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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on October 23, 2024, for an
Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioner (“Taxpayer”) timely
appealed pursuant to Utah Code §59-1-501 the individual income tax audit deficiency for the
2020 tax year issued by Respondent (“Division”). The Division had issued the Notice of
Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax on December 6, 2023. The audit tax, penalties and interest

that had accrued to the date of the Notice of Deficiency are the following:

Year  Audit Tax Interest Penalties Total As of Notice of Deficiency Date'

2020  $$$5$ $$$$$ $$58$ $$58$

! Interest continues to accrue on any unpaid balance.
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APPLICABLE LAW

Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1), tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a
resident individual.
The term “state taxable income” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(w), below
in pertinent part:

(i) subject to Section 59-10-1404.5, for a resident individual, means the resident
individual’s adjusted gross income after making the:
(A) additions and subtractions required by Section 59-10-114; and
(B) adjustments required by Section 59-10-115...

Effective for the 2020 tax year, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(q) defines “resident
individual” as follows:

“Resident individual” means an individual who is domiciled in this state for any
period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period
during which the individual is domiciled in this state.

Effective for the 2020 tax year, the factors considered for determination of domicile are
addressed in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, as follows:

(1) (a) Anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code,
on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income
tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(1) 1is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption
or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code, on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(i1) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:
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(a)

(b)

(©)

() (a)

(b)

the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in

accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or

individual's spouse's primary residence;

the individual or the individual's spouse:

(i) votes in this state in a regular general election, municipal general
election, primary election, or special election during the taxable year;
and

(i1) has not registered to vote in another state in that taxable year; or

the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for

purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,

including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a

part-year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for

which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2)

are not met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this

state, the individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(1) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in
this state to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to
return after being absent; and

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the
individual's or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not
for a special or temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a
permanent home.

The determination of whether an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the

preponderance of the evidence, taking into consideration the totality of
the following facts and circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver

license in this state;

(i) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption or a tax credit
under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code, on the individual's or
individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(i) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code,
on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual
income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section
59-12-102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's
spouse;
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(©)

4) (a)

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile;

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(H(b);

(xiii) whether the individual:

(A) maintains a place of abode in the state; and
(B) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in
the state; or

(xiv) whether the individual or the individual's spouse:

(A) did not vote in this state in a regular general election,
municipal general election, primary election, or special
election during the taxable year, but voted in the state in a
general election, municipal general election, primary election,
or special election during any of the three taxable years prior to
that taxable year; and

(B) has not registered to vote in another state during a taxable year
described in Subsection (3)(b)(xiv)(A).

In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, and for purposes of Subsection (3)(b)(xiii), the

commission may by rule define what constitutes spending a day of the

taxable year in the state.

Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other

provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have

domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i)  except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(il))  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption or a tax credit under Section 24,
Internal Revenue Code, on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to a
dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection

(1)(b);
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(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102
who are enrolled in an institution of higher education described
in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(i1) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(1) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state;
and

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state.

(e) (1) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an
individual income tax return or amended individual income tax return
under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty imposed
under Section 59-1-401.

(i1)) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections
59-1-401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by
Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to
have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A),
pays in full the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under
Section 59-1-402, and any applicable penalty imposed under
Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under Subsection
59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) Notwithstanding Subsections (2) and (3), for individuals who are spouses for
purposes of this section and one of the spouses has domicile under this
section, the other spouse is not considered to have domicile in this state under

5
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Subsection (2) or (3) if one of the spouses establishes by a preponderance of
the evidence that, during the taxable year and for three taxable years prior to
that taxable year, that other spouse:

(a) is not an owner of property in this state;

(b) does not return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(c) has not received earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal
Revenue Code, in this state;

(d) has not voted in this state in a regular general election, municipal general
election, primary election, or special election; and

(e) does not have a driver license in this state.

(6) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5), an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state in accordance with this section, the individual's
spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a
spouse if:

(1) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(i1) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(7) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417(1), the burden of proof is generally upon the
petitioner in proceedings before the commission, as follows:

(1) In a proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the
petitioner except for determining the following in which the burden of proof
is on the commission:

(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or
charge;

(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the
person that originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to
show that the person that originally owes a liability is obligated for the
liability; and

(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the
increase is asserted initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in
accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a petition under Part 5, Petitions
for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the increase in the
deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable
income;

(i) required to be reported; and
(i) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission
mails the notice of deficiency.
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DISCUSSION

The Division issued the audit deficiency for tax year 2020 on the basis that the Taxpayer
was a Utah resident individual from DATE to DATE. Utah imposes income tax on Utah resident
individuals pursuant to Utah Code §59-10-104. For the tax year at issue in the audit, “resident
individual” was defined at Utah Code §59-10-103(1)(q) to mean “an individual who is domiciled
in this state for any period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period
during which the individual is domiciled in this state.” It was the Division’s position in the audit
that in regards to tax year 2020, the Taxpayer was a Utah resident individual pursuant to Utah
Code §59-10-103(1)(q) for the period of DATE to DATE.

