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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission and was scheduled for a Formal
Hearing on DATE, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-201 et seq. The parties waived
the hearing, and asked the Commission to issue a decision based upon the Respondent’s Brief,
Petitioner’s Brief, and Respondent’s Reply Brief.! The Commission issued an Order Requiring
Additional Information on DATE. The parties submitted a Joint Response to Order Requiring
Additional Information on DATE. Based upon the pleadings and stipulated evidence, the Tax
Commission hereby makes its:

FINDINGS OF FACT?

' The Commission notes that typically, the Petitioner would file an opening Brief, the Respondent would
submit a Brief in response, and the Petitioner would file a reply Brief.

2 The Respondent set out the facts of the case in Respondent’s Brief. The Petitioner agreed that the
Division’s statement of facts was accurate in Respondent’s Brief. Unless otherwise noted, the Findings of
Fact are taken from the agreed upon facts set forth in the Respondent’s Brief.



Appeal No. 23-1121

1. The Respondent (“Division”) issued Notices of Deficiency and Audit Change for the
2019, and 2020 tax years on DATE to TAXPAYER-1. For the 2019 tax year, the Division
determined that audit tax of $$$$$ was due, and interest was assessed in the amount of
$$$$$ through DATE.> For the 2020 tax year, the Division determined that audit tax of
DATE was due, and interest was assessed in the amount of $$$$$ through DATE. The
Division did not assess audit penalties for either the 2019 or the 2020 tax year.
(Pleadings).

2. For the 2019 tax year, the Division changed TAXPAYER-1 filing status from “Married
Separate” to “Married Joint.” The Division increased the federal adjusted gross income
from $$$$$ to $$$$$, decreased the state tax deducted on federal Schedule A from $$$$$
to $$$$$, increased the standard or itemized deductions from $$$$$ to $$$$$, and
reduced the retirement credit from $$$$$ to $$$3$3. (Pleadings).

3. For the 2020 tax year, the Division changed TAXPAYER-1 filing status from “Married
Separate” to “Married Joint.” The Division increased the federal adjusted gross income
from $$$$$ to $$$$$, decreased the state tax deducted on federal Schedule A from $$$$$
to $$$$$, increased the standard or itemized deductions from $$$$$ to $$$$$, and
reduced the retirement credit from $$$$$ to $$$$8. (Pleadings).

4. TAXPAYERS (“Taxpayers”) timely filed a Petition for Redetermination for the 2019 and
2020 tax years on DATE. The parties refer to the period of DATE through DATE as the
“audit period” or “current audit period” throughout their Briefs. (Pleadings and
Respondent’s Brief).

5. The Division had previously audited the Taxpayers for the 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015
tax years. The parties refer to the period of DATE through DATE, as the “prior audit
period.” The Taxpayers appealed the prior audit period. In its Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law and Final Decision for Appeal No. 16-1603, the Commission found
that the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah throughout the prior audit period.
(Respondent’s Brief and Exhibit A to Respondent’s Brief).

6. The Taxpayers appealed the Commission’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Final Decision in Appeal No. 16-1603 to the district court (Case No. 190903607). The
Commission, not the Division, was a party in the district court case. (Respondent’s Brief).

7. The Commission and Taxpayers settled the district court case for the prior audit period, as
well as the 2016 and 2017 tax years. The 2016 and 2017 tax years were not part of the

district court case. (Respondent’s Brief).

3 Interest continues to accrue on any unpaid balance.
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10.

I1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

In the Stipulation for the prior audit period, the Tax Commission did not concede that
TAXPAYER-2 was not domiciled in Utah. Further, TAXPAYER-1 did not admit she had
unreported Utah income. The Division asserted that the settlement amounts in the
Stipulation were consistent with these premises. (Respondent’s Brief and Exhibit B to
Respondent’s Brief).

TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 were married in Utah on DATE. They have never
obtained a legal separation or divorce.* (Respondent’s Brief).

TAXPAYER-2 lived and worked in CITY-1, STATE-1, for at least the past 20 years.
During that same time, TAXPAYER-1 lived and worked in CITY-2, Utah. (Respondent’s
Brief).

During the current audit period (DATE, through DATE), the Taxpayers filed married
filing jointly federal returns. TAXPAYER-1 filed married filing separately Utah resident
returns, and TAXPAYER-2 did not file Utah returns.” During the prior audit period, the
Taxpayers had filed married filing jointly federal individual income tax returns and
married filing jointly nonresident Utah individual income tax returns. (Respondent’s
Brief).

The parties agree that TAXPAYER-1 was domiciled in, and a resident of, Utah for the
entirety of the audit period. (Respondent’s Brief).

For several years, including during both the current audit period and prior audit period,
TAXPAYERS jointly owned residential property located at ADDRESS-1, and jointly
owned another residential property located at ADDRESS-2. The Taxpayers claimed the
primary residential exemption on the CITY-2, Utah property in each year of the audit
period. (Respondent’s Brief).

TAXPAYER-2 primarily occupied the property in CITY-1, STATE-1, and TAXPAYER-1
primarily occupied the property in CITY-2, Utah. (Respondent’s Brief).

The CITY-1, STATE-1 home is approximately ##### square feet sitting on a #####-acre
lot. The CITY-2, Utah home is approximately ##### square feet (plus a partially finished
basement of the same size) sitting on a #####-acre lot. (Respondent’s Brief).

The Taxpayers did not have any dependent children during the audit period.
(Respondent’s Brief).

* The facts in this paragraph are taken from the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Final Decision
issued in Appeal No. 16-1603, which in turn were based on the parties’ stipulation of facts. The Taxpayers
stated, and the Division does not dispute, that the facts enumerated have not changed from the prior audit
period, except for some information about vehicle ownership.

> Division’s Answer to Petition for Redetermination, Statement of Fact 1.
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17.

18.

19.
20.

21.
22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

Neither TAXPAYER-2 nor TAXPAYER-1 was enrolled in a Utah institution of higher
education during the audit period. (Respondent’s Brief).

TAXPAYER-2 was registered to vote in STATE-1 during the audit period. (Respondent’s
Brief).

TAXPAYER-2 has never voted in Utah. He has voted in STATE-1. (Joint Response).
TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah during the audit period. (Respondent’s
Brief).

TAXPAYER -1voted in Utah in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020. (Joint Response).
During the audit period, TAXPAYER-2 maintained a STATE-1 driver license, and
TAXPAYER-1 maintained a Utah driver license. (Respondent’s Brief).

During the audit period, the Taxpayers jointly owned a VEHICLE-1, a VEHICLE-2, and
a VEHICLE-3. TAXPAYER-1 separately owned a VEHICLE-4. The parties indicated
that TAXPAYER-1 is listed as the primary owner and TAXPAYER-2 is listed as the
secondary owner for both the VEHICLE-1 and the VEHICLE-2.® TAXPAYER-1 is the
sole owner of the VEHICLE-4. (Respondent’s Brief).

The VEHICLE-1 was registered and insured in Utah during the audit period. (Joint
Response).

The VEHICLE-2 was registered in Utah during the audit period. (Joint Response).

The VEHICLE-4 was registered in Utah during the audit period. It was insured in Utah
for the first part of 2019, and was insured in STATE-1 for the remainder of 2019 through
2020. (Joint Response).

The VEHICLE-3 was registered in Utah during the audit period. It was insured in
STATE-1 in 2018,” and was insured in Utah in the spring of 2019 through 2020. (Joint
Response).

During the audit period, TAXPAYER-2 attended a church in CITY-1, STATE-1.

(Respondent’s Brief and Joint Response).

During the audit period, TAXPAYER-1 attended a church in CITY-2, Utah. (Joint
Response).
During the audit period, TAXPAYER-2 used the CITY-1, STATE-1 address as his mailing

address. (Respondent’s Brief).

® The Commission notes that although the title application lists a primary owner and a co-owner, both
TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER have the same rights in the vehicles. Further, the Commission notes that
any assertion or inference that TAXPAYER-1 may have greater rights in the vehicles because she is listed
as the “primary owner” is incorrect.

" The Commission notes that the 2018 tax year is not part of this appeal, but is the date the parties provided
in their Joint Response.
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31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

37.

38.

39.

40.

During the audit period, TAXPAYER-2 used the CITY-1, STATE-1 address for all
government contact purposes that he is aware of. (Joint Response).

During the audit period, TAXPAYER-1 used the CITY-2, Utah address for all government
contact purposes that she is aware of. (Joint Response).

