



Utah State Tax Commission • 210 North 1950 West • Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 • tax.utah.gov

Contents

General Instructions	1
TC-41 - Line-by-Line Instructions	
TC-41A – Fiduciary Supplemental Schedule	
TC-41B – Non or Part-year Resident Estate or Trust	
TC-41C – Bankruptcy Éstate Schedule	
TC-41K – Beneficiaries' Share of Income, Deductions and Credits	
TC-41K-1 – Beneficiary's Share of Utah Income, Deductions, and Credits	
TC-41N – Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax	
TC-41W – Utah Withholding Tax Schedule	
TC-250 – Credits Received from Upper-tier Pass-through Entities and Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit on TC-675R	28
Qualified Funeral Trust Information .	30



Cover art by Randolph Prawitt

E-Filing is Easier!

E-filing is the easiest and most accurate way to file. Ask your tax preparer about e-filing your individual, fiduciary, partnership, C corporation and S corporation returns, or use commercial tax software.

Utah is Online

Utah offers many online services for individual and business filers, including:



Pay by e-check or credit card. Manage your Utah tax account. Request payment plans.



tax.utah.gov

Download forms and instructions for all Utah tax types. Link to free business resources and other services.

References

UC Utah Code (le.utah.gov)

IRC Internal Revenue Code (law.cornell.edu/uscode/26)

E-Verify for Employers

Employers can help prevent identity theft by verifying the Social Security numbers of job applicants. E-Verify is a free service of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security that verifies employment eligibility through the Internet. Employers can use E-Verify at everify.uscis.gov.

Need more information?

Questions 801-297-2200 or

1-800-662-4335 (outside the Salt Lake area)

Research Utah rules, bulletins and Commission decisions:

tax.utah.gov

Utah Code (UC): le.utah.gov Internal Revenue Code (IRC): law.cornell.edu/uscode/26

Utah Taxpayer Advocate Service

The Taxpayer Advocate Service helps taxpayers who have made multiple, unsuccessful attempts to resolve concerns with the Tax Commission. This service helps resolve problems when normal agency processes break down, identifies why problems occurred, and suggests solutions. See <code>tax.utah.gov/contact</code>, or contact us to find out if you qualify for this service at 801-297-7562 or 1-800-662-4335, ext. 7562, or by email at <code>taxpayeradvocate@utah.gov</code>. Do not use the Taxpayer Advocate Service to bypass normal methods for resolving issues or disputes.

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, email taxada@utah.gov, or call 801-297-3811 or TDD 801-297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response. 2024 Utah TC-41 Instructions

General Instructions

What's New

- Payroll Protection Program (PPP) grant or loan addback: In certain situations you must add to your income the amount of PPP grants or loans forgiven in 2024. See page 11.
- Utah tax rate: The 2024 Utah Legislature passed SB 69, lowering the fiduciary tax rate from 4.65 percent to 4.55 percent.

Who Must File

If you are a fiduciary of an estate or trust with income derived from Utah sources, and you are required to file a federal Fiduciary Income Tax Return, then you must file form TC-41, *Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return*.

When to File and Pay

You must file your return and pay any tax due:

- 1. By April 15, 2025, if you file on a 2024 calendar year basis (tax year ends Dec. 31, 2024); or
- 2. By the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year ends, if you file on a fiscal year basis. If the due date falls on Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is the next business day.

All Utah income taxes for the year must be paid by the due date. If your return is not filed on time or all income tax due is not paid by the due date you may be subject to penalties and interest. (See instructions for line 40.)

Utah does not require quarterly estimated tax payments. You can prepay at any time by sending your payment with form TC-548, *Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon*, or by paying at **tap.utah.gov**.

Tax Period and Accounting Method

The first return filed by an administrator or executor of an estate must cover the period from the date of the decedent's death to the end of the first tax year selected by the administrator or executor. The first return filed by a fiduciary of a trust must cover the period beginning with the creation of the trust to the end of the first tax year selected by the fiduciary. Returns must be filed for each subsequent year the estate or trust exists. The tax year cannot be longer than 12 months and must coincide with the tax year selected for filing the federal return. You must apply the same accounting method used for federal fiduciary income tax purposes as for Utah fiduciary income tax purposes.

Extension of Time to File



This is NOT an extension of time to pay your taxes – it is an extension to file your return.

You get an automatic extension of up to six months to file your return. You do not need to file an extension form, but we will assess penalties if you have not met the prepayment requirements (see below).

See instructions for line 40. All extension calendar year returns must be filed by Oct. 15, 2025.

Prepayment Requirements for Filing Extension

You must prepay by the original due date:

- 90 percent of your 2024 tax due (TC-41, line 39);
- 100 percent of your 2023 tax liability (2023 TC-41, line 39); or
- 90 percent of your 2024 tax due (TC-41, line 39) if you did not have a tax liability in 2023 or this is your first year filing.

The pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the Tax Commission by the original due date of the return, without regard to extensions. You may pay at **tap.utah.gov** or use form TC-549, *Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon*.

You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, etc.), payments applied from a previous year refund, tax credits and credit carryovers, or payment made by the tax due date using form TC-548, *Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon* or at **tap.utah.gov**. Interest is assessed on unpaid tax from the filing due date until the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.

Where to File

Mail your return to:
Utah State Tax Commission
210 N 1950 W
SLC, UT 84134-0250.

What to Attach and What to Keep

Attach

- Utah Schedules: Attach all applicable schedules (TC-41A, TC-41B, TC-41C, TC-41K, TC-41K-1 for each beneficiary, TC-41N, TC-41S, TC-41W, and TC-250).
- Other Adjustments: Attach an explanation for any equitable or fiduciary adjustment entered on TC-41A, Part 2, code 79 or code 87.
- Tax Due: If you have an amount due on the return, submit form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon (see the last page of this book), and your check or money order with the return.

FYI: Withholding Forms

Withholding tax information must be entered on TC-41W, which is attached to your return.

Keep

Do not send forms W-2, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, Utah Schedule K-1 received from an upper-tier pass-through entity (see TC-250 instructions in this book for the definition of upper-tier pass-through entity), etc., or form TC-675R (showing mineral withholding tax) with your return. If you do not complete and send form TC-41W with your return, processing will be delayed and we may reject your withholding credit.

Do not send a copy of your federal return, credit schedules (other than Utah Schedules TC-41A, TC-41S, and/or TC-41W), worksheets, or other documentation with your return.

Recordkeeping

Keep copies of any receipts, state forms, worksheets, credit authorization forms, and other documentation to support any income, deduction, exemption, and credit you have reported. You may be asked to provide this information later to verify entries on your return.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round down if under 50 cents; round up if 50 cents and above. **Do not enter cents on the return.**

Negative Numbers

When reporting losses or other negative numbers, do not use parentheses. Always indicate a negative number with a minus sign (-).

Fiduciary and Estate Defined

Fiduciary means a guardian, trustee, executor, administrator, receiver, conservator, or any person acting in a fiduciary capacity for any individual or entity. The term estate refers only to the estate of a deceased person and does not include a trust maintained for minors, for a person adjudicated incompetent, or for any person who is suffering from another legal disability.

Note: Throughout these instructions, any reference to "you" means the fiduciary of the estate or trust.

"Domicile" Defined

(UC §59-10-136)

A beneficiary's domicile determines whether an estate or trust must withhold Utah income tax for that beneficiary. See *Pass-through Entity Withholding Requirements* on page 4.

Utah Domicile

(UC §59-10-136)

Test '

You are domiciled in Utah if you or your spouse:

- claimed a child tax credit (IRC §24) for a dependent on your federal tax return, and the dependent is enrolled in a Utah public K-12 school (this does not apply if you are the noncustodial parent and are not married to the custodial parent);
- 2. are enrolled as a resident student in a Utah state institution of higher education; or
- 3. voted in Utah during the tax year and were neither registered to vote nor voted in another state.

Test 2

Even if you do not meet the conditions in Test 1, you are still domiciled in Utah if you or your spouse:

 have a permanent home in Utah to which either of you intend to return after being absent; and have voluntarily settled in Utah, not for a special or temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

Whether you have a permanent home in Utah is based on a preponderance of the evidence (i.e., the evidence you have a permanent home is more convincing than any evidence you do not), taking into consideration all of the following facts and circumstances:

- You or your spouse has a Utah driver's license.
- You or your spouse receive a residential exemption for a primary residence under UC §59-2, Property Tax Act.
- You or your spouse claims a federal tax credit (IRC §24) for a dependent who is enrolled as a resident student in a Utah state institution of higher education.
- The nature and quality of the living accommodations you or your spouse has in Utah compared to another state.
- You have a spouse or dependent in Utah for whom you or your spouse claims a federal tax credit under IRC §24.
- The physical location where you or your spouse earns income.
- The state of registration of a vehicle owned or leased by you or your spouse.
- You or your spouse has a membership in a church, club or similar organization in Utah.
- You or your spouse lists a Utah address on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government publication, other correspondence, or similar item.
- You or your spouse lists a Utah address on a federal or state tax return.
- You or your spouse file a Utah income tax return as a fullyear or part-year resident.
- You or your spouse claims Utah residency on a document (other than a Utah income tax return) filed with or provided to a court or other government entity.
- You or your spouse fails to obtain a permit or license normally required of a resident in the state where you claim to have domicile.
- You are the noncustodial parent of a dependent enrolled in a Utah public K-12 school for which you claimed a child tax credit (IRC §24) on your federal tax return, and you are divorced from the custodial parent.
- You maintain a place of abode (i.e., the place where you usually live)in Utah and spent 183 or more days of the tax year in Utah.
- You or your spouse did not vote in Utah during the tax year but voted in Utah in any of the three prior years and was not registered to vote in another state during those three years.

Spouses

If your spouse has Utah domicile under Test 1 (above), you also have Utah domicile. If your spouse has Utah domicile under Test 2, you also have Utah domicile unless you can establish by a preponderance of the evidence (i.e., the evidence for your claim is more convincing than any evidence against it) that during the tax year and the three prior years you did not:

- 1. own property in Utah,
- 2. spend more than 30 total days during a year in Utah,

- 3. receive earned income for services performed in Utah,
- 4. vote in Utah, or
- 5. have a Utah driver's license.

You are not considered to have a spouse with Utah domicile if:

- 1. you and the spouse are legally separated or divorced, or
- you and the spouse both claimed married filing separately on your federal individual income tax returns for the tax year.

You must file a Utah income tax return (or amended return) and pay any penalty and interest that apply if you did not file a return based upon your belief that you did not meet the domicile criteria.

Resident Estate or Trust Defined

Resident estate or resident trust means:

- an estate of a deceased person who, at death, was domiciled in Utah;
- 2. a trust, or a portion of a trust, consisting of property transferred by will of a deceased person who at death was domiciled in Utah; or
- 3. a trust administered in Utah.

A trust is administered in Utah if:

- a. the trust does not specify a place of administration and the fiduciary transacts a major portion of its trust administration in Utah,
- b. the fiduciary's usual place of business is in Utah, or
- c. the trust states that Utah is the place of administration, and any administration of the trust is done in this state.

Nonresident Estate or Trust Defined

The terms nonresident estate or nonresident trust are defined as estates or trusts that are not resident estates or trusts.

Part-year Resident Estate or Trust Defined

A part-year resident estate or trust is a resident estate or trust for part of the year and a nonresident estate or trust for part of the year. All income received during the period of Utah residency is taxable in Utah, regardless of where that income is earned, unless specifically exempted. Income from Utah sources is taxable in Utah during the period of nonresidency.

Exempt Trusts

Trust income that is exempt from federal income tax is also exempt from Utah income tax.

An exempt trust with unrelated business income in Utah that files federal Form 990-T must file Utah form TC-20MC, *Tax Return for Miscellaneous Corporations*.

Amounts Reportable as Utah Income by the Beneficiaries

Utah resident beneficiaries must report the income from the estate or trust included in the beneficiary's federal adjusted gross income to Utah as though the beneficiary received the

income directly. The estate or trust residence does not affect the source of income for computing the beneficiary's Utah individual income tax.

A Utah nonresident beneficiary is not required to file a return if:

- their only Utah source of income is from a partnership, S corporation, estate or trust (or other pass-through entity); and
- 2. sufficient Utah income tax was withheld by the partnership, S corporation, estate or trust (or other pass-through entity) to cover the Utah tax liability on the Utah source income.

Portfolio Income

Portfolio income listed on federal return schedules may be either business or nonbusiness income.

Nonbusiness portfolio income is treated as nonbusiness income on the return and is attributable to the state of residence of:

- · the estate or trust, if retained by the estate or trust, or
- · the beneficiary, if distributed to a beneficiary.

Apportionable Income

The following types of income are apportionable business income (not portfolio income):

- 1. Interest, dividends, royalties, gains, etc., derived in the ordinary course of a pass-through entity's trade or business
- 2. Interest, dividends, gains, etc., of an entity whose primary business activity is investing funds (such as with a brokerage firm)
- 3. Income received from holdings in or the sale of partnership interests

Pass-through Entity

A pass-through entity is an entity whose income, gains, losses, deductions and/or credits flow through to its partners (partnerships), members (limited liability companies), and shareholders (S corporations) or beneficiaries (estates and trusts) for federal tax purposes.

An estate or trust is considered a pass-through entity if any of the estate's or trust's income, gains, losses, deductions, and/or credits is divided among and passed through to one or more beneficiaries. A pass-through entity is required to withhold Utah income tax on the income from Utah sources passed through to its beneficiaries. The calculation of the withholding tax requirement for an estate or trust is made on the TC-41N. (See TC-41N instructions in this book.)

Pass-through Entity Taxpayer

A pass-through entity taxpayer is any entity or individual which has income, gains, losses, deductions and/or credits passed to it from a pass-through entity (e.g., a beneficiary in a trust is a pass-through entity taxpayer). Utah withholding tax paid for or on behalf of the beneficiary by the pass-through entity is reported on the TC-41, Schedule K-1, and is claimed as a refundable credit on the income tax return filed by the beneficiary.

