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General Instructions

Utah Taxpayer Advocate Service

The Taxpayer Advocate Service assists taxpayers who
have made multiple unsuccessful attempts to resolve
concerns with the Tax Commission. This service helps
resolve problems when normal departmental processes
break down, identifies why the problem occurred and
suggests remedies to stop the problem from recurring.
See specific details at tax.utah.gov/contact or contact
us to find out if you qualify for this assistance at 801-297-
7562, toll free at 800-662-4335, ext. 7562, or by email at
taxpayeradvocate @utah.gov.

The Taxpayer Advocate Service should not be used to
bypass normal methods for resolving disputes or issues.

References

UC: Utah Code, available at le.utah.gov

IRC: Internal Revenue Code available at law.cornell.
edu/uscode/26

If you need an accommodation under the Americans
with Disabilities Act, email taxada @ utah.gov, or call 801-
297-3811 or TDD at 801-297-2020. Please allow three
working days for a response.

What’s New

* Pass-through Entity Withholding Required. Be-
ginning Jan. 1, 2013, some Utah estates and trusts
will be treated as pass-through entities and will be
required to withhold Utah income tax on distributions
to beneficiaries. For more information, see page 8 of
these instructions and Pub 68, Pass-through Entity
Withholding, available at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Who Must File
A fiduciary of a resident estate or trust, or a fiduciary of
a nonresident estate or trust with income derived from
Utah sources, if required to file a federal Fiduciary In-
come Tax Return, must file a Utah Fiduciary Income Tax
Return, form TC-41.

When to File and Pay

You must file your return and pay any income tax due:

1. By April 15,2014, if you file on a 2013 calendar year
basis (tax year ends Dec. 31, 2012); or

2. By the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal
year ends, if you file on a fiscal year basis. If the due
date falls on Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the
due date is the next business day.

All Utah income taxes for the year must be paid by the
due date. If your return is not filed on time or all income
tax due is not paid by the due date you may be subject
to penalties and interest. (See Penalties and Interest
instructions on page 2.)

Utah does not require quarterly estimated tax payments.
You can prepay at any time by sending your payment
with form TC-548, Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment
Coupon, or by paying online at taxexpress.utah.gov.
See additional instructions below.

Tax Period and Accounting Method

The first return filed by an administrator or executor of
an estate must cover the period from the date of the
decedent’s death to the end of the first tax year selected
by the fiduciary. The first return filed by a fiduciary of a
trust must cover the period beginning with the creation
of the trust to the end of the first tax year selected by
the fiduciary. Returns must be filed for each subsequent
year the estate or trust exists. The taxable year cannot
be longer than 12 months and must coincide with the
tax year selected for filing the federal return. You must
use the same accounting method used for federal fidu-
ciary income tax purposes for Utah fiduciary income tax
purposes.

Return for Period Covered

File the 2013 Utah Fiduciary Return for calendar year
2013 and fiscal years beginning in 2012 and ending in
2014. If the return is for a fiscal year or a short tax year
(less than 12 months), fill in the tax year space at the
top of the form.

Extension of Time to File
There is NO extension of time to pay your taxes — only
to file your tax return.

You automatically get an extension of up to six months to
file your return. No extension form is required to be filed.
However, penalties will be assessed if you have not met
the prepayment requirements by the original due date
(see next paragraph). See Penalties and Interestinstruc-
tions on page 2. All extension calendar year returns must
be filed by October 15, 2014.

Prepayment Requirements for Filing

Extension

You must prepay by the original due date:

*  90% of the 2013 Utah income tax due (TC-41 line 28);

* 100% of the 2012 Utah income tax liability as in-
dicated on the 2012 Utah Fiduciary Income Tax
Return (TC-41 line 28); or

e 90% of the 2013 Utah income tax due if you did not
have a Utah tax liability in 2012 or this is your first
year filing.

The pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the Tax
Commission by the original due date of the return, without
regard to extensions. You may pay online at taxexpress.
utah.gov or use form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax Re-
turn Payment Coupon. Prepayments are not required for
the pass-through withholding tax.

You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, etc.),
payments applied from a previous year refund, tax credits
and credit carryovers, or payment made by the tax due
date using form TC-548, Fiduciary Income Tax Prepay-
ment Coupon or online at taxexpress.utah.gov. Interest
is assessed on unpaid tax from the filing due date until
the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.
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Where to File
Mail your return and any payment (with TC-549 Fiduciary
Income Tax Return Payment Coupon) to:

Utah State Tax Commission

210N 1950 W

SLC, UT 84134-0250

What to Attach and What to Keep

Include the following with your TC-41 and also keep a

copy with your tax records.

¢ Utah Schedules: Attach all applicable schedules (TC-
41A, TC-41B, TC-41C, TC-41K, TC-41K-1 for each
beneficiary, TC-41N, TC-41S, TC-41W, and TC-250).

e Other Adjustments: Attach an explanation for any
equitable or fiduciary adjustment entered on TC-
41A, Part 1 code 62 or code 69, or Part 2 code 79
or code 87.

e Other Utah Forms: Attach a copy of Utah TC-40LIS
if you are a building project owner of a low-income
housing unit.

e Tax Due: If you have an amount due on the return,
submit form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax Return
Payment Coupon (see page 32), and your check or
money order along with the return.

Withholding Forms: Withholding tax information must
be entered on TC-41W which is attached to your return.
Do not send forms W-2, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, Utah
Schedule K-1 received from an upper-tier pass-through
entity (see page 30 for definition of upper-tier pass-
through entity), etc., or form TC-675R (showing mineral
withholding tax) with your return. Keep all withholding
forms with your tax records for future reference. If you
do not complete the TC-41W with all required informa-
tion, processing your return may be delayed and your
withholding credit may be disallowed.

Do not send a copy of your federal return, credit sched-
ules (other than Utah Schedules TC-41A, TC-41S, and/
or TC-41W, if applicable), worksheets, or other docu-
mentation with your Utah return. Keep these, along with
any receipts, to support entries reported on your return.
You may have to provide this information later to verify
entries on your return.

Record-keeping and Documentation
Keep copies of any receipts, state forms, worksheets,
credit authorization forms, and other documentation to
support any income, deduction, exemption, and credit
you have reported. You may be asked to provide this
information later to verify entries on your Utah return.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round down
if under 50 cents; round up if 50 cents and above. Do
not enter cents anywhere on the return.

Penalties

Utah law (UC §59-1-401) provides penalties for not fil-
ing tax returns by the due date, not paying tax due on
time, not making sufficient prepayment on extension
returns, and not filing information returns or supporting
schedules. Details of these penalties, along additional
penalties, are at tax.utah.gov/billing/penalties-inter-
est and in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties online

at tax.utah.gov/forms. You can calculate penalties
by using the online Penalty and Interest Calculator at
taxexpress.utah.gov.

Interest (In addition to any penalties due)
Interest is assessed on underpayments from the due
date until the liability is paid in full. The interest rate for
the 2014 is 2%. Use the online Penalty and Interest Cal-
culator at taxexpress.utah.gov or follow the instructions
in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties available at tax.
utah.gov/forms.

Fiduciary and Estate Defined

Fiduciary means a guardian, trustee, executor, admin-
istrator, receiver, conservator, or any person acting in a
fiduciary capacity for any individual or entity. The term
estate refers only to the estate of a deceased person
and does not include a trust maintained for minors, for a
person adjudicated incompetent, or for any person who
is suffering from another legal disability.

Note: Throughout these instructions, any reference to
“you” means the fiduciary of the estate or trust.

Domicile Defined

(UC §59-10-136)

1. Anindividualis considered to have a domicilein Utahif:
A. The individual (or spouse) has claimed a depen-

denton their federal tax return and the dependent
isenrolledin a publickindergarten, public elemen-
tary or public secondary school in Utah, with an
exception for a dependent of the noncustodial
parent who is divorced from the custodial parent;
or

B. The individual (or spouse) is enrolled as a resi-
dent student in a Utah state institution of higher
education.

2. There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual
or a spouse is domiciled in Utah if:

A. They claim a residential exemption for a primary
residence under UC §59-2, Property Tax Act;

B. They are registered to vote in Utah; or

C.They assertresidency in Utah for purposes of filing
their income tax return.

3. If an individual or a spouse does not qualify under
the above requirements to be considered domiciled
in Utah, the domicile would be considered to be in
Utah if:

A. Either the individual or spouse has a permanent
home in Utah to which the individual or spouse
returns after being absent, and

B. The individual or spouse has voluntarily fixed their
habitation in Utah, not for a special or temporary
purpose, but with the intent of making a perma-
nent home.

The determination of whether an individual is considered
to have domicile in Utah under paragraph 3 above shall
be based on a preponderance of the evidence, taking
into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

¢ The individual or spouse has a driver’s license in
Utah;



e The individual or spouse claims an exemption for
a dependent who is enrolled as a resident student
in a Utah state institution of higher education;

e The nature and quality of the living accommoda-
tions of the individual or spouse in Utah compared
to another state;

e The presence in Utah of a spouse or dependent
for whom a federal tax exemption is claimed;

e The physical location in which the individual or
spouse earns income;

e The state of registration of a vehicle owned or
leased by the individual or spouse;

¢ Whethertheindividual or spouse has amembership
in a church, club or similar organization in Utah;

e Whether the individual or spouse lists a Utah ad-
dress on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an
official government publication, other correspon-
dence, or similar item;

e Whether the individual or spouse lists a Utah ad-
dress on a federal or state tax return;

e Whether the individual or spouse asserts Utah
residency on a document filed with or provided to
a court or other governmental entity;

¢ The individual or spouse fails to obtain a permit or
license normally required of a resident in the state
where they assert to have domicile; and

e The individual or spouse has a dependent child
who is in the custody of a former spouse and who
is enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, public
elementary or public secondary school in Utah.

4. Anindividual is not considered to have a Utah domicile

if the individual is absent from Utah for at least 761

consecutive days and during this time the individual

Or spouse:

A. Does not return to Utah for more than 30 days in
a calendar year;

B. Does not claim an exemption on their federal tax
return for a dependent who is enrolled in a public
kindergarten, public elementary or public second-
ary school in Utah (unless the individual is the
noncustodial parent);

C. Is not enrolled in a Utah state institution of higher
education as a resident student;

D. Does not claim the residential exemption for prop-
erty tax on their primary residence in Utah; or

E. Does not assert that Utah is their tax home for
federal tax purposes.

For purposes of this paragraph 4, an absence from the
state begins on the later of the date the individual or
spouse leaves the state and ends on the day the individual
or spouse returns to and remains in the state for more
than 30 days in a calendar year.

An individual who is not considered to have a Utah do-
micile under this paragraph 4 may elect to be considered
to have a Utah domicile by filing a Utah resident income
tax return.

If an individual is considered to have domicile in Utah, the
spouse is also considered to have domicile in Utah. This
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rule does not apply if the couple are legally separated
or divorced, or they file their federal returns as married
filing separately.

An individual shall file a Utah income tax return (or
amended return) and pay any applicable penalty and
interest if they did not file a Utah return based on their
belief that they did not meet the domicile criteria.

Resident Estate or Trust Defined

Resident estate or resident trust means:

1. An estate of a decedent who, at death, was domi-
ciled in Utah;

2. Atrust, ora portion of a trust, consisting of property
transferred by will of a decedent who at death was
domiciled in Utah; or

3. Atrust administered in Utah. A trust is administered
in Utah if:

a. The place where the fiduciary transacts a ma-
jor portion of its administration of the trust is in
Utah; or

b. The fiduciary’s usual place of business is in Utah.

Nonresident Estate or Trust Defined

The terms nonresident estate or nonresident trust are
defined as estates or trusts that are not resident estates
or trusts.

Part-year Resident Estate or Trust De-
fined

A part-year resident estate or trust is a resident estate
or trust for part of the year and a nonresident estate or
trust for part of the year. All income received during the
period of Utah residency is taxable in Utah, regardless
of where that income is earned, unless specifically ex-
empted. Income from Utah sources is taxable in Utah
during the period of nonresidency

Exempt Trusts

A trust exempt from federal income tax is exempt from
Utah income tax unless there is unrelated business
income in Utah.

Amounts Reportable as Utah Income

by the Beneficiaries

Utah resident beneficiaries must report the income from
the estate or trust included in the beneficiary’s federal
adjusted gross income to Utah as though the beneficiary
received the income directly. The estate or trust residence
does not affect the source of income for computing the
beneficiary’s Utah individual income tax.

A Utah nonresident beneficiary whose only Utah source
income is from a partnership, S corporation, estate or
trust (or other pass-through entity) and who had Utah
income tax withheld by the partnership, S corporation,
estate or trust, or other pass-through entity on the Utah
income, and does not seek to claim a Utah tax credit, is
not required to file a Utah return.
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Portfolio Income

For purposes of pass-through entities, generally, portfolio
income includes all gross income, other than income
derived in the ordinary course of a trade or business and
Utah nonbusiness income taxable on the Utah return of
a pass-through entity taxpayer.

Portfolio income may include:

e interest;

e dividends;

e royalties;

e income from the disposition of property that
produces income of a type defined as portfolio
income;

e income from the disposition of property held for
investment; and

e income from a real estate investment trust, a
regulated investment company, a real estate mort-
gage investment conduit, a common trust fund, a
controlled foreign corporation, a qualified electing
fund, or a cooperative.

Interest, dividends, royalties, etc., earned in the ordinary
course of the trade or business of a pass-through entity
are not portfolio income.

Example: Interest and dividends may be considered
portfolio income if the pass-through entity had funds that
were not used to further the trade or business and were
invested and generated interest or dividends. Interest
and dividends are not considered portfolio income if the
entity’s primary business activity is investing funds, such
as with a brokerage firm.

Portfolio income is attributable to the beneficiary‘s
resident state.

Pass-through Entity

A pass-through entity is an entity whose income, gains,
losses, deductions and/or credits flow through to its part-
ners (partnerships), members (limited liability compa-
nies), and shareholders (S corporations) or beneficiaries
(estates and trusts) for federal tax purposes.

An estate or trust is also considered a pass-through
entity if it is required to divide among and pass through
to one or more beneficiaries its income, gains, losses,
deductions, and/or credits. A pass-through entity is
required to withhold Utah income tax on the income
from Utah sources passed through to its beneficiaries.
The calculation of the withholding tax requirement for
an estate or trust is made on the TC-41N. (See TC-41N
instructions on page 26.)

Pass-through Entity Taxpayer

A pass-through entity taxpayer is any entity which has
income, gains, losses, deductions and/or credits passed
to it from a pass-through entity (e.g., an individual who
is a beneficiary in a trust is a pass-through entity tax-
payer). Utah withholding tax paid for or on behalf of the
beneficiary by the pass-through entity is reported on the
TC-41, Schedule K-1, and is claimed as a refundable
credit on the income tax return filed by the beneficiary.