1. Facts Presented at Initial Hearing

The facts presented at this Initial Hearing were the following. The Taxpayer had lived and
worked in CITY, Utah for 20 years. She was registered to vote in Utah, had a Utah driver license
and her vehicle was registered in Utah. She lived in rental housing which she rented from her
employer, the COMPANY. The Taxpayer explained at the hearing that she retired from the
COMPANY in DATE. Once she retired she had to move from the rental housing. She stated that
she did not work anywhere in 2020, but received her pension benefits. She stated that her plan
was to spend some time visiting with her parents who lived in STATE 1 over the holidays and
then move to STATE 2 to help a friend whose child had recently died. After retiring, she packed
up her rental in Utah and went to STATE 1 for the holidays. She explained at the hearing that she
ended up staying longer in STATE 1 than originally planned due to COVID. She stated that she
had wanted to be in STATE 2 but was fearful of COVID and locked down in STATE 1. She
realized at some point that there was no COVID in CITY, Utah and she wanted to vote in the
2020 election, so she said she was thinking of possibly just returning to Utah. She stated that she
moved back to CITY briefly on DATE, when she was able to temporarily rent one of the
COMPANY’S housing units. She stated she stayed in Utah for 35 days and while in Utah she
voted in the 2020 general election in Utah. She stated she was not able to find a permanent place
to stay in Utah and ended up moving from Utah on DATE to STATE 2, where she remained for
the rest of 2020.

During the audit period, the Taxpayer was single and had no dependents. She filed her tax
year 2020 federal individual income tax return with the filing status of “single” and claimed no
dependents. The address that she provided on the return was a STATE 2 address, but by the time

the return was filed in 2021 she was living in STATE 2. In addition to her pension income in
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2020, the Taxpayer had received $$$$$ reported as wage income on a W-2 from the COMPANY.
The Taxpayer explained this was actually a payout of unused vacation time. The Taxpayer
understood this to be from her Utah employment so when she filed her Utah individual income
tax return for tax year 2020 as a part-year resident, she did claim as Utah income the $$$$$ from
the W-2. On her Utah 2020 individual income tax return she listed that she was a resident of Utah
from DATE to DATE. In addition to the W-2 income, she claimed a portion of her pension
income based on the 35 days that she was residing in Utah from DATE to DATE. The Taxpayer
did not file a STATE 1 income tax return and stated she did not think she needed to file one there
because she was only in STATE 1 temporarily.

As noted above, the Taxpayer voted in Utah in the 2020 general election. She did not
register to vote in any other state in 2020. She also renewed her vehicle registration in Utah in
2020 and kept her Utah driver license for all of 2020. The Taxpayer had not been absent from
Utah for a period of 761 consecutive days, when she returned back to Utah in September 2020.
Also, she did not own a residence in Utah or any other state at any time during 2020. From
DATE to DATE, the Taxpayer did not lease a residence in Utah or any other state; rather, she
stayed at her parents’ residence in STATE 1. On DATE, she temporarily leased a residence from
the COMPANY. The Taxpayer did not attend a Utah university at any point during 2020. She also
explained that she did not join or belong to any clubs or maintain church memberships in Utah,
STATE 1 or any other state in 2020 due to COVID. She had continued to keep her post office box
in CITY, Utah in 2020 and she stated that she had left that as her address for all her credit cards
and bank accounts, because she did not know where she would eventually end up. She also used
her parents’ address in STATE 1 for some mail. After moving to STATE 2 on DATE, she got a
post office box there.

2. Division’s Position

The Division’s representative stated that it is the Division’s position that the Taxpayer
was domiciled in Utah from DATE to DATE, based on the provisions of Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136. The Division acknowledged that the Taxpayer would not be considered domiciled in
Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1) because she did not have any dependents and did not attend
a state institution of higher education herself in 2020, but pointed out that the Taxpayer was
presumed domiciled in Utah under 59-10-136(2)(b) because she had voted in Utah in the 2020
general election and she had not registered to vote in any other state in 2020. The Division
explained that voting in Utah creates a rebuttable presumption of domicile in Utah, and asserted
that the Taxpayer did not rebut the presumption. The Division noted that the Taxpayer had moved
from Utah on DATE, after she had voted in Utah. The Division’s audit included the Taxpayer’s
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W-2 wage income payout of the unused vacation pay as well as allocated the Taxpayer’s pension
income, which was paid out monthly to the Taxpayer, for the period from January 1, 2020 to
November 5, 2020.

