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E-Filing is Easier!
E-fi ling is the easiest and most accurate way to fi le. Ask your tax 
preparer about e-fi ling your individual, fi duciary, partnership, C cor-
poration and S corporation returns, or use commercial tax software.

Utah is Online
Utah offers many online services for individual and business fi lers, 
including:

 tap.utah.gov

• Pay by e-check or credit card.
• Manage your Utah tax account.
• Request payment plans. 

 tax.utah.gov

• Download forms and instructions for all Utah tax types.
• Link to free business resources and other services.

References
UC Utah Code (le.utah.gov)
IRC Internal Revenue Code (law.cornell.edu/uscode/26)

E-Verify for Employers
Employers can help prevent identity theft by verifying the Social Se-
curity numbers of job applicants. E-Verify is a free service of the U.S. 
Department of Homeland Security that verifi es employment eligibility 
through the Internet. Employers can use E-Verify at e-verify.gov.

Need more information?
Questions 801-297-2200 or
  1-800-662-4335 (outside the Salt Lake area)

Research Utah rules, bulletins and Commission decisions:
 tax.utah.gov

  Utah Code (UC): le.utah.gov 
  Internal Revenue Code (IRC):

 law.cornell.edu/uscode/26

Utah Taxpayer Advocate Service
The Taxpayer Advocate Service helps taxpayers who have made 
multiple, unsuccessful attempts to resolve concerns with the Tax 
Commission. This service helps resolve problems when normal 
agency processes break down, identifi es why problems occurred, and 
suggests solutions. See tax.utah.gov/contact, or contact us to fi nd 
out if you qualify for this service at 801-297-7562 or 1-800-662-4335, 
ext. 7562, or by email at taxpayeradvocate@utah.gov.
Do not use the Taxpayer Advocate Service to bypass normal methods 
for resolving issues or disputes.

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabili-
ties Act, email taxada@utah.gov, or call 801-297-3811 or TDD 
801-297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response.
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You get an automatic extension of up to six months to fi le 
your return. You do not need to fi le an extension form, but 
we will assess penalties if you have not met the prepayment 
requirements (see below).

See instructions for line 39. All extension calendar year returns 
must be fi led by Oct. 15, 2021.

Prepayment Requirements for Filing 
Extension 
You must prepay by the original due date:

• 90 percent of your 2020 tax due (TC-41, line 38);

• 100 percent of your 2019 tax liability (2019 TC-41, line 38); 
or

• 90 percent of your 2020 tax due (TC-41, line 38) if you 
did not have a tax liability in 2019 or this is your fi rst year 
fi ling.

The pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the Tax 
Commission by the original due date of the return, without 
regard to extensions. You may pay at tap.utah.gov or use 
form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon. 

You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, etc.), 
payments applied from a previous year refund, tax credits and 
credit carryovers, or payment made by the tax due date using 
form TC-548, Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon or at 
tap.utah.gov. Interest is assessed on unpaid tax from the fi ling 
due date until the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.

Where to File
Mail your return to:

Utah State Tax Commission
210 N 1950 W
SLC, UT 84134-0250.

What to Attach and What to Keep
Attach
•  Utah Schedules: Attach all applicable schedules (TC-41A, 

TC-41B, TC-41C, TC-41K, TC-41K-1 for each benefi ciary, 
TC-41N, TC-41S, TC-41W, and TC-250).

•  Other Adjustments: Attach an explanation for any eq-
uitable or fi duciary adjustment entered on TC-41A, Part 
2, code 79 or code 87.

•  Other Utah Forms: Attach a copy of Utah TC-40LIS if you 
are a building project owner of a low-income housing unit. 

•  Tax Due: If you have an amount due on the return, sub-
mit form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment 
Coupon (see the last page of this book), and your check 
or money order with the return.

FYI: Withholding Forms
Withholding tax information must be entered on 
TC-41W, which is attached to your return. 

General Instructions
What's New
• Solar Energy Systems Phase-out: The maximum 

Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit (credit 21) 
for solar power systems installed in 2020 is $1,600.

• Qualifi ed Retirement Plan Distribution, Subtraction 
from Income: The 2020 legislature passed HB 3003, 
creating a subtraction from income for certain distributions 
from a qualifi ed retirement plan. See page page 13.

• COVID-19 Grants and Loans Included in AGI, 
Subtraction from Income: The 2020 legislature passed 
SB 6005, creating a subtraction from income for federally-
funded COVID-19 grant funds and forgiven loans that are 
included in adjusted gross income. See page page 13.

Who Must File
If you are a fi duciary of an estate or trust with income derived 
from Utah sources, and you are required to fi le a federal Fi-
duciary Income Tax Return, then you must fi le form TC-41, 
Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return.

When to File and Pay
You must fi le your return and pay any tax due:

1. By April 15, 2021, if you fi le on a 2020 calendar year basis 
(tax year ends Dec. 31, 2020); or

2. By the 15th day of the fourth month after the fi scal year 
ends, if you fi le on a fi scal year basis. If the due date falls 
on Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is the 
next business day.

All Utah income taxes for the year must be paid by the due 
date. If your return is not fi led on time or all income tax due 
is not paid by the due date you may be subject to penalties 
and interest. (See instructions for line 39.)

Utah does not require quarterly estimated tax payments. You 
can prepay at any time by sending your payment with form 
TC-548, Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, or by 
paying at tap.utah.gov.

Tax Period and Accounting Method
The fi rst return fi led by an administrator or executor of an estate 
must cover the period from the date of the decedent’s death 
to the end of the fi rst tax year selected by the administrator 
or executor. The fi rst return fi led by a fi duciary of a trust must 
cover the period beginning with the creation of the trust to 
the end of the fi rst tax year selected by the fi duciary. Returns 
must be fi led for each subsequent year the estate or trust ex-
ists. The taxable year cannot be longer than 12 months and 
must coincide with the tax year selected for fi ling the federal 
return. You must apply the same accounting method used for 
federal fi duciary income tax purposes as for Utah fi duciary 
income tax purposes.

Extension of Time to File
 This is NOT an extension of time to pay your 

taxes – it is an extension to fi le your return. 

rprawitt
COVID - what's new
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Keep
Do not send forms W-2, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, Utah Schedule 
K-1 received from an upper-tier pass-through entity (see TC-
250 instructions in this book for the defi nition of upper-tier 
pass-through entity), etc., or form TC-675R (showing mineral 
withholding tax) with your return. If you do not complete and 
send form TC-41W with your return, processing will be delayed 
and we may reject your withholding credit.

Do not send a copy of your federal return, credit schedules 
(other than Utah Schedules TC-41A, TC-41S, and/or TC-41W), 
worksheets, or other documentation with your Utah return.

Recordkeeping
Keep copies of any receipts, state forms, worksheets, credit 
authorization forms, and other documentation to support any 
income, deduction, exemption, and credit you have reported. 
You may be asked to provide this information later to verify 
entries on your Utah return.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round down if 
under 50 cents; round up if 50 cents and above. Do not enter 
cents on the return.

Fiduciary and Estate Defi ned
Fiduciary means a guardian, trustee, executor, administrator, 
receiver, conservator, or any person acting in a fi duciary capac-
ity for any individual or entity. The term estate refers only to 
the estate of a deceased person and does not include a trust 
maintained for minors, for a person adjudicated incompetent, 
or for any person who is suffering from another legal disability.

Note:  Throughout these instructions, any reference to “you” 
means the fi duciary of the estate or trust.

 "Domicile" Defi ned
(UC §59-10-136)

A benefi ciary’s domicile determines whether an estate or 
trust must withhold Utah income tax for that benefi ciary. See 
Pass-through Entity Withholding Requirements on page 4.

Utah Domicile
(UC §59-10-136)

Test 1

You are domiciled in Utah if:

1. You or your spouse claimed a child tax credit (IRC §24) for 
a dependent on your federal tax return, and the dependent 
is enrolled in a Utah public K-12 school. This does not ap-
ply if you are the dependent’s noncustodial parent and are 
divorced from the custodial parent.

2. You or your spouse is enrolled as a resident student in a 
Utah state institution of higher education. 

Test 2

There is a rebuttable presumption you are domiciled in Utah 
(i.e., you are domiciled in Utah unless you can prove otherwise) 
if you or your spouse:

1. claims a residential exemption for a primary residence 
under UC §59-2, Property Tax Act;

2. voted in Utah during the taxable year and were not regis-
tered to vote in another state during that time; or 

3. fi le a Utah income tax return as a full-year or part-year 
resident.

Test 3

Even if you do not meet any of the conditions above, you are 
still domiciled in Utah if:

1. either you or your spouse has a permanent home in Utah 
to which either of you intend to return after being absent; 
and 

2. you or your spouse has voluntarily settled in Utah, not 
for a special or temporary purpose, but with the intent of 
making a permanent home.

Under Test 3, whether you have a permanent home in Utah 
is based on a preponderance of the evidence (i.e., the evi-
dence you have a permanent home is more convincing than 
any evidence you do not), taking into consideration all of the 
following facts and circumstances:

• You or your spouse has a Utah driver’s license.

• You or your spouse claims a federal tax credit (IRC §24) 
for a dependent who is enrolled as a resident student in a 
Utah state institution of higher education.

• The nature and quality of the living accommodations you 
or your spouse has in Utah compared to another state.

• You have a spouse or dependent in Utah for whom you or 
your spouse claims a federal tax credit under IRC §24.

• The physical location where you or your spouse earns 
income.

• The state of registration of a vehicle owned or leased by 
you or your spouse.

• You or your spouse has a membership in a church, club 
or similar organization in Utah.

• You or your spouse lists a Utah address on mail, a telephone 
listing, a listing in an offi cial government publication, other 
correspondence, or similar item.

• You or your spouse lists a Utah address on a federal or 
state tax return.

• You or your spouse claims Utah residency on a document 
(other than a Utah income tax return) fi led with or provided 
to a court or other government entity.

• You or your spouse fails to obtain a permit or license nor-
mally required of a resident in the state where you claim 
to have domicile.

• You are the noncustodial parent of a dependent enrolled 
in a Utah public K-12 school for which you claimed a child 
tax credit (IRC §24) on your federal tax return, and you 
are divorced from the custodial parent.

• You maintain a place of abode in Utah and spent 183 or 
more days of the taxable year in Utah.

• You or your spouse did not vote in Utah during the taxable 
year but voted in Utah in any of the three prior years and 
was not registered to vote in another state during those 
three years.
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No Utah Domicile
You do not have a Utah domicile if you are absent from Utah 
for at least 761 consecutive days and during this time you or 
your spouse:

1. do not return to Utah for more than 30 days in a calendar 
year,

2. do not claim a child tax credit under IRC §24 on your federal 
tax return for a dependent who is enrolled in a Utah public 
K-12 school (unless you are a noncustodial parent of the 
dependent and are divorced from the custodial parent),

3. are not enrolled in a Utah state institution of higher educa-
tion as a resident student,

4. do not claim the residential exemption for property tax on 
your primary residence in Utah, or

5. do not claim Utah as your tax home for federal tax purposes.

An absence from the state begins on the later of the date you 
or your spouse leaves Utah and ends on the day you or your 
spouse returns to and stays in Utah for more than 30 days in 
a calendar year.

If you do not have Utah domicile, you may choose to have Utah 
domicile by fi ling a Utah resident income tax return.

Spouses
If your spouse has Utah domicile under Test 1 (above), you 
also have Utah domicile. If your spouse has Utah domicile 
under Tests 2 or 3, you also have Utah domicile unless you 
can establish by a preponderance of the evidence (i.e., the 
evidence for your claim is more convincing than any evidence 
against it) that during the taxable year and the three prior 
years you did not:

1. own property in Utah,

2. spend more than 30 days in a calendar year in Utah,

3. receive earned income for services performed in Utah,

4. vote in Utah, or

5. have a Utah driver’s license.    

You are not considered to have a spouse with Utah domicile if: 

1. you and the spouse are legally separated or divorced, or

2. you and the spouse both claimed married fi ling separately 
on your federal individual income tax returns for the taxable 
year.  

You must fi le a Utah income tax return (or amended return) 
and pay any penalty and interest that apply if you did not fi le 
a Utah return based upon your belief that you did not meet 
the domicile criteria.

Resident Estate or Trust Defi ned
Resident estate or resident trust means: 

1. an estate of a deceased person who, at death, was domi-
ciled in Utah; 

2. a trust, or a portion of a trust, consisting of property trans-
ferred by will of a deceased person who at death was 
domiciled in Utah; or

3. a trust administered in Utah. 

 A trust is administered in Utah if:

a. the trust does not specify a place of administration 
and the fi duciary transacts a major portion of its trust 
administration in Utah,

b. the fi duciary’s usual place of business is in Utah, or
c. the trust states that Utah is the place of administration, 

and any administration of the trust is done in this state.

Nonresident Estate or Trust Defi ned
The terms nonresident estate or nonresident trust are defi ned 
as estates or trusts that are not resident estates or trusts.

Part-year Resident Estate or Trust 
Defi ned
A part-year resident estate or trust is a resident estate or 
trust for part of the year and a nonresident estate or trust for 
part of the year. All income received during the period of Utah 
residency is taxable in Utah, regardless of where that income 
is earned, unless specifi cally exempted. Income from Utah 
sources is taxable in Utah during the period of nonresidency.

Exempt Trusts
Trust income that is exempt from federal income tax is also 
exempt from Utah income tax.

An exempt trust with unrelated business income in Utah that 
fi les federal Form 990-T must fi le Utah form TC-20MC, Tax 
Return for Miscellaneous Corporations.

Amounts Reportable as Utah 
Income by the Benefi ciaries
Utah resident benefi ciaries must report the income from the 
estate or trust included in the benefi ciary’s federal adjusted 
gross income to Utah as though the benefi ciary received the 
income directly. The estate or trust residence does not affect 
the source of income for computing the benefi ciary’s Utah 
individual income tax.

A Utah nonresident benefi ciary is not required to fi le a Utah 
return if:

1. their only Utah source of income is from a partnership, S 
corporation, estate or trust (or other pass-through entity); 
and

2. suffi cient Utah income tax was withheld by the partnership, 
S corporation, estate or trust (or other pass-through entity) 
to cover the Utah tax liability on the Utah source income.

Portfolio Income
Portfolio income listed on federal return schedules may be 
either business or nonbusiness income.

Nonbusiness portfolio income is treated as nonbusiness 
income on the Utah return and is attributable to the state of 
residence of:

• the estate or trust, if retained by the estate or trust, or

• the benefi ciary, if distributed to a benefi ciary.
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Apportionable Income
The following types of income are apportionable business 
income (not portfolio income):

1. Interest, dividends, royalties, gains, etc., derived in the 
ordinary course of a pass-through entity’s trade or business

2. Interest, dividends, gains, etc., of an entity whose primary 
business activity is investing funds (such as with a broker-
age fi rm)

3. Income received from holdings in or the sale of partnership 
interests

Pass-through Entity
A pass-through entity is an entity whose income, gains, 
losses, deductions and/or credits fl ow through to its partners 
(partnerships), members (limited liability companies), and 
shareholders (S corporations) or benefi ciaries (estates and 
trusts) for federal tax purposes. 