Pass-through Entity Withholding Re-

quirements

Estates and trusts are considered pass-through entities
(see UC §59-10-1402(10)) and, for tax years beginning
on or after Jan. 1, 2013, are required to withhold Utah
income tax on all nonresident individual beneficiaries,
and on all resident business and nonresident busi-
ness beneficiaries. These beneficiaries are collectively
referred to as pass-through entity taxpayers (see UC
§59-10-1402(11)). A pass-through entity is not required
to withhold on a beneficiary that is exempt from tax
under UC §59-7-102(1)(a) or §59-10-104.1, or if the
pass-through entity is a plan under IRC Sections 401,
408 or 457 and is not required to file a return under UC
Chapter 7, or is a publicly traded partnership as defined
under UC §59-10-1403.2(1)(b)(iii).

Utah imposes a 5 percent withholding tax on all Utah
business and nonbusiness income derived from or
connected with Utah sources and attributable to pass-
through entity taxpayers. The estate or trust may reduce
this withholding by any mineral production withholding
tax and previous pass-through entity withholding tax
allocated to the beneficiary. This withholding tax must
be paid to the Tax Commission by the original due date
of the return, without regard to extensions.

The calculation of the required Utah withholding tax is
done on Schedule N. See the instructions for Schedule
N on page 26 for more details.

The estate or trust must provide a Utah Schedule K-1
to each partner showing the amount of Utah withhold-
ing paid on behalf of the beneficiary. This withholding
tax is then claimed as a credit by the beneficiary on the
beneficiary’s personal return.

If this estate or trust has an interest in another pass-
through entity, that other entity is required to withhold
Utah income tax on Utah income allocated to this estate
or trust. The other pass-through entity must provide a
Utah Schedule K-1 showing the amount of Utah with-
holding tax paid on behalf of this estate or trust. This
withholding tax must be reported on TC-250 and then
allocated to the beneficiaries of this estate or trust to be
claimed on their personal returns. Enter this previous
pass-through entity withholding tax for each beneficiary
on Schedules K and K-1.

The estate or trust may request a waiver of withhold-
ing tax and any associated penalty and interest for all
or selected beneficiaries who filed and paid tax on the
Utah income from this estate or trust. The tax must be
paid on or before the estate or trust’s return due date,
including extensions (see UC §59-10-1403.2(6)).
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TC-41 Line-by-Line Instructions

Heading
Print the information requested in the spaces provided.
Enter the full name of the estate or trust.

Enter the estate or trust’s federal employer identification
number (EIN). If the estate or trust is filed with a social
security number (SSN) instead of an EIN, check the
space below this number.

Zip Code — Enter your zip code with the “plus four” at
the end, without the hyphen.

Foreign Address — If your address is in a foreign coun-
try, enter the mailing address where indicated. Enter the
foreign city, state/province and postal code in the City
field. Abbreviate if necessary. Leave the State and Zip
Code fields blank. Enter only the foreign country name
in the “Foreign country” field. This is a Postal Service
requirement.

Filing Period
File using the 2013 return for calendar year 2013 and
fiscal or short years beginning in 2013. If the return is for
a fiscal year or a short tax year (less than 12 months),
fill in the tax year end date at the top of the form using
the format mm/yy.

Amended Return

To amend a previously filed return, use the tax forms and
instructions for the year you are amending. You can get
prior year forms and instructions at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Amend your return if you discover an error on your Utah
or federal return after it is filed; or your federal return is
audited or adjusted by the IRS and the audit or adjustment
affects your Utah return.You must amend your Utah return
within 90 days of the IRS’s final determination. Contact the
Tax Commission if you are unsure whether or not your Utah
taxes are affected by an audit or adjustment.

To qualify for a refund or a credit, you must file an amend-
ed return by the later of three years after the original
return was due or two years from the date the tax was
paid. (A return filed before the due date is considered
filed on the due date.)

How to Amend a 2013 Utah Fiduciary Tax Return

A. Atthe top center of page 1 of TC-41 in the “Amended
Return” box, enter the code number that best corre-
sponds to your Reason for Amending. See codes
below.

Reason-for-Amending Codes (enter on return)

1 Youfiled an amended return with the IRS. Attach a
copy of your amended federal return. (If amending
for a net operating loss, do not use code 1, use
code 4 - see below.)

2 You made an error on your Utah return. Attach an
explanation of the error.

3 Yourfederal return was changed by an IRS audit or
adjustment and it affects your Utah return. Attach
a copy of the IRS adjustment.

4 You had a net operating loss. Utah treats net op-
erating losses the same as the federal return. If

any portion of your amended return is from a net

operatingloss carryback, use code 4 and complete

afiduciary tax return for each year you are amend-

ing. Attach a copy of your amended federal return.
5 Other. Attach explanation to your return.

B. Enter the corrected figures on the return and/or
schedules.

C. Enter all other amounts shown on your original return.
If you received a refund on your original return, enter
the amount of the previous refund on line 29 of the
2013 amended return. If you paid with the original
return or made subsequent tax payments before the
amended return is filed, enter the total previous pay-
ments on line 35 of the 2013 amended return.

D. Submitthe amended return with all schedules, includ-
ing copies of those schedules that did not change
from the original filing.

E. Do not submit a copy of your original return with
your amended return.

Federal Form 8886

If you filed federal form 8886, Reportable Transaction
Disclosure Statement, with the IRS, enter an “X” at the
top right side of your TC-41, where indicated.

1. Type of Return

Enter the code that describes the entity filing the return.
The type of return must match the type of entity indicated
in part A of federal Form 1041. For pooled income funds,
enter H (charitable trust).

Bankruptcy Estate See instructions beginning on page
20 on how to compute the Utah tax on the TC-41C.

Federal Form 1041-QFT See the general instructions
on page 31 to file a Utah return.

Electing Small Business Trust (ESBT) Report federal
taxable income on line 4 and the separate small busi-
ness trust portion of the taxable income on TC-41A, Part
1, code 58.

2. Status Code of Estate or Trust

Enter the code “R” for a resident estate or trust, “N” for a
nonresident estate or trust, or “P” for a part-year resident
estate or trust. See the General Instructions to determine if
the estate or trust is a resident or nonresident entity.

3. Nonresident Beneficiaries

If any beneficiary of the estate or trust is not a Utah
resident, enter an “X” in the box. If all beneficiaries are
residents of Utah, leave the box blank.

Resident Defined

An estate or trust beneficiary is a Utah resident if:

1. Domiciled in Utah forthe entire year, even if temporar-
ily outside of Utah for an extended period of time;

2. Domiciled in Utah for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of that period;
or
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3. Even though domiciled outside Utah, maintains a
place of abode in Utah and spends a total of 183 or
more days of the taxable year in Utah. In determin-
ing whether an individual spends 183 or more days
in Utah, a “day” means a day in which the individual
spends more time in Utah than in any other state.

Part-year Resident Defined

An estate or trust beneficiary is a part-year Utah resi-
dent if domiciled in Utah for part of the taxable year and
outside of Utah for part of the taxable year. For purposes
of this line only, enter an “X” in the box if any beneficiary
is a part-year resident.

Nonresident Defined

An estate or trust beneficiary is a Utah nonresident if
that beneficiary is not domiciled in Utah, or was in Utah
for a temporary or transitory purpose for less than 183
days during the taxable year. In determining whether
an individual spends 183 or more days in Utah, a “day”
means a day in which the individual spends more time
in Utah than in any other state.

4. Federal Total Income
Enter the federal total income from federal form 1041,
line 9 or form 1041-QFT, line 5.

Bankruptcy Estates. Trustees of an individual bankruptcy

estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must complete TC-41C,

Bankruptcy Estate Tax Calculation, to determine the

taxable income and tax liability of the estate. Follow these

instructions for TC-41:

* Leave lines 4 through 21 blank.

e Line 22, Utah income tax — enter the amount from
TC-41C, line 20.

e For a resident bankrupt estate, complete lines
23 through 42 according to the regular fiduciary
instructions.

e For a non or part-year resident bankrupt estate,
complete lines 23 through 25 according to the
regular fiduciary instructions, then follow the in-
structions for TC-41C, page 2 (see page 20).

5. Additions to Income

The following additions to income are entered on TC-41A,
Part 1. Enter the sum of all additions to income on line 5
of TC-41.

e Lump Sum Distribution

e Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529 Plan
Addback

Municipal Bond Interest

ESBT S Corporation Income

Fiduciary Adjustments

Equitable Adjustments

See instructions for TC-41A, Part 1, and an explanation
of each addition to income beginning on page 11 of these
instructions.

6. Total Adjusted Income
Add line 4 and line 5.

7. Fiduciary Fees for Administering

Estate or Trust
Enter any fiduciary fees deducted on your federal form
1041, line 12.

8. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter any income distribution deduction reported on
your federal form 1041, line 18.

9. Estate Tax Deduction

Enter the amount of any estate tax deduction, including
certain generation-skipping taxes, deducted on your
federal form 1041, line 19.

10. Exemption
Enter the exemption deduction taken on your federal
form 1041, line 20.

11. State Tax Refund Included in Fed-

eral Income
(UC §59-10-202(2)(d))
Enter the amount of any state tax refund you included
in income on the federal form 1041 for the same year.

12. Subtractions from Income

The following subtractions from income are entered on
TC-41A, Part 2. Enter the sum of all subtractions from
income on line 12 of TC-41.

¢ Interest from U. S. Government Obligations

Native American Income

Railroad Retirement Income

Equitable Adjustments

Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust
Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable Contri-
bution

¢ Fiduciary Adjustments

See instructions for TC-41A, Part 2, and an explanation
of each subtraction from income beginning on page 10
of these instructions.

13. Total Deductions
Add lines 7 through 12.

14. Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Subtract line 13 from line 6. This amount is used to
calculate the tax on line 15.

15. Utah Tax

Multiply the Utah taxable income on line 14 by 5% (.05)
and enter the result on line 15. If the result is zero or
less, enter “0.”

Estate or Trust Tax Credit (lines 16 - 21)

(UC §59-10-1020)

Estates and trusts are allowed a credit against Utah tax
based on the total of the interest expense, taxes paid,
charitable contributions, attorney/accountant/tax pre-
parer fees, and certain miscellaneous deductions. The
credit phases out for income over a specified amount.

16. Allowable Deductions for Credit

Use the following worksheet to calculate the estate or
trust’s allowable deductions. See line instructions below
the worksheet.



WORKSHEET FOR ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS

1. Interest $
2. Taxes $
3. Charitable contributions $
4. Attorney/accountant/return preparer fees $
5. Miscellaneous deductions $

6. Total deductions (add lines 1 through 5)  $
Enter the amount from line 6 on line 16 of your TC-41.

Worksheet Line Instructions:

e Line 1 — Interest. Enter the total interest paid or ac-
crued, and deducted on the federal return (IRC section
163).

e Line 2 —Taxes. Enter the total taxes paid or accrued,
and deducted on the federal return (IRC section 164).
Do not include any amounts paid or accrued for state
or local income taxes for the taxable year.

e Line 3 — Charitable Contributions. Enter the total
charitable contributions deducted on the estate ortrust
federal return. Do not include any amounts a qualified
nongrantor charitable lead trust deducts under IRC
section 642(c).

e Line 4 — Certain Fees. Enter the total deducted on
the federal return for attorney, accountant, or return
preparer fees.

e Line 5 — Miscellaneous Deductions. Enter the total
miscellaneous and other deductions deducted on the
federal return.

Note: These deductions are used in the calculation of
the Estate or Trust Tax Credit even though they may
also have been used in the calculation of income items
reported on the Schedules K-1.

17. Initial Credit before Phase-out
Multiply the amount on line 16 by 6% (.06).

18. Base Phase-out Amount
The base phase-out amount for an estate or trust is
$12,000.

19. Income Subject to Phase-out

Subtract line 18 (the base phase-out amount) from line
14 (Utah taxable income). If the result is zero or less,
enter “0.”

20. Phase-out Amount
Multiply line 19 by 1.3% (.013). This is the credit phase-
out amount.

21. Estate or Trust Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 20 from the initial
credit on line 17. If the result is zero or less, enter “0.”

22. Utah Income Tax

Subtract the estate or trust tax credit on line 21 from
the tax calculated on line 15. If the result is zero or less,
enter “0”

Bankruptcy Estates. Enter the tax calculated on TC-
41C, line 20. See bankruptcy estate instructions on
page 20.

23. Enter Tax from Line 22
Enter the tax from page 1, line 22.
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24. Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits
The following apportionable nonrefundable credits are
enteredonTC-41A, Part 3. Enter the sum all apportionable
nonrefundable credits on line 24 of TC-41.

¢ Capital Gain Transactions Credit

e Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529 Plan
Credit

¢ Qualifying Solar Project Credit

e Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

See instructions for TC-41A, Part 3, and an explanation
of each addition to income beginning on page 11 of these
instructions.

25. Subtract line 24 from line 23
Apportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed the
tax liability on the return. If the total of the credits shown
on line 24 is more than or equal to the tax on line 23,
enter “0.”

FULL-YEAR RESIDENT - Enter the tax from line 25 on
line 26, then complete the rest of the return.

NON OR PART-YEAR RESIDENT ESTATE ORTRUST
— Enter the tax from line 25 on TC-41B, Non or Part-year
Resident Estate or Trust Schedule, line 20. Complete
TC-41B, enter the tax from TC-41B, line 21 on TC-41,
page 2, line 26, then complete the rest of the return.

26. Enter Applicable Tax
Full-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from
line 25.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the
tax from line 21 of TC-41B.

See detailed instructions for the TC-41B on page 19.

27. Nonapportionable Nonrefundable
Credits

The following nonapportionable nonrefundable credits are

entered on TC-41A, Part 4. Enter the sum of all nonap-

portionable nonrefundable credits on line 27 of TC-41.

e Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution

Credit

Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit

Historic Preservation Credit

Enterprise Zone Credit

Low-Income Housing Credit

Recycling Market Development Zone Credit

Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah

Carryover Credit for Machinery/Equipment Used to

Conduct Research

Credit for Tax Paid to Another State

Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit

Combat Related Death Credit

Veteran Employment Tax Credit

See instructions for TC-41A, Part 4, and an explanation
of each nonapportionable nonrefundable credit beginning
on page 14 of these instructions.

28. Subtract Line 27 from Line 26
Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed
your tax liability. If the total credits on line 27 is more than
or equal to the tax on line 26, enter “0”.
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29. Amended Return Only -

Previous Refund
This line is only for an amended return. Enter the total
of all refunds, credits, or offsets of state income tax re-
ceived for the tax year being amended. Do not include
refund interest.