Pass-through Entity Withholding Requirements

Estates and trusts are considered pass-through entities (see UC §59-10-1402(10)) and, for tax years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2013, are required to withhold Utah income tax on all nonresident individual beneficiaries, resident or nonresident business beneficiaries, and resident or nonresident estate or trust beneficiaries. These beneficiaries are collectively referred to as pass-through entity taxpayers (see UC §59-10-1402(11)). A pass-through entity is not required to withhold on a beneficiary if:

- the beneficiary is exempt from tax under UC §59-7-102(1)
 or §59-10-104.1;
- the pass-through entity is a plan under IRC Sections 401, 408 or 457 and is not required to file a return under UC Chapter 7; or
- 3. the pass-through entity is a publicly traded partnership as defined under UC §59-10-1403.2(1)(b)(iv).

Utah imposes a 4.55 percent (.0455) withholding tax on all Utah business and nonbusiness income derived from or connected with Utah sources and attributable to pass-through entity tax-payers. The estate or trust may reduce this withholding by any mineral production withholding tax and previous pass-through entity withholding tax allocated to the beneficiary, and taxes paid for this beneficiary with form TC-75 (Voluntary Taxable Income Election for Pass-through Entities). This withholding tax must be paid to the Tax Commission by the original due date of the return, without regard to extensions.

The calculation of the required Utah withholding tax is done on Schedule N (TC-41N). See the TC-41N instructions in this book.

The estate or trust must provide a Utah Schedule K-1 to each beneficiary showing the amount of Utah withholding paid on behalf of the beneficiary. This withholding tax is then claimed as a credit by the beneficiary on the beneficiary's Utah income tax return.

If this estate or trust has an interest in another pass-through entity, that other entity is required to withhold Utah income tax on Utah income allocated to this estate or trust. The other pass-through entity must provide a Utah Schedule K-1 showing the amount of Utah withholding tax paid on behalf of this estate or trust. This withholding tax paid by the other pass-through entity must be reported on schedule TC-250, and must be claimed by this estate or trust to offset any tax liability or allocated to the beneficiaries to be claimed on their Utah income tax returns. Amounts of previous pass-through entity withholding tax allocated to beneficiaries on Schedules K and K-1 must be reduced by amounts claimed by this estate or trust.

The estate or trust may claim a waiver of withholding tax and any associated penalty and interest for all or selected beneficiaries who filed and paid tax on the Utah income from this estate or trust. The tax must be paid on or before the estate or trust's return due date, including extensions (see UC §59-10-1403.2(6)).

Payment Options

Online

Easily and securely pay your tax online with your credit card, an electronic check (ACH debit), or other electronic options. Online payments may include a service fee. Pay at **tap.utah.gov**.

Check or Money Order

To pay by check or money order, mail your check or money order with your return. Make payable to the "Utah State Tax Commission" and write your daytime phone number and "2024 TC-41" on the check. Do not staple to your return. Remove any check stub before sending. Do not mail cash with your return. The Tax Commission is not liable for cash lost in the mail.

If paying by mail, **include a TC-549 coupon with your payment.** See form TC-549 on the last page of these instructions.

TC-41 - Line-by-Line Instructions

Filing Period

File using the 2024 return for calendar year and fiscal or short years beginning in 2024. If the return is for a fiscal year or a short tax year (less than 12 months), enter the tax year end date at the top of the form using the format mm/yy.

Names and Address

Enter the information as called for. Enter the full name of the estate or trust.

ZIP Code

Enter your ZIP Code with the "plus four" at the end, without the hyphen.

Foreign Country

If your address is in a foreign country, enter the mailing address where indicated. Enter the foreign city, state/province and postal code in the City field. Abbreviate if necessary. Leave the State and ZIP Code fields blank. Enter only the foreign country name in the "Foreign country" field.

EIN or SSN

Enter the estate or trust's federal employer identification number (EIN). If the estate or trust is filed with a Social Security number (SSN) instead of an EIN, enter that number and mark the space below this number.

Amended Return (Superseded Return)

To amend a previously-filed return, use the tax forms and instructions for the year you are amending. Get prior year forms and instructions at **tax.utah.gov/forms**.

Enter you current address on an amended return.

Amend your return if you discover an error on your Utah or federal return after it is filed, or your federal return is examined or adjusted by the IRS and the examination or adjustment affects your Utah return. You must amend your return within 90 days of the IRS's final determination. Contact the Tax Commission if you are unsure whether or not your Utah taxes are affected by an examination or adjustment.

To qualify for a refund or a credit, you must file an amended return by the later of three years after the original return was due or two years from the date the tax was paid. (A return filed before the due date is considered filed on the due date.)

How to Amend a 2024 Utah Fiduciary Tax Return

A. On the top of TC-41, page 1, on the "Amended Return" line, enter the code number from the following list that best describes your **Reason for Amending:**

Reason-for-Amending Codes (enter on return)

- 1 You filed an amended return with the IRS. Attach a copy of your amended federal return. (If amending for a net operating loss, do not use code 1, use code 4 see below.)
- 2 You made an error on your Utah return. Attach an explanation of the error.
- 3 Your federal return was changed by an IRS examination or adjustment and it affects your Utah return. Attach a copy of the IRS adjustment.
- 4 You had a net operating loss. Utah treats net operating losses the same as the federal return. If any part of your amended return is from a net operating loss carryback, use code 4 and complete a Utah fiduciary tax return for each year you are amending. Attach a copy of your amended federal return. Your documentation must clearly show the year you experienced the loss.
- **5** Other. Attach an explanation to your return.
- B. Enter the corrected figures on the return and/or schedules.
- C. Enter all other amounts shown on your original return. If you received a refund on your original return, enter the amount of the previous refund on line 29 of the 2024 amended return. If you paid with the original return or made subsequent tax payments before filing the amended return, enter the total previous payments on line 35 of the 2024 amended return.
- D. Submit the amended return with all schedules, including copies of those schedules that did not change from the original filing.
- E. Do not submit a copy of your original return with your amended return.

Federal Form 8886

If you filed federal form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure Statement, with the IRS, enter an "X" at the top right-hand side of your TC-41, where indicated.

Line 1. Type of Return

Enter the code that describes the entity filing the return. The entity type indicated must match the type of entity indicated in box A of federal form 1041. If multiple entity types are indicated in box A of federal form 1041, attach an explanation of how trust income from Utah sources is allocated to each entity type and indicate the entity type that is the dominant source of Utah trust income without subtracting income distributed to beneficiaries. For pooled income funds, enter H (Charitable Trust).

Bankruptcy Estate: See the TC-41C instructions in this book for how to compute the Utah tax.

Federal Form 1041-QFT: See Qualified Funeral Trust Information on page 30.

Electing Small Business Trust (ESBT): Report federal taxable income on line 4 and the separate small business trust portion of the taxable income on TC-41A, Part 1, code 58.

Line 2. Status Code of Estate or Trust

Enter the code "R" for a resident estate or trust, "N" for a non-resident estate or trust, or "P" for a part-year resident estate or trust. See the *General Instructions* to determine if the estate or trust is a resident or nonresident entity.

Line 3. Nonresident Beneficiaries

If any beneficiary of the estate or trust is not a Utah resident, enter an "X" in the box. If all beneficiaries are residents of Utah, leave the box blank.

Line 4. Federal Total Income

Enter the federal total income from federal form 1041, line 9 or form 1041-QFT, Part II, line 5.

Bankruptcy Estates: Trustees of an individual bankruptcy estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must complete TC-41C, *Bankruptcy Estate Tax Calculation*, to determine the taxable income and tax liability of the estate. Follow these instructions for TC-41:

- · Leave lines 4 through 21 blank.
- Line 22, Utah income tax enter the amount from TC-41C, line 20.
- For a resident bankruptcy estate, complete lines 23 through 42 according to the regular fiduciary instructions.
- For a non or part-year resident bankruptcy estate, complete lines 23 through 25 according to the regular fiduciary instructions, then follow the instructions for TC-41C, page 2.

Line 5. Additions to Income

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 1.

Complete TC-41A, Part 1 if you have any of the following additions to income:

- · Lump sum distribution
- my529 addback
- Municipal bond interest
- · ESBT S corporation income
- Fiduciary adjustments
- · Payroll Protection Program grant or loan addback
- · Equitable adjustments

Line 6. Total Adjusted Income

Add line 4 and line 5.

Line 7. Fiduciary Fees for Administering Estate or Trust

Enter any fiduciary fees deducted on your federal form 1041, line 12.

Line 8. Income Distribution Deduction

Enter any income distribution deduction reported on your federal form 1041, line 18.

Line 9. Estate Tax Deduction

Enter the amount of any estate tax deduction, including certain generation-skipping taxes, deducted on your federal form 1041, line 19.

Line 10. Exemption

Enter the exemption deduction taken on your federal form 1041, line 21.

Line 11. State Tax Refund Included in Federal Income

(UC §59-10-202(2)(d))

Enter the amount of any state tax refund you included in income on the federal form 1041 for the same year.

Line 12. Subtractions from Income

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 2.

Complete TC-41A, Part 2, if you have any of the following subtractions from income:

- Interest from Utah municipal bonds and U. S. government obligations
- · Native American income
- Railroad retirement income
- · Equitable adjustments
- · Nontaxable income from irrevocable resident trust
- Nongrantor charitable lead trust charitable contribution
- · Fiduciary adjustments
- · FDIC premiums
- · Qualified retirement plan distributions

Line 13. Total Deductions

Add lines 7 through 12.

Line 14. Utah Taxable Income/Loss

Subtract line 13 from line 6.

Line 15. Utah Tax

Multiply the Utah taxable income on line 14 by 4.55 percent (.0455). If the result is zero or less, enter "0".

Estate or Trust Tax Credit (lines 16 - 21) (UC §59-10-1020)

Estates and trusts are allowed a credit against Utah tax based on the total of the interest expense, taxes paid, charitable contributions, attorney/accountant/tax preparer fees, and certain miscellaneous deductions. The credit phases out for income over a specified amount.

Line 16. Allowable Deductions for Credit

Use the following worksheet to calculate the estate or trust's allowable deductions. See line instructions below the worksheet.

Worksheet for Allowable Deductions					
1. Interest	\$				
2. Taxes	\$				
3. Charitable contributions	\$				
4. Attorney/accountant/return preparer fees	\$				
5. Miscellaneous deductions	\$				
6. Total deductions (add lines 1 through 5)	\$				
Enter the amount from line 6 on line 16 of T	C-41.				

Worksheet Line Instructions:

- Line 1 Interest. Enter the total interest paid or accrued, and deducted on the federal return (IRC section 163).
- Line 2 Taxes. Enter the total taxes paid or accrued, and deducted on the federal return (IRC section 164). Do not include any amounts paid or accrued for state or local income taxes for the tax year.
- Line 3 Charitable Contributions. Enter the total charitable contributions deducted on the estate or trust federal return. Do not include any amounts deducted by a qualified nongrantor charitable lead trust under IRC section 642(c).
- Line 4 Certain Fees. Enter the total deducted on the federal return for attorney, accountant, or return preparer fees.
- Line 5 Miscellaneous Deductions. Enter the total miscellaneous and other deductions deducted on the federal return. Include net operating losses on this line.

Note: These deductions are used in the calculation of the Estate or Trust Tax Credit even though they may also have been used in the calculation of income items reported on the Schedules K-1.

Line 17. Initial Credit before Phase-out

Multiply the amount on line 16 by 6 percent (.06).

Line 18. Base Phase-out Amount

The base phase-out amount for an estate or trust is \$12,000. For qualified funeral trusts, see *Qualified Funeral Trust Information* on page 30.

Line 19. Income Subject to Phase-out

Subtract line 18 (the base phase-out amount) from line 14 (Utah taxable income). If the result is zero or less, enter "0".

Line 20. Phase-out Amount

Multiply line 19 by 1.3 percent (.013). This is the credit phaseout amount.

Line 21. Estate or Trust Tax Credit

Subtract the phase-out amount on line 20 from the initial credit on line 17. If the result is zero or less, enter "0".

Line 22. Utah Income Tax

Subtract the estate or trust tax credit on line 21 from the tax calculated on line 15. If the result is zero or less, enter "0".

Bankruptcy Estates: Enter the tax calculated on TC-41C, line 20. See the TC-41C instructions on page 19.

Line 23. Enter Tax from Line 22

Enter the tax from page 1, line 22.

Line 24. Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 3.

Complete TC-41A, Part 3 if you are claiming any of the following nonrefundable credits:

- Capital Gain Transactions Credit
- my529 Credit
- · Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

Line 25. Subtract line 24 from line 23

Apportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed the tax liability on the return. If the total of the credits shown on line 24 is more than or equal to the tax on line 23, enter "0".

Full-year resident: Enter the amount from line 25 on line 26, and then complete the rest of the return.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the amount from line 25 on TC-41B, Non or Part-year Resident Estate or Trust Schedule, line 20. Complete TC-41B, enter the tax from TC-41B, line 21 on TC-41, page 2, line 26, and then complete the rest of the return.

Line 26. Enter Applicable Tax

Full-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from line 25.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from line 21 of TC-41B. See the TC-41B instructions in this book.

Bankruptcy estates: Enter the tax from TC-41C, line 61. See the TC-41C instructions on page 19.

Line 27. Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 4.

Complete TC-41A, Part 4 if you are claiming any of the following nonrefundable credits:

- · Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution Credit
- · Carryforward of Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit
- · Historic Preservation Credit
- Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah
- Carryforward of Credit for Machinery/Equipment Used to Conduct Research
- · Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
- Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit
- · Combat Related Death Credit
- · Veteran Employment Credit
- · Employing Persons Who are Homeless Credit
- Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program Credit
- Carson Smith Opportunity Scholarship Program Credit

Line 28. Subtract Line 27 from Line 26

Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed your tax liability. If the total credits on line 27 is more than or equal to the tax on line 26, enter "0".

Line 29. Amended Return Only - Previous Refund

This line is only for an amended return. Enter the total of all refund, credits, or offsets of state income tax received for the tax year being amended. Do not include refund interest.

Line 30. Utah Use Tax

Use tax is a tax on goods and taxable services purchased for use, storage or other consumption in Utah during the tax year and applies only if sales tax was not paid at the time of purchase. If you purchased an item from an out-of-state seller, including Internet, catalog, radio and TV purchases, and the seller did not collect sales tax on that purchase, you must pay the use tax directly to the Tax Commission. If you have a

Utah sales tax license/account, include the use tax on your sales tax return. If you do not have a Utah sales tax license/account, report the use tax on line 30 of TC-41.

