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Who Must File
A fi duciary of a resident estate or trust, or a fi duciary 
of a nonresident estate or trust with income derived 
from Utah sources, if required to fi le a federal Fidu-
ciary Income Tax Return, must fi le a Utah Fiduciary 
Income Tax Return (form TC-41). A complete copy of 
the federal Fiduciary Income Tax Return, form 1041 
or 1041-QFT (including copies of all applicable sched-
ules) must be attached to the Utah return.

When to File and Pay
You must fi le your return and pay any income tax due:
1. By April 15, 2009, if you fi le on a 2008 calendar 

year basis (tax year ends December 31, 2008); or
2. By the 15th day of the fourth month following the 

close of the fi scal year, if you fi le on a fi scal year 
basis.

All Utah income taxes for the year 2008 must be paid 
by the due date. Make check or money order payable 
to the Utah State Tax Commission. If your return is not 
fi led on time or all income tax due is not paid by the 
due date you may be subject to penalties and interest. 
(See Penalties and Interest instructions on page 1.)

Extension of Time to File
There is NO extension of time to pay your taxes – only 
an extension of time to fi le your tax return.

You are automatically allowed an extension of up to 
six months to fi le your return without fi ling an exten-
sion form. However, if the prepayment requirements 
(see next paragraph) are not met on or before the 
original due date penalties will be assessed. (See 
Penalties and Interest instructions on page 1.) All 
extension returns must be fi led by October 15, 2009.

Prepayment Requirements for Filing Ex-
tension 
All prepayments are due on or before the original due 
date.

The required prepayment must equal:
• Ninety percent (90%) of the tax due for 2008 or;
• One hundred percent (100%) of the 2007 Utah 

tax liability as indicated on the 2007 Utah Fidu-
ciary Income Tax Return.

A prepayment may be in the form of withholding (W-2, 
TC-675R, etc.), tax credit, and/or payment made on or 
before the tax due date using form TC-548, Fiduciary 
Income Tax Prepayment Coupon. Interest will be as-
sessed on unpaid tax from the fi ling due date until the 
tax is paid in full. Penalties may also be assessed.

Where to File
Send the completed return and any payment (with 
TC-549 coupon) to:
 Utah State Tax Commission
 210 N 1950 W
 SLC, UT 84134-0250

Tax Period and Accounting Method
The fi rst return fi led by an administrator or executor 
of an estate must cover the period from the date of 
death of the decedent to the end of the fi rst tax year 
selected by the fi duciary. The fi rst return fi led by a 
fi duciary of a trust must cover the period beginning 
with the creation of the trust to the end of the fi rst 
tax year selected by the fi duciary. Returns must be 
fi led for each subsequent year the estate or trust is in 
existence. The taxable year cannot be longer than 12 
months and must coincide with the tax year selected 
for fi ling the federal return. The accounting methods 
used for federal fi duciary income tax purposes must 
be the same for Utah fi duciary income tax purposes.

FINAL RETURN: Check the box provided in the 
top center of the return, if this is a fi nal return.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollar Amounts
Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round 
down if cents are under 50 cents; round up if cents 
are 50 cents and above. Do not enter cents any-
where on the return.

Recordkeeping and Documentation
Keep copies of any receipts, state forms, worksheets, 
credit authorization forms, and other documentation to 
support any income, deduction, exemption, and credit 
you have reported on your return.

Penalties
Utah law (UC §59-1-401) provides penalties for failure 
to fi le tax returns by the due date, failure to pay tax 
due on time, failure to make suffi cient prepayment 
on extension returns, and failure to fi le information 
returns or supporting schedules. Details of these 
penalties, along with a list of additional penalties that 
may be imposed, can be found in Pub 58, available at 
tax.utah.gov/forms. You can calculate late fi ling, late 
payment, and extension penalties by using the on-
line Penalty and Interest Calculator at tax.utah.gov/
picalc.

Interest (In addition to any penalties due)
Interest will be assessed on any underpayment from 
the original due date until any outstanding liability is 
paid in full. The interest rate for most taxes and fees 
administered by the Tax Commission for the 2009 
calendar year is 5 percent. Use the online Penalty and 
Interest Calculator at tax.utah.gov/picalc or follow the 
instructions in Pub 58, available at tax.utah.gov/forms 
to assist you.

General Instructions
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You can obtain prior year forms and instructions at        
tax.utah.gov/forms/old.html.

Amend your return promptly if:
• An error is discovered on your Utah or federal 

return after it has been fi led; or
• Your federal return is audited or adjusted by the 

IRS and the audit or adjustment affects your Utah 
return. You must amend your Utah return within 
90 days of the IRS’s fi nal determination. If you 
are unsure whether or not your Utah taxes are af-
fected by an audit or adjustment, contact the Tax 
Commission.

Generally, to qualify for a refund or a credit, an 
amended return must be fi led within three years fol-
lowing the date the original return was due. A return 
fi led before the due date is considered fi led on the 
due date. If an amended return must be fi led based 
on changes made by the IRS, a claim for refund or 
credit must be made within two years after a Utah 
amended return was required to be fi led.

How to Amend a 2008 Utah Fiduciary Tax Return

A. Enter on page 1 of the Utah return in the box 
titled “For Amended Return - Enter Code” a code 
number that best corresponds to your Reason 
For Amending. See codes below.

Reason-for-Amending Codes (enter on return)
1 You fi led an amended return with the IRS (at-

tach a copy of your amended federal return).
2 You made an error on your Utah return (at-

tach an explanation of the error).
3 Your tax calculation was changed by an IRS 

audit and/or adjustment (attach a copy of the 
IRS adjustment).

4 You had a net operating loss. Utah treats 
net operating losses in the same manner as 
the federal return. If your amended return is 
the result of a carryback net operating loss, 
complete a fi duciary tax return for each year 
you are amending (attach a copy of your 
amended federal return). 

5 Other (attach explanation to return).     

B. Enter the corrected fi gures on the return and/or 
schedules.

C. Enter all other amounts shown on your original 
return. If you received a refund on your original 
return, enter the amount of the previous refund on 
line 27 of the 2008 amended return. If you paid 
with the original return or made subsequent pay-
ments of the tax prior to fi ling the amended return, 
enter the total previous payments on line 32 of the 
2008 amended return.

D. Submit the amended return with all schedules, 
including copies of those schedules that did not 
change from the original fi ling.

E. Do not submit a copy of your originally-fi led return 
with your amended return.

Fiduciary and Estate Defi ned
The term fi duciary means a guardian, trustee, execu-
tor, administrator, receiver, conservator, or any person 
acting in any fi duciary capacity for any individual or 
entity. The term estate refers only to the estate of a 
deceased person and does not include a trust main-
tained for minors, for a person adjudicated incompe-
tent, or for any person who is suffering from some 
other legal disability.

Note:  Throughout these instructions, any reference 
to “you” means the fi duciary of the estate or trust.

Domicile Defi ned
Domicile is the place where an individual has a per-
manent home and to which he intends to return after 
being absent. It is the place at which an individual 
has voluntarily fi xed his habitation, not for a special 
or temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a 
permanent home. A domicile, once established, is not 
lost until all of the following three elements are met:
1. A specifi c intent to abandon the former domicile;
2. The actual physical presence in a new domicile; 

and
3. The intent to remain in the new domicile perma-

nently.  

For more information on determining domicile/resi-
dency, see Tax Commission rules R865-9I-2 and 
R884-24P-52. Visit our website at tax.utah.gov/re-
search/ruleseffective.html.

Resident Estate or Trust Defi ned
Resident estate or resident trust means: 
1. An estate of a decedent who, at his death, was 

domiciled in Utah; 
2. A trust, or a portion of a trust, consisting of prop-

erty transferred by will of a decedent who at his 
death was domiciled in Utah; or

3. A trust administered in Utah. A trust shall be con-
sidered to be administered in Utah if:
a. The place of business where the fi duciary 

transacts a major portion of its administration 
of the trust is in Utah; or

b. The usual place of business of the fi duciary is 
in Utah.

Nonresident Estate or Trust Defi ned
The terms nonresident estate or nonresident trust are 
defi ned as estates or trusts that are not resident es-
tates or trusts.

Exempt Trusts Defi ned
A trust exempt from federal income tax is exempt from 
Utah income tax unless there is unrelated business 
income in Utah.