30. Utah Use Tax

Use tax is atax on goods and taxable services purchased
for use, storage or other consumption in Utah during the
taxable year and applies only if sales tax was not paid at
the time of purchase. If you purchased an item from an
out-of-state seller, including Internet, catalog, radio and
TV purchases, and the seller did not collect sales tax on
that purchase, you must pay the use tax directly to the
Tax Commission. If you have a Utah sales tax license/
account, include the use tax on your sales tax return. If
you do not have a Utah sales tax license/account, report
the use tax on line 30 of TC-41.

You may take a credit for sales or use tax paid to another
state (but not a foreign country). If the other state’s tax
rate is lower than Utah’s, you must pay the difference. If
the other state’s tax rate is more than Utah’s, no credit
orrefund is given. If sales tax was paid to more than one
state, complete the worksheet (below) for each state. Add
lines 8 on all worksheets and enter the total on line 30.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use
the chart on this page to get the rate for the location
where the merchandise was delivered, stored, used or
consumed. Use the county rate if the city is not listed.

Grocery food bought through the Internet or catalog
is taxed at 3%. The grocery food must be sold for in-
gestion or chewing by humans and consumed for the
substance’s taste or nutritional value. The reduced rate
does not apply to alcoholic beverages or tobacco. See
Tax Commission Publication 25 at tax.utah.gov/forms
for more information.

Worksheet for Computing Utah Use Tax on Line 30

1. Amount of purchases (except
grocery food) subject to use tax

2. Use tax rate (decimal from chart)

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2

4. Amount of grocery food purchases
subject to use tax

5. Multiply line 4 by 3% (.03)

Add line 3 and line 5

7. Credit for sales tax paid to another
state on use tax purchases

8. Use tax due (subtract line 7 from line 6)
If less than zero, enter “0”

31. Total Pass-through Withholding Tax
Enter the total pass-through withholding tax from Sched-
ule N, column J.

o
©® B LHLL B x P

This pass-through withholding tax must be paid to the
Tax Commission by the original due date of the return,
without regard to extensions. Pay online at taxexpress.
utah.gov or use form TC-549, Fiduciary Income Tax
Return Payment Coupon. Prepayments are not required
for pass-through withholding tax.

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2013)

.0595 Beaver County I .0595 Piute County

.0695 Beaver City .0595 Rich County

.0755 Garden City

.0685 Salt Lake County

.0705 South Salt Lake

.0835 Alta

.0595 San Juan County

.0635 Blanding, Monticello

.0595 Sanpete County

.0605 Centerfield, Mayfield

.0625 Ephraim, Fairview,
Mt. Pleasant

.0635 Gunnison

.0595 Sevier County

.0605 Aurora, Redmond

.0635 Richfield, Salina

.0605 Summit County

.0635 Snyderville Basin Transit

.0745 Park City

.0595 Tooele County

.0625 Erda, Grantsville,
Lakepoint, Lincoln,
Stansbury Park

.0635 Tooele City

.0605 Uintah County

.0635 Naples, Vernal

.0675 Utah County

.0685 Cedar Hills, Orem

.0595 Wasatch County

[
.0595 Box Elder County ‘
.0650 Brigham City, Perry, ‘
Willard ‘

.0695 Snowville ‘
.0630 Cache County ‘
.0655 Cache Valley Transit, !
Hyde Park, Lewiston, !

Millville ‘

.0660 Hyrum, Logan, Nibley, !
N. Logan, Providence, !
Richmond, River ‘
Heights, Smithfield I

.0595 Carbon County !
.0625 Wellington !
.0635 Price I
.0695 Daggett County !
.0650 Davis County I
.0660 Bountiful, Centerville, !
N. Salt Lake, W. Boun- !

tiful, Woods Cross I

.0595 Duchesne County I
.0605 Duchesne City I
.0635 Roosevelt I
.0595 Emery County I
.0775 Green River I
.0695 Garfield County I
.0795 Boulder, Panguitch, |
|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

Tropic .0625 Heber
.0805 Bryce Canyon .0705 Independence
.0595 Grand County .0735 Midway

.0785 Moab

.0595 Iron County
.0605 Cedar City
.0795 Brian Head
.0595 Juab County
.0620 Santaquin South
.0625 Nephi

.0695 Kane County
.0795 Kanab, Orderville
.0595 Millard County
.0595 Morgan County

Do notinclude on this line any pass-through withholding
tax credit received from an upper-tier pass-through entity
as reported on a Utah Schedule K-1 you received. These
pass-through withholding tax credits received from other
pass-through entities are entered on TC-250, Part 2 and
carried to the Utah Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are
allocated to each beneficiary on the Utah Schedule K-1
and are also used in the calculation of the withholding
tax for the beneficiary on Schedule N, column I.

.0785 Park City East

.0595 Washington County

.0625 Hurricane, lvins, La
Verkin, St. George,
Santa Clara,
Washington City

.0755 Springdale

.0595 Wayne County

.0685 Weber County

.0705 Falcon Hill Riverdale,
Riverdale

Do not include on this line any mineral production with-
holding tax credit received from an upper-tier pass-
through entity as reported on a Utah Schedule K-1
you received. These mineral production withholding
tax credits received from other pass-through entities
are entered on TC-250, Part 3 and carried to the Utah
Schedule A, Part 5. These credits are allocated to each
beneficiary on the Utah Schedule K-1 and are also
used in the calculation of the withholding tax for each

beneficiary on Schedule N, column H.

32. Total Tax, Additions and Use Tax
Add lines 28 through 31.

33. Utah Income Tax Withheld
You MUST enter your UTAHTAXWITHHELD on this line.

Complete TC-41W, Part 1 listing each W-2 and 1099 with
Utah withholding tax. The total Utah withholding tax on
the TC-41W, Part 1 must equal the amount entered on
line 33. If you have more than four withholding forms,
use additional TC-41Ws. See detailed instructions and
examples on page 28.



Keep withholding forms with your records. Do not
attach them to your Utah return. Processing may be
delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you
do not complete the TC-41W, Part 1 with all required
information.

34. Credit for Utah Fiduciary Tax Pre-
paid

Prepayments include payments made with form TC-548,

Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, and any

amount of the previous year’s refund applied to your

current tax liability.

35. Amended Return Only -

Previous Payments
Use this line only for an amended return. Enter the total
tax paid with the original return plus any later tax payments
for the tax year being amended. Do notinclude on this line
any penalty, interest or fees paid on the previous return.

36. Refundable Credits

The following refundable credits are entered on TC-41A,
Part 5. Enter the sum of all refundable credits on line 36
of TC-41.

Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Tax Credit
Targeted Business Tax Credit

Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit

Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

See instructions for TC-41A, Part 5, and an explanation
of each refundable credit beginning on page 17 of these
instructions.

37.Total Withholding and Refundable

Credits
Add lines 33 through 36.

38.Tax Due

If line 32 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line
32. This is the tax you owe.

39. Penalty and Interest

If you are filing your return or paying any tax late, you
may owe penalties and interest. Calculate your penalty
and interest by using the Penalty and Interest Calculator
at taxexpress.utah.gov or by following the instructions
in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties at tax.utah.gov/
forms. The Tax Commission will send you a bill if you do
not pay the penalties and interest with your return or the
penalty and/or interest were calculated incorrectly.

PENALTIES: You may receive a penalty for not filing your
return on time and for not paying any tax due on time. The
penalties are a percentage of the unpaid tax, based on
the number of days late. Instructions to calculate these
penalties are found at tax.utah.gov/billing/penalties-
interest and in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties at
tax.utah.gov/forms. Include these penalties on line 39,
if applicable.

A penalty for underpaying an extension prepayment is
2% of the unpaid tax per month of the extension period.
If the return is not filed by the extension due date, failure
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to file and pay penalties will apply, as if the extension
had not been granted. Also, include this penalty on line
39, if applicable.

There is no late filing penalty (including on an amended
return) if you have no tax due on the return.

INTEREST: Calculate interest from the due date to the
date paid. The 2014 rate is 2%. Include this interest on
line 39, if applicable.

40. Total Due - Pay this Amount

Add any penalty and interest you owe on line 39 to the
tax on line 38. Pay this amount with your return. Include
a TC-549 coupon with your payment.

PAYMENT OPTIONS

You may pay your tax online with your credit card or with
an electronic check (ACH debit). Online payments may
include a service fee. Follow the instructions at taxex-
press.utah.gov.

You may also mail your check or money order payable to
the Utah State Tax Commission with your return. Write
your daytime phone number, and “2013 TC-41” on your
check. DO NOT STAPLE check to return. Remove any
check stub before sending. DO NOT MAIL CASH with your
return. The Tax Commission is not liable for cash lost in
the mail. Include the TC-549 coupon with your payment.

Mail your payment, coupon and Utah return to Utah
State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City,
UT 84134-0250.

ALLOW AT LEAST 90 DAYS FOR YOUR RETURN TO
BE PROCESSED.

PAYMENT AGREEMENT REQUEST
A payment agreement cannot be set up until your return
is processed.

If you cannot pay the full amount you owe, register using
Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) at taxexpress.utah.gov and
click on “Request Pay Plan or e-reminder.” Or, you may
contact the Tax Commission at 801-297-7703, or outside
the Salt Lake area at 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7703.

TAP can be accessed at taxexpress.utah.gov. It allows
many free services, including e-file and e-pay, as well as
allowing you to monitor your own income tax account,
request a pay plan and provide an email address to
receive a pay plan reminder email address to receive a
pay plan email.

Pay plan requests will be considered after your return
is processed. If your plan request is accepted, you will
receive an email stating the terms and conditions of the
agreement. A pay plan does not stop penalty and interest
from accruing and we may still file a tax lien to secure
the debt.

You may make payments prior to approval of the pay plan
or prior to receiving a billing notice.

41. Refund
If line 37 is more than line 32, subtract line 32 from line
37.This is your refund.
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42. Refund Applied To 2014 Taxes

You may apply all or part of your refund as a prepay-
ment for your 2014 Utah fiduciary tax liability. Enter the
amount of refund you want applied to your 2014 tax on
this line. Any part not applied to your 2014 tax liability will
be refunded to you (unless you have other outstanding
government obligations).

Completing the Return

Signature

The fiduciary or an officer representing the estate or
trust must sign the return. Failing to sign the return will
delay your refund.

Attachments to Return
See the instructions on what to attach to your Utah
return on page 2.

Tax Due
If you owe tax on your return, submit form TC-549 and your
check or money order along with the return.

Paid Preparer Information
The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address
and PTIN in the section below the fiduciary’s signature.

Paid Preparer Authorization

If you want to allow the Tax Commission to discuss your
2013 Utah return with the paid preparer who signed it,
enter an “X” in the box on the right side of the signature
area of the return where indicated. This authorization
applies only to the individual whose signature appears in
the Paid Preparer Section of the return. It does not apply
to the firm, if any, shown in that section.

If you enter an “X” in the box, you authorize the Tax
Commission to call the paid preparer with questions
that may arise while processing the return. You also
authorize the preparer to:

¢ Give the Tax Commission any missing information
from the return,

e Call the Tax Commission for information about the
processing of the return or the status of any refund
or payment(s), and

¢ Respond to certain Tax Commission notices about
math errors, offsets, and return preparation.

You are not authorizing the preparer to receive any
refund, bind you to anything (including any additional
tax liability), or otherwise represent you before the Tax
Commission. The authorization automatically ends on
the due date for filing the entity’s 2014 tax return (without
regard to extensions).

If you want to change the preparer’s authorization, com-
plete and submit form TC-737, Power of Attorney and
Declaration of Representative. Form TC-737 is available
at tax.utah.gov/forms. If you want to revoke the autho-
rization before it ends, submit your request in writing
to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention Taxpayer
Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Preparer Penalties

(UC §59-1-401(11))

The person who prepares, presents, procures, advises,
aids, assists or counsels another on a return, affidavit,
claim or similar document administered by the Tax Com-
mission, and who knows or has reason to believe it may
understate a tax, fee or charge is subject to both a civil
penalty ($500 per document) and criminal penalty (sec-
ond degree felony with a fine from $1,500 to $25,000).
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TC-41A - Fiduciary Supplemental Schedule Instructions

TC-41A is used to enter five categories of items affecting
the fiduciary return:

e Part 1 - Additions to Income (added to federal in-
come);

e Part 2 - Subtractions from Income (subtracted from
federal income);

* Part 3- Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits (appor-
tioned for non or part-year residents);

e Part 4 - Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits;
and

e Part 5- Refundable Credits.

Part 1 - Additions to Income
Enter the following additions to income that apply on TC-
41A, Part 1 and attach it to your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each addi-
tion to income. Enter the sum of all additions to income
on line 5 of your Utah TC-41. Each addition to income is
explained below.

NOTE: Only include amounts that will not be passed
through to the beneficiaries. You must apportion the addi-
tions to income between the income taxed at the estate or
trust level and the amounts distributed to the beneficiaries.
Calculate the apportioned amount that must be added on
this line as follows:
1. Divide the amount distributed to beneficiaries by
distributable net income,
2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount
of the addition that must be apportioned, and
3. Subtractthe amountinstep 2 fromthe total amount
of the addition that must be apportioned.

Codes for Additions to Income, TC-41 Part 1

51 Lump Sum Distribution

54 Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529 Plan Addback
57 Municipal Bond Interest

58 ESBT S Corporation Income

62 Fiduciary Adjustments

69 Equitable Adjustments

(51) Lump Sum Distribution
(UC §59-10-202(1)(a))

This addition to income only applies if you filed form
4972 with your federal return. If you received a lump sum
distribution and filed federal form 4972, enter the total of
the amounts shown on Part I, line 6 and on Part lll, line 10.
Keep a copy of form 4972 and any 1099-R forms showing
the distribution with your records.

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum distribu-
tion with others, enter the amount calculated by multiplying
the amount on line 10 of form 4972 by the distribution
percentage shown in box 9a on your form 1099-R, then
adding the amount shown on form 4972, Part Il, line 6.

(54) Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529
Plan Addback (UC §59-10-202(1)(d))

If you withdrew an amount from a Utah Educational Savings

Plan (UESP) 529 account but did not use it for qualified

higher education expenses and the withdrawal did not meet

an exception under IRC §529(c) or §530(d), enter that

amount to the extent the amount was deducted or used in
calculating the UESP credit on your current or a previously
filed Utah tax return. If you are a UESP account owner,
you will receive form TC-675H, Utah Educational Savings
Plan Tax Statement for Contributions, Withdrawals, and
Transfers, from UESP. Keep this form with your records. If
you have any questions about UESP accounts, call UESP
at 801-321-7188 or 1-800-418-2551 or visit uesp.org.

