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If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, email taxada@utah.gov, 
or call 801-297-3811 or TDD 801-297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response.

Sales Tax Information for 
Lodging Providers

PUBLICATION 56
Rev. 6/25

Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
801-297-2200
1-800-662-4335
tax.utah.govThis publication is provided for general 

guidance only. It does not contain all 
sales or use tax laws or rules.

Introduction
This publication provides sales tax information for lodging
providers. See publication 25 for general sales and use tax
information.

Tax Commission publications are reference tools. They are not 
all-inclusive and should not be used as legal references.

Tax laws may change due to legislative action. Changes to law 
will supersede information in this publication.

Transient Room Tax
Amounts paid for temporary lodging are subject to both sales 
tax and transient room tax. Report sales tax on TC-62M or 
TC-62S, and report transient room tax on TC-62T.

Temporary lodging is the use of accommodations in a hotel,
motel, inn, tourist home, trailer court or campground (or
similar accommodation) for less than 30 consecutive days.

Rooms and suites not used for lodging, such as convention 
halls or meeting rooms, are not subject to sales tax or tran-
sient room tax.

Lodging stays of 30 consecutive days or longer are exempt 
from sales tax and transient room tax.

Who Imposes the 
Transient Room Tax

The transient room tax rate for a location may be a combi-
nation of the six following rates:

1.	 Utah imposes a total statewide transient room tax of 1.07
percent.

2.	 Utah imposes an additional 0.25 percent transient room
tax in Salt Lake County.

3.	 All counties except Salt Lake County may impose a
county-wide transient room tax of up to 4.5 percent.

4.	 Salt Lake County imposes a total county-wide transient
room tax of 4.75 percent (4.25 percent transient room tax
+ 0.5 percent tourism transient room tax).

5.	 Cities and towns may impose a transient room tax of up
to 1 percent.

6.	 Cities and towns that meet certain requirements may 
impose an additional transient room tax of up to 0.5 
percent.

Find current tax rates online at tax.utah.gov/sales/rates.

Operations of Lodging Providers
Consumable Items

Temporary lodging providers may purchase consumable 
items exempt from sales tax if the items are:

1.	 used by their guests; and

2.	 included in the full sales price for the accommodation 
(not stated separately on the invoice).

Examples of consumable items include: meals, snacks, 
beverages, brushes, combs, hair care products, cosmetics, 
makeup, nail polish remover, lotion, shower caps, soap, toilet 
paper, toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouthwash, saline solution, 
razors, shaving cream, newspapers, magazines, notepads, 
pens, pencils, sewing kits, shoe shine kits, and similar items.

Consumable items do NOT include: 

1.	 tangible personal property that is cleaned for reuse (e.g., 
towels and linens), or

2.	 products transferred electronically.

Taxable Sales and Services
Sales or rentals of tangible personal property, such as gift 
shop sales, are subject to sales tax.

The following table shows common fees lodging providers 
charge guests. Although most of the fees are subject to 
sales and use tax, not all are subject to transient room taxes.

Is this information helpful?
Click here.

https://utconcierge.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6FCB25Oxgd51TqC
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			   Transient 
	 Fees	 Sales & Use Tax	 Room Tax

Additional room service		  Taxable	 Taxable

Admission to exercise facilities	 Taxable	 Not Taxable

Attrition		  Taxable	 Taxable 
		  (see A. below)	 (see A. below)

Cancellation (less than room amount)	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable 
		  (see A. below)	 (see A. below)

Childcare charges		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Cleaning fees		  Taxable	 Taxable

Complimentary meals or beverages	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Concierge fee		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Copy charges		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Damage fees		  Taxable	 Taxable

Dry Cleaning		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Energy surcharges		  Taxable	 Taxable

Equipment rental		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Fax receiving		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Fax sending		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Front desk labor fee		  Taxable	 Taxable

Groceries and related service fees (mini bar item charges)	 Taxable	 Not Taxable

Ground transportation/transfers	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Guest and owner miscellaneous request items	 Taxable	 Taxable

