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File the Right Corporate Forms
• TC-20 if Corporation fi led federal form 1120
• TC-20S if S Corporation fi led federal form 1120S
• TC-20MC if Corporation fi led federal forms 1120-H, 1120-RIC, 

1120-REIT, 990-T or 8023

E-Filing is Easier!
E-fi ling is the easiest and most accurate way to fi le. Ask your tax 
preparer about e-fi ling your individual, partnership, C corporation 
and S corporation returns, or use commercial tax software.

Utah is Online
Utah offers many online services for individual and business fi lers, 
including:

 taxexpress.utah.gov

• Pay by e-check or credit card.
• Manage your Utah tax account.
• Request payment plans. 

 tax.utah.gov

• Download forms and instructions for all Utah tax types.
• Link to free business resources and other services.

E-Verify for Employers
Employers can help prevent identity theft by verifying the Social 
Security numbers of job applicants. E-Verify is a free service of 
the U.S. Department of Homeland Security that verifi es employ-
ment eligibility through the Internet. Employers can use E-Verify at 
uscis.gov/e-verify.

Utah Taxpayer Advocate Service
The Taxpayer Advocate Service helps taxpayers who have made 
multiple, unsuccessful attempts to resolve concerns with the Tax 
Commission. This service helps resolve problems when normal 
agency processes break down, identifi es why problems occurred, and 
suggests solutions. See tax.utah.gov/contact, or contact us to fi nd 
out if you qualify for this service at 801-297-7562 or 1-800-662-4335, 
ext. 7562, or by email at taxpayeradvocate@utah.gov.
Do not use the Taxpayer Advocate Service to bypass normal methods 
for resolving issues or disputes.

Need more information?
Questions 801-297-2200 or
  1-800-662-4335 (outside the Salt Lake area)

Research Utah rules, bulletins and Commission decisions: 
 tax.utah.gov

  Utah Code (UC): le.utah.gov 
  Internal Revenue Code (IRC):

 law.cornell.edu/uscode/26

Order paper forms
  801-297-6700 or 
  1-800-662-4335, ext. 6700 (outside the SL area)

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabili-
ties Act, email taxada@utah.gov, or call 801-297-3811 or TDD 
801-297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response.
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General Instructions and Information
Dissolution or Withdrawal
Corporations that cease to do business in Utah must either 
dissolve or withdraw the corporation.

Corporations incorporated in Utah must fi le Articles of Dis-
solution with the Department of Commerce.

Corporations incorporated outside of Utah (foreign corpora-
tions) must obtain a Certifi cate of Tax Clearance from the 
Tax Commission before withdrawing from Utah. Foreign 
corporations must fi le an Application for Withdrawal with the 
Department of Commerce.

To request a Certifi cate of Tax Clearance, contact the Tax 
Commission. We will prepare form TC-2001 and send it to 
you to complete.

Dissolving and withdrawing corporations must also close their 
other Utah tax accounts (sales, withholding, etc.). To close 
related tax accounts, send a completed TC-69C, Notice of 
Change for a Business and/or Tax Account, to the attention 
of Master Records at the Tax Commission address above.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round down if 
cents are under 50 cents; round up if cents are 50 cents and 
above. Do not enter cents anywhere on the return.

Who Must File
The Tax Commission does not mail forms for fi ling corporate 
taxes. Get Utah forms at tax.utah.gov/forms, or by calling the 
Forms Hotline at 801-297-6700 or 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6700.

Note: See What to Attach and What to Keep later in these 
General Instructions for what federal information is required 
with the Utah return.

Homeowners Association
A homeowners association incorporated in Utah (domestic), 
qualifi ed in Utah (foreign), or doing business in Utah whether 
qualifi ed or not, must fi le a Utah form TC-20MC when it has 
taxable income for federal purposes and has fi led federal 
form 1120-H. Attach a copy of your federal form 1120-H to 
your Utah TC-20MC. Other detail schedules should NOT be 
included. The Auditing Division of the Tax Commission may 
request these detail schedules at a later date.

Regulated Investment Company (RIC)
Every regulated investment company (RIC) or fund of such 
company, as defi ned in IRC §§851(a) or 851(g) and organized 
under the laws of Utah, must fi le a Utah form TC-20MC. Attach 
a copy of your federal form 1120-RIC to your Utah TC-20MC. 
Other detail schedules should NOT be included. The Audit-
ing Division of the Tax Commission may request these detail 
schedules at a later date.

Reminders
• Utah Net Loss Carryback: Form TC-20L, Utah Application 

for Refund from a Corporation Loss Carryback, is used to 
carry a Utah net loss from a regular C corporation or a real 
estate investment trust back three years. See page 7.

• Market Sourcing of Revenues from Performance of Ser-
vices by Multi-state Taxpayers: For tax years beginning after 
2008, corporations performing a service both in and outside 
Utah must calculate the sales factor numerator on TC-20, 
Schedule J by considering the service income to be in Utah 
if the buyer receives a greater benefi t of the service in Utah 
than in any other state. See TC-20, Schedule J – Apportion-
ment Schedule Instructions on page 10.

Electronic Filing for Corporation 
Returns
Utah corporation returns may be fi led electronically under a 
joint program between the Internal Revenue Service and the 
Utah State Tax Commission. 

The federal and state information is submitted at the same time 
and the IRS extracts its federal data and forwards the state 
data to the Tax Commission. No papers need to be mailed to 
the agencies when fi ling electronically. 

C corporations and S corporations may fi le electronically. 

Check with your software provider to see if they offer electronic 
corporation fi ling. 

To learn more about fi ling your corporation return electroni-
cally, go to tax.utah.gov/developers/mef.

Corporation Identifi cation Numbers
Utah uses the Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (EIN) 
as the corporation’s identifi cation number with the state. The 
Utah Department of Commerce also issues a registration 
number upon incorporation or qualifi cation in Utah. Enter both 
the EIN and Utah Incorporation/Qualifi cation Number in the 
proper fi elds. These numbers are used for identifi cation of the 
corporate tax return.

Corporation Changes
Corporation changes (e.g., name change, physical and/or 
mailing address changes, merger, or ceasing to do business 
in Utah) must be reported in writing to both:

 UT Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
 Department of Commerce
 160 E 300 S
 PO Box 146705
 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705

and
 Master Records
 Utah State Tax Commission
 210 N 1950 W
 Salt Lake City, UT 84134-3310
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Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT)
Every real estate investment trust (REIT) or fund of such com-
pany, as defi ned in IRC §856, registered or doing business in 
Utah must fi le a Utah form TC-20MC. Doing business in Utah 
includes owning an interest in Utah real property. Attach a copy 
of your federal form 1120-REIT to your Utah TC-20MC. Other 
detail schedules should NOT be included. The Auditing Division 
of the Tax Commission may request these detail schedules at 
a later date.

