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Utah State Tax Commission

* Monthly webinars of various tax topics.
* Ability to access the recording and presentation after the event.

* Free to all attendees.




Utah State Tax Commission Monthly Webinars

tax.utah.gov/training/webinars

Webinars & Videos

Information presented in past webinar recordings is current as of the date of the recording and
may not reflect legislative and other subsequent changes. For the most up-to-date information,
please refer to our Forms and Publications and our Recent Info and Tax Law Changes page.

Each month, the Tax Commission holds live public
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wehbinars on various 1ax topics, with access to the Search:
recording after the event. We'll also add other training .
items here as needed. The links will appear below as Date ~ Title _  Category/Tax Type Links =
they're available.
Dec 19,2024  Construction Industry Sales and Use Tax ~ Sales Tax Video Link |
All webinars are held on the third Thursday of each PDF
ez Le e e 2 Mov 21,2024  General Pass Through Entity Topics - Income Tax Video Link |
SALT FDF
. . .
?agitéaggnw for the 2024 Income Upcommg Webinars Oct 17, 2024 Lodging Transient Room Taxes Sales Taxes Video Link |
PDF
When: January 16, 2025 February 20,2025- Income Tax Credit Review
— Part1 Sep 19,2024  Retirement Tax Topics and Credits Individual Income Tax Credit ~ Video Link |
Time: 10:00am, Mountain Time March 20, 2025 - Income Tax Credit Review — PDF
Description: Join us to look at Individual and F'arF 2 . ) Aug 15,2024  Restaurants, Facilitators and Grocery Sales Tax MP4 | PDF
Corporate income tax changes for the 2024 April 17, 2025 - Sales Tax Licensing Foods
tax season. We will look at legislative and Requirements and Application Process
other changes. May 15, 2025 - Basics of What is Taxable and Jul 18,2024  Health Benefit Plan Credit Individual Income Tax Credit ~ MP4 | PDF
What is Exempt from Sales Tax
NOTE: This webinar information will be the June 19, 2025 - Review of Sales Tax Jun 20,2024  Sales Tax Refund Process Sales Taxes MP4 | PDF
same information presented by the Utah State  publications
Tax Commission in the 2024 Utah Tax May 16,2024  Military Income Commen Topics and Income tax MP4 | PDF
Roadshow, Utah State University Tax School Credits
and the IRS Fall Practitioner trainings.
Apr18,2024 How to determine the correct sales tax Sales Taxes MP4 | PDF
Register rate
Mar 21,2024  Utah Child/Dependent Tax Information IncomeTax MP4 | PDF
Information presented in past webinar recordings is current as of the date of the recording and
may not reflect legislative and other subsequent changes. For the most up-to-date information, Mar 4, 2024 FTA Podcast: Customer Experience with  Custormner Experience External
please refer to our Forms and Publications and our Recent Info and Tax Law Changes page. Mike Lee Video Link




What’s New For the 2024
Income Tax Season




Topics

General Information
Legislative Updates
Utah Domicile Review
Other Info



General Information
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Utah Personal Exemption

2024 Utah Personal Exemption increased to $2,046 for each
qualifying dependent. Increased from $1,941 in 2023.
(TC-40 - line 11)

Qualifying Dependents
Dependents age 16 and under
Other dependents
Dependents born in 2024

+ 2
a
b
c
d Total (add lines a, b and c)

Qualifying Dependents:

e Dependents 16 and under
 Other dependents who qualify for the child tax credit

 Dependents must be claimed on federal return

 Additional Utah personal exemption in year of qualifying dependents birth

See instructions.

§59-10-1018




Federal Standard Deduction

2024 Federal Standard Deduction (TC-40 - line 12)

Single or Married Filing Separate:
514,600

Head of Household:
S21,900

Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying Surviving Spouse:
529,200

$59-10-1018



Taxpayer Tax Credit
Base Phase Out Amounts

The Taxpayer Tax Credit is ‘phased out’ or limited by 1.3% of any income over
a certain amount based on the filing status of the return. (TC-40 - line 17)

2023 2024
$16,742 - $17,652 Single or Married Filing Separately
S25,114 - S$26,478 Head of Household
$33,484 > 535,304 Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying Surviving Spouse

§59-10-1018(4)-(5)



2024 Legislative Updates

Individual & Corporate
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HB 89
Tax Refund Amendments

Effective on or after January 1, 2025

e Requires that if an amended tax return results in an overpayment equal to more than
30% of the total tax liability reported on the original return filed for the tax period,
and the refund interest payable on the overpayment exceed $200 in any calendar

year, the refund interest rate is:

e Reduced from 2% above the federal short term rate to 2% below the federal short term rate
but not to exceed 3% or be less than 0%.

 |f this reduced refund interest calculation would reduce the refund interest payable to the
taxpayer on the overpayment for the calendar Year from more than $200 to less than $200,
the refund interest payable to the taxpayer shall be equal to $200 for the calendar year.

