Electronic Funds Transfer

Paying Tax by ACH Credit

General Information
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is a method to pay your
taxes electronically. EFT is safe, secure, efficient and less
expensive than paper checks.

This publication explains how to make tax payments using
the ACH credit method.

NOTE: EFT is a payment method only. You must file a tax
return separately for each period.

Pre-authorization
You must submit form TC-86, Registration to Make Utah Tax
Payments Through EFT ACH Credit, and be approved before
you can make ACH credit payments. See form TC-86 at the
end of this publication. We will send you written confirmation
when we approve your registration. Allow up to 10 days for
confirmation.

Rules and Guidelines
All laws and rules concerning Utah taxes, reporting periods
and deadlines remain valid for EFT payments.

We may assess a penalty for late payments. Payments are
considered late if they:

e arrive in the Tax Commission bank account after the due
date, or

¢ do not include all the required information.
For due dates, see Due Dates in this publication.

Getting Started

You must authorize your bank to make EFT transfers. Make
a separate transfer for each tax account and each reporting
period.

When you authorize an EFT transfer, your bank will require
you to specify a settlement date. The settlement date is the
date your electronic payment will be taken from your account
and credited to the Tax Commission’s account. Payments
you authorize before the tax due date will not be made until
the settlement date.
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Because the ACH system requires at least one day to
transfer funds, you must authorize your payment at least one
business day before the due date. Some banks may require
more than one day to process EFT payments. Check with
your bank to allow enough processing time for your payment.

Making Your First EFT Payment
Many banks require a pre-note (test transmission) for a
zero amount before they will transfer actual funds. This may
take up to 10 days to complete. Contact your bank for more
information.

Notify the Tax Commission in advance of the pre-note by
calling 801-297-3817 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 3817.

Addendum

Your transfer must include addenda information to identify
your payment. Transfers must conform to the Tax Payment
(TXP) Banking Conventions. Authorize your bank to make
ACH-Credit CCD + TXP addendum transfers.

Addendum Transfer

Format and Content
Make the EFT payment as follows:

Credit to: Utah State Tax Commission
Bank: Wells Fargo Bank
299 S Main St

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Routing number: 1210-00248

Account number: 051-08051-61

Use only the first 11 digits of your 14-character tax ac-
count number. Do not include the three letters at the end
of the number.
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Addendum Record Format and Content
The addendum record must include the following fields. Fields marked with a (') may vary, so pay special attention to
those entries.

When coding field 7, you must use a valid “tax period end-date” (YYMMDD) for the tax period. Using the transmission
or due date in this field will delay processing.

Field Length Contents Description
1 3 TXP

Segment identifier

2 1 * Field separator

3! 11 NNNNNNNNNNN Utah account number. Enter the first 11 numbers, but
not the last three letters (e.g., if your account number
is 12345678-002-WTH, enter 12345678002). DO NOT
enter hyphens.

4 1 * Field separator

51 4 NNNN Tax type code. See Tax Type Codes below.

6 1 * Field separator

71 6 YYMMDD Tax period end date
(e.g., March 31, 2011 = 110331)

8 1 * Field separator

9 1 T Amount type code

10 1 * Field separator

111 2-10 $$5558%¢¢ Payment amount. Include dollars and cents only. Do not
include decimal points, commas or leading zeros.

12 5 e Field separator

13! 6 XXXXXX Taxpayer ID verification. Use the first six characters of the
taxpayer's name. Drop any common words, such as “the.”

14 1 \ Segment terminator

"Variable field provided by the taxpayer

Tax Type Codes
Tax Type Tax Type Code Prepaid disposable cell phone fee ..................... 0405
Beer Sexually explicit business taX.........ccccoeeeveennenne 0405
BEEI taX. . cuiiiiiiictiecee e 0630 Waste tire recycling fee..........ccccoiiiiiiiiennn. 0405
Corporate/Partnership Emergency services telephone fee................... 0407
Corporate/Partnership tax.......cccccceeevieeeeineinnee 0220 Municipal telecommunications license tax.......... 0408
Fuel Radioactive waste taX .........ccccooeeiiciiiniiecninenn. 0900
FUBITAX 1ot 0500 Brine shrimp tax ... 2000
Insurance Sales
Insurance premium taX.......coccoveeeerveeeneeeeniieens 0710 Sales and USE taX.......coouvereeriieneeniee e 0400
Self insurance tax.......ccocveeeeieiiiiee e 0715 Transient ro0M taX......cccoovveeiiiiie i 0401
Oil, Gas, Severance Motor vehicle rental tax .........cccooevciiieeiiiiieee. 0403
Oil & gas severance tax (prepayments) ............. 0840 Restaurant tax...........cocoooiiiiiiiiiiie 0404
Oil & gas severance tax (payment with return) ..0841 Municipal energy sales and use tax................... 0406
Oil & gas conservation taX .........cccceevveeerineenne 0803 Tobacco
Mining severance tax (prepayments) ................. 0880 Cigarette stamps..........cccooiiiiiiiiccceee, 0720
Mining severance tax (payment with return) ...... 0881 Tobacco products tax ............ccceeeeiiiniiciiicnnen, 0730
Other Taxes Withholding
Lubricating oil fee.........ccccoeriiiiiiiiiiiiee 0405 Withholding taX..........ccoccoiiiiiiii e, 0110
Multichannel audio/visual tax ..........cccccccveeennen.. 0405 Mineral production withholding...........c..ccceeneee. 0800
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Due Dates
Payments are due the last day of the month after the filing
period ends. For example, April-dune period payments are
due July 31.

