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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on March 1, 2023 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioner (“Taxpayer”) filed an appeal

of a sales and use tax audit deficiency, penalties, and interest for the audit period of DATE

through DATE. The Respondent (“Division”) issued a Statutory Notice - Sales and Use Tax

(“Statutory Notice”) audit report on December 20, 2021. The Statutory Notice audit report

" Due to a reorganization at the Tax Commission, the name of the Tax Commission division that was the

Respondent in this matter has been changed.
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determined a sales and use tax audit deficiency on the Taxpayer’s disallowed exempt sales,
unreported consumable expense purchases for which tax was not paid, and unreported fixed asset
purchases for which tax was not paid during the audit period, interest, and a penalty calculated as

10% of the underpayment of the tax.

The amount of the deficiency with the sales and use tax, penalties, and interest calculated

to January 19, 2022 is as follows:

Tax Penalty Interest’ Total
Sales and Use Tax $3$539 $3$539 $3$539 $35539
APPLICABLE LAW

Sales tax is imposed under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1)* on the following:

A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid or charged for
the following transactions:
(a) retail sales of tangible personal property made within the state;

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-102* defines “manufacturing facility” and “tangible personal

property” as follows:

(65) "Manufacturing facility" means:

(a) an establishment described in SIC Codes 2000 to 3999 of the 1987 Standard
Industrial Classification Manual of the federal Executive Office of the President,
Office of Management and Budget;

(b) a scrap recycler if:

(i) from a fixed location, the scrap recycler utilizes machinery or equipment to
process one or more of the following items into prepared grades of processed
materials for use in new products:

(A) iron;

(B) steel;

(C) nonferrous metal;

(D) paper;

(E) glass;

(F) plastic;

(G) textile; or

2 Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402, interest continues to accrue on any unpaid balance.

3 The Commission notes that this decision cites the 2018 version of the Utah Code because the audit report
finds audit deficiencies beginning on January 1, 2018. The provisions cited did not change substantively
during the audit period unless specifically noted.

* The Commission notes that the Utah Legislature amended Utah Code Ann. §59-12-102 several times
during and subsequent to the audit period. Although the numbering may have shifted between the audit
years and the subsequent years not at issue in this appeal, the provisions cited did not change substantively
during the audit period unless specifically noted.
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(H) rubber; and
(i1) the new products under Subsection (65)(b)(i) would otherwise be made
with nonrecycled materials; or
(c) a cogeneration facility as defined in Section 54-2-1 if the cogeneration facility is
placed in service on or after May 1, 2006.

(125)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (125)(d) or (e), "tangible personal property"
means personal property that:
(i) may be:
(A) seen;
(B) weighed;
(C) measured;
(D) felt; or
(E) touched; or
(i1) is in any manner perceptible to the senses.

Use tax is imposed under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) on the following:

A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid or charged for
the following transactions:

(1) amounts paid or charged for tangible personal property if within this state the tangible
personal property is:

(i) stored;

(i1) used; or

(ii1) consumed; and

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14)(a) in effect for the January 1, 2018 through December
31, 2018 portion of the audit period provides for an exemption from sales and use tax for certain
purchase or lease transactions as follows, in pertinent part:

(14) amounts paid or charged for a purchase or lease of machinery, equipment, or normal
operating repair or replacement parts with an economic life of three or more years by:
(a) a manufacturing facility, except as provided in Subsection (86), that:
(i) is located in the state; and
(ii) uses the machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or replacement
parts:

(A) in the manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible
personal property, as the commission may define that phrase in
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking
Act; or

(B) for a scrap recycler, to process an item sold as tangible personal property,
as the commission may define that phrase in accordance with Title 63G,
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act;
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Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14)(a) in effect for the January 1, 2019 through December
31, 2021 portion of the audit period provides for an exemption from sales and use tax for certain
purchase or lease transactions as follows, in pertinent part:

(14) amounts paid or charged for a purchase or lease of machinery, equipment,
normal operating repair or replacement parts, or materials, except for office equipment
or office supplies, by:
(a) a manufacturing facility that:
(1) is located in the state; and
(i1) uses or consumes the machinery, equipment, normal operating repair
or replacement parts, or materials:

(A) in the manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as
tangible personal property, as the commission may define that
phrase in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah
Administrative Rulemaking Act; or

(B) for a scrap recycler, to process an item sold as tangible personal
property, as the commission may define that phrase in
accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative
Rulemaking Act;

Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85 provides additional clarification regarding the
exemption from sales and use tax for certain purchases by a manufacturing facility:

(1) Definitions:

(a) "Establishment" means an economic unit of operations, that is generally at a single
physical location in Utah, where qualifying manufacturing processes are performed. If a
business operates in more than one location (e.g., branch or satellite offices), each
physical location is considered separately from any other locations operated by the same
business.