Excludes overpayments resulting from Tax Commission error or overpayment refunded
to a federally recognized tribe from being subject to the reduced refund interest

calculation.

§ 59-1-402(5)(d)



HB 124
Energy Infrastructure Amendments

Effective for a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

Modifies the qualifications for the High Cost Infrastructure Development tax
credit to include:

* Emissions reduction projects

* Mineral processing projects

* Water purification projects

* Water resource forecasting projects.

O (801) 538-8682

o, eniitiiismen @ energyutahgoy
M energytaxcredits@utah.gov

$ 79-6-602




HB 241
Clean Energy Amendments

Effective May 1, 2024

Replaces the term “renewable” with the word “clean” for purposes
of the corporate and individual “Clean Energy Systems” tax credits.

Address: 288 N 1460 W Ste 400, SLC UT 84116

A EN EHE{’hHDEEfFEIEg;HE NT General Office Number: 801-538-8732
Tax Credits Number: 801-538-8682

Email: energy@utah.gov

§ 59-7-614 / §59-10-1014 / §59-10-1106



HB 465
Housing Affordability Revisions

For a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

* Allows any individual or corporate low-income housing tax credits
allocated in a calendar year that are subsequently returned to the
Utah Housing Corporation or recaptured by the corporation may be
allocated in the following year.

UTAH HOUSING CORPORATION

2479 South Lake Park EBlvd

UTAH West Valley City, Utah 84120
HOUSING 8:00 am to 5:30 pm Monday - Friday
COrEarallor]

Phone: (801)-902-8200 | (800)-284-6950

$ 59-7-607 & §59-10-1010



HB 529
Utah Fits All Scholarship Program Amendments

Effective May 1, 2024

Authorizes the Tax Commission, upon request, to disclose a taxpayer’s state
individual income tax information to a program manager of the Utah Fits All
Scholarship Program if the taxpayer consents in writing to the disclosure.

The taxpayer’s written consent includes the taxpayer’s name, social security

number, and any other information the commission requests that is necessary
to verify the identity of the taxpayer.

Website: ufascholarship.com

 UFASCHOLARSHIP.COM | Email: support@ufascholarship.com
'ﬂl L ]
OFFICIAL UFA PROGRAM MANAGER WEBSITE Telephone: (385)-503-8327

UTAH FITS ALL

$ 59-1-403


mailto:support@ufascholarship.com

SB 14
Corporate Dissolution Amendments

Effective taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

orporation 2024
Income Tax Return TC-20
qar 2024 or fiscal year (mmidd/yyyy):
/ / and ending - /
Mark “X" if you filed . Mark “X" for

federal form BBBG §68-7-303(3) election

Employer |dentification Number

UT Incorporation/Qualification No

Mark “X" if a current annual report

filed with the Div. of Corporations

. 1

Requires that a corporation or pass-through entity must report on the

corporation's or pass-through entity's tax return:

 Whether the entity has filed a current annual report with the Division

of Corporations, and

* The entity's commerce entity number

This reporting requirement does not apply to an individual, estate, or trust.

$ 59-7-505 & § 59-10-1403



SB 33
Individual Income Tax Amendments

Effective a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

1. Changes the presumption that an individual has Utah income tax
domicile based on the individual’s voting record

* provides that an individual has Utah income tax domicile for a taxable year, if in
the taxable year, the individual or their spouse votes in Utah and has not
registered to vote or voted in another state.

* If the individual or their spouse did not vote in Utah in a Utah election, but are
not registered to vote in another state is a factor that may be considered in
weight of evidence.

Changes the presumption that an individual or their spouse asserted
residency in the state for purposes of filing an individual income tax
return for the taxable year to a factor that may be considered in weight
of evidence.

$ 59-10-136



SB 33
Individual Income Tax Amendments (continued)

Effective a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

3. Changes the presumption that an individual has Utah income tax domicile
if an individual or their spouse receives a primary residential property tax
exemption.

* Anindividual or their spouse receiving a residential property tax exemption for the
taxable year becomes a factor that may be considered in weight of evidence.

4. Repeals the exception from Utah income tax domicile for temporary
absences from the state of at least 761 consecutive days.

$ 59-10-136



SB 44
Alternative Education Scholarship Combination

Effective taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

Renames the Special Needs Opportunity Scholarship Program to
the Carson Smith Opportunity Scholarship Program.