Exempt Corporation with 
Unrelated Business Income
An exempt corporation incorporated in Utah (domestic), 
qualifi ed in Utah (foreign), or doing business in Utah whether 
qualifi ed or not, must fi le a Utah form TC-20MC when it has 
unrelated business income. Attach a copy of your federal form 
990-T to your Utah TC-20MC. Other detail schedules should 
NOT be included. The Auditing Division of the Tax Commission 
may request these detail schedules at a later date.

One-day Utah Corporation (IRC 
Section 338)
Transactions for which an election has been made or con-
sidered to be made for federal purposes under IRC §338 are 
treated as provided in UC §59-7-114.

An election is not available for Utah purposes unless an elec-
tion is made or considered to be made for federal purposes. 

If an election is made or considered to be made for federal pur-
poses under IRC §338, other than under Subsection 338(h)(10), 
the target corporation must fi le a separate entity one-day Utah 
form TC-20MC, as is required for federal purposes. The target 
corporation must include in that return the gain or loss on the 
deemed sale of assets in its adjusted income (UC §59-7-114).

The gain or loss on the deemed sale of assets must be appor-
tioned to Utah using the apportionment fraction, calculated to 
six decimals, of the target corporation, calculated on a separate 
entity basis for the most recent preceding taxable year consisting 
of 180 days or more.

If an election is made for federal purposes under IRC §338(h)(10) 
or IRC §336(e), do not use form TC-20MC, use form TC-20.

Attach a copy of your federal return including the IRC §338 
gain or loss and federal form 8023 to your Utah TC-20MC.

Where to File
Mail your return to:

 Utah State Tax Commission
 210 N 1950 W
 Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0300

Taxable Year
The taxable year for Utah tax purposes must match the tax-
able year used for federal tax purposes. When the taxable 
year changes for federal purposes, the taxable year must be 
changed for Utah tax purposes. 

Due Date
The due date for an exempt organization with unrelated busi-
ness income (TC-20MC, Schedule A, Part 4) is the same as 
the due date of its federal return.

The due date of the one-day return (TC-20MC, Schedule A, 
Part 5) is the same as the due date of the return that includes 
the taxable period of the target corporation immediately pre-
ceding the one-day return.

All other returns must be fi led on or before the 15th day of 
the fourth month following the close of the taxable year. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due 
date becomes the next business day.

Filing Extension
Corporations are automatically allowed an extension of up 
to six months to fi le a return without fi ling an extension form. 
This NOT an extension of time to pay taxes – it is only 
an extension of time to fi le your return. To avoid penalty, 
the prepayment requirements must be met on or before the 
original return due date, and the return must be fi led within 
the six-month extension period.

Minimum Tax
There is a minimum tax (privilege tax) of $100 on every regu-
lar C corporation, regulated investment company and real 
estate investment trust regardless of whether the corporation 
exercises its right to do business. The minimum tax does not 
apply to S corporations, homeowners associations, or exempt 
corporations with unrelated business income.

Prepayment of Minimum Tax
Corporations subject to the minimum tax that meet the pre-
payment requirement in the current year and that had a tax 
liability of $100 (the minimum tax) for the previous year may 
choose to prepay the minimum tax amount of $100 on the 
15th day of the 12th month instead of four increments of $25.

Corporations subject to the minimum tax that met the prepay-
ment requirement in the previous year and have a tax liability 
of $100 (the minimum tax) in the current year may choose to 
prepay the minimum tax amount of $100 on the 15th day of 
12th month instead of four increments of $25. In this case, 
the corporation must pay $100, not 90 percent.

Corporations subject to the minimum tax not making the 
required tax prepayments are subject to a penalty as stated 
in Penalties, below.

Prepayment Requirements
(Does not apply to One-day Target Corporations electing 
under Section 338)

Extension Prepayments
The required extension prepayments must equal 90 percent 
of the current year tax liability (or, if applicable, the $100 
minimum tax, whichever is greater) or 100 percent of the 
previous year’s tax liability.

Corporations must make estimated prepayments using form 
TC-559, Corporation/Partnership Payment Coupon.
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Quarterly Payments
Every corporation having a Utah tax liability of $3,000 or more 
in the current taxable year, or a tax liability of $3,000 or more 
in the previous taxable year, must make quarterly estimated 
tax payments.

A corporation is not subject to the estimated tax payment 
requirements the fi rst year it is required to fi le a return in Utah 
if the corporation makes a payment on or before the due date, 
without the extension, equal to or greater than the minimum tax.

Quarterly estimated tax payments are due (in four payments) 
on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th months of the 
corporation’s taxable year. Corporations may elect to make 
the quarterly estimated tax payments equal to 100 percent of 
the prior year’s tax in four equal payments, or 90 percent of the 
current year’s tax based on the percentages below. As defi ned 
in UC §59-7-504(2), the applicable percentage of the required 
payment for annualized income installments, for adjusted sea-
sonal installments, and for estimated tax payments based on 
the current year tax liability, is the following:

  Installment   Percentage

 1st   22.5

 2nd  45.0

 3rd  67.5

 4th  90.0

If a taxpayer elects a different annualization period than the 
period used for federal purposes, the taxpayer must make an 
election with the Tax Commission at the same time as provided 
in IRC §6655. Estimated tax payments should be made with 
form TC-559, Corporation/Partnership Payment Coupon.

Corporations not making the required tax prepayments are 
subject to a penalty as stated in Penalties, below.

Penalties
Utah law (UC §59-1-401) provides penalties for not fi ling 
tax returns by the due date, not paying tax due on time, not 
making suffi cient prepayment on extension returns, and not 
fi ling information returns or supporting schedules. See more 
information, plus additional penalties, at tax.utah.gov/billing/
penalties-interest and in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties, 
at tax.utah.gov/forms.

The Tax Commission will calculate the penalty for underpay-
ment of required prepayments.

Exceptions to Penalty on Estimated Tax

Annualized Exception

A corporation may annualize its income before determining 
the amount of each estimated tax installment. Follow federal 
guidelines to determine annualized income. If the corpora-
tion meets the annualized exception at the federal level for 
any installment, check the appropriate box(es) on Utah form 
TC-20MC, line 15.

Recurring Seasonal Exception

A corporation with recurring seasonal income may annualize its 
income before determining the amount of each estimated tax 
installment. Follow federal guidelines to determine seasonal 
income. If the corporation meets the seasonal exception at 
the federal level for any installment, check the appropriate 
box(es) on Utah form TC-20MC, line 15.