An estate or trust is considered a pass-through entity if any 
of the estate's or trust's income, gains, losses, deductions, 
and/or credits is divided among and passed through to one 
or more benefi ciaries. A pass-through entity is required to 
withhold Utah income tax on the income from Utah sources 
passed through to its benefi ciaries. The calculation of the 
withholding tax requirement for an estate or trust is made on 
the TC-41N. (See TC-41N instructions in this book.)

Pass-through Entity Taxpayer
A pass-through entity taxpayer is any entity or individual 
which has income, gains, losses, deductions and/or credits 
passed to it from a pass-through entity (e.g., a benefi ciary in 
a trust is a pass-through entity taxpayer). Utah withholding tax 
paid for or on behalf of the benefi ciary by the pass-through 
entity is reported on the TC-41, Schedule K-1, and is claimed 
as a refundable credit on the income tax return fi led by the 
benefi ciary.

 Pass-through Entity Withholding 
Requirements
Estates and trusts are considered pass-through entities (see 
UC §59-10-1402(10)) and, for tax years beginning on or after 
Jan. 1, 2013, are required to withhold Utah income tax on all 
nonresident individual benefi ciaries, resident or nonresident 
business benefi ciaries, and resident or nonresident estate or 
trust benefi ciaries. These benefi ciaries are collectively referred 

to as pass-through entity taxpayers (see UC §59-10-1402(11)). 
A pass-through entity is not required to withhold on a ben-
efi ciary if:

1. the benefi ciary is exempt from tax under UC §59-7-102(1)
(a) or §59-10-104.1;

2. the pass-through entity is a plan under IRC Sections 401, 
408 or 457 and is not required to fi le a return under UC 
Chapter 7; or

3. the pass-through entity is a publicly traded partnership as 
defi ned under UC §59-10-1403.2(1)(b)(iv).

Utah imposes a 4.95 percent (.0495) withholding tax on all Utah 
business and nonbusiness income derived from or connected 
with Utah sources and attributable to pass-through entity 
taxpayers. The estate or trust may reduce this withholding by 
any mineral production withholding tax and previous pass-
through entity withholding tax allocated to the benefi ciary. This 
withholding tax must be paid to the Tax Commission by the 
original due date of the return, without regard to extensions.

The calculation of the required Utah withholding tax is done 
on Schedule N (TC-41N). See the TC-41N instructions in 
this book.

The estate or trust must provide a Utah Schedule K-1 to each 
benefi ciary showing the amount of Utah withholding paid on 
behalf of the benefi ciary. This withholding tax is then claimed 
as a credit by the benefi ciary on the benefi ciary’s Utah income 
tax return.

If this estate or trust has an interest in another pass-through 
entity, that other entity is required to withhold Utah income 
tax on Utah income allocated to this estate or trust. The 
other pass-through entity must provide a Utah Schedule K-1 
showing the amount of Utah withholding tax paid on behalf 
of this estate or trust. This withholding tax paid by the other 
pass-through entity must be reported on schedule TC-250, 
and must be claimed by this estate or trust to offset any tax 
liability or allocated to the benefi ciaries to be claimed on their 
Utah income tax returns. Amounts of previous pass-through 
entity withholding tax allocated to benefi ciaries on Schedules 
K and K-1 must be reduced by amounts claimed by this estate 
or trust.

The estate or trust may claim a waiver of withholding tax 
and any associated penalty and interest for all or selected 
benefi ciaries who fi led and paid tax on the Utah income from 
this estate or trust. The tax must be paid on or before the 
estate or trust’s return due date, including extensions (see 
UC §59-10-1403.2(6)).
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Heading
Print the information requested in the spaces provided. Enter 
the full name of the estate or trust.

Enter the estate or trust’s federal employer identifi cation num-
ber (EIN). If the estate or trust is fi led with a Social Security 
number (SSN) instead of an EIN, check the space below this 
number.

Zip Code – Enter your zip code with the “plus four” at the end, 
without the hyphen.

Foreign Address – If your address is in a foreign country, 
enter the mailing address where indicated. Enter the foreign 
city, state/province and postal code in the City fi eld. Abbreviate 
if necessary. Leave the State and Zip Code fi elds blank. Enter 
only the foreign country name in the “Foreign country” fi eld.

Filing Period
File using the 2020 return for calendar year and fi scal or short 
years beginning in 2020. If the return is for a fi scal year or a 
short tax year (less than 12 months), enter the tax year end 
date at the top of the form using the format mm/yy.

Amended Return
To amend a previously fi led return, use the tax forms and 
instructions for the year you are amending. Get prior year 
forms and instructions at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Amend your return if you discover an error on your Utah or 
federal return after it is fi led, or your federal return is audited 
or adjusted by the IRS and the audit or adjustment affects your 
Utah return. You must amend your Utah return within 90 days 
of the IRS’s fi nal determination. Contact the Tax Commission 
if you are unsure whether or not your Utah taxes are affected 
by an audit or adjustment.

To qualify for a refund or a credit, you must fi le an amended 
return by the later of three years after the original return was 
due or two years from the date the tax was paid. (A return 
fi led before the due date is considered fi led on the due date.)

How to Amend a 2020 Utah 
Fiduciary Tax Return
A. On the top of TC-41, page 1, on the “Amended Return” 

line, enter the code number from the following list that best 
describes your Reason for Amending:

Reason-for-Amending Codes (enter on return)
1 You fi led an amended return with the IRS. Attach a 

copy of your amended federal return. (If amending 
for a net operating loss, do not use code 1, use 
code 4 - see below.)

2 You made an error on your Utah return. Attach an 
explanation of the error.

3 Your federal return was changed by an IRS audit or 
adjustment and it affects your Utah return. Attach 
a copy of the IRS adjustment.

4 You had a net operating loss. Utah treats net 
operating losses the same as the federal return. 
If any part of your amended return is from a net 
operating loss carryback, use code 4 and complete 
a Utah fi duciary tax return for each year you are 
amending. Attach a copy of your amended federal 
return. Your documentation must clearly show the 
year you experienced the loss. 

5 Other. Attach an explanation to your return.     

B. Enter the corrected fi gures on the return and/or schedules.

C. Enter all other amounts shown on your original return. If 
you received a refund on your original return, enter the 
amount of the previous refund on line 29 of the 2020 
amended return. If you paid with the original return or 
made subsequent tax payments before fi ling the amended 
return, enter the total previous payments on line 35 of the 
2020 amended return.

D. Submit the amended return with all schedules, including 
copies of those schedules that did not change from the 
original fi ling.

E. Do not submit a copy of your original return with your 
amended return.

Federal Form 8886
If you fi led federal form 8886, Reportable Transaction Disclosure 
Statement, with the IRS, enter an “X” at the top right-hand side 
of your TC-41, where indicated.

Line 1. Type of Return
Enter the code that describes the entity fi ling the return. The 
entity type indicated must match the type of entity indicated 
in part A of federal form 1041. If multiple entity types are in-
dicated in part A of federal form 1041, attach an explanation 
of how trust income from Utah sources is allocated to each 
entity type and indicate the entity type that is the dominant 
source of Utah trust income without subtracting income dis-
tributed to benefi ciaries. For pooled income funds, enter H 
(Charitable Trust).

Bankruptcy Estate: See the TC-41C instructions in this book 
for how to compute the Utah tax.

Federal Form 1041-QFT: See the Qualifi ed Funeral Trust 
Information in this book.

Electing Small Business Trust (ESBT): Report federal tax-
able income on line 4 and the separate small business trust 
portion of the taxable income on TC-41A, Part 1, code 58.

TC-41 - Line-by-Line Instructions
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Line 2. Status Code of Estate or Trust
Enter the code “R” for a resident estate or trust, “N” for a nonresi-
dent estate or trust, or “P” for a part-year resident estate or trust. 
See the General Instructions to determine if the estate or trust is 
a resident or nonresident entity.

Line 3. Nonresident Benefi ciaries
If any benefi ciary of the estate or trust is not a Utah resident, 
enter an “X” in the box. If all benefi ciaries are residents of 
Utah, leave the box blank.

Line 4. Federal Total Income
Enter the federal total income from federal form 1041, line 9 
or form 1041-QFT, Part II, line 5.

Bankruptcy Estates. Trustees of an individual bankruptcy 
estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must complete TC-41C, Bank-
ruptcy Estate Tax Calculation, to determine the taxable income 
and tax liability of the estate. Follow these instructions for TC-41:

• Leave lines 4 through 21 blank.

•  Line 22, Utah income tax – enter the amount from TC-41C, 
line 20.

•  For a resident bankruptcy estate, complete lines 23 through 
42 according to the regular fi duciary instructions.

•  For a non or part-year resident bankruptcy estate, complete 
lines 23 through 25 according to the regular fi duciary instruc-
tions, then follow the instructions for TC-41C, page 2.

Line 5. Additions to Income
Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 1.

Complete TC-41A, Part 1 if you have any of the following 
additions to income: 

• Lump sum distribution

• my529 addback

• Municipal bond interest

• ESBT S corporation income

• Fiduciary adjustments

• Equitable adjustments

Line 6. Total Adjusted Income
Add line 4 and line 5.

Line 7. Fiduciary Fees for Administering Es-
tate or Trust

Enter any fi duciary fees deducted on your federal form 1041, 
line 12.

Line 8. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter any income distribution deduction reported on your 
federal form 1041, line 18. 

Line 9. Estate Tax Deduction
Enter the amount of any estate tax deduction, including 
certain generation-skipping taxes, deducted on your federal 
form 1041, line 19.

Line 10. Exemption
Enter the exemption deduction taken on your federal form 
1041, line 21.

Line 11. State Tax Refund Included in Federal 
Income

  (UC §59-10-202(2)(d))

Enter the amount of any state tax refund you included in 
income on the federal form 1041 for the same year.

Line 12. Subtractions from Income
Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 2.

Complete TC-41A, Part 2, if you have any of the following 
subtractions from income:

• Interest from Utah municipal bonds and U. S. government 
obligations

• Native American income

• Railroad retirement income

• Equitable adjustments

• Nontaxable income from irrevocable resident trust

• Nongrantor charitable lead trust charitable contribution

• Fiduciary adjustments

• FDIC Premiums

• Qualifi ed Retirement Plan Distributions

• COVID-19 Utah Grant Funds Included in AGI

Line 13. Total Deductions
Add lines 7 through 12.

Line 14. Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Subtract line 13 from line 6.

Line 15. Utah Tax
Multiply the Utah taxable income on line 14 by 4.95 percent 
(.0495). If the result is zero or less, enter “0”.

Estate or Trust Tax Credit (lines 16 - 21)
(UC §59-10-1020) 

Estates and trusts are allowed a credit against Utah tax based 
on the total of the interest expense, taxes paid, charitable 
contributions, attorney/accountant/tax preparer fees, and 
certain miscellaneous deductions. The credit phases out for 
income over a specifi ed amount.

Line 16. Allowable Deductions for Credit
Use the following worksheet to calculate the estate or trust’s al-
lowable deductions. See line instructions below the worksheet.

Worksheet for Allowable Deductions
1. Interest    $__________

2. Taxes   $__________

3. Charitable contributions  $__________

4. Attorney/accountant/return preparer fees  $__________

5. Miscellaneous deductions  $__________

6. Total deductions (add lines 1 through 5)  $__________

Enter the amount from line 6 on line 16 of your TC-41.

rprawitt
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Worksheet Line Instructions:
Line 1 - Interest. Enter the total interest paid or accrued, and 

deducted on the federal return (IRC section 163).

Line 2 - Taxes. Enter the total taxes paid or accrued, and 
deducted on the federal return (IRC section 164). Do 
not include any amounts paid or accrued for state or 
local income taxes for the taxable year.

Line 3 - Charitable Contributions. Enter the total charitable 
contributions deducted on the estate or trust federal 
return. Do not include any amounts deducted by a 
qualifi ed nongrantor charitable lead trust under IRC 
section 642(c).

Line 4 - Certain Fees. Enter the total deducted on the federal 
return for attorney, accountant, or return preparer 
fees.

Line 5 - Miscellaneous Deductions. Enter the total miscella-
neous and other deductions deducted on the federal 
return. Include net operating losses on this line.

Note: These deductions are used in the calculation of the 
Estate or Trust Tax Credit even though they may also have 
been used in the calculation of income items reported on the 
Schedules K-1.

Line 17. Initial Credit before Phase-out
Multiply the amount on line 16 by 6 percent (.06).

Line 18. Base Phase-out Amount
The base phase-out amount for an estate or trust is $12,000. 
For qualifi ed funeral trusts, see Qualifi ed Funeral Trust Infor-
mation in this book.

Line 19. Income Subject to Phase-out
Subtract line 18 (the base phase-out amount) from line 14 
(Utah taxable income). If the result is zero or less, enter “0”.

Line 20. Phase-out Amount
Multiply line 19 by 1.3 percent (.013). This is the credit phase-
out amount.

Line 21. Estate or Trust Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 20 from the initial credit 
on line 17. If the result is zero or less, enter “0”.

Line 22. Utah Income Tax
Subtract the estate or trust tax credit on line 21 from the tax 
calculated on line 15. If the result is zero or less, enter “0”.

Bankruptcy Estates: Enter the tax calculated on TC-41C, 
line 20. See the TC-41C instructions in this book.

Line 23. Enter Tax from Line 22
Enter the tax from page 1, line 22.

Line 24. Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits
Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 3.

Complete TC-41A, Part 3 if you are claiming any of the fol-
lowing nonrefundable credits:

• Capital Gain Transactions Credit

• my529 Credit

• Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

Line 25. Subtract line 24 from line 23
Apportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed the tax 
liability on the return. If the total of the credits shown on line 
24 is more than or equal to the tax on line 23, enter “0”.

Full-year resident: Enter the amount from line 25 on line 26, 
and then complete the rest of the return.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the amount 
from line 25 on TC-41B, Non or Part-year Resident Estate 
or Trust Schedule, line 20. Complete TC-41B, enter the tax 
from TC-41B, line 21 on TC-41, page 2, line 26, and then 
complete the rest of the return.

Line 26. Enter Applicable Tax
Full-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from line 25.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from 
line 21 of TC-41B. See the TC-41B instructions in this book.

Bankruptcy estates: Enter the tax from TC-41C, line 57. See 
the TC-41C instructions in this book.

Line 27. Nonapportionable Nonrefundable 
Credits

Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 4.

Complete TC-41A, Part 4 if you are claiming any of the fol-
lowing nonrefundable credits:

• Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution Credit

• Carryforward of Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit

• Historic Preservation Credit

• Low-Income Housing Credit

• Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah

• Carryforward of Credit for Machinery/Equipment Used to 
Conduct Research

• Credit for Tax Paid to Another State

• Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit

• Combat Related Death Credit

• Veteran Employment Credit

• Employing Persons Who are Homeless Credit

• Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program Credit

• Student Prosperity Savings Program Credit

Line 28. Subtract Line 27 from Line 26
Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed your 
tax liability. If the total credits on line 27 is more than or equal 
to the tax on line 26, enter “0”.

Line 29. Amended Return Only - Previous 
Refund

This line is only for an amended return. Enter the total of all 
refund, credits, or offsets of state income tax received for the 
tax year being amended. Do not include refund interest.

