
 
 

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
MEETING MINUTES 

9:00 a.m., Thursday, October 22, 2015 
Commission Hearing Room 1025, 210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 

 
Participating: 
John L. Valentine – Commission Chair 
Michael J. Cragun – Commissioner   
Robert P. Pero – Commissioner  
Rebecca L. Rockwell – Commissioner  
Barry Conover – Executive Director  
 
Commission Office: 
Christa Johnson, Commission Executive Assistant 
  
Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found on the Tax 
Commission website: http://tax.utah.gov/commission-office/meetings.  
 

I. Call to Order 
 

Commission Chair Valentine called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.  
 

II. Public Comment (individuals or groups wishing to address the 
Commissioners for up to three minutes on matters not related to a pending 
or reasonably imminent appeal to the Tax Commission) 

 
Commission Chair Valentine asked if anyone wished to address the Tax Commissioners. There 
were no comments.  
 

III. Approving Commission Meeting Minutes of Thursday, October 8, 2015 
 
MOTION: Commissioner Cragun moved to approve the Commission meeting minutes of 
Thursday, August 27, 2015. The motion passed unanimously. 
 

IV. Consider Amending Administrative Rules  
 

a. R865-13G-18. Definition of Statewide Average Rack Price of a Gallon of 
Motor Fuel 

b. R877-23V-7. Misleading Advertising (Amendment A) 
c. R877-23V-7. Misleading Advertising (Amendment B) 
d. R877-23V-20. Reasonable Cause to Deny, Suspend, or Revoke a License 

Issued Under Title 41, Chapter 3 
e. R884-24P-33. Personal Property Valuation Guides and Schedules  
f. R884-24P-66. County Board of Equalization Procedures and Appeals 

 
Commissioner Rockwell introduced the proposed rule amendments for the Commission to 
consider adopting and noted that there have been no public comments on these rules. 
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The rules were published in the Utah Bulletin on September 15, 2015 and the public comment 
ended on October 15, 2015.  
 
R865-13G-18. Definition of Statewide Average Rack Price of a Gallon of Motor Fuel. The 
proposed rule defines a term necessary for the implementation of 2015 HB 362. 2015 HB 362 
provides that the tax on motor and special fuels is 12 percent of the statewide average rack price 
of a gallon of motor fuel. This rule defines the statewide average rack price of a gallon of motor 
fuel as the average of the Salt Lake City and Cedar City terminal prices of the average daily 
average net closing price of a gallon of branded regular, 10 percent ethanol, 9.0 Reid Vapor 
Pressure unleaded motor fuel for each terminal. On August 18, 2015, the Legislature’s Executive 
Appropriations Committee approved a motion requesting that the Tax Commission proceed with 
this proposed rule as drafted. 

 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R865-13G-18. 
Definition of Statewide Average Rack Price of a Gallon of Motor Fuel. The motion passed 
unanimously. 
 
R877-23V-7. Misleading Advertising (Amendment A). The rule is amended to provide more 
specific guidance for motor vehicle advertisements. Section 41-3-210 prohibits a licensee from 
intentionally publishing, displaying, or circulating any advertisement that is misleading in any 
material fact. The proposed amendment indicates how, in a motor vehicle advertisement, the 
disclosure that a vehicle has a salvage certificate or branded title shall be made. The rule 
proposal arises from an issue in an appeal. Both parties asked that the Commissioners give 
further clarification and the proposed rule amendment will accomplish that.  

 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R877-23V-7. 
Misleading Advertising (Amendment A). The motion passed unanimously. 
 
R877-23V-7. Misleading Advertising (Amendment B). The rule is amended to provide more 
specific guidance for motor vehicle advertisements. The proposed amendment provides that in a 
verbal advertisement of a motor vehicle, the speed of the words spoken must be constant 
throughout the advertisement. The purpose is to prevent “fast talking,” in which material facts 
are disclosed at a rapid voice speed that may be difficult to understand.  

 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R877-23V-7. 
Misleading Advertising (Amendment B). The motion passed unanimously. 
 
R877-23V-20. Reasonable Cause to Deny, Suspend, or Revoke a License Issued Under Title 41, 
Chapter 3. The rule is amended to provide more specific guidance on reasonable cause to deny, 
suspend, or revoke a license issued under Title 41, Chapter 3. The proposed amendment clarifies 
that the list of violations of state or federal law that constitute reasonable cause to deny, suspend, 
or revoke a license issued under Title 41, Chapter 3 is an inclusive, and not an exclusive, list. 