TAXPAYER-2 denied asserting residency in the State of Utah for any purpose during the
audit period. TAXPAYER-1 asserted residency in Utah for all purposes. (Joint Response).
During the audit period the Taxpayers used a Utah certified public accountant.
(Respondent’s Brief).

The Taxpayers listed a CITY-1, STATE-1 address on their state and federal returns for the
2019 and 2020 tax years. (Joint Response).

TAXPAYER-2 earned income in 2019 and 2020 from his job at the BUSINESS-1 in
CITY-1, STATE-1. The parties did not indicate where, or if, TAXPAYER had earned
income in 2019 and 2020.* (Joint Response).

During the audit period, TAXPAYER-2 only saw medical providers in STATE-1.
(Respondent’s Brief).

The Taxpayers did not provide any information on TAXPAYER medical providers.
(Respondent’s Brief and Joint Response).

The Taxpayers asserted that TAXPAYER-2 spent zero days in Utah during the audit
period. (Joint Response).

The Taxpayers raised a number of constitutional arguments in Petitioner’s Brief, which

are incorporated by reference herein. (Petitioner’s Brief).

APPLICABLE LAW’

Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1), tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a

resident individual.

The term “state taxable income” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(w), below

in pertinent part:

(i) subject to Section 59-10-1404.5, for a resident individual, means the resident
individual’s adjusted gross income after making the:
(A) additions and subtractions required by Section 59-10-114; and
(B) adjustments required by Section 59-10-115...

8 The Commission notes that it had asked the Taxpayers to provide “the physical location in which earned
income (as defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code) is earned by both TAXPAYER-2 and
TAXPAYER-1 for both 2019 and 2020,” and the Taxpayers only provided information with regard to
TAXPAYER-2.

° The Commission cites to and applies the 2019 version of the Utah Code, unless otherwise noted.
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Effective for the 2019 and 2020 tax years, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(q) defines
“resident individual” as follows:

“Resident individual” means an individual who is domiciled in this state for any
period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period
during which the individual is domiciled in this state.

For the audit period, the factors considered for determination of domicile are addressed in
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(1) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code,
on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income
tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(1) 1is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption
or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code, on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(i1) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse:

(i) votes in this state in a regular general election, municipal general
election, primary election, or special election during the taxable year;
and

(i1) has not registered to vote in another state in that taxable year; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a
part-year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for
which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2)
are not met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this
state, the individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:
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(b)

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in
this state to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to
return after being absent; and

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the
individual's or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not
for a special or temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a
permanent home.

The determination of whether an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the

preponderance of the evidence, taking into consideration the totality of
the following facts and circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver

license in this state;

(i) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption or a tax credit
under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code, on the individual's or
individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption or a tax credit under Section 24, Internal Revenue Code,
on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual
income tax return;

(v) the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section
59-12-102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's
spouse;

(vii)whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile;
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(©)

4) (2)

(b)

(©)

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection

(1)(b);

(xiii) whether the individual:

(A) maintains a place of abode in the state; and

(B) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in
the state; or

(xiv) whether the individual or the individual's spouse:

(A)did not vote in this state in a regular general election,
municipal general election, primary election, or special
election during the taxable year, but voted in the state in a
general election, municipal general election, primary election,
or special election during any of the three taxable years prior to
that taxable year; and

(B) has not registered to vote in another state during a taxable year
described in Subsection (3)(b)(xiv)(A).

In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative

Rulemaking Act, and for purposes of Subsection (3)(b)(xiii), the

commission may by rule define what constitutes spending a day of the

taxable year in the state.

Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other

provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have

domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the
individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(i1) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption or a tax credit under Section 24,
Internal Revenue Code, on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to a
dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1)(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102
who are enrolled in an institution of higher education described
in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.
For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:
(1) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

8
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(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(i) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state;
and

(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state.

(e) (1) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an
individual income tax return or amended individual income tax return
under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty imposed
under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections
59-1-401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by
Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to
have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A),
pays in full the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under
Section 59-1-402, and any applicable penalty imposed under
Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under Subsection
59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) Notwithstanding Subsections (2) and (3), for individuals who are spouses for
purposes of this section and one of the spouses has domicile under this
section, the other spouse is not considered to have domicile in this state under
Subsection (2) or (3) if one of the spouses establishes by a preponderance of
the evidence that, during the taxable year and for three taxable years prior to
that taxable year, that other spouse:

(a) is not an owner of property in this state;

(b) does not return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(c) has not received earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal
Revenue Code, in this state;

(d) has not voted in this state in a regular general election, municipal general
election, primary election, or special election; and

(e) does not have a driver license in this state.

(6) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5), an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state in accordance with this section, the individual's
spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a
spouse if:

(1) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

9
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(i1) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (6)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(7) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103.5 sets forth the procedures to obtain the primary residential
exemption under Section 59-2-103, as follows:

(1) Subject to Subsection (8), for residential property other than part-year
residential property, a county legislative body may adopt an ordinance that
requires an owner to file an application with the county board of equalization
before a residential exemption under Section 59-2-103 may be applied to the
value of the residential property if:

(a) the residential property was ineligible for the residential exemption
during the calendar year immediately preceding the calendar year for
which the owner is seeking to have the residential exemption applied to
the value of the residential property;

(b) an ownership interest in the residential property changes; or

(c) the county board of equalization determines that there is reason to
believe that the residential property no longer qualifies for the residential
exemption.

(2) (a) The application described in Subsection (1) shall:

(i) be on a form the commission prescribes by rule and makes available
to the counties;

(i1) be signed by all of the owners of the residential property;

(iii) certify that the residential property is residential property; and

(iv) contain other information as the commission requires by rule.

(b) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act, the commission may make rules prescribing the
contents of the form described in Subsection (2)(a).

(3) (a) Regardless of whether a county legislative body adopts an ordinance
described in Subsection (1), before a residential exemption may be
applied to the value of part-year residential property, an owner of the
property shall:

(1) file the application described in Subsection (2)(a) with the county
board of equalization; and
(i1) include as part of the application described in Subsection (2)(a) a
statement that certifies:
(A) the date the part-year residential property became residential
property;
(B) that the part-year residential property will be used as residential
property for 183 or more consecutive calendar days during the

10
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calendar year for which the owner seeks to obtain the residential
exemption; and

(C) that the owner, or a member of the owner's household, may not
claim a residential exemption for any property for the calendar
year for which the owner seeks to obtain the residential
exemption, other than the part-year residential property, or as
allowed under Section 59-2-103 with respect to the primary
residence or household furnishings, furniture, and equipment of
the owner's tenant.

(b) An owner may not obtain a residential exemption for part-year
residential property unless the owner files an application under this
Subsection (3) on or before November 30 of the calendar year for which
the owner seeks to obtain the residential exemption.

(c) If an owner files an application under this Subsection (3) on or after May
1 of the calendar year for which the owner seeks to obtain the residential
exemption, the county board of equalization may require the owner to
pay an application fee of not to exceed $50.

(4) Except as provided in Subsection (5), if a property owner no longer qualifies
to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the
property owner's primary residence, the property owner shall:

(a) file a written statement with the county board of equalization of the
county in which the property is located:

(1) on a form provided by the county board of equalization; and

(i1) notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no
longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under
Section 59-2-103 for the property owner's primary residence; and

(b) declare on the property owner's individual income tax return under
Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which
the property owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption
authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the property owner's primary
residence, that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive a
residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the property
owner's primary residence.

(5) A property owner is not required to file a written statement or make the
declaration described in Subsection (4) if the property owner:

(a) changes primary residences;

(b) qualified to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section
59-2-103 for the residence that was the property owner's former primary
residence; and

(¢) qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section
59-2-103 for the residence that is the property owner's current primary
residence.

(6) Subsections (2) through (5) do not apply to qualifying exempt primary
residential rental personal property.

(7) (a) Subject to Subsection (8), for the first calendar year in which a property
owner qualifies to receive a residential exemption under Section 59-2-103, a
county assessor may require the property owner to file a signed statement
described in Section 59-2-306.

(b) Subject to Subsection (8) and notwithstanding Section 59-2-306, for a
calendar year after the calendar year described in Subsection (7)(a) in

11
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®) (@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

which a property owner qualifies for an exemption described in
Subsection 59-2-1115(2) for qualifying exempt primary residential rental
personal property, a signed statement described in Section 59-2-306 with
respect to the qualifying exempt primary residential rental personal
property may only require the property owner to certify, under penalty of
perjury, that the property owner qualifies for the exemption under
Subsection 59-2-1115(2).

