Utah Net Loss Carryback Instructions

A Utah net loss from a regular C corporation (TC-20) or a real estate investment trust
(TC-20REIT) must be carried back (subject to a $1,000,000 limitation), unless an
election is made to forego the federal loss carryback and carry the federal loss
forward. If an election is made to forego the federal net operating loss carryback, the
federal election is considered made also for Utah tax purposes unless the taxpayer
makes a specific election to carry back the loss for Utah purposes.

For Utah returns showing a net loss filed after 2008 (including prior year returns), a
Utah net loss to be carried back must be claimed on Utah form TC-20L, Utah
Application for Refund from a Corporation Loss Carryback, available at
www.tax.utah.gov/forms.

Do not submit an amended return for the purpose of claiming a loss carryback.
TC-20L must be used.



http://www.tax.utah.gov/forms
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Online Services

Visit our website for detailed tax information
and all Utah State tax forms/instructions.

tax.utah.gov

Utah now allows electronic filing for C Corporations

and S Corporations. References

tax.utah.gov/taxes/eleccorp.htmi UC: Utah Code
IRC: Internal Revenue Code

A
Pay tax f”e al‘,”d m?t‘ﬁe =PAYMENT Need forms?
ayments online with a . .

(F:)rgdit card or e-check. EXP RESS Print online at tax.utah.gov/forms,
or call (801) 297-6700 or

paymentexpress.utah.gov 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6700

File TC-20 if Corporation filed federal 1120

File TC-20S if S Corporation filed federal 1120S

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, contact the Tax Commission at (801) 297-3811
or Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD) (801) 297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response.



What’s New?
e Interest Rate: The Utah interest rate for the 2006
calendar year is 6 percent.

* Electronic Filing Option: See the followinginstruc-
tions for filing your corporate return electronically.

Electronic Filing for
Corporation Returns

Utah corporation returns for taxable years beginning
in 2005 may be filed electronically under a new joint
program between the Internal Revenue Service and
the Utah State Tax Commission.

The program is similar to the federal/state individual
electronicfiling program in which both federal and state
information is submitted at the same time. The IRS
extracts its federal data and forwards the state data
to the Tax Commission. No papers are required to be
mailed to the agencies when filing electronically.

Initially, for taxable years beginning in 2005, both C
corporations and S corporations may file electronically.
Other corporation returns will be added in the future.

Many software vendors are offering electronic corpora-
tion return filing. Check with your software provider to
see if they support this new program.

If you are interested in filing your corporation return
electronically, goto tax.utah.gov/taxes/eleccorp.html
for more information.

Corporation
Identification Numbers

The Utah State Tax Commission uses the Federal Em-
ployer Identification Number (EIN) as the corporation’s
taxpayer identification with the state. The Utah Depart-
ment of Commerce also issues a registration number
upon incorporation or qualification in Utah. Enter both
the EIN and Utah Incorporation/Qualification number
in the fields provided. These numbers are used for
proper identification of the corporate tax return and
any correspondence.

Corporation Changes

Corporation changes (e.g., name change, physical
and/or mailing address changes, merger, or ceasing
to do business in Utah) must be reported in writing to
both:

Division of Corporations

Department of Commerce

160 E 300 S

Salt Lake City, UT 84145
and:

Master File Maintenance

Utah State Tax Commission
210 N 1950 W

Salt Lake City, UT 84134-3310

TC-20 General Instructions and Information

Dissolution or Withdrawal

Corporations that cease to do business in Utah must
either dissolve or withdraw the corporation.

Corporations incorporated in Utah must file Articles
of Dissolution with the Department of Commerce. In
addition, Utah corporations should obtain a Certificate
of Tax Clearance from the Tax Commission prior to
dissolution.

Corporations incorporated outside of Utah (foreign
corporations) MUST obtain a Certificate of Tax Clear-
ance fromthe Tax Commission before withdrawing from
Utah. Foreign corporations must file an Application for
Withdrawal with the Department of Commerce.

To request a Certificate of Tax Clearance, complete
form TC-2001 and submit it to the attention of the
Customer Services Call Unit at the Tax Commission
address above. The form can be found on our website
at tax.utah.gov/forms.

To close related tax accounts (sales, withholding, etc.),
send a letter, with the account number(s) and the last
date of business, to the attention of Master File Main-
tenance at the Tax Commission address above.

Rounding Off to
Whole-dollar Amounts

Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round
down if cents are under 50 cents; round up if cents
are 50 cents and above. Do not enter cents anywhere
on the return.

Liability for Filing
and Paying Returns

Tax Forms

The Tax Commission does not mail returns for filing
corporate taxes to corporations registered with the
state. If the corporation does not use software that
provides the forms, you may obtain Utah forms by
downloading copies from the Tax Commission website
at tax.utah.gov/forms or by calling the Forms Hotline
at (801) 297-6700 or 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6700.

NOTE: Review Supporting Federal Information later
in these General Instructions to identify what federal
information is required with the Utah return.

Franchise Tax

Every C corporation incorporated in Utah (domestic),
qualified in Utah (foreign), or doing business in Utah,
whether qualified or not, must file a corporate franchise
tax return. C corporation returns are filed on form TC-
20. There is a minimum tax (privilege tax) of $100 on
every corporation that files form TC-20, regardless of
whether or not the corporation exercises its right to
do business.
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S Corporation

Every S corporation (as definedin IRC Section 1361(a))
that has filed a proper and timely election under IRC
Section 1362(a) must file form TC-20S, so long as the
federal election remains in effect. The minimum tax
does not apply to S corporations.

Income Tax

The only corporations required to file under the income
tax provisions are those that derive income from Utah
sources, butare not qualified to do business in Utah and
have no regular and established place of business in
this state, either owned or rented, and do not maintain
an inventory or have employees located at a place of
business in Utah. For example, a foreign corporation
with goods maintained in a public warehouse in Utah,
or a trucking company operated in or through Utah by
a foreign corporation not qualified to do business in
Utah, is subject to income tax rather than franchise tax.
Corporate income tax filers use form TC-20.

A $100 minimum tax applies to the corporate income tax.

Taxable Year

The taxable year for Utah corporation franchise or in-
come tax purposes must match the taxable year used
forfederal income tax purposes.When the taxable year
changes for federal purposes, the taxable year must
be adjusted accordingly for Utah corporation franchise
or income tax purposes. Refer to Filing Return When
Period Changed, below. If the taxable year is not a
calendar year, enter the beginning and ending dates
of the taxable year at the top of form TC-20 where
indicated.

Filing Return When Period Changed
When changes are made to the taxable year, as
indicated under Taxable Year above, a short-period
return is required. The short-period return must cover
the period of less than 12 months between the prior
taxable year-end and the new taxable year-end. The
tax rates as provided in UC §59-7-104 and §59-7-201
apply to short period returns, which includes a mini-
mum tax of $100.

Where to File

Send the completed return and any payment to:

Utah State Tax Commission
210N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84134-0300

Due Date
A return must be filed on or before the 15th day of the
fourth month following the close of the taxable year. If
the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday,
the due date becomes the next business day.

Filing Extension
Corporations are automatically allowed an extension
of up to six months to file a return without filing an ex-
tension form. This is an extension of time to file the
return — NOT an extension of time to pay taxes.
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To avoid penalty and interest, the prepayment require-
ments must be met on or before the original return due
date and all returns must be filed within the six-month
extension period.

Prepayment Requirements
Extension Prepayments

The required extension prepayments must equal 90
percent of the current year’s tax liability (or the $100
minimumtax, whicheveris greater) or 100 percent of the
previous year’s tax liability. Typically, corporations that
make estimated prepayments using formTC-559, Utah
Corporation Franchise/Income Tax Payment Coupon,
will have complied with the 90-percent requirement
and may not need to make additional prepayments to
avoid extension penalties.

Quarterly Payments

Every corporation having a Utah tax liability of $3,000
or more in the current taxable year, or a tax liability
of $3,000 or more in the previous taxable year, must
make quarterly estimated tax payments. In addition, a
parent company filing a combined report with affiliated
companies must make the quarterly paymentwhen the
aggregate amount is $3,000 or more for all companies
listed on Schedule M, including those paying only the
minimum tax.

A corporation is not subject to the estimated tax pay-
ment requirements the first year it is required to file a
return in Utah if the corporation makes a payment on or
before the due date, without the automatic extension,
equal to or greater than the minimum tax.

Quarterly estimated tax payments are due in four equal
payments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th
months of the corporation’s taxable year. Corporations
may electto make the quarterly estimated tax payments
equal to 90 percent of the current year’s tax liability or
100 percent of the prior year’s tax liability. As defined
in IRC Section 6655, the applicable percentage of the
required payment for annualized income installments,
for adjusted seasonal installments, and for estimated
tax payments based on the current year tax liability, is
the following:

Instaliment Percentage
1st 22.5
2nd 45.0
3rd 67.5
4th 90.0

If a taxpayer elects a different annualization period
than the period used for federal purposes, the taxpayer
must make an election with the Tax Commission at the
same time as provided in IRC Section 6655. Estimated
tax payments should be made with form TC-559, Utah
Corporation Franchise/Income Tax Payment Coupon.

