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Utah State Tax Commission

Monthly webinars of various tax topics.

Ability to access the recording and presentation after the event.

Free to all attendees.



Utah State Tax Commission Monthly Webinars
tax.utah.gov/training/webinars



Income Tax Audit / Exam Process



Audit/Exam Process

Request Letter
• Request return be filed, request verification, propose changes, etc.
• Documents/info exchanged, communication between examiner & taxpayer
• 30-day response date is flexible

Cancellation Letter
• Sent to taxpayer if requested information is provided & no changes are needed to return

Notice of Deficiency
• Notice sent that shows changes to return and amount due
• 30-day deadline is firm/strict
• Must pay or file appeal within 30 days



Audit Categories

Federal Tape Mismatch

CP2000 / Revenue Agent Report

State-Only Line Items

Non-filers



Federal Tape Mismatch

Some line items on the Utah return come directly from lines on the federal return.  These 
amounts must match and sometimes they don’t match for various reasons.  An audit is 
created when they don’t match and making the adjustment would result in material tax due.
Those items include: 

 Federal Adjusted Gross Income
 State Tax Refund
 Number of Exemptions / Dependents
 Standard / Itemized Deductions
 State Tax Addback
 Filing Status



Federal Tape Mismatch



CP2000 – Unreported Income Audits

Automated unreported income audits originally assessed by IRS.  
The IRS forwards this information to the states.  We adjust their 
Utah return if an amended return wasn’t filed or they didn’t 
correct it with the IRS.

Common income items not reported on tax returns:
• Wages
• Unemployment compensation
• Stocks/bonds sales
• Debt cancelation
• Retirement distributions



CP2000 – Unreported Income Audits



Revenue Agent Report

In-depth audits originally assessed by IRS.  The IRS forwards this 
information to the states.  We adjust their Utah return if an 
amended return wasn’t filed or they didn’t correct it with the IRS.

Common items adjusted by an RAR audit:
• Filing status, dependents, standard deduction
• Business & rental income/expenses
• Itemized deductions
• Federal credits that may or may not affect UT return (Earned Income 

Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit, etc.)



Revenue Agent Report



State-only Line Item

Credits, deductions, adjustments that are specific to the Utah return.

Common examples of items reviewed include:
• Non/part-year income allocation
• Credits such as Renewable Energy Systems Credits, Health Benefit Plan Credit, Taxes 

Paid to Another State Credit, my529 Plan Credit (UESP), Withholding Credit, etc.
• Deductions such as Equitable Adjustments, U.S. Government Interest Deduction, Native 

American Income Deduction, Military Income Deductions, etc.



State-only Line Item



Non-filers

Many individuals just don’t file returns. 
Discovery program creates leads based on multiple factors such as amount of income, 
where that income is sourced, Utah residency ties, etc.
Common excuses/reasons for not filing a Utah return include:

• I wasn’t a Utah resident
• I didn’t have Utah source income
• My refund or tax due is small, so why bother filing?
• I didn’t think I made enough money
• Marriage, family, financial or medical issues kept me from filing



Non-filers



Tax, Penalty, Interest &
Changes to Return



Paying the Audit



Payment 
Instructions 
& Coupon



Division Conference

Division Conference
Sometimes, a taxpayer may have questions or concerns about an ongoing audit. The taxpayer may, at any time
during the audit process, speak with the auditor handling the audit, or ask to meet with the auditor’s 
supervisor to resolve any particular problem.

tax.utah.gov/general/audits



Failing to Respond &
Contact Info



Contesting the Audit



Appeal 
Instructions



Appeals
If a taxpayer disagrees with the audit changes shown on the Notice of Deficiency, they may file an 
appeal to contest the charges. 

A Petition for Redetermination (TC-738) must be filed within 30 days of the date on the Notice of 
Deficiency.

• A petition can be in any form, but must be in writing.
• If the 30th day falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline is extended to the next 

business day.



Appeal Process
 Notice of Telephone Status Conference

 Timely appeal - Answer to Petition for Redetermination

 Late appeal - Motion to Dismiss. A Hearing on Respondent’s Motion to Dismiss will be 
scheduled & decided. 

 Status conferences are held to talk about the audit, give updates, exchange information, figure 
out how to proceed. Most appeals are resolved through this process. If the parties don’t agree, 
the case proceeds to a hearing. 

 Initial Hearing

 Formal Hearing – Commissioner attends, recorded, witnesses sworn in.

 Request for judicial review (District/Supreme Court)



Appeal Process

tax.utah.gov/commission-office/appeals



Statute of Limitations
Non-filing – Anytime.

Filed Returns – Three years from the date the return is filed. If the return is filed before 
the due date, will be considered as filed on the due date of the return. 

 IRS Audits – Six years from the date the IRS makes a change to the return. 
• 2022 tax return due 4/18/2023
• IRS makes audit changes 1/14/2026
• If no UT amended return filed, corresponding audit changes can be made until 1/14/2032



Recordkeeping
Utah Administrative Rule R865-9I-18:
(1) Every taxpayer shall keep adequate records for income tax purposes of a type which 

clearly reflect income and expense, gain or loss, and all transactions necessary in the 
conduct of business activities.

(2) Records of all transactions affecting income or expense, or gain or loss, and of all 
transactions for which deductions may be claimed, should be preserved by the 
taxpayer to enable preparation of returns correctly and to substantiate claims. All 
records shall be made available to an authorized agent of the commission when 
requested, for review or audit.



Utah State Tax Commission Resources
Contact Us

Practitioner Hotline 801-297-7790   or  1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790

Customer Service – payment processing & liens 801-297-2200   or   1-800-662-4335

Taxpayer Resources Unit – basic tax questions 801-297-7705   or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7705

TAP Support 801-297-3996 or   1-800-662-4335  ext. 3996

Email: tapsupport@utah.gov

Taxpayer Advocate Service 801-297-7562 or   1-800-662-4335 ext. 7562

Email taxmaster@utah.gov

Online Resources

Tax Commission Website tax.utah.gov

Forms and Publications tax.utah.gov/forms

Online Services (TAP) tap.utah.gov

Tax Practitioner Information tax.utah.gov/taxpros

Individual Income Tax incometax.utah.gov

Tax Training tax.utah.gov/training



THANK YOU
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