(57) Municipal Bond Interest
(UC §59-10-202(1)(b))

Enter interest from certain bonds, notes and other evi-
dences of indebtedness issued by non-federal government
entities outside Utah (commonly known as municipal
bonds) if acquired on or after January 1, 2003. Do not
enter interest earned on non-Utah municipal bonds if the
issuing state (or political subdivision) does not impose an
income tax on bonds issued by Utah or the issuing state
does notimpose an income tax. See details atincometax.
utah.gov/additions/municipal-bond-interest.

(58) ESBT S Corporation Income

(UC §59-10-202(1)(c))
Electing Small Business Trusts (ESBTs) must report the
separate S portion of the taxable income, as calculated
on the attachment to federal form 1041.

(62) Fiduciary Adjustments

(UC §59-10-210)
Enter any qualified fiduciary adjustment and attach an
explanation of the adjustment.

(69) Equitable Adjustments

(UC §59-10-209.1)
Enter any qualified equitable adjustment needed to pre-
vent receiving a double tax benefit. Attach an explanation
of any equitable adjustment reported.

Part 2 - Subtractions from Income

Enter the following subtractions from income that apply
on TC-41A, Part 2 and attach it to your Utah fiduciary
return.

OnTC-41A, write the code and amount of each subtrac-
tion from income. Enter the sum of all subtractions from
income on line 12 of your Utah TC-41. Each subtraction
from income is explained below.

NOTE: Only include amounts that apply to income taxed at
the estate or trust level. You must apportion the subtractions
from income between the amount taxed at the estate or
trust level and the amounts distributed to the beneficiaries.
Calculate the apportioned amount that may be deducted
on this line as follows:
1. Divide the amount distributed to beneficiaries by
distributable net income,
2. Multiply the amount in step 1 by the total amount
of the subtraction that must be apportioned, and
3. Subtractthe amountinstep 2 from the total amount
of the subtraction that must be apportioned.
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Codes for Subtractions from Income, TC-41A Part 2

71 Interest from U. S. Government Obligations

77 Native American Income

78 Railroad Retirement Income

79 Equitable Adjustments

84 Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust

86 Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable Contribution
87 Fiduciary Adjustments

(71) Interest from U.S. Government Obligations
(UC §59-10-202(2)(a))

See Pub 33 for detailed instructions of Interest from
U. S. Government Obligations. Interest earned on
U. S. Government obligations issued by an agency
or instrumentality of the United States is exempt
from state income tax. These obligations include:

e Treasury bills,

e Treasury notes, and

e E, EE, H, HH, and | bonds

The following income is NOT exempt from Utah income
tax:
¢ |Interest or dividends from Federal National
Mortgage Association (FNMA) and Government
National Mortgage Association (GNMA); and
* Interest on IRS or other federal agency refunds.

The following conditions determine if the instrument quali-
fies as a U. S. Government obligation (see U. S. Supreme
Court decision in Smith vs. Davis, 323 U.S. 111 (1944)).
The instrument must: (1) be a written document, (2) bear
interest, (3) contain a binding promise by the U. S. Gov-
ernment to pay a specific sum on a specific date, and (4)
have congressional authorization to pledge the full faith and
credit of the United States in support of the promise to pay.

Only interest or dividend income from U. S. Govern-
ment obligations included in your federal total income
should be deducted from Utah income. Before entering
an amount, subtract any related interest expense on
money borrowed to purchase the obligation or security.

If the interest income is from an estate or trust, attach
a schedule to your return showing the calculation of in-
come. Include the name, residency and federal identifica-
tion number of the estate or trust making the distribution.

Keep all records, forms and worksheets to support this
deduction.

(77) Native American Income
(UC §59-10-202(2)(c) and (f))

A member of a Native American tribe in Utah who
lives and works on the reservation where he/she is an
enrolled member is exempt from Utah income tax on
the reservation income. An enrolled member of the Ute
tribe who works on the Uintah and Ouray Reservation
and lives on land removed from that reservation under
Hagen vs. Utah (510 U.S. 399 (1994)) is exempt from
Utah income tax on income earned on the reservation.

Enter the exempt income included in your federal total
income on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 77. Enter your
enrollment/census number and your Native/Tribe Code
from the list on this page.

Nation/Tribe Code

1 Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation
2 Navajo Nation Reservation

3 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah

4 Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indians

5 Ute Indian Tribe

6 Other tribe

(78) Railroad Retirement Income

(UC §59-10-202(2)(e))
Federal law does not permit states to tax railroad retire-
ment, disability income, unemployment income, and
sickness benefits received from the Railroad Retirement
Board and reported on form RRB-1099.

Railroad retirement pensions are deductible only for
the amount taxed on the federal return. If you received
pension payments, disability income or unemployment
payments under the Railroad Retirement Act and must
report all or part of the amount received as income on
your federal return, you may deduct that amount from
Utah income.

(79) Equitable Adjustments

(UC §59-10-209.1)
Enter any qualified equitable adjustment needed to
prevent paying double tax. Attach an explanation of any
equitable adjustment claimed.

(84) Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident
Trust (UC §59-10-202(2)(b))

Income of an irrevocable resident trust is subtracted

from federal total income if:

1. The trustbecame aresident trust on or after January
1, 2004;

2. No assets were held at any time after January 1,
2003 in another resident irrevocable trust created
by the same settlor or the settlor’s spouse;

3. The trustee is a trust company as defined in UC §7-
5-1(1)(d); and

4. The amount subtracted is reduced to the extent the
settlor or any other person is treated as an owner
of any portion of the trust, and by any interest on
indebtedness incurred orcontinuedto buy or carry the
assets generating the income, and by any expense
incurredinthe production ofincome to the extentthose
expenses, includingamortizable bond premiums, are
deductible in determining federal taxable income.

(86) Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable
Contribution (UC §59-10-202(2)(g))

Enter the amount a qualified nongrantor lead trust de-

ducted on the federal return as a charitable contribution

under IRC Section 642(c).

(87) Fiduciary Adjustments

(UC §59-10-210)
Enter any qualified fiduciary adjustment and attach an
explanation of the adjustment.

Part 3 - Apportionable Nonrefundable
Credits

Apportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce your
income tax to zero, but cannot result is a refund.




Claim the following apportionable nonrefundable credits
(credits that must be apportioned for nonresidents and
part-year residents) that apply on TC-41A, Part 3 and
attach it to your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each ap-
portionable nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Total
these credits, then subtract any apportionable nonrefund-
able credits being distributed to beneficiaries on the Utah
Schedule K-1. Enter the net amount of the credits being
claimed on the fiduciary return and carry this amount on
line 24 of your TC-41. Each apportionable nonrefundable
credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents with your records. You may
have to provide this information later to verify a credit
claimed on your return.

Codes for Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits,
TC-41A Part 3

04 Capital Gain Transactions Credit

20 Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529 Plan Credit
24 Qualifying Solar Project Credit

26 Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

(04) Capital Gain Transactions Credit

(UC §59-10-1022)

You may claim a credit for the short-term and long-term

capital gain on a transaction if:

a. The transaction occurs during the taxable year;

b. Atleast 70% of the gross proceeds of the transac-
tion are used to buy stock in a qualified Utah small
business corporation within 12 months from when
the capital gain transaction occurred; and

c. You did not have an ownership interest in the quali-
fied Utah small business corporation at the time of
investment.

See incometax.utah.gov/credits/capital-gains for
more information.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

Calculation of Capital Gain Transactions Tax Credit
1. Eligible short-term or long-term

capital gain $
2. Multiply line 1 by 5% (.05). This is your
credit. $

Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 04.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
not be carried back or forward.

(20) Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) 529
Plan Credit

(UC §59-10-1017)

If a qualified contribution was made to your Utah Edu-
cational Savings Plan (UESP) 529 account, you may
claim a nonrefundable credit. To qualify, the contribution
must be made during the taxable year and must not have
been deducted on your federal return. The credit is 5
percent of contributions made (up to $1,840 per qualified
beneficiary) during the tax year, with a maximum credit
of $92 per qualified beneficiary.

If you are a UESP account owner, you will receive form
TC-675-H, Utah Educational Savings Plan Tax Statement
for Contributions, Withdrawals, and Transfers, from UESP.
Use the qualified amount from box 1 of form TC-675H
to calculate the credit.
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Keep form TC-675H with your records. If you have any
questions about UESP accounts, call UESP at 801-321-
7188 or 1-800-418-2551, or visit uesp.org.

Calculation of UESP Tax Credit
1. Enter the qualified contribution amount

from line 1 of form TC-675H. $
2. Multiply line 1 by 5% (.05). This is your
UESP tax credit. $

Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 20.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
not be carried back or forward.

(24) Qualifying Solar Project Credit

(UC §59-10-1024)

You may claim a credit of 25% of the amount paid to
buy one or more solar units from a qualifying political
subdivision, up to a maximum credit of $2,000 per year.
This is in addition to any other energy credit you claim.

A qualifying solar unit is a portion of the electrical out-
put of an active solar project constructed, controlled or
owned by a qualifying political subdivision, which gen-
erates electricity furnished to and for the benefit of one
or more residential units, and is sold to the taxpayer in
exchange for credit on the taxpayer’s electric bill.

Calculation of Qualifying Solar Project Credit

1. Amount paid for solar unit(s) $
2. Multiply line 1 by 25% (.25) $
3. Enter the lesser of line 2 or $2,000.

This is your credit. $

Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 24.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability or in
excess of $2,000 may be carried forward as a credit for
the next four years.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

For more information, contact your city or electrical
utility provider.

(26) Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit

(UC §59-10-1028)

Capital gains recognized on the sale or exchange of gold
and silver coins issued by the United States government
and reported on a fiduciary federal income tax return
are eligible for an apportionable non-refundable credit
against Utah tax.

You may also include any gold or silver coin or bullion,
other than that issued by the United States, if a court
of competent jurisdiction issues a final, unappealable
judgment or order determining that Utah may recognize
the gold or silver coin or bullion as legal tender in the
state, or congress enacts legislation expressly providing
that such coin or bullion is legal tender.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions

must be met:

1. The capital gain transaction must be for the sale or
exchange of gold or silver coin issued by the federal
government for another form of legal tender;

2. Thecapital gaintransaction mustresultinashort-term
or long-term capital gain (defined in IRC §1222) that
is reported on Schedule D of your federal fiduciary
return;
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3. Any eligible capital gain must first be offset by any
capital loss recognized for the year for federal pur-
poses from the sale of gold and/or silver coin; and

4. The transaction must be made during the taxable
year.

For more information, see UC Title 59, Chapter 1, Part
15, Specie Legal Tender Act.

Calculation of Gold and Silver Coin Sale Credit
1. Capital gains on all sales and
exchanges of gold and silver coins $
2. Capital losses on all sales and
exchanges of gold and silver coins
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 (if a loss,
STOP, there is no credit)
4. Amount from form 1041, Schedule D,
line 15 (if a loss, STOP, there is no credit)
5. Enter the lesser of line 3 or line 4
6. Credit percentage - 5%
7. Credit - multiply line 5 by line 6
Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 26.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
not be carried back or carried forward.

.05
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There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

Part 4 - Nonapportionable Nonrefund-

able Credits

Nonapportionable nonrefundable credits can reduce
your income tax to zero, but cannot result in a refund.

Claim the following nonapportionable nonrefundable
credits that apply on TC-41A, Part 4 and attach it to
your Utah return.

On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each
nonapportionable nonrefundable credit you are claim-
ing. Total these credits, then subtract nonapportionable
nonrefundable credits being distributed to beneficiaries
on the Utah Schedule K-1.

Enter the net amount of the credits being claimed on
the fiduciary return and carry this amount to line 27 of
your Utah TC-41. Each nonapportionable nonrefundable
credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with
your records. You may have to provide this information
later to verify a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits,

TC-41A Part 4

02 Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution Credit

05 Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit

06 Historic Preservation Credit

07 Enterprise Zone Credit

08 Low-Income Housing Credit

10 Recycling Market Development Zone Credit

12 Credit for Increasing Research Activities in Utah

13 Carryover Credit for Machinery/Equipment Used to Conduct
Research

17 Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State

21 Renewable Residential Energy Systems Credit

25 Combat Related Death Credit

27 Veteran Employment Tax Credit

(02) Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribu-
tion Credit (UC §59-10-1004)

Cash contributions made during the taxable year to a
qualified Utah nonprofit rehabilitation sheltered work-
shop facility for persons with disabilities are eligible for
the credit. Check with the workshop to make sure they
have a current Day Training Provider License or Day
Support Provider Certificate issued by the Department
of Human Services. The credit is the lesser of $200 or
50% of the total cash contributions.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

The name of the qualified workshop must be written
on TC-41A, Part 4 to claim the credit.

Contributions claimed as a tax credit under this section
may not also be claimed as a charitable deduction in
determining net taxable income.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
not be carried back or forward.

For more information, contact:
Division of Services for People with Disabilities
195 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
801-538-4200
dspd.utah.gov

(05) Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit

(UC §59-10-1009)

This credit is available if: (1) you buy a new vehicle that
meets air quality and fuel economy standards; (2) you
buy a qualified vehicle fueled by compressed natural
gas; (3) you buy equipment to convert a vehicle to run
on propane, natural gas, electricity, or other approved
fuel; and/or (4) you buy equipment to convert a special
mobile equipment engine to operate on propane, natural
gas, electricity, or other approved fuel. The credit may
only be claimed once per vehicle. See instructions on
form TC-40V for more information.

Complete form TC-40V, Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit,
with the Division of Air Quality approval stamp, verifying
the credit is approved. Do not send form TC-40V with
your return. Keep the form and all related documents
with your records.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried forward for the next five years.

For more information, contact:
Division of Air Quality
195 N 1950 W
PO Box 144820
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820
801-536-4000
cleanfuels.utah.gov/taxcredits/taxcreditsintro.htm

(06) Historic Preservation Credit

(UC §59-10-1006)

The credit is for costs to restore any residential certified
historic building.



Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax Credit,
with the State Historic Preservation Office certification,
verifying the credit is approved. Do not send form TC-40H
with your return. Keep the form and all related documents
with your records.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried forward for next five years.

For more information, contact:
State Historic Preservation Office
300 S Rio Grande St.,
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
801-533-3500
history.utah.gov/historic_buildings/
financial_assistance

(07) Enterprise Zone Credit

(UC §63M-1-413)

Note: You may not claim this credit or carry it into the
same year you claim the recycling market development
zone credit (nonapportionable nonrefundable credit,
code 10) or the targeted business tax credit (refundable
credit, code 40).

The Enterprise Zone Credit is for certain businesses
that hire new full-time employees, restore buildings or
meet other requirements in a designated zone. Indian
tribes may apply for enterprise zone designation within
an Indian reservation.

