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May 22, 2008

Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City UT  84134

Re: Private Letter Ruling Request

We are requesting a private letter ruling on behalf of a client.  The client is in the  
telecommunications business, and will be selling telecommunications time through various  
means, including through prepaid cards.  The client needs to know whether to collect tax on its  
various products.

Utah code section 59-12-103(1)(b) and (m) impose sales tax on “telephone service…that  
originates and terminates within the boundaries of this state,” and on “amounts paid or charged  
for prepaid telephone calling cards.”

Tax Commission rule R865-19S-90(A)(2) in turn provides that “[p] repaid telephone services or  
service contracts are presumed to be used for intrastate telephone services unless the service  
contact is sold exclusively for use in interstate communications.” (Emphasis added.)

Under these provisions, (1) a prepaid calling card sold in Utah for $20.00 that authorizes 1000  
telephone minutes (interstate or intrastate) would presumably be subject to Utah sales tax, and  
(2) a service contract that is sold in Utah exclusively for use in interstate communications would  
presumably not be subject to sales tax.  The issues our client would like clarity on are follows:

1. If the client sells a $20 prepaid calling card in Utah that technologically and legally  
only allows interstate calls to be made, is the $20 charge for such a card subject to  
Utah sale tax?

2. If the client sells a prepaid calling card in Utah that allows both interstate and  
intrastate calls to be made, then sells $30 worth of minutes on that card that  
technologically and legally can be used for interstate calls, is that $30 charge subject  
to Utah sales tax?  (The purchase of the card itself, the purchase of dual interstate and  
intrastate minutes, and the purchase of intrastate-only minutes would presumably be  
sales taxable.)



If the answer to either question is yes, please explain what distinguishes a non-taxable interstate  
prepaid “service contract” from a taxable interstate prepaid calling card, or taxable interstate  
prepaid minutes on a calling card.

The seeming internet of Rule 90, which makes logical sense, is that any prepaid 
telecommunications contract, card, minutes, or other medium that is sold exclusively for use in  
interstate communications is not subject to Utah sales tax.

NAME



RESPONSE LETTER

August 28, 2008

NAME
ADDRESS

Re: Private Letter Ruling Request 08-007—Prepaid Telephone Calling Cards

Gentlemen:

You have asked whether your client’s company is required under Utah law to collect sales  
tax on certain activities. You have described your client as a telecommunication business that  
will be selling telephone services through various means, including prepaid telephone calling  
cards.  The prepaid telephone calling cards may be composed of interstate-only minutes, a  
combination of interstate-only and intrastate-only minutes, or dual interstate-or-intrastate  
minutes. 

You specifically cite Utah Admin. Code R865-19S-90 (“Rule 90”), as the basis for your  
conclusion, citing the provision “that ‘[p]repaid telephone services or service contracts are  
presumed to be used for intrastate telephone services unless the service contact is sold  
exclusively for use in interstate communications.’   (Emphasis added.)”

Before beginning our analysis, we point out that your reference to Rule 90 must be  
considered within the context of the history of the rule.  Implicit in your statement is the  
assumption that calling cards are functionally equivalent to prepaid telephone services or service  
contracts.  Prior to 1998, however, the rule specifically included prepaid calling cards along with  
the separate term of “service contracts” within in the definition of “Intrastate,” which is the  
specific section you cited in your request.  In 1998 the State Legislature passed SB 211, which  
introduced the current language, now found under Utah Code Ann. § 59-12-103(1)(m).  It is that  
statute which imposes a tax on calling cards.  As a result of this legislation, the Tax Commission  
removed the corresponding language from the rule.  Accordingly, the cite from our rule, which  
you referenced, is not relevant to your request or analysis.

With this clarification, we will address your concerns in more detail.

Issues

The two issues you identified for purposes of this private letter ruling are:  

1. Whether the sale in Utah of a prepaid telephone calling card that technologically and  
legally only allows interstate calls would be subject to Utah sales tax.



2. Whether Utah sales tax would be imposed on the full purchase price of the prepaid  
telephone calling card itself or imposed on the purchase price of the calling card’s  
minutes based on their interstate and/or intrastate character.  That is, whether the  
intrastate allotment of the minutes would be subject to tax, while the interstate portion  
would not.