Amended Return
To amend a previously fi led return, use the tax form 
and instructions for the year you are amending. 
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Amounts Reportable as Utah Income by 
the Benefi ciaries
Resident benefi ciaries will report to Utah the income 
from the estate or trust included in the benefi ciary’s 
federal adjusted gross income as though the ben-
efi ciary received the income directly. The residence 
of the estate or trust does not affect the source of 
income for computing the benefi ciary’s Utah individual 
income tax. Nonresident benefi ciaries must fi le Utah 
income tax returns and report that portion of their dis-
tribution derived from Utah sources (see instructions 
for TC-41B).

Federal Form 8886
If you fi led federal form 8886, Reportable Transaction 
Disclosure Statement, with the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice, enter an “X” in the box at the top of your TC-41, 
where indicated.
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Heading
Print the information requested in the spaces provid-
ed. Enter the full name of the estate or trust. 

Enter the federal employer identifi cation number (EIN) 
of the estate or trust. If the estate or trust is fi led using 
a social security number (SSN) instead of an EIN, 
check the box below this number.

1. Type of Return
Enter the appropriate code that describes the entity 
for which you are fi ling the return. The type of return 
must match the type of entity indicated in part A of 
federal Form 1041. For pooled income funds, enter H 
for a charitable trust.

Electing Small Business Trust (ESBT) returns must 
report federal taxable income on line 4 and the sepa-
rate small business trust portion of the taxable income 
on TC-41A, Part 1, code 58.

Federal Form 1041-QFT fi lers will fi nd the general 
instructions on how to fi le their Utah return on pages 
18 and 19.

Bankruptcy Estate fi lers will fi nd the specifi c instruc-
tions on pages 16 and 17 on how to compute their 
Utah tax on the TC-41C.

2. Status of Estate or Trust
Enter the code “R” for a resident estate or trust, or “N” 
for nonresident estate or trust. Refer to the General 
Instructions to determine if the estate or trust is a resi-
dent or nonresident entity.

3. Nonresident Benefi ciaries
If any benefi ciary of the trust is not a resident of Utah, 
enter an “X” in the box. If all benefi ciaries are resi-
dents of Utah, leave the box blank.

Resident defi ned
A trust benefi ciary is a Utah resident if:
1. Domiciled in Utah for the entire year, even if tem-

porarily outside of Utah for an extended period of 
time - even years in certain situations;

2. Domiciled in Utah for any period of time during 
the taxable year, but only for the duration of that 
period; or

3. Even though domiciled outside Utah, maintains 
a permanent place of abode within the state and 
spends a total of 183 days or more of the taxable 
year within Utah.

Part-year resident defi ned
A trust benefi ciary is a part-year Utah resident if do-
miciled in Utah for part of the taxable year and domi-
ciled outside of Utah for part of the taxable year. For 
purposes of this line only, enter an “X” in the box if any 
benefi ciary is a part-year resident.

Nonresident defi ned
A trust benefi ciary is a Utah nonresident if that ben-
efi ciary is not domiciled in Utah, or was in Utah for 
a temporary or transitory purpose for less than 183 
days during the taxable year.

4. Federal Total Income
Enter the federal total income from form 1041, line 9 
or form 1041-QFT, line 5.

Bankruptcy Estates. Trustees of an individual 
bankruptcy estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must 
complete TC-41C, Bankruptcy Estate Tax Calculation, 
to determine the taxable income and tax liability of the 
estate. Follow these instructions for entries on TC-41:
• Leave lines 4 through 20 blank.
•  Line 21, Utah income tax – enter the amount from 

TC-41C, line 16 or line 20, whichever applies.
•  Lines 22 through 39 – complete according to the 

regular fi duciary instructions.

5. Additions to Income
If you have any of the following additions to income, 
complete TC-41A, Part 1. On TC-41A, write the code 
and amount of each addition to income. Carry the sum 
of all additions to income to line 5. An explanation of 
each addition to income is listed below.

NOTE: Only include amounts on this line that will not 
be passed through to the benefi ciaries. An apportion-
ment of the additions to income between the income 
taxed at the trust level and the amounts distributed 
to the benefi ciaries must be calculated. Follow these 
steps to calculate the apportioned amount that must be 
added on this line:

1. Divide the amount distributed to benefi ciaries 
by distributable net income;

2. Multiply the amount calculated in step 1 by 
the total amount of the addition that must be 
apportioned; and

3. Subtract the amount calculated in step 2 from 
the total amount of the addition that must be 
apportioned.

Codes for TC-41, Part 1
51 Lump Sum Distribution
54 Utah Educational Savings Plan Unqualifi ed Withdrawal (UESP)
57 Municipal Bond Interest
58 ESBT S Corporation Income
62 Fiduciary Adjustments
69 Equitable Adjustments

(51) Lump Sum Distribution
  (UC §59-10-202(1)(a))
If you did not fi le form 4972 with your federal return, 
this addition to income does not apply.

If you received a lump sum distribution and fi led federal 
form 4972, enter the total of the amounts shown on Part 
II, line 6 and on Part III, line 10. Keep a copy of form 

Line-By-Line Instructions
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4972 and any 1099-R forms showing the distribution 
with your records. 

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum dis-
tribution, multiply the amount on line 10 of form 4972 
by the distribution percentage shown in box 9a on your 
form 1099-R, then add the amount shown on Part II, 
line 6 on form 4972. 

(54) Utah Educational Savings Plan Unqualifi ed
        Withdrawal (UESP) (UC §59-10-202(1)(d))
If an amount is withdrawn from a Utah Educational 
Savings Plan by the fi duciary but not expended for 
qualifi ed higher education costs, the withdrawn amount 
must be added-back to income if the amount withdrawn 
was deducted on the fi duciary’s Utah return after 2007. 
A UESP account holder should receive form TC-675H, 
Statement of Contributions and Disbursements for the 
Utah Educational Savings Plan, from UESP. Keep this 
form with your records. If you have any questions about 
UESP, call 801-321-7188 or 1-800-418-2551 or www.
uesp.org.

(57) Municipal Bond Interest
  (UC §59-10-202(1)(b))
Interest from certain bonds, notes and other evidences 
of indebtedness (commonly known as municipal 
bonds) issued by non-federal governmental entities 
outside Utah will be subject to Utah income tax if 
acquired on or after January 1, 2003. However, inter-
est earned on non-Utah municipal bonds will not be 
subject to Utah tax if the state (or political subdivision) 
issuing the bonds does not impose an income tax on 
bonds issued by Utah. For more information, visit inco-
metax.utah.gov/topics_municipalbonds.php.

(58) ESBT S Corporation Income
  (UC §59-10-202(1)(c))
Electing Small Business Trusts (ESBTs) must report 
the separate S portion of the taxable income, as cal-
culated on the attachment to federal form 1041.

(62) Fiduciary Adjustments
  (UC §59-10-210)
Enter any qualifi ed fi duciary adjustment and attach an 
explanation of the adjustment made. 

(69) Equitable Adjustments
  (UC §59-10-209.1)
Enter any qualifi ed equitable adjustment needed to 
prevent receiving a double tax benefi t. Attach an ex-
planation of any equitable adjustment reported. 

6. Total Adjusted Income
Add line 4 and line 5.

7. Fiduciary Fees for Administering Trust
Enter the amount of any fi duciary fees deducted on 
your federal form 1041, line 12.

8. Income Distribution Deduction
Enter the amount of any income distribution deduc-
tions reported on your federal form 1041, line 18. Do 
not include any cemetery perpetual care fund fees 
you deducted under IRC 642 on the federal return.

9. Estate Tax Deduction
Enter the amount of any estate tax deduction, includ-
ing certain generation-skipping taxes, deducted on 
your federal form 1041, line 19.

10. Exemption
Enter the amount of the exemption deduction taken 
on your federal form 1041, line 20.

11. Deductions from Income
If you have any of the following deductions from in-
come, complete TC-41A, Part 2. On TC-41A, Part 2, 
write the code and amount of each deduction from 
income. Carry the sum of all deductions from income 
to line 11 of your return. An explanation of each de-
duction from income is listed below.

NOTE: Only include amounts on this line that apply to 
income that will be taxed at the trust level. An appor-
tionment of the deductions from income between the 
amount taxed at the trust level and the amounts dis-
tributed to the benefi ciaries must be calculated. Follow 
these steps to calculate the apportioned amount that 
may be deducted on this line:

1. Divide the amount distributed to benefi ciaries 
by distributable net income;

2. Multiply the amount calculated in step 1 by 
the total amount of the deduction that must be 
apportioned; and

3. Subtract the amount calculated in step 2 from 
the total amount of the deduction that must be 
apportioned.

Codes for TC-41A, Part 2
71 Interest from U. S. Government Obligations
77 Native American Income
78 Railroad Retirement Income
79 Equitable Adjustments
80 State Tax Refund Included in Federal Income
84 Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident Trust
86 Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable Contribution
87 Fiduciary Adjustments

(71) Interest from U.S. Government Obligations
  (UC §59-10-202(2)(a))
See Pub 33 for detailed instructions and examples of 
Interest from U. S. Government Obligations. 