If you are allocated enterprise zone credit from your
ownership in a partnership or S corporation, your credit
must be based on your ownership percentage.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried forward for the next three years.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

For more information, contact:
Governor’s Office of Economic Development
60 E South Temple, 3rd Floor
PO Box 146950
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6950
801-538-8804
incometax.utah.gov/credits/enterprise-zones or
business.utah.gov/incentives/enterprise_zones

(08) Low-Income Housing Credit

(UC §59-10-1010)

This credit is determined by the Utah Housing Corpora-
tion for owners of a low-income housing project who
also received part of the federal low-income housing
tax credit. When this credit applies, the project owner
will provide you form TC-40TCAC (issued by the Utah
Housing Corporation).

If you share in this credit, get form TC-40TCAC, Utah Low-
Income Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certification, and
complete form TC-40LI, Summary of Utah Low-Income
Housing Tax Credit. Do not send these forms with your
return. Keep the forms and all related documents with
your records.

The building project owner must also complete and attach
to the return form TC-40LIS, Credit Share Summary of
Low-Income Housing Project.

2013 Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Page 15

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried back three years or forward for the next five
years. If you are carrying this credit back or forward, also
complete form TC-40LIC, Utah Low-Income Housing Tax
Credit Carryback and/or Carryforward.

For more information, contact:
Utah Housing Corporation
2479 S Lake Park Blvd
West Valley City, UT 84120
801-902-8200
utahhousingcorp.org

(10) Recycling Market Development Zone Credit
(UC §59-10-1007)

Note: You may not claim this credit or carry it into the
same year you claim the enterprise zone credit (nonap-
portionable nonrefundable credit, code 07) or the targeted
business tax credit (refundable credit, code 40).

The creditis available for qualified machinery and equip-
ment purchased and for other qualified expenditures
made by individuals and businesses operating in a
designated recycling market development zone.

Complete form TC-40R, Recycling Market Development
Zone Tax Credit, with the Governor’s Office of Economic
Development certification, verifying the credit is approved.
Do not send form TC-40R with your return. Keep the form
and all related documents with your records.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried forward for the next three years.

For more information, contact:
Governor’s Office of Economic Development
60 E South Temple, 3rd Floor
PO Box 146950
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6950
801-538-8804
goed.utah.gov/incentives/recycling_zones

(12) Credit for Increasing Research Activities in

Utah (UC §59-10-1012)

The credit is:

1. 5% of your qualified expenses for increasing research
activities in Utah above a base amount,

2. 5% of certain payments made to a qualified organiza-
tion increasing basic research in Utah above a base
amount, and

3. 7.5% of your qualified research expenses in a taxable
year beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2012.

Note: Any credit for 1 or 2 above that is more than the
tax liability may be carried forward for the next 14 taxable
years. Any credit for 3 above may not be carried forward.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

(13) Carryover of Credit for Machinery and Equip-
ment Used to Conduct Research (UC §59-10-1013)
This credit expired for taxable years beginning after 2010.

If you claimed a credit on your return for machinery and/
or equipment used to conduct research for a year after
1997 and prior to 2011 and the credit was more than the
tax liability for the year, you may carry over the excess
credit to the next 14 years and use it to offset tax until
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used up. If you are using any remaining credit in 2013,
enter that carryover amount on TC-41A, Part 4, using
code 13.

(17) Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State
(UC §59-10-1003)

If you are a Utah estate or trust with income that is taxed
by Utah and another state(s), the District of Columbia, or
a possession of the United States, you may be entitled to
a credit for the tax paid to the other state(s). Nonresident
estates and trusts do not qualify for this credit.

You may only claim credit on the portion of income:

1. Taxable in Utah,

2. Taxed also by the other state(s), and

3. Included in “Column A - Utah” income on form TC-
41B.

Complete and attach form TC-41S, Credit for Fiduciary
Income Tax Paid to Another State. If there are two or
more states, use separate calculations for each state.
Carry the sum of the credits from TC-418S, line 7 to TC-
41A, Part 4, using code 17.

Do not use the state income tax withheld from form W-2
as the tax paid to the other state. You must complete and
file the other state’s return to determine the tax amount
paid. You may have to provide additional information
later to verify this credit.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
not be carried back or forward.

Keep a signed copy of the other state’s return and all
related documents with your records.

(21) Renewable Residential Energy Systems Tax
Credit (UC §59-10-1014)

This credit is for reasonable costs, including installation,
of a residential energy system that supplies energy to a
Utah residential unit. Additional residential energy sys-
tems or parts may be claimed in following years as long
as the total amount claimed does not exceed $2,000 per
residential unit. If the residence is sold to a non-business
entity before claiming the tax credit, you may irrevocably
transfer the right to the tax credit to the new owner. The
principal portion of system’s lease payments may qualify
for the credit if the lessor irrevocably transfers the right to
the tax credit to the new owner.

Getform TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commer-
cial Energy Systems Tax Credits from the Utah Office
of Energy Development with their certification stamp,
verifying the credit is approved and showing the amount
of the approved credit. Do not send form TC-40E with
your return. Keep the form and all related documents
with your records.

Note: Any credit that is more than the tax liability may
be carried forward for the next four years.

For more information, contact:
Utah Office of Energy Development (OED)
PO Box 144845
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4845
801-538-8718
energy.utah.gov

(25) Combat Related Death Tax Credit

(UC §59-10-1027)

If the fiduciary return is being filed on behalf of a military
service member who died as a result of military service
in a combat zone, the fiduciary may claim a nonrefund-
able tax credit equal to the amount of the tax liability on
the return attributable to the deceased service member
for the year the service member died.

To qualify for the credit, all of the following conditions

must be met:

1. The military service member must have been in an
active component or reserve component of the United
States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast
Guard;

2. The combat related death must have occurred on or
after January 1, 2010;

3. The death must have occurred while the military
service member was serving in a combat zone, or
be the result of a wound, disease, or injury incurred
while serving in a combat zone; and

4. The service must have been on or after the date
declared by the President of the United States by
Executive Order as a combat zone, and on or before
such designation is terminated by the President.

If the return is being filed for only the deceased service
member, the creditis equal to the tax liability shown on line
22. Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 4, using code 25.

If the return is being filed for more than just the deceased
service member, see instructions at incometax.utah.
gov/credits/combat.

(27) Veteran Employment Tax Credit

(UC §59-10-1031)

A non-refundable credit is available to taxpayers who
hire a qualified recently deployed veteran in a taxable
year that begins on or after January 1, 2012.

A qualified recently deployed veteran is an individual
who was mobilized to active federal military service in an
active or reserve component of the United States Armed
Forces, and received an honorable or general discharge
within the two-year period before the employment begins.

To qualify for the credit, the qualified veteran must meet

all of the following conditions:

1. Have received an honorable or general discharge
within the two-year period before the employment
begins;

2. Was collecting or was eligible to collect unemploy-
ment benefits, or has exhausted their unemployment
benefits within the last two years, under Title 35A,
Chapter 4, Part 4, Benefits and Eligibility;

3. Work for the taxpayer for at least 35 hours per week
for not less than 45 of the next 52 weeks following
the veteran’s employment start date.



The credit is claimed beginning in the year the 45 con-
secutive weeks in paragraph 3 above are met.

The credit is calculated as follows:

First Year Credit (count all months in the year the 45 week
requirement is met):
1. Number of months or partial months
veteran employed in first year
2. Monthly credit allowable in first year 200
3. First year credit — line 1 times line 2
(maximum $2,400) $

Second Year Credit:
4. Number of months or partial months
veteran employed in 2nd year

5. Monthly credit allowable in second year 400
6. Second year credit — line 4 times line 5
(maximum ($4,800) $

Any credit in excess of tax due will not be refunded, but
may be carried forward to offset tax for up to five years.

The following documentation for the qualified recently
deployed veteran must be retained by the taxpayer to
support the credit claimed, and made available to the
Tax Commission upon request:

1. Veteran’s name, last known address, and taxpayer
identification or social security number;

2. Start date of employment;

3. Documentation establishing that the veteran was
employed 45 out of the next 52 weeks after the state
of employment;

4. Documentation provided by the recently deployed
veteran’s military service unit establishing that the
veteran is a recently deployed veteran; and

5. Asignedstatementfrom the Department of Workforce
Services that the recently deployed veteran was
collecting, was eligible to collect, or exhausted their
unemployment benefits within the last two years.

Part 5 - Refundable Credits

Claim the following refundable credits that apply on TC-
41A, Part 5 and attach it to your Utah return.

OnTC-41A, write the code and amount of each refund-
able credit you are claiming. Total these credits, then
subtract any refundable credits being distributed to ben-
eficiaries on the Utah Schedule K-1. Enter the net amount
of the credits being claimed on the fiduciary return and
carry this amount to line 36 of your Utah TC-41. Each
refundable credit is explained below.

Keep all related documents, including credit forms, with
your records. You may have to provide this information
later to verify a credit claimed on your return.

Codes for Refundable Credits - TC-41A Part 5

39 Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Tax Credit
40 Targeted Business Tax Credit

43 Pass-through Entity Withholding Tax Credit

46 Mineral Production Withholding

47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
48 Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(39) Renewable Commercial Energy Systems Tax
Credit (UC §59-10-1106)

This credit is for reasonable costs, including installation, of
a commercial energy system that is an active solar system,
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a direct-use geothermal system, a geothermal heat-pump
system, a hydro-energy system, or a passive solar system.
Credit is also allowed for a commercial system that uses
wind, geothermal electricity, or biomass equipment.

Get form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial
Energy Systems Tax Credits, from the Office of Energy De-
velopment with their certification stamp, verifying the credit
is approved and showing the amount of the approved credit.
Do not send this form with your return. Keep the form and
all related documents with your records.

For more information, contact:
Utah Office of Energy Development (OED)
PO Box 144845
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4845
801-538-8718
energy.utah.gov

(40) Targeted Business Tax Credit

(UC §63M-1-504)

Note: You may not claim this credit the same year you
claim the enterprise zone credit (nonapportionable
nonrefundable credit, code 07) or the recycling market
development zone tax credit (nonapportionable nonre-
fundable credit, code 10).

A creditis available to businesses providing a community
investment project as defined in UC §63M-1-501 through
§63M-1-503. Get a certified copy of form TC-40TB, Tar-
geted Business Tax Credit. Keep this form and all related
documents with your records.

For more information, contact:
Governor’s Office of Economic Development
60 E South Temple, 3rd Floor
PO Box 146950
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6950
801-538-8804
goed.utah.gov/incentives/enterprise_zones

(43) Pass-through Entity Taxpayer’s Withholding
Tax Credit

(UC §59-10-1103)

If you have an interest in a pass-through entity (partner-
ship, LLP, LLC, S corporation or trust) and received an
income distribution from them, you may have had Utah
income tax withheld from your distribution.

Utah income tax withheld by a pass-through entity that is
attributable to income you received but did not distribute
to your beneficiaries may be claimed as a credit on the
fiduciary return. Enter such withholding tax on TC-41W,
Part 3 and bring the total over to TC-41A, page 2, using
code 43.

If you distributed the income you received from the pass-
through entity to your beneficiaries, the Utah income tax
withheld must also be distributed to your beneficiaries.
Complete TC-41A, page 2, using code 43 to report the
withholding, then subtract on the schedule the withhold-
ing distributed to the beneficiaries.

Keep Utah Schedule K-1s issued by the pass-through
entity and all other related documents with your records.
Do not attach them to your Utah return. Processing may be
delayed or the withholding tax credit disallowed if you do
not complete TC-41W, Part 3 with all required information.
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(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
(UC §59-6-102(3))

List any Utah mineral production withholding tax from
TC-675R or Utah Schedule K-1 on TC-41W, Part 2. Total
your entries on TC-41W, Part 2 and enter this total on
your TC-41A, Part 5, using code 46.

The mineral production company must provide the fol-

lowing information to you:

e Thecompany’s federal employeridentification number
(EIN),

* The company’s Utah mineral production withholding
account number, and

* Your share of the mineral production withholding tax.

Keep all TC-675R(s) and Utah Schedule K-1(s) with
your records. Do not attach them to your Utah return.
Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit
disallowed if you do not complete the TC-41W, Part 2
with all required information.

(47) Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel
Credit (UC §59-13-202)

You may claim a credit of 24.5 cents per gallon for motor
fuel and undyed diesel fuel bought in Utah to operate
stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm machin-
ery used solely for commercial non-highway agricultural
use if the fuel was taxed at the time it was bought. This
does not include (but is not limited to) the following:
golf courses, horse racing, boat operations, highway
seeding, vehicles registered for highway use, hobbies,
personal farming, etc.

Credit calculation:
Gallons X .245 = Credit

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(UC §59-10-1105)

This credit is for sales and use tax paid on hand tools
purchased and used or consumed primarily and directly
in a farming operation in Utah. The credit only applies if
the purchase price of a tool is more than $250.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.
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TC-41B — Non or Part-year Resident Estate or
Trust Schedule Instructions

Note: Bankruptcy estates do not use TC-41B. See in-
structions for TC-41C.

Residency Status

¢ |f a nonresident, enter the two-character home state
postal abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign
country (a foreign national or citizen), enter “NA” in
the home state abbreviation field.

e [fapart-year resident, enter the date you established
residency in Utah and the date such residency ended.
Enter dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah tax.

1. Complete form TC-41 through line 25.

2. Complete form TC-41B, Non or Part-Year Resident
Estate or Trust Schedule.

Column A - Utah Income and Deductions

Enter on lines 1 through 8 all income (loss) earned or
received from Utah sources while not a Utah resident,
plus allincome (loss) earned or received from all sources
while a Utah resident (even if not from a Utah source),
and which is included in income on the federal return.

Enter on line 9 the Utah portion only of the additions
to income shown on TC-41A, Part 1. In the case of an
addition to income attributable to a Utah Educational
Savings Plan addback, only include the addition in the
Utah column to the extent it was previously subtracted
from Utah taxable income. Include in the Utah column an
equitable adjustment shown on TC-41A, Part 1, only to
the extent the equitable adjustment relates to additions
to income from Utah sources.

Enter on line 10 the total of lines 1 through 9.

Enter on lines 11 through 14 deductions applicable to
Utah income.

Enter on line 15 a subtraction for a state tax refund in-
cluded in federal income only to the extent the refund is
related to Utah tax.

Enteronline 16 only the subtractions from income shown
on TC-41A, Part 2. Include in the Utah column an equi-
table adjustment shown on TC-41A, Part 2, only to the
extent the equitable adjustment relates to subtractions
from income from Utah sources.

Enter on line 17 the total of lines 11 through 16.

