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Sales and Use Tax Refund Process



What is a Sales Tax Refund Request?

A sales and use tax refund request is a request by someone who 
has paid Utah sales tax to the seller or reported use tax directly to 
the Tax Commission on their own Utah Sales and Use Tax Return.

• Some requests must be submitted to the seller or the Utah State Tax 
Commission directly.

• Some requests or adjustments may be done on your own Sales and Use 
Tax Return.



Time Limit for Claiming a Sales Tax Refund

• UCA §59-1-1410 (8)(a)

A claim for refund must be made within the later of: 

• Three years from the date of the purchase (three years from due date of 
seller’s return or from the date reported directly on the purchaser’s Sales 
and Use Tax Return), or

• Two years from the date the tax was paid to the Tax Commission.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter1/59-1-S1410.html?v=C59-1-S1410_2014040320140513


Time Limit for Claiming a Sales Tax Refund
(Continued)

Exception’s to UCA §59-1-1410 (8)(a)

§59-12-110

• Bad debts must be claimed within 3 years from the due date of the return 
covering the period the bad debt was written off as uncollectable in the 
seller’s books and records.

• Repossessions must be claimed within 3 years from the date of the 
repossession. 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter1/59-1-S1410.html?v=C59-1-S1410_2014040320140513
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title59/Chapter12/59-12-S110.html


Seeking a Sales Tax Refund 
from the Seller

Utah law allows a seller to credit or refund erroneously collected sales tax to 
the purchaser. 

If you determine that a purchase was taxed incorrectly, you may ask the seller 
to credit or refund the Utah sales tax you paid on the incorrectly taxed item. 

• If the seller is no longer in business or does not provide a credit or refund of the 
overpaid taxes, you may request a refund directly from the Tax Commission using 
form TC-62PR, Application for Refund of Utah Sales and Use Tax.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62pr.pdf


Seller Amendments and Adjustments

If you are a seller who has provided a credit or refund of sales or use taxes you 
have previously reported to the Tax Commission,  you may either:

• Amend the return(s) the taxes were originally reported to the Tax Commission on, or 
• Claim an adjustment on your next tax return for the refunded taxes. 

The amendment or adjustment must be made within the time limit for claiming 
a refund for the original transaction. 

Describe your reason for amending or adjustment in the correct fields of the 
electronic return and retain copies for your records of the documents listed on 
the next slide and provide them to the Tax Commission upon request.



Seller Amendments and Adjustments
(Continued)

Line 6. Adjustments
Enter any adjustments for sales or purchases reported in previous periods 
such as:

• bad debts 
• repossessions
• returned goods 
• cash discounts allowed
• excess tax collected

If you enter amounts on line 6, you must type in supporting information in the 
adjustments text box provided. Include the reason for the adjustment, filing 
periods and specific line items from schedules that are being adjusted. 



Seller Amendments and Adjustments
(Continued)

Documentation that must be kept on file for potential review upon request –
• Explanation of the changes

• Documentation provided by the purchaser to prove they were exempt or excluded from the tax, 
such as an Exemption Certificate

• Proof that you credited or refunded the tax to the purchaser

• Adjustments only: calculation of adjustment amount (refunded tax amount divided by current 
period’s tax rate), and

• Adjustments only: schedule showing which period(s) the taxes were originally reported to the 
Tax Commission.



Seller Amendments and Adjustments

Explanation and attachments 
required if net tax due results in a 
negative amount



Seller Amendments and Adjustments



Seller Amendments and Adjustments
(Continued)

• If you have multiple business locations and/or a non-fixed location you must 
also reflect the amended or adjusted amounts in the return’s schedules for the 
location(s) where the sale originally occurred.

* Licensed sellers may not use the adjustments line of their Sales and Use tax 
return to claim a credit for taxes paid to another seller, you must seek a refund 
from the seller who remitted the tax to the Tax Commission or apply for a refund 
from the Tax Commission using form TC-62PR, Application for Refund of Utah 
Sales and Use Tax.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62pr.pdf


Who Can Submit a Refund Request?

You may submit a refund request if:
• You have not and will not be requesting a credit or refund from the seller; or

• The seller would not allow a credit or refund when you requested it; or

• You reported use tax directly to the Tax Commission with your Sales and Use Tax Return.

You may include multiple purchases in a single refund request.