Penalties

Utah law provides for uniform tax penalties for failure
to file tax returns, failure to pay tax due and failure to
file information returns or supporting schedules.



The penalty for failure to file a tax due return by the
due date is the greater of $20 or 10 percent of the
unpaid tax.

The penalty for failure to pay tax due as reported on
a timely filed return, or within 30 days of a notice of
deficiency, is $20 or 10 percent of the tax due, whichever
is greater. If a tax balance is still unpaid 90 days after
the due date on a late filed return, a second penalty
of $20 or 10 percent of the tax, whichever is greater,
will be added for failure to pay timely.

The penalty for underpayment of the extension
prepayment is 2 percent per month of the unpaid tax
during the extension period. If the return is not filed
by the extension due date, failure to file and failure
to pay penalties will apply, as if the extension had not
been granted.

The penalty for failure to file an information return
or complete supporting schedule is $50 for each return
or schedule to a maximum of $1,000.

The penalty for each underpayment of required
estimated tax or required quarterly installment is
determined by applying the Utahinterest rate(s) in effect
for the period of the underpayment plus four percent-
age points to the amount of the underpayment for the
period of the underpayment.

For a list of additional penalties that may be imposed,
refer to UC §59-1-401 and Pub 58.

The Tax Commission will calculate the penalty for
underpayment of required estimated tax payments.
Taxpayers who would like to calculate their own penalty
may contact the Tax Commission at (801) 297-7790 or
1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790 for assistance.

Exceptions to Penalty
on Estimated Tax

Annualized Exception

A corporation may annualize its income before determin-
ing the amount of each installment. It is recommended
federal guidelines be followedin determining annualized
income. If the corporation meets the annualized excep-
tion at the federal level, for any installment, indicate
by checking the appropriate box(es) on form TC-20,
Schedule A, line 25.

Recurring Seasonal Exception

A corporation with recurring seasonal income may an-
nualize its income before determining the amount of
each installment. It is recommended federal guidelines
be followedin determining seasonalincome.|fthe corpo-
ration meets the seasonal exception at the federal level
for any installment, indicate by checking the appropriate
box(es) on form TC-20, Schedule A, line 25.

Prepayment of Minimum Tax

Corporations that meet the prepayment requirement
in the current year and had a tax liability of $100 (the
minimum tax) for the previous year may choose to prepay
the minimum tax amount of $100 on the 15th day of the
12th month instead of four increments of $25.

Corporations that met the prepayment requirement
in the previous year and have a tax liability of $100

(the minimum tax) in the current year may choose to
prepay the minimum tax amount of $100 on the 15th
day of 12th month instead of four increments of $25.
In this scenario, the corporation must pay $100, not
90 percent.

Interest (in addition to penalties due)

Interest will be assessed at the rate prescribed by
law from the original due date until any outstanding
liability is paid in full. The interest rate for most taxes
and fees administered by the Tax Commission for the
2006 calendar year is 6 percent.

Pub 58, which contains applicable interest rates, is
available on the Internet at tax.utah.gov/forms or by
calling or writing the Tax Commission.

Suspension for Failure
to Pay Tax Due

Utah law provides for suspension of a corporation’s
right to do business in Utah if it fails to pay taxes due
before 5:00 p.m. on the last day of the 11th month after
the due date.

If a corporation owes tax and is unable to pay all or a
portion of the amount owed, the corporation may com-
plete formTC-804B, Payment Agreement Request. The
form can be obtained online at tax.utah.gov/forms.

Supporting Federal
Information

Federal form 1120, pages 1 through 4, as filed with
the IRS, should be attached when filing the Utah Cor-
poration Franchise or Income Tax Return, TC-20. If
you are required to file the form 1120, Schedule M-3
with your federal return, include a copy with your Utah
return also. Other detail schedules should NOT be
included with the Utah return unless otherwise speci-
fied in these instructions. The Auditing Division of the
Tax Commission may request these detail schedules
at a later date.

Combined Reports

Any corporation owned by another corporation, or
owning more than 50 percent of another corporation,
or a group of corporations related through common
ownership (i.e., certain brother/sister corporations)
and engaged in unitary business activity, must file a
combined report, including the combined income of all
such corporations.

Unitary Business

A unitary business exists if the activities of the corpo-
rations (subsidiary or affiliated corporations related
through common ownership) are economically interde-
pendent as demonstrated by the following factors:

e Strong centralized management
e Functional integration
e Attainment of operational economies of scale
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Water’'s Edge Combined Report
A unitary group is required to file on a water’s edge
basis unless the worldwide combination method has
been elected. A water’s edge combined reportincludes
the income and activities of all members of a unitary
group that are:

¢ Corporations organized orincorporatedin the United
States, including those corporations qualifying for the
Puerto Rico and Possession Tax Credit as provided
in IRC Section 936; and

e Corporations organized or incorporated outside of
the United States meeting the threshold level of
business activity.

Water’s Edge Election
A group of corporations that are not otherwise a uni-
tary group may elect to file a water's edge combined
report under UC §59-7-402(2) if each member of the
group is:

¢ Doing business in Utah;
e Part of the same affiliated group; and

e (Qualified under IRC Section 1501 to file a federal
consolidated return.

Each corporation within the affiliated group doing busi-
ness in Utah must consent to filing a combined report.
If an affiliated group elects to file a combined report,
each corporation within the affiliated group doing busi-
ness in Utah must file a combined report.

Corporations that elect to file a water’s edge combined
report under this section may not thereafter elect to
file a separate return without the consent of the Tax
Commission.

Worldwide

A unitary group may elect to file a worldwide combined
report. When the worldwide combined reporting method
is elected, the income/loss of each corporation within
the unitary group must be included regardless of the
country in which the corporations are incorporated or
conduct business.

Corporations electing to file a worldwide combined
report may not thereafter elect to file a return on a
basis other than a worldwide combined report without
the consent of the Tax Commission.

Threshold Level of Business Activity
Foreign corporations that conduct 20 percent or more
of their business activity in the United States, as
measured by the average of the property and payroll
factors, must be included 100 percent in a water’s
edge combined report. Any business activity in Utah
will subject a foreign corporation to Utah franchise tax.
The threshold test for purposes of combined reporting
determines whetherthe foreign corporationisa member
of a unitary group.

Foreign Dividends
Fifty percent of unitary foreign dividends are included
in adjusted income. The remaining 50 percent, less
expenses, are excluded. Referto UC §59-7-106(11)(a).
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Adjustment to the denominators of the apportionment
fraction for each dividend-paying company is provided
at the ratio that the included dividend bears to the total
earnings and profits for dividend-paying companies.

Preparation of Combined Report(s)

A group filing a combined report will calculate adjusted
income of the combined group by:

1. Determining which corporations are unitary;

2. Computing unadjustedincome on a separatereturn
basis;

3. Combiningincome or loss of the members included
in the combined report;

4. Making appropriate eliminations and adjustments
between members included in the combined report
toarrive atunadjustedincome on acombined basis;
and

5. Making additions and subtractions to unadjusted
income as outlined in Schedules B, C and D to ar-
rive at adjusted income.

A unitary group of corporations is considered a single
taxpayer for purposes of the assignment of sales in the
sales factor of the apportionment fraction. Therefore,
sales of tangible personal property by any member of
the unitary group delivered or shipped into Utah are
includable in the Utah sales numerator. Conversely,
such sales originating in Utah, which are delivered or
shipped to another state, will not be thrown back to the
Utah sales numeratorif any member of the unitary group
has a taxable presence (nexus) in that state. Refer to
Tax Commission Rule R865-6F-24.

IRC Sections 338,
338(h)(10), and 336(e)

An election made or considered to be made under IRC
Sections 338, 338(h)(10) and 336(e) is also followed
for Utah purposes.

IRC Section 338

If a federal election is made under IRC Section 338, the
target corporation must file a separate entity one-day
tax return for Utah purposes, as required for federal
purposes. The target corporation must include the gain
or loss on the deemed sale of assets in its adjusted
income.

Form TC-20 (338), One-day Corporation Tax
Return for Target Corporation, is available at
tax.utah.gov/forms.

IRC Section 338(h)(10)

If an election is made for federal purposes under IRC
Section 338(h)(10), the following apply:

1. If the target corporation is a member of a unitary
group immediately preceding the acquisition date,
the target corporation must be included in a com-
bined report to the extent of its income through the
acquisition date. The gain or loss on the deemed
sale of assets is included in the combined income
of the unitary group.



2. Ifthetarget corporation is nota member of a unitary
group immediately preceding the acquisition date,
the target corporation mustfile a short-period return
for the period ending on the acquisition date and
must include the gain or loss on the deemed sale
of assets in its adjusted income.

3. Any gain or loss on stock sold or exchanged by a
member of a selling consolidated group (as defined
in IRC Section 338) which is not recognized for fed-
eral purposes may not be included in the adjusted
income of the selling corporation.

