
General Information 
Utah law allows Utah residents fivesix types of property tax relief:

1. Circuit Breaker

• Renter Refund (Utah Code §59-2-1209)

• Homeowner Low Income Abatement
(UC §59-2-1208)

2. Veterans with a Disability Exemption
(UC §§59-2-1903 & 1904)

3. Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption (see

(UC §59-2-1902)

4. Blind Exemption (UC §59-2-1106)

5. Indigent Abatement/Deferral
(UC §§59-2-1801 – 1805)

6. Property Tax Deferral for Elderly Property owners
(UC §59-2-1802.5) 

Get application forms and more information (including deadlines) from your county auditor’s or treasurer’s office. 

Unless you are applying for the veterans with a disability exemption, you must be a U.S. citizen or legally 
present in the U.S. (see 8 U.S.C. 1641) to receive tax relief. 

Renter Refund (circuit breaker) 
Eligibility 
To qualify for this tax credit: 

1. You are a renter (or a manufactured homeowner who rents a lot).

2. Your 20222023 total household income was less than $38,36940,840 (UC §59-2-1202).

3. You were a Utah resident for the entire year.

4. You are either:

a. at least 66 years of age, or

b. an unmarried surviving spouse, regardless of age.

You must be able to prove Utah residency and household income to qualify. 

Refund Amount 
Up to $1,137259 of rent can be refunded, based on income and a percentage of rent paid.

To Apply 
CompleteApply online at tap.utah.gov. Click the link “File your current renter’s refund (circuit breaker)”.

Or complete form TC-90CB, Renter Refund Application, and submit it to the Utah State Tax Commission (210 N 
1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134) by December 31. 

For more information or help, call the Taxpayer Services DivisionTax Commission at 801- 297-6254 or 1-800-

662-4335 ext 6254.
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County Programs for HOMEOWNERS 

Homeowner Low Income Abatement (circuit breaker) 
Eligibility 
To qualify for this tax credit: 

1. You are a homeowner or manufactured homeowner. 

2. Your home is owner-occupied. 

3. Your 20222023 total household income was less than $38,36940,840 (UC §59-2-1202). 

4. You were a Utah resident for the entire year. 

5. You owned the home for the entire calendar year. 

6. You are either: 

a. at least 66 years of age, or 

b. an unmarried surviving spouse, regardless of age. 

You must be able to prove Utah residency and household income to qualify.   

Abatement Amount 
Up to $1,186259 of property tax can be abated, based on income, plus an additional credit equal to the tax on 

20 percent of a home’s fair market value. 

To Apply 
Complete an application and submit it to your local county government by September 1. 

Veterans with a Disability Exemption 
Eligibility 
This exemption is available to veterans disabled in military service (at least 10 percent disability), their 
unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphans. 

Exemption Amount 
The exemption is up to $479,504505,548 of taxable value of a residence, based on the percentage of disability 

incurred in the line of duty and on the unemployability classification. The exemption can also be applied toward 
tangible personal property, such as motor vehicles. No exemption is allowed for any disability below 10 percent. 

Requirement 
An application with proof of military service and proof of disability (or death) must be on file with the county 
where the eligible property is located. 

Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption 
Eligibility 
This exemption is available to active or reserve members of the US Armed Forces on active duty outside the state 
200 days in a continuous 365-day period beginning in the prior year. 

Exemption Amount 
The exemption equals the total taxable value of the claimant’s primary residence. 

Requirements 
• To receive the exemption you must: 

1. apply on or before September 1 of the year after the year of qualifying service, and  

2. include with your application verifying military documentation including orders for qualifying active or 
reserve service. 
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• You must apply each year you are eligible. Only one exemption is allowed for each period of qualifying 
service. 

Blind Exemption 
Eligibility 
This exemption is available to legally blind property owners, their unmarried surviving spouse or their minor 
orphans. There are no income or age requirements. 

Exemption Amount 
Up to $11,500 of the taxable value of real and tangible personal property is exempt from property tax. 