You may have a third party file the request on your behalf; however you must still 
sign the TC-62PR, Application for Refund of Utah Sales and Use Tax and a Power 
of Attorney authorizing the third party to act on your behalf.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62pr.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#poa


How Do I Submit a Refund Request?

You may submit a refund request by sending the following to the Tax Commission:
• Completed form TC-62PR, Application for Refund of Utah Sales and Use Tax;

• Completed Sales and Use Tax Refund Worksheet;

• Include the Required Documents and information to Prove Exemption or Exclusion for each 
invoice/purchase to support the request unless you qualify for and elect to use a Sampling 
Review Method;

• Include the Power of Attorney if you are submitting the request on behalf of the purchaser; and

• If the request involves more than 12 purchases you must submit a paper copy of the TC-62PR 
application with an electronic copy of the Sales and Use Tax Refund Worksheet and scanned 
images of all the required documents and information to prove exemption or exclusion on a CD 
or USB flash drive.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62pr.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62prworksheet.xlsx
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#requireddocs
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#sampling
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#poa
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62prworksheet.xlsx




How Do I Submit a Refund Request?
(Continued)

Send your complete purchaser refund request to:

By Postal Mail
Business Taxes and Discovery Division
Utah State Tax Commission 
210 N 1950 W 
SLC UT 84134

By Email
salestaxrefund@utah.gov

mailto:salestaxrefund@utah.gov


Required Documents and Information to Prove 
Exemption or Exclusion

You must have the following documents for each purchase in your purchaser 
refund request:

• Proof of taxation, such as copies of invoices, receipts, or other documents that 
show the items purchased, the purchase price, and that sales tax was charged

• Proof of payment, such as copies of cancelled check, banking statements 
where the bank transaction can be clearly associated to the purchase, or 
a Seller Statement of Payment of Taxes; and

• Documentation that clearly and thoroughly verifies that the purchaser and/or 
items qualify for the exemption or exclusion from Utah sales and use tax. 

• What is required for documentation varies and depends on the nature of the exemption or 
exclusion. 

• The documentation may include statements signed by the purchaser or a knowledgeable 
person in the purchaser’s company. See Signed Statements

https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/payment_of_taxes.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#statements


Required Documents and Information to Prove 
Exemption or Exclusion

(Continued)

You must include these documents and information when submitting your 
application unless you qualify for and elect to use the Sampling Review 
Method in which case you will need to submit them when your sampling has 
been selected.

For refund requests involving more than 12 purchases, you must scan and 
provide the documentation electronically on CD or USB flash drive.

https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#sampling


Sampling Review Method

If your refund request has 500 or more invoices or purchases you may elect to use 
the sampling review method. If you elect to use the sampling review method:

• Complete the TC-62PR, Application for Refund of Utah Sales and Use Tax and elect Sampling 
Review Method by signing Line 4 under Section B on the application;

• Complete the electronic version of the Sales and Use Tax Refund Worksheet for all of the 
purchases included in your request;

• Send the paper TC-62PR application with the electronic worksheet to the Tax Commission. If 
you are being represented by a third party also include the Power of Attorney for the third 
party;

• We will determine a sampling of your invoices based on a review of your Sales and Use Tax 
Refund Worksheet;

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62pr.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62prworksheet.xlsx
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#poa
https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-62prworksheet.xlsx


Sampling Review Method
(Continued)

• We will notify you of the sample and give you 30 days to provide the Required Documents and 
Information to Prove Exemption or Exclusion as scanned images on a CD or USB flash drive for 
the invoices/purchases selected for the sampling;

• We will evaluate, calculate and project your refund based solely on the information and 
documentation we receive from you by the required due date; and

• We will consider missing or incomplete documentation for any requested invoice/purchase to 
be an error. We will include these errors in the overall sampling error rate.

https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#requireddocs


Sampling Review Method



Power of Attorney

Third parties are allowed to represent 
purchasers when submitting a refund request, 
however:

• The purchaser’s information and signature 
must be on the application in addition to the 
representative’s.

• The documents supporting the refund request 
must include a completed form TC-737, Power 
of Attorney and Declaration of Representative.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-737.pdf


Signed Statements

These standardized signed statements may be used as part of your Required 
Documents and Information to Prove Exemption or Exclusion to clearly and 
thoroughly verify the exemption or exclusion.

• Statements must be signed by the purchaser, the seller, or contractor as applicable to 
requirements outlined within the statement. 