4. The target corporation is treated as a new corpora-
tion as of the day after the acquisition date.

IRC Section 336(e)

If an election is made under IRC Section 336(e), the
transaction must be treated as follows:

1. If the corporation is treated for federal purposes as
having disposed of all of its assets and is a member
ofaunitary groupimmediately preceding the date of
sale, the corporation mustbe includedin a combined
return to the extent of its income through the date
of sale. The gain or loss on the deemed disposal of
assets is included in the combined income of the
unitary group.

2. If the corporation is treated for federal purposes
as having disposed of all of its assets and is not a
member of a unitary group immediately preceding
the date of sale, the corporation must file a short-
period return for the period ending on the date of
sale and mustinclude the gain orloss onthe deemed
disposal of assets in its adjusted income.

3. Anygainorlossnotrecognized forfederal purposes
on stock sold, exchanged or distributed by a corpo-
ration pursuant to IRC Section 336(e) may not be
included in adjusted income.

4. The new basis of assets of the corporation treated
as having disposed of its assets is the same as
determined for federal purposes.

5. The corporation treated as having disposed of its
assets is treated as a new corporation as of the day
after the date of sale.

Instalilment Sales

If a corporation is no longer required to file a Utah
corporate return, any taxes owed by that corporation
on installment sales entered into by that corporation
shall accelerate and be due on the corporation’s last
return filed in Utah.

Instructions for the TC-20 Tax Return

Corporation Name & Address

Enter the corporation name, address and telephone
number, including area code. If the address has
changed, check the physical address and/or mailing
address box.To make additional changes, see Corpora-
tion Changes in the General Instructions.

EIN and Utah Charter Number

Enter the federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)
and Utah Incorporation/Qualification Number issued by
the Department of Commerce in the appropriate fields.

Filing Period
If the return is being filed for a period other than the

calendar year ending Dec. 31, 2005, enter the begin-
ning and ending tax period dates.

Amended Returns

To amend a previously filed return, use the tax form
and instructions for the year you are amending.
You can obtain prior year forms and instructions at
tax.utah.gov/forms.

An amended state return should be filed promptly if:

¢ Anerrorisdiscovered onyour Utah or federal return
after it has been filed; or

e Your federal return is audited or adjusted by the IRS
and the audit or adjustment affects your Utah return.
Youmustreportsuch changes orcorrected netincome
within 90 days of the IRS’s final determination.

Do not submit an amended return for the purpose of
claiming a loss carryback refund. The Tax Commission
automatically calculates any carryback. Any refund will
be mailed to the corporation.
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To qualify for a refund or credit, an amended return
must be filed within three years following the date the
original return was filed. A return filed before the due
date is considered filed on the due date.

To amend a previously filed return, enter on page 1 of
the Utah return in the box titled “For Amended Return
- Enter Code” a code number that best corresponds to
your “REASON FOR AMENDING.” See codes below:

Reason-for-Amending Codes

1. You filed an amended return with the IRS (attach a
copy of your amended federal return).

2. You made an error on your Utah return (attach an
explanation of the adjustments made).

3. Federalauditadjustments, which resultedin changes
in federal taxable income, were issued and became
final (attach a copy of the IRS adjustment).

4. Other (attach explanation to return).

Complete the return, entering the figures as corrected.
Enter all other amounts as shown on your original Utah
return. If you received a refund on your original return,
subtract the previous refund from the amount of any tax
paid withthe original return and/or subsequentpayments
of the tax prior to filing the amended return. Enter the
net amount on Schedule A, line 19.

Do not submit a copy of your original return with the
amended return.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Line 1
Enter an “X” in the box on line 1 if this corporation con-
ducted business in Utah during the taxable year.

Line 2
Enter an “X”in the box on line 2 if the federal form 1120
for the same tax period was a consolidated return.

Line 3
Enter an “X” in the appropriate box to indicate whether
the return is:

a. A water’s edge combined report, or

b. AwatersedgeelectionmadeunderUC§59-7-402(2),
or

c. A worldwide combined report.

See Combined Reports in the General Instructions for
information on the proper filing method.

Line 4

Enter an “X” in the appropriate box(es) if an election
has been made under IRC Sections 338, 338(h)(10)
or 336(e). See the General Instructions for information
regarding these elections.

Line 5

Enter an “X” in the box on line 5 if this corporation is,
or includes, a financial institution as defined in Tax
Commission Rule R865-6F-32.
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Line 6
Enter the ultimate U.S. parent corporation’s name.

Line 7
Enter the ultimate U.S. parent corporation’s federal
employer identification number.

Line 8 - Refund
Enter the amount from Schedule A, line 23.

Line 9 - Tax Due
Enter the amount from Schedule A, line 24.

Line 10 — Total Penalties and Interest

Enterany applicable penalty andinterestamounts onthe
appropriate lines. Enter the total amount in box 10. The
Tax Commission will calculate the penalty for underpay-
ment of required prepayments. For help in calculating
penalties and interest, contact the Tax Commission at
(801) 297-7790 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 7790.

Line 11 — Utah Use Tax

Use tax is required on all taxable items purchased for
storage, use or consumption in Utah, if Utah sales and
use tax was not paid at the time of purchase. Purchases
include amounts paid or charged for taxable purchases
made on the Internet and through catalogs.

Complete the worksheet on page 7 to determine the
amount of use taxdue. Creditfor sales tax paid to another
state cannot exceed the Utah sales tax otherwise due on
those items. If sales taxes were paid to more than one
state, complete a worksheet for each state. Enter the
sum of the use tax from each worksheet on line 11.

Credit is allowed for sales or use tax paid to another
state, but not to a foreign country. If the sales tax rate in
the other state is lower than Utah’s sales tax rate, the
consumer is required to pay the difference. If the sales
tax rate in the other state is greater than Utah’s sales tax
rate, no sales or use tax credit or refund is allowed.

Enter use tax of $400 or less. If the amount exceeds
$400, the purchaser is required to obtain a sales and
use tax license and to pay the use tax on a Utah Sales
and Use Tax Return.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use the
chart on page 7 to find the tax rate for the Utah location
where the merchandise was delivered, stored, used
or consumed. If the city is not listed, use the county
tax rate.

Line 12 — Total Refund
Subtract lines 10 and 11 from line 8.

Line 13 — Total Tax Due

Add lines 9, 10 and 11. Make check payable to Utah
State Tax Commission. Do not mail cash. The Tax
Commission assumes no liability for the loss of cash
sent through the mail.

Signature and Date Lines

Sign and date the return. Refunds will not be granted
on returns without a signature and date.



Paid Preparer Authorization

If the corporation wants to allow the Tax Commission
to discuss their 2005 return with the paid preparer
who signed it, enter an “X” in the box on the right side
of the signature area of the return where indicated.
This authorization applies only to the individual whose
signature appears in the Paid Preparer Section of the
return. It does not apply to the firm, if any, shown in
that section. If you enter an “X” in the box, the corpo-
ration is authorizing the Tax Commission to call the
paid preparer to answer any questions that may arise
during the processing of the return. The paid preparer
is also authorized to:

e Give the Tax Commission any information that is
missing from the return,

e Call the Tax Commission for information about the
processing of the return or the status of any refund
or payment(s), and

* Respond to certain Tax Commission notices about
math errors, offsets, and return preparation.

The corporationis notauthorizing the preparerto receive
any refund, bind the entity to anything (including any
additional tax liability), or otherwise represent the entity
before the Tax Commission. If the entity wants to expand
the preparer’s authorization, complete and submit to

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2005)
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Heights, Smithfield ‘ Lakepoint, Lincoln,
.0600 Carbon County : Stansbury Park
.0625 Price, Wellington ‘ .0635 Tooele City
.0600 Daggett County | .0650 Uintah County
.0650 Davis County | .0675 Vernal
.0600 Duchesne County | .0600 thh County
.0625 Roosevelt ! .0625 Alpine, American
.0575 Emery County [ Fork, Cedar Hills,
.0750 Green River [ Highland, Lehi,
.0700 Garfield County ‘ Lindon, Mapleton,
.0800 Boulder, Panguitch, : Orem, Payson,

Tropic Pleasant Grove,
.0600 Grand County : Provo, Provo Canyon,
.0775 Moab Salem, Spanish Fork,
.0600 Iron County l Springville,
.0775 Brian Head | .0600 Wasatch County
.0600 Juab County | .0625 Heber
.0625 Nephi [ .0725 Park City East
.0675 Kane County [ .0600 Washington County
.0775 Kanab, Orderville \ .0625 Hurricane, lvins, La
.0575 Millard County ‘ Verkin, St. George,
0600 Morgan County : Santa Clara,
0600 Piute County ‘ Washington City
.0300 glcl(; Cogpty | .0750 ‘?vprlngdgle
.0700 arden City ‘ .0600 ayne County
.0660 Salt Lake County ,  .0660 Weber County
.0810 Alta |

the Tax Commission form TC-737, Power of Attorney
and Declaration of Representative. Form TC-737 is
available on our website at tax.utah.gov/forms.