Prepayment of Minimum Tax Requirement

See Prepayment of Minimum Tax instructions above. 

NOTE: The prepayment penalty does not apply to a one-day 
target corporation under IRC Section 338.

Interest (in addition to penalties due)
Interest is assessed on underpayments from the due date 
until the liability is paid in full. The interest rate for the 2017 
calendar year is 3 percent.

For more information, get Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties, 
at  tax.utah.gov/forms.

Suspension for Failure to Pay 
Tax Due
Utah law provides for suspension of a corporation’s right to do 
business in Utah if it fails to pay taxes due before 5:00 p.m. 
on the last day of the 11th month after the due date.

If you owe tax but are unable to pay the whole amount, you 
may request a pay plan at taxexpress.utah.gov, or complete 
form TC-804B, Business Tax Payment Agreement Request 
(tax.utah.gov/forms).

What to Attach and What to Keep
Include the following with your Utah TC-20MC. Also, keep 
copies of these with your tax records.

• Utah miscellaneous corporation return schedules: 
Attach to TC-20MC the page 2 and applicable schedules 
A (page 1 or page 2), B/E, and/or J.

• Federal return:
• Regulated Investment Company – Attach a copy of 

your federal form 1120-RIC.
• Real Estate Investment Trust – Attach a copy of your 

federal form 1120-REIT.
• Homeowners Association – Attach a copy of your 

federal form 1120-H.
• Unincorporated Exempt Organization or Exempt 

Corporation having Unrelated Business Income – 
Attach a copy of your federal form 990-T.

• One-day Target Corporation with an IRC Section 338 
Election – Attach a copy of your federal form 8023.

Do not send credit schedules, worksheets, or other docu-
mentation unless specifi cally requested in these instructions. 
Keep these in your fi les. You may be asked to provide this 
information later to verify entries on your Utah return.
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TC-20MC – Utah Tax Return for Miscellaneous 
Corporations Instructions

Reason-for-Amending Codes
1 You fi led an amended federal return with the IRS. Attach 

a copy of your amended federal return.
2 You made an error on your Utah return. Attach an ex-

planation of the error.
3 Your federal return was changed by an IRS audit or 

adjustment that affects your Utah return. Attach a copy 
of the IRS adjustment.

4 Other. Attach an explanation to your return.

Enter the corrected fi gures on the return and/or schedule. 
Enter all other amounts as shown on your original return. If 
you received a refund on your original return, subtract the 
previous refund (exclude refund interest) from the amount 
of any tax paid with the original return and/or subsequent 
payments of the tax prior to fi ling the amended return. Enter 
the net amount on line 7. A net refund should be entered as 
a negative amount (preceded by a minus sign).

Federal Form 8886
If you fi led federal Form 8886, Reportable Transaction Dis-
closure Statement, with the Internal Revenue Service, enter 
an “X” at the top of TC-20MC, where indicated.

Line-by-Line Instructions
Line 1 – Corporation Return Type
Enter an “X” on the line that matches the type of corporation 
return being fi led. There are six choices:

• Regulated Investment Company (these corporations must 
complete Part 1 of Schedule A and attach a copy of federal 
form 1120-RIC).

• Real Estate Investment Trust (these corporations must 
complete Part 2 of Schedule A and attach a copy of federal 
form 1120-REIT). 

 Note: A captive real estate investment trust must fi le a 
TC-20 instead of a TC-20MC. For more information, see 
the TC-20 instructions.

• Homeowners Association with IRC Section 528 Income (these 
corporations must complete Part 3 of Schedule A and attach 
a copy of federal form 1120-H).

• Unincorporated Exempt Organization or Exempt Corpora-
tion having Unrelated Business Income (these corporations 
must complete Part 4 of Schedule A and attach a copy of 
federal form 990-T).

• One-day Target Corporation with an IRC Section 338 Elec-
tion (these corporations must complete Part 5 of Schedule 
A and attach a copy of federal form 8023).

• Other (use only when the Tax Commission instructs you 
to do so). 

Line 2 – Tax
Enter the amount of tax calculated in the applicable part on 
Schedule A.

Filing Period
File using the 2016 return for calendar year 2016 and fi scal 
years beginning in 2016 and ending in 2017. If the return is 
for a fi scal year or a short tax year (less than 12 months), fi ll 
in the tax year beginning and end dates at the top of the form 
using the format mm/dd/yyyy.

Corporation Name and Address
Enter the corporation name, address and telephone number, 
including area code. If the address has changed, see Corpora-
tion Changes in the General Instructions.

Zip Code
Enter your ZIP Code, including the “plus four” at the end, 
without a hyphen.

Foreign Country
If your address is in a foreign country, enter the mailing address 
where indicated. Enter the foreign city, state/province and postal 
code in the City fi eld. Abbreviate if necessary. Leave the State 
and ZIP Code fi elds blank. Enter only the foreign country name 
in the Foreign country fi eld. This is a Postal Service requirement.

EIN and Utah Incorporation/
Qualifi cation Number
Enter your Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (EIN) and 
Utah Incorporation/Qualifi cation Number issued by the Depart-
ment of Commerce in the appropriate fi elds.

Amended Returns
Do not submit a copy of your original return with your 
amended return.

To amend a previously fi led return, use the tax forms and in-
structions for the year you are amending. Get prior year forms 
and instructions at tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs/previousyears.

Amend your return if:

• you discover an error on your Utah or federal return after 
it has been fi led, or

• your federal return is audited or adjusted by the IRS and 
the audit or adjustment affects your Utah return. You must 
amend your Utah return within 90 days of the IRS’s fi nal 
determination.

To qualify for a refund or credit, an amended return must be 
fi led by the later of three years after the original return was 
due or two years from the date the tax was paid. A return 
fi led before the due date is considered fi led on the due date.