Interest earned on U. S. Government obligations is-
sued by an agency or instrumentality of the United 
States is exempt from state income tax. U. S. Govern-
ment obligations include:

• Treasury bills,
• Treasury notes, and
• E, EE, H, HH, and I bonds
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Income NOT exempt from Utah income tax includes:
• Interest or dividends from Federal National 

Mortgage Association (FNMA) and Government 
National Mortgage Association (GNMA); and 

• Interest on refunds from the IRS or any federal 
agency.

The U. S. Supreme Court in Smith vs Davis, 323 U.S. 
111 (1944) established the following conditions for 
determining if the instrument qualifi es as a U. S. Gov-
ernment obligation:
1. The instrument must be a written document,
2. Bear interest,
3. Contain a binding promise by the U. S. Govern-

ment to pay a specifi c sum on a specifi c date, and
4. Have congressional authorization to pledge the 

full faith and credit of the United States in support 
of the promise to pay.

Only interest or dividend income from U. S. Govern-
ment obligations included in your federal taxable 
income should be deducted from Utah income. Before 
entering an amount, subtract any related interest ex-
pense on money borrowed to purchase the obligation 
or security.

If the interest income is from a trust, attach a sched-
ule to your return showing the calculation of income. 
Include the name, residency and federal identifi cation 
number of the trust making the distribution.

(77) Native American Income
   (UC §59-10-202(2)(c) and (f))
An enrolled member of a Native American tribe in 
Utah who lives and works on the reservation on which 
he/she is an enrolled member is exempt from Utah 
income tax on the reservation income. An enrolled 
member of the Ute tribe who works on the Uintah and 
Ouray Reservation and lives on land removed from 
that reservation under Hagen v. Utah (510 U.S. 399 
(1994)) is exempt from Utah income tax on income 
earned on the reservation. 

Enter on TC-41A, Part 2, using code 77, the exempt 
income included in your federal taxable income. Enter 
your enrollment/census number and a Native/Tribe 
Code from the list below in the box designating to 
which nation/tribe you belong.

(78) Railroad Retirement Income
   (UC §59-10-202(2)(e))
Federal law does not permit states to tax railroad 
retirement or disability income received from the Rail-
road Retirement Board on form RRB-1099. States are 

also prohibited from taxing unemployment and sick-
ness benefi ts from this source.

Railroad retirement pensions are deductible on the 
Utah return only to the extent they are taxable on the 
federal return.  If you received pension payments, 
disability income or unemployment payments under 
the Railroad Retirement Act and are required to report 
all or part of the amount received as income on the 
federal return, you may deduct that amount from Utah 
income.

(79) Equitable Adjustments
  (UC §59-10-209.1)
Enter any qualifi ed equitable adjustment needed to 
prevent suffering a double tax detriment. Attach an 
explanation of any equitable adjustment reported.

(80) State Tax Refund Included in Federal Income 
(UC §59-10-202(2)(d))

Enter the amount of any state tax refund that has 
been included on the federal fi duciary form 1041 for 
the same year.

(84) Nontaxable Income from Irrevocable Resident 
Trust (UC §59-10-202(2)(b))

Income of an irrevocable resident trust is subtracted 
from federal taxable income if:
1. The trust fi rst became a resident trust on or after 

January 1, 2004;
2. No assets of the trust were held at any time after 

January 1, 2003 in another resident irrevocable 
trust created by the same settlor or the spouse of 
the settlor;

3. The trustee of the trust is a trust company as 
defi ned in subsection 7-5-1(1)(d); and

4. The amount subtracted is reduced to the extent 
the settlor or any other person is treated as an 
owner of any portion of the trust, and by any inter-
est on indebtedness incurred or continued to pur-
chase or carry the assets generating the income, 
and by any expense incurred in the production of 
income to the extent those expenses, including 
amortizable bond premiums, are deductible in 
determining federal taxable income.

(86) Nongrantor Charitable Lead Trust Charitable
 Contribution (UC §59-10-202(2)(g))

Enter the amount a qualifi ed nongrantor lead trust 
deducted on its federal return as a charitable contribu-
tion under IRC Section 642(c).

(87) Fiduciary Adjustments
  (UC §59-10-210)
Enter any qualifi ed fi duciary adjustment and attach an 
explanation of the adjustment made.

12. Total Deductions
Add lines 7 through 11.

Nation/Tribe Code
1 Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation
2 Navajo Nation Reservation
3 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Reservation
4 Skull Valley Bank of Goshute Indians
5 Ute Indian Tribe
6 Other tribe
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13. Utah Taxable Income
Subtract line 12 from line 6. This is your Utah taxable 
income. If less than zero, enter “0”.

14. Utah Tax
Multiply the Utah taxable income on line 13 by .05 
(5%).

Fiduciary Tax Credit (lines 15 - 20)
(UC §59-10-1020)
Estates and trusts are allowed a credit against their 
Utah tax based on the total of their interest expense, 
taxes paid, charitable contributions, attorney/accoun-
tant/tax preparer fees, and certain miscellaneous 
deductions. The taxpayer tax credit is phased-out for 
income over a specifi c amount.

15. Allowable Deductions for Credit
Enter the amount from line 6 below on line 15 of your 
TC-41. See line instructions for the worksheet on 
page 7.

WORKSHEET FOR ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS
1. Interest      $__________
2. Taxes      $__________
3. Charitable contributions   $__________
4. Attorney/accountant/return preparer fees  $__________
5. Miscellaneous deductions  $__________
6. Total deductions (add lines 1 through 5)  $__________
Enter the amount from line 6 above on line 15 of your TC-41.

Line Instructions for the Worksheet on page 6:
• Line 1 – Interest. Enter the total interest paid or 

accrued, and deducted on the federal return un-
der IRC section 163 for the taxable year.

• Line 2 – Taxes. Enter the total taxes paid or ac-
crued, and deducted on the federal return under 
IRC section 164 for the taxable year. Do not in-
clude any amounts paid or accrued for state or lo-
cal income taxes for the taxable year in this fi gure.

• Line 3 – Charitable Contributions. This is the total 
charitable contributions deducted on the estate 
or trust federal return for the taxable year. Do not 
include any amounts a qualifi ed nongrantor chari-
table lead trust deducts under IRC section 642(c) 
in this amount.

• Line 4 – Certain Fees. This is the total deducted 
on the federal return for the taxable year for attor-
ney, accountant, or return preparer fees.

• Line 5 – Miscellaneous Deductions. This is the to-
tal miscellaneous and other deductions deducted 
on the federal return for the taxable year.

16. Initial Credit before Phase-out
Multiply the amount on line 15 by .06 (6%).

17. Phase-out Base Amount
The base phase-out amount for an estate or trust is 
$12,000.

18. Income Subject to Phase-out
Subtract line 17 (the phase-out base amount) from 
line 13 (Utah taxable income). Do not enter an 
amount less than zero.

19. Phase-out Amount
Multiply line 18 by .013 (1.3%). This is the credit 
phase-out amount.

20. Estate or Trust Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 19 from the 
initial credit on line 16. If the result is less than zero, 
enter “0”.

21. Utah Income Tax
Subtract the estate or trust tax credit on line 20 from 
the tax calculated on line 14. If the result is less than 
zero, enter “0”.  

Bankruptcy Estates. Enter the tax calculated on TC-
41C, line 16, or line 20 if applicable. Then complete 
lines 22 through 39 according to the regular fi duciary 
instructions.

22. Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits
Keep all related documents with your records. You 
may be asked to furnish this information later to verify 
a credit claimed on your Utah return.

If you claim any of the following apportionable non-
refundable credits (credits that must be apportioned 
for nonresidents and part-year residents), complete 
TC-41A, Part 3 and attach it to your Utah return. On 
TC-41A, write the code and amount of each credit 
you are claiming. Carry the sum of all credits to line 
22 of your return. An explanation of each apportion-
able nonrefundable credit is listed below.
Codes for Apportionable Nonrefundable Credits
04 Capital Gain Transactions Credit
20 Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) Credit

(04) Capital Gain Transactions Credit 
(UC §59-10-1022) 

A qualifi ed taxpayer may claim a credit for the short-
term and long-term capital gain on a transaction if:

a. The gain occurs on or after January 1, 2008;
b. At least 70% of the proceeds of the capital gain 

transaction are used to purchase qualifying stock 
in a Utah small business corporation within 12 
months from when the gain was recognized; and

c. The individual did not have an ownership interest 
in the qualifi ed Utah small business corporation at 
the time of investment. 