The Division’s representative noted that Subsection (4) provides that an individual is not
considered to be domiciled in Utah if they are absent from the state for at least 761 days and
certain other circumstances are met. However, the Taxpayer was not absent from Utah for a 761
day period during any period of time that included the audit period, and she returned to Utah for
more than 30 days in 2020.

The Division’s representative stated that in order to avoid the double taxation of income,
a credit is allowed for taxes imposed by another state. The Division pointed out that there was no
credit applied for taxes paid to another state, because the Taxpayer had not paid individual
income taxes to another state during 2020. The Division’s representative also stated that the
Division had not assessed any penalties with the audit. The Division acknowledged that the
Taxpayer had filed a Utah return and, although it was not correct, understood the domicile issues
were difficult.

3. Tax Commission Conclusion

The Tax Commission considers the facts and arguments presented by the parties and
applies the applicable law to determine whether the Taxpayer was considered to have domicile in
Utah for the audit period at issue in this appeal. Utah Code §59-10-136 addresses when an
individual is considered or is not considered to have domicile in Utah. Pursuant to Utah Code
§59-10-136, the Commission must determine whether the Taxpayer is considered to be domiciled
in Utah “in accordance with this section,” specifically in accordance with Subsections
59-10-136(1), (2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), and/or (3). At the outset, the Commission notes that the
Taxpayer did not have a spouse or dependents in 2020. The Division acknowledged, and the facts
support, that the Taxpayer would not be domiciled in Utah under Subsections (1),? and instead the
Division argued that the Taxpayer was considered to have domicile in Utah under Subsection (2).

As the Division noted, there is an exception to domicile under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(4). The Commission agrees with the Division that the Taxpayer does not meet the
criteria for this exception. Utah Code §59-10-136(4) provides that an individual is not considered
to have domicile in the State of Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1), (2), or (3) if “the individual

2 Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(1), if a dependent claimed on the individual’s or individual’s spouse’s
federal return is enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school, the individual is
considered domiciled in Utah. The Taxpayer did not claim any dependents on her 2020 federal return.
Additionally, Subsection (1) provides that if an individual or individual’s spouse is a resident student
enrolled in an institution of higher education in Utah, the individual is considered domiciled in Utah. The
Taxpayer was not a resident student enrolled in an institution of higher education in Utah in 2020.

9
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. [is] absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days” and “during the time period
described in Subsection (4)(2)(i), . . . the individual . . . [does not] (A) return to this state for more
than 30 days in a calendar year. ..” As noted above, the Taxpayer did not meet the qualifications
of Subsection (4) to not be considered to have domicile in Utah in 2020 because she had not been
absent at least 761 consecutive days for a period that included any portion of the audit period, and
she returned to Utah for more than 30 days in 2020.

Therefore, the Tax Commission considers whether the Taxpayer is considered to have
domicile in Utah under Utah Code §59-10-136(2). Subsection (2) of Utah Code §59-10-136 sets
forth three circumstances that create a rebuttable presumption of domicile in Utah. The Taxpayer
is not presumed to be domiciled in Utah for the 2020 tax year under Utah Code §59-10-136(2)(a),
which provides as follows: “(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered
to have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential
exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's

2

spouse's primary residence...” The Taxpayer did not own a residence in Utah in 2020 and
therefore Subsection (2)(a) is not applicable.

The Division argued that the Taxpayer was presumed domiciled in Utah from DATE to
DATE pursuant to Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). Utah Code §59-10-136(2)(b) provides, “There is a
rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: (a) the
individual or the individual’s spouse: (i) votes in this state in a regular general election, municipal
general election, primary election, or special election during the taxable year; and (ii) has not
registered to vote in another state in that taxable year...” It was not in dispute that the Taxpayer
voted in Utah in the regular general election in 2020 and that she did not register to vote in
another state during 2020. Therefore, the Taxpayer is presumed to be domiciled in Utah pursuant
to Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). The Tax Commission then considers whether the Taxpayer has
rebutted this presumption of domicile.

