* Apply for new tax licenses. Tax licenses are not transferable*.

* Have the seller provide you a Letter of Good Standing from the Utah State Tax Commission
showing no sales or special fuel taxes are owed.

e Withhold any amount of unpaid tax from the purchase price to pay to the Utah State Tax
Commission within 30 days of the final sale of the business.

 If you are purchasing a business, you could be held liable for previous sales and special fuel
taxes the business may owe if you do not meet the requirements above.

* If business ownership changes, but the federal employer identification number (FEIN) is
allowed to stay the same by the IRS, the new owner(s) is not required to obtain new tax account
numbers with the Utah State Tax Commission (USTC). However, the new owner(s) must notify
the USTC with the new owner and officer information. If you are purchasing or selling a
business and need to know if this applies to you, legal counsel or the assistance of a
professional accountant may be needed.



https://tax.utah.gov/business/good-standing

Contact Us

Practitioner Hotline 801-297-7790 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790

Customer Service — payment processing & liens 801-297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335

Taxpayer Resources Unit — basic tax questions 801-297-7705 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7705

TAP Support 801-297-3996 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 3996

Email: tapsupport@utah.gov

Taxpayer Advocate Service 801-297-7562 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7562

Email taxmaster@utah.gov

Online Resources

Tax Commission Website tax.utah.gov

Forms and Publications tax.utah.gov/forms

Online Services (TAP) tap.utah.gov

Sales and Use Tax Information tax.utah.gov/sales

| Tax Commission Resources

Tax Training tax.utah.gov/training

Social Media X (formerly Twitter) : @UtahStateTax
Instagram: - utahstatetaxcommission
Facebook: Utah State Tax Commission




Sales and Use Tax Workshops

tax.utah.gov/training/workshops/sales-use-tax

Sales & Use Tax Workshop

Click these links to view the recording of the January 22, 2025 Sales and Use Tax workshop
Tax Workshops and presentation slides Recording / PDF slides

Ll
Tax Instruction & Training L=yl

This workshop has been approved for 2.5 hours of CPE for Utah CPA's if you attend the workshop
live. You must attend the full workshop to qualify for the 2.5 hours of CPE. During the live workshop
we will do a poll asking if you are requesting CPE for attending.

Tax Webinars & Videos

We have four scheduled workshops throughout the _ .
year. Please use the email below to register and you :OOrIEh;rs: may only receive a total of 2.5 hours of CPE per year for attending one of these
will be sent information to access the workshop.

Check the link above for future dates.

Registration is required—see below.

Scheduled Dates

Please note: All workshops are currently only held online.

There is a link on this page to view the video of the
previous workshop . We encourage you to attend on

All workshops are taught from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Zoom Meetings are held online and you’ll

these dates so you will have opportunities to ask receive instructions when registering.
questions. S~ » Wednesday April 23, 2025

« Wednesday July 16, 2025
2.5 hours of CPE has been approved for this workshop. S LR LERIELEL LA o Ll
You only qualify to receive CPE for attending ONE of Location

these workshops per year

» Currently all workshops are online

e
T

» You will receive the link when registering

0 Register

Register for the Wednesday April 23, 2025 workshop.

If you have any questions about this workshop, please send an email to taxtraining@utah.gov
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T
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https://tax.utah.gov/training/workshops/sales-use-tax

Sales Tax Check up

tax.utah.gov/training/sales-tax-checkup

Sales Tax Check Up

Register at salestaxcheckup@utah.gov

Let us help with your sales and use tax reporting by conducting a Sales Tax Check Up. A tax
examiner will visit you to educate you on how to properly account for and report your sales and use
taxes. You will receive instructions specific to your business and accounting software regarding:

Which report(s) to use to file sales and use tax returns
What documentation is needed for exempt sales
Identify transactions subject to sales or use tax

What tax rates and correct taxing jurisdiction to use
How to correctly accrue and report use tax

What appropriate adjustments to make

Sales Tax Check Ups are meant to be educational only, and no tax assessments are made. A tax

examiner can answer your specific questions. To register for a Sales Tax Check Up, contact us at
salestaxcheckup@utah.gov.



https://tax.utah.gov/training/sales-tax-checkup
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