Subject to the requirements of this Subsection (8) and except as provided
in Subsection (8)(c), on or before May 1, 2020, a county assessor shall:

(1) notify each owner of residential property that the owner is required
to submit a written declaration described in Subsection (8)(b) within
30 days after the day on which the county assessor mails the notice
under this Subsection (8)(a); and

(ii) provide each owner with a form described in Subsection (8)(e) to
make the written declaration described in Subsection (8)(b).

Each owner of residential property that receives a notice described in

Subsection (8)(a) shall file a written declaration with the county assessor

under penalty of perjury:

(1) certifying whether the property is residential property or part-year
residential property;

(ii) certifying whether during any portion of the current calendar year,
the property receives a residential exemption under Section
59-2-103; and

(iii) certifying whether the property owner owns other property in the
state that receives a residential exemption under Section 59-2-103,
and if so, listing:

(A) the parcel number of the property;
(B) the county in which the property is located; and
(C) whether the property is the primary residence of a tenant.

A county assessor is not required to provide a notice to an owner of

residential property under Subsection (8)(a) if the situs address of the

residential property is the same as any one of the following:

(1) the mailing address of the residential property owner or the tenant of
the residential property;

(i1) the address listed on the:

(A) residential property owner's driver license; or
(B) tenant of the residential property's driver license; or

(iii) the address listed on the:

(A) residential property owner's voter registration; or
(B) tenant of the residential property's voter registration.
If an ownership interest in residential property changes, the new owner
of the residential property, at the time title to the property is transferred
to the new owner, shall make a written declaration under penalty of
perjury:
(i) certifying whether the property is residential property or part-year
residential property;
(ii)certifying whether the property receives a residential exemption
under Section 59-2-103; and
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(iii) certifying whether the property owner owns other property in the
state that receives a residential exemption under Section 59-2-103,
and if so, listing:

(A) the parcel number of the property;
(B) the county in which the property is located; and
(C) whether the property is the primary residence of a tenant.

(e) The declaration required by Subsection (8)(b) or (d) shall:

(i) be on a form the commission prescribes and makes available to the
counties;

(i1) be signed by all of the owners of the property; and

(iii) include the following statement:

"If a property owner or a property owner's spouse claims a residential
exemption under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103 for property in this state
that is the primary residence of the property owner or the property
owner's spouse, that claim of a residential exemption creates a
rebuttable presumption that the property owner and the property
owner's spouse have domicile in Utah for income tax purposes. The
rebuttable presumption of domicile does not apply if the residential
property is the primary residence of a tenant of the property owner or
the property owner's spouse.”

(f) The written declaration made under Subsection (8)(d) shall be remitted to
the county assessor of the county where the property described in
Subsection (8)(d) is located within five business days of the title being
transferred to the new owner.

(g) (i) If, after receiving a written declaration filed under Subsection (8)(b)
or (d), the county determines that the property has been incorrectly
qualified or disqualified to receive a residential exemption, the
county shall:

(A) redetermine the property's qualification to receive a residential
exemption; and

(B) notify the claimant of the redetermination and its reason for the
redetermination.

(i) The redetermination provided in Subsection (8)(g)(i)(A) shall be
final unless appealed within 30 days after the notice required by
Subsection (8)(g)(1)(B).

(h) (i) Ifaresidential property owner fails to file a written declaration
required by Subsection (8)(b) or (d), the county assessor shall mail to
the owner of the residential property a notice that:

(A) the property owner failed to file a written declaration as required
by Subsection (8)(b) or (d); and

(B) the property owner will no longer qualify to receive the
residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the
property that is the subject of the written declaration if the
property owner does not file the written declaration required by
Subsection (8)(b) or (d) within 30 days after the day on which
the county assessor mails the notice under this Subsection
®)(h)(i).

(ii) If a property owner fails to file a written declaration required by
Subsection (8)(b) or (d) after receiving the notice described in
Subsection (8)(h)(i), the property owner no longer qualifies to
receive the residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103
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in the calendar year for the property that is the subject of the written
declaration.

(iii) A property owner that is disqualified to receive the residential
exemption under Subsection (8)(h)(ii)) may file an application
described in Subsection (1) to determine whether the owner is
eligible to receive the residential exemption.

(i) The requirements of this Subsection (8) do not apply to a county assessor
in a county that has, for the five calendar years prior to 2019, had in

place and enforced an ordinance described in Subsection (1).

Under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417, the burden of proof is generally upon the petitioner
in proceedings before the commission, as follows:

(1) In a proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the
petitioner except for determining the following in which the burden of proof
is on the commission:

(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or
charge;

(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the
person that originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to
show that the person that originally owes a liability is obligated for the
liability; and

(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the
increase is asserted initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in
accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a petition under Part 5, Petitions
for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the increase in the
deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable
income:

(i) required to be reported; and
(i1) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission
mails the notice of deficiency.

(2) Regardless of whether a taxpayer has paid or remitted a tax, fee, or charge,
the commission or a court considering a case involving the tax, fee, or charge
shall:

(a) construe a statute imposing the tax, fee, or charge strictly in favor of the
taxpayer; and

(b) construe a statute providing an exemption from or credit against the tax,
fee, or charge strictly against the taxpayer.

ARGUMENTS
Respondent s Brief

At issue is whether, under the specific facts of this case, after Utah’s domicile statute was
amended by the Utah Legislature during the 2019 General Session, and after the Utah Supreme
Court’s ruling in Buck v. Utah State Tax Comm'n, 506 P.3d 584 (Utah 2022), TAXPAYERS are
considered to be domiciled in Utah during the audit period. The Taxpayers challenged the
Division’s determination that they were domiciled in Utah for the tax years 2012 through 2017
under similar facts. The parties settled the 2012 through 2017 tax years as part of the resolution of
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Third District Case No. 190903607.'° 1t is the Division’s position that both TAXPAYER-2 and
TAXPAYER-1 are considered to be domiciled in Utah after the 2019 General Session
amendments to Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, which had retrospective operation for a taxable year
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, and that this determination is consistent with the Utah
Supreme Court’s ruling in Buck.

It is the Division’s position that both TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 are considered to
be domiciled in Utah for the audit period. The Division stated that the amendments to Utah Code
Ann. §59-10-136 made in 2019 General Session S.B. 13, Income Tax Domicile Amendments
(“S.B. 13”), which had retrospective operation to tax year 2018, established an exception to Utah
domicile where one spouse may be considered to have domicile in Utah while the other spouse
does not. The Division argued that although the amendment provides an additional basis to find
that one spouse is domiciled in Utah and one spouse is not domiciled in Utah, the Taxpayers do
not qualify for the exception in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(5)."

The Division stated that the Commission considered a similar issue with facts similar to
the instant case under the amended law in Appeal No. 22-771." The taxpayers in Appeal No.
22-771 were a married couple who had filed joint federal tax returns. The taxpayers jointly owned
properties in Utah. The wife lived in one of the properties, and that property received the primary
residential exemption. The husband worked outside of Utah, and returned to Utah only a few days
per year. The Division noted in its Brief that like the instant case, there was a question in Appeal
No. 22-771 as to whether the husband was domiciled in Utah, or whether the exception under
Subsection 59-10-136(5) was met. The Commission found as follows in Appeal No. 22-771:

The Taxpayers are each other’s spouse for the years at issue. Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(6)(a) provides that if an individual is considered to have domicile in
this state in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is also
considered to have domicile in this state. Subsection (6)(b) provides that an
individual is not considered to have a spouse if the individual is legally separated
or divorced from the spouse, or the individual and individual’s spouse claim
married filing separate filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual

1 The Commission notes that the Tax Commission did not concede that TAXPAYER-2 was not domiciled
in Utah. Further, TAXPAYER-1 did not admit she had unreported Utah income. However, the Division
asserted that the settlement amounts in the Stipulation were consistent with those premises.

"' The Commission notes that the Division referred to “spousal domicile” in its Brief, and defined that as
“where one spouse is presumed domiciled in Utah based on the domicile of the other spouse in Utah under
59-10-136(6).” The Division then stated, “[o]nce the presumption of spousal domicile is established, the
inquiry turns to whether there are any applicable exceptions to this presumption of spousal domicile.” The
Commission rejects the Division’s interpretation of the statute. There is no presumption of “spousal
domicile.” The only “presumptions” found in Section 59-10-136 are in Subsection (2).