For more information and detailed defi nitions, visit the 
Tax Commission website, incometax.utah.gov/cred-
its_capitalgains.php or refer to UC §59-10-1022.
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Calculation of Capital Gain Transactions Tax Credit
1. Eligible short-term or long-term
    capital gain transaction    $__________

2. Multiply line 1 by .05. This is your credit.  $__________
Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 04.

Note: Any credit in excess of the tax liability may not 
be carried back or carried forward.

(20) Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP) Credit 
(UC §59-10-1017) 
If you made a qualifi ed investment in a Utah Educa-
tional Savings Plan (UESP) account, you may claim a 
nonrefundable credit against your Utah tax. To qualify, 
the investment must be made during the taxable year 
and not have been deducted on your federal return. 
The deduction is limited to the lesser of the invest-
ment made during the tax year or $1,650 per indi-
vidual benefi ciary. 

A UESP account holder should receive form TC-
675-H, Statement of Contributions and Disburse-
ments for the Utah Educational Savings Plan, from 
UESP. Use the qualifi ed amount from line 1 of form 
TC-675-H to calculate the credit. 

Keep form TC-675-H with your records. If you have 
any questions about UESP, call 801-321-7188 or 
1-800-418-2551, or www.uesp.org.

Calculation of UESP Tax Credit
1. Eligible amount for credit from line 1
    of form TC-675H    $__________

2. Multiply line 1 by .05. This is your
    UESP credit.     $__________
Enter this amount on TC-41A, Part 3, using code 20.

Note: Any UESP credit in excess of the tax liability 
may not be carried back or carried forward.

23. Subtract line 22 from line 21
Apportionable nonrefundable credits cannot exceed 
the tax liability on the return. If the total of the credits 
shown on line 22 is greater than or equal to the tax on 
line 21, enter “0”.

FULL-YEAR RESIDENT ESTATE OR TRUST – Enter 
the tax from line 23 on line 24 on page 2 of TC-41 and 
then complete the rest of the return.

NON OR PART-YEAR RESIDENT ESTATE OR 
TRUST – Complete the TC-41B, lines 1 through 16. 
Enter the tax amount from line 23 of your TC-41 on 
line 17 of the TC-41B. Calculate line 18 of the TC-
41B, and enter that tax on line 24 of page 2 of TC-41. 
Complete the balance of the TC-41.

See more detailed instructions for the TC-41B on 
page 16.

24. Enter Tax
Full-year resident estate or trust: Enter the tax from 
line 23.

Non or part-year resident estate or trust: Enter the 
tax from line 18 of your TC-41B.

25. Nonapportionable Nonrefundable 
 Credits
Keep all related documents with your records. You 
may be asked to furnish this information later to verify 
a credit claimed on your Utah return.

If you claim any of the following nonapportionable 
nonrefundable credits, complete TC-41A, Part 4 and 
attach it to your Utah return. On TC-41A, write the 
code and amount of each credit you are claiming. 
Carry the sum of all credits to line 25 of your return. 
An explanation of each nonapportionable nonrefund-
able credit is listed below.
Codes for Nonapportionable Nonrefundable Credits
02 Qual. Sheltered Workshop 10 Recycling Market
03 Carryover 04, 05, 06 Energy Cr. 12 Research Activities in Utah
05 Clean Fuel Vehicle 13 Research Mach./Equip.
06 Historic Preservation 17 Taxes Paid to Another State
07 Enterprise Zone 21 Residential Energy System
08 Low-Income Housing

(02)  Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop Cash 
  Contribution Credit (UC §59-10-1004)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records. The name of the qualifi ed 
workshop must be written on TC-41A, Part 4 to claim 
the credit.

Cash contributions made within the tax year to a 
qualifi ed nonprofi t rehabilitation sheltered workshop 
facility operating in Utah for persons with disabilities 
are eligible for a credit against Utah income taxes. 
Check with the workshop to make sure they have a 
current Day Training Provider License or Day Sup-
port Provider Certifi cate issued by the Department of 
Human Services. The credit is equal to the lesser of 
$200 or 50 percent of the total cash contributions. 

Contributions claimed as a tax credit under this sec-
tion may not also be claimed as a charitable deduc-
tion in determining net taxable income.

Contact the Contract Administrator, Division of Ser-
vices for People with Disabilities, 120 N 200 W #411, 
SLC, UT 84103, telephone 801-538-4200; www.
hsdspd.utah.gov for more information.

(03)  Carryover of 2004, 2005 or 2006 Energy
   Credit (UC §59-10-1014)
If you claimed a renewable energy systems tax credit 
on your 2004, 2005, or 2006 Utah fi duciary return, 
and the tax credit was in excess of your tax liability 
for the year claimed, the excess credit may be carried 
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over to the four succeeding years. If you have any 
excess credit that was not used against a subsequent 
tax year liability, and are carrying over that excess 
credit to 2008, enter the unused carryover on TC-41A, 
Part 4, using code 03.

(05) Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit
  (UC §59-10-1009)
Complete form TC-40V, Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit, 
with the Division of Air Quality approval stamp, verify-
ing the credit has been approved. Do not send form 
TC-40V with your return. Keep the form and all related 
documents with your records.

To qualify, you must have:
• Purchased a vehicle which is registered in Utah, 

for which this credit has not been taken, that was 
manufactured to use propane, natural gas, elec-
tricity, or other approved fuel, or

• Purchased and installed equipment to convert 
a special mobile engine or vehicle registered in 
Utah to use propane, natural gas, electricity, or 
other approved fuel.

Note: The credit is not available for electric-hybrid 
vehicles.

Contact the Division of Air Quality, 150 N 1950 W, 
SLC, UT 84116, telephone 801-536-4000, or www.
airquality.utah.gov/Planning/Mobile/Clean_Fuel_
Tax_Credit.htm for additional information.

(06) Historic Preservation Tax Credit
  (UC §59-10-1006)
Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax 
Credit, with the State Historic Preservation Offi ce cer-
tifi cation, verifying the credit has been approved. Do 
not send form TC-40H with your return. Keep the form 
and all related documents with your records.

The credit is for costs incurred in connection with 
qualifi ed rehabilitation of any certifi ed historic resi-
dential building. Any credit exceeding the tax owed 
may be carried forward for fi ve consecutive years as a 
credit against Utah tax due.

Contact the State Historic Preservation Offi ce, 300 Rio 
Grande, SLC, UT 84101, telephone 801-533-3503, 
or history.utah.gov/historic_preservation to obtain 
form TC-40H, certifi cation, and additional information.

(07) Enterprise Zone Credit
  (UC §63M-1-413)
NOTE: An individual may not claim this credit or carry 
this credit forward into a year the individual claims the 
recycling market development zone credit (nonappor-
tionable nonrefundable credit, code 10) or the tar-
geted business income tax credit (refundable credit, 
code 40).

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

The Enterprise Zone Credit is available for certain 
businesses that hire new full-time employees, reha-
bilitate buildings or meet certain other requirements in 
a designated zone. Indian tribes may apply for enter-
prise zone designation within an Indian reservation.

Any credit amount exceeding the tax owed may be 
carried forward for three consecutive years as a credit 
against Utah tax due.

If enterprise zone credits are being taken on your 
ownership in a partnership or S corporation, you must 
allocate the credits calculated based on your respec-
tive percentage of ownership.

Contact the Governor’s Offi ce of Economic 
Development, 324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 
84111, telephone 801-538-8775; goed.utah.gov/
incentives/enterprise_zones or email lprall@utah.
gov to obtain additional information.

(08) Low-Income Housing Credit
  (UC §59-10-1010)
Individuals sharing in the credit must obtain form TC-
40TCAC, Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Allo-
cation Certifi cation, and complete form TC-40LI, Sum-
mary of Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. If you 
are carrying this credit back or forward, you must also 
complete form TC-40LIC, Utah Low-Income Housing 
Tax Credit Carryback and/or Carryforward. Do not 
send these forms with your return. Keep the forms 
and all related documents with your records.

The building project owner must also complete and 
attach form TC-40LIS, Credit Share Summary of Low-
Income Housing Project, to the return.

This credit is an amount, determined by the Utah 
Housing Corporation, for the owners of a low-income 
housing project who have also received an allocation 
of the federal low-income housing tax credit. When 
this credit is applicable, the project owner will provide 
form TC-40TCAC (issued by the Utah Housing Cor-
poration) to the taxpayer. Any credit amount exceed-
ing the tax owed may be carried back three years or 
carried forward for fi ve consecutive years as a credit 
against Utah tax due.

