Publication Change Summary

Release Eff. Change
Date Date Pub # Location Detail
08/27/20 now 25  Throughout Revisions related to mandatory e-file of sales & use and sales-related taxes.
Page 15, "Cigarette, Tobacco and Removed instructions. See instead Pub 65.
E-Cigarette Products"
Page 17 Removed "Forms" subhead and the list of forms that followed.
06/04/20 07/01/20 65 Page 2, column 2, "Bond" Revised second paragraph to note that only retailers who buy untaxed e-cigarette
substances and untaxed prefilled e-cigarettes must pay a bond.
05/28/20 07/01/20 65  Throughout Extensive revisions and reorganization. Compare to prior revision.
05/14/20 07/01/20 5 Page 3, column 1 Added new section, "Remote Sales".
Page 5, "Credit Allowed for Other Expanded on bullet number 2.
States’ Tax"
25 Page 3, "Marketplace Facilitator" Specified that a person who is only facilitating a sale for a restaurant is not considered a
marketplace facilitator.
Page 5, Chart 1 Added qualifying tangible personal property to 4th item in chart.
New bullet for purchases of fuel, gas and electricity predominantly used for industrial use.
Page 10, column 1 New bullet for purchases of machinery, equipment, etc. under specific circumstances.
55 Page 2, column 2 Added new section, "Grocery Food Sales"
Page 2, "Exceptions" Added more detail to first bullet.
56  Page 4, "Exceptions" Added more detail to first bullet.
05/12/20 now 36  Page 2, Contact Info Changed the phone number for Cache County.
04/09/20 now 36 Pagel,columni Added code references.
Throughout Updated values for 2019.
19  Throughout Updated values for 2020 and abbreviated "Utah Code" to "UC".
Page 1, column 2 Added bullet to list of exemptions.
20  Throughout Updated values for 2020 and abbreviated "Utah Code" to "UC".
Page 1, column 1 Added bullet to list of exemptions.
11/20/19 01/01/20 14  Pagel Removed note that said to see a change summary on page 2.
Page 2, column 2 Changed "write the word 'Exempt' in box 4c" to "write the word 'Exempt' under box 4c"
("in" to "under").
Page 3, column 1
11/14/19 01/01/20 14  throughout Many updates and some cleanup for 2020.

now

25

Version from 10/30/19 released as final.




10/30/19 now 25 Page 16, column 1 Added "(effective Oct. 1, 2019)" to "Marketplace Facilitators and Sellers" subhead.
10/29/19 now 37 Page 1, "Sales Tax" Added language to include marketplace facilitators.
09/25/19 now 58  Page 2, "Interest Rates" Updated chart for 2020 year.
Page 2, "Penalties" Removed note about IFTA penalties.
08/12/19 now 9 Page 1
Removed aircraft from vehicles to be registered and informed people to register with UDOT.
"Emission Certificates", pg 2 Removed sentence about diesel powered vehicles 1997 and older.
"First-time Registration", pg 2 Removed mention of the 1.0% uniform fee.
"What to Do If You Sell Your Car", Removed "in writing" from instruction to notify the DMV and updated correspondence
pg 2 address.
23 throughout Removed mention of the 1.0% uniform fee.
"Age-based Uniform Fee", pg 1 Added snowmobiles, street legal ATVs, park model vehicles, and motor homes.
"When are the fees paid"”, pg 1 Added an explanation about new option to pay 6 month fees.
Page 2-3 Updated existing age-based fee schedules for 2019 and added new schedules for
snowmobiles, ATVs, motor homes, and collapisible inflatable vessel/pontoon/sailboat.
pages 3-4 Updated calculations/examples for 2019.
07/29/19 now 4 throughout Revised language.
Updated procedure for applying to the Voluntary Disclosure Program, including a new form,
TC-43, Voluntary Disclosure Program Application.
07/01/19 01/01/18 25  "Chart 3", page 8 Changed the "Radio Network Charge" from $0.18 to $0.52
06/13/19 07/01/19 25  "Introduction" Revised language.
"Utah Tax Code" Removed.
"Starting a New Business" Revised language.
"Chart 3" Changed "Unified Statewide 911 Emergency Service Charge" rate from .09 to .25; changed
"Prepaid Disposable Phones and Prepaid Disp. Phone Minutes" rate from 3.3 to 3.7.
"Definitions" Added definitions for "Marketplace," "Marketplace Facilitator" and "Marketplace Seller."
"Additional Information" Added "Marketplace Facilitators and Sellers."
"Vending Machine Sales" Changed "...vending machine is located." to "...vending machine inventory is warehoused."
"Sales Tax Publications" Removed Pub 38.
now 58 "Interest Rates" table Removed the IFTA note at the bottom.
05/28/19 07/01/19 62 Pg.2,col. 2 & pg. 3 Updated unified statewide 911 service charge from .09 to .25
05/09/19 07/11/19 57  Throughout This version of Pub 57 is part of the 2019 annual forms release.
05/09/19 now 35  Throughout Removed the reference to "lectronic high school" and edited the text for clarity.
05/06/19 now 14  Page 2, column 2 Changed “Auditing Divsion” to “Waivers” in the mailing addrress under “Employer

Withholding Exemption.”