(b) "Machinery, equipment, parts, and materials" means:

(i) electronic or mechanical devices or other items incorporated into a manufacturing
process from the initial stage where actual processing begins, through the completion of
the finished end product, and including final processing, finishing, or packaging of
articles sold as tangible personal property. This definition includes automated material
handling and storage devices when those devices are part of the integrated continuous
production cycle; and

(i) any accessory that is essential to a continuous manufacturing process. Accessories
essential to a continuous manufacturing process include:

(A) bits, jigs, molds, or devices that control the operation of machinery and equipment;
and

(B) gas, water, electricity, or other similar supply lines installed for the operation of the
manufacturing equipment, but only if the primary use of the supply line is for the
operation of the manufacturing equipment.

(c) "Manufacturer" means a person who functions within a manufacturing facility.

(2) The sales and use tax exemption for the purchase or lease of machinery, equipment,
parts, and materials by a manufacturing facility applies only to purchases or leases of
tangible personal property used in the actual manufacturing process.

(a) The exemption does not apply to purchases of items of tangible personal property that
become part of the real property in which the manufacturing operation is conducted.
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(b) Purchases of qualifying machinery, equipment, parts, and materials are treated as
purchases of tangible personal property under Section R865-19S-58, even if the item is
affixed to real property upon installation.
(3) Machinery, equipment, parts, and materials used for a nonmanufacturing activity
qualify for the exemption if the machinery, equipment, parts, and materials are primarily
used in manufacturing activities. Examples of nonmanufacturing activities include:

(a) research and development;

(b) refrigerated or other storage of raw materials, component parts, or finished

product; or

(c) shipment of the finished product.

(4) Where manufacturing activities and nonmanufacturing activities are performed at a
single physical location, machinery, equipment, parts, and materials purchased for use in
the manufacturing operation are eligible for the sales and use tax exemption if the
manufacturing operation constitutes a separate and distinct manufacturing establishment.
(a) Each activity is treated as a separate and distinct establishment if:

(1) no single SIC code includes those activities combined; or

(i1) each activity comprises a separate legal entity.

(b) Machinery, equipment, parts, and materials used in both manufacturing activities and
nonmanufacturing activities qualify for the exemption only if the machinery, equipment,
parts, and materials are primarily used in manufacturing activities.

(5) The manufacturer shall retain records to support the claim that the machinery,
equipment, parts, and materials are qualified for exemption from sales and use tax under
the provisions of this rule and Section 59-12-104.

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R865-19S-60 to provide guidance
concerning the sales of machinery, fixtures, and supplies to manufacturers, as follows:

A. Unless specifically exempted by statute, sales of machinery, tools, equipment,
and supplies to a manufacturer or producer are taxable.

B. Sales of furniture, supplies, stationery, equipment, appliances, tools, and
instruments to stores, shops, businesses, establishments, offices, and
professional people for use in carrying on their business and professional
activities are taxable.

C. Sales of trade fixtures to a business owner are taxable as sales of tangible
personal property even if the fixtures are temporarily attached to real
property.

1. Trade fixtures are items of tangible personal property even if the fixtures
are temporarily attached to real property used for the benefit of the
business conducted on the property.

2. Trade fixtures tend to be transient in nature in that the fixtures installed in
a commercial building may vary from one tenant to the next without
substantial alteration of the building, and the building itself is readily
adaptable to multiple uses.

3. Examples of trade fixtures include cases, shelves, and racks used to store
or display merchandise.

D. Sales described in A. through C. of this rule are sales to final buyers or
ultimate consumers and therefore not sales for resale.

Administrative Rule R865-21U-6 provides additional guidance on the liability of

purchasers for the payment of tax, as follows:
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(1) For purposes of this section:
(a) "Income tax return" means a tax return filed under:
(1) Title 59, Chapter 7, Corporate Franchise and Income Taxes; or
(i) Title 59, Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, except for Title 59,
Chapter 10, Part 4.
(b) "Sales tax license" means a license issued under Title 59, Chapter 12,
Sales and Use Tax Act.
(2) A purchaser of an item that is subject to sales and use tax must account for
the tax liability by paying the tax:
(a) to the seller from whom the item was purchased if the seller has a sales
tax license; or
(b) directly to the commission if the seller from whom the item was
purchased does not collect the sales tax from the purchaser.

(3) A purchaser that is subject to Subsection (2)(b) shall:

(a) if the purchaser has a sales tax license pay the tax on the purchaser's sales
and use tax return; or

(b) if the purchaser does not have a sales tax license, pay the tax on the
purchaser's income tax return.