To amend a previously fi led return, on the top of page 1 of 
TC-20MC on the “Amended Return” line, enter the code num-
ber from the following list that best describes your Reason 
for Amending:
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.0595 Beaver County

.0695 Beaver City

.0595 Box Elder County

.0650 Brigham City, Perry, 
Willard

.0695 Snowville

.0630 Cache County 

.0655 Cache Valley Transit, 
Hyde Park, Lewiston, 
Millville

.0660 Hyrum, Logan, Nibley, 
N. Logan, Providence, 
Richmond, River 
Heights, Smithfi eld 

.0620 Carbon County

.0630 Helper

.0660 Price

.0650 Wellington

.0695 Daggett County 

.0805 Dutch John

.0675 Davis County

.0685 Bountiful, Centerville, 
Clearfi eld, Farmington, 
Layton, N. Salt Lake, 
W. Bountiful, 
Woods Cross

.0620 Duchesne County 

.0630 Duchesne City

.0660 Roosevelt 

.0595 Emery County

.0785 Green River

.0695 Garfi eld County 

.0795 Boulder, Panguitch,
Tropic

.0805 Bryce Canyon, 
Escalante

.0620 Grand County

.0810 Moab

.0595 Iron County 

.0605 Cedar City

.0795 Brian Head

.0595 Juab County

.0620 Santaquin South

.0625 Nephi

.0695 Kane County 

.0795 Kanab, Orderville

.0595 Millard County

.0595 Morgan County  

.0595 Piute County

.0620 Rich County

.0780 Garden City  

.0685 Salt Lake County

.0705 Murray, South Salt Lake

.0835 Alta

.0620 San Juan County 

.0660 Blanding, Monticello 

.0620 Sanpete County

.0630 Centerfi eld, Mayfi eld

.0650 Ephraim, Fairview, 
 Mt. Pleasant
.0660 Gunnison
.0620 Sevier County 
.0630 Aurora, Redmond
.0660 Richfi eld, Salina 
.0605 Summit County
.0635 Snyderville Basin Transit
.0795 Park City
.0620 Tooele County 
.0650 Erda, Grantsville, 
 Lakepoint, Lincoln, 

Stansbury Park
.0660 Tooele City
.0605 Uintah County 
.0655 Naples, Vernal 
.0675 Utah County 
.0685 American Fork, Cedar 

Hills, Lindon, Orem, 
Provo

.0595 Wasatch County

.0625 Heber

.0705 Independence

.0735 Midway

.0785 Park City East

.0605 Washington County 

.0635 Hurricane, Ivins, La
 Verkin, St. George,
 Santa Clara, 

Washington City
.0765 Springdale
.0595 Wayne County
.0710 Weber County
.0730 Falcon Hill Riverdale, 

Riverdale

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2016)

Line 4 – Total Tax
Add line 2 and line 3.

Line 5 – Refundable Credits
Enter the total of the refundable credits listed on Schedule B.

Line 6 – Prepayments from Schedule E
A refundable credit is allowed for advance payments made as 
quarterly estimated tax payments, prepayments and extension 
payments (form TC-559). Include any overpayment from a prior 
year that was applied to this year. Enter the prepayments on 
Schedule E and carry the total from line 4 of Schedule E to line 
6 of the TC-20MC.

Line 7 – Amended Returns Only
This line is only for amended returns. Enter the amount of tax 
paid with the original return and/or subsequent payments made 
prior to fi ling this amended return, less any previous refunds 
(exclude refund interest). A net refund should be entered as 
a negative amount (preceded by a minus sign).

Form TC-20MC, Schedule A must be completed and at-
tached. See instructions for Schedule A on page 7 of these 
instructions. Attach only page 1 or page 2 of the Schedule A 
that applies to your corporation.

Line 3 – Utah Use Tax
Use tax is a tax on goods and taxable services purchased for 
use, storage or other consumption in Utah. Use tax applies only if 
sales tax was not paid at the time of purchase. If you purchased 
an item from an out-of-state seller, including Internet, catalog, 
radio and TV purchases, and the seller did not collect sales tax 
on that purchase, you must pay the use tax directly to the Tax 
Commission.

If you have a Utah sales tax license/account, report the use 
tax on your sales tax return. If you do not have a Utah sales 
tax license/account, report the use tax on line 3 of TC-20MC.

You may take a credit for sales or use tax paid to another state 
(but not a foreign country). If the other state’s tax rate is lower 
than Utah’s, you must pay the difference. If the other state’s tax 
rate is more than Utah’s, no credit or refund is given. If sales 
tax was paid to more than one state, complete the Use Tax 
Worksheet below for each state. Add lines 8 on all worksheets 
and enter the total on line 3 of TC-20MC.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use the Use 
Tax Rate Chart below to get the rate for the location where 
the merchandise was delivered, stored, used or consumed. 
Use the county tax rate if the city is not listed.

Grocery food bought through the Internet or catalog is taxed 
at 3 percent. The grocery food must be sold for ingestion or 
chewing by humans and consumed for the substance’s taste 
or nutritional value. The reduced rate does not apply to alco-
holic beverages or tobacco. See Pub 25, Sales and Use Tax, 
at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Use Tax Worksheet
1.  Amount of purchases (except grocery food) 
      subject to use tax  1 _________

2.  Use tax rate 
 (decimal from Use Tax Rate Chart) 2 . __ __ __ __

3.  Multiply line 1 by line 2 3 _________ 

4.  Amount of grocery food purchases 
 subject to use tax  4 _________

5. Multiply line 4 by 3% (.03) 5 _________

6. Add line 3 and line 5 6 _________

7. Credit for sales tax paid to another state 
 on use tax purchases 7 _________

8. Use tax due (subtract line 7 from line 6) 8 _________    
(If less than zero, enter "0.")



62016 Utah TC-20MC Instructions

in that section. If you enter an “X” in the box, the corporation 
is authorizing the Tax Commission to call the paid preparer to 
answer any questions that may arise during the processing of 
the return. The paid preparer is also authorized to:

• give the Tax Commission any information that is missing 
from the return,

• call the Tax Commission for information about the process-
ing of the return or the status of any refund or payment(s), 
and

• respond to certain Tax Commission notices about math 
errors, offsets and return preparation.

The corporation is not authorizing the preparer to receive any 
refund, bind the entity to anything (including any additional 
tax liability), or otherwise represent the entity before the Tax 
Commission. The authorization will automatically end no later 
than the due date (without regard to extensions) for fi ling next 
year's tax return.

If you want to expand the preparer’s authorization, complete 
and submit form TC-737, Power of Attorney and Declaration 
of Representative (tax.utah.gov/forms). If you want to revoke 
the authorization before it ends, submit your request in writ-
ing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention Taxpayer 
Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Paid Preparer
The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address and 
PTIN in the section below the corporate offi cer’s signature 
on the return.

Preparer Penalties
(UC §59-1-401(11)-(12))

The person who prepares, presents, procures, advises, aids, 
assists or counsels another on a return, affi davit, claim or 
similar document administered by the Tax Commission, and 
who knows or has reason to believe it may understate a tax, 
fee or charge is subject to both a civil penalty ($500 per docu-
ment) and criminal penalties (second degree felony with a fi ne 
from $1,500 to $25,000).