Line 30. Utah Use Tax
Use tax is a tax on goods and taxable services purchased for 
use, storage or other consumption in Utah during the taxable 
year and applies only if sales tax was not paid at the time of 
purchase. If you purchased an item from an out-of-state seller, 
including Internet, catalog, radio and TV purchases, and the 
seller did not collect sales tax on that purchase, you must 
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pay the use tax directly to the Tax Commission. If you have a 
Utah sales tax license/account, include the use tax on your 
sales tax return. If you do not have a Utah sales tax license/
account, report the use tax on line 30 of TC-41. 

You may take a credit for sales or use tax paid to another state 
(but not a foreign country). The credit may not be greater than 
the Utah use tax you owe. If you paid sales tax to more than one 
state, complete the Use Tax Worksheet below for each state. 
Add lines 8 on all worksheets and enter the total on line 30.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use the Use 
Tax Rate Chart below to fi nd the rate for the location where 
the merchandise was delivered, stored, used or consumed. 
Use the county rate if the city is not listed.

The tax on grocery food is 3 percent. Grocery food is food 
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and consumed for 
taste or nutrition. Grocery food does not include alcoholic 
beverages or tobacco. See Pub 25, Sales and Use Tax, for 
more information. 

.0635 Beaver County

.0735 Beaver City

.0610 Box Elder County

.0665 Brigham City, Perry, 
Willard

.0640 Mantua

.0710 Snowville

.0670 Cache County 

.0695 Cache Valley Transit, 
Hyde Park, Lewiston, 
Millville

.0700 Hyrum, Logan, 
Nibley, N. Logan, 
Providence, Rich-
mond, River Heights, 
Smithfi eld 

.0635 Carbon County

.0645 Helper

.0675 Price

.0665 Wellington

.0735 Daggett County 

.0845 Dutch John

.0715 Davis County

.0725 Bountiful, Centerville, 
Clearfi eld, Farming-
ton, Layton, N. Salt 
Lake, Syracuse, W. 
Bountiful, Woods 
Cross

.0635 Duchesne County 

.0645 Duchesne City

.0675 Roosevelt 

.0635 Emery County

.0825 Green River

.0710 Garfi eld County 

.0810 Boulder, Panguitch, 
Tropic

.0830 Bryce Canyon

.0820 Escalante

.0685 Grand County

.0875 Moab

.0610 Iron County 

.0810 Brian Head

.0620 Cedar City

.0610 Juab County

.0650 Nephi

.0635 Santaquin South

.0710 Kane County 

.0810 Kanab, Orderville

.0635 Millard County

.0645 Fillmore

.0620 Morgan County  

.0610 Piute County

.0635 Rich County

.0795 Garden City  

.0725 Salt Lake County

.0875 Alta

.0835 Brighton

.0745 Murray, South Salt 
Lake

.0775 Salt Lake City

.0635 San Juan County 

.0675 Blanding, Monticello 

.0745 Bluff

.0635 Sanpete County

.0645 Centerfi eld, Mayfi eld

.0665 Ephraim, Mt. Pleasant

.0675 Fairview, Gunnison

.0635 Sevier County

.0645 Aurora, Redmond

.0675 Richfi eld, Salina 

.0715 Summit County

.0905 Mil. Rec. Park City, Park 
City

.0745 Snyderville Basin 
Transit

.0660 Tooele County

.0690 Erda, Grantsville,  
Lakepoint, Lincoln, 
Stansbury Park

.0700 Tooele City

.0645 Uintah County

.0695 Naples, Vernal

.0715 Utah County

.0725 American Fork, Cedar 
Hills, Lindon, Orem, 
Payson, Pleasant 
Grove, Provo, Santa-
quin, Spanish Fork, 
Vineyard

.0610 Wasatch County

.0640 Heber

.0720 Independence

.0750 Midway

.0800 Park City East

.0645 Washington County 

.0675 Hurricane, Ivins, La
 Verkin, St. George,
 Santa Clara, Washing-

ton City
.0745 Virgin
.0805 Springdale
.0610 Wayne County
.0725 Weber County
.0745 Falcon Hill Riverdale, 

Riverdale

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2020)

Use Tax Worksheet
1.  Amount of purchases (except grocery food) 
      subject to use tax  1 _________

2.  Use tax rate 
 (decimal from Use Tax Rate Chart) 2 . __ __ __ __

3.  Multiply line 1 by line 2 3 _________ 

4.  Amount of grocery food purchases 
 subject to use tax  4 _________

5. Multiply line 4 by 3% (.03) 5 _________

6. Add line 3 and line 5 6 _________

7. Credit for sales tax paid to another state 
 on use tax purchases 7 _________

8. Use tax due (subtract line 7 from line 6) 8 _________    
(If less than zero, enter "0.")

31. Total Pass-through Withholding Tax
Enter the total pass-through withholding tax from Schedule 
N, column J.

This pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the Tax 
Commission by the original due date of the return, without 
regard to extensions. Pay at tap.utah.gov or use form TC-549, 
Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon. 

Do not include on this line any pass-through withholding tax 
credit received from an upper-tier pass-through entity as 
reported on a Utah Schedule K-1 you received. These pass-
through withholding tax credits received from other pass-
through entities are entered on TC-250, Part 2 and carried to 
the Utah Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are allocated to 
each benefi ciary on the Utah Schedule K-1 and are also used 
in the calculation of the withholding tax for the benefi ciary on 
Schedule N, column I.

Do not include on this line any mineral production withholding 
tax credit received from an upper-tier pass-through entity as 
reported on a Utah Schedule K-1 you received. These mineral 
production withholding tax credits received from other pass-
through entities are entered on TC-250, Part 3 and carried to 
the Utah Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are allocated to 
each benefi ciary on the Utah Schedule K-1 and are also used 
in the calculation of the withholding tax for each benefi ciary 
on Schedule N, column H.

Line 32. Total Tax, Additions and Use Tax
Add lines 28 through 31.

Line 33. Utah Income Tax Withheld
You MUST enter your UTAH TAX WITHHELD on this line. 

Complete TC-41W, Part 1 listing each W-2 and 1099 with Utah 
withholding tax. The total Utah withholding tax on the TC-41W, 
Part 1 must equal the amount entered on line 33. If you have 
more than four withholding forms, use additional TC-41Ws.

See instructions for TC-41W in this book.

Keep withholding forms with your records. Do not attach 
them to your Utah return. Processing may be delayed 
or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not 
complete the TC-41W, Part 1 with all required information.
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Line 40. Total Due - Pay this Amount
Add any penalty and interest you owe on line 39 to the tax on 
line 38. Pay this amount with your return. Include a TC-549 
coupon with your payment.

Payment Options

You may pay your tax online with your credit card or with an 
electronic check (ACH debit). Online payments may include 
a service fee. Follow the instructions at tap.utah.gov.

You may also mail your check or money order payable to the 
"Utah State Tax Commission" with your return.  Write your 
daytime phone number, and “2020 TC-41” on your check.  Do 
not staple your check to your return. Remove any check stub 
before sending. Do not mail cash with your return.  The Tax 
Commission is not liable for cash lost in the mail. Include the 
TC-549 coupon with your payment.

Mail your payment, coupon and Utah return to the Utah 
State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City, UT 
84134-0250.

If fi ling a paper return, allow at least 90 days for your 
return to be processed.

Payment Agreement Request

If you cannot pay the full amount you owe, you can request a 
payment plan. Go to tap.utah.gov and click on "TAP - Taxpayer 
Access Point.” Then click “Request Waiver, Payment Plan or 
e-Reminder." 

You may also call the Tax Commission at 801-297-7703 or 
1-800-662-4335 ext. 7703.

If we accept your plan request we will send you an email 
stating the terms and conditions of the agreement.

Even if we accept your request for a payment plan, we will 
continue to assess penalties and interest on any amount not 
paid by the return due date and we may still fi le a tax lien to 
secure the debt. 

You may make payments prior to approval of the payment 
plan or prior to receiving a billing notice.

Line 41. Refund
If line 37 is more than line 32, subtract line 32 from line 37. 
This is your refund. 

Line 42. Refund Applied To 2021 Taxes
You may apply all or part of your refund as a prepayment for 
your 2021 Utah fi duciary tax liability. Enter the amount of re-
fund you want applied to your 2021 tax on this line. Any part 
not applied to your 2021 tax liability will be refunded to you 
(unless you have other outstanding government obligations).

Completing the Return
Signature
The fi duciary or an offi cer representing the estate or trust must 
sign the return. Failing to sign the return will delay your refund.

Paid Preparer Information
The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address and 
PTIN in the section below the fi duciary’s signature.

Line 34. Credit for Utah Fiduciary Tax Prepaid
Prepayments include payments made with form TC-548, Fi-
duciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, and any amount of 
the previous year’s refund applied to your current tax liability.

Line 35. Amended Return Only - Previous 
Payments

Use this line only for an amended return. Enter the total tax 
paid with the original return plus any later tax payments for 
the tax year being amended. Do not include on this line any 
penalty, interest or fees paid on the previous return.

Line 36. Refundable Credits
Enter the total from TC-41A, Part 5.

Complete TC-41A, Part 5 to claim the following refundable 
credits:

• Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit 

• Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit

• Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit

• Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit

• Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

Line 37. Total Withholding and Refundable 
Credits

Add lines 33 through 36.

Line 38. Tax Due
If line 32 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 32. 
This is the tax you owe.

Line 39. Penalty and Interest
If you are fi ling your return or paying any tax late, you may owe 
penalties and interest. Use the Penalty and Interest Calculator 
at tap.utah.gov to calculate your penalty and interest, or follow 
the instructions in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties (tax.
utah.gov/forms). We will send you a bill if you do not pay the 
penalties and interest with your return or if the penalty and/
or interest were calculated incorrectly.

Penalties

You may have to pay a penalty for not fi ling your return by 
the due date, not paying tax due on time, not paying enough 
on an extension return, and not fi ling information returns or 
supporting schedules (UC §59-1-401). The penalties are a 
percentage of the unpaid tax, based on the number of days late.

A penalty for underpaying an extension prepayment is 2 
percent of the unpaid tax per month of the extension period. 
If the return is not fi led by the extension due date, failure to 
fi le and pay penalties will apply, as if the extension had not 
been granted.  

There is no late fi ling penalty (including on an amended return) 
if you have no tax due on the return.

Interest

Calculate interest from the due date to the date paid. The 
2021 interest rate is 2 percent. 
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Paid Preparer Authorization
If you want to allow the Tax Commission to discuss this return 
with the paid preparer who signed it, enter an “X” in the box on 
the right-hand side of the signature area of the return where 
indicated. This authorization applies only to the individual 
whose signature appears in the Paid Preparer's Section of 
the return. It does not apply to the fi rm, if any, shown in that 
section.

If you enter an “X” in the box, you authorize the Tax Commis-
sion to call the paid preparer with questions that may arise 
while processing the return. You also authorize the preparer to:

• give the Tax Commission any missing information from the 
return,

• call the Tax Commission for information about the process-
ing of the return or the status of any refund or payment(s), 

• receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your 
return, upon request, and

• respond to certain Tax Commission notices about math 
errors, offsets and return preparation.

You are not authorizing the preparer to receive any refund, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), 
or otherwise represent you before the Tax Commission. The 
authorization automatically ends on the due date for fi ling the 
next year's tax return (without regard to extensions).

If you want to change the preparer’s authorization, complete 
and submit form TC-737, Power of Attorney and Declaration 
of Representative (tax.utah.gov/forms). If you want to revoke 
the authorization before it ends, submit your request in writ-
ing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention Taxpayer 
Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Preparer Penalties 
(UC §59-1-401(11)(12))

The person who prepares, presents, procures, advises, aids, 
assists or counsels another on a return, affi davit, claim or 
similar document administered by the Tax Commission, and 
who knows or has reason to believe it may understate a tax, 
fee or charge is subject to both a civil penalty ($500 per docu-
ment) and criminal penalty (second degree felony with a fi ne 
from $1,500 to $25,000). 
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Use TC-41A to enter fi ve categories of items affecting the 
fi duciary return:

 Part 1 - Additions to Income (added to federal income)

 Part 2 - Subtractions from Income (subtracted from federal 
income)

 Part 3 - Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits (apportioned 
for non or part-year residents)

 Part 4 - Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits

 Part 5 - Refundable Credits

 Part 1 – Additions to Income
Enter the following additions to income that apply on TC-41A, 
Part 1, and attach it to your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each addition to 
income. Enter the sum of all additions to income on line 5 of 
your Utah TC-41. Each addition to income is explained below.

Note: Only include amounts that will not be passed through to 
the benefi ciaries. You must apportion the additions to income 
between the income taxed at the estate or trust level and the 
amounts distributed to the benefi ciaries. Calculate the ap-
portioned amount that must be added on this line as follows:

1. Divide the amount distributed to benefi ciaries by distribut-
able net income,

2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount of the 
addition that must be apportioned, and

3. Subtract the amount in step 2 from the total amount of the 
addition that must be apportioned.

Codes for Additions to Income, TC-41 Part 1
51 Lump Sum Distribution
54 my529 Addback
57 Municipal Bond Interest
58 ESBT S Corporation Income
62 Fiduciary Adjustments
69 Equitable Adjustments

(51) Lump Sum Distribution
 (UC §59-10-202(1)(a))

This addition to income only applies if you fi led form 4972 with 
your federal return. If you received a lump sum distribution and 
fi led federal form 4972, enter the total of the amounts shown on 
Part II, line 6 and on Part III, line 10. Keep a copy of form 4972 
and any 1099-R forms showing the distribution with your records.

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum distribution 
with others, enter the amount calculated by multiplying the 
amount on line 10 of federal form 4972 by the distribution 
percentage shown in box 9a on your form 1099-R, then adding 
the amount shown on form 4972, Part II, line 6. 

(54) my529 Addback
 (UC §59-10-202(1)(d))

If you withdrew an amount from a my529 account but did not 
use it for qualifi ed education expenses, and the withdrawal did 
not meet an exception under IRC §529(c) or §530(d), enter 
that amount to the extent the amount was deducted or used 
in calculating the my529 credit on your current or a previously 
fi led Utah tax return. If you are a my529 account owner, you will 
receive form TC-675H, my529 Tax Statement for Contributions, 
Withdrawals, and Transfers, from my529. Keep this form with 
your records. If you have any questions about my529 accounts, 
call my529 at 1-800-418-2551, or visit my529.org.

(57) Municipal Bond Interest
 (UC §59-10-202(1)(b))

Enter interest from certain bonds, notes and other evidences 
of indebtedness issued by non-federal government entities 
outside Utah (municipal bonds) acquired after Jan. 1, 2003. Do 
not enter interest earned on non-Utah municipal bonds if the 
interest is not included in federal adjusted gross income and 
the issuer does not impose an income tax on bonds issued 
by Utah, or the issuing state does not impose an income tax. 

(58) ESBT S Corporation Income
 (UC §59-10-202(1)(c))

Electing Small Business Trusts (ESBTs) must report the 
separate S portion of the taxable income, as calculated on 
the attachment to federal form 1041.

(62) Fiduciary Adjustments
 (UC §59-10-210)

Enter any qualifi ed fi duciary adjustment. 

(69) Equitable Adjustments
 (UC §59-10-209.1)

Enter any qualifi ed equitable adjustment needed to prevent 
receiving a double tax benefi t.

 Part 2 – Subtractions from Income
Enter the following subtractions from income that apply on 
TC-41A, Part 2 and attach it to your Utah fi duciary return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each subtraction 
from income. Enter the sum of all subtractions from income 
on line 12 of your Utah TC-41. Each subtraction from income 
is explained below.