12 The Division noted in its Brief that the decision was not publicly available, and that a redacted version
had been provided to the Taxpayers’ counsel. The Commission has now completed redacting the decision
in Appeal No. 22-771, and it is available online at at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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income tax return for the year in question. The Taxpayers filed 2018 and 2019
federal income tax returns with a married filing jointly filing status. The
Taxpayers provided testimony at the Initial Hearing that they were not legally
separated or divorced throughout 2018 and 2019. Thus, the Commission finds
that the Taxpayers are each other’s spouse for the years at issue in this appeal.

Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(5) provides that the spouse of an individual who is
domiciled in Utah is not considered to have domicile in Utah under Subsection
59-10-136(2) or (3) if the following qualifications are met: . . . for individuals
who are spouses for purposes of this section and one of the spouses has domicile
under this section, the other spouse is not considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (2) or (3) if one of the spouses establishes by a
preponderance of the evidence that, during the taxable year and for three taxable
years prior to that taxable year, that other spouse:

(a) is not an owner of property in this state; (b) does not return to this state for
more than 30 days in a calendar year; (c) has not received earned income as
defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, in this state; (d) has not
voted in this state in a regular general election, municipal general election,
primary election, or special election; and (e) does not have a driver license in this
state.” The Commission finds that the Taxpayers’ submitted information is not
sufficient to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the
requirements of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(5) are met because both Taxpayers
owned property in this state during all of 2018 and 2019 and because both
Taxpayers held a Utah driver license for at least a portion of the years at issue in
this appeal. Thus, the Commission finds that neither Taxpayer qualifies as being
considered not domiciled in the state of Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(5) for
any portion of the audit period.

The Commission further concluded that:

The presumptions of domicile have arisen for both Taxpayers under Subsections
59-10-136(2)(a) and (2)(c). The Commission has previously found that where the
presumptions under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) and (c) have arisen for both
Taxpayers, the Taxpayers cannot rebut the presumptions for only one of the
Taxpayers. Either the presumptions are rebutted for both Taxpayers, or the
presumptions are not rebutted for both Taxpayers. This conclusion is supported
by Subsection 59-10-136(6)(a), which provides that an individual is considered
to have domicile in Utah if his or her spouse is considered to have domicile in
Utah (under a different provision of Section 59-10-136). In this appeal, the
Commission finds that the Taxpayers’ submitted information is insufficient to
rebut the presumptions of domicile under Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a) and (2)(c)
for both Taxpayers.

The Division noted that because both spouses owned property under the facts of Appeal No.
22-771, the Commission determined that the exception to domicile in Subsection 59-10-136(5)
did not apply. Thus, the husband in Appeal No. 22-771 could not claim that he was not
considered to have domicile in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(5).
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In its Brief, the Division stated that the Taxpayers’ counsel argued that the statement in
Subsection 59-10-136(5) that “for individuals who are spouses for purposes of this section and
one of the spouses has domicile under this section, the other spouse is not considered to have
domicile in this state under Subsection (2) or (3) . . .” should mean that the determination of
domicile under Subsections (2) and (3) should be made separately for each spouse. The Division
argued this statutory interpretation is incorrect and makes the exception to domicile in Subsection
59-10-136(5) superfluous. The Division argued that in order to give meaning to the S.B. 13
amendment adding Subsection (5) to Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, Subsections (5)(a) through (e)
must provide the exclusive basis for finding that one spouse is domiciled in Utah and the other
spouse is not considered to have domicile in Utah.”® The Division noted that the Utah Supreme
Court recently concluded that “[w]e thus ‘interpret statutes to give meaning to all parts, and avoid
rendering portions of the statute superfluous.” [Citing Summit Operating, LLC v. Utah State Tax
Comm’n, 2012 UT 91, 11] (cleaned up). “When we can ascertain the intent of the legislature from
the statutory terms alone, no other interpretive tools are needed . . . .” Bagley v. Bagley, 2016 UT
48, 10, 387 P.3d 1000 (cleaned up). Miller Theatres, Inc. v. Tax Com’n, 2024 UT 8, q16.

The Division asserted that TAXPAYERS were both considered to be domiciled in Utah
during the audit period, and asked the Commission to sustain this determination.

Petitioner s Brief

In their Brief, the Taxpayers stated that the Legislature has not defined the term
“domicile,” and the Utah Supreme Court in Buck v. Utah State Tax Comm'n, 506 P.3d 584 (Utah
2022) recently stated this of the term “domicile”:

113

When courts refer to domicile, they are referring generally to “‘[t]he place at
which a person has been physically present and that the person regards as home’
or ‘a person‘s true, fixed, principal, and permanent home, to which that person
intends to return and remain even though currently residing elsewhere.”” Lilly v.
Lilly, 2011 UT App 53, 13, 250 P.3d 994 (alteration in original) (quoting
BLACK‘S LAW DICTIONARY 558 (9th ed. 2009)). And in applying these
rather orthodox principles of domicile, courts look to a multiplicity of factors
including, but most certainly not limited to, “the places where the [individual]
exercises civil and political rights, pays taxes, owns real and personal property,
has driver‘s and other licenses, maintains bank accounts, belongs to clubs and
churches, has places of business or employment, and maintains a home for his [or
her] family.” Coury v. Prot, 85 F.3d 244, 251 (5th Cir. 1996). “No single factor is
determinative.” Id.

13 The Commission notes that this statement is incorrect. For example, federal law provides such an
exception for certain spouses where one spouse is in military service, and this exception is applicable to
Utah individual income taxes.
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The Taxpayers argued that domicile generally requires two elements: 1) physical
presence in a state, and 2) the intent to make such state a home. See Texas v. Florida, 306 U. S.
398, 424 (1939); Russell v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., 325 F.2d 996, 998 (8th Cir. 1964);
Rodriguez-Diaz v. SierraMartinez, 853 F.2d 1027, 1029 (1st Cir. 1988). The Taxpayers asserted
that if these two elements do not coexist, a new domicile cannot be established. Sivalls v. United
States, 205 F. 2d 444, 446 (5th Cir. 1953), cert. denied 346 U. S. 898 (1953). The Taxpayers noted
that the Supreme Court of the United States in District of Columbia v. Murphy, 62 S.Ct. 303, 314
U.S. 441, 86 L.Ed. 329 (1941), stated, “The place where a man lives is properly taken to be his
domicile until facts adduced establish the contrary.” The Taxpayers also asserted that a person
can have only one domicile at a time. Valentin v. Hosp. Bella Vista, 254 F.3d 358, 367 (1st Cir.
2001); General Electric Co. v. Cugini, 640 F. Supp. 113, 115 (D.P.R.1986). See also Shafer v.
Children's Hospital Society, 265 F.2d 107, 120-21 (D.C. Cir. 1959); Hardin v. McAvoy, 216 F.2d
399, 403 (5th Cir. 1954); Syme v. Rowton, 555 F. Supp. 33, 36 (D. Mont. 1982). The Taxpayers
argued that upon reaching the age of majority, any individual may thereafter choose his own
domicile. Sivalls v. United States, 205 F. 2d 444, 446 (5th Cir. 1953), cert. denied 346 U. S. 898
(1953); Sasse v. Sasse, 41 Wash. 2d 363, 249 P. 2d 380, 381 (1952). The Taxpayers also asserted
that domicile is not lost until a new one is acquired, and it is presumed to continue until the
taxpayer sustains the burden of proving a change. Lawrence v. Mississippi Tax Comm., 286 U.S.
276 (1932). The Taxpayers maintained that the Division acknowledged that nothing has changed
in the Taxpayers’ circumstances, and thus the Taxpayers question why the Division is asserting
the Taxpayers are domiciled in Utah.

In their Pre-Hearing Brief, the Taxpayers asserted that TAXPAYER-2 was not able to
choose his domicile, but rather it was forced upon him as the result of applying Utah’s domicile
statute. The Taxpayers noted that the Division’s Brief addressed an argument that Subsection
59-10-136(5)’s statement “for individuals who are spouses for purposes of this section and one of
the spouses has domicile under this section, the other spouse is not considered to have domicile in
this state under Subsection (2) or (3)” means that the determination of domicile under Subsections
(2) and (3) is made separately for each spouse. The Taxpayers noted that the Division’s Brief goes
on to argue that “this statutory interpretation is incorrect and makes the statutory amendment
listing the exceptions to spousal domicile in 59-10-136(5) (a) through (e) superfluous. To give
meaning to the amendment adding subsection (5) in effect in 2018' and 2019, the list of grounds

for the exemption to spousal domicile in Subsections (a) through (¢) must provide the exclusive

'* The Commission notes that the 2018 tax year is not at issue in this appeal. The audit period at issue is the
2019 and 2020 tax years.
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bases'” for finding an exception to the domicile of one spouse where the other spouse is domiciled
in Utah.” The Taxpayers argued that the Division’s interpretation is flawed because it does not
allow for a rebuttable presumption as Buck and Utah Code §59-10-136(2) and (3) allow for.'® The
Taxpayers noted that the Court in Buck stated, “[n]o single factor is determinative” as to domicile,
and argued that the Division’s position is that property ownership alone is determinative as to
domicile.