You have also asked us, in the event the answer to either question is “no,” to identify the  
distinction between an interstate prepaid “service contract” and a taxable interstate prepaid  
calling card.

Analysis

Under Utah Code Ann. § 59-12-103(1)(m), “prepaid telephone calling cards” are taxable.  
This statute imposes a tax on “(m) amounts paid or charged for prepaid telephone calling cards.”  
The specific use of the term “cards” strongly suggests that the cards themselves, rather than the  
underlying telephone services, are subject to the Utah sales tax.  Likewise, the title for  
§ 59-12-103 identifies the “Sales and Use Tax Base,” which also suggests that the card itself is  
separate and distinct from telephone service as part of the tax base.    The tax obligation is  
incurred when the card is purchased.  At this time, the purchase price for a taxable transaction  
identified in the tax base is known and the tax can easily be computed.  

Section 59-12-103(1)(m) is silent as to interstate versus intrastate minutes; the Utah  
Legislature did not apply to prepaid telephone calling cards any distinction between intrastate  
and interstate minutes.  On the other hand, the Utah Legislature did consider such distinction  
when it drafted § 59-12-103 because it made a similar distinction in Utah Code Ann. § 59-12-
103(1)(b), which states:

A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid or  
charged for the following transactions: 
. . . 

(b) amounts paid:  (i) to a:  (A) telephone service provider regardless of whether  
the telephone service provider is municipally or privately owned . . . (ii) for:  (A)  
telephone service . . . that originates and terminates within the boundaries of  
this state . . .  (Emphasis added.) 

Comparing this with the language of § 59-12-103(1)(m), it appears that the Utah legislature  
considered this distinction for telephone service, but chose not to apply a similar distinction to  
prepaid telephone calling cards. 
  

Furthermore, we believe the two subsections would conflict if both applied to prepaid  
telephone calling cards.    If the cards were taxed on their purchase and on the telephone services  
later provided, the cards’ purchasers could potentially be subject to double taxation.  
Accordingly, we look to the more specific statute of § 59-12-103(1)(m). 

Utah Code Ann. § 59-12-104(43) supports this position by exempting from sales tax  
“sales of telephone service charged to a prepaid telephone calling card . . .”  This section  



exempts from taxation the telephone services relating to prepaid telephone calling cards.  We  
find this exclusion to be consistent with the specific tax imposition under § 59-12-103(1)(m) on  
the purchase price of the cards, without specifying the nature of the underlying telephone  
services.  Simply put, the more specific prepaid telephone calling cards are statutorily distinct  
from the more general telephone services.

With respect to Rule 90, for reasons cited previously, we find that it is not applicable to  
prepaid telephone calling cards; it only provides guidance on telephone services.  The very title  
of Rule 90 specifically identifies “Telephone Service,” showing the intent to interpret telephone  
service as the term is used in § 59-12-103.  Because “telephone service” does not affect the  
taxability of prepaid telephone calling cards under §§ 59-12-103(1)(m) and 59-12-104(43), the  
guidance provided in Rule 90, on which telephone services are taxable, is irrelevant for the cards.  

We do recognize that the terms “prepaid telephone services or service contracts” under  
Rule 90 might be still confused with calling cards.  However, the interpretation you seek is  
statutorily impermissible.  The Legislature has carved out prepaid calling cards from other  
telephone services.  Thus, while Rule 90 clarifies interstate and intrastate transmissions and  
relates this distinction to prepaid services and contracts, we cannot extend the definition of  
prepaid services and contracts provided in the rule beyond the clear statutory meaning of prepaid  
telephone calling cards.

Conclusion

After analyzing the text and history of §§ 59-12-103 and 59-12-104 and Administrative  
Rule R865-19S-90, we conclude that the sale in Utah of a prepaid telephone calling card that  
technologically and legally only allows interstate calls would be subject to Utah sales tax on the  
full purchase price of the card itself, regardless of the character or nature of interstate and/or  
intrastate calls.  We add, that although your request letter did not question whether federal  
preemption applies, we are not aware of any federal legislation that would preempt Utah from  
taxing the cards’ full purchase prices. 

Our conclusions are based on the facts as described. Should the facts be different, a  
different conclusion may be warranted.  If you feel we have misunderstood the facts as you have  
presented them, if you have additional facts that may be relevant, or if you have any other  
questions, please contact us.

For the Commission,
 
 
 

Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner
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