Supplemental Information to be 
Supplied by All Corporations
All corporations fi ling a TC-20MC must complete the informa-
tion on page 2 of the return.

Line 8 – Total Refundable Credits 
and Prepayments

Add lines 5 through 7.

Line 9 – Tax Due
If line 4 is larger than line 8, subtract line 8 from line 4.

Line 10 – Penalties and Interest
Enter any penalties and interest that apply to this return.

Line 11 –  Total Due - Pay This Amount
Add line 9 and line 10. Make check or money order payable 
to the Utah State Tax Commission. Do not mail cash. The 
Tax Commission assumes no liability for loss of cash placed 
in the mail.

Line 12 – Overpayment
If line 8 is larger than the sum of line 4 and line 10, subtract the 
sum of line 4 and line 10 from line 8.

Line 13 – Amount of Overpayment to be 
Applied to Next Taxable Year

All or part of any overpayment shown on line 12 may be applied 
as an advance payment for the next tax year. Enter the amount 
to be applied (may not exceed the overpayment on line 12).

Line 14 –  Refund
Subtract line 13 from line 12. This is the amount to be re-
funded to you.

Line 15 – Quarterly Estimated Prepayments 
Meeting Exception

Check any boxes corresponding to the four quarters to which 
a federal penalty exception applies. Refer to Prepayment Re-
quirements in the General Instructions for exceptions to the 
penalty on underpayments. Attach supporting documentation.

Signature and Date Line
Sign and date the return. A refund will not be allowed without 
a signature.

Paid Preparer Authorization
If the corporation wants to allow the Tax Commission to discuss 
this return with the paid preparer who signed it, enter an “X” 
in the box on the right-hand side of the signature area of the 
return where indicated. This authorization applies only to the 
individual whose signature appears in the Paid Preparer Sec-
tion of the return. It does not apply to the fi rm, if any, shown 
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Schedule A – Tax Calculation
Line 2 – Income Taxed for Federal Purposes 

under the IRC but Not Included in Line 1
Enter the total of all income items taxed for federal purposes 
under the Internal Revenue Code but not included in the 
amount entered on line 1.

Line 3 – Federal Net Operating Loss Deduction
Enter any federal net operating loss deduction from federal 
form 1120-REIT, line 21a.

Line 4 – Apportionable Income (Loss)
Add lines 1 through 3.

Line 5 – Apportionment Fraction
Enter 1.000000, or the fraction (decimal) from TC-20, Schedule 
J line 9, 13 or 14, if applicable.

Line 6 – Taxable Income (Loss)
Multiply the apportionable income (loss) on line 4 by the ap-
portionment fraction on line 5.

If there is a Utah net loss on line 6, the REIT must carry the loss 
back to the three preceding years (subject to the $1,000,000 
limitation), unless an election was made to forego the federal 
loss carryback and carry the federal loss forward. 

You must carry a Utah net loss back to the third year before 
the loss year. If any loss is left over, carry it to the second year 
before the loss year, and carry any loss still left over to the fi rst 
year before the loss year. Carry any remaining loss forward. 

Submit form TC-20L, Utah Application for Refund from a 
Corporation Loss Carryback, to claim any refund resulting 
from a Utah net loss carryback. Do not fi le an amended 
return to claim a loss carryback.

If you elect to forego the federal net operating loss carryback, 
the federal election applies for Utah tax purposes unless the 
corporation specifi cally elects to carry back the loss for Utah. 
Enter an “X” in the appropriate box:

 Yes, to follow the federal election to carry the Utah net 
 loss forward and forego the carryback, or

 No, to opt out of the federal election you made and treat 
 the Utah net loss as a carryback.

If you elected to forego the federal net operating loss carryback 
and you don’t mark an ‘X’ in either box, you must carry the 
Utah net loss forward consistent with your federal election. If 
you didn’t make a federal election, you must carry the Utah 
net loss back as described above.

Line 7 – Utah Losses Carried Forward from 
Prior Years

Losses that remain after all carrybacks have been applied, 
may be carried forward for fi fteen taxable years following the 
taxable year of the loss.

Attach documentation to the return to support the loss amounts 
carried forward on line 7.

Line 8 – Utah Taxable income (Loss)
Subtract line 7 from line 6.

 Part 1 – Regulated Investment Company
Remember to mark line 1 on TC-20MC showing this return is 
for a Regulated Investment Company.

Line 1 – Investment Company Taxable 
Income (Loss)

Enter the investment company’s taxable income (loss) from 
federal form 1120-RIC, line 26.

Line 2 – Municipal Interest
Enter any municipal interest as determined by IRC §852(b)(2).

Line 3 – Exclusion of Net Capital Gain
Enter any net capital gain exclusion as determined by 
IRC §852(b)(2).

Line 4 – Net Taxable Income
Add lines 1 through 3.

Line 5 – Deduction for Capital Gain Dividends
Enter any deduction for capital gain dividends as defi ned in 
IRC §852(b)(3)(C).

Line 6 – Exempt Interest Dividends
Enter any exempt interest dividends as defi ned in IRC §852(b)(5).

Line 7 – Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Subtract the total of lines 5 and 6 from line 4. 

Line 8 – Initial Tax 
Multiply line 7 by 5 percent (.05). This is the initial Utah cor-
porate tax. Do not enter an amount less than zero.

Line 9 – Minimum Tax
The minimum tax for a regulated investment company is $100.

Line 10 –  Tax
Enter the larger of the tax on line 8 or the minimum tax on 
line 9. Carry this tax to line 2 of TC-20MC.

Note: Attach a copy of your federal form 1120-RIC to your 
Utah return.

 Part 2 – Real Estate Investment Trust
Remember to mark line 1 on TC-20MC showing this return is 
for a Real Estate Investment Trust.

Note:  A captive real estate investment trust must be included as a 
member of a unitary group fi ling Utah form TC-20 (not TC-20MC). 
A real estate investment trust (REIT) is a “captive real estate 
investment trust” if the shares or benefi cial interests of the REIT 
are not regularly traded on an established securities market, and 
more than 50 percent of the voting power or value of the shares 
or benefi cial interests of the REIT are directly, indirectly or con-
structively owned or controlled by a controlling entity of the REIT.

Line 1 – REIT Taxable Income (Loss)
Enter the real estate investment trust’s taxable income (loss) 
from federal form 1120-REIT, line 22.
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Utah losses are not separately carried forward for these enti-
ties. If federal form 990-T is amended for a tax year to claim a 
federal net operating loss carryback from a later year, a Utah 
amended form TC-20MC must also be fi led for that year in 
order to claim the loss for Utah purposes.