The Taxpayers argued that the correct interpretation of Subsections 59-10-136(5) and (6)
would be to allow the factors of Subsection 59-10-136(5) to create a rebuttable presumption of
domicile for the “other spouse.” The Taxpayers argued that the Division’s interpretation of
Subsections 59-10-136(5) and (6) has denied TAXPAYER-2 the opportunity to rebut the
presumption of domicile under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) because he is married. It is the
TAXPAYER-1 position that TAXPAYER-2 should be allowed to rebut the presumption of
domicile in Subsection (2)(a) without any regard to TAXPAYER-1. The Taxpayers argued that the
Division’s interpretation of the statute renders Utah Code §59-10-136(2)(a) superfluous as to
TAXPAYER-2. The Taxpayers argued the Commission should allow Subsection 59-10-136(5) to
define when a rebuttable presumption of domicile applies. It is the TAXPAYER-1 position that
such an interpretation gives effect and meaning to Section 59-10-136 as whole for both married
and single taxpayers. The Taxpayers stated that as the Division interprets the statute, a married
person’s domicile would be forced to be the State of Utah if their spouse is domiciled in Utah and
they own any type of property in Utah. The Taxpayers argued that this interpretation is contrary to
the longstanding jurisprudence that allows a person to choose their domicile, as set forth in the
Taxpayers’ arguments above.

The Taxpayers noted that Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a) states, “Except as provided in
Subsection (5), an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this
section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.” The Taxpayers
argued that it is critical to note that the words “if” and “then” are omitted from Utah Code
§59-10-136(6)(a). In other words, the Taxpayers argued that Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a) does
not read, “Except as provided in Subsection (5), IF an individual is considered to have domicile in
this state in accordance with this section, THEN the individual's spouse is considered to have

domicile in this state.” The Taxpayers argued that the omission of the conditional conjunction

15 The Commission has also found that federal law provisions for members of the military may result in one
spouse having domicile in Utah while the other spouse does not.

! There is no presumption of domicile in Subsection 59-10-136(5). It is an exception to a finding of
domicile. Further, Subsection (3) includes no rebuttable presumption of domicile, but provides a separate
basis for determining domicile if an individual does not meet the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2).
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“if-then” suggests that each spouse’s domicile should be evaluated separately “in accordance with
this section.” The Taxpayers argued that this lends support to its premise that Subsection (5) is
merely describing definitively when a spouse should not be considered a domiciliary of Utah, and
when the rebuttable presumption should apply. The Taxpayers maintained that no reasonable
interpretation of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 should foreclose a spouse’s ability to rebut a
presumption of domicile. The Taxpayers argued that TAXPAYER-2 should be allowed to rebut
the presumption under Utah Code §59-10-136(2)(a) as applied only to him, and not to
TAXPAYER-1, in evaluating TAXPAYER-2’s ownership of the CITY-2 home, which qualifies for
the primary residential exemption, because it is TAXPAYER-1 primary residence.

The Taxpayers maintained that the Division’s argument frustrates the plain language of
the statute and cannot control. The Taxpayers argued that the operative language of Subsection
59-10-136(5) expressly limits and proscribes its application to Subsections 59-10-136(2) and (3).
The Taxpayers argued that Subsection 59-10-136(5) should be interpreted as a legislative reaction
to Buck'’, allowing the Division a clear and simple exception to performing a lengthy analysis
and weighing of evidence in response to the assertion of domicile under Subsection
59-10-136(2)'®. The Taxpayers asserted that this interpretation would also make rational sense of
the statute. Otherwise, it would follow that TAXPAYER-2 is not domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 59-10-136(2) because of Buck. The Taxpayers asserted that TAXPAYER-1 is
considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsections 59-10-136(2) and (3), but TAXPAYER-2 is
only considered to be domiciled in Utah because of Subsection 59-10-136(6), and creates an
“illogical loop” where TAXPAYER-2 cannot demonstrate that he is not domiciled in Utah under
the provisions of Subsection 59-10-136(2). The Taxpayers argued that Subsection 59-10-136(5)
should operate similarly to Subsection 59-10-136(4). The Taxpayers noted that in Appeal No.
18-1717, pg. 22, Footnote 21, the Commission noted that Subsection (4) “provides an exception
from being considered to be domiciled in Utah.” The Taxpayers also argued that the Commission
should continue to follow its “longstanding precedent” that Subsection 59-10-136(6)(a) “does not
provide independent grounds for finding that an individual is domiciled in Utah” as the

Commission found in Appeal No. 19-1221, pg. 16.

'7 The Commission notes that S.B. 13 took effect in May 2019, with retrospective operation for a taxable
year beginning on or after January 1, 2018. The Court issued its decision in Buck on February 24, 2022.
The Commission rejects the Taxpayers’ assertion that Subsection 59-10-136(5) was a legislative reaction to
the Buck decision.

'8 The Commission notes that the Utah Supreme Court in Buck specifically considered the rebuttable
presumption found in Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), and did not address the application of Subsection
59-10-136(3).
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The Taxpayers contended that there is ambiguity in how Utah Code §59-10-136(5) and
(6) should be interpreted and applied. The Taxpayers maintained that it is unclear how the
analysis should be made. For example, the Taxpayers questioned that since TAXPAYER is listed
as the “spouse” taxpayer on the tax returns filed for the Audit Period, whether she is then “the
individual” referred to in Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a). The Taxpayers questioned whether the
analysis of Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a) applies to each of them. The Taxpayers argued that this
ambiguity should be resolved in the favor of the Taxpayers. The Taxpayers noted that Utah Code
Ann. §59-1-1417(2) provides, “Regardless of whether a taxpayer has paid or remitted a tax, fee,
or charge, the commission or a court considering a case involving the tax, fee, or charge shall: (a)
construe a statute imposing the tax, fee, or charge strictly in favor of the taxpayer . . . .”
Additionally, the Taxpayers asserted that “if any doubt exists as to the meaning of the statute, ‘our
practice is to construe taxation statutes liberally in favor of the taxpayer, leaving it to the
legislature to clarify an intent to be more restrictive if such intent exists.’”
v. Utah State Tax Commission, 2000 UT App 372, 912, 21 P.3d 231 (citing Wasatch County Bd. of
Equalization v. State Tax Comm’n, 944 P.2d 370, 374 (Utah 1997) (quoting Salt Lake County v.

State Tax Comm’n, 779 P.2d 1131, 1132 (Utah 1989))). The Taxpayers argued that the Division

Hercules Incorporated

and the Commission have been mandated by both the Utah Legislature and the Utah Supreme
Court to construe Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a) (2019) in the favor of the Taxpayers and not in
favor of the Division. The Taxpayers argued that in this matter, construing the statute in favor of
the Taxpayers would require that Utah Code §59-10-136(6)(a) be analyzed to construe
TAXPAYER-2 as being the “individual” rather than the spouse “in accordance with this section.”
The Taxpayers asserted that this interpretation would allow a presumption of domicile to be
rebutted, and that such an analysis would show that TAXPAYER-2’s income is not taxable to the
State of Utah as he is a nonresident.

The Taxpayers argued that it appears the Commission has not treated this situation
uniformly, and thus the ambiguity in treatment should be construed in favor of the Taxpayers. The
Taxpayers stated that in Appeal No. 20-929, the Commission appears to apply its longstanding
precedent that Subsection 59-10-136(6) is not an independent basis for domicile. The Taxpayers
asserted that in that appeal, tax years 2016, 2017, and 2018 were at issue and the Commission
recognized that 2018 fell under the new law. The Taxpayers argued that the Commission stated,
“The Commission must first determine whether one or both of the taxpayers is considered to be

domiciled in Utah ‘in accordance with this section,” specifically in accordance with Subsection
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59-10-136(1), (2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), and/or (3)... and that such a conclusion is supported by
Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a).”"
Respondent’s Reply Brief

The Division argued in its reply Brief that TAXPAYER-2 is considered to be domiciled in
Utah under the Commission’s prior interpretation of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 made after the
Utah Supreme Court’s decision in Buck. In its Reply Brief, the Division reiterated the arguments
made in its Brief regarding the applicability of the Commission’s decision in Appeal No. 22-771.
The Division again asserted that Mr. and Mrs. Kiel may not rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2)
presumption for only one of the Taxpayers, that Mr. Kiel has not met the requirements of
Subsection 59-10-136(5) to not be considered domiciled in Utah, and that the Commission’s
findings in Appeal No. 22-771 support these conclusions. The Division argued that the
Taxpayers’ proposed interpretation of Subsection 59-10-136(5) ignores that the Legislature used
the word “and” between Subsection 59-10-136(5)(d) and (e). Thus, the Division argued, each of
the five factors in Subsection 59-10-136(5) must be met in order for a spouse to be considered not
domiciled in Utah. The Division asked the Commission to find that both TAXPAYERS were
considered to be domiciled in Utah for the audit period under Section 59-10-136.