Note: Only include amounts that apply to income taxed at the 
estate or trust level. You must apportion the subtractions from 
income between the amount taxed at the estate or trust level 
and the amounts distributed to the benefi ciaries. Calculate 
the apportioned amount that may be deducted on this line 
as follows:

1. Divide the amount distributed to benefi ciaries by distribut-
able net income,

2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount of the 
subtraction that must be apportioned, and

3. Subtract the amount in step 2 from the total amount of the 
subtraction that must be apportioned.

TC-41A – Fiduciary Supplemental Schedule

rprawitt
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Codes for Subtractions from Income, TC-41A Part 2
71 Interest from Utah Municipal Bonds and U. S. Govern-

ment Obligations
77 Native American Income
78 Railroad Retirement Income
79 Equitable Adjustments
84 Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust
86 Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable 

Contribution
87 Fiduciary Adjustments
89 FDIC Premiums
90 Qualifi ed Retirement Plan Distributions
SA COVID-19 Utah Grant Funds Included in AGI

(71) Interest from Utah Municipal Bonds and 
U.S. Government Obligations

 (UC §59-10-202(2)(a) and (f))

Utah Municipal Bonds

Interest earned on Utah municipal bonds is exempt from 
Utah income tax.

• Municipal bond interest is usually excluded from federal 
adjusted gross income. In these cases, do not subtract 
municipal bond interest.

• Some municipal bond interest is included in federal ad-
justed gross income, (e.g., Build America Bonds, etc.). 
In these cases, deduct Utah municipal bond interest from 
Utah taxable income. Enter the non-taxable subtraction 
on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 71.

Keep all records and documentation to support this 
subtraction.

U.S. Government Obligations

Interest earned on U.S. government obligations is ex-
empt from Utah income tax. These obligations include:

• Treasury bills

• Treasury notes

• E, EE, H, HH, and I bonds

The following income is NOT exempt from Utah income tax:

• Interest or dividends from Federal National Mortgage 
Association (FNMA) and Government National Mortgage 
Association (GNMA) 

• Interest on IRS or other federal agency refunds

The following conditions determine if the instrument qualifi es as 
a U. S. Government obligation (see U.S. Supreme Court decision 
in Smith v. Davis, 323 U.S. 111 (1944)). The instrument must:

1. be a written document,

2. bear interest,

3. contain a binding promise by the U. S. Government to pay a 
specifi c sum on a specifi c date, and

4. have Congressional authorization to pledge the full faith and 
credit of the United States in support of the promise to pay.

You may only deduct interest or dividend income from U. S. 
Government obligations included in your federal total income. 
Before entering an amount, subtract any related interest 
expense on money borrowed to purchase the obligation or 
security.

If the interest income is from an estate or trust, attach a sched-
ule to your return showing the calculation of income. Include 
the name, residency and federal identifi cation number of the 
estate or trust making the distribution.

See Pub 33, Interest from U.S. Government Obligations, at 
tax.utah.gov/forms.

Keep all records, forms and worksheets to support this 
deduction.

(77) Native American Income
 (UC §59-10-202(2)(c) and (f))

Some income of Utah Native Americans is exempt from Utah 
income tax. To qualify, you must:

1. be an enrolled member of a Native American tribe in Utah,

2. live on your tribe’s reservation, and

3. earn the income on your tribe’s reservation(for active duty 
military income, see Pub 57).

Also,  enrolled members of the Ute tribe who work on the 
Uintah and Ouray Reservation and live on land removed from 
that reservation under Hagen v. Utah (510 U.S. 399 (1994)) 
are exempt from Utah income tax on income earned on the 
reservation. 

Enter the exempt income included in your federal total income 
on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 77. Enter your enrollment/cen-
sus number and your Nation/Tribe Code from the following list:

Nation/Tribe Code
1 Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation
2 Navajo Nation Reservation
3 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah
4 Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indians
5 Ute Indian Tribe
6 Other tribe

Keep all records and documents to support this subtraction.

(78) Railroad Retirement Income
 (UC §59-10-202(2)(e))

Federal law does not permit states to tax railroad retirement, 
disability income, unemployment income, and sickness 
benefi ts received from the Railroad Retirement Board and 
reported on form RRB-1099.

Railroad retirement pensions are deductible only for the 
amount taxed on the federal return.  If you received pension 
payments, disability income or unemployment payments under 
the Railroad Retirement Act and must report all or part of the 
amount received as income on your federal return, you may 
deduct that amount from Utah income.

(79) Equitable Adjustments
 (UC §59-10-209.1)

Enter any qualifi ed equitable adjustment needed to prevent 
paying double tax. Attach an explanation.

(84) Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident 
Trust

 (UC §59-10-202(2)(b))

Income of an irrevocable resident trust is subtracted from 
unadjusted income if:
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1. the income would not be treated as state taxable income 
derived from Utah sources under UC §59-10-204 if received 
by a nonresident trust;

2. the trust became a resident trust on or after Jan. 1, 2004;

3. no assets of the trust were held, at any time after Jan. 1, 
2003, in another resident irrevocable trust created by the 
same settlor or the same settlor’s spouse;

4. the trust's trustee is a trust company as defi ned in 
UC §7-5-1(1)(d);

5. the amount subtracted is reduced to the extent the settlor 
or any other person is treated as an owner of any portion 
of the trust, under Subtitle A, Subchapter J, Subpart E of 
the IRC; and

6. the amount subtracted is reduced by any interest on in-
debtedness incurred or continued to purchase or carry the 
assets generating the income, and by any expense incurred 
in the production of income to the extent those expenses, 
including amortizable bond premiums, are deductible in 
determining federal taxable income.

(86) Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable
Contribution

 (UC §59-10-202(2)(g))

Enter the amount a qualifi ed nongrantor lead trust deducted 
on the federal return as a charitable contribution under IRC 
Section 642(c).

(87) Fiduciary Adjustments
 (UC §59-10-210)

Enter any qualifi ed fi duciary adjustment and attach an 
explanation.

 (89) FDIC Premiums
  (UC §59-10-114(2)(i))

You may subtract from income FDIC premiums that were not al-
lowed as a deduction on your federal return under IRC 162(r)).

 (90) Qualifi ed Retirement Plan Distributions
 (UC §59-10-114.1)

Enter the amount of any distribution from a qualifi ed IRC 
Section 401(a) retirement plan that is included in your federal 
adjusted gross income if, in the year it was paid into the plan, 
the amount was:

1. not included in your federal adjusted gross income; and

2. taxed by another state, the District of Columbia, the United 
States or a U.S. possession.

 (SA) COVID-19 Utah Grant Funds Included in AGI
 (UC §59-10-114(2)(j))

Enter the amount of any federally-funded COVID-19 grant 
funds or forgiven loans received from Utah or a local Utah 
government that are included in adjusted income on this return.

 Part 3 – Apportionable Nonrefundable 
Credits

Apportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce your income 
tax to zero, but cannot result in a refund.

Enter the following apportionable nonrefundable credits (cred-
its that must be apportioned for nonresidents and part-year 
residents) that apply on TC-41A, Part 3 and attach it to your 
Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each apportion-
able nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Total these credits, 
then subtract any apportionable nonrefundable credits being 
distributed to benefi ciaries on the Utah Schedule K-1. Enter 
the net amount of the credits being claimed on the fi duciary 
return and carry this amount to line 24 of your TC-41. Each 
apportionable nonrefundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents with your records. You may have 
to provide this information later to verify a credit claimed on 
your return.

Codes for Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits,        
TC-41A Part 3
04 Capital Gain Transactions Credit
20 my529 Credit
26 Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit 

(04) Capital Gain Transactions Credit 
 (UC §59-10-1022) 

You may claim a credit for the short-term and long-term capital 
gain on a transaction if:

1. the transaction occurs on or after Jan. 1, 2008;

2. at least 70 percent of the gross proceeds of the transaction 
are used to buy stock in a qualifi ed Utah small business 
corporation within 12 months from when the capital gain 
transaction occurred; and

3. you did not have an ownership interest in the qualifi ed Utah 
small business corporation at the time of investment. 

Calculation of Capital Gain Transactions Credit
1. Eligible capital gain 1 _________

2. Multiply line 1 by 5% (.05). This is your credit. 2 _________

 Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 04.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all documents with your 
records.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

(20) my529 Credit
 (UC §59-10-1017) 

If a qualifi ed contribution was made to your Utah my529 ac-
count, you may claim a nonrefundable credit. To qualify, the 
contribution must be made during the taxable year and must 
not have been deducted on your federal return. 

If you are a my529 account owner, you will receive form TC-
675H, my529 Tax Statement for Contributions, Withdrawals, 
and Transfers, from my529. For all estates and trusts except 
grantor trusts, the credit is the amount on TC-675H, box 1A. 
For grantor trusts, see incometax.utah.gov/credits/my529 
to calculate the credit. Enter the credit on TC-41A, Part 3, 
using code 20.

Keep form TC-675H with your records to provide the Tax Com-
mission upon request. If you have any questions about my529 
accounts, call my529 at 1-800-418-2551, or visit  my529.org.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.
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(26) Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit
 (UC §59-10-1028) 

Capital gains recognized on the sale or exchange of gold 
and silver coins issued by the United States government and 
reported on a fi duciary federal income tax return are eligible 
for an apportionable nonrefundable credit against Utah tax. 

You may also include any gold or silver coin or bullion, other 
than that issued by the United States, if a court of competent 
jurisdiction issues a fi nal, unappealable judgment or order 
determining that Utah may recognize the gold or silver coin 
or bullion as legal tender in the state, or Congress enacts 
legislation expressly providing that such coin or bullion is 
legal tender.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions must 
be met:

1. The capital gain transaction must be for the sale or exchange 
of gold or silver coin issued by the federal government for 
another form of legal tender;

2. The capital gain transaction must result in a short-term 
or long-term capital gain (defi ned in IRC §1222) that is 
reported on Schedule D of your federal fi duciary return;

3. Any eligible capital gain must fi rst be offset by any capital 
loss recognized for the year for federal purposes from the 
sale of gold and/or silver coin; and

4. The transaction must be made during the taxable year.

For more information, see UC Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 15, 
Specie Legal Tender Act.

Calculation of Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit
1. Capital gains on all sales and 

exchanges of gold and silver coins 1 _________

2. Capital losses on all sales and 
exchanges of gold and silver coins 2 _________

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 (if a loss, 
STOP, there is no credit) 3 _________

4. Amount from form 1041, Schedule D, 
line 16 (if a loss, STOP, there is no credit) 4 _________

5. Enter the lesser of line 3 or line 4 5 _________

6. Credit percentage - 5% 6      .05

7. Credit - multiply line 5 by line 6 7 _________

 Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 26.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

 Part 4 – Nonapportionable Nonrefundable 
Credits

Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce your 
income tax to zero, but cannot result in a refund.

Enter the following nonapportionable nonrefundable credits 
that apply on TC-41A, Part 4 and attach it to your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each nonappor-
tionable nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Total these 

credits, then subtract nonapportionable nonrefundable credits 
being distributed to benefi ciaries on the Utah Schedule K-1. 

Enter the net amount of the credits being claimed on the fi du-
ciary return and carry this amount to line 27 of TC-41. Each 
nonapportionable nonrefundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with your 
records. You may have to provide this information later to verify 
a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits,         
TC-41A Part 4
02 Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution 

Credit 
05 Carryforward of Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit
06 Historic Preservation Credit  
08 Low-Income Housing Credit
12 Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah
13 Carryforward of Credit for Machinery/Equipment Used 

to Conduct Research
17 Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State
21 Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit
25 Combat Related Death Credit
27 Veteran Employment Credit
28 Employing Persons Who are Homeless Credit
63 Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program 

Credit
AB Student Prosperity Savings Program Credit

(02)  Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution 
Credit

 (UC §59-10-1004)

Cash contributions made during the taxable year to a qualifi ed 
Utah nonprofi t rehabilitation sheltered workshop facility for 
persons with disabilities are eligible for the credit. Check with 
the workshop to make sure they have a current Day Training 
Provider License or Day Support Provider Certifi cate issued 
by the Department of Human Services. The credit is the lesser 
of $200 or 50 percent of the total cash contributions. 

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The name of the qualifi ed workshop must be written on TC-
41A, Part 4 to claim the credit.

Contributions claimed as a credit under this section may not 
also be claimed as a charitable deduction in determining net 
taxable income.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:
Division of Services for People with Disabilities
195 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
1-844-275-3773
dspd.utah.gov

(05) Carryforward of Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit
 (UC §59-10-1009)

The clean fuel vehicle credit is no longer available. The fi ve-
year carryforward remains for credit earned before 2017. If you 
have unused credit from a year prior to 2017, you may carry it 
forward for up to fi ve years through tax year 2021 or until the 
credit is used up (whichever comes fi rst). The carryforward 
must not be more than your tax liability in the year you claim it. 
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(06) Historic Preservation Credit
 (UC §59-10-1006)

The credit is for costs to restore any residential certifi ed 
historic building. 

Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax Credit, with 
the State Historic Preservation Offi ce certifi cation, verifying the 
credit is approved. Do not send form TC-40H with your return. 
Keep the form and all related documents with your records to 
provide the Tax Commission upon request.

Note: You may carry forward for the next fi ve years any credit 
that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:
State Historic Preservation Offi ce
300 S Rio Grande St.
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
801-245-7251
history.utah.gov/preservation/fi nancial-incentives

(08) Low-Income Housing Credit
 (UC §59-10-1010)

This credit is determined by the Utah Housing Corporation for 
owners of a low-income housing project who also received part 
of the federal low-income housing credit. When this credit ap-
plies, the project owner will provide you with form TC-40TCAC 
(issued by the Utah Housing Corporation).

If you share in this credit, get form TC-40TCAC, Utah Low-
Income Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certifi cation, and com-
plete form TC-40LI, Summary of Utah Low-Income Housing 
Tax Credit. Do not send these forms with your return. Keep 
the forms and all related documents with your records.

The building project owner must also complete and attach 
to the return form TC-40LIS, Utah Credit Share Summary of 
Low-Income Housing Project.

Note: You may carry back three years or forward for the next 
fi ve years any credit that is more than your tax liability. If you 
are carrying this credit forward or back, also complete form 
TC-40LIC, Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Carryback 
and/or Carryforward.

For more information, contact:
Utah Housing Corporation
2479 S Lake Park Blvd.
West Valley City, UT 84120
801-902-8200
utahhousingcorp.org

(12)  Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah
 (UC §59-10-1012) 

The credit is:

1. 5 percent of your qualifi ed expenses for increasing research 
activities in Utah above a base amount; 

2. 5 percent of certain payments made to a qualifi ed orga-
nization increasing basic research in Utah above a base 
amount; and 

3. 7.5 percent of your qualifi ed research expenses in Utah 
for the current taxable year.

Note: You may carry forward for the next 14 years any credit 
for 1 or 2 above that is more than your tax liability. You may 
not carry forward any credit for 3 above.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

(13)  Carryforward of Credit for Machinery and 
Equipment Used to Conduct Research

 (UC §59-10-1013)

This credit expired for taxable years beginning after 2010. 