The authorization will automatically end no later than
the due date (without regard to extensions) for filing
the entity’s 2006 tax return. If you wish to revoke the
authorization before it ends, submit your request in
writing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention
Taxpayer Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Paid Preparer

The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address,
and social security numberor PTIN inthe section below
the corporate officer’s signature on the return.

Preparer Penalties

The person who prepares, presents, procures, advises,
aids, assists or counsels another on a return, affidavit,
claim or similar document administered by the Tax
Commission, and who knows or has reason to believe
it may understate a tax, fee or charge is subject to both
acivil penalty ($500 per document) and criminal penal-
ties (second degree felony with a fine from $1,500 to
$25,000). See Utah Code Sections 59-1-401(9) and
(10) for specific details.

Supplemental Information
to be Supplied by All
Corporations

All corporations must complete this information located
on the back of the return.

. Total amount of purchases subject to use tax.......... $ 0000
. Use tax rate (decimal) from chart ..........cccovvvennenn. $
. Use tax (multiply line 1 by lin€ 2) .......cccceveiiiieenene $
. Credit for sales tax paid to another state ................. $

. Amount of use tax due (line 3 less line 4)

Worksheet for Computing Utah Use Tax
(Retain this worksheet for your records.)

Enter ZERQ if less than zero ..............cccceeeueeeenenne. $




Line 1
Enter the total amount of all refunds applied from the
prior year.

Line 2
List the date, check number and amount of extension
prepayment.

Line 1 - Unadjusted Income/Loss

Enter the federal taxable income (before net operating
loss deduction and special deductions) from line 28 of
federal form 1120 or line 24 of federal form 1120-A.

Line 2 - Additions to Unadjusted Income
Enter the total additions from Schedule B, line 15.

Line 3 - Subtractions from Unadjusted Income
Enter the total subtractions from Schedule C, line 14.

Line 4 — Adjusted Income
Add lines 1 and 2, and then subtract line 3.

Line 5- Nonbusiness Income Net of
Related Expenses
Add lines 5a and 5b.

Line 5a — Utah Nonbusiness Income
Enter the Utah nonbusiness income allocated to Utah
from Schedule H, line 13.

Line 5b — Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income
Enter the non-Utah nonbusiness income allocated
outside Utah from Schedule H, line 26.

Line 6 — Apportionable Income Before
Contributions Deduction
Subtract line 5 from line 4.

Line 7 - Utah Contributions
Enter the amount of Utah contributions from Schedule
D, line 8.

Line 8 - Apportionable Income
Subtract line 7 from line 6.
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Instructions for Schedule E -
Prepayments of Any Type

Line 3

List the date, check number and amount of all prepay-
ments made for the filing period. Enter the total amount
on line 3. Attach additional pages, if necessary.

Line 4
Add lines 1, 2, and 3. Enter the total on this line and
on Schedule A, line 18e.

Instructions for Schedule A -
Utah Taxable Income and Tax Due

Line 9 - Apportionment Fraction
Enter 100 percent, or the fraction from Schedule J,
line 7, if applicable.

Line 10 — Apportioned Income
Multiply the amount on line 8 by the fraction on line 9.

Line 11 — Utah Nonbusiness Income
Enter the amount shown on line 5a above.

Line 12 - Utah Taxable Income/Loss

Add lines 10 and 11. If Utah taxable income on line 12
is a loss, the corporation may choose to: 1) carry the
loss back (subject to the $1,000,000 limitation), or 2)
forego the loss carryback and carry the loss forward,
if the federal election to forego was made.

If an election is made to forego the federal net operat-
ing loss carryback, a similar election is considered to
be made for Utah tax purposes unless the taxpayer
makes a specific election to carry back the loss for Utah
purposes. Indicate in the appropriate box whether you
elect to forego the Utah net loss carryback:

Yes, forego the loss carryback
No, treat the loss as a carryback

If an election is not made to forego the loss carryback,
the Utah net loss will be carried back to the earliest
of the three preceding tax years; if not entirely used
to offset income of that year, it will be carried to the
second year preceding the loss year; any remaining
loss will be carried to the taxable year immediately
preceding the loss year. Any remaining loss should
be carried forward.

Do not submitan amended return for the purpose of
claiming a loss carryback refund. A refund resulting
from a loss carryback will be sent automatically.



Line 13 — Utah Net Loss Carried Forward from
Prior Years

Losses incurred in years beginning on or after Jan. 1,

1994, which remain after all carrybacks have been ap-

plied, may be carried forward for fifteen taxable years

following the taxable year of the loss.

Attach documentation to the return to support the loss
amounts carried forward on Schedule A, line 13.

Line 14 — Net Taxable Income
Subtract line 13 from line 12.

Line 15 — Calculation of Tax
Add lines 15c and 15d.

Line 15a
Multiply line 14 by .05.

Line 15b
Multiply the number of corporations listed on Schedule M
by $100. If Schedule M is not applicable, enter $100.

Line 15¢
Enter the amount from line 15a or 15b, whichever is
greater.

Line 15d

Interest on Instaliment Sales

Generally, interest must be paid on the deferred tax
related to installment sales if the contract was entered
into on or after Jan. 1, 1994,

The rate of interest applicable must be determined
pursuant to IRC Section 453A. Enter the interest as
an additional tax on Schedule A, line 15d.

The deferred tax liability for Utah purposes must be
calculated in a manner similar to that outlined in IRC
Section 453(A)(c), except:

1. The tax rate applied must be 5 percent; and

2. Inthe case of multistate corporations, the amount of
Utah gain which has not been recognized must be
determined by multiplying the deferred gain, which
has not been recognized for federal purposes, by
the current year apportionment fraction.

Tax from Recapture of Credits

Owners of a low-income housing project and other
taxpayers who have taken the low-income housing
credit and disposed of the building or an ownership
interest may be required to recapture any credits that
have reduced their tax liability in a previous year. See
Utah form TC-40LIS for instructions on calculating
the Low Income Housing Credit Recapture Tax. At-
tach a supporting schedule showing the calculation
of the credit recaptured. The form can be obtained at
tax.utah.gov/forms.

Line 16 — Nonrefundable Credits
Nonrefundable credits cannot be used to pay the mini-
mum tax and cannot result in a refund.

If you claim any of the following nonrefundable credits,
write the code and amount of each nonrefundable
credit you are claiming on lines 16a through 16f. Enter

the sumof allnonrefundable credits online 16. An expla-
nation of each nonrefundable credit is listed below.

Use these codes for lines 16a through 16f

02 Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution
Credit

03 Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credit
05 Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit

06 Historic Preservation Tax Credit

07 Enterprise Zone Tax Credit

08 Low-income Housing Tax Credit

09 Credit for Employers who Hire Persons with Dis-
abilities

10 Recycling Market Development Zone Tax Credit

12 Credit for Increasing Research Activities

13 Credit for Machinery and Equipment Used to
Conduct Research

14 High Technology Equipment Contribution Tax
Credit

15 Utah Municipal, U.S. and Agency Bond Interest
Tax Credit

16 Utah Steam Coal Credit Carryforward

(02) Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash
Contribution Credit (UC §59-7-602)

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-

ments with your records.

Cash contributions made within the tax year to a quali-
fied nonprofit rehabilitation sheltered workshop facility
operatingin Utah for persons with disabilities are eligible
for a credit against Utah income taxes. Check with the
workshop to make sure they have a current Day Training
Provider License or Day Support Provider Certificate
issued by the Department of Human Services.The credit
is equal to 50 percent of the total cash contributions,
not to exceed $1,000. If the contribution was deducted
when calculating federal taxable income (federal form
1120, line 19), that amount must be deducted from
current year contributions (Utah Schedule D, line 5a)
before the credit may be claimed on this line.

For more information, contact:

Contract Administrator

Division of Services for People with Disabilities
120 N 200 W #411

SLC, UT 84103

(801) 538-4200

www.hsdspd.utah.gov

(03) Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credit

(UC §59-7-614)
Complete form TC-40E, Renewable Energy Systems
Tax Credit, with the Utah Energy Office stamp, verify-
ing the credit has been approved. Do not send form
TC-40E with your return. Keep the form and all related
documents with your records.
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To qualify for this credit, you must have installed or
upgraded a renewable energy system, such as solar or
wind generated power systems, during the tax period.
Energy savingdevices, such asinsulation, siding thermal
windows and high efficiency furnaces, do not qualify.

In order to determine if your system or system compo-
nents and installation qualify for the tax credit, submit a
signed application, complete with photocopies of receipts,
to the Utah Geological Survey.

Application forms can be obtained from:

Utah Geological Survey

1594 W North Temple, Suite 3110

Box 146100

SLC, UT 84114-6100

(801) 538-5428
www.energy.utah.gov/incentives.htm

If your system meets the eligibility requirements, UGS
will send you form TC-40E with information on your
eligible system and installation costs and the UGS
stamp of approval.

(05) Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit

(UC §59-7-605)
Complete form TC-40V, Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit
with the Division of Air Quality approval stamp verify-
ing the credit has been approved. Do not send form
TC-40V with your return. Keep this form and all related
documents with your records.