ANALYSIS
The Commission first considers whether the enactment of Subsection 59-10-136(5),

which creates an exception to Utah’s domicile statute that would allow one spouse to be
considered to have domicile in Utah while the other spouse does not, result in one or both of the
Taxpayers not having domicile in Utah. For the exception under Subsection 59-10-136(5) to
apply, one of the spouses must meet all of the following requirements: must not be an owner of
property in Utah; must not return to Utah for more than 30 days in a calendar year; must not
receive earned income, as defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, in Utah; must not
have voted in Utah in a regular general election, municipal general election, primary election, or
special election; and must not have a driver license in this state.*

TAXPAYER-2 meets all of the requirements to qualify for this exception, except for the
requirement that he must not be an owner of property in Utah. Both TAXPAYERS jointly owned

1 The Commission notes that effective for the 2018 tax year, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(5)(a) was
renumbered as §59-10-136(6)(a) as a part of S.B. 13.

2 Although the Division asserted that Subsection 59-10-136(5) provides the only exception in Utah’s
domicile statute where one spouse may have domicile in Utah while the other spouse does not have
domicile in Utah, the Commission notes that in prior cases, the Commission has recognized an additional
circumstance involving military service where one spouse is considered to have domicile in Utah and the
other spouse is not considered to have domicile in Utah. This exception to domicile is required by federal
law. Neither of the parties have asserted that military service is relevant to determining TAXPAYERS
domicile in this matter.
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the CITY-2, Utah home during the entire audit period. The Taxpayers have not asserted that
TAXPAYER-1 meets any of the requirements to qualify for this exception. The Commission finds
that TAXPAYER-1 does not meet any of the requirements to qualify for this exception, except
that it is unclear whether she received earned income in Utah during the audit period. The
Commission requested that the TAXPAYERS provide information regarding the physical location
in which earned income (as defined in Section 32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code) was earned by
both TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 for both 2019 and 2020 in its Order Requiring Additional
Information. The TAXPAYERS did not provide the requested information with regard to
TAXPAYER-1. The Taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter, and the Commission finds
that TAXPAYER-1 has failed to establish that she has not received earned income in Utah.
Regardless, neither TAXPAYER-2 nor TAXPAYER-1 meet all of the requirements of Subsection
59-10-136(5) for the exception to apply. Consequently, the Commission must look to the other
provisions of Section 59-10-136 in determining whether TAXPAYER-2 and/or TAXPAYER-1 are
considered to have domicile in Utah.

Before turning to the application of the other provisions of Section 59-10-136 in this
matter, the Commission makes several observations. First, the Taxpayers have urged the
Commission to view the enactment of the exception under Subsection 59-10-136(5) as the
Legislature’s response to the Buck decision. The Commission finds that this argument lacks merit.
The Commission observes that 2019 General Session S.B. 13, Income Tax Domicile
Amendments (“S.B. 13”), took effect on May 14, 2019, and had retrospective operation to a
taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2018. The Commission further notes that the Utah
Supreme Court issued the Buck decision on February 24, 2022, which is almost three years after
the effective date of S.B. 13. Thus, the enactment of S.B. 13 could not have been the Legislature’s
reaction to Buck.

Furthermore, the Taxpayers have seemingly argued that Subsection (5) should operate as
a rebuttable presumption, and urges the Commission to weigh each of the requirements of the
exception based on a preponderance of the evidence. The Commission finds this argument to be
unpersuasive. Had the Legislature intended for Subsection 59-10-136(5) to be interpreted to be a
rebuttable presumption, the Legislature could have certainly stated so in drafting Subsection
59-10-136(5). For example, the Legislature clearly stated in Subsection 59-10-136(2) that “[t]here
is a rebuttable presumption” that an individual is considered to have domicile in the state if
certain circumstances are present. There is no similar language in Subsection 59-10-136(5) to
suggest that the Legislature intended this subsection to be a “rebuttable presumption.” It appears

that the Taxpayers are urging the Commission to adopt an interpretation that the Taxpayers
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consider to be a better tax policy. However, the role of the Commission is not to interpret statutes
in a manner that promotes what the Taxpayers consider to be a better tax policy. That is the role
of the Legislature. The Commission is required to interpret and administer the laws as
written. Thus, the Commission declines to interpret Subsection 59-10-136(5) to be a rebuttable
presumption.

The Commission now considers whether TAXPAYERS are considered to have domicile
in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1), (2), or (3).*' In instances where the actions of only one
spouse meet the circumstances described in Subsection 59-10-136(1), (2), and/or (3), the
Commission has generally found that both spouses are considered to be domiciled in Utah under
the applicable subsection, and that such a conclusion is supported by Subsection 59-10-136(6)(a).

The Taxpayers are not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(1) for the 2019 or 2020 tax year. If a dependent claimed on the individual’s or
individual’s spouse’s federal individual income tax return is enrolled in a Utah public
kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school, the individual is considered to be domiciled in
Utah. The Taxpayers did not claim any dependents on their federal returns during the tax years at
issue. Additionally, Subsection (1) provides that if an individual or individual’s spouse is a
resident student enrolled in an institution of higher education in Utah, the individual is considered
to be domiciled in Utah. Neither of the Taxpayers were enrolled at an institution of higher
education in Utah.

Subsection (2) of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 sets forth three circumstances that create a
rebuttable presumption of domicile in Utah. The Legislature did not provide what circumstances
are sufficient, or are not sufficient, to rebut the presumptions in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2),
leaving it to the Courts and the Commission to determine which circumstances are sufficient, or
not sufficient, to rebut the presumptions of domicile found in Subsection 59-10-136(2).

A. The Taxpayers are presumed to be domiciled in Utah for the entire audit period because their
jointly owned CITY-2 home received the primary residential exemption. Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(2)(a) provides, as follows:

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:

2! The Commission notes that Subsection 59-10-136(4) provides an additional exception to Utah’s domicile
statute that applies if a taxpayer, and the TAXPAYER-1 spouse, if any, are absent from the state for at least
761 consecutive days. In this matter, neither party asserted that the exception in Subsection 59-10-136(4)
applied to the TAXPAYERS, and both of the TAXPAYERS were not absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days at any point during the audit period. Further, the Taxpayers together benefited from and
claimed a residential exemption on the property they jointly owned in CITY-2, Utah, where TAXPAYER-1
resides.
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(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential
exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for
that individual's or individual's spouse's primary residence;

For the presumption to arise, an individual, or the individual’s spouse, must have claimed
the exemption on a Utah home, and the home on which the exemption is claimed must be
considered the “primary residence” of the individual or the individual’s spouse in accordance
with the guidance provided in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103.5(4).

The Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the residential exemption on the CITY-2
home for the entire audit period, satisfying the first element for the presumption to arise. Utah
Code Ann. §59-2-103(2) generally provides that a Utah residential property will receive a 45%
residential exemption, while Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103.5(1) provides that a county may, at its
option, require a property owner to file an application before the property receives the exemption.
As a result, when the residential exemption was created by the Utah Legislature, this enactment
generally added a claim for the exemption to the bundle of rights acquired with the purchase of
residential property, unless the relevant county adds the second step of requiring formal
application in order to receive the benefit of the exemption. The claim persists until the property
is relinquished through the sale of the property or until the residential exemption is removed from
the property (either by action of the county or the property owner). Therefore, simply owning a
residential property in a Utah county that does not require an application (which includes most
Utah counties), generally asserts an enduring claim to the residential exemption.