You may take a credit for sales or use tax paid to another state (but not a foreign country). The credit may not be greater than the Utah use tax you owe. If you paid sales tax to more than one state, complete the *Use Tax Worksheet* below for each state. Add lines 8 on all worksheets and enter the total on line 30.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use the *Use Tax Rate Chart* below to find the rate for the location where the merchandise was delivered, stored, used or consumed. Use the county rate if the city is not listed.

The tax on grocery food is 3 percent. Grocery food is food sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and consumed for taste or nutrition. Grocery food does not include alcoholic beverages or tobacco. See Pub 25, *Sales and Use Tax*, for more information.

	Use Tax Rate Chart	(Effectiv	re Dec. 31, 2024)
.0635	Beaver County	.0835	Brighton
.0735	Beaver City, UIPA Min Mt -	.0745	Murray, So. SL, So. SL HTRZ
	Beaver City	.0775	Salt Lake City, Inland Port SLC,
.0635	Box Elder County	1	SLC Convention Hotel, SLC HTRZ
.0665	Brigham City, Mantua, Perry,	.0935	MIDA Sundance - SLC
	Willard, UIPA GS - Brigham	.0635	San Juan County
.0735	Snowville	.0675	Blanding, Monticello
.0670	Cache County	.0745	Bluff
.0695	Cache Valley Transit, Hyde	.0635	Sanpete County
0700	Park, Lewiston, Millville	.0645	Centerfield, Mayfield Ephraim, Fairview, Gunnison,
.0700	Hyrum, Logan, Nibley, N. Logan,	1 .0075	Mt. Pleasant
	Providence, Richmond, River	.0665	Manti
0005	Heights, Smithfield	.0635	Sevier County
.0635 .0645	Carbon County Helper	.0645	Aurora, Redmond
.0675	Price	.0665	Koosharem, Monroe
.0665	Wellington	.0675	Richfield, Salina
.0765	Daggett County	.0715	Summit County
.0875	Dutch John	.0905	Park City
.0715	Davis County	.0745	Snyderville Basin Transit
.0725	Bountiful, Centerville, Clearfield,	.0660	Tooele County
	Clinton, Farmington, Kaysville,	.0690	Erda, Lakepoint City, Lakepoint
	Layton, N. Salt Lake, S. Weber,	.0700	Transit, Lincoln, Stansbury Park Grantsville, Tooele City, UIPA
	Syracuse, W. Bountiful,	.0700	Twenty Wells
	Woods Cross	.0645	Uintah County
.0635	Duchesne County	.0695	Naples, Vernal
.0645	Duchesne City	.0735	Utah County
.0675	Roosevelt	.0745	Alpine, American Fork, Cedar
.0635	Emery County	1	Hills, Highland, Lehi, Lindon,
.0825 . 0735	Green River, UIPA CC - Gr. River	I I	Orem, Payson, Pleasant Grove,
.0735	Garfield County Boulder, Panguitch, Tropic	1	Provo, Santaquin, Spanish Fork,
.0855	Bryce Canyon	1	Springville, UIPA Verk - Sp.
.0845	Escalante	į	Fork, ULA Lehi, ULA Lindon,
.0685	Grand County	i	ULA Provo, ULA Vineyard,
.0885	Moab		Vineyard, Vineyard HTRZ
.0665	Iron County	.0895	MIDA Sundance - Ut. Co.
.0865	Brian Head	.0695	Wasatch County
.0675	Cedar City, Parowan	.0805	Heber
.0635	Juab County	.0755	Independence, Mil. Rec. Wasatch,
.0665 .0675	Eureka Mona, Nephi	i	Mil. Rec. Hideout, Mil. Rec.
.0670	Santaquin South	.0835	MWR Hotel, Mil. Rec. GAEC PID Midway
.0735	Kane County	.0885	Park City East
.0845	Kanab, Big Water	.0645	Washington County
.0835	Orderville	.0675	Hurricane, Ivins, La Verkin,
.0635	Millard County		St. George, Santa Clara,
.0675	Fillmore		Washington City
.0670	Morgan County	.0805	Springdale
.0695	Morgan City	.0745	Virgin
.0635	Piute County	.0635	Wayne County
.0635	Rich County	.0665	Bicknell, Loa, Torrey
.0795	Garden City	.0725	Weber County
.0725	Salt Lake County Alta	.0745	Falcon Hill Riverdale,
.0885	Aild	I I	Riverdale

Use Tax Worksheet	
Amount of purchases (except grocery food) subject to use tax	1
Use tax rate (decimal from Use Tax Rate Chart)	2
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2	3
Amount of grocery food purchases subject to use tax	4
5. Multiply line 4 by 3% (.03)	5
6. Add line 3 and line 5	6
7. Credit for sales tax paid to another state on use tax purchases	7
8. Use tax due (subtract line 7 from line 6) (If less than zero, enter "0.")	8

31. Total Pass-through Withholding Tax

Enter the total pass-through withholding tax from Schedule N, column K.

This pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the Tax Commission by the original due date of the return, without regard to extensions. Pay at **tap.utah.gov** or use form TC-549, *Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon*.

Do not include on this line any pass-through withholding tax credit received from an upper-tier pass-through entity as reported on a Utah Schedule K-1 you received. These pass-through withholding tax credits received from other pass-through entities are entered on TC-250, Part 2 and carried to the Utah Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are allocated to each beneficiary on the Utah Schedule K-1 and are also used in the calculation of the withholding tax for the beneficiary on Schedule N, column J.

Do not include on this line any mineral production withholding tax credit received from an upper-tier pass-through entity as reported on a Utah Schedule K-1 you received. These mineral production withholding tax credits received from other pass-through entities are entered on TC-250, Part 3 and carried to the Utah Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are allocated to each beneficiary on the Utah Schedule K-1 and are also used in the calculation of the withholding tax for each beneficiary on Schedule N, column H.

Line 32. Total Tax, Additions and Use Tax

Add lines 28 through 31.

Line 33. Utah Income Tax Withheld

You MUST enter your UTAH TAX WITHHELD on this line.

Complete TC-41W, Part 1 listing each W-2 and 1099 with Utah withholding tax. The total Utah withholding tax on the TC-41W, Part 1 must equal the amount entered on line 33. If you have more than four withholding forms, use additional TC-41Ws.

See instructions for TC-41W in this book.

Keep withholding forms with your records. Do not attach them to your return. Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete the TC-41W, Part 1 with all required information.

Line 34. Credit for Utah Fiduciary Tax Prepaid

Prepayments include payments made with form TC-548, *Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon*, and any amount of the previous year's refund applied to your current tax liability.

Line 35. Amended Return Only - Previous Payments

Use this line **only** for an amended return. Enter the total tax paid with the original return plus any later tax payments for the tax year being amended. Do not include on this line any penalty, interest or fees paid on the previous return.

Line 36. Nonapportionable Refundable Credits

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 5.

Complete TC-41A, Part 5 to claim the following refundable credits:

- · Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit
- Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit
- · Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
- Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
- · Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

Line 37. Apportionable Refundable Credits

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 6.

Line 38. Total Withholding and Refundable Credits

Add lines 33 through 37.

Line 39. Tax Due

If line 32 is more than line 38, subtract line 38 from line 32. This is the tax you owe.

Line 40. Penalty and Interest

If you are filing your return or paying any tax late, you may owe penalties and interest. To calculate your penalty and interest, follow the instructions in Pub 58, *Utah Interest and Penalties* (tax.utah.gov/forms). We will send you a bill if you do not pay the penalties and interest with your return or if the penalty and/or interest were calculated incorrectly.

Penalties

You may have to pay a penalty for not filing your return by the due date, not paying tax due on time, not paying enough on an extension return, and not filing information returns or supporting schedules (UC §59-1-401). The penalties are a percentage of the unpaid tax, based on the number of days late.

A penalty for underpaying an extension prepayment is 2 percent of the unpaid tax per month of the extension period. If the return is not filed by the extension due date, failure to file and pay penalties will apply, as if the extension had not been granted.

There is no late filing penalty (including on an amended return) if you have no tax due on the return.

Interest

Calculate interest from the due date to the date paid. The 2025 interest rate is 6 percent.

Line 41. Total Due - Pay this Amount

Add any penalty and interest you owe on line 40 to the tax on line 39. This is your total tax due.

For payment options and instructions, see *Payment Options* on page 4.

Line 42. Refund

If line 38 is more than line 32, subtract line 32 from line 38. This is your refund.

Line 43. Refund Applied To 2025 Taxes

You may apply all or part of your refund as a prepayment for your 2025 Utah fiduciary tax liability. Enter the amount of refund you want applied to your 2025 tax on this line. Any part not applied to your 2025 tax liability will be refunded to you (unless you have other outstanding government obligations).

Completing the Return

Signature

The fiduciary or an officer representing the estate or trust must sign the return. Failing to sign the return will delay your refund.

Paid Preparer Information

The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address and PTIN in the section below the fiduciary's signature.

Paid Preparer Authorization

If you want to allow the Tax Commission to discuss this return with the paid preparer who signed it, enter an "X" in the box on the right-hand side of the signature area of the return where indicated. This authorization applies only to the individual whose signature appears in the Paid Preparer's Section of the return. It does not apply to the firm, if any, shown in that section.

If you enter an "X" in the box, you authorize the Tax Commission to call the paid preparer with questions that may arise while processing the return. You also authorize the preparer to:

- give the Tax Commission any missing information from the return,
- call the Tax Commission for information about the processing of the return or the status of any refund or payment(s),
- receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your return, upon request, and
- respond to certain Tax Commission notices about math errors, offsets and return preparation.

You are not authorizing the preparer to receive any refund, bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent you before the Tax Commission. The authorization automatically ends on the due date for filing the next year's tax return (without regard to extensions).

If you want to change the preparer's authorization, complete and submit form TC-737, *Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative* (tax.utah.gov/forms). If you want to revoke the authorization before it ends, submit your request in writing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention Taxpayer Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Preparer Penalties (UC §§59-1-401(11)-(12))

The person who prepares, presents, procures, advises, aids, assists or counsels another on a return, affidavit, claim or similar document administered by the Tax Commission,

and who knows or has reason to believe it may understate a tax, fee or charge is subject to both a civil penalty (\$500 per document) and criminal penalty (second degree felony with a fine from \$1,500 to \$25,000).

TC-41A – Fiduciary Supplemental Schedule

Use TC-41A to enter six categories of items affecting the fiduciary return:

- ▶ Part 1 Additions to Income (added to federal income)
- Part 2 Subtractions from Income (subtracted from federal income)
- Part 3 Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits*
- Part 4 Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits
- ▶ Part 5 Nonapportionable Refundable Credits
- Part 6 Apportionable Refundable Credits*

▶ Part 1 – Additions to Income

Enter the following additions to income that apply on TC-41A, Part 1, and attach it to your return.

On TC-41A, write the **code and amount** of each addition to income. Enter the sum of all additions to income on line 5 of TC-41. Each addition to income is explained below.

Note: Only include amounts that will not be passed through to the beneficiaries. You must apportion the additions to income between the income taxed at the estate or trust level and the amounts distributed to the beneficiaries. Calculate the apportioned amount that must be added on this line as follows:

- 1. Divide the amount distributed to beneficiaries by distributable net income,
- 2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount of the addition that must be apportioned, and
- 3. Subtract the amount in step 2 from the total amount of the addition that must be apportioned.

Codes for Additions to Income, TC-41A Part 1

- **51** Lump Sum Distribution
- 54 my529 Addback
- **57** Municipal Bond Interest
- 58 ESBT S Corporation Income
- **62** Fiduciary Adjustments
- **68** Payroll Protection Program Grant or Loan Addback
- 69 Equitable Adjustments

(51) Lump Sum Distribution (UC §59-10-202(1)(a))

This addition to income only applies if you filed form 4972 with your federal return. If you received a lump sum distribution and filed federal form 4972, enter the total of the amounts shown on Part II, line 6 and on Part III, line 10. Keep a copy of form 4972 and any 1099-R forms showing the distribution with your records.

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum distribution with others, enter the amount calculated by multiplying the amount on line 10 of federal form 4972 by the distribution percentage shown in box 9a on your form 1099-R, then adding the amount shown on form 4972, Part II, line 6.

(54) my529 Addback (UC §59-10-202(1)(d))

If you withdrew an amount from a my529 account but did not use it for qualified education expenses, and the withdrawal did not meet an exception under IRC §529(c) or §530(d), enter that amount to the extent the amount was deducted or used in calculating the my529 credit on your current or a previously filed Utah tax return. If you are a my529 account owner, you will receive form TC-675H, my529 Tax Statement for Contributions, Withdrawals, and Transfers, from my529.

^{*}Apportioned for non or part-year residents.

Keep this form with your records. If you have any questions about my529 accounts, call my529 at 1-800-418-2551, or visit my529.org.

(57) Municipal Bond Interest (UC §59-10-202(1)(b))

Enter interest from certain bonds, notes and other evidences of indebtedness issued by non-federal government entities outside Utah (municipal bonds) acquired after Jan. 1, 2003. Do not enter interest earned on non-Utah municipal bonds if the interest is not included in federal adjusted gross income and the issuer does not impose an income tax on bonds issued by Utah, or the issuing state does not impose an income tax.

(58) ESBT S Corporation Income (UC §59-10-202(1)(c))

Electing Small Business Trusts (ESBTs) must report the separate S portion of the taxable income, as calculated on the attachment to federal form 1041.

(62) Fiduciary Adjustments (UC §59-10-210)

Enter any qualified fiduciary adjustment.

(68) Payroll Protection Program Grant or Loan Addback

(UC §59-10-103(1)(a)(ii))

If you received a COVID-19 Payroll Protection Program (PPP) grant or loan, enter any amount that:

- 1. was forgiven during the 2024 tax year,
- 2. is exempt from federal income tax, and
- 3. you used for expenses that you deducted on your federal tax return.

If you own an interest in an LLC, partnership, S corporation or trust that received a PPP grant or loan meeting these requirements, include your distributed share on this line. (See the "Other Income" line of Utah Schedule K-1 received from the LLC, partnership, S corporation or trust.)

(69) Equitable Adjustments (UC §59-10-209.1)

Enter any qualified equitable adjustment needed to prevent receiving a double tax benefit.