To qualify you must have:

e Purchased a vehicle which is registered in Utah, for
which this credit has not been taken, that was manu-
factured to use propane, natural gas or electricity; or

* Purchased and installed equipment to convert a
vehicle registered in Utah to use propane, natural
gas or electricity.

Note: A hybrid vehicle qualifies only if the same vehicle
model is manufactured without the clean-fuel fueling
system and the hybrid vehicle otherwise meets the
requirements for a clean fuel vehicle.

To obtain form TC-40V, approval, and for additional
information, contact:

Division of Air Quality
150 N 1950 W

SLC, UT 84116

(801) 536-4026

(06) Historic Preservation Tax Credit

(UC §59-7-609)
Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax Credit
with the State Historic Preservation Office certification
verifying the credit has been approved. Do not send
form TC-40H with your return. Keep this form and all
related documents with your records.

The creditis for costs incurred in connection with quali-
fied rehabilitation of any residential certified historic
building. Unused credits may be carried forward five
years as a credit against Utah tax due.
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To obtain form TC-40H, certification, and for additional
information, contact:

State Historic Preservation Office

300 Rio Grande

SLC, UT 84101

(801) 533-3562
history.utah.gov/historic_preservation

(07) Enterprise Zone Tax Credit

(UC §63-38f-413)
A business may not claim the enterprise zone credit or
carry it forward into a year the business has claimed
either the recycling market development zone credit
(nonrefundable credit, code 10) orthe targeted business
income tax credit (refundable credit, code 40).

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments with your records.

The Enterprise Zone Credit is available for certain
businesses that hire new full-time employees, reha-
bilitate buildings, or meet certain other requirements
in a designated zone.

Any credit amount exceeding the tax owed may be
carried forward for a period that does not exceed the
next three taxable years.

Indian tribes may apply for enterprise zone designation
within an Indian reservation.

If enterprise zone credits are being taken based on
your ownership in a partnership or S corporation, you
must allocate the credits calculated based on your
respective percentage of ownership.

For additional information, contact:

Governor’s Office of Economic Development
324 S State St, Suite 500

SLC, UT 84111

(801) 538-8775

goed.utah.gov/incentives/
enterprise_zones

(08) Low Income Housing Tax Credit
(UC §59-7-607)

Individuals sharing in the credit must obtain form
TC-40TCAC, Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit
Allocation Certification and complete form TC-40LlI,
Summary of Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. If
you are carrying this credit forward or backward, you
must also complete form TC-40LIC, Utah Low-Income
Housing Tax Credit Carryback and/or Carryforward. Do
not send these forms with your return. Keep the forms
and all related documents with your records.

The building project owner must complete and attach
form TC-40LIS, Credit Share Summary of Low-Income
Housing Project to the return.

This creditisan amount determined by the Utah Housing
Corporation, for owners of a low-income housing project
who have received an allocation of the federal low-income
housing tax credit. Unused credits may be carried back
three years or carried forward five years.



When this credit is applicable, the project owner will
provide form TC-40TCAC (executed by the Housing
Corporation) to the taxpayer.

If the low-income housing credit was claimed and the
building or ownership interest was subsequently dis-
posed of, recapture of the credit may be required. See
Tax from Recapture of Credits on page 9.

For additional information, go to the Utah Housing
Corporation website at www.utahhousingcorp.org

(09) Credit For Employers Who Hire Persons
with Disabilities (UC §59-7-608)

Complete form TC-40HD, Tax Credit for Employers

Who Hire Persons with Disabilities showing the re-

quired certification. Do not send form TC-40HD with

your return. Keep the form and all related documents

with your records.

The credit is for employers hiring individuals with dis-
abilities who: (1) worked in Utah for at least 6 months
in a taxable year for that employer, and (2) are paid at
least minimum wage by that employer.

To obtain form TC-40HD, certification or for additional
information, contact:

Division of Services for People with Disabilities
120 N 200 W, #411

SLC, UT 84103

(801) 538-4200

www.hsdspd.utah.gov

(10) Recycling Market Development Zone Tax
Credit (UC §59-7-610)

A business may not claim the recycling market devel-

opment zone credit or carry it forward into a year the

business has claimed either the enterprise zone credit

(nonrefundable credit, code 07) or targeted business

income tax credit (refundable credit, code 40).

Complete form TC-40R, Recycling Market Develop-
ment Zone Tax Credit, with the Governor’s Office of
Economic Development certification, verifying the credit
has been approved. Do not send form TC-40R with
your return. Keep the form and all related documents
with your records.

The Utah legislature has authorized this credit for
individuals and businesses operating in a designated
recycling market development zone as defined in UC
§63-38f-1102.

To obtain form TC-40R, certification, and for additional
information, contact:

Governor’s Office of Economic Development
324 S State St, Suite 500

SLC, UT 84114-7360

(801) 538-8804
goed.utah.gov/incentives/recycling_zones
email: Iprall@utah.gov

(12) Credit for Increasing Research Activities
(UC §59-7-612)

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-

ments with your records.

The creditis for expenses incurred for increasing quali-
fied research activities in Utah. A qualifying taxpayer
may claim the credit in the taxable year immediately
following the taxable year for which the taxpayer quali-
fies for the credit.

For detailed information regarding this credit, includ-
ing definition of terms and procedures for claiming the
credit, refer to UC §59-7-612.

(13) Credit for Machinery and Equipment Used
to Conduct Research (UC §59-7-613)

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-

ments with your records.

The credit is for machinery, equipment, or both, used
primarily for conducting qualified research or basic
research in Utah for not less than 12 consecutive
months. A qualifying taxpayer may claim the credit in
the taxable year following the taxable year for which
the taxpayer qualifies for the credit.

For detailed information regarding this credit, includ-
ing definition of terms and procedures for claiming the
credit, refer to UC §59-7-613.

(14) High Technology Equipment Contribution
Tax Credit (UC §59-7-603)

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-

ments with your records.

A nonrefundable tax credit is allowed for 25 percent of the
fairmarketvalue of hightechnology equipmentcontributions
to public education, not to exceed the basis of the property
contributed.Ifthe contribution was deducted when calculat-
ing federal taxable income, that amount must be deducted
from current-year contributions (Utah Schedule D, line 5b)
before the credit may be claimed on this line.

(15) Utah Municipal, U.S. and Agency Bond
Interest Tax Credit (UC §59-7-601)

Attach a schedule showing the calculation of credit.

Keep a copy of the schedule and all related documents

with your records.

A credit of 1 percent of Utah municipal interest and
federal interest included in Utah taxable income will be
allowed. For multistate corporations, the amount of Utah
municipal and federal interest included in Utah taxable
income is calculated by multiplying the total amount of
thatinterest by the current year apportionment fraction.
The credit is nonrefundable but may be carried back
three years and forward five years.

(16) Utah Steam Coal Credit

This credit was repealed for tax years beginning on or
after Jan. 1, 2002. Unused credits earned prior to the
repeal date may be carried forward 15 years.

Line 17 - Net Tax
Subtract line 16 from line 15. Enter the results, but not
less than the minimum tax shown on line 15b.
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Line 18 - Refundable Credits
Add lines 18a through 18e.

If you claim any of the following refundable credits, write
the code and amount of each refundable credit you
are claiming on lines 18a through 18d. Enter the sum
of all refundable credits on line 18. An explanation of
each refundable credit is listed below.

Codes for lines 18a through 18d
40 Targeted Business Tax Credit
46 Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit

47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Fuel
Tax Credit

48 Farm Operation Hand Tools

(40) Targeted Business Income Tax Credit

(UC §63-38f-501 thru 503)
Abusiness may not claim the targeted businessincome
tax credit in a year the business has claimed either the
enterprise zone credit (nonrefundable credit, code 07)
or recycling market development zone credit (nonre-
fundable credit, code 10).

Obtain a certified copy of form TC-40TB, Targeted
Business Income Tax Credit. Keep this form and all
related documents with your records.

A refundable credit is available to businesses provid-
ing a community investment project as defined in
UC §63-38f-501 through §63-38f-503.

To obtainform TC-40TB, certification, and for additional
information, contact:

Governor’s Office of Economic Development
324 S State St., Suite 500

SLC, UT 84111

(801) 538-8775
goed.utah.gov/incentives/enterprise_zones

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Credit
(UC §59-6-102(3))

Enter the total of the mineral production tax withheld
as shown on forms TC-675R or federal schedule K-
1(s) for 2005. For a fiscal year corporation, the credit
is claimed on the corporate return required to be filed
during the year following the December closing period
of the form TC-675R.

Attach copies of form TC-675R or federal schedule K-1
to the return to receive proper credit.

(47) Agricultural Off-Highway Gas/Undyed Diesel
Fuel Tax Credit (UC §59-13-202)

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-

ments with your records.

The credit is 24.5 cents per gallon only for motor fuel
and undyed diesel fuel purchased in Utah to operate
stationary farm engines and self-propelled farm machin-
ery used solely forcommercial nonhighway agricultural
use that was taxed at the time of purchase.