• Representatives and other third parties may not sign these statements. Signed statements 
must also clearly identify which purchase(s) included in the refund request they are 
verifying. 

• If the statement is not signed by a qualified individual, or if it does not clearly identify the purchases it is being 
used to verify, the statement cannot be used as part of the Required Documents and Information to Prove 
Exemption or Exclusion.

https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#requireddocs
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#requireddocs


Signed Statements
(Continued)

• Seller Statement of Furnish and Install
• Seller Statement of Payment of Taxes
• Statement of Exclusive Refund
• Statement of Industrial Use of Fuel
• Statement of Installation for Authorized Carriers
• Statement of Manufacturer
• Statement of Mining Activity
• Statement of the Contractor
• Statement of Telecommunications Equipment

https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/furnish_install.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/payment_of_taxes.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/exclusive_refund.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/industrial_fuel.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/authorized_carrier.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/manufacturer_post2019.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/mining_activity.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/contractor.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/salestax/statement/telecom_equipment.pdf




What to Expect After a Request 
Has Been Submitted

• We will notify you in writing of the result of your refund request.

• We will allow, deny, or dismiss all or part of your request based on our 
review of the required information you sent to us by the required due date.

• Utah Code Annotated 59-1-402 allows the Tax Commission 90 days to 
process the refund without paying additional interest. Beginning on day 91 
after receiving the request, interest will begin to compute through the day 
the refund is issued. 

• We strive to complete all requests quickly, but please allow the Business Taxes and 
Discovery Division at least 90 days to review your request.



Allowed Refunds

• We will refund the allowed portion of the refund request within six to eight weeks 
of our decision; and/or

• Use the credit to pay outstanding Utah taxes owed by the purchaser.

• If you receive any portion of the allowed refund from the seller or any other party 
you must immediately notify the Tax Commission and return that portion of the 
allowed refund.



Denied Refunds

• If any portion of your claim is denied, you may file a TC-738, Petition for 
Redetermination with the Commission’s Appeals Unit within 30 days of our 
written notice of the denial to appeal the decision.

• If you do not appeal the decision within 30 days the decision becomes final 
and items included in the refund request cannot be included in subsequent 
refund requests.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-738.pdf


Dismissed Refunds

• If any portion of the refund request is dismissed because you did not provide us 
with the required information and documents to prove the exemption or 
exclusion by the required due date, you may file a TC-738, Petition for 
Redetermination with the Commission’s Appeals Unit within 30 days of the 
written notice of the dismissal.

• The only matter that will be considered for appeal is whether or not the required 
information and documents to prove the exemption or exclusion were provided to the Tax 
Commission by the required due date.

• If you do not appeal the decision within 30 days the decision becomes final but 
you may file a new refund request within the Time Limit for Claiming a 
Refund for those items once you have the Required Documents and Information 
to Prove Exemption or Exclusion for those purchases.

https://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-738.pdf
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#timelimit
https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request#requireddocs


Tax Commission Resources
Contact Us

Practitioner Hotline 801-297-7790   or  1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790

Customer Service – payment processing & liens 801-297-2200   or   1-800-662-4335

Taxpayer Resources Unit – basic tax questions 801-297-7705   or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7705

TAP Support 801-297-3996 or   1-800-662-4335  ext. 3996

Email: tapsupport@utah.gov

Taxpayer Advocate Service 801-297-7562 or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7562

Email taxmaster@utah.gov

Online Resources

Tax Commission Website tax.utah.gov

Forms and Publications tax.utah.gov/forms

Online Services (TAP) tap.utah.gov

Sales and Use Tax Information tax.utah.gov/sales

Tax Training tax.utah.gov/training



Sales and Use Tax Reference Page
tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request

https://tax.utah.gov/sales/refund-request


Sales and Use Tax Workshops
tax.utah.gov/training/workshops/sales-use-tax

We have four scheduled workshops throughout the 
year.  Please use the email below to register and you 
will be sent information to access the workshop.  
Check the link above for future dates.

There is a link on this page to view the video of the 
previous workshop .  We encourage you to attend on 
these dates so you will have opportunities to ask 
questions.

https://tax.utah.gov/training/workshops/sales-use-tax


Sales Tax Check up
tax.utah.gov/training/sales-tax-checkup

https://tax.utah.gov/training/sales-tax-checkup


THANK YOU FOR VIEWING THIS WEBINAR
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