Line 4 – Tax 
Multiply line 3 by 5 percent (.05). This is the Utah corporate 
tax. Do not enter an amount less than zero. Carry this tax to 
line 2 of TC-20MC.

An unincorporated exempt organization or an exempt corpo-
ration having unrelated business income is not subject to the 
$100 minimum tax.

Note: Attach a copy of your federal form 990-T to your Utah 
return.

 Part 5 – One-day Target Corporation with an 
IRC Section 338 Election 

Remember to mark line 1 on TC-20MC showing this return is 
for a One-day Target Corporation with an IRC §338 Election.

Line 1 – Gain (Loss) on Deemed Sale of Assets
Enter the gain or (loss) on the deemed sale of assets included 
in federal taxable income before any net operating loss from 
the target corporation.

Line 2 – Apportionment Fraction
Enter the apportionment fraction of the target corporation. 

The gain or (loss) on the deemed sale of assets must be ap-
portioned to Utah using the apportionment fraction, calculated 
to six decimals, of the target corporation. This fraction must 
be calculated on a separate entity basis for the most recent 
preceding taxable year consisting of 180 days or more.

Line 3 – Utah Apportioned Gain (Loss)
Multiply the gain (loss) on deemed sale of assets on line 1 by 
the apportionment fraction on line 2.

Line 4 – Utah Losses Carried Forward 
from Prior Years

Utah net losses incurred by the target corporation in years begin-
ning on or after Jan. 1, 1994, may be carried forward up to 15 
years and applied against income on the one-day corporation 
tax return. Any remaining target corporation losses are forfeited.

Line 5 – Utah Taxable Gain (Loss)
Subtract line 4 from line 3.

Line 6 – Initial Tax 
Multiply line 5 by 5 percent (.05). This is the initial Utah cor-
porate tax. Do not enter an amount less than zero.

Line 7 – Minimum Tax
The minimum tax for a one-day target corporation is $100.

Line 8 – Tax
Enter the larger of the tax on line 6 or the minimum tax on line 
7. Carry this tax to line 2 of TC-20MC.

Note: Attach a copy of your federal form 8023 to your Utah 
return.

Line 9 – Initial Tax 
Multiply line 8 by 5 percent (.05). This is the initial Utah cor-
porate tax. Do not enter an amount less than zero.

Line 10 –  Minimum Tax
The minimum tax for a real estate investment company is $100.

Line 11 –  Tax
Enter the larger of the tax on line 9 or the minimum tax on 
line 10. Carry this tax to line 2 of TC-20MC.

Note: Attach a copy of your federal form 1120-REIT to your 
Utah return.

 Part 3 – Homeowners Association with IRC 
Section 528 Income

Remember to mark line 1 on TC-20MC showing this return is 
for a Homeowners Association.

Line 1 – Taxable Income (Loss)
Enter the taxable income (loss) from federal form 1120-H, line 19.

Line 2 – Tax 
Multiply line 1 by 5 percent (.05). This is the Utah corporate 
tax. Do not enter an amount less than zero. Carry this tax to 
line 2 of TC-20MC.

A homeowners association is not subject to the $100 minimum tax.

Homeowners associations fi ling federal form 1120-H and 
Utah TC-20MC are not allowed net operating loss deductions.

Note: Attach a copy of your federal form 1120-H to your Utah 
return.

 Part 4 – Unincorporated Exempt 
Organization or Exempt Corporation 
having Unrelated Business Income

Remember to mark line 1 on TC-20MC showing this return is for 
an Unincorporated Exempt Organization or Exempt Corporation 
having Unrelated Business Income.

Line 1 – Unrelated Business Taxable 
Income (Loss)

Enter the unrelated business taxable income (loss) from federal 
form 990-T, line 34.

Line 2 – Apportionment Fraction
Enter 1.000000, or the fraction (decimal) from TC-20, Schedule 
J, line 9, 13 or 14, if applicable.

Note: Only the property, payroll and sales included in the 
computation of unrelated business income or directly related 
to the unrelated business income of an exempt organization 
may be included when apportioning income.

Line 3 – Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Multiply the unrelated business taxable income (loss) on line 
1 by the apportionment fraction on line 2.

Utah taxable income for an exempt organization having un-
related business income begins with federal taxable income 
after deduction of any federal net operating loss. Consequently, 
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Schedule B – Refundable Credits
(43) Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit
 (UC §59-7-614.4)

If a pass-through entity is required to withhold Utah income tax 
on any income attributable to this corporation under §59-10-
1403.2, the pass-through entity must provide a Utah Schedule 
K-1 showing the amount of Utah withholding paid on behalf 
of this corporation. Enter this amount as a refundable credit 
using code 43.

Attach copies of Utah Schedule K-1(s) to the return to receive 
proper credit.

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
 (UC §59-6-102)

Enter the total of the mineral production tax withheld as shown 
on forms TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1(s) for the tax year. 
For a fi scal year corporation, the credit is claimed on the 
corporate return that is required to be fi led during the year 
following the December closing period of the form TC-675R. 

Attach copies of form TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1(s) to 
the return to receive proper credit.

(47) Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Fuel 
Credit

 (UC §59-13-202)

You may claim a credit of 29.4 cents per gallon for motor fuel 
and undyed diesel fuel bought in Utah during 2016 and used 
to operate stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm 
machinery used solely for commercial non-highway agricultural 
use if the fuel was taxed at the time it was bought.

This does not include golf courses, horse racing, boat opera-
tions, highway seeding, vehicles registered for highway use, 
hobbies, personal farming and other non-agricultural use.

Credit calculation: 
Gallons _______ x .294 = Credit _______

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit
 (UC §59-7-614.1)

This credit is for sales and use tax paid on hand tools pur-
chased and used or consumed primarily and directly in a farm-
ing operation in Utah. The credit only applies if the purchase 
price of a tool is more than $250.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

If you claim any of the following refundable credits, write 
the code and amount of each credit you are claiming on 
Schedule B. Add all the refundable credits and carry the total 
to TC-20MC, line 5. 

An explanation of each refundable credit is listed below.

Use these codes on Schedule B
39 Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit
40 Targeted Business Credit
43 Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit
46 Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Fuel 

Credit
48 Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(39) Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Credit
 (UC §59-7-614)

Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial 
Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Governor's Offi ce of 
Energy Development with their certifi cation stamp. Do not 
send this form with your return. Keep the form and all related 
documents with your records.

For more information, contact:
 Governor's Offi ce of Energy Development (OED)
 60 E South Temple, Suite 300
 Salt Lake City, UT 84111
 801-538-8662
 energy.utah.gov/renewabletaxcredit

(40) Targeted Business Credit
 (UC §63N-2-305)

You may not claim this credit the same year you claim or carry 
forward the enterprise zone credit or the recycling market 
development zone credit.

