UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

8:30 a.m., Thursday, December 7, 2017 Davis Conference Center, 1651 N 700 W, Layton, 84041

Participating:

John L. Valentine – Commission Chair Michael J. Cragun – Commissioner Robert P. Pero – Commissioner Rebecca L. Rockwell – Commissioner *Excused* Barry Conover – Executive Director

Commission Office:

Christa Johnson, Commission Executive Assistant Charlie Roberts, Public Information Officer

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found on the Tax Commission website: http://tax.utah.gov/commission-office/meetings.

I. Call to Order

Commission Chair Valentine called the meeting to order at 8:31 a.m. He noted that Commissioner Rockwell is excused. He welcomed the county assessors and other 2017 Assessors School participants.

II. Discuss various issues with County Assessors and Property Tax Division Representatives

The Commissioners visited with County Assessors on various issues and answered questions.

These County Assessors presented questions for discussion:

- Deny Lytle, Property Tax Division Director
- Kathleen C. Howell, Cache County Assessor
- John Ulibarri, Weber County Assessor
- Joe Thompson, Garfield County Assessor
- Steve Martin, Summit County Assessor
- Tom Durrant, Washington County Assessor
- Kevin Jacobs, Salt Lake County Assessor
- Jennifer Hansen, Property Tax Division
- Amy Garren-Clark, Sevier County Assessor
- Julie Medley, Carbon County Assessor

III. Adjourn

Commission Chair Valentine adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Approved on: Thursday, December 14, 2017

Attested: Christa Johnson

Executive Assistant

Utah State Tax Commission