 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R877-23V-20. 
Reasonable Cause to Deny, Suspend, or Revoke a License Issued Under Title 41, Chapter 3. The 
motion passed unanimously. 
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R884-24P-33. 2016 Personal Property Valuation Guides and Schedules. The valuation guides 
and schedules contained in this rule are reviewed and updated annually by the Property Tax 
Division. The personal property guides and schedules are used for local property tax valuation 
and assessment of business personal property and certain motor vehicles by county assessors. 
Section 59-2-107 authorizes the State Tax Commission to make rules that define classes of items 
considered to be personal property and provide valuation percent good schedules to value locally 
assessed personal property. County assessors must use the percent good schedules as contained 
in this rule. Any deviation that affects an entire class or type of personal property requires a 
written report documenting the schedule change to be submitted to the Tax Commission for 
approval prior to use. This year, the changes to the percent good schedules also included the 
following changes to the personal property classes: 

 
Class 3, point of sale (POS) equipment: POS equipment was moved from Class 3 to Class 12 
(which is computer equipment) in 2014. Large retailers provided information that POS 
equipment is now computers. The POS equipment is linked to a computer mainframe. When a 
sale occurs, the computer notes the sale, automatically takes it from inventory, and tracks the 
inventory at each location and ships items or goods when the inventory reaches a certain level. 
Computers are already included in Class 12. 

 
Class 16, solar panels and supporting equipment: In 2012 the Tax Commissioners ordered solar 
panels and the equipment that supports the solar panels to be listed as personal property. It was 
immediately listed in the classification guide online and the counties were sent a notice. The rule 
change places the commission decision into rule. 

 
Class 16, underground fiber optic cable: In 2015 the Tax Commission reached a stipulation that 
underground fiber optic cable should be moved from Class 8 to Class 16. 

 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R884-24P-33. 2016 
Personal Property Valuation Guides and Schedules. The motion passed unanimously. 

 
R884-24P-66. County Board of Equalization Procedures and Appeals. The proposed amendment 
deletes an unnecessary step in the process a county goes through in approving its board of 
equalization rules by deleting language requiring the Tax Commission to approve local board of 
equalization rules and procedures. 
 
MOTION: Commissioner Rockwell moved to adopt the amendment to Rule R884-24P-66. 
County Board of Equalization Procedures and Appeals. The motion passed unanimously. 

 
V. Internal Audit Reports  

 
Commissioner Pero recognized Mr. Aman Kudiya, Director of Internal Audit Unit. He asked Mr. 
Kudiya to give an overview of the reports and answer Commissioners questions. 
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Mr. Kudiya gave an overview of Internal Audit Report on Performance Review Outside 
Collection Agencies. Report No. 2015-1 and Audit of Uninsured Motorist Identification 
Database (UMID) Programs, 2015. Report No. 2015-02. 
 
Commissioner Pero thanked Mr. Kudiya for the thorough overview of the report. 

 
MOTION: Commissioner Pero moved to accept the Internal Audit report on Performance 
Review Outside Collection Agencies. Report No. 2015-1 and Audit of Uninsured Motorist 
Identification Database (UMID) Programs, 2015. Report No. 2015-02. The motion passed 
unanimously. 
 
Commission Cragun clarified that the minutes earlier approved were for Thursday, October 8, 
2015 and not 2005.  
 

VI. Executive Director’s Report 
 
Mr. Conover reported that voice over Internet protocol (VOIP) system conversion process will 
take place over the weekend. By Monday, October 26, 2015 the VOIP system will be live. He 
thanked those involved in the VOIP project. 
 
Mr. Conover reported that a phishing virus hit employees in the agency on Wednesday, October 
21, 2015. Those employees notified the Department of Technology Services and Security about 
the scam.   
 
Mr. Conover reported on future rollouts of GenTax.  
 

VII. Commissioners’ Report 
 
Commission Chair Valentine stated that he would like to go into a closed session to discuss a 
litigation issue. 
 
MOTION: Commissioner Cragun moved that the Commission meet in closed session to discuss 
pending or reasonably imminent litigation and adjourn from the closed session. The motion 
passed with Commission Chair Valentine, Commissioner Cragun, Commissioner Pero and 
Commissioner Rockwell all voting aye. 
 
Approved on: Thursday, December 10, 2015 
Attested:  Christa Johnson 
Executive Assistant 
Utah State Tax Commission 