Activities that DO NOT qualify for this credit include,
but are not limited to, the following: golf courses, horse
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racing, boat operations, highway seeding, vehicles
registered for highway use, hobbies, and farming for
personal use.

Credit calculation:
Gallons X .245 = Credit

(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools

(UC §59-7-614.1)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related docu-
ments (receipts, invoices, documents showing amount
of sales or use tax paid) with your records.

The refundable credit is allowed for sales and use tax
paid on hand tools purchased and used or consumed
primarily and directly in a farming operation in Utah.
The credit applies only if the purchase price of a tool
is more than $250.

Line 18e —Total Prepayments

A refundable credit is allowed for advance payments
made as quarterly estimated tax payments, prepay-
ments and extension payments (form TC-559). Include
any overpayments from a prior year that were applied
to this year. Use Schedule E to compute the total
prepayment.

Line 19 — Amended Returns Only (Previous
Payments Less Previous Refunds)

This line should only be used for amended returns.

Enter the amount of tax paid with the original return

and/or subsequent payments made prior to filing this

amended return less any previous refunds (exclude

refund interest).

Line 20 — Total Refundable Credits
Add lines 18 and 19.

Line 21 — Overpayment
If line 20 is larger than line 17, subtract line 17 from
line 20.

Line 22 — Overpayment to be Applied to Next
Taxable Year

All or part of any refund shown on line 21 may be

applied as an advance payment for the next tax year.

Enter the amount to be applied (may not exceed the

overpayment).

Line 23 — Refund
Subtract line 22 from line 21, and enter the amount
here and on Form TC-20, line 8.

Line 24 — Tax Due

If line 17 is larger than line 20, subtract line 20 from
line 17 and enter the amount here and on form TC-20,
line 9.

Line 25 — Quarterly Estimated Prepayments
Meeting Exception

Check any boxes corresponding to the four quarters in

which penalty exceptions exist. Refer to Prepayment

Requirementsinthe General Instructions for exceptions

to the penalty on underpayments. Attach supporting

documentation.



Line 1 - Interest From State Obligations
Enterinterestfrombonds, notes and other evidences of
indebtedness issued by any state of the United States,
including any agency and instrumentality of a state of
the United States.

Lines 2a - 2e — Add Taxes Deducted to

Determine Income
Amounts included in federal taxable income from re-
funds of the following taxes should be netted against
similar taxes on the appropriate lines.

Line 2a — Income Taxes Paid to Any State
Enter taxes imposed by any state that are measured
by income.

Line 2b — Franchise or Privilege Taxes Paid to
Any State

Enter franchise taxes paid by a corporation to any state

for taxes imposed for the privilege of doing business

or exercising its corporate franchise.

Line 2c — Corporate Stock Taxes Paid to
Any State
Enter corporate stock taxes paid to any state.

Line 2d — Foreign Taxes Paid

Enter any income, franchise, or capital stock taxes im-
posed by a foreign country, a United States possession
or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Line 2e - Business and Occupation Taxes
Enter business and occupation taxes deducted for
federal purposes.

Line 3 — Safe Harbor Lease (SHL) Adjustments
SHLs originated from adjustments primarily available
to businesses during the years 1981 and 1982 under
ERTA. These provisions allowed transfers of certain
tax benefits for federal tax purposes. However, Utah
did not adopt these provisions and the effects of any
remaining SHL adjustments must be reversed for Utah
purposes.

Add to income:
SHL Purchaser/Lessor

1. Interest expense
2. Depreciation claimed on SHL property

SHL Seller/Lessee

1. Amount of gain on the sale of federal tax benefits
2. Rental expense on SHL property

Line 4 - Capital Loss Carryover

Enter any capital losses deducted on a Utah corporate
return in previous years, but used to offset capital gains
on this year’s federal return.

Instructions for Schedule B -
Additions to Unadjusted Income

Line 5- Federal Deductions Taken Previously
on a Utah Return

Enter any deduction on the federal return deducted on

a prior year Utah return.

Line 6 — Federal Charitable Contributions
Enterfederal charitable contributions from federal forms
1120 or 1120-A, line 19.

Line 7- Gain/Loss on Sections
338(h)(10) or 336(e)

Enter the amount of gain or loss determined under
UC §59-7-114(3) regarding a target corporation under
IRC Section 338, if that gain or loss has not been in-
cluded in income, and the amount of any gain or loss
determined under UC §59-7-115 regarding corporations
treated for federal purposes as having disposed of its
assets under IRC Section 336(e), if that gain or loss has
not been included in income.

The purpose of this addition is to make sure the gain or
loss on IRC Section 338(h)(10) and 336(e) transactions
are treated similarly for Utah and federal purposes as a
deemed sale of assets. The gain or loss is only added if
it has not already been included in income.

Line 8 - Basis Adjustments

Utah laws generally follow the Internal Revenue Code
for depreciation, amortization and basis. However,
basis differences occasionally arise due to differences
between state and federal laws in limited instances.
Some examples include: a) an IRC Section 338 elec-
tion in a tax year beginning prior to Jan. 1, 1994; and
b) adjustments attributed to the federal consolidated
rules under IRC Section 1502. A company may not
deduct basis differences generated by errors in prior
returns in years when Utah and federal depreciation or
amortization amounts are required to be the same.

Line 9- Expenses Attributable to 50 percent

Unitary Foreign Dividend Exclusion
Enterthe expenses directly and indirectly attributable to
the dividends from subsidiaries excluded on Schedule C,
line 7 (i.e., 50 percent of the unitary foreign dividends).
To calculate indirect interest expense attributable to
excluded dividends:

1. Divide the taxpayer’s average investment in divi-
dend paying subsidiaries by the taxpayer’s average
investment in total assets.

2. Multiply the result by the total interest expense.

Line 10 — Installment Sales Income Previously
Reported for Federal but Not Utah
Purposes
Add installment sales income from installment sales
made in tax years beginning before Jan. 1, 1994 if the
Utah installment provisions of former UC §59-7-119
were used. If the Utah installment provisions were
used on the Utah return, then a timing difference was
created between federal and Utah.
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Line 11 — Refund Received from Utah
Educational Savings Plan (UESP)

A participant in the Utah Educational Savings Plan
shouldreceive aformTC-675H, Statement of Withhold-
ing for Utah Educational Savings Plan, from the UESP
trustee. Enter the amount from line 1 of form TC-675H.
Keep form TC-675H with your records. If you have any
questions about UESP, call 1-800-418-2551.

Line 12 - Income/Loss From IRC Section 936
Corporations

IRC Section 936 corporations are fully includable in the

combined report. Add income/loss from IRC Section

936 corporations.

Line 13 — Foreign Income/Loss For Worldwide
Combined Filers

Corporations electing to file a worldwide combined re-

portmustinclude income andlosses of each corporation

Line 1 - Intercompany Dividend Elimination
Enterdividends received from U.S. corporations owned
greater than 50 percent whose income is included on
this return and whose dividend has not been previously
eliminated.

Line2- Foreign Dividend Gross-up

Enter the foreign dividend gross-up included in gross
income for federal income tax purposes under IRC
Section 78.

Line 3 - Net Capital Loss

The corporation must include its capital losses on this
line if an election is being made to take a deduction for
capitallossesincurredinthe taxable year.|facurrentyear
deduction is not taken, the loss must be carried forward
as provided in IRC Section 1212(a)(1)(B) and (C).

Line 4a — Federal Jobs Credit Salary Reduction
Enter the amount of salary expense reduction due to
claiming the federal jobs credit under IRC Section 51.

Line 4b - Federal Research and Development
Credit Expense Reduction

Enter qualified research and basic research expense

reduction due to claiming the research and develop-

ment credit under IRC Section 41.

Line 4c - Federal Orphan Drug Credit Clinical
Testing Expense Reduction

Enter qualified clinical testing expense reduction due

to claiming the federal orphan drug credit under IRC

Section 28.
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in the unitary group regardless of the country in which
the corporation is incorporated or conducts business.
Add any income or loss before extraordinary items and
prior period adjustments and before the provision for
income, war profits and excess profits taxes as reported
on federal form 5471 for foreign corporations.

Line 14 - Income/Loss of Unitary Corporations
Not Included on Federal Consolidated
Return

Add income and losses of unitary corporations owned

greater than 50 percent whose income or loss is not

included on the federal consolidated return. Refer to

Combined Reports in the General Instructions for ad-

ditional information on unitary combined filings.

Line 15 — Total Additions
Add lines 1 through 14. Enter the result on line 15 and
on Schedule A, line 2.

Instructions for Schedule C -
Subtractions from Unadjusted Income

Line 4d — Expense Reduction for Other

Federal Credits
Enterany expense reduction attributable to claiming any
other federal credit. Attach applicable federal form.

Line 5- Safe Harbor Lease (SHL) Adjustments
The effects of any remaining SHL adjustments mustbe
reversed for Utah purposes. For general SHL informa-
tion, see the instructions for Schedule B, line 3.