Requirements 
• File the application by September 1 with your county. 

• Your first year’s application must include a statement signed by an ophthalmologist. 

Indigent Abatement 
Eligibility 
Indigent abatement is granted by your county’s legislative body. To qualify: 

1. you must be a homeowner or manufactured homeowner., 

2. your home must be owner-occupied, 

3. you must live in your home for at least 10 months, 

4. your 20222023 income must be less than $38,36940,840, and 

5. you either: 

a. are at least 65 years of age, or 

b. can show a disability or extreme hardship. 

Abatement Amount 
The abatement is 50 percent of the total tax for the current year, or a maximum of $1,186259, whichever is less 

(see Utah Code §59-2-1803). 

Requirements 
• File the application by September 1 with proof of home ownership, income, disability and/or hardship, and 

other information your county requires. 

• All applications must be filed with the county. 

Indigent Deferral 
A county may offer property tax deferral programs that allow property owners to delay paying their assessed taxes 
for a certain period of time. Interest will accrue annually, but delinquency penalties won’t be assessed during the 
deferral period. There may be multiple deferral programs in a county, each with different eligibility requirements. To 
learn more about available deferral programs and eligibility, contact your county. 

Property Tax Deferral for Elderly Property Owners 
Eligibility 
To qualify for this property tax deferral: 

1. you must be at least 75 years old; 

2. you cannot be claimed as a dependent or receive a tax credit on another person’s federal tax return; 

3. you are claiming the deferral for your single-family, primary residence; 

4. as of Jan. 1, 2024, either: 
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a. the assessed value of your property must not be more than the county median property value, or 

b. you must have owned the residence for 20 continuous years; 

5. you have no delinquent property taxes, tax notice charges or outstanding penalties or interest; 

6. the holder of each mortgage or trust deed outstanding on the residence will approve the referral in writing; 

7. your 2023 total household income was not more than $81,680; and 

8. your household liquid resources (cash on hand, checking or savings accounts, savings certificates and 
stocks/bonds held by anyone in the household) are less than 20 times the amount of taxes that were levied 
on the property in 2023. 

Deferral Amount 
Deferred taxes will accrue interest at half the normal rate. 

If eligible, you may defer property taxes each year you apply. You must reapply each year to continue the 
deferral. If you do not reapply, the total amount of the deferred taxes will become due the following year. 

The deferral will continue until you fail to reapply, you sell the residence, or ownership is transferred to anyone 
except a surviving spouse. 

Requirements 
• File the application by September 1 with proof of home ownership, income and other information your county 

requires. 

• File the application with the county. 

• You must apply each year you are eligible. 

Appeal Rights 
If you feel you have been wrongly denied property tax exemption, abatement, deferral or renter refund, you may 
appeal to the Utah State Tax Commission. You must file the appeal within 30 days of the denial notification. File 
your appeal with the county auditor, who will forward your appeal to the Utah State Tax Commission. 

 

Contact Info 
Call your county for application forms and more information. 

County  Phone 

Beaver 435-438-6463 
Box Elder 435-734-3317 
Cache 435-755-1706 
Carbon 435-636-3221 
Daggett 435-784-3210 
Davis 801-451-3367 
Duchesne 435-738-1228 
Emery 435-381-3550 
Garfield 435-676-1109 
Grand 435-259-1321 
Iron 435-477-8331 
Juab 435-623-3410 
Kane 435-644-2458 
Millard 435-743-5227 
Morgan 801-845-4030 
Piute 435-577-2840 
Rich 435-793-5155 
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Salt Lake 385-468-8300 
San Juan 435-587-3223 
Sanpete 435-835-2142 
Sevier 435-893-0401 
Summit 435-336-3016 
Tooele 435-843-3311 
Uintah 435-781-5361 
Utah 801-851-8109 
Wasatch 435-657-3190 
Washington 435-634-5712 
Wayne 435-836-1300 

Weber 801-399-8400 
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