Contact Utah Housing Corporation, 2479 S Lake Park 
Blvd, West Valley City, UT 84120, telephone 801-902-
8000, or at www.utahhousingcorp.org for informa-
tion.

(10) Recycling Market Development Zone
  (UC §59-10-1007)
NOTE: An individual may not claim this credit or carry 
this credit forward into a year the individual claims the 
enterprise zone credit (nonapportionable nonrefund-
able credit, code 07) or the targeted business income 
tax credit (refundable credit, code 40).
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Complete form TC-40R, Recycling Market Develop-
ment Zone Tax Credit, with the Governor’s Offi ce of 
Economic Development certifi cation, verifying the 
credit has been approved. Do not send form TC-40R 
with your return. Keep the form and all related docu-
ments with your records.

The credit is available to individuals and businesses 
operating in a designated recycling market develop-
ment zone.

Contact the Governor’s Offi ce of Economic Develop-
ment, 324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 84111, 
telephone 801-538-8804; goed.utah.gov/incentives/
recycling_zones or email lprall@utah.gov to obtain 
additional information.

(12) Tax Credit for Increasing Research Activities
  in Utah (UC §59-10-1012) 
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

The credit is equal to:
1. 5% of the taxpayer’s qualifi ed expenses for the 

taxable year incurred for increasing research 
activities in Utah above a base amount, 

2. 5% of certain payments made during the taxable 
year to a qualifi ed organization increasing basic 
research in Utah above a base amount, and 

3. 5% of the taxpayer’s qualifi ed research expenses 
for the taxable year beginning in 2008. 

Any credit under 1 or 2 above exceeding the tax owed 
may be carried forward for the next 14 taxable years 
as a credit against Utah tax due. Any credit under 3 
above may not be carried forward. 

2007 Credit: This credit formerly could be claimed 
in the taxable year immediately following the year for 
which the taxpayer qualifi ed for the credit. Conse-
quently, those who had qualifi ed research expenses 
in 2007 may deduct that credit in 2008, along with any 
2008 credit, as explained above.

 (13) Tax Credit for Machinery and Equipment
   Used to Conduct Research (UC §59-10-1013)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records. 

The credit is equal to: 
1. 6% of the purchase price of machinery, equip-

ment, or both used primarily to conduct qualifi ed 
research in Utah for not less than 12 consecutive 
months, and

2. 6% of the purchase price of machinery, equip-
ment, or both donated to a qualifi ed organization 
and used primarily to conduct basic research in 
Utah for not less than 12 consecutive months.

Any credit exceeding the tax owed may be carried for-
ward for the next 14 taxable years as a credit against 
Utah tax due.

If machinery and equipment for which this credit was 
claimed are used for less than 12 consecutive months 
to primarily conduct qualifi ed research, the credit 
claimed is not allowed. File an amended return for 
the year the credit was claimed, removing the credit 
from the return and paying any increase in tax. See 
amended return instructions on page 2.

2007 Credit: This credit formerly could be claimed 
in the taxable year immediately following the year for 
which the taxpayer qualifi ed for the credit. Conse-
quently, those who had qualifi ed research expenses 
in 2007 may deduct that credit in 2008, along with any 
2008 credit, as explained above. 

(17) Credit for Fiduciary Income Tax Paid to
  Another State (UC §59-10-1003)
This credit only applies to resident estates or trusts.

A Utah estate or trust whose income is taxed by Utah 
and another state(s), the District of Columbia, or a 
possession of the United States, may be entitled to a 
credit against Utah income tax for the amount of tax 
paid to the other state(s).

To calculate the credit for fi duciary tax paid to another 
state, complete TC-41S. Carry the sum of the credits 
from line 7 to TC-41A, Part 4, using code 17. Keep a 
copy of each state return for which a credit is claimed.

(21) Renewable Residential Energy Systems Tax
       Credit (UC §59-10-1014)
Form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commer-
cial Energy Systems Tax Credits, must be obtained 
from the Utah Geological Survey with their certifi ca-
tion stamp, verifying the credit has been approved 
and showing the amount of the approved credit. Do 
not send form TC-40E with your return. Keep the form 
and all related documents with your records.

This credit is for reasonable costs, including 
installation, of a residential energy system that supplies 
energy required for a residential unit in Utah. Additional 
residential energy systems or parts may be claimed in 
subsequent years as long as the total amount claimed 
does not exceed $2,000 per residential unit. If the 
residence is sold to another, who is not a business 
entity, before claiming the tax credit, the taxpayer may 
irrevocably transfer to the new owner the right to the 
tax credit. The principal portion of lease payments for 
a residential energy system may qualify for the credit, 
if the lessor irrevocably transfers to the new owner the 
right to the tax credit.

Any credit amount exceeding the tax owed may be 
carried forward for four consecutive years as a credit 
against Utah tax due.

For more information, contact the Utah Geological Survey 
(UGS), 1594 W North Temple, Box 146100, SLC, UT 
84114-6100, telephone 801-538-5428, or at geology.
utah.gov/sep/incentives/index.htm.
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26. Subtract line 25 from line 24
If line 25 is greater than or equal to line 24, enter “0”.

27. Amended Returns Only 
  (Previous Refund)
This line is only for amended returns. When fi ling an 
amended return, enter the total amount of all refunds, 
credits, or offsets of state income tax received for the 
tax year being amended. Exclude refund interest from 
this amount.

28. Utah Use Tax
Use tax is required on all taxable items purchased 
for storage, use or consumption in Utah during the 
fi ling year, if sales and use tax was not paid at the 
time of purchase. Purchases include amounts paid 
or charged for purchases made on the Internet or 
through catalogs. 

Complete the worksheet on page 11 to determine the 
amount of use tax due. 

Credit is allowed for sales or use tax paid to another 
state, but not a foreign country. If the tax rate in the 
other state is lower than Utah’s rate, the taxpayer 
must pay the difference. If the tax rate in the other 
state is greater than Utah’s rate, no sales or use tax 
credit or refund is allowed. If sales taxes were paid to 
more than one state, complete a worksheet for each 
state. Enter the sum of the use tax from each work-
sheet on line 28.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use 
the chart on this page to fi nd the rate for the Utah lo-
cation where the merchandise was delivered, stored, 
used or consumed. If the city is not listed, use the 
county tax rate.

The sales tax rate on grocery food purchased through 
the internet or by mail order is 2% less than the 
reqular sales tax rate. In order to qualify for this re-
duced rate, the grocery food must be for substances 
sold for ingestion or chewing by humans and con-
sumed for the substance’s taste or nutritional value. 
The reduced rate does not apply to alcoholic beverag-
es or tobacco. For more information, see Tax Commis-
sion Publication 25, available at tax.utah.gov/forms.

WORKSHEET FOR COMPUTING UTAH USE TAX

1. Total amount of purchases subject
to use tax   $ __________

2. Use tax rate (decimal from chart)   x __________
3. Multiply line 1 by line 2   $ __________
4. Amount of purchases for grocery food

included on line 1   $ __________
5. Multiply line 4 by .02   $ __________
6. Subtract line 5 from line 3   $ __________
7. Credit for sales tax paid to another state    $ __________ 
8. Use tax due (subtract line 7 from line 6)
     Enter ZERO if less than ZERO   $ __________

Enter use tax of $400 or less. If the amount exceeds 
$400, the purchaser is required to obtain a sales and 
use tax license and to pay the use tax on a sales and 
use tax return.

29. Total Tax, Additions and Use Tax
Add lines 26, 27 and 28.

30. Utah Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total amount of UTAH TAX WITHHELD on 
this line. Utah tax withheld is identifi ed by the code UT 
and the amount withheld found on the following forms:

• W-2, boxes 15 and 17
• 1099-MISC, boxes 16 and 17
• 1099-R, boxes 10 and 11
• Utah withholding shown on any other form 1099

Attach to your Utah return a copy of each form show-
ing Utah withholding. Also, keep copies of all withhold-
ing forms with your records.