05/02/19 now 66 Pages1&4 Changed "motorcarrier.utah.gov" to "tax.utah.gov/fuel/ifta-sfu"
04/09/19 now 66 Paged4 &5 Changed "taxexpress.utah.gov" to "tap.utah.gov"
Page 5, Loss of Product Fixed formatting error in bulleted list.
04/02/19 now 36  Page 2, Contact Info Updated phone number for Cache County.
02/28/19 now 57  Throughout Revised to reflect the federal Veterans Benefits and Transactions Act of 2018.
04/01/19 25  Page6, Chart 2 "State Sales and Use" rate increased to 4.85%.
02/19/19 now 25 Page 8, Chart 3 "Prepaid Disposable Phones and Prepaid Disp. Phone Minutes" rate increased to 3.3% (this
increase was effective 1/1/18).
01/24/19 01/01/19 57  Throughout Revised publication for 2019 filing year.
01/08/19 01/01/19 19  Throughout Updated values for 2019
20  Throughout Updated values for 2019
Pg 2, Taxation Updated language regarding interest
27  Pg2, Indigent abatement Corrected language defining abatement amount
Pg 2, Armed Forces Exemption Changed definition of calendar year
36  Throughout Updated values for 2019
Pg 2, Indigent abatement amount Corrected language defining abatement amount
Pg 2, Armed Forces eligibility Changed definition of calendar year
12/12/18 01/01/19 58  Pg?2, "interest Rate" Added the interest rate for 2019.
11/19/18 now 14  Pg 3, "How to Get a Withholding Added information about registering on TAP.
Account"
35 Pg?2, "Sales Tax License"
37 Pg1l, "Sales Tax" Added a new condition to the list prefaced "Retailers must collect and pay sales and use tax
if they:"
25  Pg2, "Sales Tax License" Added information about registering on TAP.
Pg 2-3, "Nexus Filers" Revised text to reflect South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.
09/10/18 now 54  "Municipal Energy Sales & Use Minor changes to last bullet.
Tax"
08/21/18 10/01/18 68  throughout Changed withholding tax rate from 5% to 4.95%.
"Income Subject to Withholding" Updated definition of Portfolio Income.
and "Definitions"
05/24/18 07/01/18 54  "Energy Suppliers" Revised instructions.
05/24/18 07/01/18 25 Chart2 Changed "impacted communities' tax" to "state correctional facility tax."
"Use-Based Exemptions" Revised language; added NAICS reference.
"Forms and Schedules" Added references to the state correctional facility tax.
"Forms" Updated name of TC-62X
05/24/18 07/01/18 5 "Determining Tax Base" Updated information regarding certain sales exempt from impacted communities taxes.




05/24/18 07/01/18 65  Throughout Removed mention of $30 license fee for retailers and anything related to selling to minors;
simple grammatical changes.
05/09/18 now 14 Page 5, column 2 Corrected contact phone number under "How to File W-2s and 1099Rs."
04/18/18 now 36 Throughout Updated credit amounts for 2017 tax year.
04/18/18 05/01/18 14  Throughout Removed mention of personal exemptions and updated 2018 withholding tables.
04/18/18 now 23  pages2and3 All examples referencing years have been increased by 1 year, also removed examples for
lien dates.
02/26/18 now 20  page 2, column?2 Updated the phone number for Salt Lake County
02/22/18 now 9 Throughout Updated safety inspection requirements and VIN/HIN inspection requirements.
Last page Removed list of county office locations; added instructions to find office locations on the
website.
02/15/18 now 17 Page 1 Revised "Online Request" instructions.
Page 2 Updated instructions for "Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor."
02/14/18 now 36  Throughout Updated numbers and years for 2018.
02/08/18 now 20  page 2, column 2 Updated the names of two county assessors.
02/06/18 now 19 Pagel Updated numbers and years for 2018.
20  Throughout
65 No content changes; just pagination fixes.
11/22/17 01/01/18 25 Chart3 Added statewide transient room tax
"Use-Based Exemptions" Added exemption described in Utah Code §59-12-104(89).
56  "Who Imposes the Transient Revised to include the statewide transient room tax.
Room Tax"
62  "Radio Network Charge" Changed fee from 18 cents to 52 cents.
"911 Service Charge on Prepaid  Changed rate from 2.45 percent to 3.3 percent.
Disposable Phones"
Taxes & Fees Table Changed Radio Network Charge from 18 cents to 52 cents.
10/12/17 01/01/18 14  Throughout Removed references to filing paper TC-941's and filing packs; revised information regarding
electronic filing requirements; updated URL's.
10/10/17 now 56 "Taxable Sales & Services" table  Added a new line to the bottom of the table; removed footnote E.
10/05/17 01/01/18 58  "Employer and Mineral Changed the reference from Pub 14 to the website.
Production Withholding
Reconciliation Penalties"
10/02/17 01/01/18 58  "Interest Rates" The interest rate for 2018 remains the same as 2017.
"Employer Withholding Cited code and added TC-675Rs to the forms penalized for being filed late; removed the
Reconciliation Penalties note regarding mineral production withholding reconciliation.
08/24/17 01/01/18 57  Throughout Updated numbers for 2017 tax year.
08/15/17 now 65  Throughout Changed Pub 51 references to "Utah Cigarette Directory."




08/01/17 now 5 "The Following Items are Revised text in the fourth, eighth and eleventh bullets.
nontaxable:"
"Lease Transactions" Revised text in list item 1.
06/08/17 now 19  Throughout Updated year references to 2017; made general grammatical changes.
31 Throughout Made general grammatical changes.
06/08/17 07/01/17 25 Chart3 Revised to reflect emergency service telephone charges eff. 7/1/17.
"Use-Based Exemptions" Three bullets added, one removed.
"Filing Frequency" Revised to reflect emergency service telephone charges effective 7/1/17.
"Carwashes" Revised to clarify rules about assisted carwashes.
"Information Online™ Removed TaxExpress information.
62  Throughout Revised to reflect emergency service telephone charges effective 7/1/17.
05/17/17 now 14  Page 4 (2 places) Updated the reference to "Online Filing and Paying of Withholding and Mineral Production
Taxes."
Page 4, column 1 Updated the reference to "Electronic Funds Transfer - EFT"
66  Page 6, column 2
