(4) (a) A purchaser paying the tax to the commission under Subsection (3)(b)
shall compute the tax using the rates provided in the income tax
instructions for the address of the purchaser as shown on the income tax
return.

(b) If a purchaser is not required to file an income tax return, the purchaser
shall:
(i) report and pay the tax on the income tax return the purchaser would
otherwise be required to file; and
(i1) include with the return a statement stating that no income tax is due
and that the return is submitted for payment of use tax only.

Penalties are assessed under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) as follows:

(7)(a) Additional penalties for an underpayment of a tax, fee, or charge are as
provided in this Subsection (7)(a).
(i) Except as provided in Subsection (7)(c), if any portion of an underpayment of
a tax, fee, or charge is due to negligence, the penalty is 10% of the portion of the
underpayment that is due to negligence.
Interest is assessed in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402, below, in
pertinent part:

(6) Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of a tax, fee, or
charge shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any
filing or payment extensions, to the date the payment is received.
The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable
cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest

imposed under this part.”
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The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide additional
guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest

are more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the

taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous

information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.
(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(a) Timely Mailing...

(b) Wrong Filing Place...

(¢c) Death or Serious Illness...

(d) Unavoidable Absence...

(e) Disaster Relief...

() Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...

(g) Tax Commission Office Visit...

(h) Unobtainable Records...

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor . . .

() First Time Filer . . .

(k) Bank Error...

() Compliance History:

(1) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for
payment, filing, and delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may
be waived.

(i1) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or
reports are overdue at the time the waiver is requested.

(m) Employee Embezzlement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.

(a) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining
whether reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable
considerations include:

(i)  Whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the
taxes;

(i)  If the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;

(iii) The length of time between the event cited and the filing date;

(iv) Typographical or other written errors; and

(v)  Other factors the commission deems appropriate.

(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late
filing or payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability
to comply, may justify a waiver of the penalty.

(¢) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does
not constitute reasonable cause for a waiver. Nonetheless, other
supporting circumstances may indicate that reasonable cause for waiver
exists.

(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable
cause for waiver under any circumstance.

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417 provides, "in a proceeding before the commission,

the burden of proof is on the petitioner..."
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Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417(2) requires the Commission to construe a statute
imposing a sales and use tax on a purchase or exempting a purchase from sales and use
tax as follows:

(2) Regardless of whether a taxpayer has paid or remitted a tax, fee, or charge, the
commission or a court considering a case involving the tax, fee, or charge shall:
(a) construe a statute imposing the tax, fee, or charge strictly in favor of the taxpayer;
and
(b) construe a statute providing an exemption from or credit against the tax, fee, or
charge strictly against the taxpayer.

DISCUSSION

The Division issued a Statutory Notice - Sales and Use Tax audit report to the Taxpayer
for the audit period of DATE through DATE (“audit period”) on December 20, 2021. The audit
report included Schedule 1, which was a schedule of the disallowed exempt sales exceptions and
identified transactions that were listed as exempt sales for which valid exemption documentation
was not provided. The audit report included Schedule 2, which was a schedule of the unreported
expense purchases and identified transactions that were consumable purchases on which use tax
was not paid for the period of DATE through DATE. The audit report included Schedule 3, which
was a schedule of unreported expense purchases which were determined based on a projection
factor for the period from DATE through DATE. The audit report included Schedule 4, which was
a schedule of credits for sales tax paid to sellers in error and provided a credit for sales tax paid to
sellers on items that were determined to be nontaxable. The audit report included Schedule 5,
which was a schedule of unreported fixed asset purchases and identified fixed asset purchases for
which tax was not paid. The amount of tax assessed for each schedule was as follows:
REDACTED TABLE

The audit report assessed a negligence penalty that was calculated as 10% of the
underpayment of the sales and use tax and totaled $$$$$. The report stated that a negligence
penalty was assessed for the following reasons:

The adjustments in this audit are for the same types of errors as the previous audit dated

DATE, and the amounts are significant. Reasonable controls to ensure proper

collection and/or accrual of the taxes and fees have not been instituted.

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated at the Initial Hearing that the Taxpayer is a printing
manufacturer that prints booklet papers, boxes, cartons, and other items that fit in that category.
They indicated that the Taxpayer also recycles the paper scraps from the products that are
produced. They acknowledged that the percentage of revenue that they receive from the recycling
of the paper as compared to the rest of work that the Taxpayer is engaged in is minimal. The

Taxpayer’s representatives submitted a copy of the Taxpayer’s profit and loss statement for the

8
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period from January through December of 2020. The Taxpayer’s profit and loss statement
indicated that the Taxpayer had $$$$$ of income from sales, $$$$$ of income from printing
services, $$$$$ of income from plate and paper recycling, $$$$$ of income from reimbursed
expenses, $$$$$ of income from shipping and handling, and a discount expense of $$$$$.