Hot tub fees		  Taxable	 Taxable

Interstate telephone charges 		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Late payment fee		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Laundry/dry cleaning service		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Lockout/lost key fee		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Meeting rooms		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

No show (full room amount)		  Taxable	 Taxable 
		  (see A. below)	 (see A. below)

Parking fees		  Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Pet fees		  Taxable	 Taxable

Prepaid calling cards		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Reservation change fee		  Taxable	 Taxable

Reservation fee		  Taxable	 Taxable

Resort fee		  Taxable	 Taxable

Rollaway bed and cribs		  Taxable	 Taxable

Room charges/rentals 30 consecutive days and longer	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Room charges/rentals less than 30 consecutive days	 Taxable	 Taxable

Safe and safety deposit box rentals	 See B. below	 Not Taxable

Shipping charges (FedEx, etc.)	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Sundry items sold		  Taxable	 Not Taxable
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			   Transient 
	 Fees	 Sales & Use Tax	 Room Tax

Telephone charges markup		  Taxable	 Not Taxable 
		  (see C. below)

Tickets to ski or gain admission to events	 Taxable	 Not Taxable 
		  (see D. below)

Tips for staff (mandatory)		  Taxable	 Taxable

Tips for staff (voluntary tips not listed on invoice)	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable

Vending machine sales		  Taxable	 Not Taxable

Video/movie/pay-per-view (assisted by lodging staff) charges	 Taxable	 Not Taxable

Video/movie/pay-per-view (accessed by guests	 Not Taxable	 Not Taxable 
without any assistance from lodging staff) charges		

A.	 When guests do not occupy a room and are charged an amount less than the room rate, the charge is 
not subject to sales or transient room taxes. When guests are charged the full room rate (whether they 
occupy it or not), the charge is subject to sales and transient room taxes. A deposit not directly related to 
the room charge is not subject to sales or transient room taxes.

B.	 Safe and safety deposit box charges are subject to sales tax if the boxes are tangible personal property. 
The rental is not subject to sales tax if the boxes are real property. See Pub 42 for definitions.

C.	 Telephone service providers collect the tax for local and instate long distance calls. However, any markup of 
these calls by lodging providers is subject to sales tax. Long distance interstate calls are not subject to sales tax.

D.	 Sales tax is usually collected by the third-party provider (resort, theater, etc.).

Exempt Sales and Services
Charges to Owner from Manager

Charges to property owners by property managers are not 
subject to sales tax or transient room tax. These charges in-
clude: interstate telephone charges, housekeeping, shipping 
charges (FedEx, etc.), administrative labor, DSL installation, 
late payment fees, hot tub fees, smoking and pet fees (cost 
of damages pass through), commission fees, credit card fees 
and check-in fees for non-paying guests.

Government
Federal Government Agencies
Sales to federal governmental agencies are exempt from 
sales tax and transient room tax if the buyer provides the 
seller proof of exemption that includes one of the following: 

•	 an exemption certificate (form TC-721G)

•	 a purchase order

•	 an invoice or check issued by a government agency

U.S. Dept. of the Interior
U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) bureaus are treated 
differently than other federal agencies. DOI bureaus that 
centrally bill travel expenses include: Bureau of Indian 
Affairs, Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Geological Survey, 
Minerals Management Service, Office of Special Trust, Office 
of Surface Mining, Office of the Secretary and National 
Business Center.

The travel expenses of DOI bureau employees are exempt 
from sales tax if the employee provides the seller with a 
valid exemption certificate (form TC-721G) or uses a DOI 

JPMorgan-Chase MasterCard with beginning numbers of 
5568 26. The DOI credit card is embossed with the em-
ployee’s name, the words U.S. Department of the Interior, 
and the DOI tax-exempt ID number. If the employee uses a 
DOI credit card, the lodging provider must keep a copy of the 
credit card.