If you claimed a credit on your return for machinery and/or 
equipment used to conduct research for a year after 1998 and 
prior to 2011, and the credit was more than your tax liability 
for the year, you may carry the excess credit forward to the 
next 14 years and use it to offset tax until used up. If you are 
using any remaining credit, enter that carryforward amount 
on TC-41A, Part 4, using code 13.

(17) Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State
 (UC §59-10-1003)

If you are a Utah estate or trust with income that is taxed by 
Utah and another state(s), the District of Columbia, or a pos-
session of the United States, you may be entitled to a credit 
for the tax paid to the other state(s). Nonresident estates 
and trusts do not qualify for this credit. You can only take this 
credit for estate and trust income tax (you cannot take it for 
sales tax or local taxes). Complete Schedule B to see if your 
income was taxed by both states.

Complete and attach form TC-41S, Credit for Fiduciary Income 
Tax Paid to Another State. If there are two or more states, 
calculate each state separately. Carry the sum of the credits 
from TC-41S, line 7 to TC-41A, Part 4, using code 17. 

Do not use the state income tax withheld from form W-2 as 
the tax paid to the other state. You must complete and fi le the 
other state’s return to determine the tax amount paid. You may 
have to provide additional information later to verify this credit.

Part-year residents rarely qualify for this credit. If you are 
domiciled in Utah for part of the year and domiciled in another 
state for part of the year, you may only claim credit on the 
portion of income:

1. taxable in Utah,

2. taxed also by the other state(s), and

3. included in "Column A - Utah" income on form TC-40B.

Part-year residents must prorate and enter the tax paid to 
the other state(s) on TC-41S, line 6. The credit only applies 
to tax paid on the part of your income (TC-41, line 1) taxed 
by both states.

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

Keep a signed copy of the other state’s return and all related 
documents with your records.

(21) Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit
 (UC §59-10-1014)

This credit is for reasonable costs, including installation, of 
a residential energy system that supplies energy to a Utah 
residential unit. Additional residential energy systems or parts 
may be claimed in following years as long as the total amount 
claimed does not exceed certain limits. Contact the Gover-
nor’s Offi ce of Energy Development for more information. If 
the residence is sold to a non-business entity before claiming 
the credit, you may irrevocably transfer the right to the credit 
to the new owner. The principal portion of the system’s lease 
payments may qualify for the credit if the lessor irrevocably 
transfers the credit rights to the new owner.
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Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial 
Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Governor's Offi ce of 
Energy Development with their certifi cation stamp, verifying 
the credit is approved and showing the amount of the approved 
credit. Do not send form TC-40E with your return. Keep the 
form and all related documents with your records to provide 
the Tax Commission upon request.

Note: You may carry forward for the next four years any credit 
that is more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:
Governor's Offi ce of Energy Development (OED)
PO Box 144845
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-8732 or 801-538-8682
energy.utah.gov/tax-credits-fi nancing

(25) Combat Related Death Credit 
 (UC §59-10-1027)

If the fi duciary return is being fi led on behalf of a military 
service member who died as a result of military service in a 
combat zone, the fi duciary may claim a nonrefundable credit 
equal to the amount of the tax liability on the return attribut-
able to the deceased service member for the year the service 
member died.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions must 
be met:

1. The military service member must have been in an active 
or reserve component of the United States Army, Navy, 
Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard;

2. The combat related death must have occurred on or after 
Jan. 1, 2010;

3. The death must have occurred while the military service 
member was serving in a combat zone, or be the result 
of a wound, disease, or injury incurred while serving in a 
combat zone; and

4. The service must have been on or after the date declared 
by the President of the United States by Executive Order 
as a combat zone, and on or before such designation is 
terminated by the President.

If the return is being fi led for only the deceased service mem-
ber, the credit is equal to the tax liability shown on line 22. 
Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 4, using code 25.

(27) Veteran Employment Credit
 (UC §59-10-1031)

A nonrefundable credit is available to taxpayers who hire a 
qualifi ed, recently deployed veteran in a taxable year that 
begins on or after Jan. 1, 2012.

A qualifi ed, recently deployed veteran is an individual who 
was mobilized to active federal military service in an active 
or reserve component of the United States Armed Forces, 
and received an honorable or general discharge within the 
two-year period before the employment begins. 

To qualify for the credit, the qualifi ed veteran must meet all of 
the following conditions:

1. Received an honorable or general discharge within the 
two-year period before the employment begins;

2. Was collecting or was eligible to collect unemployment 
benefi ts, or has exhausted their unemployment benefi ts 

within the last two years, under Title 35A, Chapter 4, Part 
4, Benefi ts and Eligibility; and

3. Work for the taxpayer for at least 35 hours per week for not 
less than 45 of the next 52 weeks following the veteran’s 
employment start date.

The credit is claimed beginning in the year the 45 consecutive 
weeks in paragraph 3 above are met.

Calculate the credit as follows:

First Year Credit
(count all months in the year the 45-week requirement is met):

1. Number of months or partial months the 
veteran was employed in the fi rst year 1 _________

2. Monthly credit allowable in fi rst year 2        200

3. First year credit – 
multiply line 1 by line 2 (maximum $2,400) 3 _________

Second Year Credit:
4. Number of months or partial months the 

veteran was employed in the 2nd year 4 _________

5. Monthly credit allowable in second year 5        400

6. Second year credit – 
multiply line 4 by line 5 (maximum ($4,800) 6 _________

We will not refund any credit greater than your tax due, but you 
may carry it forward to offset tax for up to fi ve years.

If taking this credit, you must keep the following documentation 
and make it available to the Tax Commission upon request:

1. the veteran’s name, last known address, and taxpayer 
identifi cation or Social Security number;

2. the start date of employment;

3. documentation establishing that the veteran was em-
ployed 45 out of the next 52 weeks after the start date of 
employment;

4. documentation from the veteran’s military service unit 
showing that the veteran was recently deployed; and

5. a signed statement from the Department of Workforce 
Services that the veteran was collecting, was eligible to 
collect, or exhausted their unemployment benefi ts within 
the last two years.

(28) Employing Persons Who Are Homeless Credit
 (UC §59-10-1032)

You may claim a credit for hiring a homeless person if you 
receive a credit certifi cate from the Department of Workforce 
Services.

Do not send the certifi cate with your return. Keep the certifi cate 
and all related documents with your records.

Note: You may carry forward for the next fi ve years any credit 
that is more than your tax liability.

For more information contact:
Department of Workforce Services
140 E 300 S
PO Box 45249
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0249
801-526-9675
jobs.utah.gov
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(63) Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 
Program Credit

 (UC §59-10-1035)

You may claim a credit for 5 percent of the total qualifi ed con-
tributions you made to a Utah resident's Achieving a Better Life 
Experience Program account. You must make contributions 
during the taxable year and have an itemized statement from 
the qualifi ed ABLE program.

You may not claim a credit for a contribution that is returned 
to you or for an amount already deducted on your federal 
income tax return.

Credit calculation
Contributions _______ x .05 = Credit _________

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:
 Department of Workforce Services
 140 E 300 S
 PO Box 45249
 Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0249
 801-526-9675
 jobs.utah.gov

(AB) Student Prosperity Savings Program Credit
 (UC §59-10-1017.1)

You may claim a credit for 5 percent of a qualifi ed donation 
to the Student Prosperity Savings Program. You will receive 
a donation receipt from the plan. Keep this receipt with your 
records. You may claim this credit in addition to the Utah my529 
Credit if you also make a qualifi ed contribution to a my529 
account. You must donate to the Student Prosperity Savings 
Program in order to claim this credit.

You may not claim a credit for an amount already deducted 
on your federal income tax return.

Credit calculation
Donation _______ x .05 = Credit _________

Note: You may not carry forward or back any credit that is 
more than your tax liability.

For more information, contact:
my529
my529.org 
1-800-418-2551

  Part 5 – Refundable Credits
Claim the following refundable credits that apply on TC-41A, 
Part 5 and attach it to your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each refundable 
credit you are claiming. Total these credits, then subtract any 
refundable credits being distributed to benefi ciaries on the 
Utah Schedule K-1. Enter the net amount of the credits be-
ing claimed on the fi duciary return and carry this amount to 
line 36 of TC-41. Each refundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with your 
records. You may have to provide this information later to verify 
a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Refundable Credits - TC-41A Part 5
39 Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit 
43 Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit
46 Mineral Production Withholding
47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
48 Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(39) Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Tax
Credit

 (UC §59-10-1106)

Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial 
Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Governor's Offi ce of 
Energy Development with their certifi cation stamp. Do not 
send this form with your return. Keep the form and all related 
documents with your records to provide the Tax Commission 
upon request.

For more information, contact:
Governor's Offi ce of Energy Development (OED)
PO Box 144845
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
801-538-8732 or 801-538-8682
energy.utah.gov/tax-credits-fi nancing

(43) Pass-through Entity Taxpayer’s Withholding Tax 
Credit

 (UC §59-10-1103) 

If you have an interest in a pass-through entity (partnership, 
LLP, LLC, S corporation or trust) and received an income 
distribution from them, you may have had Utah income tax 
withheld from your distribution.  

Utah income tax withheld by a pass-through entity that is 
attributable to income you received but did not distribute to 
your benefi ciaries may be claimed as a credit on the fi duciary 
return. Enter such withholding tax on TC-41W, Part 3 and carry 
the total to TC-41A, Part 5, using code 43. 

If you distributed the income you received from the pass-
through entity to your benefi ciaries, the Utah income tax with-
held must also be distributed to your benefi ciaries. Complete 
TC-41A, page 2, using code 43 to report the withholding, 
then subtract on the schedule the withholding distributed to 
the benefi ciaries.

Keep Utah Schedule K-1s issued by the pass-through entity 
and all other related documents with your records. Do not 
attach them to your Utah return. Processing may be delayed 
or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do not complete 
TC-41W, Part 3 with all required information.

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
 (UC §59-6-102(3))

List any Utah mineral production withholding tax from TC-675R 
or Utah Schedule K-1 on TC-41W, Part 2. Total your entries 
on TC-41W, Part 2, and enter this total on your TC-41A, Part 
5, using code 46.

The mineral production company must provide the following 
information to you:

•  The company’s federal employer identifi cation number 
(EIN),

•  The company’s Utah mineral production withholding ac-
count number, and

•  Your share of the mineral production withholding tax.
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Keep all TC-675R(s) and Utah Schedule K-1(s) with your 
records. Do not attach them to your Utah return. Process-
ing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed 
if you do not complete the TC-41W, Part 2 with all required 
information.

(47)  Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel 
Credit

 (UC §59-13-202)

You may claim a credit of 31.1 cents per gallon for motor fuel 
and undyed diesel fuel bought in Utah during 2020 and used 
to operate stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm 
machinery used solely for commercial non-highway agricul-
tural use if the fuel was taxed at the time it was bought. This 
does not include golf courses, horse racing, boat operations, 
highway seeding, vehicles registered for highway use, hobbies, 
personal farming and other non-agricultural use. 

Credit calculation
Gallons _______ x .311 = Credit _________

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.

(48)  Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit
 (UC §59-10-1105)

This credit is for sales and use tax paid on hand tools pur-
chased and used or consumed primarily and directly in a farm-
ing operation in Utah. The credit only applies if the purchase 
price of a tool is more than $250.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records to provide the Tax Commission upon request.
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Note: Bankruptcy estates do not use TC-41B. See instruc-
tions for TC-41C.

Residency Status
•  If you are a nonresident, enter the two-character home 

state postal abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign 
country (a foreign national or citizen), enter “NA” in the 
home state abbreviation fi eld.

•  If you are a part-year resident, enter the date you estab-
lished residency in Utah and the date your residency ended. 
Enter dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah 
tax:
1. Complete form TC-41 through line 25.

2. Complete form TC-41B, Non or Part-Year Resident Estate 
or Trust Schedule (see Column A and Column B instruc-
tions, below).

3. Complete the rest of form TC-41, beginning with line 26.

Attach form TC-41B to your Utah return. Do not attach a 
copy of your federal return. Keep a copy with your records.

Line-by-Line Instructions
Note: Column A is for Utah income and deductions. Column 
B is for total income and deductions.

Lines 1 - 8
Column A: Enter all income (loss) earned or received from 
Utah sources while not a Utah resident, plus all income (loss) 
earned or received from all sources while a Utah resident 
(even if not from a Utah source) included in income on the 
federal return.

Column B: Enter the total income (loss) from all sources as 
reported on your federal return.

Line 9
Column A: Enter the Utah portion only of the additions to 
income shown on TC-41A, Part 1. In the case of an addition 
to income attributable to a my529 addback, only include the 
addition in Column A to the extent it was previously subtracted 
from Utah taxable income. Include in Column A an equitable 
adjustment shown on TC-41A, Part 1, only to the extent the 
equitable adjustment relates to additions to income from Utah 
sources.

Column B: Enter the total additions to income shown on 
TC-41A, Part 1

Line 10
Enter the total of lines 1 through 9 for each column.

Lines 11 - 14
Column A: Enter deductions applicable to Utah income.

Column B: Enter deductions claimed on your federal return.

Line 15
Column A: Enter a subtraction for a state tax refund included 
in federal income only to the extent the refund is related to 
Utah tax.

Column B: Enter the state tax refund included in federal 
income.

Line 16
Column A: Enter only the subtractions from income shown on 
TC-41A, Part 2. Include in Column A an equitable adjustment 
shown on TC-41A, Part 2, only to the extent the equitable 
adjustment relates to subtractions from income from Utah 
sources.

Column B: Enter the total subtractions from income shown 
on TC-41A, Part 2.

Line 17
Enter the total of lines 11 through 16 for each column.

Line 18
Subtract line 17 from line 10 for each column.

Note: The amount on line 18 in column B must equal the 
amount shown on TC-41, line 14.

Line 19
Divide the total on line 18, Column A by the total on line 18, 
Column B. Round to four decimal places. Do not enter a deci-
mal greater than 1.0000 and do not enter a negative number. 
(If the amount in Column A or Column B is zero, enter 0.0000 
on line 19.)

Line 20
Enter the tax from TC-41, line 25.

Line 21
Multiply the tax on line 20 by the decimal on line 19. This is 
your Utah tax. Carry this amount to TC-41, line 26.

TC-41B - Non or Part-year Resident Estate or Trust
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The fi ling of a bankruptcy petition for an individual debtor 
under chapter 7 or chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code cre-
ates a separate taxable entity known as a bankruptcy estate. 
The trustee (for chapter 7 cases) or the debtor-in-possession 
(for chapter 11 cases) must prepare and fi le the estate’s tax 
returns and pay its taxes. The debtor remains responsible for 
fi ling returns and paying taxes on any income that does not 
belong to the estate.

Amended Return. If a bankruptcy case begins, but is later 
dismissed by the bankruptcy court, the estate is treated as if 
it never existed. If tax returns have been fi led for the estate, 
amended returns must be fi led to report income and deductions 
on the debtor’s returns. If no returns have been fi led, report 
all income and deductions on the debtor’s returns.

Utah Instructions. For purposes of the TC-41C, references 
made to federal form 1040 refer to the federal form 1040 that 
is attached as a schedule to federal form 1041 that the trustee 
or debtor-in-possession fi les on behalf of the bankruptcy estate 
with the Internal Revenue Service. 