▶ Part 2 – Subtractions from Income

Enter the following subtractions from income that apply on TC-41A, Part 2 and attach it to your Utah fiduciary return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each subtraction from income. Enter the sum of all subtractions from income on line 12 of TC-41. Each subtraction from income is explained below.

Note: Only include amounts that apply to income taxed at the estate or trust level. You must apportion the subtractions from income between the amount taxed at the estate or trust level and the amounts distributed to the beneficiaries. Calculate the apportioned amount that may be deducted on this line as follows:

1. Divide the amount distributed to beneficiaries by distributable net income,

- 2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount of the subtraction that must be apportioned, and
- 3. Subtract the amount in step 2 from the total amount of the subtraction that must be apportioned.

Codes for Subtractions from Income, TC-41A Part 2

- 71 Interest from Utah Municipal Bonds and U. S. Government Obligations
- 77 Native American Income
- **78** Railroad Retirement Income
- **79** Equitable Adjustments
- 84 Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust
- **86** Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable Contribution
- **87** Fiduciary Adjustments
- **89** FDIC Premiums
- 90 Qualified Retirement Plan Distributions

(71) Interest from Utah Municipal Bonds and U.S. Government Obligations (UC §59-10-202(2)(a) and (f))

Utah Municipal Bonds

Interest earned on Utah municipal bonds is exempt from Utah income tax.

- Municipal bond interest is usually excluded from federal adjusted gross income. In these cases, do not subtract municipal bond interest.
- Some municipal bond interest is included in federal adjusted gross income, (e.g., Build America Bonds, etc.).
 In these cases, deduct Utah municipal bond interest from Utah taxable income. Enter the non-taxable subtraction on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 71.

Keep all records and documentation to support this subtraction.

U.S. Government Obligations

Interest earned on U.S. government obligations is exempt from Utah income tax. These obligations include:

- · Treasury bills
- Treasury notes
- E, EE, H, HH, and I bonds

The following income is **NOT** exempt from Utah income tax:

- Interest or dividends from Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA) and Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA)
- · Interest on IRS or other federal agency refunds

The following conditions determine if the instrument qualifies as a U.S. Government obligation (see U.S. Supreme Court decision in *Smith v. Davis*, 323 U.S. 111 (1944)). The instrument must:

- 1. be a written document,
- 2. bear interest,
- 3. contain a binding promise by the U.S. Government to pay a specific sum on a specific date, and
- have Congressional authorization to pledge the full faith and credit of the United States in support of the promise to pay.

You may only deduct interest or dividend income from U.S. Government obligations included in your federal total income. Before entering an amount, subtract any related interest expense on money borrowed to purchase the obligation or security.

If the interest income is from an estate or trust, attach a schedule to your return showing the calculation of income. Include the name, residency and federal identification number of the estate or trust making the distribution.

See Pub 33, Interest from U.S. Government Obligations, at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Keep all records, forms and worksheets to support this deduction.

(77) Native American Income (UC §59-10-202(2)(c) and (f))

Some income of Utah Native Americans is exempt from Utah income tax. To qualify, you must:

- 1. be an enrolled member of a Native American tribe in Utah,
- 2. live on your tribe's reservation, and
- 3. earn the income on your tribe's reservation (for active duty military income, see Pub 57).

Also, enrolled members of the Ute tribe who work on the Uintah and Ouray Reservation and live on land removed from that reservation under *Hagen v. Utah* (510 U.S. 399 (1994)) are exempt from Utah income tax on income earned on the reservation.

Enter the exempt income included in your federal total income on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 77. Enter your enrollment/census number and your Nation/Tribe Code from the following list:

Nation/Tribe Code

- 1 Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation
- 2 Navajo Nation Reservation
- 3 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah
- 4 Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indians
- 5 Ute Indian Tribe
- 6 Other tribe

Keep all records and documents to support this subtraction.

(78) Railroad Retirement Income (UC §59-10-202(2)(e))

Federal law does not permit states to tax railroad retirement, disability income, unemployment income, and sickness benefits received from the Railroad Retirement Board and reported on form RRB-1099.

Railroad retirement pensions are deductible only for the amount taxed on the federal return. If you received pension payments, disability income or unemployment payments under the *Railroad Retirement Act* and must report all or part of the amount received as income on your federal return, you may deduct that amount from Utah income.

(79) Equitable Adjustments (UC §59-10-209.1)

Enter any qualified equitable adjustment needed to prevent paying double tax. Attach an explanation.

(84) Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust (UC §59-10-202(2)(b))

Income of an irrevocable resident trust is subtracted from unadjusted income if:

- the income would not be treated as state taxable income derived from Utah sources under UC §59-10-204 if received by a nonresident trust;
- 2. the trust became a resident trust on or after Jan. 1, 2004;
- 3. no assets of the trust were held, at any time after Jan. 1, 2003, in another resident irrevocable trust created by the same settlor or the same settlor's spouse;
- the trust's trustee is a trust company as defined in UC §7-5-1(1)(d);
- the amount subtracted is reduced to the extent the settlor or any other person is treated as an owner of any portion of the trust, under Subtitle A, Subchapter J, Subpart E of the IRC; and
- 6. the amount subtracted is reduced by any interest on indebtedness incurred or continued to purchase or carry the assets generating the income, and by any expense incurred in the production of income to the extent those expenses, including amortizable bond premiums, are deductible in determining federal taxable income.

(86) Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable Contribution

(UC §59-10-202(2)(g))

Enter the amount a qualified nongrantor lead trust deducted on the federal return as a charitable contribution under IRC Section 642(c).

(87) Fiduciary Adjustments (UC §59-10-210)

Enter any qualified fiduciary adjustment and attach an explanation.

(89) FDIC Premiums (UC §59-10-114(2)(i))

You may subtract from income FDIC premiums that were not allowed as a deduction on your federal return under IRC 162(r)).

(90) Qualified Retirement Plan Distributions (UC §59-10-114.1)

Enter the amount of any distribution from a qualified IRC Section 401(a) retirement plan that is included in your federal adjusted gross income if, in the year it was paid into the plan, the amount was:

- 1. not included in your federal adjusted gross income; and
- 2. taxed by another state, the District of Columbia, the United States or a U.S. possession.

► Part 3 – Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits

Apportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce your income tax to zero, but cannot result in a refund.

Enter the following apportionable nonrefundable credits (credits that must be apportioned for nonresidents and part-year residents) that apply on TC-41A, Part 3 and attach it to your Return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each apportionable nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Total these credits, then subtract any apportionable nonrefundable credits being distributed to beneficiaries on the Utah Schedule K-1. Enter the net amount of the credits being claimed on the fiduciary return and carry this amount to line 24 of your TC-41. Each apportionable nonrefundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents with your records. You may have to provide this information later to verify a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits, TC-41A Part 3

04 Capital Gain Transactions Credit

20 my529 Credit

26 Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

(04) Capital Gain Transactions Credit

(UC §59-10-1022)

You may claim a credit for the short-term and long-term capital gain on a transaction if:

- 1. the transaction occurs on or after Jan. 1, 2008;
- at least 70 percent of the gross proceeds of the transaction are used to buy stock in a qualified Utah small business corporation within 12 months from when the capital gain transaction occurred; and
- 3. you did not have an ownership interest in the qualified Utah small business corporation at the time of investment.

Calculation of Capital Gain Transactions Credit

1. Eligible capital gain 1

2. Multiply line 1 by 4.55% (.0455). 2 ______
This is your credit.

Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 04.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all documents with your records.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

(20) my529 Credit (UC §59-10-1017)

If a qualified contribution was made to your Utah my529 account, you may claim a nonrefundable credit. To qualify, the contribution must be made during the tax year and must not have been deducted on your federal return.

If you are a my529 account owner, you will receive form TC-675H, my529 Tax Statement for Contributions, Withdrawals, and Transfers, from my529. For all estates and trusts except grantor trusts, the credit is the amount on TC-675H, box 1A. For grantor trusts, see incometax.utah.gov/credits/my529 to calculate the credit. Enter the credit on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 20.

Keep form TC-675H with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request. If you have any questions about my529 accounts, call my529 at 1-800-418-2551, or visit **my529.org**.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

(26) Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit (UC §59-10-1028)

Capital gains recognized on the sale or exchange of gold and silver coins issued by the United States government and reported on a fiduciary federal income tax return are eligible for an apportionable nonrefundable credit against Utah tax.

You may also include any gold or silver coin or bullion, other than that issued by the United States, if a court of competent jurisdiction issues a final, unappealable judgment or order determining that Utah may recognize the gold or silver coin or bullion as legal tender in the state, or Congress enacts legislation expressly providing that such coin or bullion is legal tender.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions must be met:

- The capital gain transaction must be for the sale or exchange of gold or silver coin issued by the federal government for another form of legal tender;
- 2. The capital gain transaction must result in a short-term or long-term capital gain (defined in IRC §1222) that is reported on Schedule D of your federal fiduciary return;
- 3. Any eligible capital gain must first be offset by any capital loss recognized for the year for federal purposes from the sale of gold and/or silver coin; and
- 4. The transaction must be made during the tax year.

For more information, see UC Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 15, Specie Legal Tender Act.

Calculation of Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

1.	Capital gains on all sales and exchanges of gold and silver coins	1	
2.	Capital losses on all sales and exchanges of gold and silver coins	2	
3.	Subtract line 2 from line 1 (if a loss, STOP, there is no credit)	3	
4.	Amount from form 1041, Schedule D, line 16 (if a loss, STOP, there is no credit)	4	
5.	Enter the lesser of line 3 or line 4	5	
6.	Credit percentage – 4.55%	6	.0455
7.	Credit - multiply line 5 by line 6	7	
E	Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using	cod	e 26.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents with your records.

► Part 4 – Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits

Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce your income tax to zero, but cannot result in a refund.

Enter the following nonapportionable nonrefundable credits that apply on TC-41A, Part 4 and attach it to your return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each nonapportionable nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Total these credits, then subtract nonapportionable nonrefundable credits being distributed to beneficiaries on the Utah Schedule K-1.

Enter the net amount of the credits being claimed on the fiduciary return and carry this amount to line 27 of TC-41. Each nonapportionable nonrefundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with your records. You may have to provide this information later to verify a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits, TC-41A Part 4

- 02 Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash **Contribution Credit**
- **06** Historic Preservation Credit
- 12 Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah
- 13 Carryforward of Credit for Machinery/ Equipment Used to Conduct Research
- 17 Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State
- 21 Renewable Residential Energy Systems
- 25 Combat Related Death Credit
- 27 Veteran Employment Credit
- 28 Employing Persons Who are Homeless Credit
- Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program Credit
- **AG** Carson Smith Opportunity Scholarship **Program Credit**

Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution Credit (UC §59-10-1004)

Cash contributions made during the tax year to a qualified Utah nonprofit rehabilitation sheltered workshop facility for persons with disabilities are eligible for the credit. Check with the workshop to make sure they have a current Day Training Provider License or Day Support Provider Certificate issued by the Department of Human Services. The credit is the lesser of \$200 or 50 percent of the total cash contributions.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents with your records.

The name of the qualified workshop must be written on TC-41A, Part 4 to claim the credit.

Contributions claimed as a credit under this section may not also be claimed as a charitable deduction in determining net taxable income.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:

Division of Services for People with Disabilities 288 N 1460 W Salt Lake City, UT 84116 1-800-275-3773 dspd.utah.gov

(06) Historic Preservation Credit (UC §59-10-1006)

The credit is for costs to restore any residential certified historic building.

Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax Credit, with the State Historic Preservation Office certification, verifying the credit is approved. Do not send form TC-40H with your return. Keep the form and all related documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

Note: You may carry forward for the next five years any credit that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact: Utah State Historic Preservation Office 3760 S Highland Drive Salt Lake City, UT 84106 801-245-7277

ushpo.utah.gov/shpo/financial-incentives/

(12) Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah (UC §59-10-1012)

The credit is:

- 1. 5 percent of your qualified expenses for increasing research activities in Utah above a base amount;
- 2. 5 percent of certain payments made to a qualified organization increasing basic research in Utah above a base amount; and
- 3. 7.5 percent of your qualified research expenses in Utah for the current tax year.

Note: You may carry forward for the next 14 years any credit for 1 or 2 above that is more than your tax liability. You may not carry forward any credit for 3 above.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents with your records.

(13) Carryforward of Credit for Machinery and **Equipment Used to Conduct Research** (UC §59-10-1013)

This credit expired for tax years beginning after 2010.

If you claimed a credit on your return for machinery and/or equipment used to conduct research for a year after 1998 and prior to 2011, and the credit was more than your tax liability for the year, you may carry the excess credit forward to the next 14 years and use it to offset tax until used up. If you are using any remaining credit, enter that carryforward amount on TC-41A, Part 4, using code 13.

(17) Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State (UC §59-10-1003)

If you are a Utah estate or trust with income that is taxed by Utah and another state(s), the District of Columbia, or a possession of the United States, you may be entitled to a credit for the tax paid to the other state(s). Nonresident estates and trusts do not qualify for this credit. You can only take this credit for estate and trust income tax (you cannot take it for sales tax or local taxes). Complete Schedule B to see if your income was taxed by both states.

Complete and attach form TC-41S, Credit for Fiduciary Income Tax Paid to Another State. If there are two or more states, calculate each state separately. Carry the sum of the credits from TC-41S, line 7 to TC-41A, Part 4, using code 17.

Do not use the state income tax withheld from form W-2 as the tax paid to the other state. You must complete and file the other state's return to determine the tax amount paid. You may have to provide additional information later to verify this credit.

Part-year residents rarely qualify for this credit. If you are domiciled in Utah for part of the year and domiciled in another state for part of the year, you may only claim credit on the portion of income:

- 1. taxable in Utah,
- 2. taxed also by the other state(s), and
- 3. included in "Column A Utah" income on form TC-41B.

Part-year residents: Prorate and enter the tax paid to the other state(s) on TC-41S, line 6. The credit only applies to tax paid on the part of your income (TC-41, line 1) taxed by both states.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

Keep a signed copy of the other state's return and all related documents with your records.