If the due date is on a weekend or holiday, payments are due
the next business day.

Additional Information

Sales Tax
Filers whose annual Utah sales tax liability is $96,000 or
more must pay sales and sales-related taxes by EFT. See
Pub 25, Sales and Use Tax General Information.

Corporate Tax
Filers can pay by ACH Credit.

The tax period end date for corporate tax is the taxable year
end date.

Fuel Tax
The following fuel tax types can pay by ACH Credit: Motor
fuel, special fuel, aviation fuel, compressed natural gas and
environmental assurance. Filers must submit their returns in
XML format. See Pub 66, Fuel Tax General Information.

EFT Help Line: 801-297-3817 or 800-662-4335, ext. 3817
Online filing: tap.utah.gov

Forms Hotline: 801-297-6700

Forms online: tax.utah.gov/forms
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Utah State Tax Commission

210 North 1950 West » Salt Lake City, UT 84134 « www.tax.utah.gov
Registration to Make Utah Tax Payments Through EFT ACH Credit

TC-86

Rev. 11/16

Taxpayers who make Utah tax payments using EFT ACH Credit must follow the terms and conditions set forth below.
Complete and sign this application, and submit it to the Tax Commission at the address below.

Company Identification

Company name

Utah 14-digit tax account number Tax Type Code
(list each separately)* (see below)
Address
City State ZIP Code
Telephone number Fax number Federal EIN

Email address

Contact person within the company

Contact person’s title

Company Authorization and Agreement

The above taxpayer will initiate tax payments to the Utah State Tax Commission using electronic funds transfer through the ACH
Credit method. Funds will be electronically remitted from the taxpayer’'s bank account to the Tax Commission’s bank account.

*If you do not know your 14-digit account number, enter your EIN.

The Taxpayer will follow all procedures for each tax type and will conform to the addendum transfer format and content detailed

in Electronic Funds Transfer - EFT (at tax.utah.gov/billing/payments). All Utah tax laws and rules will remain in effect.

By signing this registration | confirm all the information is correct and | will follow the addendum format and content

in Electronic Funds Transfer - EFT.

Authorized signature

Title

Date

To Request EFT Authorization...

¢ Fill out, sign and mail this form to the address below, or fax to 801-297-7698

Electronic Funds Transfer Unit
Utah State Tax Commission

210 North 1950 West

Salt Lake City, UT 84134

Tax Type Codes

Tax Type Tax Type Code
Beer

Beer Tax 0630
Corporate/Partnership

Corporate/Partnership Tax 0220
Fuel

Fuel Tax 0500
Insurance

Insurance Premium Tax 0710
Self Insurance Tax 0715
Qil, Gas, Severance

Oil & Gas Severance Tax (Prepayments) 0840
QOil & Gas Severance Tax (Payment with Return) 0841
Oil & Gas Conservation Tax 0803
Mining Severance Tax (Prepayments) 0880
Mining Severance Tax (Payment with Return) 0881
Other Taxes

Lubricating oil fee 0405
Multichannel audio/visual tax 0405
Prepaid disposable cell phone fee 0405

Tax Type

Tax Type Code

Other Taxes Continued

Sexually explicit business tax

Waste Tire Recycling Fee

Emergency Services Telephone Fee
Municipal Telecommunications License Tax
Radioactive Waste Tax

Brine Shrimp Tax

Sales

Sales and Use Tax

Transient Room Tax

Motor Vehicle Rental Tax

Restaurant Tax

Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax

Tobacco
Cigarette Stamps
Tobacco Products Tax

Wittholding
Withholding
Mineral Production Withholding

0405
0405
0407
0408
0900
2000

0400
0401
0403
0404
0406

0720
0730

0110
0800