Hours: Mconday - Friday 2am - S5pm

gf;a“ g o . Phone: (801) 477-0057 for application inquiries

| B &5 =
e " ] Phone: (801) 477-0484 for donation inquiries

Email: info@childrenfirsteducationfund.org

Address: 5414 \W. Daybreak Pkwy, C-4 #4333, South Jordan, UT 84009

$ 59-7-625 & § 59-10-1041



SB 69
Income Tax Amendments

Effective taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2024

Reduces the corporate and individual income tax rate
to 4.55%.

Note: This is reduced from 4.65% in 2023

$ 59-7-104, § 59-7-201 & § 59-10-104



2023 HB 170
Child Tax Credit for 2024

Reminder for the 2024 tax year:

(code AT)

Child Tax Credit

You may claim a $1,000 non refundable credit for any child who:
1. qualifies for the federal child tax credit under IRC 24, and
2. was, on the last day of 2024, at least one year and no more than three
years old.

Tax Credit reduced by S.10 per dollar of Modified Adjusted Gross Income over
phase out amounts:

Married Filing Separate or filer of 1040-NR - 527,000
Single, Head of Household or Qualified Surviving Spouse - 543,000

Married Filing Joint - S54,000

$ 59-10-1047



CPE for Utah Tax Practitioners




Coming in 2025
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HB 153
Child Care Revisions

Effective for a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2025

Changes the definition of a “qualifying child” for purposes of the
nonrefundable child tax credit against individual income tax to a child that is

at least one year old and younger than 5 years old on the last day of the
taxable year.

$ 59-10-1047



State and Local Tax (SALT) Deduction -
Utah Tax Credit

Expires for tax years beginning AFTER December 31, 2025

2022 HB 444 - Allows a pass through entity (PTE) to elect to pay Utah
income tax on voluntary taxable income on behalf of all Final PTETs as a
method of mitigating the federal limitation on the deduction for state
and local taxes. This process may not always be beneficial. A PTE should
consult an independent tax advisor to determine if this process is
beneficial for their circumstances.

For more information visit tax.utah.gov




Utah Domicile
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Utah Domicile

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

Test 1

You are domiciled in Utah if you or your spouse:

1. claimed a child tax credit (IRC §24) for a dependent on your federal tax return, and
the dependent is enrolled in a Utah public K-12 school (this does not apply if you are
the noncustodial parent and are not married to the custodial parent);

2. are enrolled as a resident student in a Utah state institution of higher education;
or

3. voted in Utah during the tax year and were neither registered to vote nor voted in
another state.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Utah Domicile

(Continued)

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

Test 2

Even if you do not meet the conditions in Test 1, you are still domiciled in Utah if
you Or your spouse:

1. have a permanent home in Utah to which either of you intend to return after
being absent; and

2. have voluntarily settled in Utah, not for a special or temporary purpose, but with
the intent of making a permanent home.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Utah Domicile

(Continued)

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

Whether you have a permanent home in Utah is based on a preponderance of
the evidence (i.e., the evidence you have a permanent home is more convincing than any evidence you
do not), taking into consideration all of the following facts and circumstances:

* You or your spouse has a Utah driver’s license.

* You or your spouse receive a residential exemption for a primary residence under
UC §59-2, Property Tax Act.

* You or your spouse claims a federal tax credit (IRC §24) for a dependent who is
enrolled as a resident student in a Utah state institution of higher education.

* The nature and quality of the living accommodations you or your spouse has in
Utah compared to another state.

* You have a spouse or dependent in Utah for whom you or your spouse claims a
federal tax credit under IRC §24.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Utah Domicile

(Continued)

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

* The physical location where you or your spouse earns income.
* The state of registration of a vehicle owned or leased by you or your spouse.
* You or your spouse has a membership in a church, club or similar organization in Utah.

* You or your spouse lists a Utah address on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an
official government publication, other correspondence, or similar item.

* You or your spouse lists a Utah address on a federal or state tax return.
* You or your spouse file a Utah income tax return as a full year or part-year resident.

* You or your spouse claims Utah residency on a document (other than a Utah income
tax return) filed with or provided to a court or other government entity.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Utah Domicile

(Continued)

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

* You or your spouse fails to obtain a permit or license normally required of a resident in
the state where you claim to have domicile.

* You are the noncustodial parent of a dependent enrolled in a Utah public K-12 school
for which you claimed a child tax credit (IRC §24) on your federal tax return, and you
are divorced from the custodial parent.

* You maintain a place of abode (i.e., the place where you usually live) in Utah and spent
183 or more days of the tax year in Utah.