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that they are not contesting the audit assessment of
sales and use tax on the disallowed exempt sales in Schedule 1, the unreported consumable
expense purchases in Schedule 2, the unreported consumable expense purchases in Schedule 3, or
the credit for sales tax paid to sellers in error in Schedule 4. However, they indicated that they are
contesting the deficiency of sales and use tax assessed on the unreported asset purchases
identified in Schedule 5 and the penalty amounts assessed in the audit report.

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that they feel the assets identified in Schedule 5 are
used in the manufacturing process and are, therefore, exempt from sales and use tax. They stated
that they are disputing all of the unreported asset purchases in Schedule 5 except for the purchase
of the shed for the compressor that was purchased on DATE for $$$$$ that was assessed a tax
deficiency of $$$3$$ and the lift that was purchased through an auction sale on DATE for $$$$$
that was assessed a tax deficiency of $$$$$. Additionally, the Division’s representatives stated at
the Initial Hearing that, after listening to the Taxpayer’s presentation, the Division agrees to
remove the pallets and the forklifts from Schedule 5 of the audit report because they no longer
believe those items are taxable. The Division identified the following transactions as the
transactions the Division is agreeing are exempt: the purchase of the EQUIPMENT-1 from
BUSINESS-1 on DATE for $$$$$ that was assessed a tax deficiency of $$$$$; the purchase of
the pallets from BUSINESS-2 on DATE for $$$$$ that was assessed a tax deficiency of $$$3$$;
and the purchase of the EQUIPMENT-2 from BUSINESS-3 on DATE for $$$$$ that was
assessed a tax deficiency of $$$3$$. The tax amount owing from the three items that the Division
agreed were exempt was $$$$8$.

The following transactions are the unreported asset purchases on Schedule 5 of the audit
report that were in dispute at the Initial Hearing:

REDACTED TABLE

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that the baler is a machine that takes all the scrap
paper from the manufacturing process and sends it to a machine that compacts the scraps so that
they can be sold to recycling companies. They indicated that this process is a method of keeping
the finished product clean but also selling the product separately. The Taxpayer’s representatives
submitted a shipping statement for the Taxpayer from BUSINESS-4 for the period from DATE to
DATE and another shipping statement for the Taxpayer from BUSINESS-4 for the period from
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DATE to DATE. The Taxpayer’s representatives argued that there is a market for the recycled
scrap paper and noted on the shipping statements that they are paid more for the recycler’s
purchase of the scrap paper when it is baled.

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that the baler is also used in the manufacturing
process in addition to the recycling process. They indicated that the baler keeps the ordinary
product clean and aggregates the scraps into bundles for sale. They indicated that there is dust and
left over paper that is created from the manufacturing process. They stated that there is tubing that
connects the baler to the die cut machine. They indicated that there are compressors and air flow
that are always suctioning paper and dust into the baling machine, and the baling machine
compresses all the paper and makes a bale of paper by compressing the scraps. They stated that
the scraps can be sold loose for a smaller margin. They stated that, besides aggregating the paper,
the vacuum and baler also prevents dust from flying back into the manufactured final product.
They argued that the baled scraps of paper are sold to a recycling company and the scrap product
that is baled is sold to the recycling company at a higher price. They stated that they have to
remove the material that is not being used, otherwise the scrap material would pile up and
interfere with the manufacturing equipment operations. They stated that the vacuum and baler are
tied and hooked onto the machine and are removing the paper out of the back.

The Taxpayer’s representatives indicated that the computer software program is used to
make the dies, which are used in the die cutting machine. They indicated that the Taxpayer
receives a program design (a shape from the client), and the software makes the die. The die is
then rubbered and mounted into the die cutting machine. They indicated that the software is used
to make the die ready for the machine and is used in the die cutting contract. They indicated that
the purchase order for a printing contract bills the die as a separate line item. They indicated that
the Taxpayer does have to have the die that the software program creates and the machine will not
work without the software. They stated that they cannot make the die that does the cutting without
the software and they would be out of business without it. They stated that the Taxpayer’s clients
own the die and they are stored by the Taxpayer. They indicated that if a client requests the die,
then the client is likely going to another printing manufacturer to have them perform the work.
They indicated that the client will sometimes supply their own die from another printer, and the
Taxpayer does not make a die on every job.