Column B - Total Income and Deductions

Enter on lines 1 through 8 the total income (loss) from
all sources as reported on your federal return, as noted
on the TC-41B.

Enter on line 9 the total additions to income shown on
TC-41, Schedule A, Part 1.

Enter on line 10 the total of lines 1 through 9.

Enter on lines 11 through 14 deductions claimed on your
federal return, as noted on the TC-41B.

Enter on line 15 the state tax refund included in federal
income.

Enteronline 16 the total subtractions from income shown
on TC-41, Schedule A, Part 2.

Enter on line 17 the total of lines 11 through 16.

3. Subtract line 17 from line 10 for both columns A and
B and enter the result on line 18.

Note: The amount on line 18 in column B must equal
the amount shown on TC-41, line 14.

4. Divide the total on line 18 column A by the total on line
18 column B and enter the result on line 19. Round
your result to four decimal places. Do not enter a deci-
mal greater than 1.0000 and do not enter a negative
number. (If the amount in column A or column B is
zero, enter 0.0000 on line 19.)

5. Enter the tax from your TC-41, page 2, line 25, on line
20.

6. Multiply the tax on line 20 by the decimal on line 19
and enter the result on line 21. This is your Utah tax.

7. Transfer your Utah tax from line 21 to page 2 of your
TC-41, line 26.

8. Complete page 2 of your TC-41.

Attach form TC-41B to your Utah return. Do not attach a
copy of your federal return. Keep a copy of form TC-41B
and your federal return with your records.
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TC-41C — Bankruptcy Estate Schedule Instructions

The filing of a bankruptcy petition for an individual debtor
under chapter 7 or chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code
creates a separate taxable entity known as a bankruptcy
estate. The trustee (for chapter 7 cases) or the debtor-
in-possession (for chapter 11 cases) must prepare and
file the estate’s tax returns and pay its taxes. The debtor
remains responsible for filing returns and paying taxes
on any income that does not belong to the estate.

Amended Return. If a bankruptcy case begins, but is
later dismissed by the bankruptcy court, the estate is
not treated as a separate taxable entity. If tax returns
have been filed for the estate, amended returns must be
filed to move income and deductions from the estate’s
returns to the debtor’s returns. If no returns have been
filed, report all income and deductions on the debtor’s
returns.

Utah Instructions. For purposes of the TC-41C,
references made to federal form 1040 refer to the federal
form 1040 that is attached as a schedule to federal form
1041 that the trustee or debtor-in-possession files on
behalf of the bankruptcy estate with the Internal Revenue
Service.

A trustee or debtor-in-possession of a bankruptcy estate
(chapter 7 or chapter 11) must file form TC-41, Utah
Fiduciary Income Tax Return, and attach a completed
TC-41C, Bankruptcy Estate Schedule. Leave lines 4
through 21 of the TC-41 blank. Line 22 of the TC-41 is
the tax calculated on the TC-41C, line 20.

¢ Resident Bankruptcy Estate — Complete lines 23
through 42 of the TC-41 according to the regular
fiduciary instructions. Complete and attach only page
1 of TC-41C to your return; do not complete or attach
TC-41C, page 2.

* Nonresident or Part-year Resident Bankruptcy
Estate — Complete lines 23 through 25 of form TC-41
according to the regular fiduciary instructions. Then
complete TC-41C, page 2 to calculate the Utah tax.
Enter the apportioned tax from TC-41C, line 57 on
TC-41, line 26. Attach both pages 1 and 2 of TC-41C
to your return.

The estate’s tax liability is determined by completing the
TC-41C with information and calculations similar to the
Utah TC-40, Individual Income Tax Return.

These special bankruptcy estate line number reference
instructions override those for TC-41 and TC-41B, where
there is a conflict.

1. Federal Total Income

Enter the amount from line 22 of the bankruptcy estate’s
federal return, form 1040, attached to the federal fidu-
ciary return, 1041.

2. Federal Adjustments to Income

Enter the amount from line 36 of the bankruptcy estate’s
federal return, form 1040, attached to the federal fidu-
ciary return, form 1041.

3. Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 2 from line 1. (This amount must equal the
federal adjusted gross income shown on line 37 of the
bankruptcy estate’s federal return, form 1040, attached
to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041.

4. Additions to Income

Enter the code and amount of each addition to income.
Codes and explanations for these additions to income
are in the TC-40 tax return instruction booklet.

5. Add lines 3 and 4

Enter the total of line 3 and line 4.

6. State Tax Refund Included on
Federal Form 1040, Line 10

If you itemized your deductions on your 2012 federal form
1040, enter the amount reported on your 2013 federal
from 1040, line 10. Otherwise leave this line blank.

7. Subtractions from Income

Enter the code and amount of each subtraction from
income. Codes and explanations for these subtractions
from income are in the TC-40 tax return instruction
booklet.

8. Utah Taxable Income (Loss)
Subtract the sum of lines 6 and 7 from line 5.

9. Utah Tax
Multiply the Utah Taxable Income on line 8 by 5% (.05).
Do not enter an amount less than “0.”

Taxpayer Tax Credit (lines 10 - 19)
(UC §59-10-1018)

10. Personal Exemption
A bankrupt estate exemption is $2,925.

11. Standard or Itemized Deductions
Enter $6,100 (standard deduction) or the bankruptcy
estate’s federal itemized deductions from federal form
1040, Schedule A (if greater) attached to the federal
fiduciary return, form 1041.

12. Add Lines 10 and 11

Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11.

13. State Income Tax Itemized on 2013
Federal Schedule A

Enter the amount, if any, of state income tax deducted
on the bankruptcy estate’s federal Schedule A, line 5
attached to the federal fiduciary return, form 1041.If you
did not itemize your deductions on federal Schedule A,
leave this line blank.

14. Subtract Line 13 from Line 12

Subtract the amount on line 13 from line 12.



15. Initial Credit before Phase-out
Multiply the amount on line 14 by 6% (.06). This is your
initial taxpayer tax credit before phase-out.

16. Base Phase-out Amount
The base phase-out amount for a bankrupt estate is
$13,363.

17. Phase-out Income
Subtract the base phase-out amount on line 16 from the
Utah taxable income on line 8.

18. Phase-out Amount
Multiply the amount on line 17 by 1.3% (.013). This is the
credit phase-out amount.

19. Taxpayer Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 18 from the initial
credit on line 15. If the result is less than zero, enter “0.”

20. Utah Income Tax
Subtract the taxpayer tax credit on line 19 from the tax
calculated online 9. If the resultis less than zero, enter “0.”

FULL-YEAR UTAH RESIDENT BANKRUPTCY ES-
TATE

Enter the tax from line 20 on TC-41, line 22 and then
complete the rest of the TC-41 fiduciary return. Attach the
TC-41C, page 1 to your fiduciary return. (Do not complete
or attach TC-41C, page 2 to your return.)

NON OR PART-YEAR RESIDENT BANKRUPTCY
ESTATE

Enter the tax from line 20 on TC-41, line 22. Complete
lines 23 through 25 on the TC-41. Then complete TC-
41C, page 2 to determine your apportioned Utah tax.
Enter the tax from line 57 on TC-41C, page 2 on your
TC-41, line 26 and then complete the rest of the TC-41
fiduciary return.

Non or Part-year Resident (lines 21 - 57)
If filing for a nonresident or part-year resident bankruptcy
estate, complete form TC-41C, page 2 and attach it to
the TC-41 return.

Residency Status

¢ If a nonresident, enter the two-character home state
postal abbreviation. If you are a resident of a foreign
country (a foreign national of citizen), enter “NA” in
the home state abbreviation field.

* [fa part-year resident, enter the date you established
residency in Utah and the date such residency ended.
Enter dates in the format mm/dd/yy.

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah tax.

1. Complete form TC-41C, page 1, through line 20.

2. Enter the tax from line 20 of TC-41C on line 22 of
form TC-41.

3. Complete form TC-41, lines 23 through 25.

4. Complete form TC-41C, page 2.

Column A — Utah Income and Adjustments:

Enter on lines 21 through 35 all income (loss) earned or
received from Utah sources while not a Utah resident,
plus allincome (loss) earned or received from all sources
while a Utah resident (even if not from a Utah source).

2013 Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Page 21

Enter on line 36 only the additions to income attributable
to Utah and shown on TC-40A, Part 1. In the case of
an addition to income attributable to a Medical Savings
Account addback, a Utah Educational Savings Plan ad-
dback, or Reimbursed Adoption Expenses, only include
the addition in the Utah column to the extent it was previ-
ously subtracted from Utah taxable income. Include inthe
Utah column an equitable adjustment shown on TC-40A,
Part 1, only to the extent the equitable adjustment relates
to additions to income from Utah sources.

Enter on line 37 the total of lines 21 through 36.

Enter on lines 38 through 50 adjustments applicable to
Utah income.

Enter on line 51 a subtraction for a state tax refund in-
cluded on line 10 of federal form 1040, only to the extent
the refund subtracted is related to Utah tax.

Enter on line 52 only the subtractions from income at-
tributable to Utah and shown on TC-40A, Part 2. Include
in the Utah column an equitable adjustment shown on
TC-40A, Part2, only tothe extent the equitable adjustment
relates to subtractions from income from Utah sources.

Enter on line 53 the total of lines 38 through 52.

If you have federal adjustments written in on line 36 of
federal form 1040, enter the description and amount of
the Utah portion of these adjustments on TC-41C on
the line beneath line 52, and include the amount in the
total on line 53.

Column B - Total Income and Adjustments:

Enter on lines 21 through 35 the total income (loss) from
all sources you reported on your federal return, as noted
on the TC-41C.

Enter on line 36 the total additions to income shown on
TC-40, Schedule A, Part 1.

Enter on line 37 the total of lines 21 through 36.

Enter on lines 38 through 50 adjustments claimed on
your federal return, as noted on the TC-41C.

Enter on line 51 the state tax refund included on line 10
of federal form 1040.

Enter on line 52 the total subtractions from income shown
on TC-40, Schedule A, Part 2.

Enter on line 53 the total of lines 38 through 52.

If you have federal adjustments written in on line 36 of
federal form 1040, enter the description and amount of
these adjustments on TC-41C on the line beneath line
52, and include the amount in the total on line 53.

5. Calculate line 54 by subtracting line 53 from line 37
for both columns A and B.

Note: The amount on line 54 in column B must equal
the amount must on TC-41C, page 1, line 8.

6. Divide the total on line 54 Column A by the total on
line 54 Column B, and enter the result on line 55.
Round your result to four decimal places. Do not en-
ter a decimal greater than 1.0000, and do not enter
a negative number. (If the amount in column A or
column B is zero, enter 0.0000 on line 55.)
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7. Enter on line 56 the tax amount from form TC-41,
page 2, line 25.

8. Multiply the tax on line 56 by the decimal on line
55. This is your Utah tax. Enter this tax on line 57 of
TC-41C and on form TC-41, line 26. Then complete
the balance of form TC-41.

Reminder: Be sure to indicate on the TC-41 in box 1
that this is a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Estate (code A) or
a Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Estate (code B).
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TC-41K - Beneficiaries’ Share of Income, Deductions,
and Credits Instructions

AttachTC-41, Schedule K to show the fiduciary’s income,
gains, losses, deductions, and Utah credits that are being
distributed to the beneficiaries.

Enter in the federal column the total of the amounts
reported on the federal form 1041, Schedule K-1 for all
beneficiaries. Enter in the Utah column the total of the
amounts on the Utah TC-41, Schedule K-1 for all benefi-
ciaries. Portfolio income is attributable to the beneficiary’s
resident state.

Number of Schedules K-1 Attached to this Return
Enter the number of Schedules K-1 that are attached to
this return and issued to beneficiaries.

Line 1a — U.S. Government Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total U.S. government
interest income reported on all federal Schedules K-1.
Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported
on Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 1b — Municipal Bond Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total municipal bond
interest income reported on all federal Schedules K-1.
Enter in the Utah column the total Utah taxable portion
reported on Utah Schedules K-1. (See definition of what
municipal bond interest income to report on page 10 of
these instructions.)

Line 1c — Other Interest Income

Enter in the federal column the total other interestincome
(other than interest income shown on lines 1a and 1b
above) reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in
the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 2 — Ordinary Dividends

Enter in the federal column the total ordinary dividends
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 3 — Net Short-term Capital Gains

Enterin the federal column the total net short-term capital
gains reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 4 — Net Long-term Capital Gains

Enterin the federal column the total net long-term capital
gains reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 5 — Other Portfolio and Nonbusiness Income
Enter in the federal column the total other portfolio and
nonbusiness income reported on all federal Schedules
K-1. Enter in the Utah column the total Utah portion
reported on all Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 6 — Ordinary Business Income

Enter in the federal column the total ordinary business
income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in
the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all
Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 7 — Net Rental Real Estate Income

Enter in the federal column the total net rental real estate
income reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in
the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all
Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 8 — Other Rental Income

Enter in the federal column the total other rental income
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 9 — Directly Apportioned Deductions

Enter in the federal column the total directly apportioned
deductions reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter
in the Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all
Utah Schedules K-1.

Line 10 — Estate Tax Deduction

Enter in the federal column the total estate tax deduc-
tion reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 11 - Final Year Deductions

Enter in the federal column the total final year deduc-
tions reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 12 — Other Information

Enter in the federal column the total other information
reported on all federal Schedules K-1. Enter in the
Utah column the total Utah portion reported on all Utah
Schedules K-1.

Line 13 — Utah Nonrefundable Credits

Enter in the Utah column the Utah nonrefundable credits
being distributed to the beneficiaries. Describe the non-
refundable credit in the space provided (abbreviate as
necessary), enter the Utah credit code and amount of the
credit (see explanations of credits and codes under the
instructions for TC-41, lines 24 and 27).

Line 14 — Utah Refundable Credits

Enter in the Utah column the Utah refundable credits
being distributed to the beneficiaries. Describe the
refundable credit in the space provided (abbreviate as
necessary), enter the Utah credit code and amount of
the credit (see explanations of credits and code under
the instructions for TC-41, line 35).

Line 15 — Total Utah Withholding Tax to be Paid by
This Fiduciary

Enter in the Utah column the total amount of Utah with-
holding tax paid or withheld on behalf of all the beneficia-
ries who are pass-through entity taxpayers by the estate
or trust, and for whom the waiver from withholding was
not requested or who is not a dependent beneficiary
(see Schedule N instructions on page 26). This amount
must match the total pass-through withholding tax on
Schedule N, column J.
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TC-41K-1 — Beneficiary’s Share of Utah Income,
Deductions, and Credits Instructions

Complete a TC-41, Schedule K-1 for each beneficiary,
showing the share of income, gains, losses, deductions,
and Utah credits that are distributed to the beneficiary.