Subtract from income:
SHL Purchaser/Lessor

1. Rental income
2. Amortization of the purchase price of tax benefits
(purchase price of tax benefits must be capitalized)

SHL Seller/Lessee

1. Interest income
2. Depreciation on SHL property

Line 6 — Federal Income Previously

Taxed by Utah
Enter any income on the federal corporate return, form
1120 or 1120-A that was previously taxed by Utah. At-
tach supporting schedules and documentation.

Line 7 - 50 percent Exclusion for Dividends
from Unitary Foreign Subsidiaries
Enter 50 percent of the dividends deemed received
or received from subsidiaries that are members of the
unitary group and are organized orincorporated outside
of the United States, unless those subsidiaries are in-



cludedinacombined report. Inthat case, the dividends
are eliminated as an intercompany transaction.

For corporations filing a water’s edge combined report,
the 50-percent exclusionincludes dividends from unitary
foreign corporations, foreign sales corporations and
subpart F income.

Line 8 - 50 percent Exclusion of Foreign
Operating Company Income\Loss

Enter 50 percent of the adjusted income or loss of a
foreign operating company unless the taxpayer is fil-
ing a worldwide combined report. A foreign operating
company is a corporation (other than an IRC Section
936 corporation) incorporated in the United States with
80 percent or more of its business activity, based onthe
average of the property and payroll factors, conducted
outside the United States.

In calculating this subtraction, no deductionis allowable
for foreign taxes.

Line 9- Gain or Loss on Certain Stock Sales
Enter the gain or loss on the sales of stock included
in unadjusted income, yet not taxable for federal pur-
poses because the transaction is considered to be a
deemed sale of assets under IRC Sections 338(h)(10)
or 336(e).

The purpose of this subtraction is to avoid the double
taxation that would occur if both the gain on the stock
sale and the gain on the deemed sale of assets were
included inincome. Utah law follows the federal statute
that taxes the gain on the deemed sale of assets.

Compute deductions for Utah charitable contributions
(UC §59-7-109(2)).

Line 1 - Apportionable Income Before
Contributions Deduction
Enter amount from Schedule A, line 6.

Line 2 - Utah Contribution Limitation Rate
Charitable contributions for the current year, including
excess contributions carried forward from a prior year,
cannot exceed the contribution limitation. The contribu-
tion limitation percentage rate is preprinted on this line
(see UC §59-7-109(2)).

Line 3— Utah Contribution Limitation

Multiply line 1 by the rate on line 2 and enter the
limitation amount. If line 1 is a loss, no contributions
deduction is allowed.

Line 10 — Basis Adjustments

Enter adjustments to gains, losses, depreciation ex-
pense, amortization expense and similaritems duetoa
difference between basis for federal and Utah purposes
as explained in instructions for Schedule B, line 8.

Line 11 — Interest Expense
Enterinterest expense not deducted on the federal cor-
porate return under IRC Sections 265(b) or 291(e).

Line 12 — Dividends From Insurance Company
Subsidiaries

Enter dividends received from subsidiaries owned

greater than 50 percent that are insurance companies

taxed on their Utah premiums.

Line 13 — Payments Made to the Utah Education-

al Savings Plan (UESP)
A participant in the Utah Educational Savings Plan
should receive a form, TC-675H, Statement of With-
holding for Utah Educational Savings Plan, from the
UESP trustee. An amount deposited into UESP cannot
be deducted on the Utah return if already taken on
the federal return. Include on this line the amount on
line 1 of form TC-675H. Keep form TC-675H with your
records. If you have any questions about UESP, call
1-800-418-2551.

Line 14 — Total Subtractions
Add lines 1 through 13. Enter the result on line 14 and
on Schedule A, line 3.

Instructions for Schedule D -
Utah Contributions Deduction

Line 4 — Current Year Contribution
Enter charitable contributions for the current year.

Line 5- Contributions Deducted on Federal
Forms 1120 or 1120-A, line 19

Utah law precludes a deduction for the following contribu-

tionswhena Utah creditisbeing claimed. [fthe contributions

below were claimed as charitable deductions on federal

forms 1120 or 1120-A, line 19, enter on line 5a and/or 5b

the credit amount claimed on Utah Schedule A, line 16.

The current year contribution on line 4 will be reduced
by any amounts entered on lines 5a and 5b.

Line 5a — Contributions to Qualified

Sheltered Workshops
Enter the amount of the Qualified Sheltered Workshop
Cash Contribution Credit (nonrefundable credit, code
02) claimed on Utah Schedule A, line 16.
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Line 5b — Deduction for High Technology
Equipment

Enter the amount of the High Technology Equipment

Contribution Tax Credit (nonrefundable credit, code 14)

claimed on Utah Schedule A, line 16.

Line 6 - Utah Contribution Carryforward

Charitable contributions which exceed the allowable
deduction for Utah may be carried forward to the five
succeedingtaxable yearsinthe same manneras allowed
underfederal law. Enter the excess contributions carried
forward to this year. Attach a schedule showing contribu-

Determine nonbusiness income allocated to Utah and
outside Utah by completing this schedule. All income
that arises from the conduct of the trade or business
operations of a corporation is business income.

Nonbusiness income means all income other than
business income and will be narrowly construed. In-
tangible income must be properly classified and based
upon factual evidence. The burden of proof is on the
corporation to justify the manner in which the income
is claimed on the return.

Interest income is business income where the intan-
gible with respect to which the interest was received
arises out of or was created in the regular course of
the taxpayer’s trade or business operations. (Tax Com-
mission Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(c))

Dividends are business income where the stock, with
respect to which the dividends are received, arises
out of or was acquired in the regular course of the
taxpayer’s trade or business operations. Because of
the regularity with which most corporate taxpayers
engage in investment activities, income arising from
the ownership, sale or other disposition of investments
is presumptively business income. (Tax Commission
Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(d))

Gain or loss from the sale, exchange or other disposi-
tion of real or tangible or intangible personal property
constitutes businessincome if the property, while owned
by the taxpayer, was usedin the taxpayer’s trade or busi-
ness. (Tax Commission Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(b))

Rental income from real and tangible property is busi-
ness income if the property, with respect to which the
rental income was received, is used in the taxpayer’s
trade or business or includable in the property factor.
(Tax Commission Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(a))
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tions made that exceed the Utah contribution limitation
and that have not been previously deducted and are
available to be carried forward to the current year.

Line 7 - Total Contributions Available
Subtract lines 5a and 5b from line 4 and add line 6 to
the result.

Line 8 - Utah Allowed Contributions Deduction
Enter the lesser of line 3 or line 7 on line 8 and on
Schedule A, line 7.

Instructions for Schedule H -
Nonbusiness Income Schedule

If the corporation is claiming only Utah nonbusiness
income, lines 1a through 13 must be completed. If the
corporation is claiming only non-Utah nonbusiness
income, lines 14a through 26 must be completed. If
the corporation is claiming both Utah and non-Utah
nonbusiness income, lines 1a through 26 must be
completed. Use additional pages, if necessary, to pro-
vide complete information, including a description of
the business purpose for making the investment, the
transactions creating the non-business income, and
the use of revenues generated by the non-business
investment.

Utah Nonbusiness Income

Lines 1a-1d — Utah Nonbusiness Income
Complete each column with the information required and
show the gross nonbusiness income from each class
of income being specifically allocated. Use additional
pages, if necessary, to provide complete information
about additional sources of nonbusiness income.

Line 2 - Total Utah Nonbusiness Income
Add lines 1a through 1d.

Lines 3a-3d — Direct Related Expenses

Describe and enter amounts of direct expenses on
the same letter line as the corresponding nonbusiness
income is listed on lines 1a through 1d. Direct related
expenses include wages, interest, depreciation, etc.
(Reference: UC §59-7-101(19))

Line 4 — Total Direct Related Expenses
Enter the sum of direct related expenses by adding
lines 3a through 3d.



Line 5- Utah Nonbusiness Income Net of Direct
Related Expenses
Subtract line 4 from line 2.

Line 6 — Beginning-of-Year Assets

Enterthe total beginning-of-year value of assets used to
produce Utah nonbusiness income in column A. Enter
the beginning-of-year value of the corporation’s total
assets in column B. All assets, including Utah assets,
should be included in column B.

Line 7 - End-of-Year Assets

Enter the end-of-year value of assets used to produce
Utah nonbusiness income in column A. Enter the end-
of-year value of the corporation’s total assets in column
B. Allassets, including Utah assets, should be included
in column B.

Line 8 - Sum of Beginning- and
End-of-Year Asset Values
Add lines 6 and 7 for each respective column.

Line 9 - Average Asset Values
Line 8 divided by 2 for each column.

Line 10 — Nonbusiness Asset Ratio
Line 9, column A, divided by line 9, column B.

Line 11 — Interest Expense
Enter the total amount of interest deducted in comput-
ing Utah taxable income.

Line 12 — Indirect Related Expenses for Utah
Nonbusiness Income
Multiply line 10 by line 11.

Line 13 — Total Utah Nonbusiness Income

Net of Expenses
Subtract line 12 from line 5. Enter amount here and on
Schedule A, line 5a.

Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income

Lines 14a-14d — Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income
Complete each column with the information required and
show the gross nonbusiness income from each class
of income being specifically allocated. Use additional
pages, if necessary, to provide complete information
about additional sources of nonbusiness income.

Line 15 — Total Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income
Add lines 14a through 14d.

Lines 16a-16d — Direct Related Expenses
Describe and enter amounts of direct expenses on
the same letter line as the corresponding nonbusiness
income listed on lines 14a through 14d. Direct related
expenses include wages, interest, depreciation, etc.
(Reference: UC §59-7-101(19))

Line 17 — Total Direct Related Expenses
Enter the sum of direct related expenses by adding
lines 16a through 16d.

Line 18 — Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income Net of
Direct Related Expenses
Subtract line 17 from line 15.

Line 19 — Beginning-of-Year Assets

Enter the total beginning-of-year value of assets used
to produce non-Utah nonbusiness income in column A.
Enter the beginning-of-year value of the corporation’s
total assets in column B. All assets, including Utah
assets, should be included in column B.

Line 20 — End-of-Year Assets

Enter the end-of-year value of assets used to produce
non-Utah nonbusiness income in column A. Enter the
end-of-year value of the corporation’s total assets in
column B. All assets, including Utah assets, should be
included in column B.

Line 21 - Sum of Beginning- and
End-of-Year Asset Values
Add lines 19 and 20 for each respective column.

Line 22 — Average Asset Values
Line 21 divided by 2 for each column.

Line 23 — Non-Utah Nonbusiness Asset Ratio
Line 22, column A divided by line 22, column B.

Line 24 - Interest Expense
Enter the total amount of interest deducted in comput-
ing Utah taxable income.

Line 25 - Indirect Related Expenses for Non-
Utah Nonbusiness Income
Multiply line 23 by line 24.

Line 26 — Total Non-Utah Nonbusiness Income

Net of Expenses
Subtract line 25 from line 18. Enter amount here and
on Schedule A, line 5b.
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Determine apportionment fraction by completing this
schedule. The factors express a percent for tangible
property in Utah, for wages and salaries in Utah, and
for sales in Utah. These factors are added together and
divided by the number of factors present (typically 3) to
arrive at the Utah apportionment fraction calculated to
six decimals. This fraction is to be applied to the ap-
portionable income (or loss) to arrive at the amount of
income (or loss) apportioned to Utah. In cases where
one or more of the factors is omitted due to peculiar
aspects of the business operations, divide by the number
of factors present.

Income or loss from partnership or joint venture inter-
ests must be included in income and apportioned to
Utah through application of the three-factor formula
consisting of property, payroll and sales.

Forapportionment purposes, the portion of partnership
orjointventure property, payrolland sales to be included
in the corporation’s property, payroll and sales factors
must be computed on the basis of the corporation’s
ownership interest in the partnership or joint venture.

Briefly describe the nature and location(s) of your Utah
business activities in the space provided at the top of
this schedule.

Lines 1a - 1e — Tangible Property

Show the average cost value during the taxable year
of real and tangible personal property used in the busi-
ness within Utah (including leased property) in column
A and overall (including Utah) in column B.

Property owned by the corporation is valued at its
original cost. Property rented by the corporation is
valued at eight times the net annual rental rate. Net
annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by
the corporation less the annual rate received by the
corporation from subrentals.

The average value of property must be determined by
averaging the cost values at the beginning and end of
the tax period. However, monthly values may be used
or required if monthly averaging more clearly reflects
the average value of the corporation’s property.

A supporting schedule should be attached whenever
monthly averaging is used.

Line 2 - Total Tangible Property
Enter totals of lines 1a through 1e in the respective
columns.

Line 2a — Property Fraction

Determine the property fraction:line 2, column A divided
by line 2, column B.

Page 18

Instructions for Schedule J -
Apportionment Schedule

Line 3- Wages, Salaries, Commissions, and
Other Includable Compensation

Wages, salaries, commissions and other includable

compensation paid to employees for personal services

must be included in the Utah factor to the extent the

services, for which the compensation was paid, were

rendered in Utah.

Compensation is paid in Utah if:

1. Theindividual’s service is performed entirely within
Utah;

2. The individual’s service is performed both within
and outside Utah, but the service performed outside
Utah is incidental to the individual’s service within
Utah; or

3. Some of the service is performed in Utah and:

a. The base of operations or, if there is no base of
operations, the place where the service is directed
or controlled is within Utah, or

b. The base of operations or the place where the
service is directed or controlled is notin any state
where some part of the service is performed, but
the individual’s residence is in Utah.

Amounts reportable for employment security purposes
may ordinarily be used to determine the wage factor.

Overall wages, including Utah, are listed in column B.

Line 3a — Wages Fraction
Determine the wage fraction: line 3, column A divided
by line 3, column B.

Lines 4a - 4e — Gross Receipts From Business
The sales factor is the percentage the sales or charges
for services within Utah for the taxable year bear to the
overall sales for the taxable year. Gross receipts from
the performance of services are in Utah to the extent
the services are performed in Utah.

Sales of tangible personal property are in Utah if the
property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser within
Utah regardless of the F.O.B. point or other conditions
of the sale, or if the property is shipped from an office,
store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage
in Utah and: (1) the purchaser is the United States
Government, or (2) the corporation is not taxable in
the state of the purchaser.

Overall sales, including Utah, are listed in column B.

Nexus definition: The jurisdictional link that must be
present before a state may tax a corporation upon its
activities within a state’s borders.

NOTE: Exceptionto the above method for securities bro-
kerage businesses can be found in UC §59-7-319(3).



Line 5- Total Sales and Service
Enter totals of lines 4a through 4e in their respective
columns.

Line 5a — Sales Fraction
Determine sales fraction: line 5, column A divided by
line 5, column B.

Line 6 — Total Fraction
Enter total of lines 2a, 3a and 5a.

Line 7 - Apportionment Fraction

Calculate the apportionment fraction to six decimals:
Line 6 divided by the number of factors used (typi-
cally 3 — property, wages and sales). If one or more of
the factors are not present (i.e., there is a zero in the

Any corporation filinga combined report must complete
Schedule M if one or more of the subsidiaries or affili-
ated corporations is incorporated, qualified, or doing
businessin Utah. Federal schedules are notacceptable
as substitutes.

Use of any other form as a substitute for Schedule
M is only acceptable with prior approval from the Tax
Commission. Refer to Pub 99, Utah State Tax Com-
mission Guidelines for Substitute and Copied Utah
Tax Forms.

denominator on lines 2, 3 or 5 in column B), divide by
the number of factors present. If the numerator is zero,
but a denominator is present, include that factor in the
number of factors present. Enter apportionment fraction
here and on Schedule A, line 9.

Specialized Apportionment
Rules

Specialized apportionment rules apply for:

e Trucking Companies (R865-6F-19)

¢ Railroads (R865-6F-29)

e Publishing Companies (R865-6F-31)
Financial Institutions (R865-6F-32)

e Telecommunication (R865-6F-33)

Instructions for Schedule M -
Corporations Included in Combined Filings

List only corporations incorporated, qualified or doing
business in Utah. Corporations not listed on Schedule
M will not be considered to have met the Utah filing
requirements.

Line 5—- Minimum Tax

Multiply the number of corporations (including the
parent corporation if incorporated, qualified or doing
business in Utah) listed on Schedule M by $100 (the
minimum tax). Also, enter this amount on Schedule
A, line 15b.
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Common Return Errors

. Losses applied incorrectly — For tax years beginning on or after Jan. 1, 1994, if an election is made

to forego the federal net operating loss carryback, a similar election is considered to be made for Utah
purposes, unless the taxpayer makes a specific election to carryback the Utah loss. Losses may be
carried forward for 15 taxable years. See the instructions for Schedule A, lines 12 and 13.

. Unitary businesses not filing a combined report — Groups of corporations that are engaged in an

integrated unitary business must file on a combined basis. See instructions on page 3.

. Utah sales factor — Out-of-state corporations qualified in Utah, but not doing business in Utah are re-

quired to file a corporate return paying the minimum tax. However, sales into Utah are not required to be
included in the gross receipts numerator, except as provided under Utah Rule R865-6F-24. Conversely,
corporations making sales from Utah into a state where they are qualified, but not doing business are
required to include such sales in the Utah gross receipts numerator as throwback sales, except as
provided under Utah Rule R865-6F-24.

. Net capital losses may not be carried back — Capital losses may be deducted in full in the year in-

curred or may be carried forward. See UC 59-7-106(2).

. Dissolution or withdrawal — Corporations no longer in business or no longer doing business in Utah

are required to legally dissolve or withdraw the corporation. See instructions on page 1.

. Nonrefundable and refundable credit codes — Use the two-digit codes provided in the instructions,

not the UC reference.

Please compile your return in the following order:
Utah form TC-20

Utah schedules A through M (if required) in alphabetical order
Federal extension form, if applicable
First four pages of the federal return (plus Form 1120, Schedule M-3, if applicable)

O DN

Other supporting documentation
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