NOTE: If a Utah employer identifi cation number is not 
shown on forms W-2 in box 15, 1099-R in box 11, or 

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2008)
.0590 Beaver County
.0690 Beaver City
.0590 Box Elder County
.0645 Brigham City, Perry, 

Willard
.0690 Snowville
.0625 Cache County 
.0650 Cache Valley Transit, 

Hyde Park, Lewiston, 
Millville

.0655 Hyrum, Logan, 
N.Logan, Providence, 
Richmond, River 
Heights, Smithfi eld, 
Nibley 

.0590 Carbon County

.0630 Price

.0620 Wellington

.0690 Daggett County 

.0645 Davis County

.0655 Bountiful, Centerville

.0590 Duchesne County 

.0630 Roosevelt 

.0590 Emery County

.0770 Green River

.0690 Garfi eld County 

.0790 Boulder, Panguitch,
Tropic

.0800 Bryce Canyon

.0590 Grand County

.0780 Moab

.0590 Iron County 

.0600 Cedar City

.0780 Brian Head

.0590 Juab County

.0620 Nephi

.0690 Kane County 

.0790 Kanab, Orderville

.0590 Millard County

.0590 Morgan County  

.0590 Piute County

.0590 Rich County

.0690 Garden City  

.0680 Salt Lake County

.0830 Alta

.0590 San Juan County 

.0625 Blanding 

.0590 Sanpete County

.0620 Ephraim, Gunnison,
 Mt. Pleasant
.0590 Sevier County 
.0600 Aurora, Redmond
.0620 Richfi eld
.0630 Salina 
.0600 Summit County
.0740 Park City
.0630 Snyderville Basin Transit
.0590 Tooele County 
.0620 Erda, Grantsville, 
 Lakepoint, Lincoln, 

Stansbury Park
.0630 Tooele City
.0640 Uintah County 
.0665 Naples 
.0670 Vernal 
.0620 Utah County 
.0645 Alpine, American 

Fork, Cedar Hills, 
Highland, Lehi, Lindon, 
Mapleton, Payson, 
Pleasant Grove, Provo, 
Provo Canyon, Salem, 
Spanish Fork, Springville

.0655 Orem 

.0590 Wasatch County

.0620 Heber

.0700 Independence

.0730 Midway, Park City East

.0590 Washington County 

.0620 Hurricane, Ivins, La
 Verkin, St. George,
 Santa Clara, 

Washington City
.0750 Springdale
.0590 Wayne County
.0680 Weber County
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1099-MISC in box 17, the withholding on that form 
may be disallowed. Contact the employer or payer of 
the income to obtain the Utah employer ID number 
and write it on the withholding form.

Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding Tax Credit is 
entered on TC-41A, Part 5, using code 43, and should 
NOT be entered on this line.

31. Credit for Utah Fiduciary Tax Prepaid
Prepayments include payments you made with form 
TC-548, Fiduciary Income Tax Prepayment Coupon.

32. Amended Returns Only 
(Previous Payments)
This line is only for amended returns. When fi ling an 
amended return, enter the total amount of tax paid 
with the original return and any subsequent payments 
of the tax prior to fi ling this amended return.

33. Refundable Credits
Keep all related documents with your records. You 
may be asked to furnish this information later to verify 
a credit entered on your Utah return. 

To claim any of the following refundable credits, com-
plete TC-41A, Part 5 and attach it to your Utah return. 
On TC-41A, write the code and amount of each re-
fundable credit you are claiming. Carry the sum of all 
refundable credits to line 33. An explanation of each 
refundable credit is listed below.
Codes for Refundable Credits
39 Renewable Commercial Energy System Credit 
40 Targeted Business Tax Credit
43 Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding Tax Credit
46 Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Credit
48 Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit

(39) Renewable Commercial Energy System
  Credit (UC §59-10-1106)
Form TC-40E, Renewable Residential and Commercial 
Energy Systems Tax Credits, must be obtained from the 
Utah Geological Survey with their certifi cation stamp, 
verifying the credit has been approved and showing 
the amount of the approved credit. Do not send form 
TC-40E with your return. Keep the form and all related 
documents with your records.

This credit is for reasonable costs, including installation, 
of a commercial energy system that is an active solar 
system, a direct-use geothermal system, a geothermal 
heat-pump system, a hydroenergy system, or a passive 
solar system. Credit is also allowed for a commercial 
system that uses wind, geothermal electricity, or bio-
mass equipment.

For more information, contact the Utah Geological 
Survey (UGS), 1594 W North Temple, Suite 3110, 
Box 146100, SLC, UT 84114-6100, telephone 801-
538-5428, or at geology.utah.gov/sep/incentives/
index.htm.

(40) Targeted Business Tax Credit
  (UC §63M-1-504)
NOTE: An individual may not claim this credit in a year 
the individual claims the enterprise zone credit (non-
apportionable nonrefundable credit, code 07) or the 
recycling market development zone tax credit (nonap-
portionable nonrefundable credit, code 10).

A refundable credit is available to businesses provid-
ing a community investment project as defi ned in UC 
§63M-1-501 through §63M-1-503. Obtain a certifi ed 
copy of form TC-40TB, Targeted Business Income Tax 
Credit. Keep this form and all related documents with 
your records.

Contact the Governor’s Offi ce of Economic Develop-
ment, 324 S State St., Suite 500, SLC, UT 84111, 
telephone (801) 538-8775, goed.utah.gov/incen-
tives/enterprise_zones for additional information. 

(43) Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding Tax  
  Credit (non/part-year residents only)
  (UC §59-10-1103)
If you are a Utah nonresident shareholder of an S 
corporation, you are entitled to a credit for any Utah 
income tax withheld and paid by the S corporation on 
your behalf.

Enter the amount of the withholding credit claimed. 
Also, enter the federal identifi cation number of the S 
corporation in the space provided on TC-41A. If you 
have Utah withholding credits from more than one S 
corporation, enter the federal identifi cation number of 
the S corporation for which you are claiming the larg-
est amount of withholding. Also enter an “X” in the box 
on line 3 of form TC-41.

Keep federal Schedule K-1 issued by the corporation 
and all related documents with your records. You may 
be asked to furnish this information later to verify a 
credit entered on your Utah return.

Do not include Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding 
Tax Credit with the withholding tax on line 30.

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
  (UC §59-6-102(3))
Enter the total of the mineral production tax withheld as 
shown on forms TC-675R or federal Schedule K-1(s) 
for 2008.

Attach copies of form TC-675R or federal Schedule  
K-1 to the return to receive proper credit. (Attach 
these forms with other W-2 and 1099 forms.)

(47) Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel  
  Credit (UC §59-13-202)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

The credit is 24.5 cents per gallon only for motor fuel 
and undyed diesel fuel purchased in Utah to operate 
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stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm ma-
chinery used solely for commercial nonhighway agri-
cultural use that was taxed at the time of purchase. 

Activities that DO NOT qualify for this credit include, 
but are not limited to, the following: golf courses, horse 
racing, boat operations, highway seeding, vehicles 
registered for highway use, hobbies, farming for per-
sonal use, etc. 

Credit calculation:
Gallons _______ x .245 = Credit _____________

(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools Credit
  (UC §59-10-1105)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments (receipts, invoices, and documents showing 
amount of sales or use tax paid) with your records.

The refundable credit is allowed for sales and use tax 
paid on hand tools purchased and used or consumed 
primarily and directly in a farming operation in Utah. 
The credit only applies if the purchase price of a tool 
is more than $250.

34. Total Withholding and Refundable 
Credits
Add lines 30 through 33.

35. Tax Due
If the total tax amount on line 29 is greater than the 
total withholding and refundable credits amount on 
line 34, subtract line 34 from line 29. This is the tax 
you owe. Complete the TC-549 coupon on page 19 
and include it with your payment.

36. Penalty and Interest
If you are fi ling your return late or paying any tax due 
late, you may be subject to penalty and interest. You 
may calculate your penalty and interest by using the 
Penalty and Interest Calculator online at tax.utah.
gov/picalc or by following the instructions in Pub 58, 
Utah Penalty and Interest, available online at tax.
utah.gov/forms. If you do not include all applicable 
penalties and interest with your return, or the penalty 
and/or interest was calculated incorrectly, the Tax 
Commission will send you a bill.

PENALTIES: The penalty for failure to fi le a tax due 
return by the due date is a percentage of the unpaid 
tax, based on the number of days late. The penalty 
for failure to pay tax due as reported on a timely fi led 
return is a percentage of the tax due, based on the 
number of days late. Details for calculating these pen-
alties can be found at tax.utah.gov/billing/penaltyin-
terest.html and in Pub 58, Utah Penalty and Interest, 
available at tax.utah.gov/forms. Include these penal-
ties on line 36, if applicable.

The penalty for underpayment of an extension pre-
payment is 2 percent per month of the unpaid tax 
during the extension period. If the return is not fi led 

by the extension due date, failure to fi le and failure to 
pay penalties will apply, as if the extension had not 
been granted. Include this penalty on line 36, if ap-
plicable. 

There is no penalty for fi ling a return late (including an 
amended return) if there is no tax due on the return.