Estate or Trust Information

¢ Line A — Enter the estate or trust’s federal identifi-
cation number

e Line B — Enter the complete name of the estate or
trust

Fiduciary Information
e Line C — Enter the fiduciary’s complete name and
address

Beneficiary Information

e Line D — Enter the beneficiary’s social security or
federal employer identification number

e Line E — Enter the beneficiary’s complete name
and address

e Line F — Enter the beneficiary’s telephone number

* Line G — Enter the percent of Utah income being
distributed to the beneficiary

e Line H — Enter an “X” if the beneficiary is a depen-
dent beneficiary. See definition of a dependent
beneficiary on page 26.

Other Information

Enter any additional information or explanation of entries
needed by the beneficiary in order to complete their
individual Utah return.

Note: Portfolio income and non-Utah nonbusiness in-
come from a Utah estate or trust should not be reported
on the Utah Scheduled K-1 for a Utah nonresident ben-
eficiary. Portfolio income from a Utah estate or trust is
reported only on the Utah Schedule K-1 for Utah resident
beneficiaries.

Line 1a — Utah U.S. Government Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of U.S. government interest income included in the
interest income reported on their federal Schedule K-1,
line 1.If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness
income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 1b — Utah Municipal Bond Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of Utah taxable municipal bond interest income
included in the interest income reported on their federal
Schedule K-1, line 1. If this income is portfolio or non-
Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary is a non-
resident, enter “0.” (See definition of taxable municipal
bond interest income on page 10 of these instructions.)

Line 1¢c — Utah Other Interest Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of other interestincome (other than interestincome
shown on lines 1a and 1b above) included in the inter-
est income reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line
1. If this income is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness
income and the beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 2 — Utah Ordinary Dividends

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal ordinary dividends reported on their
federal Schedule K-1, line 2a. If this income is portfolio
or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary
is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 3 — Utah Net Short-term Capital Gains

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal net short-term capital gains reported
on their federal Schedule K-1, line 3. If this income
is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the
beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 4 — Utah Net Long-term Capital Gains

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal net long-term capital gains reported
on their federal Schedule K-1, line 4a. If this income
is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the
beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 5 — Other Utah Portfolio and Nonbusiness
Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of other federal portfolio and nonbusiness income
reported on their federal Schedule K-1, line 5. If the
beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 6 — Utah Ordinary Business Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal ordinary business income reported on
their federal Schedule K-1, line 6.

Line 7 — Utah Net Rental Real Estate Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal net rental real estate income reported
on their federal Schedule K-1, line 7. If this income
is portfolio or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the
beneficiary is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 8 — Utah Other Rental Income

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal other rental income reported on their
federal Schedule K-1, line 8. If this income is portfolio
or non-Utah nonbusiness income and the beneficiary
is a nonresident, enter “0.”

Line 9 — Utah Directly Apportioned Deductions
Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal directly apportioned deductions reported
on their federal Schedule K-1, line 9. Enter the descrip-
tion as shown on the Schedule K in the space provided.
For a nonresident beneficiary, do notinclude deductions
attributable to portfolio income or non-Utah nonbusiness
income which is not reported on the beneficiary’s Utah
Schedule K-1.

Line 10 — Estate Tax Deduction

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of the federal estate tax deduction reported on
their federal Schedule K-1, line 10.



Line 11 — Final Year Utah Deductions

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of the final year federal deductions reported on
their federal Schedule K-1, line 11. Enter the description
as shown on the Schedule K in the space provided. For
a nonresident beneficiary, do not include deductions at-
tributable to portfolio income or non-Utah nonbusiness
income which is not reported on the beneficiary’s Utah
Schdule K-1.

Line 12 — Other Utah Information

Enter the Utah portion of the beneficiary’s distributive
share of federal other information reported on their
federal Schedule K-1, line 14.

Line 13 — Utah Nonrefundable Credits Distributed
to Beneficiary

Enter the beneficiary’s distributive share of Utah nonre-
fundable credits as reported on the Utah Schedule K, line
13. Also enter the description and the Utah nonrefundable
credit code as shown on the Schedule K (abbreviate as
necessary).

Line 14 — Utah Refundable Credits Distributed to
Beneficiary

Enter the beneficiary’s distributive share of Utah refund-
able credits as reported on the Utah Schedule K, line
14. Also enter the description and the Utah refundable
credit code as shown on the Schedule K (abbreviate
as necessary).

Line 15— Utah Tax Withheld on Behalf of Beneficiary
Enter the amount of Utah withholding tax withheld by this
estate or trust on behalf of this beneficiary if treated as a
pass-through entity taxpayer and calculated on Schedule
N, and for whom the waiver from withholding was not
requested or who is not a dependent beneficiary (see
Schedule N instructions on page 26). This amount will
be claimed on the beneficiary’s individual Utah return.

Enter an “X” if the estate or trust entered a “1” in the
Withholding Waiver Request field at the top of Schedule
N to not withhold Utah tax on all pass-through entity
taxpayers, or if the estate or trust entered a “2” in the
Withholding Waiver Request field at the top of Schedule
N and entered an “X” on line B of Schedule N for this
specific beneficiary.

Provide each beneficiary a copy of their Utah Schedule
K-1.

2013 Utah Fiduciary Income Tax
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Schedule N — Pass-through Entity
Withholding Tax Instructions

The estate or trust, as a pass-through entity, must pay

or withhold tax on behalf of each nonresident individual

beneficiary and each resident or nonresident business
beneficiary (collectively referred to as pass-through entity
taxpayers) unless a withholding waiver request is made

(see below). The estate or trust is not required to withhold

Utah tax on a beneficiary if:

e the beneficiary is exempt from taxation under UC
§59-7-102(1)(a) or §59-10-104.1,

e this estate or trust is a plan under IRC Sections
401, 408 or 457 and is not required to file a return
under UC Chapter 7, or

* this estate or trust is a publicly traded partnership
as defined under UC §59-1403.2(1)(b).

Beneficiaries may take a credit for the amount of tax paid
by the estate or trust on their behalf. To claim the credit,
the beneficiary must file a Utah income tax return for the
taxable year. A beneficiary subject to withholding by the
estate or trust and who has no other Utah source income
may elect to forego the credit and not file a Utah income
tax return. However, a beneficiary with income or loss from
other Utah sources must file a Utah income tax return. A
beneficiary who is eligible for Utah tax credits, in addition
to the Utah pass-through tax withheld, must file a Utah
income tax return to claim those credits.

If the beneficiary is a pass-through entity, it must file a Utah
return to report its income/loss and withholding alloca-
tions to its partners/members/shareholders/beneficiaries.

Estates or trusts having beneficiaries for whom withhold-
ing is required must complete Schedule N showing the
amount of Utah income attributable to the beneficiaries,
the amount of Utah tax on such income (5%), any Utah
mineral production withholding tax and upper-tier Utah
pass-through entity withholding tax credited to the benefi-
ciaries, and the net amount of withholding tax this estate
or trust must pay on behalf of such beneficiaries. Use
additional forms TC-41, Schedule N, if needed.

Withholding Waiver Request

(UC §59-10-1403.2(5))

You may request a waiver from the requirement to with-
hold Utah income tax on pass-through entity taxpayers by
entering a “1”in the field if the waiver is for all beneficia-
ries, or a “2” if the waiver is for only certain beneficiaries.
Also enter an “X” on line B and a “0” in column F for each
beneficiary for whom the waiver is requested.

Requesting the waiver for all or specific beneficiaries does
not relieve the estate or trust from the responsibility for
the payment of Utah tax on the income allocated to ben-
eficiaries if the beneficiaries do not pay. If the beneficiary
or beneficiaries for whom you requested a waiver fail to
file a return and make the required payment in a timely
manner, you will be liable for the withholding on those
amounts, plus any associated penalties and interest.

Dependent Beneficiary Definition
A “dependent beneficiary” is not subject to the withhold-
ing requirement.

A dependent beneficiary is an individual who is a benefi-
ciary of the estate or trust and is claimed as a dependent
on the federal income tax return of another person,

A dependent beneficiary is not subject to the pass-through
withholding requirements if the person who is claiming
the beneficiary’s dependent exemption on their federal
income tax return provides the estate or trust with a signed
Statement of Dependent Beneficiary Income attesting that
they expect the dependent beneficiary to have adjusted
gross income for the taxable year that will not exceed the
basic federal standard deduction as calculated under IRC
Section 63 for that taxable year.

The statement must be retained by the trustee and made
available to the Tax Commission upon request (UC §59-
10-1403.2(6)).

Line Instructions

Line A — Name of Beneficiary (Pass-through Entity
Taxpayer)

Enter the name of each nonresident individual beneficiary,
or resident or nonresident business beneficiary (referred
to as a pass-through entity taxpayer).

Line B — Withholding Waiver for this Beneficiary

If you entered either a “1” or a “2” on the Withholding
Waiver Request line at the top of the Schedule N, enter
an “X”on line B if this beneficiary is included in the waiver
request.

If you check this field, enter a “0” on line F for the ben-
eficiary.

Line C — Dependent Beneficiary

Enter an “X” on line C if the beneficiary is a dependent
beneficiary (see definition above). Entering an “X” on this
line will be treated as a request for waiver of the withhold-
ing requirements for this beneficiary.

Line D — SSN/EIN of Beneficiary

Enter the social security number (SSN) of each nonresi-
dent individual beneficiary, or the federal employer iden-
tification number (EIN) of each resident or nonresident
business beneficiary.

Line E — Beneficiary’s Percent of Income
Enter the percent of the estate or trust the pass-through
entity taxpayer receives, to four decimal places.

Line F — Income (Loss) Attributable to Utah
Enter the income (loss) attributable to Utah and taxable
to the pass-through entity taxpayer.

Calculate this income for a pass-through entity taxpayer by
adding the income amounts shown on their Utah Schedule
K-1, lines 1a through 8, then subtracting the deductions
on their Utah Schedule K-1, lines 9 through 11.

Line G — 5% of Income

Multiply the amount of income attributable to Utah for
each pass-through entity taxpayer (line E) by 5%. If the
amount on line E is a loss, enter “0.” Also enter “0” if the
waiver request has been requested for this beneficiary
(line B checked).



Line H — Mineral Production Withholding Credit
Enter the amount of any mineral production withholding
tax allocated by the estate or trust to the pass-through
entity taxpayer. The credit for mineral production with-
holding tax reduces the amount of Utah withholding tax
that is calculated for this beneficiary on Schedule N.
The credit should equal the amount reported on line 14
of Schedule K-1 for mineral production withholding tax
credit for this beneficiary.

Line | — Upper-tier Pass-through Withholding Tax

Enter the amount of any pass-through entity withholding
tax paid by an upper-tier (previous) pass-through entity,
attributable to this estate or trust, and allocated to the
pass-through entity taxpayer of this estate or trust. The
credit for upper-tier pass-through entity withholding tax
reduces the amount of Utah withholding tax calculated for
this beneficiary on Schedule N. The credit should equal
the amount reported on line 14 of Schedule K-1 for upper-
tier pass-through withholding tax for this beneficiary.

Line J —Withholding Tax to be Paid by This Fiduciary
Subtract the total of the credits on lines H and | from the
tax calculated on line G for each pass-through entity
taxpayer. Do not enter an amount less than zero.

The withholding tax shown in column J is the withholding
tax this estate or trust must withhold or pay on behalf of
the pass-through entity taxpayer. This withholding tax is
to be reported on line 15 of Utah Schedule K-1 given to
the beneficiary.

This withholding tax is to be paid to the Tax Commission
by the original due date of the return. If the return is being
filed on extension, this withholding tax must be prepaid
by the original due date.

Total Utah Withholding Tax to be Paid by This Fidu-
ciary

Add the pass-through withholding in column J for all
beneficiaries. Enter this total at the bottom of the Sched-
ule N and carry it over to TC-41, page 2, line 31 and to
Schedule K, line 15.
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TC-41W - Utah Withholding Tax Schedule Instructions

Utah withholding tax credits must be claimed by
completing form TC-41W and attaching it to your
Utah return.

Do not send copies of your W-2s,1099s,TC-675Rs,
and Utah Schedules K-1 with your Utah return.
Keep all these forms with your tax records.

Processing may be delayed or your withholding tax
credits may be disallowed if you do not complete
TC-41W as explained below and submit it with your
Utah return.

TC-41W, Part 1 Instructions

You must report Utah withholding tax from the follow-

ing forms on TC-41W, page 1:

e Federal form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.

* Federal form 1099 (with Utah withholding), includ-
ing 1099-R, 1099-MISC, 1099-G, etc.

Do not send W-2s or 1099s with your Utah return.
Keep them in your files.

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax
credit disallowed if you do not complete the TC-41W
with all required information.

To claim credit for Utah withholding tax, complete

TC-41W, page 1. Enter the following information from

form W-2 or 1099.

e Line 1—Enterthe employer/payer federal EIN (W-2
box “b,” or 1099).

* Line2—Enterthe employer/payer Utah withholding
account number (W-2 box “15,” or 1099).

The Utah withholding accountnumberis a 14-char-
acter number, the first eleven characters are nu-
meric and the last three are “WTH.” Do not enter
hyphens. Example: 12345678901 WTH.

Ifthe form W-2 or 1099 does not reflect this number,
contact the employer or payer to obtain the cor-
rect number to enter on TC-41W, Part 1. Failure
to include this number on the TC-41W may cause
your withholding to be disallowed and delay any
refund.

e Line 3 — Enter the employer/payer name and ad-
dress (W-2 box “c,” or 1099).

* Line 4 —Enter an “X”if the income and withholding
tax are from a form 1099.

e Line5—Enterthetaxpayer’s social security number
or EIN (W-2 box “a,” or 1099).

* Line 6 — Enter the Utah wages or income being
reported (W-2 box 16, or 1099).

e Line 7 — Enter the Utah withholding tax (W-2 box
17, or 1099).

Note: If there is no Utah employer identification
number on a form W-2 box 15, 1099-R box 13, 1099-
MISC box 17, or any other 1099 form, your refund
may be reduced or your tax due increased. Contact
the employer or payer of the income to get the Utah
withholding account number.

Add the amounts of Utah withholding tax from all
lines 7 and enter the total at the bottom of TC-41W,
page 1, and on form TC-41, page 1, line 33.