A credit is available to businesses providing a community invest-
ment project as defi ned in UC §§63N-2-302 through 63N-2-304. 
Get a certifi ed copy of form TC-40TB, Targeted Business Tax 
Credit. Keep this form and all related documents with your records.

For more information, contact:
 Governor’s Offi ce of Economic Development
 60 E South Temple, 3rd Floor
 Salt Lake City, UT 84111
 801-538-8804
 business.utah.gov/programs/incentives/
 enterprise-zones
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Schedule E – Prepayments of Any Type
Line 3 – Other Prepayments
List the date and amount of all prepayments made for the 
fi ling period. Enter the check number if payment was not 
made electronically. Enter the total amount on line 3. Attach 
additional pages, if necessary.

Line 4 – Total Prepayments
Add lines 1, 2 and 3. Enter the total on this line and on TC-
20MC, line 6.

Line 1 – Overpayment Applied from Prior Year
Enter the amount of any refund applied from the prior year to 
the current year’s tax liability.

Line 2 – Extension Prepayment
List the date and amount of any extension prepayment. Enter 
the check number if payment was not made electronically.

 TC-20, Schedule J – Apportionment Schedule
Use TC-20, Schedule J to calculate the portion of the taxpayer’s 
income attributable to Utah if the taxpayer does business both 
within and outside of Utah. 

Complete TC-20, Schedule J to determine the apportionment 
fraction (decimal). The factors express a ratio for tangible prop-
erty in Utah to total tangible property everywhere, for wages 
and salaries in Utah to total wages and salaries everywhere, 
and for sales in Utah to total sales everywhere. These factors 
or ratios are used to arrive at the Utah apportionment fraction 
calculated to six decimals. This fraction (decimal) is then ap-
plied to the apportionable income (or loss) on Schedule A to 
arrive at the amount of income (or loss) apportioned to Utah. 
In cases where one or more of the factors is omitted due to 
peculiar aspects of the business operations, use the number of 
factors present to determine the Utah apportionment fraction.

Utah provides three different apportionment methods. Your 
economic activities dictate the apportionment method you 
may use. See Sales Factor Weighted Taxpayers, Optional 
Sales Factor Weighted Taxpayers, and Other Multistate Tax-
payers, below.

Pass-through Entity Taxpayers
Partners, shareholders and benefi ciaries of part of pass-
through entities (an entity taxed as a partnership, s-corporation 
or trust) must include their pro rata share of the pass-through 
entity’s property, payroll and sales in their calculation of the 
apportionment factor on TC-20, Schedule J, page 1.

If a corporation holds direct and indirect ownership interests in 
tiered pass-through entities, it must include its pro rata share 
of the apportionment factors (property, payroll and sales) of 
the pass-through entities, applying the respective ownership 
percentages. For example, a corporation that holds 50 percent 
interest in Partnership A that in turn holds 20 percent interest 
in Partnership B would include 50 percent of the factors of 
Partnership A, and 10 percent (50 percent of 20 percent) of 
the factors of Partnership B.

Sales Factor Weighted Taxpayers
A sales factor weighted taxpayer may only use the sales factor 
weighted apportionment formula.

A multistate taxpayer is a sales factor weighted taxpayer UN-
LESS more than 50 percent of worldwide total sales result 
from economic activities classifi ed in the 2002 or 2007 North 
American Industry Classifi cation System (NAICS) within the 
following excluded NAICS codes:

• Section 21, Mining;

• Section 2212, Natural Gas Distribution;

• Section 31-33, Manufacturing; 

• Section 48-49, Transportation and Warehousing; 

• Section 51, Information (except for Subsector 519, Other 
Information Services); or 

• Section 52, Finance and Insurance.
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To determine if you are a sales factor weighted taxpayer, add 
together your worldwide sales from all your lines of business 
(if you are a unitary group, these are the sales of the entire 
unitary group, not just the parent company or the companies 
doing business in Utah). If more than 50 percent of your world-
wide sales result from economic activities classifi ed outside 
the excluded NAICS codes above, you are a sales factor 
weighted taxpayer. Enter on line 7 the NAICS code for your 
principal business activity outside the excluded NAICS codes.

Report property and payroll factors on Schedule J, page 1, 
but do not use them to calculate the apportionment of sales 
factor weighted taxpayers.

Sales factor weighted taxpayers must calculate the appor-
tionment fraction on Schedule J, Page 2 using Part 3 - Sales 
Factor Weighted Taxpayers Only.

Optional Sales Factor Weighted 
Taxpayers
A multistate taxpayer is an optional sales factor weighted 
taxpayer if more than 50 percent of total worldwide sales 
result from economic activities classifi ed in the 2002 or 2007 
NAICS subsector 334, Computer and Electronic Product 
Manufacturing.

To determine if you are an optional sales factor weighted 
taxpayer, add together your worldwide sales from all your 
lines of business (if you are a unitary group, these are the 
sales of the entire unitary group, not just the parent company 
or the companies doing business in Utah). If more than 50 
percent of your worldwide sales result from economic activi-
ties within NAICS subsector 334, you are an optional sales 
factor weighted taxpayer. Enter on line 7 the NAICS code for 
your principal business activity.

Optional sales factor weighted taxpayers may calculate the 
apportionment fraction using any of the three apportionment 
formulas: equally-weighted three factor formula (Schedule J, 
Part 1), double-weighted sales factor formula (Schedule J, 
Part 2), or single sales factor (Schedule J, Part 3).

Other Multistate Taxpayers
Taxpayers who are not sales factor weighted taxpayers or 
optional sales factor weighted taxpayers may calculate the 
apportionment fraction using the equally-weighted three fac-
tor formula (Schedule J, Part 1) or the double-weighted sales 
factor formula (Schedule J, Part 2).

Business Activity
Briefl y describe the nature and location(s) of your Utah busi-
ness activities in the space provided at the top of this schedule.

Lines 1a - 1f – Property Factor
Show the average cost value during the taxable year of real 
and tangible personal property used in the business within 
Utah (including leased property) in column A and overall 
(including Utah) in column B. 

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at its original cost. 
Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at eight times the 
net annual rental rate. Net annual rental rate is the annual 
rental rate paid by the taxpayer less the annual rate received 
by the taxpayer from sub-rentals. 

The average value of property must be determined by av-
eraging the cost values at the beginning and end of the tax 
period. However, monthly values may be used or required if 
monthly averaging more clearly refl ects the average value of 
the taxpayer’s property. 