Foreign Diplomats 
Lodging related sales to foreign diplomats are exempt from 
sales tax and transient room tax, at the point of sale, if the 
buyer has a diplomatic tax exemption card issued by the 
United States or American Institute in Taiwan, and provides 
the seller with a valid exemption certificate (form TC-721G) 
and copy of tax exemption card.

Utah Government Agencies  
Lodging-related sales to Utah government agencies are 
taxable at the point of sale. Qualifying agencies must request 
a refund of the tax from the Tax Commission. Employee pur-
chases that are reimbursed by the government agency do 
not qualify for refund. Refund claims may not be made more 
frequently than monthly.

Religious and Charitable Institutions
Qualifying religious and charitable institutions must have an 
exemption number issued by the Tax Commission. Tax is 
paid at the time of purchase on all amounts under $1,000, 
unless the institution has an exemption certificate and written 
contract on file with the lodging provider. If the sale is $1,000 
or more, the institution may use an exemption certificate to 
pay for lodging without paying tax. Otherwise, all sales are 
taxable and the institution must request a refund of the tax 
from the Tax Commission.
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Monthly Rentals
Charges for stays of 30 consecutive days or longer are 
exempt from sales and use tax and all sales-related taxes.

Trades or Bartering
A trade involving lodging does not create an exempt 
trade because lodging is not tangible personal property. 
Complimentary rooms are not taxable because there is no 
charge. 

Admissions Charges
Admissions and user fees for any amusement, enter-
tainment, recreation, exhibition, cultural or athletic activity 
are subject to Utah sales tax.

Taxable activities include, but are not limited to, admissions 
and user fees for: theaters, movies, operas, museums, 
planetariums, shows, exhibitions, concerts, carnivals, 
amusement parks, amusement rides, circuses, menageries, 
fairs, races, contests, sporting events, dances, boxing and 
wrestling matches, closed-circuit television broadcasts, bil-
liard or pool parlors, bowling lanes, golf and miniature golf, 
golf driving ranges, batting cages, skating rinks, ski lifts, ski 
runs, ski trails, snowmobile trails, tennis courts, swimming 
pools, water slides, river runs, jeep tours, boat tours, scenic 
cruises, and horseback rides.

Exceptions
Admissions and user fees include season passes, but do not 
include annual membership dues paid to a private organi-
zation whose members, directly or indirectly, establish the 
level of the membership dues.

Fees beyond annual membership dues, such as a country 
club’s fees for use of its golf course or pool, are con-
sidered admission and user fees and are taxable. See Tax 
Commission Rule R865-19S-33.

Amounts paid for the following activities are not admissions 
or user fees:

•	 Public or private lessons, including lessons that involve 
equipment or a facility as part of the lesson.

•	 Sign-ups for participation in amateur athletics if the activity 
is sponsored by state government or a nonprofit orga-
nization whose primary purpose is the sponsoring and 
promoting of amateur athletics.

•	 Sign-ups for participation in school activities. This does not 
include attendance as a spectator at school activities.

Fees for the above activities are subject to tax unless they 
are listed separately on an invoice. For example, if fees for a 
golf lesson are included with fees for use of the golf course, 
the entire amount is subject to sales tax.

Resort Packages
If a third party reserves rooms for its clients, sales tax and 
transient room tax are due on the rental. If rooms are dis-
counted for the third party but not for the clients (as is often 
done for large groups), tax is calculated on the discounted 
price.

If a third party (such as a hotel) arranges for ski lift passes, 
the ski resort must pay sales tax on the sales of the lift 
passes. The third party is considered the ski resort’s agent. 
Transient room tax does not apply to lift passes.

Other situations in which a third party arranges for guests to 
obtain taxable goods, services or admissions are treated the 
same way. The third party is considered the final consumer, 
not the third party’s clients.

Tours
The following guidelines apply to off-road tours, outfitters 
and providers of similar activities:

•	 If the tour begins in Utah, sales tax is due on the entire 
amount of the transaction.

•	 If the tour begins outside Utah, the transaction is not 
subject to sales tax.