INTEREST: Calculate interest due from the due date 
(April 15, 2009) to the date paid using the 2009 rate 
of 5 percent (or applicable rate if after 2009). Include 
this interest on line 36, if applicable.

37. Pay this Amount
Add together any penalty and interest you owe and 
entered on line 36 to the tax on line 35, and enter the 
total on line 37. This is the total amount you should 
remit with your return. Complete the TC-549 coupon 
on page 19 and include it with your payment.

PAYMENT OPTIONS
You may pay tax online with your credit card or with an 
electronic check (ACH debit) from your checking ac-
count. Each online payment is subject to a service fee.

To pay online, go to paymentexpress.utah.gov and 
follow the step-by-step instructions.

You may also mail your check or money order payable 
to the Utah State Tax Commission with your return.  
Be sure to write your social security number or EIN, 
daytime telephone number, and “2008 TC-41” on your 
check.  DO NOT STAPLE check to return.  Remove 
the check stub before sending. DO NOT MAIL CASH 
with your return.  The Tax Commission assumes 
no liability for loss of cash placed in mail. Include 
the TC-549 coupon on page 19 with your payment. 
Mail your payment, coupon and return to Utah State 
Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City, UT 
84134-0250.

ALLOW AT LEAST 90 DAYS FOR YOUR RETURN 
TO BE PROCESSED.

PAYMENT AGREEMENT REQUEST: If you owe tax 
and are unable to pay the full amount owed, you may 
request a payment agreement by completing form TC-
804B, Payment Agreement Request, available at tax.
utah.gov/forms. You may also complete the request 
by accessing Utah Online Payment Agreement at tax.
utah.gov/billing/payment.html. If approved, you will 
receive a letter confi rming the acceptance of your 
request.

A payment agreement does not stop the accrual of 
penalty and interest. If you do not pay in full by the re-
turn due date, whether or not you request a payment 
agreement, any balance due will be subject to penalty 
and interest and a lien may be fi led to secure the debt.

A billing notice for the full amount due, including pen-
alty and interest, will be mailed to you. Upon receiving 
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this notice, you must pay the total amount due, unless 
you request a payment agreement by completing and 
mailing form TC-804B, completing the Utah Online 
Payment Agreement at tax.utah.gov/billing/pay-
ment.html, or calling 801-297-7703 or, if outside the 
Salt Lake area, 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7703. If you do 
not receive confi rmation of your payment plan within 
45 days, please call us.

Payments may be submitted prior to approval of the 
payment agreement or billing notice, per the instruc-
tions above.

NOTE: A payment plan cannot be set up until your 
return is processed.

38. Refund
If the total withholding and refundable credits amount on 
line 34 is greater than the total tax amount on line 29, 
subtract line 29 from line 34. This is your refund. 

39. Refund Applied To 2009 Taxes
You may apply all or part of your refund shown on line 
38 as a prepayment for your 2009 Utah fi duciary tax 
liability. Enter the amount of refund you want applied 
to your 2009 tax on this line. Any part of the refund 
not applied to your 2009 tax liability will be refunded 
to you (unless you have other outstanding govern-
ment obligations). Once made, this election cannot be 
changed.

Completing the Return

Signature
The return must be signed by the fi duciary or an offi -
cer representing the estate or trust. Failure to sign the 
return will delay any refund you are due.

Paid Preparer Authorization
If the fi duciary wants to allow the Tax Commission to 
discuss their 2008 Utah return with the paid preparer 
who signed it, enter an “X” in the box on the right side 
of the signature area of the return where indicated. 
This authorization applies only to the individual whose 
signature appears in the Paid Preparer Section of the 
return. It does not apply to the fi rm, if any, shown in that 
section.

If you enter an “X” in the box, the fi duciary is autho-
rizing the Tax Commission to call the paid preparer 
to answer any questions that may arise during the 
processing of the return. The paid preparer is also 
authorized to:
• Give the Tax Commission any information that is 

missing from the return,
• Call the Tax Commission for information about 

the processing of the return or the status of any 
refund or payment(s), and

• Respond to certain Tax Commission notices 
about math errors, offsets, and return preparation.

The fi duciary is not authorizing the preparer to receive 
any refund, bind the entity to anything (including any 
additional tax liability), or otherwise represent the en-
tity before the Tax Commission. If the fi duciary wants 
to expand the preparer’s authorization, complete and 
submit to the Tax Commission form TC-737, Power 
of Attorney and Declaration of Representative. Form 
TC-737 is available on our website at tax.utah.gov/
forms.

The authorization will automatically end no later than 
the due date (without regard to extensions) for fi ling 
the entity’s 2009 tax return. If you wish to revoke the 
authorization before it ends, submit your request in 
writing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention 
Taxpayer Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Paid Preparer Requirements
The paid preparer must enter his or her name, ad-
dress and social security number or PTIN in the sec-
tion below the taxpayer’s signature on the return.

Preparer Penalties 
The person who prepares, presents, procures, ad-
vises, aids, assists or counsels another on a return, 
affi davit, claim or similar document administered by 
the Tax Commission, and who knows or has reason to 
believe it may understate a tax, fee or charge is sub-
ject to both a civil penalty ($500 per document) and 
criminal penalties (second degree felony with a fi ne 
from $1,500 to $25,000). See UC §59-1-401(9) and 
(10) for specifi c details.
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Instructions for TC-41B – Non or Part-year Resident
Estate or Trust Income Schedule 

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah tax.

1. Complete form TC-41, page 1, through line 23.

2. Complete form TC-41B, Non or Part-Year Resi-
dent Estate or Trust Income Schedule.

3. On line 16 of your TC-41B, divide the total on line 
15 column A by the total on line 15 column B. 
Enter the resulting decimal rounded to four deci-
mal places. Do not enter an amount greater than 
1.0000.

4. On line 17 of your TC-41B, enter the tax from your 
TC-41, page 1, line 23.

5. On line 18 of your TC-41B, multiply the tax you 
entered on line 17 by the decimal on line 16. This 
is your Utah tax for a nonresident or part-year 
resident estate or trust. 

6. Transfer the tax from line 18 of your TC-41B to 
line 24 on page 2 of your TC-41.

7. Complete page 2 of your TC-41.

Attach a copy of form TC-41B to your Utah return. Do 
not attach a copy of your federal return. Also, keep a 
copy of form TC-41B and your federal return with your 
records.
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Instructions for TC-41C – Bankruptcy Estate Schedule

The fi ling of a bankruptcy petition for an individual 
debtor under chapter 7 or chapter 11 of the 
bankruptcy code creates a separate taxable 
bankruptcy estate. The trustee (for chapter 7 cases) 
or the debtor-in-possession (for chapter 11 cases) 
is generally responsible for preparing and fi ling the 
estate’s tax returns and paying its taxes. The debtor 
remains responsible for fi ling returns and paying taxes 
on any income that does not belong to the estate.

Amended Return. If a bankruptcy case begins, but is 
later dismissed by the bankruptcy court, the estate is 
not treated as a separate taxable entity. If tax returns 
have been fi led for the estate, amended returns must 
be fi led to move income and deductions from the 
estate’s returns to the debtor’s returns. If no returns 
have been fi led, report all income and deductions on 
the debtor’s returns.

Utah Instructions. A trustee or debtor-in-possession 
of a bankruptcy estate (chapter 7 or chapter 11) must 
fi le form TC-41, Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return, 
and attach a completed TC-41C, Bankruptcy Estate 
Schedule. Leave lines 4 through 20 of the TC-41 
blank. Line 21 of the TC-41 is the tax calculated on 
the TC-41C, line 16 or line 20, whichever is applicable. 
Then complete lines 22 through 39 of the TC-41 
according to the regular fi duciary instructions.

The estate’s tax liability is determined by completing 
the TC-41C with information and calculations similar 
to the Utah TC-40, Individual Income Tax Return. 
When completing the TC-41C, the following limitations 
apply:

• The Utah personal exemption is limited to 75% of 
a single federal personal exemption amount, or 
$2,625.

• The estate is limited to the standard deduction for 
a married taxpayer fi ling separately of $5,450, or 
if greater, the itemized deductions claimed on the 
federal form 1040 (which is attached to the federal 
fi duciary return, form 1041).

1. Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter the amount from line 37 of your federal return, 
form 1040, fi led for the bankruptcy estate. 

2. Additions to Income
Enter the code and amount of each addition to 
income here. Codes and explanations for these 
additions to income are found in the TC-40 tax return 
instruction booklet.

3. Add lines 1 and 2
Enter the total of line 1 and line 2. 

4. Deductions from Income
Enter the code and amount of each deduction from 
income here. Codes and explanations for these 
deductions from income are found in the TC-40 tax 
return instruction booklet.