The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that in Utah Administrative Rule
R865-19S-85(1)(b)(i), the definition of machinery and equipment includes electronic or
mechanical devices incorporated in the manufacturing process, including final processing,

finishing and packaging of articles sold as tangible personal property. They noted that the

10
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definition of machinery and equipment in Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(1)(b)(ii)
includes any accessory essential to the manufacturing process. They also noted that Utah
Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(3) states that “[m]achinery and equipment used for a
nonmanufacturing activity qualify for the exemption if the machinery and equipment are
primarily used in manufacturing activities.” They argued that all of the items on the list,
including the pallet racking and the computer software, are used in manufacturing activities.
They indicated that the Cimex software is a computer program that makes the die used in the
manufacturing process and indicated that this software is what is used in the cutting machines that
cut the die. They indicated that the label software is software that is related to the operations in
the folding carton section. The Taxpayer’s representatives stated that the only items they are
conceding are the shed for the compressor and the scissor lift. They stated that all the other items
included in Schedule 5 are used in the manufacturing process. They argued that all of those items
are essential for the business.

The Division’s representatives stated that the Division’s position on the baling equipment
is that the Division still believes that the baling equipment has a significant role that is not part of
the manufacturing process. They argued that paper recycling is not the sale of tangible personal
property. They asserted that it is a method of getting rid of the paper scraps. They argued that the
percentage of income from recycling is a de minimis amount of revenue. They argued that the
paper recycling does not qualify on its own as a separate manufacturing process. They
acknowledged that the manufacturing exemption authorized in Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104 has a
provision exempting a scrap recycler but argued that the Taxpayer does not meet the statutory
requirements of that provision. They argued that the baler vacuum, the baler ducting, and the
baler are items that control the environment around the machines but are separate and are not tied
to the continuous manufacturing process. They acknowledged that the Taxpayer’s representatives
stated that the baler vacuum, baler ducting, and baler keep the dust and paper products from
getting contaminated but stated that they do not believe that they are part of the continuous
manufacturing process.

The Division’s representative argued that the two software packages, based on his
understanding, are programmed to set the die so that paper can be cut to a specific size. They
argued that the software programs are being used before the manufacturing process begins.

The Division’s representatives stated that Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103 imposes a sales
and use tax on sales of tangible personal property. They stated that the Taxpayer is not disputing
that transactions on their own are sales or purchases of items of tangible personal property but

stated that the Taxpayer’s representatives are claiming that the purchases are exempt from sales

11
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and use tax under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14). They stated that the Taxpayer claimed the
manufacturing exemption on the purchase of the baling equipment and computer software.

The Division’s representatives stated that the manufacturing exemption is authorized in
Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14) and noted that the law changed during the audit period, effective
on January 1, 2019. They noted that a portion of the unreported asset purchases included in
Schedule 5 occurred in 2018 and other purchases occurred in 2019, 2020, and 2021. They stated
that, for the purchases made in 2018, the manufacturing exemption exempts the amounts paid or
charged for a purchase or lease of machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or
replacement parts with an economic life of three or more years that are used in the manufacturing
process to manufacture items sold as tangible personal property.

The Division’s representatives stated that the Commission has promulgated Utah
Administrative Rule R865-19S-85 to further clarify the manufacturing exemption. They noted
that Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(1)(b) defines machinery and equipment as electronic
or mechanical devices incorporated into the manufacturing process from the initial state to final
processing. They noted that the definition includes automated handling devices and any accessory
that is essential. They noted that Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(2) provides that the
sales and use tax exemption applies only to purchases or leases of tangible personal property that
are used in the actual manufacturing process.

The Division’s representatives stated that the law was changed for purchases made on or
after January 1, 2019. They stated that materials were added to the exemption for machinery
equipment and the language authorizing the exemption was modified to expand the exemption for
parts and to include materials. They noted that the provision requiring that the machinery,
equipment, or normal operating repair or replacement parts have an economic life of three or
more years to be eligible for the exemption was removed. They stated that the machinery parts
and materials must still be used in the actual manufacturing process. They stated that, pursuant to
Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(5), a manufacturer is required to retain records to support
the claim that a transaction is exempt from sales and use tax.

The Division’s representatives stated that a negligence penalty was assessed in the audit
report in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-407(1), which was calculated as 10% of the
portion of the underpayment based on the Taxpayer’s failure to keep records to support the
claimed exemptions. They indicated that the Taxpayer committed the same errors in a previous
audit conducted by the Division. The Division’s representatives also stated that pursuant to Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-402, interest accrues on any underpayment of tax and is computed from the

time the original return is due until payment is received.
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The Division’s representatives stated that, in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§59-1-1417(1), the burden of proof is on the petitioner in this appeal. They also noted that Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-1417(2)(b) requires that a statute providing an exemption shall be construed
strictly against the taxpayer. They argued that any doubt about the proper application of a sales
tax exemption must be resolved against the taxpayer and cited Dick Simon Trucking, Inc., v. Utah
State Tax Comm’n, 84 P.3d 1197 (Utah 2004) to support that assertion.