A trustee or debtor-in-possession of a bankruptcy estate 
(chapter 7 or chapter 11) must fi le form TC-41, Utah Fidu-
ciary Income Tax Return, and attach a completed TC-41C, 
Bankruptcy Estate Schedule. Leave lines 4 through 21 of the 
TC-41 blank. Line 22 of the TC-41 is the tax calculated on 
the TC-41C, line 20.

•  Resident Bankruptcy Estate: Complete lines 23 through 
42 of the TC-41 according to the regular fi duciary instruc-
tions. Complete and attach only page 1 of TC-41C to your 
return; do not complete or attach TC-41C, page 2.

•  Nonresident or Part-year Resident Bankruptcy Estate: 
Complete TC-41, lines 23 through 25, following the regular 
fi duciary instructions. Then complete TC-41C, page 2 to 
calculate the Utah tax. Enter the apportioned tax from TC-
41C, line 58 on TC-41, line 26. Attach both pages 1 and 2 
of TC-41C to your return.

The estate’s tax liability is determined by completing the TC-
41C with information and calculations similar to form TC-40, 
Individual Income Tax Return.

The special bankruptcy estate instructions on TC-41C over-
ride those for TC-41 and TC-41B, where there is a confl ict.

  TC-41C, Page 1 

Line 1. Federal Total Income
Complete the worksheet below and enter the amount on line 1.

 Federal Total Income Worksheet
1. Add lines 1, 2b, 3b, 4b, 5b and 6b from

federal form 1040  1.__________

2. Federal form 1040, Schedule 1, line 22 2.__________

3. Add line 1 and line 2 3.__________

Enter this amount on TC-41C, line 1

Line 2. Federal Adjustments to Income
Enter the amount from line 22 of the bankruptcy estate’s 
federal return, form 1040, Schedule 1, attached to the federal 
fi duciary return, form 1041.

Line 3. Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 2 from line 1. (This amount must equal the federal 
adjusted gross income shown on line 11 of the bankruptcy 
estate’s federal return, form 1040, attached to the federal 
fi duciary return, form 1041.)

Line 4. Additions to Income
Enter the code and amount of each addition to income. Codes 
and explanations for these additions to income are in the TC-40 
tax return instruction booklet.

Line 5. Add lines 3 and 4
Enter the total of line 3 and line 4. 

Line 6. State Tax Refund Included on Federal 
Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 1

If you itemized your deductions on your 2019 federal form 
1040, enter the amount reported on your 2020 federal form 
1040, Schedule 1, line 1. Otherwise, leave this line blank.

Line 7. Subtractions from Income
Enter the code and amount of each subtraction from income. 
Codes and explanations for these subtractions from income 
are in the TC-40 tax return instruction booklet.

Line 8. Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Subtract the sum of lines 6 and 7 from line 5.

Line 9. Utah Tax
Multiply the Utah Taxable Income on line 8 by 4.95 percent 
(.0495). Do not enter an amount less than "0".

TC-41C – Bankruptcy Estate Schedule
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Taxpayer Tax Credit (lines 10 - 19)
(UC §59-10-1018)

Line 10. Personal Exemption
A bankruptcy estate exemption is $0 for 2020.

Line 11. Standard or Itemized Deductions 
Enter $12,400 (standard deduction) or the bankruptcy estate’s 
federal itemized deductions from federal form 1040, Schedule 
A (if greater) attached to the federal fi duciary return, form 1041.

Line 12. Add Lines 10 and 11
Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11.

Line 13. State Income Tax Itemized on 2020 
Federal Schedule A

Enter the amount, if any, of state income tax deducted on 
federal form 1040 Schedule A, line 5a, attached to the federal 
fi duciary return, form 1041. If you did not itemize your deduc-
tions on federal Schedule A, leave this line blank. 

Line 14. Subtract Line 13 from Line 12
Subtract the amount on line 13 from line 12.

Line 15. Initial Credit before Phase-out
Multiply the amount on line 14 by 6 percent (.06). This is your 
initial taxpayer tax credit before phase-out.

Line 16. Base Phase-out Amount
The base phase-out amount for a bankruptcy estate is $14,879.

Line 17. Phase-out Income
Subtract the base phase-out amount on line 16 from the Utah 
taxable income on line 8. 

Line 18. Phase-out Amount
Multiply the amount on line 17 by 1.3 percent (.013). This is 
the credit phase-out amount.

Line 19. Taxpayer Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 18 from the initial credit 
on line 15. If the result is less than zero, enter "0".

Line 20. Utah Income Tax
Subtract the taxpayer tax credit on line 19 from the tax calcu-
lated on line 9. If the result is less than zero, enter "0".

Full-year Utah Resident Bankruptcy Estate:

Carry the amount on line 20 to TC-41, line 22, and then com-
plete the rest of the TC-41 return. Attach TC-41C, page 1 to 
the TC-41 return. (Do not complete or attach TC-41C, page 
2 to your return.)

Non-resident or Part-year Resident Bankruptcy Estate

Carry the amount on line 20 to TC-41, line 22. Complete 
TC-41, lines 23 through 25. Then complete TC-41C, page 2 
to determine your apportioned Utah tax.  Carry the amount 
from TC-41C, line 58 to TC-41, line 26. Then complete the 
rest of the TC-41 return.

  TC-41C, Page 2 – 
 Nonresident or Part-year Resident
If fi ling for a nonresident or part-year resident bankruptcy 
estate, complete form TC-41C, page 2 and attach it to the 
TC-41 return.

Residency Status
•  If a nonresident, enter the two-character home state postal 

abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign country (a 
foreign national or citizen), enter “NA” in the home state 
abbreviation fi eld.

•  If a part-year resident, enter the date you established resi-
dency in Utah and the date such residency ended. Enter 
dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah 
tax:
1. Complete form TC-41C, page 1.

2.  Carry the tax from TC-41C, line 20 to TC-41, line 22.

3.  Complete form TC-41, lines 23 through 25.

4.  Complete form TC-41C, page 2.

Line-by-Line Instructions
Note: Column A is for Utah income and adjustments. Column 
B is for total income and adjustments

Lines 21 - 34
Column A: Enter all income (loss) earned or received from 

Utah sources while not a Utah resident, plus all income 
(loss) earned or received from all sources while a Utah 
resident (even if not from a Utah source).

Column B: Enter the total income (loss) from all sources you 
reported on your federal return.

Line 35
Column A: Enter only the additions to income attributable to 
Utah shown on TC-40A, Part 1. In the case of an addition to 
income attributable to a Medical Savings Account addback, 
a my529 addback, or Reimbursed Adoption Expenses, only 
include the addition in Column A to the extent it was previously 
subtracted from Utah taxable income. Include in Column A an 
equitable adjustment shown on TC-40A, Part 1, only to the 
extent the equitable adjustment relates to additions to income 
from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total additions to income shown on 
TC-40A, Part 1.

Line 36
Enter the total of lines 21 through 35 for each column.

Lines 37 - 49
Column A: Enter adjustments applicable to Utah income.

Column B: Enter adjustments claimed on your federal return.
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Charitable Contributions for Non-Itemizers: If you adjusted 
your income on federal form 1040, line 10b (charitable contribu-
tions when taking the standard deduction), enter that amount 
on Line 49 (line labeled “Reserved”), Column B. In Column 
A enter the amount that was made while a Utah resident or 
from Utah income.

Line 50
Column A: Enter a subtraction for a state tax refund included 
on line 1 of federal form 1040, Schedule 1, only to the extent 
the refund subtracted is related to Utah tax.

Column B: Enter the state tax refund included on line 1 of 
federal form 1040, Schedule 1.

Line 51
Column A: Enter only the subtractions from income attribut-
able to Utah shown on TC-40A, Part 2. Include in Column A 
an equitable adjustment shown on TC-40A, Part 2, only to the 
extent the equitable adjustment relates to subtractions from 
income from Utah sources.

Column B: Enter the total subtractions from income shown 
on TC-40A, Part 2.

Line 52
If you have any write-in adjustments added to line 22 of federal 
form 1040, Schedule 1, line 22, enter the description on the 
line 52 blank line and the adjustment amount(s) in Column 
A and Column B.

Line 53
Enter the total of lines 37 through 52 for each column.

Line 54
Subtract line 53 from line 36 for both Columns A and B. 

Note: The amount on line 54 in Column B must equal the 
amount on TC-41C, line 8.

Line 55
Divide the total on line 54, Column A by the total on line 
54, Column B. Round to four decimal places. Do not enter 
a decimal greater than 1.0000, and do not enter a negative 
number. (If the amount in Column A or Column B is zero, enter 
0.0000 on line 55.)

Line 56
Enter the tax amount from form TC-41, line 25.

Line 57
Multiply the tax on line 56 by the decimal on line 55. This 
is your Utah tax. Carry this amount to TC-41, line 26. Then 
complete the rest of form TC-41.
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Attach TC-41, Schedule K to show the estate's or trust's 
income, gains, losses, deductions, and Utah credits that are 
being distributed to the benefi ciaries.

Enter in the federal column the total of the amounts reported 
on the federal form 1041, Schedule K-1 for all benefi ciaries. 
Enter in the Utah column the total of the amounts on the Utah 
TC-41, Schedule K-1 for all benefi ciaries. Nonbusiness port-
folio income is attributable to the benefi ciary’s resident state.

Number of Schedules K-1 Attached to this Return

Enter the number of Schedules K-1 that are attached to this 
return and issued to benefi ciaries.

Line 1a. U.S. Government Interest Income
Enter in the federal column the total U.S. government interest 
income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah 
column the total Utah portion reported on Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 1b. Municipal Bond Interest Income
Enter in the federal column the total municipal bond interest 
income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the 
Utah column the total Utah taxable portion reported on Utah 
Schedules K-1. (See TC-41A instructions for an explanation 
of what municipal bond interest income to report.)

Line 1c. Other Interest Income
Enter in the federal column the total other interest income 
(other than interest income shown on lines 1a and 1b above) 
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah col-
umn the total Utah portion reported on Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 2. Ordinary Dividends
Enter in the federal column the total ordinary dividends re-
ported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 3. Net Short-term Capital Gains
Enter in the federal column the total net short-term capital 
gains reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah 
column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules 
K-1.

Line 4. Net Long-term Capital Gains
Enter in the federal column the total net long-term capital gains 
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 5. Other Portfolio and Nonbusiness 
Income

Enter in the federal column the total other portfolio and non-
business income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter 
in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah 
Schedules K-1.

Line 6. Ordinary Business Income
Enter in the federal column the total ordinary business income 
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 7. Net Rental Real Estate Income
Enter in the federal column the total net rental real estate 
income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the 
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah 
Schedules K-1.

Line 8. Other Rental Income
Enter in the federal column the total other rental income re-
ported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 9. Directly Apportioned Deductions
Enter in the federal column the total directly apportioned 
deductions reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in 
the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah 
Schedules K-1.

Line 10. Estate Tax Deduction
Enter in the federal column the total estate tax deduction re-
ported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 11. Final Year Deductions
Enter in the federal column the total fi nal year deductions re-
ported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column 
the total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 12. Other Information
Enter in the federal column the total other information reported 
on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the 
total Utah portion reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 13. Utah Nonrefundable Credits
Enter in the Utah column the Utah nonrefundable credits being 
distributed to the benefi ciaries. Describe the nonrefundable 
credit in the space provided (abbreviate as necessary), enter 
the Utah credit code and amount of the credit (see explana-
tions of credits and codes under the instructions for TC-41, 
lines 24 and 27).

Line 14. Utah Refundable Credits
Enter in the Utah column the Utah refundable credits being 
distributed to the benefi ciaries. Describe the refundable credit 
in the space provided (abbreviate as necessary), enter the 
Utah credit code and amount of the credit (see explanations 
of credits and code under the instructions for TC-41, line 36).

Line 15. Total Utah Withholding Tax to be Paid 
by This Fiduciary

Enter in the Utah column the total amount of Utah withholding 
tax paid or withheld on behalf of all the benefi ciaries who are 
pass-through entity taxpayers by the estate or trust, and for 
whom the waiver from withholding was not requested or who 
is not a dependent benefi ciary (see Schedule N instructions 
in this book). This amount must match the total pass-through 
withholding tax on Schedule N, column J.

TC-41K – BeneficiariesÊ Share of Income, 
Deductions and Credits
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Complete a TC-41, Schedule K-1 for each benefi ciary, show-
ing the share of income, gains, losses, deductions, and Utah 
credits that are distributed to the benefi ciary.

Estate/Trust, Fiduciary and Benefi ciary 
Information
Provide all of the estate/trust, fi duciary and benefi ciary infor-
mation requested in the left column of the schedule.

Other Information
Enter any additional information or explanation of entries 
needed by the benefi ciary in order to complete their individual 
Utah return.

Note: Portfolio income and non-Utah nonbusiness income 
from a Utah estate or trust should not be reported on the Utah 
Schedule K-1 for a Utah nonresident benefi ciary. Portfolio 
income from a Utah estate or trust is reported only on the 
Utah Schedule K-1 for Utah resident benefi ciaries.

Line 1a. Utah U.S. Government Interest Income
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of U.S. government interest income included in the interest 
income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 1. If this 
income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the 
benefi ciary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 1b. Utah Taxable Municipal Bond Interest 
Income

Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of Utah taxable municipal bond interest income included in 
the interest income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, 
line 1. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness 
income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, enter "0". (See 
TC-41A instructions for the defi nition of taxable municipal 
bond interest income.)

Line 1c. Utah Other Interest Income
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of other interest income (other than interest income shown 
on lines 1a and 1b above) included in the interest income 
reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 1. If this income is 
portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the benefi ciary 
is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 2. Utah Ordinary Dividends
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share of 
federal ordinary dividends reported on their federal Schedule 
K-1, line 2a. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusi-
ness income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 3. Utah Net Short-term Capital Gains
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share of 
federal net short-term capital gains reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 3. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah 
nonbusiness income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, 
enter "0".

Line 4. Utah Net Long-term Capital Gains
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of federal net long-term capital gains reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 4a. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah 
nonbusiness income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, 
enter "0".

Line 5. Other Utah Portfolio and Nonbusiness 
Income

Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of other federal portfolio and nonbusiness income reported 
on their federal Schedule K-1, line 5. If the benefi ciary is a 
nonresident, enter "0".

Line 6. Utah Ordinary Business Income
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of federal ordinary business income reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 6.

Line 7. Utah Net Rental Real Estate Income
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share of 
federal net rental real estate income reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 7. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah 
nonbusiness income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, 
enter "0".

Line 8. Utah Other Rental Income
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share of 
federal other rental income reported on their federal Schedule 
K-1, line 8. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness 
income and the benefi ciary is a nonresident, enter "0".

Line 9. Utah Directly Apportioned Deductions
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of federal directly apportioned deductions reported on their 
federal Schedule K-1, line 9. Enter the description as shown 
on the Schedule K in the space provided. For a nonresident 
benefi ciary, do not include deductions attributable to portfolio 
income or non-Utah nonbusiness income which is not reported 
on the benefi ciary’s Utah Schedule K-1.

Line 10. Estate Tax Deduction
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of the federal estate tax deduction reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 10.

Line 11. Final Year Utah Deductions
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of the fi nal year federal deductions reported on their federal 
Schedule K-1, line 11. Enter the description as shown on the 
Schedule K in the space provided. For a nonresident benefi -
ciary, do not include deductions attributable to portfolio income 
or non-Utah nonbusiness income which is not reported on 
the benefi ciary’s Utah Schedule K-1.