A supporting schedule should be attached whenever monthly 
averaging is used. 

Enter totals of lines 1a through 1e in the respective columns 
on line 1f.

Line 2 – Property Factor Calculation
Determine the property factor (decimal) by dividing line 1f, 
column A by line 1f, column B.

Line 3 – Payroll Factor
Wages, salaries, commissions and other includable com-
pensation paid to employees for personal services must be 
included in the Utah factor to the extent the services, for which 
the compensation was paid, were rendered in Utah.

Compensation is paid in Utah if:

1. the individual’s service is performed entirely within Utah;

2. the individual’s service is performed both within and outside 
Utah, but the service performed outside Utah is incidental 
to the individual’s service within Utah; or

3. some of the service is performed in Utah and: 
a. the base of operations or, if there is no base of operations, 

the place where the service is directed or controlled, is 
within Utah; or

b. the base of operations or the place where the service 
is directed or controlled is not in any state where some 
part of the service is performed, but the individual’s 
residence is in Utah.

Amounts reportable for employment security purposes may 
ordinarily be used to determine the wage factor. 

Overall wages, including Utah, are listed in column B.

Line 4 – Payroll Factor Calculation
Determine the payroll factor (decimal) by dividing line 3a, 
column A by line 3a, column B.

Lines 5a - 5h – Sales Factor
The sales factor is the fraction the sales or charges for ser-
vices within Utah for the taxable year bear to the overall sales 
for the taxable year. Gross receipts from the performance of 
services in Utah are assigned to the Utah sales numerator if 
the purchaser of the service receives a greater benefi t of the 
service in Utah than in any other state.

Taxpayers that perform a service both in and outside Utah 
must include service income on line 5g in column A (Inside 
Utah) if the purchaser of the service receives a greater ben-
efi t of the service in Utah than in any other state. The former 
“cost of performance” method no longer applies. (See UC 
§59-7-319(3)(a).)

Sales of tangible personal property are in Utah if the property 
is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within Utah regardless 
of the F.O.B. point or other conditions of the sale, or if the 
property is shipped from an offi ce, store, warehouse, factory 
or other place of storage in Utah and:

1. the purchaser is the United States Government, or 

2. the taxpayer is not taxable in the state of the purchaser. 
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Overall sales, including Utah, are listed in column B.

Note: Securities brokerage businesses must follow the provi-
sions in UC §59-7-319(6).

Enter totals of lines 5a through 5g in their respective columns 
on line 5h.

Line 6 – Sales Factor Calculation
Determine the sales factor (decimal) by dividing line 5h, column 
A by line 5h, column B.

NAICS Code for Taxpayer
Line 7 – NAICS Code
This is a mandatory fi eld. Your NAICS code may dictate your 
apportionment method.

If you are a sales factor weighted taxpayer or an optional sales 
factor weighted taxpayer, see Sales Factor Weighted Taxpay-
ers and Optional Sales Factor Weighted Taxpayers, above, 
for the correct NAICS code to enter on line 7.

If you are NOT a sales factor weighted taxpayer or an optional 
sales factor weighted taxpayer, enter the six-digit NAICS 
code from your federal return (form 1120, Schedule K, line 
2a; 1120S, box B; 1065, box C; or corresponding line on other 
federal returns).

 Part 1 – Equally-Weighted Three Factor 
Formula Election

If you are not a sales factor weighted taxpayer and are not 
electing the double-weighted sales factor (see lines 10 through 
13 below), complete lines 8 and 9. If you are a sales factor 
weighted taxpayer or are electing the double-weighted sales 
factor, leave lines 8 and 9 blank.

Line 8 – Total Factors
Enter the sum of the factors from lines 2, 4 and 6.

Line 9 – Apportionment Fraction
Calculate the apportionment fraction to six decimals by dividing 
line 8 by the number of factors used (typically 3 – property, 
payroll and sales).

• If one or more of the factors are not present (i.e., there is 
a zero in the denominator on lines 1f, 3a or 5h in column 
B), divide by the number of factors present.

• If the numerator is zero, but a denominator is present, 
include that factor in the number of factors present.

Enter the apportionment fraction (decimal) here and on 
Schedule A.

 Part 2 – Double-Weighted Sales Factor 
Formula Election

If you are not a sales factor weighted taxpayer, you may elect 
to give double-weight to the sales factor in the apportionment 
calculation.

Line 10 – Making the Election
Enter an “X” on line 10 if you elect to double-weight the sales 
factor.

Line 11 – Double Sales Factor
Multiply the sales factor (decimal) from line 6 by 2. This will re-
sult in the sales factor being considered twice in the calculation.

Line 12 – Total Factors
Enter the sum of the factors from lines 2, 4 and 11.

Line 13 – Elected Apportionment Fraction
Calculate the elected, double-weighted sales factor to six 
decimals by dividing line 12 by the number of factors used 
(typically 4 – property, payroll and two times the sales factor).

• If one or more of the factors are not present (i.e., there 
is a zero in the denominator on lines 1f or 3a in column 
B), divide by the number of factors present (allowing two 
factors for sales).

• If the numerator is zero, but a denominator is present, 
include that factor in the number of factors present. 

Enter the apportionment fraction (decimal) here and on 
Schedule A.

 Part 3 – Sales Factor Weighted Taxpayers
See instructions above for the defi nition and qualifi cations of 
a sales factor weighted taxpayer.

Complete line 14 if you are a sales factor weighted taxpayer 
or an optional sales factor weighted taxpayer who chooses 
the single sales factor method of apportionment. Leave line 
14 blank if you are an other multistate taxpayer or optional 
sales factor weighted taxpayer who elected to use Part 1 or 
Part 2 for your apportionment calculation.

Line 14 – Apportionment Fraction
Enter the sales factor from line 6 of Schedule J, page 1. This 
is the apportionment fraction for this apportionment method. 
(Property and payroll factors are not used in the calculation 
of the apportionment fraction for a sales factor weighted 
taxpayer.)

Enter the apportionment fraction (decimal) here and on 
Schedule A.

Specialized Apportionment Laws and Rules
• Specialized apportionment procedures apply for:

• Trucking Companies (R865-6F-19)

• Railroads (R865-6F-29)

• Publishing Companies (R865-6F-31)

• Financial Institutions (R865-6F-32)

• Telecommunications (R865-6F-33)

• Registered Securities or Commodities Broker or Dealer 
(R865-6F-36)

• Airlines (UC §§59-7-312 thru 319)

• Sale of Management, Distribution or Administration Ser-
vices to or on Behalf of a Regulated Investment Company 
(UC §59-7-319(5))