The Division’s representatives stated that Utah Code Ann. §59-12-106(3)(a) provides that
“[f]or the purpose of the proper administration of this chapter and to prevent evasion of the tax
and the duty to collect the tax, it shall be presumed that tangible personal property or any other
taxable transaction under Subsection 59-12-103(1) sold by any person for delivery in this state is
sold for storage, use, or other consumption in this state unless the person selling the property,
item, or service has taken from the purchaser an exemption certificate . . . ” They noted that the
importance of the exemption certificate was affirmed in Tummurru Trades v. Utah State Tax
Comm’n, 802 P.2d 715 (Utah 1990). In that case, the Utah Supreme Court held that the purpose of
the statutory requirement to keep records is to prevent evasion and fraud and found that the
taxpayer in that case could not provide the exemption certificates. The Court found that the
taxpayer failed to keep adequate records and held that oral testimony is not an adequate substitute
for accurate record keeping.

The Division’s representatives stated that Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103 creates a
presumption that sales are taxable and not exempt. They stated that, when considering whether
the baler qualifies as a scrap recycler under Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14)(a)(ii)(b), the issue is
whether the Taxpayer is processing an item that is sold as tangible personal property. They stated
that the Division’s position is that it is not a recyclable sale. They argued that the Taxpayer is only
finding a way to monetize their scrap and the baler equipment is merely aggregating the waste
into a form that is more valuable to sell. They argued that the baler only makes the scrap paper
more valuable and does not change the nature of the product in the processing. They cited Initial
Hearing Order, Appeal No. 10-2057, Utah State Tax Commission (October 7, 2011) to support
that assertion and noted that the Commission found that manufacturing requires the mechanical or
chemical transformation of tangible personal property. They also cited East Texas Motor Freight
Lines, Inc. v. Frozen Food Express, 351 U.S. 49 (1956) and Hartranft v. Wiegmann, 121 U.S. 609
(1887) to support that assertion, which were two older United States Supreme Court cases where
the products were not considered manufactured.

The Division’s representatives noted that the Taxpayer has not disputed Schedules 1, 2, &

3, or the credits provided in Schedule 4 for purchases made where taxes should not have been
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paid that were actually tax exempt or not taxable and the primary issue in this appeal is the
dispute between the parties regarding whether certain unreported asset purchases identified in
Schedule 5 are exempt.

The Division’s representatives concluded by arguing that the scrap paper is similar to the
defeathering of a chicken, where the removal of the feathers is waste that is created as part of the
manufacturing process but is not part of the manufacturing process that is the creation of the final
product. They argued that the scrap paper is waste that is created as part of the manufacturing
process even though it has been monetized and acknowledged that the Taxpayer is making money
off of the bundled product. However, they argued that the creation of the waste is a byproduct of
the manufacturing process and is not part of the manufacturing process.

The Division’s representatives stated that the Division’s position on the software is that
the Division does not have the authority to remove the software purchases from the unreported
asset purchases on Schedule 5. They stated that they are asking the Commission to make a
decision on those transactions. They argued that the software is not part of the manufacturing
process and only provides the environment in which the processing can occur. They argued that it
is part of the design process and not part of the manufacturing process itself. They argued that it is
not part of the mechanical manipulation of the boxes being stamped. They argued that the
Taxpayer carries the burden of proof in this appeal to demonstrate the applicability of the
exemption. They asserted that the Taxpayer has not shown that the baler and the software
constitute machinery and equipment that is part of the manufacturing process. They
acknowledged that those items generate profit for the Taxpayer but are not part of the
manufacturing process. They cited Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(2) which states “[t]he
sales and use tax exemption for the purchase or lease of machinery and equipment by a
manufacturing facility applies only to purchases or leases of tangible personal property used in
the actual manufacturing process.” The Division’s representatives argued that the Taxpayer is not
considered a scrap recycler because they are aggregating waste but they are not transforming it.
They stated that the Taxpayer is merely bundling the material and that alone does not qualify for
the exemption.

The Taxpayer’s representatives concluded by arguing that they are doing business and
selling the die as a service to the clients. They indicated that it is a service that the Taxpayer used
to contract out, but the Taxpayer brought the service into the company as the business expanded.
They stated that the dies are billed as a separate line item of tangible personal property. They
indicated that the dies are items that can be transferred back to the client to take to another

printing manufacturer. They indicated that they can provide invoices where they are charging the
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dies as a separate line item and stated that they have to have software to create the dies that they
sell.