TC-41K-1 – BeneficiaryÊs Share of Utah Income, 
Deductions, and Credits
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Line 12. Other Utah Information
Enter the Utah portion of the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of federal other information reported on their federal Schedule 
K-1, line 14.

Line 13. Utah Nonrefundable Credits Distrib-
uted to Benefi ciary

Enter the benefi ciary’s distributive share of Utah nonrefundable 
credits as reported on Utah Schedule K, line 13. Also enter the 
description and the Utah nonrefundable credit code as shown 
on Schedule K (abbreviate as necessary).

Line 14. Utah Refundable Credits Distributed 
to Benefi ciary

Enter the benefi ciary’s distributive share of Utah refundable 
credits as reported on Utah Schedule K, line 14. Also enter 
the description and the Utah refundable credit code as shown 
on Schedule K (abbreviate as necessary).

Line 15. Utah Tax Withheld on Behalf of 
Benefi ciary

Enter the amount of Utah withholding tax withheld by this 
estate or trust on behalf of this benefi ciary if treated as a pass-
through entity taxpayer and calculated on Schedule N, and for 
whom the waiver from withholding was not requested or who 
is not a dependent benefi ciary (see Schedule N instructions 
in this book). This amount will be claimed on the benefi ciary’s 
individual Utah return.

Enter an “X” if the estate or trust entered a “1” in the With-
holding Waiver Request fi eld at the top of Schedule N to not 
withhold Utah tax on all pass-through entity taxpayers, or if 
the estate or trust entered a “2” in the Withholding Waiver 
Request fi eld at the top of Schedule N and entered an “X” on 
line B of Schedule N for this specifi c benefi ciary.

Provide each benefi ciary a copy of their Utah Schedule K-1.

rprawitt
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The estate or trust, as a pass-through entity, must pay or with-
hold tax on behalf of each nonresident individual benefi ciary, 
each resident or nonresident business benefi ciary, and each 
resident or nonresident trust or estate benefi ciary (collectively 
referred to as pass-through entity taxpayers) unless a with-
holding waiver request is made (see below). The estate or 
trust is not required to withhold Utah tax on a benefi ciary if: 

• the benefi ciary is exempt from taxation under UC §59-7-
102(1)(a) or §59-10-104.1; 

• this estate or trust is a plan under IRC Sections 401, 408 
or 457 and is not required to fi le a return under UC Chapter 
7; or 

• this estate or trust is a publicly traded partnership as de-
fi ned under UC §59-10-1403.2(1)(b)(iv).

Benefi ciaries may take a credit for the amount of tax paid by 
the estate or trust on their behalf. To claim the credit, the ben-
efi ciary must fi le a Utah income tax return for the taxable year. 
A benefi ciary subject to withholding by the estate or trust and 
who has no other Utah source of income may elect to forego 
the credit and not fi le a Utah income tax return. However, a 
benefi ciary with income or loss from other Utah sources must 
fi le a Utah income tax return. A benefi ciary who is eligible for 
Utah tax credits, in addition to the Utah pass-through tax with-
held, must fi le a Utah income tax return to claim those credits.

If the benefi ciary is a pass-through entity, it must fi le a Utah 
return to report its income/loss and withholding allocations to 
its partners/members/shareholders/benefi ciaries. 

Estates or trusts having benefi ciaries for whom withholding 
is required must complete Schedule N showing the amount 
of Utah income attributable to the benefi ciaries, the amount 
of Utah tax on such income (4.95 percent), any Utah mineral 
production withholding tax and upper-tier Utah pass-through 
entity withholding tax credited to the benefi ciaries, and the 
net amount of withholding tax this estate or trust must pay 
on behalf of such benefi ciaries. Use additional forms TC-41, 
Schedule N, if needed.

Withholding Waiver Claim
(UC §59-10-1403.2(5))

You may claim a waiver from the requirement to withhold Utah 
income tax on pass-through entity taxpayers by entering a “1” 
in the fi eld if the waiver is for all benefi ciaries, or a “2” if the 
waiver is for only certain benefi ciaries. Also enter an “X” on 
line B and a “0” in column F for each benefi ciary for whom 
the waiver is claimed.

Claiming the waiver for all or specifi c benefi ciaries does not 
relieve the estate or trust from the responsibility of paying Utah 
tax on the income allocated to benefi ciaries if the benefi ciaries 
do not pay. If the benefi ciary or benefi ciaries for whom you 
claimed a waiver fail to fi le a return and make the required 
payment in a timely manner, you will be liable for the with-
holding, plus any penalties and interest.

Dependent Benefi ciary Defi nition 
A “dependent benefi ciary” is not subject to the withholding 
requirement.

TC-41N – Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax
A dependent benefi ciary is a person who is a benefi ciary 
of the estate or trust and is claimed as a dependent on the 
federal income tax return of another person under IRC §24.

A dependent benefi ciary is not subject to the pass-through 
withholding requirements if the person who is claiming the 
benefi ciary as a dependent on their federal income tax return 
(IRC §24) provides the estate or trust with a signed Statement 
of Dependent Benefi ciary Income attesting that they expect 
the dependent benefi ciary to have adjusted gross income 
for the taxable year that will not exceed the basic federal 
standard deduction as calculated under IRC Section 63 for 
that taxable year. 

The trustee must keep the statement and present it to the Tax 
Commission upon request (UC §59-10-1403.2(6)).

Line-by-Line Instructions
Line A. Name of Benefi ciary (Pass-through 

Entity Taxpayer)
Enter the name of each nonresident individual benefi ciary, 
resident/nonresident business benefi ciary, or resident/nonresi-
dent trust or estate benefi ciary (referred to as pass-through 
entity taxpayer).

Line B. Withholding Waiver for this 
Benefi ciary

If you entered either a “1” or a “2” on the Withholding Waiver 
Claim line at the top of Schedule N, enter an “X” on line B if 
this benefi ciary is included in the waiver claim.

If you check this fi eld, enter a “0” on line F for the benefi ciary.

Line C. Dependent Benefi ciary
Enter an “X” on line C if the benefi ciary is a dependent benefi -
ciary (see defi nition above). Entering an “X” on this line will be 
treated as a claim for waiver of the withholding requirements 
for this benefi ciary.

Line D. SSN/EIN of Benefi ciary
Enter the Social Security number (SSN) of each nonresident 
individual benefi ciary, the federal employer identifi cation 
number (EIN) of each resident/nonresident business benefi -
ciary, or the SSN or EIN of each resident/nonresident trust 
or estate benefi ciary.

Line E. Benefi ciary’s Percent of Income
Enter the percent of the estate or trust the pass-through entity 
taxpayer receives, to four decimal places.

Line F. Income (Loss) Attributable to Utah
Enter the income (loss) attributable to Utah and taxable to the 
pass-through entity taxpayer.

Calculate this income for a pass-through entity taxpayer by 
adding the income amounts shown on their Utah Schedule 
K-1, lines 1a through 8, then subtracting the deductions on 
their Utah Schedule K-1, lines 9 through 11.

rprawitt
COVID - instructions



272020 Utah TC-41 Instructions

Line G. 4.95 percent of Income
Multiply the amount of income attributable to Utah for each 
pass-through entity taxpayer (line F) by 4.95 percent (.0495). 
If the amount on line F is a loss, enter "0." Also enter “0” if 
the waiver request has been requested for this benefi ciary 
(line B checked).

Line H. Mineral Production Withholding Credit
Enter the amount of any mineral production withholding tax 
allocated by the estate or trust to the pass-through entity 
taxpayer. The credit for mineral production withholding tax 
reduces the amount of Utah withholding tax that is calculated 
for this benefi ciary on Schedule N. The credit should equal 
the amount reported on line 14 of Schedule K-1 for mineral 
production withholding tax credit for this benefi ciary.

Line I. Upper-tier Pass-through Withholding 
Tax

Enter the amount of any pass-through entity withholding tax 
paid by an upper-tier (previous) pass-through entity, attribut-
able to this estate or trust, and allocated to the pass-through 
entity taxpayer of this estate or trust. The credit for upper-tier 
pass-through entity withholding tax reduces the amount of 
Utah withholding tax calculated for this benefi ciary on Sched-
ule N. The credit should equal the amount reported on line 
14 of Schedule K-1 for upper-tier pass-through withholding 
tax for this benefi ciary.

Line J. Withholding Tax to be Paid by This 
Fiduciary

Subtract the total of the credits on lines H and I from the tax 
calculated on line G for each pass-through entity taxpayer. 
Do not enter an amount less than zero. 

The withholding tax shown in column J is the withholding 
tax this estate or trust must withhold or pay on behalf of the 
pass-through entity taxpayer. Report this withholding tax on 
line 15 of Utah Schedule K-1 given to the benefi ciary.

Pay this withholding tax to the Tax Commission by the original 
due date of the return. If the return is being fi led on extension, 
this withholding tax must be prepaid by the original due date.

Total Utah Withholding Tax to be Paid by 
This Fiduciary
Add the pass-through withholding in column J for all benefi -
ciaries. Enter this total at the bottom of Schedule N and carry 
it to TC-41, page 2, line 31 and to Schedule K, line 15.
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TC-41W – Utah Withholding Tax Schedule

22222 a  Employee’s social security number
OMB No. 1545-0008 

b  Employer identification number (EIN)

c  Employer’s name, address, and ZIP code

d  Control number

e  Employee’s first name and initial Last name Suff.

f  Employee’s address and ZIP code

1   Wages, tips, other co

3   Social security wag

5   Medicare wages a

7   Social security tips

9   

11   Nonqualified plans

13 Statutory 
employee

Retireme
plan

14  Other

15  State Employer’s state ID number 16  State wages, tips, etc. 17  State income tax 18  Local wage

Form W-2 Wage and Tax 
Statement 2020

    567-89-0123

 87-1234567       32,519.85

 ABC ENTERPRISE INC     32,519.85
 9876 MAIN ST
         32,519.85 SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101

 WILLIAM J SMITH
 456 TIMBER DR
 MURRAY UT 84150

    UT  12345678002WTH            32,519.85    767.99

W-2 Example

Utah TC-41W Example

  Line Explanations IMPOR

  1 Employer/payer ID number from W-2 box “b” or 1099 Do no
  2 Utah withholding ID number from W-2 box “15” or 1099 W-2 or

  (14 characters, ending in WTH, no hyphens) on the
  3 Employer/payer name and address from W-2 box “c” or 1099
  4 Enter “X” if reporting Utah withholding from form 1099 Use ad
  5 Employee’s Social Security number from W-2 box “a” or 1099 1099s
  6 Utah wages or income from W-2 box “16” or 1099
  7 Utah withholding tax from W-2 box “17” or 1099 Enter 
     enter p

First W-2 or 1099 Secon
 1    1

 2    (14 characters, no hyphens) 2  

 3    3

 4    4

 5    5

 6    6

 7    7

Third W-2 or 1099 Fourth
1 1

USTC ORIGINAL FORM

41012
Part 1 - Utah Withholding Tax Schedule 
EIN or SSN Estate/trust name 

.00 

.00 

          567-89-0123         SM

       87-1234567

      12345678002WTH

      ABC ENTERPRISE INC
      9876 MAIN ST
      SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101

     567-89-0123

            32,520

                     768

You must claim Utah withholding tax credits by complet-
ing form TC-41W and attaching it to your return.

Do not send W-2s, 1099s, TC-675Rs, and Utah Schedules 
K-1 with your return. Keep all these forms with your tax 
records — we may ask you to provide the documents at 
a later time.

Processing may be delayed or your withholding tax credits may 
be disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W as explained 
below and submit it with your return.

TC-41W, Part 1 Instructions
Report Utah withholding tax from the following forms:
•  Federal form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.
•  Federal form 1099 (with Utah withholding), including 1099-

R, 1099-MISC, 1099-G, etc.

To claim credit for Utah withholding tax, complete TC-41W, 
page 1. Enter the following information:

Line 1 - Enter the employer/payer federal EIN (W-2 box “b,” 
or 1099).

Line 2 - Enter the employer/payer Utah withholding account 
number (W-2 box “15,” or 1099).

FYI: Withholding Account Number
The Utah withholding account number is a 14-char-
acter number. The fi rst eleven characters are numeric 
and the last three are “WTH.” Do not enter hyphens. 
Example: 12345678901WTH.

If the form W-2 or 1099 does not include this number, 
contact the employer or payer to get the correct num-
ber to enter on TC-41W, Part 1. Failure to include this 
number on TC-41W may cause your withholding to be 
disallowed and delay any refund.

Line 3 - Enter the employer/payer name and address (W-2 
box “c,” or 1099).

Line 4 - Enter an “X” if the income and withholding tax are 
from a form 1099.

Line 5 - Enter the Social Security number or EIN (W-2 box 
“a,” or 1099).

Line 6 - Enter the Utah wages or income being reported (W-2 
box "16," or 1099).

Line 7 - Enter the Utah withholding tax (W-2 box "17," or 1099).

Note: If there is no Utah employer identifi cation number on a 
form W-2 box 15, 1099-R box 13, 1099-MISC box 17, or any 
other 1099 form, your refund may be reduced or your tax due 
increased. Contact the employer or payer of the income to get 
the Utah ID number.

Add the amounts of Utah withholding tax from all lines 7 and 
enter the total at the bottom of TC-41W, page 1, and on form 
TC-41, page 2, line 33.
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TC-41W, Part 2 Instructions
To claim credit for Utah mineral production withholding tax, en-
ter the following information. If from form TC-675R, enter lines 
1, 2, 3 and 5; if from Utah Schedule K-1, enter lines 4 and 5.

Line 1 - Enter the mineral producer’s federal EIN (TC-675R 
box 2).

Line 2 - Enter the mineral producer’s name (TC-675R box 1).

Line 3 - Enter the mineral producer’s Utah withholding account 
number (TC-675R box 3).

FYI: Mineral Withholding Account Number
The Utah mineral withholding account number is a 
14-character number. The fi rst eleven characters are 
numeric and the last three are “WMP.” Do not enter 
hyphens. Example: 12345678901WMP.

If the form TC-675R does not include this number, 
contact the payer to get the correct number to enter 
on TC-41W, Part 2. Failure to include this number on 
TC-41W may cause your withholding to be disallowed 
and delay any refund.

Line 4 - If the mineral withholding tax distribution was received 
from a pass-through entity (partnership, LLC, LLP or 
S corporation), enter the pass-through entity’s federal 
EIN. If you receive a TC-675R directly from the mineral 
producer, leave this line blank.

Line 5 - Enter your mineral production withholding tax (TC-
675R box 6) or your share of mineral production 
withholding tax reported on Utah Schedule K-1 by a 
pass-through entity.

Add the amounts of mineral production withholding tax from 
all lines 5 and enter the total on form TC-41A, Part 5, using 
code 46.

Do not send TC-657R(s) or Utah Schedule K-1(s) with your 
return. Keep them in your fi les. 

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit 
disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W with all required 
information.

TC-41W, Part 3 Instructions
To claim credit for Utah withholding tax paid on your behalf 
by a pass-through entity (partnership, LLC, LLP or S corpora-
tion), enter the following information from Utah Schedule K-1:

Line 1 - Enter the pass-through entity’s federal EIN (Schedule 
K-1 box A).