(21) Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit (UC §59-10-1014)

This credit is for reasonable costs, including installation, of a residential energy system that supplies energy to a Utah residential unit. Additional residential energy systems or parts may be claimed in following years as long as the total amount claimed does not exceed certain limits. Contact the Governor's Office of Energy Development for more information. If the residence is sold to a non-business entity before claiming the credit, you may irrevocably transfer the right to the credit to the new owner. The principal portion of the system's lease payments may qualify for the credit if the lessor irrevocably transfers the credit rights to the new owner.

Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Governor's Office of Energy Development with their certification stamp, verifying the credit is approved and showing the amount of the approved credit. Do not send form TC-40E with your return. Keep the form and all related documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

You may not claim this credit if you claim either the *Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit* (code 39) or the credit described in Utah Code §59-10-1029.

Note: You may carry forward for the next four years any credit that is more than your tax liability.

Note: The credit for residential solar power systems has expired effective 2023. Carryforwards are allowed through 2027.

For more information, contact:

Governor's Office of Energy Development (OED) PO Box 144845 Salt Lake City, UT 84114 801-538-8682 energy.utah.gov/tax-credits/

renewable-energy-systems-tax-credit

(25) Combat Related Death Credit (UC §59-10-1027)

If the fiduciary return is being filed on behalf of a military service member who died as a result of military service in a combat zone, the fiduciary may claim a nonrefundable credit equal to the amount of the tax liability on the return attributable to the deceased service member for the year the service member died.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions must be met:

- The military service member must have been in an active or reserve component of the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard or Space Force;
- The combat related death must have occurred on or after Jan. 1, 2010;
- The death must have occurred while the military service member was serving in a combat zone, or be the result of a wound, disease, or injury incurred while serving in a combat zone; and
- 4. The service must have been on or after the date declared by the President of the United States by executive order as a combat zone, and on or before such designation is terminated by the president.

If the return is being filed for only the deceased service member, the credit is equal to the tax liability shown on line 22. Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 4, using code 25.

(27) Veteran Employment Credit (UC §59-10-1031)

A nonrefundable credit is available to taxpayers who hire a qualified, recently deployed veteran.

A qualified, recently deployed veteran is an individual who was mobilized to active federal military service in an active or reserve component of the United States Armed Forces, and received an honorable or general discharge within the two-year period before the employment begins.

To qualify for the credit, the qualified veteran must meet all of the following conditions:

- Received an honorable or general discharge within the two-year period before the employment begins;
- 2. Was collecting or was eligible to collect unemployment benefits, or has exhausted their unemployment benefits within the last two years, under Title 35A, Chapter 4, Part 4, Benefits and Eligibility; and
- 3. Work for the taxpayer for at least 35 hours per week for not less than 45 of the next 52 weeks following the veteran's employment start date.

The credit is claimed beginning in the year the 45 consecutive weeks in paragraph 3 above are met.

Calculate the credit as follows:

First Year Credit

(count all months in the year the 45-week requirement is met):

Number of months or partial months the veteran was employed in the first year
 Monthly credit allowable in first year
 First year credit – multiply line 1 by line 2 (maximum \$2,400)

Second Year Credit:

- 4. Number of months or partial months the veteran was employed in the 2nd year
 5. Monthly credit allowable in second year
 5 400
- 6. Second year credit multiply line 4 by line 5 (maximum (\$4,800) 6 _____

We will not refund any credit greater than your tax due, but you may carry it forward to offset tax for up to five years.

If taking this credit, you must keep the following documentation and make it available to the Tax Commission upon request:

- 1. the veteran's name, last known address, and taxpayer identification or Social Security number;
- 2. the start date of employment;
- documentation establishing that the veteran was employed
 out of the next 52 weeks after the start date of employment;
- 4. documentation from the veteran's military service unit showing that the veteran was recently deployed; and
- a signed statement from the Department of Workforce Services that the veteran was collecting, was eligible to collect, or exhausted their unemployment benefits within the last two years.

(28) Employing Persons Who Are Homeless Credit (UC §59-10-1032)

You may claim a credit for hiring a homeless person if you receive a credit certificate from the Department of Workforce Services.

Do not send the certificate with your return. Keep the certificate and all related documents with your records.

Note: You may carry forward for the next five years any credit that is more than your tax liability.

For more information contact:

Department of Workforce Services 140 E 300 S PO Box 142503 Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2503 385-272-7798 jobs.utah.gov/employer/business/htc.html

(63) Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program Credit

(UC §59-10-1035)

You may claim a credit for 4.55 percent of the total qualified contributions you made to a Utah resident's *Achieving a Better Life Experience Program* account. You must make contributions during the tax year and have an itemized statement from the qualified ABLE program.

You may not claim a credit for a contribution that is returned to you or for an amount already deducted on your federal income tax return.

Credit calculation Contributions _____ x .0455 = Credit _____

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:

Department of Workforce Services - ABLEUtah 1595 West 500 South Salt Lake City, Utah 84104-5238 1-800-439-1653

ableut.com

(AG) Carson Smith Opportunity Scholarship Program Credit

(UC §59-10-1041)

You may claim a credit for a donation made to the *Carson Smith Opportunity Scholarship Program*. You will receive a tax credit certificate from the program, listing the amount of the credit. You may not claim this credit if you claimed the donation as a deduction on your federal return.

Do not send the certificate with your return. Keep the certificate and all related documents with your records.

Note: You may carry back one year or forward for the next three years any credit that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:

info@childrenfirsteducationfund.org 385-204-5331

▶ Part 5 - Nonapportionable Refundable Credits

Enter the following nonapportionable refundable credits that apply. Attach TC-41A to your return.

Write the **code and amount** of each nonapportionable refundable credit in Part 5. Total the amounts, then subtract any nonapportionable refundable credits being distributed to beneficiaries on Utah Schedule K-1. Enter the net amount of the credits being claimed on the fiduciary return and carry this amount to line 36 of TC-41. Each nonapportionable refundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with your records. You may have to provide this information later to verify a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Nonapportionable Refundable Credits - TC-41A Part 5

- **39** Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit
- 43 Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit
- 46 Mineral Production Withholding
- 47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
- **48** Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(39) Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Tax Credit

(UC §59-10-1106)

Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Governor's Office of Energy Development with their certification stamp. Do not send this form with your return. Keep the form and all related documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

You may not claim this credit if you claim either the *Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit* (code 21) or the credit described in Utah Code §59-10-1029. For more information, contact:

Governor's Office of Energy Development (OED)
PO Box 144845
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-8682
energy.utah.gov/tax-credits/
renewable-energy-systems-tax-credit

(43) Pass-through Entity Taxpayer's Withholding Tax Credit (UC §59-10-1103)

If you have an interest in a pass-through entity (partnership, LLP, LLC, S corporation or trust) and received an income distribution from them, you may have had Utah income tax withheld from your distribution.

Utah income tax withheld by a pass-through entity that is attributable to income you received but did not distribute to your beneficiaries may be claimed as a credit on the fiduciary return. Enter such withholding tax on TC-41W, Part 3 and carry the total to TC-41A, Part 5, using code 43.

If you distributed the income you received from the passthrough entity to your beneficiaries, the Utah income tax withheld must also be distributed to your beneficiaries. Complete TC-41A, Part 5, using code 43 to report the withholding, then subtract on the schedule the withholding distributed to the beneficiaries.

Keep Utah Schedule K-1s issued by the pass-through entity and all other related documents with your records. Do not attach them to your return. Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W, Part 3 with all required information.

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit (UC §59-6-102(3))

List any Utah mineral production withholding tax from TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1 on TC-41W, Part 2. Total your entries on TC-41W, Part 2, and enter this total on your TC-41A, Part 5, using code 46.

The mineral production company must provide the following information to you:

- The company's federal employer identification number (EIN),
- The company's Utah mineral production withholding account number, and
- · Your share of the mineral production withholding tax.

Keep all TC-675R(s) and Utah Schedule K-1(s) with your records. **Do not attach them to your return.** Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete the TC-41W, Part 2 with all required information.

(47) Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit (UC §59-13-202)

You may claim a credit of 36.5 cents per gallon for motor fuel and undyed diesel fuel bought in Utah during 2024 and used to operate stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm machinery used solely for commercial non-highway agricultural use if the fuel was taxed at the time it was bought. This does not include golf courses, horse racing, boat operations, highway seeding, vehicles registered for highway use, hobbies, personal farming and other non-agricultural use.

	Credit calculation	
Gallons	x .365 = Credit	

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit (UC §59-10-1105)

This credit is for sales and use tax paid on hand tools purchased and used or consumed primarily and directly in a farming operation in Utah. The credit only applies if the purchase price of a tool is more than \$250.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

▶ Part 6 – Apportionable Refundable Credits

Use Part 6 only for a bankruptcy estate with apportionable refundable credits. See instructions for TC-41C.

Enter any apportionable refundable credits (credits that must be apportioned for nonresidents and part-year residents) that apply. Attach TC-41A to your return.

Write the **code and amount** of each apportionable refundable credit in Part 6. Carry the total from line e to TC-41, line 37.

TC-41B – Non or Part-year Resident Estate or Trust

Note: Bankruptcy estates do not use TC-41B. See instructions for TC-41C.

Residency Status

- If you are a nonresident, enter the two-character home state postal abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign country (a foreign national or citizen), enter "NA" in the home state abbreviation field.
- If you are a part-year resident, enter the date you established residency in Utah and the date your residency ended.
 Enter dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

How to Calculate Your Tax

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah tax:

- 1. Complete form TC-41 through line 25.
- Complete form TC-41B, Non or Part-Year Resident Estate or Trust Schedule (see Column A and Column B instructions, below).
- 3. Complete the rest of form TC-41, beginning with line 26.

Attach form TC-41B to your return. **Do not attach a copy of your federal return.** Keep a copy with your records.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Note: Column A is for Utah income and deductions. Column B is for total income and deductions.

Lines 1 - 8

Column A: Enter all income/loss earned or received from Utah sources while not a Utah resident, plus all income/loss earned or received from all sources while a Utah resident (even if not from a Utah source) included in income on the federal return.

Column B: Enter the total income/loss from all sources as reported on your federal return.

Line 9

Column A: Enter the Utah portion only of the additions to income shown on TC-41A, Part 1. In the case of an addition to income attributable to a my529 addback, only include the addition in Column A to the extent it was previously subtracted from Utah taxable income. Include in Column A an equitable adjustment shown on TC-41A, Part 1, only to the extent the equitable adjustment relates to additions to income from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total additions to income shown on TC-41A, Part 1.

Line 10

Enter the total of lines 1 through 9 for each column.

Lines 11 - 14

Column A: Enter deductions applicable to Utah income.

Column B: Enter deductions claimed on your federal return.

Line 15

Column A: Enter a subtraction for a state tax refund included in federal income only to the extent the refund is related to Utah tax.

Column B: Enter the state tax refund included in federal income.

Line 16

Column A: Enter only the subtractions from income shown on TC-41A, Part 2. Include in Column A an equitable adjustment shown on TC-41A, Part 2, only to the extent the equitable adjustment relates to subtractions from income from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total subtractions from income shown on TC-41A, Part 2.

Line 17

Enter the total of lines 11 through 16 for each column.

Line 18

Subtract line 17 from line 10 for each column.

Note: The amount on line 18 in column B must equal the amount shown on TC-41, line 14.

Line 19

Divide the total on line 18, Column A by the total on line 18, Column B. Round to four decimal places. Do not enter a decimal greater than 1.0000 and do not enter a negative number. (If the amount in Column A or Column B is zero, enter 0.0000 on line 19.)

Line 20

Enter the tax from TC-41, line 25.

Line 21

Multiply the tax on line 20 by the decimal on line 19. This is your Utah tax. Carry this amount to TC-41, line 26.

TC-41C – Bankruptcy Estate Schedule

The filing of a bankruptcy petition for an individual debtor under chapter 7 or chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code creates a separate taxable entity known as a bankruptcy estate. The trustee (for chapter 7 cases) or the debtor-in-possession (for chapter 11 cases) must prepare and file the estate's tax returns and pay its taxes. The debtor remains responsible for filing returns and paying taxes on any income that does not belong to the estate.

Amended Return: If a bankruptcy case begins, but is later dismissed by the bankruptcy court, the estate is treated as if it never existed. If tax returns have been filed for the estate, amended returns must be filed to report income and deductions on the debtor's returns. If no returns have been filed, report all income and deductions on the debtor's returns.

Utah Instructions: For purposes of the TC-41C, references made to federal form 1040 refer to the federal form 1040 that is attached as a schedule to federal form 1041 that the trustee or debtor-in-possession files on behalf of the bankruptcy estate with the Internal Revenue Service.

A trustee or debtor-in-possession of a bankruptcy estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must file form TC-41, *Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return*, and attach a completed TC-41C, *Bankruptcy Estate Schedule*. Leave lines 4 through 21 of the TC-41 blank. Line 22 of the TC-41 is the tax calculated on the TC-41C, line 20.

- Resident Bankruptcy Estate: Complete lines 23 through 43 of the TC-41 according to the regular fiduciary instructions. Complete and attach only page 1 of TC-41C to your return; do not complete or attach TC-41C, page 2.
- Nonresident or Part-year Resident Bankruptcy Estate: Complete TC-41, lines 23 through 25, following the regular fiduciary instructions. Then complete TC-41C, page 2 to calculate the Utah tax. Enter the apportioned tax from TC-41C, line 61 on TC-41, line 26. Attach both pages 1 and 2 of TC-41C to your return.

The estate's tax liability is determined by completing the TC-41C with information and calculations similar to form TC-40, *Individual Income Tax Return*.

The special bankruptcy estate instructions on TC-41C override those for TC-41 and TC-41B, where there is a conflict.

1 TC-41C, Page 1

Line 1. Federal Total Income

Complete the worksheet below and enter the amount on line 1.

Federal Total Income Worksheet

- 1. Add lines 1z, 2b, 3b, 4b, 5b and 6b from federal form 1040
- 1.____
- 2. Federal form 1040, Schedule 1, line 26
- 2.____

3. Add line 1 and line 2

3.

Enter this amount on TC-41C, line 1

Line 2. Federal Adjustments to Income

Enter the amount from line 26 of the bankruptcy estate's federal return, form 1040, Schedule 1, attached to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041.

Line 3. Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Subtract line 2 from line 1. (This amount must equal the federal adjusted gross income shown on line 11 of the bankruptcy estate's federal return, form 1040, attached to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041.)