For purposes of determining the second element, whether the residence is the individual’s
or the individual’s spouse’s primary residence, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 and §59-2-103.5(4)
are read in concert. A Utah property on which an individual or an individual’s spouse claims the
residential exemption is considered their “primary residence” unless one or both of the property
owners take affirmative steps to: 1) file a written statement to notify the county in which the
property is located that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential
exemption allowed for a primary residence; and 2) declare on the property owner’s Utah
individual income tax return for the taxable year that the property owner no longer qualifies to
receive the residential exemption allowed for a primary residence. The Taxpayers did not take
either of these steps during the period in question.

Further, the Commission also notes that effective May 14, 2019, Utah Code Ann.
§59-2-103.5(8) provided that county assessors were required to notify a property owner by May

1, 2020 that the property owner was required to submit a written declaration within 30 days of the
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notice, and provide the owner with the form to make such a written declaration. The declaration
was required to include the following statement:

If a property owner or a property owner’s spouse claims a residential
exemption under Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103 for property in this state that is
the primary residence of the property owner or the property owner’s spouse,
that claim of residential exemption creates a rebuttable presumption that the
property owner and the property owner’s spouse have domicile in Utah for
income tax purposes. The rebuttable presumption of domicile does not apply
if the residential property is the primary residence of a tenant of the property
owner or the property owner’s spouse.

Utah Code Ann. §59-2-103.5 provides certain exceptions to the requirement for a county
to require a property owner to submit a written declaration under Subsection 59-2-103.5(8). One
exception is if a county has, for the five calendar years prior to 2019, had in place and enforced an
ordinance described in Subsection 59-2-103.5(1) to require an application before a primary
residential exemption may be applied to the value of residential property. The Commission takes
administrative notice that Davis County has not adopted an ordinance in accordance with Utah
Code Ann. §59-2-103.5(1). The Taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter. They have not
asserted that they did not file such a declaration, or that any other exception applies that would
not require them to file such a declaration, and the Taxpayers have acknowledged that their
CITY-2 home did receive the primary residential exemption during the years at issue. The
declaration clearly states that a claim of residential exemption creates a rebuttable presumption
that both a property owner and the property owner’s spouse have domicile in Utah for income tax
purposes.

Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(a), the Taxpayers are presumed domiciled in Utah
for all of the 2019 and 2020 tax years.

B. The Taxpayers are presumed to be domiciled in Utah for the entire audit period under Utah
Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(b), which provides as follows:

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if: . . .
(b) the individual or the individual’s spouse:

(i) votes in this state in a regular general election, municipal general
election, primary election, or special election during the taxable year;
and

(ii) has not registered to vote in another state in that taxable year; . . . .

TAXPAYER-1 voted in Utah elections during the 2019 and 2020 tax years. By doing so,
a presumption of domicile has arisen for TAXPAYERS.
C. The Taxpayers are presumed to be domiciled in Utah for the entire audit period under Utah

Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(c). Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(c) provides as follows:
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(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if: . . .

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a
part-year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for
which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

TAXPAYER-1 filed Utah resident individual income tax returns for the 2019 and 2020 tax year.
By doing so, a presumption of domicile has arisen for TAXPAYERS.*

At issue in this matter is whether the TAXPAYERS are able to rebut the presumptions
that have arisen under Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a), (2)(b), and (2)(c), and in particular whether
TAXPAYER-2 is able to rebut the presumptions separately from TAXPAYER-1. The Commission
notes that in the Buck case, the Utah Supreme Court considered whether the Bucks, who were a
married couple that moved their family, including their two children, from Utah to reside in
Florida, were able to rebut the presumption of domicile in Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) that arose
because they claimed a primary residential exemption on the Utah home in which neither spouse
resided. The Buck case did not address the issue of whether married taxpayers who reside in
different states are able to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption for only one of the
taxpayers. Thus, this issue is left for the Commission to interpret.

The Division correctly stated that in prior cases, including in Appeal No. 22-771 cited by
the Division, the Commission has found that “[t]axpayers cannot rebut the presumptions for only
one of the Taxpayers. Either the presumptions are rebutted for both [t]axpayers, or the
presumptions are not rebutted for both [t]axpayers. This conclusion is supported by Subsection
59-10-136(6)(a), which provides that an individual is considered to have domicile in Utah if his
or her spouse is considered to have domicile in Utah (under a different provision of Section
59-10-136).” The Commission notes that it does not have jurisdiction to address the Taxpayers’
constitutional arguments. See State Tax Commission v. Wright, 596 P.2d 634 (Utah 1979), in
which the Utah Supreme Court stated that “[a]lthough the Tax Commission must of necessity
interpret the taxing statutes and make determinations as to their applicability, it has been stated
that ‘it is not for the tax commission to determine questions of legality or constitutionality of
legislative enactment’” (citing Shea v. State Tax Commission, 101 Utah 209, 120 P.2d 274 (Utah
1941)). See also Nebeker v. State Tax Comm’n, 34 P.3d 180 (Utah 2001). The Commission is

22 In prior Commission decisions, the Commission has recognized numerous grounds for rebutting a
presumption under Subsection 59-10-136(2) that relate to the presumption itself. However, neither of the
parties argued that one or more of these grounds apply in this matter.
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required to interpret and administer the statute as written and, as stated above, to presume its
constitutionality. Thus, the presumptions must be rebutted or not rebutted for both TAXPAYERS.
The Utah Supreme Court held in Buck that “...the presumption of domicile that results
from claiming a primary residential property tax exemption is rebuttable. And...taxpayers are not
statutorily barred from having a meaningful opportunity to rebut the presumption.” Furthermore,
the Utah Supreme Court noted that “in applying these rather orthodox principles of domicile,
courts look to a multiplicity of factors including, but most certainly not limited to ‘the places
where the [individual] exercises civil and political rights, pays taxes, owns real and personal
property, has driver’s and other licenses, maintains bank accounts, belongs to clubs and churches,

999

has places of business or employment, and maintains a home for his [or her] family,”” (citing
Coury v. Prot, 85 F. 3d 244, 251 (5th Cir. 1996)) and noted “[n]o single factor is determinative.”
(Internal citations omitted).

The facts in this case are distinguishable from the facts in Buck. As stated above, in Buck,
both Mr. and Mrs. Buck and their children moved from Utah to Florida. Mr. Buck’s employment
was in Florida. Mr. and Mrs. Buck lived in the Florida home that they rented, along with their two
sons. The Bucks’ sons attended school in Florida. Mr. and Mrs. Buck and their children attended
church in Florida, and were involved in community activities and events in Florida. The Bucks
obtained Florida driver licenses and registered to vote in Florida. Some of the Bucks’ vehicles
were registered in Utah while other vehicles were registered in Florida. The Buck case detailed
other ties that the Bucks had in Florida, and the Utah Supreme Court noted that “the Bucks
arranged their lives around their Florida residence.”

In contrast to the Bucks, TAXPAYERS did not arrange their lives around a single
residence in a single state during the audit period. The TAXPAYERS jointly owned homes in both
CITY-2, Utah, and CITY-1, STATE-1. TAXPAYER-2 lived in STATE-1 and TAXPAYER lived in
Utah during the audit period. All of the Taxpayers’ vehicles were registered in Utah. In the spring
of 2019, and through 2020, the VEHICLE-4 was insured in STATE-1, while the Taxpayers’ other
vehicles were all insured in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 voted in Utah in 2019 and 2020. While
TAXPAYER-2 was registered to vote in STATE-1, facts were not provided to establish whether
TAXPAYER-2 actually voted in STATE-1 during the audit period. Similarly, TAXPAYER-2 held
a STATE-1 driver license and TAXPAYER held a Utah driver license. TAXPAYER-2 earned
income in STATE-1. It is unclear whether or where TAXPAYER-1 earned income. However, the
Taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter and have not shown that TAXPAYER-1 did not
earn income in Utah. TAXPAYER-2 attended church in STATE-1, while TAXPAYER-1 attended
church in Utah. In considering the totality of the circumstances and looking at the TAXPAYERS’
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joint connections to Utah, these connections to Utah are not insignificant. In light of the plain
language of the statute, combined with the Commission’s prior precedent that presumptions must
be either rebutted or not rebutted for both Taxpayers, and that the Commission must presume that
enactments of the Legislature are constitutional, the Commission finds that the TAXPAYERS
have not rebutted the presumptions of Utah domicile that have arisen under Subsections
59-10-136(2)(a), (b), and (c).