Line 2 - Enter the pass-through entity’s name (Schedule K-1 
box B).

Line 3 - Enter the Utah withholding tax withheld or paid on 
your behalf by the pass-through entity.

Add the amounts of pass-through entity Utah withholding 
tax from all lines 3 and enter the total on form TC-41A, using 
code 43.

Do not send Utah Schedule(s) K-1 with your return. Keep 
them in your fi les. 

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit 
disallowed if you do not complete TC-41W with all required 
information.

2. Producer’s federal EIN 3. Producer’s Utah account number 4. Recipient’s federal EIN (or SSN if an individual)

5. Utah mineral production gross payment to recipient

8. Recipient's name, address, city, state, ZIP code 9. Recipient entity type (check one)

C - Corporation
S - S Corporation

P - Partnership

L - Limited Liability Company
O - Limited Liability Partnership

Statement of Utah Tax Withheld on Mineral Production TC-675R

20__ __

I - Individual T ,- Trust Estate or Fiduciary

For tax year:

1. Producer’s name, address, city, state and ZIP code Rev. 6/13

6. Utah tax withheld on mineral production 7. Utah mineral production gross payment subject to
withholding

not

ABC MINING COMPANY
 PO BOX 4941
 PRICE UT 84501                 2    0

 84-1909732    12345678002WMP   545-18-6791

 24,615.18    1,230.76      .00

    545-18-6791      WINTER

      84-1909732

      ABC MINING COMPANY

     12345678002WMP

     545-18-6791

                 1,231

Part 2 -Utah Mineral Production Withholding Tax - TC-675R
 Do not send TC-675R or Utah Schedules K-1 with return. Enter TC-675R or Schedule K-1 information below. Use additional TC-41Ws if need
  Line Explanations
  1 Producer’s EIN number from box “2” of TC-675R 4 Pass-through entity EIN if credit from partnership or S corpora
  2 Producer’s name from box “1” of TC-675R  (enter EIN from Utah Schedule K-1)
  3 Producer’s Utah withholding number from box “3” of TC-675R 5 Utah mineral production withholding tax from box”6” of TC-675
   (14 characters, ending in WMP, no hyphens)  from Utah Schedule K-1.
 First TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1  Second TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1
 1    1

 2    2

 3    (14 characters, no hyphens) 3  (14 characters, no hyph

 4    4

 5    5

USTC ORIGINAL FORM
41013

Mineral Production and Pass-through Withholding TC-41W 
EIN or SSN Estate/trust name 2020

.00 .00

Utah TC-41W Example

TC-675R Example
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Use TC-250 to report Utah nonrefundable and refundable 
tax credits allocated on a Utah Schedule K-1 to this estate or 
trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity in which this estate 
or trust owns an interest, as well as mineral production with-
holding tax credits received on a form TC-675R.

Attach form TC-250 to your fi duciary return if the estate 
or trust received an allocation of nonrefundable and/or 
refundable credits from an upper-tier pass-through entity 
on a Utah Schedule K-1.

Upper-tier Pass-through Entity. An upper-tier pass-through 
entity is a pass-through entity in which this estate or trust 
has an ownership interest and from whom this estate or trust 
receives an allocation of income, gain, loss, deduction, or 
credit on a Utah Schedule K-1. 

If additional lines are needed to report any category, you may 
use additional forms TC-250.

 Part 1 –  Utah Nonrefundable Credits 
Received from Upper-tier Pass-
through Entities

Utah nonrefundable tax credits allocated to this estate or 
trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown on Utah 
Schedule K-1 received from the upper-tier pass-through entity 
must be reported in Part 1. These credits are found on Utah 
Schedule K-1 under nonrefundable credits with a credit code. 
Do not include Utah Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received 
showing these credits when fi ling this estate or trust’s return.

First Column
Enter in the fi rst column the federal EIN shown in box “A” of 
Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the 
upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column
Enter in the second column the name shown in box “B” of 
Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the 
upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column
Enter in the third column the nonrefundable credit code shown 
on Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from 
the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column
Enter in the fourth column the amount of the distributed Utah 
nonrefundable credit shown on Utah Schedule K-1 received 
by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Carry the nonrefundable credits to Utah Schedule A, Part 3 or 
Part 4, as applicable. If you have multiple credits for the same 
credit code, combine the credit amounts before entering on 
Schedule A. Allocate the credit to the benefi ciaries on their 
individual Schedule K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

TC-250 – Credits Received from Upper-tier Pass-
through Entities and Mineral Production With-
holding Tax Credit on TC-675R

 Part 2 – Utah Refundable Credits Received 
from Upper-tier Pass-through 
Entities

Utah refundable tax credits allocated to this estate or trust by 
an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown on Utah Schedule 
K-1 received from the upper-tier pass-through entity must be 
reported in Part 2. These credits are found on Utah Schedule 
K-1 under refundable credits with a credit code. Do not include 
Utah Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received showing these 
credits when fi ling this estate or trust’s return.

First Column
Enter in the fi rst column the federal EIN shown in box “A” of 
Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the 
upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column
Enter in the second column the name shown in box “B” of 
Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from the 
upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column
Enter in the third column the refundable credit code shown 
on Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust from 
the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column
Enter in the fourth column the amount of the allocated Utah 
refundable credit shown on the Utah Schedule K-1 received 
by this estate or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Carry the refundable credits to Utah Schedule A, Part 5. If 
you have multiple credits for the same credit code, combine 
the credit amounts before entering on Schedule A. Allocate 
the credit to the benefi ciaries on their individual Schedule K-1 
based on their ownership percentage.

 Part 3 – Utah Mineral Production 
Withholding Tax Credit Received on 
TC-675R

Utah mineral production tax withheld on production income 
received by this estate or trust from the producer shown on 
form TC-675R must be reported in Part 3. Do not include the 
TC-675R with your estate or trust return.

First Column
Enter in the fi rst column the federal EIN shown in box “2” of 
the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Second Column
Enter in the second column the producer’s name shown in 
box “1” of the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.
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Third Column
Enter in the third column the amount of the mineral production 
withholding tax shown in box “6” of the form TC-675R received 
by this estate or trust.

Total the mineral production withholding amounts shown in 
the third column. Carry this total to Utah Schedule A, Part 5 
using code “46.” Allocate the credit to the benefi ciaries on their 
individual Schedule K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

Qualified Funeral Trust Information

Who Must File
The trustee of a trust that has elected to be taxed as a quali-
fi ed funeral trust (QFT) fi les federal form 1041-QFT to report 
the income, deductions, gains, losses, etc., and income tax 
liability of the QFT. The trustee can use form TC-41 to fi le for 
a single QFT, or for multiple QFTs having the same trustee 
following the instructions under Composite Return below. 

Pre-need funeral trusts that do not qualify as QFTs should 
use the regular instructions for form TC-41, Utah Fiduciary 
Income Tax Return.

Qualifi ed Funeral Trust (QFT)
A QFT is a domestic trust that meets all of the following 
requirements:

• It arose from a contract with a person who provides funeral 
or burial services or property necessary to provide such 
services.

• The sole purpose of the trust is to hold, invest and reinvest 
funds in the trust and to use those funds solely to pay 
for funeral or burial services or property to provide such 
services for the benefi t of the trust's benefi ciaries.

• The only benefi ciaries are individuals for whom such ser-
vices or property is to be provided at their death under the 
contracts described above.

• The trustee elects or previously elected to treat the trust 
as a QFT.

• If the QFT election had not been made, the trust would 
have been treated as owned by the contracts’ purchasers 
under the IRC grantor trust provisions. However, a trust 
that is not owned by the purchaser solely because of the 
death of an individual shall be treated as meeting this 
requirement during the 60-day period beginning the day 
of that individual’s death.

If a QFT has multiple benefi ciaries, each benefi ciary’s sepa-
rate interest under a contract is treated as a separate QFT 
for the purpose of fi guring the tax and fi ling this return. Each 
benefi ciary’s share of the trust’s income is determined in ac-
cordance with the benefi ciary’s interest in the trust.

Whenever these instructions refer to a trust or QFT, it includes 
such separate interests that are treated as separate QFTs.

Making the Election
The trustee elects to treat a trust as a QFT by fi ling federal 
form 1041-QFT by the due date (including extensions).

Composite Return
A trustee may fi le a single, composite Utah form TC-41 for 
all QFTs for which he or she is the trustee, including QFTs 
that had a short tax year. Prepare a schedule that includes 
the following information for each QFT (or separate interest 
treated as a QFT):

•  The number of QFTs in the composite return.

• The owner or benefi ciary’s name. If the trust has more than 
one benefi ciary, separate the trust into shares held by the 
separate benefi ciaries.

• The type and gross amount of income earned by the QFT. 
For capital gains, identify the net short-term capital gain, 
net long-term capital gain, 28 percent rate gain, and un-
recaptured section 1250 gain.

• The type and amount of each deduction and credit allocable 
to the QFT.

• The Utah tax calculation for each QFT. You must complete 
form TC-41, lines 15 through 22 separately for each QFT.

• The Utah tax payments made for each QFT.

• If the QFT terminated during the year, the termination date.

You can use the same information and schedules from the 
federal form 1041-QFT to compute Utah tax. Figure the tax-
able income separately for each QFT using each QFT’s share 
of the amounts.

Attach the composite return schedules to your TC-41.

Tax Computation
Follow the line-by-line instructions except for computing the 
tax. Use a separate schedule to calculate the Utah tax for 
each QFT using the 4.95 percent (.0495) tax rate for each 
QFT. Enter the sum of the tax for all QFTs (after subtracting 
any estate or trust tax credit) on TC-41, line 15. Leave lines 
16-22 blank. Enter the amount from line 15 on line 23.
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Utah State Tax Commission

Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon TC-549
Rev. 12/11

Fiduciary Income Tax
Return Payment Coupon

Rev. 12/11
TC-549

Make check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax Commission.
Do not send cash. Do not staple check to coupon. Detach check stub.

Mail to: Utah State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, SLC UT 84134-0250

Tax year ending

USTC Use Only

 

SEPARATE AND RETURN ONLY THE BOTTOM COUPON WITH PAYMENT. KEEP TOP PORTION FOR YOUR RECORDS.

Payment amount enclosed 00$

Use of Payment Coupon
If you have a tax due balance on your Utah fiduciary income tax return 
and you have previously filed your return without a payment, include 
the payment coupon below with your check or money order to insure 
proper credit to your account. Do not mail another copy of your 
fiduciary income tax return with this payment. Sending a duplicate of 
your return may delay posting of the payment.

If you are sending a payment with your paper Utah fiduciary income 
tax return, include the payment coupon below with your check or 
money order, to insure proper credit to your account. 

Do not use this return payment coupon to prepay future fiduciary 
taxes. Use form TC-548.

Electronic Payment
You may pay your tax online at tap.utah.gov.

How to Prepare the Payment
Make your check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax 
Commission. Do not send cash. The Tax Commission does not 
assume liability for loss of cash placed in the mail. 

Print the name of the estate or trust, address, daytime telephone 
number and the year the payment is for on your check or money order.

Sending Payment Coupon
If sending this payment coupon separate from your fiduciary income 
tax return, do NOT mail another copy of your return with this payment.

Complete and detach the payment coupon below.

Do not attach (staple, paper clip, etc.) the check or money order to the 
payment coupon. 

Send the payment coupon and payment to:

 Utah State Tax Commission
 210 N 1950 W
 Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0250

Name of estate or trust EIN or SSN of estate or trust

Address

City State ZIP code
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TC-41 – Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return
Line 8. Income Distribution Deduction

 Enter on this line TWO TYPES of income:
1. Any income distribution deduction reported on your federal 

form 1041, line 18. 

2. Any COVID-19 grant or loan income reported on TC-41, 
Schedule A, Part 1 (code 51) that the trust distributes 
untaxed to benefi ciaries.

TC-41, Schedule A – Fiduciary Supplemental Schedule

  Part 1 – Additions to Income
(51) Lump Sum Distribution/ COVID-19 Grants and 

Loans

 Use code 51 for TWO types of additions.

If both additions apply, enter the combined amount. 

1. Lump Sum Distribution (UC §59-10-114(1)(a))

  This addition to income only applies if you fi led 
form 4972 with your federal return.

If you received a lump sum distribution and fi led federal form 
4972, enter the total of the amounts shown on Part II, line 6 
and on Part III, line 10. Keep a copy of form 4972 and any 
1099-R forms showing the distribution with your records. 

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum distribution 
with others, multiply the amount on line 10 of federal form 
4972 by the distribution percentage shown in box 9a on form 
1099-R, then add the amount from form 4972, Part II, line 6.

2. COVID-19 Grants and Loans (UC §59-10-101(1)

  This addition does not include the economic 
stimulus payments received by individuals (IRS 
Notices 1444 and 1444-B)

If you received a Paycheck Protection Loan or other federal 
grant or loan related to COVID-19 the income of the grant or 
loan must be added to your Utah income if: 

1. the grant or loan was forgiven during the 2020 tax year,

2. the value of the grant or loan is not subject to federal in-
come tax, and

3. the grant or loan is used for expenses that are deductible 
for federal income tax purposes.

If you own an interest in an LLC, a partnership, an s-corporation 
or trust that received a Paycheck Protection Loan or similar 
federal grant or loan meeting these requirements, add your 
distributed share of the grant or loan amount on this line. 
These amounts should be reported on the “Other Income” 
line of your Utah Schedule K-1.

2020 TC-41 Instructions Addendum
RE: COVID-19 Grants and Loans

What's New
The 2020 legislature passed SB 6005 for the treatment of 
Paycheck Protection Loans and other federal grants or loans 
related to COVID-19.

Follow the instructions in this addendum if you meet the quali-
fi cations or if you own an interest in an LLC, a partnership, an 
s-corporation or a trust that meets the qualifi cations.

These instructions do not apply to a grant or loan issued by a 
Utah local government agency. See UC §59-10-114(J).

These instructions supersede already-published tax 
return instructions.
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TC-41, Schedule K – Beneficiaries' Share of Income,
  Deductions and Credits
Line 12– Other Information
Enter in the federal column the total other information from 
all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total 
reported on all Utah Schedules K-1. 

Also use the federal column of line 12 for amounts of any 
Paycheck Protection Loans or similar federal grants and loans 
related to COVID-19 that are included in TC-41, Schedule A, 
Part 1 (code 51). Enter in the Utah column the total reported 
on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Describe the type of income in the space provided.

TC-41, Schedule K-1 – Beneficiaries' Share of Income,
  Deductions and Credits
Line 12– Other Information
Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive share 
of federal other information reported on their federal Schedule 
K-1, line 14.

Also use line 12 to report the benefi ciary’s distributive share 
of COVID-19 income included on TC-41, Line 8.

For all entries on line 12, enter the description shown on 
Schedule K, line 12, in the space provided.

TC-41, Schedule N – Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax
Line F. Income (Loss) Attributable to Utah
Enter the income (loss) attributable to Utah and taxable to the 
pass-through entity taxpayer. 

To calculate this income, add the amounts shown on Utah 
Schedule K-1, lines 1a through 8, plus any amount on Utah 
Schedule K-1, line 12 listed as COVID-19 income. Then 
subtract the deduction on their Utah Schedule K-1, lines 9 
through 11.