The Legislature did not provide what circumstances are sufficient or are not sufficient to
rebut the presumptions in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2), leaving it to the Courts and the
Commission to determine which circumstances are sufficient or not sufficient to rebut the
presumptions of domicile found in Subsection 59-10-136(2). The Commission has considered
grounds for rebuttal in numerous prior decisions. In addition, the Utah Supreme Court held in
Buck v. Tax Comm’n, 2022 UT 11 (February 24, 2022) that “...the presumption of domicile that
results from claiming a primary residential property tax exemption is rebuttable. And...taxpayers
are not statutorily barred from having a meaningful opportunity to rebut the presumption.”

Furthermore, the Supreme Court noted that “in applying these rather orthodox principles of

10
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domicile, courts look to a multiplicity of factors including, but most certainly not limited to ‘the
places where the [individual] exercises civil and political rights, pays taxes, owns real and
personal property, has driver’s and other licenses, maintains bank accounts, belongs to clubs and
churches, has places of business or employment, and maintains a home for his [or her] family,’”
(citing Coury v. Prot, 85 F. 3d 244, 251 (5th Cir. 1996)) and noted “[n]o single factor is
determinative.” (Internal citations omitted). Thus, the Commission will also consider the
multiplicity of factors for rebuttal of a Subsection (2) presumption, as described by the Court in
Buck.

The Tax Commission considers the factors for rebuttal as set out in Buck and finds that
the Taxpayer’s circumstances are insufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
presumption of domicile for the 2020 tax year. Utah was the state where the Taxpayer had
exercised her civil and political rights. She voted in the 2020 general election. She also
maintained a Utah driver license, Utah vehicle registration and had left her address for her bank
accounts and credit cards at her Utah Post Office box, which she had continued to maintain
during the audit period. Utah, in fact, was the only state for which she had filed a state individual
income tax return, although the return she filed in Utah was only a part-year resident return. The
Taxpayer was retired, and did not work in any state in 2020. The Taxpayer did not own a
residence in Utah or elsewhere at any time in 2020. The Taxpayer did not lease a residence either,
until DATE, and that was the residence she leased in Utah when she returned briefly to Utah for
35 days before moving to STATE 2. In fact, in her response to the Division’s questionnaire, the
Taxpayer admitted she was thinking about returning to Utah more permanently when she came
back to Utah on DATE. For the period DATE to the end of DATE, when the Taxpayer was not in
Utah, she stayed at her parents’ residence in STATE 1. She stated that she never intended to stay
there for so long but had felt stuck there due to COVID. While she may have intended to move to
STATE 2 earlier in the year, she did not actually move to STATE 2 during the audit period.
Considering this multiplicity of factors as described by the Court in Buck, the Taxpayer has not
rebutted the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption of domicile in Utah for the period of DATE
to DATE.

The Taxpayer is also presumed to be domiciled in Utah from DATE to DATE under Utah
Code Ann. § 59-10-136(2)(c). Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(c) provides that there is a
rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: “(c) the
individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of filing an
individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that the individual or the

individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which

11
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the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.” The Taxpayer filed a part-year
resident Utah individual income tax return claiming to be a Utah resident from DATE to DATE.
However, the Taxpayer acknowledged that she was a Utah resident during this time period, so her
residency for this period is not in dispute.

If the Tax Commission did not find the Taxpayer domiciled in Utah pursuant to Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-136(2), the Commission would then look to Subsection 59-10-136(3).
Subsection 59-10-136(3) provides that “if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met
for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is considered to
have domicile in this state if: (i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in
this state to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent;
and (ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or the
individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary purpose, but with the
intent of making a permanent home.” Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) provides a number of
circumstances to consider in determining whether an individual has domicile in Utah. However,
in this appeal, as the Tax Commission has found the Taxpayer domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 9-10-136(2) for the audit period, the Commission does not look further at Subsection
59-10-136(3).

Because the Commission finds that the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah from DATE to
DATE, the Taxpayer was a Utah “resident individual” whose income is subject to tax in Utah
under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1). Therefore, the audit tax deficiency and the interest

accrued thereon should be upheld.

(s R

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah for
the period of DATE to DATE. The Notice of Audit Deficiency imposing additional individual
income tax and interest for tax year 2020 is upheld. It is so ordered.
This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
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Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission

Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
or emailed to:

taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this 19th day of February, 2025.
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied
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	This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on October 23, 2024, for an Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioner (“Taxpayer”) timely appealed pursuant to Utah Code §59-1-501 the individual income tax audit deficiency for the 2020 tax year issued by Respondent (“Division”). The Division had issued the Notice of Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax on December 6, 2023. The audit tax, penalties and interest that had accrued to the date of the Notice of Deficiency are the following: 
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