

DEIDRE M. HENDERSON
Lieutenant Governor

#### **Utah State Tax Commission**

JOHN L. VALENTINE Commission Chair

MICHAEL J. CRAGUN Commissioner

REBECCA L. ROCKWELL

SCOTT W. SMITH

SCOTT W. SMITH Executive Director

# State Farmland Evaluation Advisory Committee Tax Commission

Thursday, September 14, 2023, 11:00 a.m.
Utah State Tax Commission Building, Via Zoom
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah

I. Join Zoom Meeting

https://utah-

gov.zoom.us/j/7437193782?pwd=K0pJRTVzTGJrWm14LzlTdjY0QzJDUT09

Meeting ID: 743 719 3782

Passcode: 8fN54hj!

Dial in: +1 253 205 0468 or +1 253 215 8782

Meeting ID: 743 719 3782

Passcode: 07438057

II. Call to Order

#### **Participating:**

#### **Committee Members:**

- 1. Jennifer N. Fresques, Chair, State Farmland Evaluation Advisory Committee; Commissioner, Utah State Tax Commission
- Mr. Rodney Bennett, Assessor, Box Elder County; appointee of the State County Assessors' Association
- 3. Dr. Dillon Feuz, Professor and Department Head of Applied Economics Department (APEC), Utah State University
- 4. Mr. Kelly Pehrson, Deputy Commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture, appointee of the Commissioner of the State Department of Agriculture and Food
- 5. Mr. Rex Larsen, Larsen Farm Products, representative of the farming and ranching community, appointed by fellow committee members

#### **Other Participants:**

- 1. Mr. Garrick Hall, Vice President for Public Policy, Utah Farm Bureau Federation, ad hoc, non-voting member
- 2. Prof. Ryan Larsen, Professor of Applied Economics Department (APEC), Utah State University
- 3. Mr. Robert Lee, Researcher II: College of Agriculture and Applied Sciences, APEC, Utah State University

### **Tax Commission Staff Present:**

- 1. Mr. Denny Lytle, Director, Property Tax Division, USTC
- 2. Mr. Jason Gardner, Director of Legislative Affairs, USTC
- 3. Ms. Jennifer Hansen, Deputy Director, Property Tax Division, USTC
- 4. Mr. Gerald Osborne, Tax Appraisal Manager, Property Tax Division, USTC
- 5. Ms. Chantay Asper, Executive Assistant, Office of the Commission, USTC
- 6. Mr. Brady Kelsey, Tax Appraisal Specialist, Property Tax Division, USTC
- 7. Mr. Joshua Nielsen, Division Director, Property Tax Division, USTC
- 8. Mr. Alex Urosevic, Economist, Office of the Commission, USTC
- III. Introduction of Committee Members
- IV. Open and Public Meetings Act training pursuant to Utah Code Annotated § 52-4-104 -Michael J. Cragun, Commissioner, USTC
- V. Public Comment (members of the public or a member representing a group may address the Committee for up to three minutes)
- VI. Approval of pending meeting minutes of September 15, 2022 (Action Item)
- VII. Presentation of the draft Farmland Evaluation Report by Utah State University on the several classifications of land in agricultural use in the various areas of the state
- VIII. Recommendation to the Utah State Tax Commission for a range of values for land in the various areas of the state based upon productive capabilities of the land when devoted to agricultural use in accordance with Utah Code Annotated § 59-2-514 (Action Item)
  - IX. Other Items
  - X. Discussion on next meeting time: Thursday, September 12, 2024 at 11:00 a.m. at the Utah State Tax Commission.

## XI. Adjourn