Line 4. Additions to Income

Enter the code and amount of each addition to income. Codes and explanations for these additions to income are in the TC-40 tax return instruction booklet.

Line 5. Add lines 3 and 4

Enter the total of line 3 and line 4.

Line 6. State Tax Refund Included on Federal Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 1

If you itemized your deductions on your 2023 federal form 1040, enter the amount reported on your 2024 federal form 1040, Schedule 1, line 1. Otherwise, leave this line blank.

Line 7. Subtractions from Income

Enter the code and amount of each subtraction from income. Codes and explanations for these subtractions from income are in the TC-40 tax return instruction booklet.

Line 8. Utah Taxable Income/Loss

Subtract the sum of lines 6 and 7 from line 5.

Line 9. Utah Tax

Multiply the Utah Taxable Income on line 8 by 4.55 percent (.0455). Do not enter an amount less than "0".

Taxpayer Tax Credit (lines 10 - 19)

(UC §59-10-1018)

Line 10. Personal Exemption

A bankruptcy estate exemption is \$0 for 2024.

Line 11. Standard or Itemized Deductions

Enter \$14,600 (standard deduction) or the bankruptcy estate's federal itemized deductions from federal form 1040, Schedule A (if greater) attached to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041.

Line 12. Add Lines 10 and 11

Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11.

Line 13. State Income Tax Itemized on 2024 Federal Schedule A

Enter the amount, if any, of state income tax deducted on federal form 1040 Schedule A, line 5a, attached to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041. If you did not itemize your deductions on federal Schedule A, leave this line blank.

Line 14. Subtract Line 13 from Line 12

Subtract the amount on line 13 from line 12.

Line 15. Initial Credit before Phase-out

Multiply the amount on line 14 by 6 percent (.06). This is your initial taxpayer tax credit before phase-out.

Line 16. Base Phase-out Amount

The base phase-out amount for a bankruptcy estate is \$17.652.

Line 17. Phase-out Income

Subtract the base phase-out amount on line 16 from the Utah taxable income on line 8.

Line 18. Phase-out Amount

Multiply the amount on line 17 by 1.3 percent (.013). This is the credit phase-out amount.

Line 19. Taxpayer Tax Credit

Subtract the phase-out amount on line 18 from the initial credit on line 15. If the result is less than zero, enter "0".

Line 20. Utah Income Tax

Subtract the taxpayer tax credit on line 19 from the tax calculated on line 9. If the result is less than zero, enter "0".

Full-year Utah Resident Bankruptcy Estate: Carry the amount on line 20 to TC-41, line 22, and then complete the rest of the TC-41 return. Attach TC-41C, page 1 to the TC-41 return. (Do not complete or attach TC-41C, page 2 to your return.)

Non-resident or Part-year Resident Bankruptcy Estate: Carry the amount on line 20 to TC-41, line 22. Complete TC-41, lines 23 through 25. Then complete TC-41C, page 2 to determine your apportioned Utah tax. Carry the amount from TC-41C, line 61 to TC-41, line 26. Then complete the rest of the TC-41 return.

2 TC-41C, Page 2 – Nonresident or Part-year Resident

If filing for a nonresident or part-year resident bankruptcy estate, complete form TC-41C, page 2 and attach it to the TC-41 return.

Residency Status

- If a nonresident, enter the two-character home state postal abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign country (a foreign national or citizen), enter "NA" in the home state abbreviation field.
- If a part-year resident, enter the date you established residency in Utah and the date such residency ended. Enter dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

How to Calculate Your Tax

1. Complete form TC-41C, page 1.

- 2. Carry the tax from TC-41C, line 20 to TC-41, line 22.
- 3. Complete form TC-41, lines 23 through 25.
- 4. Complete form TC-41C, page 2.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Note: Column A is for Utah income and adjustments. Column B is for total income and adjustments.

Lines 21 - 34

Column A: Enter all income/loss earned or received from Utah sources while not a Utah resident, plus all income/loss earned or received from all sources while a Utah resident (even if not from a Utah source).

Column B: Enter the total income/loss from all sources you reported on your federal return.

Line 35

Column A: Enter only the additions to income attributable to Utah shown on TC-40A, Part 1. In the case of an addition to income attributable to a Medical Savings Account addback or a my529 addback, only include the addition in Column A to the extent it was previously subtracted from Utah taxable income. Include in Column A an equitable adjustment shown on TC-40A, Part 1, only to the extent the equitable adjustment relates to additions to income from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total additions to income shown on TC-40A. Part 1.

Line 36 - RESERVED

Line 37 – RESERVED

Line 38

Enter the total of lines 21 through 37 for each column.

Lines 39 - 49

Column A: Enter adjustments applicable to Utah income.

Column B: Enter adjustments claimed on your federal return.

Line 50 - RESERVED

Line 51 – RESERVED

Line 52

Column A: Enter a subtraction for a state tax refund included on line 1 of federal form 1040, Schedule 1, only to the extent the refund subtracted is related to Utah tax.

Column B: Enter the state tax refund included on line 1 of federal form 1040, Schedule 1.

Line 53

Column A: Enter only the subtractions from income attributable to Utah shown on TC-40A, Part 2. Include in Column A an equitable adjustment shown on TC-40A, Part 2, only to the extent the equitable adjustment relates to subtractions from income from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total subtractions from income shown on TC-40A, Part 2.

Line 54 - RESERVED

Line 55 - RESERVED

Line 56

If you have any write-in adjustments added to federal form 1040, Schedule 1, line 22, enter the description on the line 56 blank line and the adjustment amount(s) in Column A and Column B.

Line 57

Enter the total of lines 39 through 56 for each column.

Line 58

Subtract line 57 from line 38 for both Columns A and B.

Note: The amount on line 58 in Column B must equal the amount on TC-41C, line 8.

Line 59

Divide the total on line 58, Column A by the total on line 58, Column B. Round to four decimal places. Do not enter a decimal greater than 1.0000, and do not enter a negative number. (If the amount in Column A or Column B is zero, enter 0.0000 on line 59.)

Line 60

Enter the tax amount from form TC-41, line 25.

Line 61

Multiply the tax on line 60 by the decimal on line 59. This is your Utah tax. Carry this amount to TC-41, line 26.

Individual Income Tax Credits

For individual income tax credits, complete TC-41, Schedule A, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5 and Part 6. Get credit information and credit codes from the TC-40 tax return instruction book.

Complete the Return

Starting at line 28, complete the TC-41 return.

TC-41K – Beneficiaries' Share of Income, Deductions and Credits

Attach TC-41, Schedule K to show the estate's or trust's income, gains, losses, deductions, and Utah credits that are being distributed to the beneficiaries.

Enter in the federal column the total of the amounts reported on the federal form 1041, Schedule K-1 for all beneficiaries. Enter in the Utah column the total of the amounts on the Utah TC-41, Schedule K-1 for all beneficiaries. Nonbusiness portfolio income is attributable to the beneficiary's resident state.

Number of Schedules K-1 attached to this return

Enter the number of Schedules K-1 that are attached to this return and issued to beneficiaries.

Line 1a. U.S. Government Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total U.S. government interest income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 1b. Municipal Bond Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total municipal bond interest income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah taxable portion reported on Utah Schedules K-1. (See TC-41A instructions for an explanation of what municipal bond interest income to report.)

Line 1c. Other Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total other interest income (other than interest income shown on lines 1a and 1b above) reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 2. Ordinary Dividends

Enter in the federal column the total ordinary dividends reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 3. Net Short-term Capital Gains

Enter in the federal column the total net short-term capital gains reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 4. Net Long-term Capital Gains

Enter in the federal column the total net long-term capital gains reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 5. Other Portfolio and Nonbusiness Income

Enter in the federal column the total other portfolio and nonbusiness income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 6. Ordinary Business Income

Enter in the federal column the total ordinary business income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 7. Net Rental Real Estate Income

Enter in the federal column the total net rental real estate income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 8. Other Rental Income

Enter in the federal column the total other rental income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 9. Directly Apportioned Deductions

Enter in the federal column the total directly apportioned deductions reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 10. Estate Tax Deduction

Enter in the federal column the total estate tax deduction reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 11. Final Year Deductions

Enter in the federal column the total final year deductions reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 12. Other Information

Enter in the federal column the total other information reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Also use the federal column of line 12 for PPP grant or loan amounts included in TC-41, Schedule A, Part 1 (code 68). Enter in the Utah column the total reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Also enter in the federal column the amount of state and local taxes the partnership paid to Utah and any other state(s) on behalf of beneficiaries. Enter in the Utah column the total reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Describe the type of income in the space provided.

Line 13. Utah Nonrefundable Credits

Enter the Utah nonrefundable credits being distributed to the beneficiaries. Describe the nonrefundable credit in the space provided (abbreviate as necessary), enter the Utah credit code and amount of the credit (see explanations of credits and codes in the instructions for TC-41A, Part 3 and Part 4).

Note: If the trust elected to pay Utah taxes on form TC-75 (State and Local Tax (SALT) Report), report the total amount of Utah taxes paid on form TC-75 using code "AP" (see FYI, below) and allocate the amount paid to each individual beneficiary on their K-1 as a nonrefundable credit.

FYI: Credit AP, Pass-through Entity Taxpayer Income Tax Credit (UC §59-10-1045)

A beneficiary who is an individual may claim a credit equal to the amount of Utah tax paid on their behalf by this estate or trust under §59-10-1043.2(2). This amount must be reflected on the K-1 issued to the beneficiary. There is no form for this credit. Each beneficiary must keep all related documents with their records.

The beneficiary receiving this credit may carry forward for the next five years any credit that is more than their tax liability.

Line 14. Utah Refundable Credits

Enter in the Utah column the Utah refundable credits being distributed to the beneficiaries. Describe the refundable credit in the space provided (abbreviate as necessary), enter the Utah credit code and amount of the credit (see explanations of credits and code in the instructions for TC-41A, Part 5 and Part 6).

Line 15. Total Utah Withholding Tax to be Paid by This Fiduciary

Enter in the Utah column the total amount of Utah withholding tax paid or withheld on behalf of all the beneficiaries who are pass-through entity taxpayers by the estate or trust, and for whom the waiver from withholding was not requested or who is not a dependent beneficiary (see Schedule N instructions in this book). This amount must match the total pass-through withholding tax on Schedule N, column K.

TC-41K-1 – Beneficiary's Share of Utah Income, Deductions, and Credits

Complete a TC-41, Schedule K-1 for each beneficiary, showing the share of income, gains, losses, deductions, and Utah credits that are distributed to the beneficiary.

Estate/Trust, Fiduciary and Beneficiary Information

Provide all of the estate/trust, fiduciary and beneficiary information requested in the left column of the schedule.

Other Information

Enter any additional information or explanation of entries needed by the beneficiary in order to complete their individual Utah return.

Note: Portfolio income and non-Utah nonbusiness income from a Utah estate or trust should not be reported on the Utah Schedule K-1 for a Utah nonresident beneficiary. Portfolio income from a Utah estate or trust is reported only on the Utah Schedule K-1 for Utah resident beneficiaries.

Line 1a. Utah U.S. Government Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of U.S. government interest income included in the interest income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 1. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 1b. Utah Taxable Municipal Bond Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of Utah taxable municipal bond interest income included in the interest income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 1. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0". (See TC-41A instructions for the definition of taxable municipal bond interest income.)

Line 1c. Utah Other Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of other interest income (other than interest income shown on lines 1a and 1b above) included in the interest income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 1. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 2. Utah Ordinary Dividends

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal ordinary dividends reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 2a. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 3. Utah Net Short-term Capital Gains

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal net short-term capital gains reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 3. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 4. Utah Net Long-term Capital Gains

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal net long-term capital gains reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 4a. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah non-business income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 5. Other Utah Portfolio and Nonbusiness Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of other federal portfolio and nonbusiness income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 5. If the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 6. Utah Ordinary Business Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal ordinary business income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 6.

Line 7. Utah Net Rental Real Estate Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal net rental real estate income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 7. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah non-business income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 8. Utah Other Rental Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal other rental income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 8. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 9. Utah Directly Apportioned Deductions

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal directly apportioned deductions reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 9. Enter the description as shown on the Schedule K in the space provided. For a nonresident beneficiary, do **not** include deductions attributable to portfolio income or non-Utah nonbusiness income which is **not** reported on the beneficiary's Utah Schedule K-1.

Line 10. Estate Tax Deduction

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of the federal estate tax deduction reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 10.

Line 11. Final Year Utah Deductions

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of the final year federal deductions reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 11. Enter the description as shown on the Schedule K in the space provided. For a nonresident beneficiary, do **not** include deductions attributable to portfolio income or non-Utah nonbusiness income which is not reported on the beneficiary's Utah Schedule K-1.

Line 12. Other Utah Information

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary's distributive share of federal other information reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 14.

Also use line 12 to report the beneficiary's distributive share of COVID-19 PPP grant or loan income included on TC-41, line 8.

Also enter the amount of state and local taxes paid to Utah and any other state(s) on income distributed to the beneficiary.

For all entries on line 12, enter the description shown on Schedule K, line 12, in the space provided.

Line 13. Utah Nonrefundable Credits Distributed to Beneficiary

Enter the beneficiary's distributive share of Utah nonrefundable credits as reported on Utah Schedule K, line 13. Also enter the description and the Utah nonrefundable credit code as shown on Schedule K (abbreviate as necessary).

For each individual beneficiary for whom you made a voluntary taxable income election (TC-75, *State and Local Tax (SALT) Report*), enter the amount of taxes paid. Allocate this amount directly to the individual as reported on form TC-75. Use code AP.

Line 14. Utah Refundable Credits Distributed to Beneficiary

Enter the beneficiary's distributive share of Utah refundable credits as reported on Utah Schedule K, line 14. Also enter the description and the Utah refundable credit code as shown on Schedule K (abbreviate as necessary).

Line 15. Utah Tax Withheld on Behalf of Beneficiary

Enter the amount of Utah withholding tax withheld by this estate or trust on behalf of this beneficiary if treated as a pass-through entity taxpayer and calculated on Schedule N, and for whom the waiver from withholding was not requested or who is not a dependent beneficiary (see Schedule N instructions in this book). This amount will be claimed on the beneficiary's individual Utah return.