The Commission will not analyze the factors found in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(3)
unless the Commission finds that an individual or the individual’s spouse is not domiciled in Utah
under Subsection (1) or (2). Subsection (3) sets forth a number of facts and circumstances that,
when considered in totality, may support a finding that an individual is domiciled in Utah.
Subsection (3)(a) specifically provides, “[i]f the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met
for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is considered to
have domicile in this state if . . .” certain requirements are met. In this case, the Taxpayers are
domiciled in Utah under Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a), (2)(b), and (2)(c) for the entire 2019 and
2020 tax years.

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, the Commission finds that the Taxpayers were
domiciled in Utah for the 2019 and 2020 tax years and, therefore, meet the definition of full-year
“resident individuals” whose income is subject to tax in Utah under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-104(1) for those tax years.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. For the audit period, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(q) provided that an individual is a Utah
resident individual for the period that the individual is considered to have domicile in this
State. Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 addresses when an individual is considered to have
domicile in Utah and also when an individual is not considered to have domicile in Utah.

B. Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 examines the actions of an individual and/or the individual’s
spouse in determining whether the spouses are considered to have domicile in Utah.

C. The Taxpayers are considered to be each other’s spouses for purposes of Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136. Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(6)(b) provides that an individual is not considered
to have a spouse if the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse, or the
individual and the individual’s spouse claim married filing separate filing status for purposes
of filing a federal individual income tax return for the taxable year in question. The Taxpayers
were not legally separated or divorced during the audit period. Further, the Taxpayers did not
claim married filing separate filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual income

tax return for the 2019 or 2020 tax year.
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D. The Taxpayers have not satisfied the exception to domicile in Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(4). Subsection 59-10-136(4) provides that an individual is not considered to
have domicile in Utah if “the individual and the individual’s spouse are absent from the state
for at least 761 consecutive days” and certain other enumerated requirements are met. In this
case, the Taxpayers did not argue that the exception to domicile under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(4) would result in either of the Taxpayers not having domicile in Utah. The
Commission finds that neither TAXPAYERS are found to not have domicile in Utah during
the audit period under §59-10-136(4) for reasons including that both spouses were not absent
from the state for at least 761 consecutive days and the Taxpayers together benefited from
and claimed a residential exemption on the property they jointly own in CITY-2, Utah, where
TAXPAYER-1 resides.

E. The Taxpayers have not satisfied the exception to domicile in Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(5). Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(5) provides that for individuals who are
spouses, and one of the spouses has domicile in this state, the other spouse is not considered
to have domicile in this state under Subsection (2) or (3), if certain conditions are met. As
explained previously, the Taxpayers have not shown that either TAXPAYER-2 or
TAXPAYER-1 has satisfied all of the conditions of Subsection 59-10-136(5) for the 2019 or
2020 tax year, nor have they shown that they met all of the conditions of Subsection (5) for
the three preceding tax years.

F. The Taxpayers are not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-136(1) for the 2019 or 2020 tax year. As explained above, the Taxpayers did not
claim any dependents on their federal returns during the tax years at issue, nor were either of
the Taxpayers enrolled at an institution of higher education in Utah.

G. The presumption of domicile under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(a) has arisen with respect
to TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 for the entire audit period because they claimed the
primary residential exemption on a home they jointly owned in CITY-2, Utah. The Taxpayers
have not asserted any of the circumstances the Commission has previously established could
rebut the presumption.® Further, in light of the plain language of the statute, combined with
the Commission’s prior precedent that presumptions must be either rebutted or not rebutted
for both Taxpayers, and that the Commission must presume that enactments of the Legislature
are constitutional, the Commission finds that the TAXPAYERS have not rebutted the
presumption of Utah domicile that has arisen under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) when
applying the factors the Utah Supreme Court established in Buck.

2 See Utah State Tax Commission Appeal Nos. 17-758, 16-117, and 18-2043.
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H. The presumption of domicile under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(b) has arisen with respect
to TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 for the entire audit period because TAXPAYER-1 voted
in Utah elections during the 2019 and 2020 tax years. The Taxpayers have not asserted any
of the circumstances that the Commission has previously established to rebut the
presumption. Further, in light of the plain language of the statute, combined with the
Commission’s prior precedent that presumptions must be either rebutted or not rebutted for
both Taxpayers, and that the Commission must presume that enactments of the Legislature
are constitutional, the Commission finds that the TAXPAYERS have not rebutted the
presumption of Utah domicile that has arisen under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) when
applying the factors the Utah Supreme Court established in Buck.

I.  The presumption of domicile under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(2)(c) has arisen with respect
to TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 for the entire audit period, because TAXPAYER-1 filed
Utah resident individual income tax returns for the 2019 and 2020 tax years. The Taxpayers
have not asserted that any of the circumstances previously established by the Commission to
rebut the presumption are present in this case. Further, in light of the plain language of the
statute, combined with the Commission’s prior precedent that presumptions must be either
rebutted or not rebutted for both Taxpayers, and that the Commission must presume that
enactments of the Legislature are constitutional, the Commission finds that the TAXPAYERS
have not rebutted the presumption of Utah domicile that has arisen under Subsection
59-10-136(2)(b) when applying the factors the Utah Supreme Court established in Buck.

J.  The Commission declines to review the factors set forth in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136(3), as
the Taxpayers are domiciled in Utah under Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a), (2)(b), and (2)(c) for
the entire 2019 and 2020 tax years.

K. Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136, the Commission finds that the Taxpayers were
domiciled in Utah for the 2019 and 2020 tax years and, therefore, meet the definition of
full-year “resident individuals” whose income is subject to tax in Utah under Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-104(1) for those tax years.

L. Utah imposes a tax on the state taxable income of a resident individual in Utah Code Ann.
§59-10-104(1). Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(x)(i) provides that “state taxable income” for
a resident individual is federal adjusted gross income subject to additions and subtractions
made under Section 59-10-114 and adjustments made under Section 59-10-115. There is no
limitation in the definition of “state taxable income” for a resident individual that the state
taxable income be calculated by determining the amount that is derived from Utah sources.

Therefore, all income included in the federal adjusted gross income of a resident individual is
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state taxable income regardless of whether it is derived from Utah sources or is earned in
another state unless it is subject to addition or subtraction under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-114,
or adjustment under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-115. The Taxpayers have not provided evidence
that any portion of their federal adjusted gross income is subject to addition or subtraction
under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-114, or adjustment under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-115, thus
their entire federal adjusted gross income is included in state taxable income that is subject to
tax in Utah for the 2019 and 2020 tax years. Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds
that the Division’s audits properly include the Taxpayers’ joint income for the 2019 and 2020
tax years.

M. There is no reasonable cause to waive interest. Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 specifically
provides, “[g]rounds for waiving interest are more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a
waiver of interest, the taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” Interest is not assessed
to punish taxpayers. Instead, interest is assessed to compensate the state for the time value of
money. The State of Utah was denied the use of the funds from the time the taxes were
originally due. In this appeal, the Taxpayers have the burden of proof and have not provided
any information to show that the Commission gave them erroneous information or took
inappropriate action that contributed to the error. Thus, the Taxpayers have not demonstrated
sufficient grounds for the waiver of interest in this appeal.

N. The Commission recognizes that the Taxpayers need to raise any constitutional arguments to
the Commission in order to preserve those arguments for any subsequent court action.”* In
this matter, the Taxpayers argued in their Brief that Utah’s domicile statute violates the Due
Process Clause, the Equal Protection Clause, the Privileges and Immunities Clause, and the
Commerce Clause of the Constitution of the United States, either on its face or as applied.
However, the Commission does not have jurisdiction to address the Taxpayers’ constitutional
arguments. See State Tax Commission v. Wright, 596 P.2d 634 (Utah 1979), in which the Utah
Supreme Court stated that “[a]lthough the Tax Commission must of necessity interpret the
taxing statutes and make determinations as to their applicability, it has been stated that ‘it is
not for the tax commission to determine questions of legality or constitutionality of legislative
enactment’ (citing Shea v. State Tax Commission, 101 Utah 209, 120 P.2d 274 (Utah 1941)).
(See also Nebeker v. State Tax Comm’n, 34 P.3d 180 (Utah 2001).

# The Commission notes that oral arguments were held on DATE before the Utah Supreme Court on a
factually similar matter. The Commission is awaiting the Court’s decision in that matter.
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Jan Marshall
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for

all of 2019 and 2020, and sustains the Division’s audit assessment of tax and interest. It is so

ordered.
DATED this day of , 2025.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Jennifer N. Fresques
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights and Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this
order must be paid within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment
penalty could be applied. If you disagree with this order you have twenty (20) days after the
date of this order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission in accordance with
Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302. If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the
Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30) days after the date of
this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et
seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq.
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