The Taxpayer’s representatives argued that the manufacturing machine would not work if
the scraps were not removed. They stated that the Taxpayer’s business is stamping and their
increased productivity requires the removal of scrap. They argued that the manufacturing
machines cannot run if the scrap is not immediately removed and the machine cannot function.
They also argued that the vacuum and the baler are dealing with the dust collection in the
manufacturing process and are removing objects that would contaminate the product. They
argued that the vacuum and baler are also producing a product that is purchased by a recycling
company. They argued that they are making something that is more valuable and asked that the
Commission consider those arguments in making a determination.

Commission Findings & Analysis

The burden of proof is generally on the Taxpayer, in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§59-1-1417. Furthermore, as the Taxpayer is seeking an exemption from tax, the Commission
must construe the statute strictly against the Taxpayer in accordance with Subsection (2) of Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-1417. Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103 imposes tax on amounts paid or charged for
certain transactions. Among those transactions are retail sales of tangible personal property and
amounts paid or charged for the lease or rental of tangible personal property if within the state the
tangible personal property is stored, used, or otherwise consumed. Certain transactions are
exempt from taxation, as provided in Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104.

The parties did not dispute that the items listed in Schedule 5 were items of tangible
personal property purchased by the Taxpayer that were stored, used, or consumed within the state.
However, the Taxpayer’s representatives asserted that all of the transactions listed in Schedule 5
of the Division’s audit report were purchases of machinery, equipment, or materials used in the
manufacturing process that were exempt from sales and use tax under Utah Code Ann.
59-12-104(14), excluding the two purchases that the Taxpayer is not disputing on Schedule 5 that
were identified above.

Taxpayer s Disputed Schedule 5 Unreported Asset Purchases made in 2018

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14) in effect for the 2018 tax year provides that purchases or
leases made by a manufacturing facility are exempt from sales and use taxation if a number of
requirements are met. First, the buyer or lessor must be a manufacturing facility in this state.
Second, the transaction must involve the sale or lease of machinery, equipment, or normal
operating repair or replacement parts. Third, the machinery, equipment, or normal operating

repair or replacement parts must have an economic life of three or more years. Fourth, the
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machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or replacement parts must be used in the
manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or by a scrap
recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property.

“Manufacturing facility” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-12-102(65), as, “[a]n
establishment described in: (i) SIC Codes 2000 to 3999 of the 1987 Standard Industrial
Classification Manual of the federal Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and
Budget; or (ii) a NAICS code within NAICS Sector 31-33, Manufacturing, of the 2017 North
American Industry Classification System of the federal Executive Office of the President, Office
of Management and Budget...” There was no dispute between the parties that the Taxpayer was a
“manufacturing facility” during the audit period.

The following nine transactions are the unreported asset purchases that occurred in 2018
that are in dispute:

REDACTED TABLE

I. Baling Machinery and Equipment

Six of the transactions listed above are purchases that include balers, baler vacuums, and
baler ducting. There is no dispute that the Taxpayer’s purchases of the balers, baler vacuums, and
baler ducting are machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or replacement parts, which
satisfies the second requirement to qualify for the manufacturing exemption. However, the
Taxpayer has not provided any evidence or proffered any testimony to show that the items have
an economic life of three or more years. Thus, the Taxpayer has failed to satisfy the third
requirement to qualify for the manufacturing exemption.

The machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or replacement parts must be used
in the manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or used by
a scrap recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property. The Taxpayer’s
representatives asserted that the balers, baler vacuums, and baler ducting all function to remove
the scrap paper from the manufacturing process and stated that there is tubing that connects the
baler to the die cut machine. They indicated that there are compressors and air flow that are
always suctioning paper and dust into the baling machine. They stated that the baling machine
compresses all the paper and makes a bale of paper by compressing the scraps. They indicated
that this process is a method of keeping the finished product clean but also selling the byproduct
separately. However, the Division asserted that the scrap paper is waste that is created as part of
the manufacturing process and is a byproduct of the manufacturing process and is not part of the

manufacturing process. Furthermore, the Division’s representatives asserted that the sale of the
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compressed and bundled scrap paper does not qualify as a sale by a scrap recycler because it is
not a sale of recycled tangible personal property. They argued that the Taxpayer is only finding a
way to monetize their scrap and the baler equipment is merely aggregating the waste into a form
that is more valuable to sell. They argued that the baler only makes the scrap paper more valuable
and does not change the nature of the product in the processing.