Enter an "X" if the estate or trust entered a "1" in the Withholding Waiver Request field at the top of Schedule N to not withhold Utah tax on all pass-through entity taxpayers, or if the estate or trust entered a "2" in the Withholding Waiver Request field at the top of Schedule N and entered an "X" on line B of Schedule N for this specific beneficiary.

Provide each beneficiary a copy of their Utah Schedule K-1.

TC-41N – Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax

The estate or trust, as a pass-through entity, must pay or withhold tax on behalf of each nonresident individual beneficiary, each resident or nonresident business beneficiary, and each resident or nonresident trust or estate beneficiary (collectively referred to as pass-through entity taxpayers) unless a withholding waiver request is made (see below). The estate or trust is not required to withhold Utah tax on a beneficiary if:

- the beneficiary is exempt from taxation under UC §59-7-102(1)(a) or §59-10-104.1;
- this estate or trust is a plan under IRC Sections 401, 408 or 457 and is not required to file a return under UC Chapter 7; or
- this estate or trust is a publicly traded partnership as defined under UC §59-10-1403.2(1)(b)(iv).

Beneficiaries may take a credit for the amount of tax paid by the estate or trust on their behalf. To claim the credit, the beneficiary must file a Utah income tax return for the tax year. A beneficiary subject to withholding by the estate or trust and who has no other Utah source of income may elect to forego the credit and not file a Utah income tax return. However, a beneficiary with income or loss from other Utah sources must file a Utah income tax return. A beneficiary who is eligible for Utah tax credits, in addition to the Utah pass-through tax withheld, must file a Utah income tax return to claim those credits.

If the beneficiary is a pass-through entity, it must file a return to report its income/loss and withholding allocations to its partners/members/shareholders/beneficiaries.

Estates or trusts having beneficiaries for whom withholding is required must complete Schedule N showing the amount of Utah income attributable to the beneficiaries, the amount

of Utah tax on such income (4.55 percent), any Utah mineral production withholding tax and upper-tier Utah pass-through entity withholding tax credited to the beneficiaries, taxes paid with form TC-75 (*Voluntary Taxable Income Election for Pass-through Entities*), and the net amount of withholding tax this estate or trust must pay on behalf of such beneficiaries. Use additional forms TC-41, Schedule N, if needed.

Withholding Waiver Claim

(UC §59-10-1403.2(5))

You may claim a waiver from the requirement to withhold Utah income tax on pass-through entity taxpayers by entering a "1" in the field if the waiver is for all beneficiaries, or a "2" if the waiver is for only certain beneficiaries. Also enter an "X" on line B and a "0" in column F for each beneficiary for whom the waiver is claimed.

Claiming the waiver for all or specific beneficiaries does not relieve the estate or trust from the responsibility of paying Utah tax on the income allocated to beneficiaries if the beneficiaries do not pay. If the beneficiary or beneficiaries for whom you claimed a waiver fail to file a return and make the required payment in a timely manner, you will be liable for the withholding, plus any penalties and interest.

Dependent Beneficiary Definition

A "dependent beneficiary" is not subject to the withholding requirement.

A dependent beneficiary is a person who is a beneficiary of the estate or trust and is claimed as a dependent on the federal income tax return of another person under IRC §24.

A dependent beneficiary is not subject to the pass-through withholding requirements if the person who is claiming the beneficiary as a dependent on their federal income tax return (IRC §24) provides the estate or trust with a signed *Statement of Dependent Beneficiary Income* attesting that they expect the dependent beneficiary to have adjusted gross income for the tax year that will not exceed the basic federal standard deduction as calculated under IRC Section 63 for that tax year.

The trustee must keep the statement and present it to the Tax Commission upon request (UC §59-10-1403.2(6)).

Line-by-Line Instructions

Line A. Name of beneficiary (pass-through entity taxpayer)

Enter the name of each nonresident individual beneficiary, resident/nonresident business beneficiary, or resident/nonresident trust or estate beneficiary (referred to as pass-through entity taxpayer).

Line B. Withholding waiver for this beneficiary

If you entered either a "1" or a "2" on the Withholding Waiver Claim line at the top of Schedule N, enter an "X" on line B if this beneficiary is included in the waiver claim.

If you check this field, enter a "0" on line F for the beneficiary.

Line C. Dependent Beneficiary

Enter an "X" on line C if the beneficiary is a dependent beneficiary (see definition above). Entering an "X" on this line will be treated as a claim for waiver of the withholding requirements for this beneficiary.

Line D. SSN/EIN of Beneficiary

Enter the Social Security number (SSN) of each nonresident individual beneficiary, the federal employer identification number (EIN) of each resident/nonresident business beneficiary, or the SSN or EIN of each resident/nonresident trust or estate beneficiary.

Line E. Beneficiary's percent of income

Enter the percent of the estate or trust the pass-through entity taxpayer receives, to four decimal places.

Line F. Income/loss attributable to Utah

Enter the income/loss attributable to Utah and taxable to the pass-through entity taxpayer.

To calculate this income, add the amounts shown on Utah Schedule K-1, lines 1a through 8, plus any amount on Utah Schedule K-1, line 12, listed as COVID-19 income. Then subtract the deductions on Utah Schedule K-1, lines 9 through 11.

Line G. 4.55 percent of income

Multiply the amount of income attributable to Utah for each pass-through entity taxpayer (line F) by 4.55 percent (.0455). If the amount on line F is a loss, enter "0." Also enter "0" if the waiver request has been requested for this beneficiary (line B checked).

Line H. Mineral production withholding credit

Enter the amount of any mineral production withholding tax allocated by the estate or trust to the pass-through entity taxpayer. The credit for mineral production withholding tax reduces the amount of Utah withholding tax that is calculated for this beneficiary on Schedule N. The credit should equal the amount reported on line 14 of Schedule K-1 for mineral production withholding tax credit for this beneficiary.

Line I. Tax paid by pass-through entity (PTE)

Enter the amount of taxes paid for this beneficiary with form TC-75, *Voluntary Taxable Income Election for Pass-through Entities* (TC-75 is filed electronically on or before the last day of the fiduciary's tax year). This amount reduces the Utah withholding tax calculated for this beneficiary on Schedule N. Also report the credit on line 13 of Schedule K-1 for this beneficiary.

Line J. Upper-tier pass-through withholding tax

Enter the amount of any pass-through entity withholding tax paid by an upper-tier (previous) pass-through entity, attributable to this estate or trust, and allocated to the pass-through entity taxpayer of this estate or trust. The credit for upper-tier pass-through entity withholding tax reduces the amount of Utah withholding tax calculated for this beneficiary on Schedule N. The credit should equal the amount reported on line 14 of Schedule K-1 for upper-tier pass-through withholding tax for this beneficiary.

Line K. Withholding tax to be paid by this fiduciary

Subtract the total of the credits on lines H, I and J from the tax calculated on line G for each pass-through entity taxpayer. Do not enter an amount less than zero.

The withholding tax shown in column K is the withholding tax this estate or trust must withhold or pay on behalf of the pass-through entity taxpayer. Report this withholding tax on line 15 of Utah Schedule K-1 given to the beneficiary.

Pay this withholding tax to the Tax Commission by the original due date of the return. If the return is being filed on extension, this withholding tax must be prepaid by the original due date.

Total Utah withholding tax to be paid by this fiduciary

Add the pass-through withholding in column K for all beneficiaries. Enter this total at the bottom of Schedule N and carry it to TC-41, page 2, line 31 and to Schedule K, line 15.

TC-41W - Utah Withholding Tax Schedule

You must claim Utah withholding tax credits by completing form TC-41W and attaching it to your return.

Do not send W-2s, 1099s, TC-675Rs, and Utah Schedules K-1 with your return. Keep all these forms with your tax records — we may ask you to provide the documents at a later time.

Processing may be delayed or your withholding tax credits may be disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W as explained below and submit it with your return.

TC-41W, Part 1 Instructions

Report Utah withholding tax from the following forms:

- · Federal form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.
- Federal form 1099 (with Utah withholding), including 1099-R, 1099-MISC, 1099-G, etc.

To claim credit for Utah withholding tax, complete TC-41W, page 1. Enter the following information:

- Line 1 Enter the employer/payer federal EIN (W-2 box "b," or 1099).
- Line 2 Enter the employer/payer Utah withholding account number (W-2 box "15," or 1099).

FYI: Withholding Account Number

The Utah withholding account number is 14 characters. The first eleven characters are numeric and the last three are "WTH." Do not enter hyphens. Example: 12345678901WTH.

If the form W-2 or 1099 does not include this number, contact the employer or payer to get the correct number to enter on TC-41W, Part 1. Failure to include this number on TC-41W may cause your withholding to be disallowed and delay any refund.

- Line 3 Enter the employer/payer name and address (W-2 box "c," or 1099).
- Line 4 Enter an "X" if the income and withholding tax are from a form 1099.
- Line 5 Enter the Social Security number or EIN (W-2 box "a," or 1099).
- Line 6 Enter the Utah wages or income being reported (W-2 box "16," or 1099).
- Line 7 Enter the Utah withholding tax (W-2 box "17," or 1099).

Note: If there is no Utah employer identification number on a form W-2 box 15, 1099-R box 13, 1099-MISC box 17, or any other 1099 form, your refund may be reduced or your tax due increased. Contact the employer or payer to get the Utah ID number.

Add the amounts of Utah withholding tax from all lines 7 and enter the total at the bottom of TC-41W, page 1, and on form TC-41, page 2, line 33.

TC-41W, Part 2 Instructions

To claim credit for Utah mineral production withholding tax, enter the following information. If from form TC-675R, enter lines 1, 2, 3 and 5; if from Utah Schedule K-1, enter lines 4 and 5.

- Line 1 Enter the mineral producer's federal EIN (TC-675R box 2).
- Line 2 Enter the mineral producer's name (TC-675R box 1).
- Line 3 Enter the mineral producer's Utah withholding account number (TC-675R box 3).

FYI: Mineral Withholding Account Number

The Utah mineral withholding account number is a 14-character number. The first eleven characters are numeric and the last three are "WMP." Do not enter hyphens. Example: 12345678901WMP.

If the form TC-675R does not include this number, contact the payer to get the correct number to enter on TC-41W, Part 2. Failure to include this number on TC-41W may cause your withholding to be disallowed and delay any refund.

Line 4 - If the mineral withholding tax distribution was received from a pass-through entity (partnership, LLC, LLP or S corporation), enter the pass-through entity's federal EIN. If you receive a TC-675R directly from the mineral producer, leave this line blank.

Line 5 - Enter your mineral production withholding tax (TC-675R box 6) or your share of mineral production withholding tax reported on Utah Schedule K-1 by a pass-through entity.

Add the amounts of mineral production withholding tax from all lines 5 and enter the total on form TC-41A, Part 5, using code 46.

Do not send TC-657R(s) or Utah Schedule K-1(s) with your return. Keep them in your files.

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W with all required information.

TC-41W, Part 3 Instructions

To claim credit for Utah withholding tax paid on your behalf by a pass-through entity (partnership, LLC, LLP or S corporation), enter the following information from Utah Schedule K-1:

- Line 1 Enter the pass-through entity's federal EIN (Schedule K-1 box A).
- Line 2 Enter the pass-through entity's name (Schedule K-1 box B).
- Line 3 Enter the Utah withholding tax withheld or paid on your behalf by the pass-through entity.

Add the amounts of pass-through entity Utah withholding tax from all lines 3 and enter the total on form TC-41A, Part 5, using code 43.

Do not send Utah Schedule(s) K-1 with your return. Keep them in your files.

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W with all required information.