W-2 Example

aEm i ity rairnbes -
ggdee ( 567-39-0123-3 —|-9H5MQ-Q090— (_‘I"»
b Emgloyer idenlificabion number [EIN) 1 Wapes, lips, olhercothpensalion 2 |
(87-1234567) 32,519.85
& Employer's name, address, and ZIP code 3 Sodial security wapds 4 .E
ABC ENTERPRISES INC 3251985
D876 MAIN ST 5 Medicare wages and bps [
ALT LAKE CITY UT 841 32,519.85
T Socal secuity ips 8 4

d Contaal number

9 Advance EIC paymd

-
=]
-

& Employes's first name and initial
WILLIAM J SMITH
456 TIMBER DR
MURRAY UT 84150

Last narme

f _Employea’s addrass and ZIF code

11 Nongualified plans

O

135y Relbesest il
employes nlan“ bi

14 Odbar

18 S

UT |

Fro 18 e gk | 17 Gma x [ 18 Logality na
ﬁ:23456?ﬁ-0l]2‘WTﬁ> 32,519.85 ) [ 76799 )

§W-2 sfienen 201

Line explanatidns:
er D number {from W-2 box “b" or 1099)
Utah withholding 1D number (fromW-2 box "157 or 1089)

4

Part 1 - Utah

Withholding Tax Sc

idule

Mama of estate or trus

* ABC ENTERFPRISES INC

P 87-1234567

12345678002WTH

9876 MAIN ST
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84101

-l

er name and addregs (from W-2 box "c" or 1099)
porting Utah withholding from form 1089

clal Security number (from W-2 box “a” or 1098)
Utah wagesfincome (from W-2 bdx “16" or 1098)

Utah withholfling tax (from W-2 bgx *17" or 1088)

First W-2 or 1099

H, no hyphens)

Second W-2 o

414 charadons, no hyphens | 2,

567-89-0123

F
32,520 .00 6.

768,00 -

IAAAAAAANAANAAAANANANT



TC-41W, Part 2 Instructions

To claim credit for Utah mineral production withholding tax,
enter the following information. If from form TC-675R, enter
lines 1, 2, 3 and 5; if from Utah Schedule K-1, enter lines 4
and 5.

Line 1 - Enterthe mineral producer’s federal EIN (TC-675R
box 2).

Line 2 - Enter the mineral producer’s name (TC-675R box
1).

Line 3 - Enter the mineral producer’s Utah withholding
account number (TC-675R box 3).

The Utah mineral withholding account numberis a 14-char-
acter number, the first eleven characters are numeric and
the last three are “WMRP” Do not enter hyphens. Example:
12345678901 WMP,

If the TC-675R does not reflect this number, contact the
payer to obtain the correct number to enter on TC-41W,
Part 2. Failure to include this number on the TC-41W may
cause your withholding tax credit to be disallowed and
delay any refund.

Line 4 - If the mineral withholding tax distribution was re-
ceived from a pass-through entity (partnership, LLC, LLP
or S corporation), enter the pass-through entity’s federal
EIN. If you receive a TC-675R directly from the mineral
producer, leave this line blank.

Line 5 - Mineral production withholding tax (TC-675R box
6) or your share of mineral production withholding tax re-
ported on the Utah Schedule K-1 by a pass-through entity.
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Add the amounts of mineral production withholding tax from
all lines 5 and enter the total on form TC-41A, Part 5, using
code 46.

Do not send the TC-657R(s) or Utah Schedule K-1(s) with
your Utah return. Keep them in your files.

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit dis-
allowed if you do not complete the TC-41W with all required
information.

TC-41W, Part 3 Instructions

To claim credit for Utah withholding tax paid on your behalf
by a pass-through entity (partnership, LLP, LLC or S corpora-
tion), enter the following information from Utah Schedule K-1
on TC-41W, Part 3:

Line 1 - Enter the pass-through entity’s federal EIN.

Line 2 - Enter the pass-through entity’s name.

Line 3 - Enter the Utah withholding tax withheld or paid on
your behalf by the pass-through entity.

Add the amounts of pass-through entity Utah withholding tax
from all lines 3 and enter the total on TC-41A, page 2, using
code 43.

Do not send the Utah Schedule(s) K-1 with your Utah return.
Keep them in your files.

Processing may be delayed or the withholding tax credit dis-
allowed if you do not complete the TC-41W with all required
information.

TC-675R Example

Statement of Utah Tax Withheld on Mineral Production TC-675R
1. Producer's name, address, city, state and ZIP code Rev. T2
{CABC MINING COMPANY )
PO BOX 4941 3
PRICE UT 84501 Fortaxyear: 20 13
2. Producer's federal EIN 3. Producer's Utah account number 4. Recipient's federal EIN (or SSN if an individual)
11 (_84-1909732 12345678002“ MP 545-18-6791
5. Utah mineral production gross payment to recipient 6. Utah tax withheld on mjneral production 7. Utah mineral production gross payment not subject to
withholding
24,615.18 1. 230 76 7 00
8. Recipient's name, address, city, state, ZIP code 9. Racipient entity type (check one)
ROBERT R. WINTER |e- Corporation L Limited Liability Company
2414 8 8200 W [ 5-5 C«_)rpnratmn | O- Limited Liability P_artn_ersh:p
MAGNA, UT 84044 A L.jl;il:tlg:fslmp | T - Trust, Estate or Fiduciary

i

|
Ula‘ Mineral Production Withholding (T C-675R)

1 Producer's EIN from box “2" of T3-673

2 Producer's name from box “1" o G S

3 Producer's Utah withholding mm box “3" of TC-675R
{14 characters, ending in , no hyphens)

TC-41W
I 21313 Part 2 [ Row. 12/13
ame of estate or
r 545-18-6791
Do not send TC-675Rs or Utah Sgheduje: K1um:hnmm Enter TC-675R or Schedule K-1 information balow. Use additional TC-41Ws if neaded.|

4 P enlity EIN if credit from partnership or S corporation, from
Utah Scheduls k-1
5 Utah mineral withholding tax from box “6" of TC-675R or

Utah Schedule K-1

First TC-67SR or Schedule K-1 ’ / ‘Second TC-675R or Schedule K-1
>, 84-1909732 1
»2  ABC MINING COM 2
3 12345678002 <14 characlers, no hyphens 3
4 4
s 1,231 .00 s .00

VAV VAV VAV AV AV AV AV AV VIV AVAVAV AV VANV AV VA AVAV A Vavive
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TC-250 — Credits Received from Upper-tier Pass-through
Entities and Mineral Production Withholding Tax
Credit on TC-675R Instructions

TC-250 is used to report Utah nonrefundable and re-
fundable tax credits allocated on a Utah Schedule K-1 to
this estate or trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity
in which this estate or trust owns an interest, as well as
mineral production withholding tax credits received on
a form TC-675R.

TC-250 must be attached to your fiduciary return if
the estate or trust received an allocation of nonre-
fundable and/or refundable credits from an upper-tier
pass-through entity on a Utah Schedule K-1.

Upper-tier Pass-through Entity. An upper-tier pass-
through entity is a pass-through entity in which this estate
or trust has an ownership interest and from whom this
estate or trust receives an allocation of income, gain,
loss, deduction, or credit on a Utah Schedule K-1.

If additional lines are needed to report any category, you
may use additional forms TC-250.

Part 1 — Utah Nonrefundable Credits Received from
Other Pass-through Entities

Utah nonrefundable tax credits allocated to this estate
or trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown
on the Utah Schedule K-1 received from the upper-tier
pass-through entity must be reported in Part 1. These
credits are found on the Utah Schedule K-1 under non-
refundable credits with a credit code. Do not include the
Utah Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received showing
these credits when filing this estate or trust’s return.

First Column

Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box
“A” of the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or
trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the name shown in box “B”
of the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust
from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the nonrefundable credit code
shown on the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate
or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column

Enter in the fourth column the amount of the distributed
Utah nonrefundable credit shown on the Utah Schedule
K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier
pass-through entity.

Carry the nonrefundable credits over to the Utah Sched-
ule A, Part 3 or Part 4, as applicable. If you have multiple
credits for the same credit code, combine the credit
amounts before entering on the Schedule A. Allocate the
credit to the beneficiaries on their individual Schedule
K-1 based on their ownership percentage.

Part 2 — Utah Refundable Credits Received from
Other Pass-through Entities

Utah refundable tax credits allocated to this estate or
trust by an upper-tier pass-through entity and shown

on the Utah Schedule K-1 received from the upper-tier
pass-through entity must be reported in Part 2. These
credits are found on the Utah Schedule K-1 under refund-
able credits with a credit code. Do not include the Utah
Schedule K-1 the estate or trust received showing these
credits when filing this estate or trust’s return.

First Column

Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box
“A” of the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or
trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the name shown in box “B”
of the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate or trust
from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the refundable credit code
shown on the Utah Schedule K-1 received by this estate
or trust from the upper-tier pass-through entity.

Fourth Column

Enter in the fourth column the amount of the allocated
Utah refundable credit shown on the Utah Schedule
K-1 received by this estate or trust from the upper-tier
pass-through entity.

Carry the refundable credits over to the Utah Schedule
A, Part 5. If you have multiple credits for the same credit
code, combine the credit amounts before entering on
the Schedule A. Allocate the credit to the beneficiaries
on their individual Schedule K-1 based on their owner-
ship percentage.

Part 3 — Utah Mineral Production Withholding Tax
Credit Received on TC-675R

Utah mineral production tax withheld on production in-
come received by this estate or trust from the producer
shown on form TC-675R must be reported in Part 3. Do
not include the TC-675R with your estate or trust return.

First Column
Enter in the first column the federal EIN shown in box
“2” of the form TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Second Column

Enter in the second column the producer’s name shown
in box “1” of the form TC-675R received by this estate
or trust.

Third Column

Enter in the third column the amount of the mineral
production withholding tax shown in box “6” of the form
TC-675R received by this estate or trust.

Total the mineral production withholding amounts shown
in the third column. Carry this total to the Utah Sched-
ule A, Part 5 using code “46.” Allocate the credit to the
beneficiaries on their individual Schedule K-1 based on
their ownership percentage.
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Qualified Funeral Trust Information and Instructions

Who Must File

The trustee of a trust that has elected to be taxed as a
qualified funeral trust (QFT) files federal Form 1041-QFT
to report the income, deductions, gains, losses, etc., and
income tax liability of the QFT. The trustee can use Utah
form TC-41 to file for a single QFT, or for multiple QFTs
having the same trustee following the instructions under
Composite Return on this page.

Pre-need funeral trusts that do not qualify as QFTs
should use the regular instructions for Utah Form TC-
41, Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return.

Qualified Funeral Trust (QFT)
A QFT is a domestic trust that meets all of the following
requirements:

e |tarose from a contract with a person who provides
funeral or burial services or property necessary to
provide such services.

e The sole purpose of the trust is to hold, invest and
reinvest funds in the trust and to use those funds
solely to pay for funeral or burial services or prop-
erty to provide such services for the benefit of the
beneficiaries of the trust.

* Theonly beneficiaries are individuals for whom such
services or property is to be provided at their death
under the contracts described above.

e The trustee elects or previously elected to treat the
trust as a QFT, and not as a grantor trust.

e |f the QFT election had not been made, the trust
would have been treated as owned by the contracts’
purchasers under the IRC grantor trust provisions.
However, a trust that is not owned by the purchaser
solely because of the death of an individual shall
be treated as meeting this requirement during the
60-day period beginning the day of that individual’s
death.

If a QFT has multiple beneficiaries, each beneficiary’s
separate interest under a contract is treated as a sepa-
rate QFT for the purpose of figuring the tax and filing this
return. Each beneficiary’s share of the trust’s income is
determined in accordance with the beneficiary’s interest
in the trust.

Whenever these instructions refer to a trust or QFT,
it includes such separate interests that are treated as
separate QFTs.

Making the Election
The trustee elects to treat atrust as a QF T by filing federal
Form 1041-QFT by the due date (including extensions).

Composite Return

A trustee may file a single, composite Utah Form TC-41
for all QFTs for which he or she is the trustee, includ-
ing QFTs that had a short tax year. Prepare a schedule
that includes the following information for each QFT (or
separate interest treated as a QFT).

e The number of QFTs in the composite return.

e The owner or beneficiary’s name. If the trust has
more than one beneficiary, separate the trust into
shares held by the separate beneficiaries. The same
information used on the federal Form 1041-QFT can
be used to compute Utah tax.

e Thetype and gross amount of income earned by the
QFT. For capital gains, identify the net short-term
capital gain, net long-term capital gain, 28% rate
gain, and unrecaptured section 1250 gain.

e The type and amount of each deduction and credit
allocable to the QFT.

e The Utah tax calculation for each QFT. You must
complete form TC-41, page 1, lines 15 through 22
separately for each QFT.

e The Utah tax payments made for each QFT.

* Ifthe QFT terminated during the year, the termination
date.

You can use the same information and schedules from
the federal Form 1041-QFT to compute Utah tax. Figure
the taxable income separately for each QFT using each
QFT’s share of the amounts.

Attach the composite return schedules to your TC-41.

Tax Computation

Follow the line-by-line instructions except for computing
the tax. Use a separate schedule to calculate the Utah
tax for each QFT using the 5% tax rate for each QFT.
Enter the sum of the tax for all QFTs (after subtracting
any estate or trust tax credit) on line 22.



Utah State Tax Commission

Fiduciary Income Tax Return Payment Coupon
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TC-549
Rev. 12/11

USE OF PAYMENT COUPON

If you have a tax due balance on your Utah fiduciary
income tax return and you have previously filed your return
without a payment, include the payment coupon below with
your check or money order to insure proper credit to your
account. Do not mail another copy of your fiduciary income
tax return with this payment. Sending a duplicate of your
return may delay posting of the payment.

It you are sending a payment with your paper Utah
fiduciary income tax return, include the payment coupon
below with your check or money order, to insure proper
credit to your account.

Do not use this return payment coupon to prepay future
fiduciary taxes. Use form TC-548.

ELECTRONIC PAYMENT
You may pay your tax online at taxexpress.utah.gov.

HOW TO PREPARE THE PAYMENT

Make your check or money order payable to the Utah State
Tax Commission. Do not send cash. The Tax Commission
does not assume liability for loss of cash placed in the
mail.

Fiduciary Income Tax

Mail to: Utah State Tax Commissien, 210 N 1950 W, SLC UT 84134-0250

Print the name of the estate or trust, address, daytime
telephone number and the year the payment is for on your
check or money order.

SENDING PAYMENT COUPON

If sending this payment coupon separate from your
fiduciary income tax return, do NOT mail another copy of
your return with this payment.

Complete and detach the payment coupon below.

Do not attach (staple, paper clip, etc.) the check or money
order to the payment coupon.

Send the payment coupon and payment to:
Utah State Tax Commission

210 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0250

Rev. 12/11

Return Payment Coupon

|E|N or SSN of estate or trust

Name of estate or trust
Tax year ending
Address
USTC Use Only City

State | Zip code

$ 00

Make check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax Commission.
Do not send cash. Do not staple check to coupon. Detach check stub.

Payment amount enclosed