5. Modifi ed Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 4 from line 3.

6. Tax Calculation
Multiply the modifi ed adjusted gross income on line 5 
by 5% (.05).

Taxpayer Tax Credit (lines 7 - 15)
(UC §59-10-1018)

7. Personal Exemption Deduction
A bankrupt estate is allowed an exemption amount of 
$2,625.

8. Standard or Itemized Deductions 
Enter $5,450 (standard deduction) or your federal 
itemized deductions from Schedule A, if greater.

9. State Income Tax Itemized on 2008 Fed-
eral Schedule A
Enter the amount, if any, of state income tax deducted 
on federal Schedule A, line 5. If you did not itemize 
your deductions on Schedule A, leave this line blank. 

10. Add Lines 7 and 8, then Subtract Line 9
First add the amount on line 7 and line 8, then sub-
tract the amount on line 9 from this total.

11. Multiply the Amount on Line 10 by .06
Multiply the amount on line 10 by 6 percent (.06).

12. Base Phase-out Amount
The base phase-out amount for a bankrupt estate is 
$12,000.

13. Subtract Line 12 from Line 5
Subtract the base phase-out amount on line 12 from 
the modifi ed adjusted gross income on line 5. 

14. Multiply Line 13 by .013
Multiply the amount on line 13 by 1.3 percent (.013). 
This is the credit phase-out amount.

15. Taxpayer Tax Credit
Subtract the phase-out amount on line 14 from the 
initial credit on line 11. If the result is less than zero, 
enter “0”.

16. Utah Income Tax
Subtract the taxpayer tax credit on line 15 from the 
tax calculated on line 6. If the result is less than zero, 
enter “0”.
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FULL-YEAR UTAH RESIDENT BANKRUPT ESTATE 
– Enter the tax from line 16 on line 21 of TC-41 and 
then complete the rest of the return.

NON OR PART-YEAR RESIDENT BANKRUPT ES-
TATE – Complete lines 17 through 20 on the TC-41C. 
Enter the tax from line 20 on line 21 of TC-41 and 
then complete the rest of the return.

Non or Part-year Resident (lines 17 - 20)
If fi ling for a nonresident or part-year resident bank-
ruptcy estate, complete form TC-40B and attach it to 
the TC-41 return. Instructions are found in the TC-40 
tax booklet.

Follow these steps to calculate your Utah tax.

1. Complete form TC-41C through line 16.

2. Complete form TC-40B, Non or Part-Year Resi-
dent Utah Income Schedule, only through line 
32. This form can be found in the Utah Individual 
Income Tax booklet or on the website at tax.utah.
gov/forms.

a. TC-40B, Column A – Utah Income and Adjust-
ments: Enter in column A (lines 1 through 16)  
all income or (loss) earned or received from Utah 
sources while not a Utah resident, plus all  
income  or (loss) earned or received from all 
sources while a Utah resident (even if not from 
a Utah source). Enter each adjustment (lines 17 
through 31) applicable to Utah income.

b. TC-40B, Column B – Federal Income and Ad-
justments: Enter in column B (lines 1 through  
16) the  total income or (loss) from all sources as 
reported on your federal return, as noted on the  
TC-40B. Enter the adjustments (lines 17 through 
31) claimed on your federal return, as noted on  
the TC-40B.

c. TC-40B, Line 32: 
• Calculate the amount on line 32 column A 

and carry this amount to TC-41C, line 17.
• Calculate the amount on line 32 column B 

and carry this amount to the TC-41C, line 18.

3. Enter on line 19 of your TC-41C, the result of 
dividing the amount on line 17 by the amount 
on line 18. Enter the resulting decimal rounded 
to four decimal places. Do not enter an amount 
greater than 1.0000.

4. Enter on line 20 of your TC-41C, the result of 
multiplying the tax you entered on line 16 by the 
decimal on line 19. This is your Utah tax. Enter 
this tax on line 20 of TC-41C and on line 21 of 
your TC-41. Then complete the remainder of your 
TC-41.

Reminder: Be sure to indicate on the TC-41 in box 1 
that this is a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Estate (code A) or 
a chapter 11 Bankruptcy Estate (code B).
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Who Must File
The trustee of a trust that has elected to be taxed 
as a qualifi ed funeral trust (QFT) fi les federal Form 
1041-QFT to report the income, deductions, gains, 
losses, etc., and income tax liability of the QFT. The 
trustee can use the state Form TC-41 to fi le for a 
single QFT, or for multiple QFTs having the same 
trustee following the instructions under Composite 
Return on this page. 

Pre-need funeral trusts that do not qualify as QFTs 
should use the regular instructions for Utah Form 
TC-41, Utah Fiduciary Income Tax Return.

Qualifi ed Funeral Trust
A QFT is a domestic trust that meets all of the follow-
ing requirements:

• It arose as a result of a contract with a person 
engaged in the trade or business of providing 
funeral or burial services or property necessary to 
provide such services.

• The sole purpose of the trust is to hold, invest and 
reinvest funds in the trust and to use those funds 
solely to pay for funeral or burial services or prop-
erty to provide such services for the benefi t of the 
benefi ciaries of the trust.

• The only benefi ciaries are individuals for whom 
such services or property is to be provided at 
their death under the contracts described above.

• The aggregate contributions to the trust on behalf 
of any single benefi ciary do not exceed $7,000 
and are made by or for the benefi t of such benefi -
ciaries.

• The trustee makes or previously had made the 
election to treat the trust as a QFT.

• If the QFT election had not been made, the 
trust would have been treated as owned by the 
purchasers of the contracts under the grantor 
trust provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. 
However, a trust that is not treated as owned by 
the purchaser solely because of the death of an 
individual shall be treated as meeting this require-
ment during the 60-day period beginning on the 
date of that individual’s death.

If a QFT has multiple benefi ciaries, each benefi ciary’s 
separate interest under a contract is treated as a 
separate QFT for the purpose of fi guring the tax and 
fi ling this return. Each benefi ciary’s share of the trust’s 
income is determined in accordance with the benefi -
ciary’s interest in the trust.

Whenever these instructions refer to a trust or QFT, it 
includes such separate interests that are treated as 
separate QFTs.

Contribution Limit
To determine whether a trust meets the $9,000 con-
tribution limit, you must determine not only whether 
there have been contributions in excess of $9,000, but 
also whether, over the anticipated life of the trust, it is 
expected to receive contributions in the future that ex-
ceed the contribution limit. Projected contributions are 
based on existing contributions, the applicable state 
law trust contribution requirements, and any expected 
contributions in excess of the state law requirements. 
You must make this determination at the inception of 
the trust and at any time the amount of the projected 
contributions changes. A trust that is determined at its 
inception not to exceed the contribution limit, but that 
exceeds the limit in a future year due to a change in 
projected contributions, will be deemed to exceed the 
contribution limit at the time of the change in projected 
contributions.

Making the Election
The trustee makes the election to treat a trust as a 
QFT by fi ling federal Form 1041-QFT by the due date 
(including extensions).

Composite Return
A trustee may fi le a single, composite Utah Form   
TC-41 for all QFTs of which he or she is the trustee, 
including QFTs that had a short tax year. Attach a 
schedule to the composite Utah Form TC-41 that 
includes the following information for each QFT (or 
separate interest treated as a separate QFT).
• The name of the owner or the benefi ciary. If you 

list the name of the owner and that trust has more 
than one benefi ciary, you must separate the trust 
into shares held by the separate benefi ciaries. 
The same information used on the federal Form 
1041-QFT can be used in computing the state 
tax. 

• The type and gross amount of each type of in-
come earned by the QFT for the tax year. For 
capital gains, identify separately the amount of 
net short-term capital gain, net long-term capital 
gain, 28% rate gain, and unrecaptured section 
1250 gain.

• The type and amount of each deduction and 
credit allocable to the QFT.

• The tax and payments made for each QFT.

• If the QFT was terminated during the year, give 
the date of the termination.

Qualifi ed Funeral Trust Information and Instructions 
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Specifi c Instructions
The line-by-line instructions should be followed with 
the exception of the computation of tax. Attach to the 
TC-41, schedules that include the number of QFTs.

Composite Return. If this is a composite return, the 
same information and schedules used on the federal 
Form 1041-QFT can be used in computing the state 
tax. Figure the taxable income separately for each 
QFT using each QFT’s share of the amounts on the 
lines referred to in Composite Return on page 18.

Tax Computation. A separate schedule should be 
used to calculate the tax for each QFT using the 5% 
tax rate for each QFT. Enter the sum of the tax for all 
QFTs on line 14.