W-2 Example

				89-0123				1545	-UUUO	
Employe	er identification nun	mber (EIN)	307-	03-0123						ages, tips,
	37-1234567)							0.0	32,51
	r's name, address								3 80	32,51
1 -	9876 MAIN S SALT LAKE (-	4101)				F	5 Me	edicare w
0	DALI LAKE	CITTOTO	4101					ļ	7 0	32,51 ocial secu
									1 30	iciai secu
Control r	number							T	9	
mplove	e's first name and	initial Las	t name					Suff.	11 No	onqualifie
	VILLIAM J S									J. Iqua
4	156 TIMBER MURRAY UT	DR						Ī	13 Sta	tutory ployee
I	NUKKAT UT	04130						F	14 Otl	her
Employe	e's address and ZI	IP code								
/	Employer's state II	`	1	16 State wag	,)	17	State in		e tax	18 Loc
ן דו	12345678002	ZWIH		32,51	9.85 T	<u> </u>	767.9	19)	-
W	/-2 Wage State	e and Tax	k		,	<u>ე</u>	24	ı		
n V 1	State	ement	_	^ ^	^	ZU ^	~ 4)	^	^
	b TC 441	M Evo		/ \	$Y \vee$	/ \			/ \	/ \
Otai	h TC-41\	VV LAGI	lihi	C						
	l12 EIN oi	r SSN <u>56</u>	7-89	thhold -0123			state/t	rust	name	<u>SM</u>
	ine Explanation		7-89				state/t	rust		SM IMP
	ine Explanation	ons		-0123			state/t	rust		_
L	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhol	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun	ber fro	om W-2 b	ox "b" or	1099		rust		IMP′
1 2	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhole (14 character	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending	ber from the state of the state	om W-2 b rom W-2 t TH, no hy	ox "b" or oox "15" (1099 or 109	9			IMP′
1 2	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhole (14 characted Employer/pa	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending ayer name a	ber fromber from Wand ad	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy	ox "b" or ox "15" (phens) n W-2 bo	1099 or 109	9 or 109			IMP
1 2	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhole (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta	per fromber for the contract of the contract o	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy Idress froi hholding f	ox "b" or oox "15" or ophens) m W-2 borom form	1099 or 109 ox "c" on 1099	9 or 109	9		IMP′ Do r W-2 o' on t
1 2 3 4 5 6	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characti Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy dress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "1	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" (ox "c" (ox "a" (99	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 o on the
1 2 3 4 5 6	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy dress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "1	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" (ox "c" (ox "a" (99	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 o' on t' Use 1099s
1 2 3 4 5 6	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characti Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages	ons ayer ID num Iding ID nun ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy dress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "1	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" (ox "c" (ox "a" (99	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 o on the
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characti Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages	ons ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f Iding tax fro	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy dress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "1	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" (ox "c" (ox "a" (99	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 or on the Use 1099s Enter
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 charactr Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f Iding tax fro	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy dress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "1	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" (ox "c" (ox "a" (99	9 or 109	9		Do I W-2 o' on tl Use 1099s Enter
1 2 3 4 5 5 6 7 7 First	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f Iding tax fro	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy Iddress froi hholding fo V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 or on the Use 1099s Enter
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 charact Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu or income f Iding tax fro	ber from Virom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy Iddress froi hholding fo V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or oox "15" or /phens) m W-2 borom form m W-2 bo 6" or 10§	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 or on the Use 1099s Enter rents.
1 1 2 3 4 4 5 6 6 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-123456786 ABC ENTI	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro	per frr in W in d ad ah witi rity ni rom V	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy Idress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 or on the Use 1099s Enter rents.
1 1 2 3 3 4 4 5 5 6 6 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 o oon t Use 1099s Enter
1 1 2 3 4 4 5 6 6 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-123456786 ABC ENTI	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 o oon t Use 1099s Enter
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 o oon t Use 1099s Enter
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Firs	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9	(3)	Do i W-2 o oon t Use 1099s Enter
L 1 2 3 4 4 5 6 6 7 Term 1 2 4	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhold (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhold st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII SALT LAK	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro 002WTH ERPRISE N ST KE CITY L	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 o on the Use 1099s Enter sente.
L 1 2 3 4 5 6 6 7	Employer/pa Utah withhol (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhol st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII	ons ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro 002WTH ERPRISE N ST KE CITY L	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do i W-2 or on the Use 1099s Enter rente.
L 1 2 3 4 4 5 6 6 7 First	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhold (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhold st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII SALT LAK	ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro 002WTH ERPRISE N ST KE CITY L	ber from the first berefit between the first berefit between the first berefit between the first betwe	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 o on the Use 1099s Enter sente.
L 1 2 3 4 4 5 6 6 7 Term 1 2 4 5 5	ine Explanation Employer/pa Utah withhold (14 characte Employer/pa Enter "X" if r Employee's Utah wages Utah withhold st W-2 or 1099 87-12345 123456786 ABC ENTI 9876 MAII SALT LAK	ons ayer ID num Iding ID num ers, ending ayer name a reporting Uta Social Secu- or income f Iding tax fro 002WTH ERPRISE N ST KE CITY L	per from ber fin W and ad ah with rity nor W-2	om W-2 b rom W-2 b TH, no hy ddress froi hholding f umber fro V-2 box "17"	ox "b" or obx "15" or /phens) m W-2 bo rom form m W-2 bo 6" or 109	1099 or 109 ox "c" 1 1099 ox "a"	9 or 109	9		Do r W-2 o on t Use 1099s Enter

	ement of Utah Tax Withl		neral Pro	ductio	n		TC-679 Rev. 6/1	5R
	ABC MINING COMPANY PO BOX 4941 PRICE UT 84501						TC-675R	Examp
5. Utah r	84-1909732 Mineral production gross payment to recipi 24,615.18 Jenn'ts name, address, city, state, ZIP code	6. Utah tax	2345678002 withheld on mir ,230.76	WMP	tion	4. Recipient's federal EIN (545-18-6791 7. Utah ryheral production withoolding .00 9. Recipient entity type (che	gross payment <u>not</u> subject	ot to
						S - S Corporation	L - Limited Liability Compat O - Limited Liability Partner T - Trust, Estate or Fiducial	rship
						Utah	TC-41W	/ Eyamı
414	Part 1 - Utah With	_			ne WINTER		TC-41W TC-4 2024	
414	14.0	nholding Ta 8-6791			ne <u>WINTER</u>			
	14.0	_			e <u>WINTER</u>			
1 2	ine Explanations Employer/payer ID number fron Utah withholding ID number fro (14 characters, ending in WT)	n W-2 box "b" o om W-2 box "15" H, no hyphens	1099 or 1099	trust nam	IMPORTANT Do not send		2024 vith your return. Ins	stead e
1 2 3 4 5	ine Explanations Employer/payer ID number fron Utah withholding ID number fron (14 characters, ending in WTI Employer/payer name and with Enter "X" if reporting Utah with Explayers Social Security num Utah wages or income from W-	m W-2 box "b" o m W-2 box "15" by no hyphens ress from W-2 b nolding from for mber from W-2 b -2 box "16" or 10	r 1099 or 1099 ox "c" or 10 m 1099 ox "a" or 10	trust nam	IMPORTANT Do not send W-2 or 1099 on the form. Use additiona 1099s with U	I your W-2s or 1099s v information below, but of al forms TC-41W if you tah withholding tax.	with your return. Insonly if there is Utah	etead e withho
1 2 3 4 5	ine Explanations Employer/payer ID number from Utah withholding ID number from (14 characters, ending in WTI Employer/payer name and and Enter "X" if reporting Utah withher Explanation Scotial Security number 100 page 1	m W-2 box "b" o m W-2 box "15" by no hyphens ress from W-2 b nolding from for mber from W-2 b -2 box "16" or 10	r 1099 or 1099 ox "c" or 10 m 1099 ox "a" or 10	trust nam	IMPORTANT Do not send W-2 or 1099 on the form. Use addition: 1099s with U	I your W-2s or 1099s winformation below, but a	vith your return. Insonly if there is Utah have more than four	etead e withho · W-2s art 2 of
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	Ine Explanations Employer/payer ID number from Utah withholding ID number from (14 characters, ending in WTI Employer/payer name and additenter "X" if reporting Utah withhunding Utah withhunding Utah wages or income from W-Utah wages or income from W-Ut	m W-2 box "b" o m W-2 box "15" by no hyphens ress from W-2 b nolding from for mber from W-2 b -2 box "16" or 10	r 1099 or 1099 ox "c" or 10 m 1099 ox "a" or 10	trust nam	IMPORTANT Do not send W-2 or 1099 on the form. Use addition: 1099s with U Enter minera enter pass-th	I your W-2s or 1099s we information below, but of all forms TC-41W if you litah withholding tax. Il production withholding rough entity withholding	vith your return. Insonly if there is Utah have more than four	etead e withho · W-2s art 2 of
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	ine Explanations Employer/payer ID number from (14 characters, ending in WTI Employer/payer name and addition in the Employer/payer as Executive num Utah wages or incorre from W-Utah wages or incorrection in the William W	m W-2 box "b" o m W-2 box "15" by no hyphens ress from W-2 b nolding from for mber from W-2 b -2 box "16" or 10	r 1099 or 1099 ox "c" or 10 m 1099 ox "a" or 10	trust nam	IMPORTANT Do not send W-2 or 1099 on the form. Use additiona 1099s with U Enter minera enter pass-th	I your W-2s or 1099s we information below, but of all forms TC-41W if you litah withholding tax. Il production withholding rough entity withholding	vith your return. Insonly if there is Utah have more than four	etead e withho · W-2s

TC-250 – Credits Received from Upper-tier Passthrough Entities and Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit on TC-675R

Use TC-250 to report Utah nonrefundable and refundable tax credits allocated on a Utah Schedule K-1 to this estate or trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity in which this estate or trust owns an interest, as well as mineral production withholding tax credits received on a form TC-675R.

Attach form TC-250 to your fiduciary return if the estate or trust received an allocation of nonrefundable and/or refundable credits from an upper-tier pass-through entity on a Utah Schedule K-1.

Upper-tier Pass-through Entity: An *upper-tier pass-through entity* is a pass-through entity in which this estate or trust has an ownership interest and from whom this estate or trust receives an allocation of income, gain, loss, deduction, or credit on a Utah Schedule K-1.

If additional lines are needed to report any category, you may use additional forms TC-250.

▶ Part 1 – Utah Nonrefundable Credits Received from Upper-tier Passthrough Entities

Utah nonrefundable tax credits allocated to this estate or trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received from the upper-tier pass-through entity must be reported in Part 1. These credits are found on Utah Schedule K-1 under nonrefundable credits with a credit code. Do not include Utah Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received showing these credits when filing this estate or trust's return.

First Column

Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box "A" of Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the name shown in box "B" of Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the nonrefundable credit code shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column

Enter in the fourth column the amount of the distributed Utah nonrefundable credit shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Carry the nonrefundable credits to TC-41A, Part 3 or Part 4, as applicable. If you have multiple credits for the same credit code, combine the credit amounts before entering on Schedule A. Allocate the credit to the beneficiaries on their individual Schedule K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

▶ Part 2 – Utah Refundable Credits Received from Upper-tier Pass-through Entities

Utah refundable tax credits allocated to this estate or trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received from the upper-tier pass-through entity must be reported in Part 2. These credits are found on Utah Schedule K-1 under refundable credits with a credit code. Do not include Utah Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received showing these credits when filing this estate or trust's return.

First Column

Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box "A" of Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the name shown in box "B" of Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the refundable credit code shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column

Enter in the fourth column the amount of the allocated Utah refundable credit shown on the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Carry the refundable credits to TC-41A, Part 5. If you have multiple credits for the same credit code, combine the credit amounts before entering on Schedule A. Allocate the credit to the beneficiaries on their individual Schedule K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

▶ Part 3 – Utah Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit Received on TC-675R

Utah mineral production tax withheld on production income received by this estate or trust from the producer shown on form TC-675R must be reported in Part 3. Do not include the TC-675R with your estate or trust return.

First Column

Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box "2" of the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the producer's name shown in box "1" of the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the amount of the mineral production withholding tax shown in box "6" of the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Total the mineral production withholding amounts shown in the third column. Carry this total to TC-41A, Part 5 using code "46." Allocate the credit to the beneficiaries on their individual Schedule K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

Qualified Funeral Trust Information

Who Must File

The trustee of a trust that has elected to be taxed as a qualified funeral trust (QFT) files federal form 1041-QFT to report the income, deductions, gains, losses, etc., and income tax liability of the QFT. The trustee can use form TC-41 to file for a single QFT, or for multiple QFTs having the same trustee following the instructions under Composite Return below.

Pre-need funeral trusts that do not qualify as QFTs should use the regular instructions for form TC-41, *Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return*.

Qualified Funeral Trust (QFT)

A QFT is a domestic trust that meets all of the following requirements:

- It arose from a contract with a person who provides funeral or burial services or property necessary to provide such services.
- The sole purpose of the trust is to hold, invest and reinvest funds in the trust and to use those funds solely to pay for funeral or burial services or property to provide such services for the benefit of the trust's beneficiaries.
- The only beneficiaries are individuals for whom such services or property is to be provided at their death under the contracts described above.
- The trustee elects or previously elected to treat the trust as a QFT.
- If the QFT election had not been made, the trust would have been treated as owned by the contracts' purchasers under the IRC grantor trust provisions. However, a trust that is not owned by the purchaser solely because of the death of an individual shall be treated as meeting this requirement during the 60-day period beginning the day of that individual's death.

If a QFT has multiple beneficiaries, each beneficiary's separate interest under a contract is treated as a separate QFT for the purpose of figuring the tax and filing this return. Each beneficiary's share of the trust's income is determined in accordance with the beneficiary's interest in the trust.

Whenever these instructions refer to a trust or QFT, it includes such separate interests that are treated as separate QFTs.

Making the Election

The trustee elects to treat a trust as a QFT by filing federal form 1041-QFT by the due date (including extensions).

Composite Return

A trustee may file a single, composite Utah form TC-41 for all QFTs for which he or she is the trustee, including QFTs that had a short tax year. Prepare a schedule that includes the following information for each QFT (or separate interest treated as a QFT):

- The number of QFTs in the composite return.
- The owner or beneficiary's name. If the trust has more than one beneficiary, separate the trust into shares held by the separate beneficiaries.
- The type and gross amount of income earned by the QFT. For capital gains, identify the net short-term capital gain, net long-term capital gain, 28 percent rate gain, and unrecaptured section 1250 gain.
- The type and amount of each deduction and credit allocable to the QFT.
- The Utah tax calculation for each QFT. You must complete form TC-41, lines 15 through 22 separately for each QFT.
- · The Utah tax payments made for each QFT.
- If the QFT terminated during the year, the termination date.

You can use the same information and schedules from the federal form 1041-QFT to compute Utah tax. Figure the taxable income separately for each QFT using each QFT's share of the amounts.

Attach the composite return schedules to your TC-41.

Tax Computation

Follow the line-by-line instructions except for computing the tax. Use a separate schedule to calculate the Utah tax for each QFT using the 4.55 percent (.0455) tax rate for each QFT. Enter the sum of the tax for all QFTs (after subtracting any estate or trust tax credit) on TC-41, line 15. Leave lines 16-22 blank. Enter the amount from line 15 on line 23.

Utah State Tax Commission

tax.utah.gov

Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon

Use of Payment Coupon

If you have a tax due balance on your Utah fiduciary income tax return and you have previously filed your return without a payment, include the payment coupon below with your check or money order to insure proper credit to your account. Do not mail another copy of your fiduciary income tax return with this payment. Sending a duplicate of your return may delay posting of the payment.

If you are sending a payment with your paper Utah fiduciary income tax return, include the payment coupon below with your check or money order, to insure proper credit to your account.

Do not use this return payment coupon to prepay future fiduciary taxes. Use form TC-548.

Electronic Payment

You may pay your tax online at tap.utah.gov.

How to Prepare the Payment

Make your check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax Commission. Do not send cash. The Tax Commission does not assume liability for loss of cash placed in the mail.

Print the name of the estate or trust, address, daytime telephone number and the year the payment is for on your check or money order.

Sending Payment Coupon

If sending this payment coupon separate from your fiduciary income tax return, do NOT mail another copy of your return with this payment.

Complete and detach the payment coupon below.

Do not attach (staple, paper clip, etc.) the check or money order to the payment coupon.

Send the payment coupon and payment to:

Utah State Tax Commission 210 N 1950 W Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0250

uciary Income Tax	Mail to: Utah State Tax Commission, 210) N 1950 W, SLC UT	84134-0	TC-54
urn Payment Coupon	Name of estate or trust		EIN or S	SN of estate or tru
Tax year ending				
	Address			
USTC Use Only	City		State	ZIP code

Make check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax Commission. Do not send cash. Do not staple check to coupon. Detach check stub.