* You or your spouse did not vote in Utah during the tax year but voted in Utah in any of
the three prior years and were not registered to vote in another state during those
three years.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Utah Domicile for Spouses

§59-10-136
Effective: January 1, 2024

If your spouse has Utah domicile under Test 1 (above), you also have Utah domicile. If
your spouse has Utah domicile under Test 2, you also have Utah domicile unless you can
establish by a preponderance of the evidence (i.e., the evidence for your claim is more convincing
than any evidence against it) that during the tax year and the three prior years you did not:

1. own property in Utah,

2. spend more than 30 total days during a year in Utah,

3. receive earned income for services performed in Utah,

4. vote in Utah, or

5. have a Utah driver’s license.

You are not considered to have a spouse with Utah domicile if:
1. you and your spouse are legally separated or divorced, or

2. you and your spouse both claimed married filing separately on your federal individual income tax
returns for the tax year.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter10/59-10-S136.html?v=C59-10-S136_2024010120240501

Domicile For
Military Members




Domicile for Military Members

Federal law defines the residency of service members and their spouses.
See 50 U.S.C. 4001(a).

(1)- A service member shall neither lose nor acquire a residence or domicile for
purposes of taxation with respect to the person, personal property, or income of

the service member by reason of being absent or present in any tax jurisdiction of the
United States solely in compliance with military orders.

(2) - A spouse of a service member shall neither lose nor acquire a residence or domicile
for purposes of taxation with respect to the person, personal property, or income of the
spouse by reason of being absent or present in any tax jurisdiction of the

United States solely to be with the service member in compliance with the service
member's military orders.

NOTE: When electing to change residency please contact your financial officer to update your
form DD 2058 — State of Legal Residence Certificate



https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/50/4001

Domicile for Military Members

Changed In 2023- H.R.7939 - Veterans Auto and Education Improvement Act of 2022

Election: IF MARRIED

For any taxable year of the marriage, a service member and the spouse of such service
member may elect to use for purposes of taxation, regardless of the date on which the
marriage of the service member and the spouse occurred, any of the following:

(A)The residence or domicile of the service member.
(B)The residence or domicile of the spouse.
(C)The permanent duty station of the service member.

NOTE: When electing to change residency please contact your financial officer to update your form
DD 2058 — State of Legal Residence Certificate



https://www.congress.gov/bill/117th-congress/house-bill/7939/text

Other info

* Interest

* Tips for Preparers

e Refund Tips

* Tax Commission Resources




Interest

* Interest rate will change to 6% for 2025

* Rate determined by adding two percentage points to Federal rate and in
accordance with Utah Code 59-1-402.

e Calculated from the date payment was due until payment is received.

* Applies to overpayments, refunds, underpayments and delinquencies.




Preparer Tips

Filing returns with an ITIN:

* Returns can be filed with an ITIN on the TC-40 return
* ITIN’s can not be used on the TC-40W.
* TC-40W must have the same SSN as reported on W-2s.
* Credit for withholdings will be disallowed if filed with a ITIN on the TC-40W.
* Withholding credits can be denied and refunds stopped.

* Must be able to verify withholding in order to process refund.




Preparer Tips

IRC §965(a) Deferred Foreign Income - Utah Installment Payments:

TC-20R was filed for the 2017 tax period (If fiscal, tax period beginning in 2017)
e 2022 installment was increased to 15%
e 2023 installment was increased to 20%
* 2024 installment is increasing to 25% - Final installment

2024 Utah TC-20 Instructions

Installment Table

First installment: 8% (paid with TC-20R)
Second Installment: 8%

Third installment: 8%

Fourth installment: 8%

Fifth installment: 8%

Sixth installment: 15%

Seventh installment: 20%

Eighth installment: 25%




Refund Tips

E-File can speed up the refund process

 Use direct deposit

 Check for accuracy

* Fileea rIy (fraudsters file early in hopes to get refund before you do)

 Advise taxpayers to respond quickly to Identity Verification letters

If your system has been breached, or data has been compromised, notify

the Tax Commission immediately.
* Contact the Suspicious Filers Group @ 801-297-3857
 PTIN#'s or SS#’s can be flagged for fraud alerts




Tax Commission Resources

Practitioner Hotline 801-297-7790 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790
Customer Service — payment processing & liens 801-297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335

Taxpayer Resources Unit — basic tax questions 801-297-7705 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7705
TAP Support

801-297-3996 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 3996

Email: tapsupport@utah.gov

Taxpayer Advocate Service 801-297-7562 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7562
Email taxmaster@utah.gov

Tax Commission Website tax.utah.gov

Forms and Publications tax.utah.gov/forms

Online Services (TAP) tap.utah.gov

Tax Practitioner Information tax.utah.gov/taxpros
Individual Income Tax incometax.utah.gov

Tax Training tax.utah.gov/training

X (formerly Twitter) @UtahStateTax

Facebook Utah State Tax Commission
Instagram utahstatetaxcommission
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