The Legislature has exempted only those items of machinery and equipment that are
used in the manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or
used by a scrap recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property. The Commission
has promulgated Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85 to provide additional guidance on the
sales and use tax exemption for certain purchases by a manufacturing facility. Utah
Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(2) provides that “[t]he sales and use tax exemption for the
purchase or lease of machinery and equipment by a manufacturing facility applies only to
purchases or leases of tangible personal property used in the actual manufacturing process.”
Furthermore, Utah Administrative Rule R865-195-85(3) provides that “[m]achinery and
equipment used for a nonmanufacturing activity qualify for the exemption if the machinery and
equipment are primarily used in manufacturing activities.” Although the Taxpayer indicated that
the baler equipment was connected to machinery used in the Taxpayer’s manufacturing process
and was therefore used in manufacturing activities and also asserted that the baler equipment was
used for scrap recycling, the Taxpayer provided no photographic or other documentary evidence
to verify the operation and use of the baler equipment. The Commission notes that Utah
Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(5) requires a manufacturer to “retain records to support the
claim that the machinery, equipment, parts, and materials are qualified for exemption from sales
and use tax under the provisions of this rule and Section 59-12-104.” Thus, the Commission
finds that the Taxpayer has not provided sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the machinery or
equipment satisfies the fourth requirement to qualify for the manufacturing exemption.

The Taxpayer has not met its burden of proof in this matter. The Taxpayer has not
provided sufficient evidence to show that the baler equipment has an economic life of three or
more years or that the baler equipment is used in the actual manufacturing process or used by a
scrap recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property. Thus, the Commission finds
that the Division’s audit deficiency of sales and use tax on those transactions should be sustained.
IL. Other Machinery and Equipment

Three of the transactions are shredder costs. The Taxpayer provided no explanations,
photographs, or documentation regarding the shredder costs. As noted above, in accordance with

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417(1), the burden of proof is on the Taxpayer in this appeal. The
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Commission finds that the testimony and submissions provided by the Taxpayer’s representatives
did not meet the burden of proof and are not sufficient to demonstrate that the shredder costs meet
all of the requirements to qualify as exempt from sales and use tax. The Taxpayer has failed to
show that the shredder costs are purchases of machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair or
replacement parts, that the machinery and equipment have an economic life of three or more
years, or that they are machinery and equipment that are used in the actual manufacturing process
to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or are used by a scrap recycler to
process an item sold as tangible personal property. The Taxpayer has also failed to show that any
other exemption applies to these transactions. Thus, the Commission finds that the Division’s

audit deficiency of sales and use tax on those transactions should be sustained.

Taxpayer s Schedule 5 Unreported Asset Purchases made in 2019, 2020, and 2021
Utah Code Ann. §59-12-104(14) in effect for the 2019, 2020, and 2021 tax years at issue

in this appeal provides that purchases or leases made by a manufacturing facility are exempt from
sales and use taxation if a number of requirements are met. First, the buyer or lessor must be a
manufacturing facility in this state. Second, the transaction must involve the sale or lease of
machinery, equipment, normal operating repair or replacement parts, or materials, except for
office equipment or office supplies. Third, the machinery, equipment, or normal operating repair
or replacement parts must be used or consumed in the manufacturing process to manufacture an
item sold as tangible personal property or used by a scrap recycler to process an item sold as
tangible personal property.

The following are the 13 disputed unreported asset purchases in Schedule 5 that occurred
in 2019, 2020, and 2021:
REDACTED TABLE

I. Baling Machinery and Equipment

Three of the transactions are purchases of machinery or equipment that include a baler, a
Nexgen baler, and a 100 hp fan for the baler. There is no dispute that the Taxpayer’s purchases of
the balers and the fan for the baler are machinery, equipment, normal operating repair or
replacement parts, or materials, which satisfies the second requirement to qualify for the
manufacturing exemption.

The Taxpayer’s representatives’ arguments and the Division’s representatives’ arguments

were the same arguments made for the baler equipment purchased in 2018. The Legislature has
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exempted only those items of machinery and equipment that are used in the manufacturing
process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or are used by a scrap recycler
to process an item sold as tangible personal property. The Commission has promulgated Utah
Administrative Rule R865-195-85 to provide additional guidance on the sales and use tax
exemption for certain purchases by a manufacturing facility. Utah Administrative Rule
R865-19S-85(2) provides that “[t]he sales and use tax exemption for the purchase or lease of
machinery and equipment by a manufacturing facility applies only to purchases or leases of
tangible personal property used in the actual manufacturing process.” Furthermore, Utah
Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(3) provides that “[m]achinery and equipment used for a
nonmanufacturing activity qualify for the exemption if the machinery and equipment are
primarily used in manufacturing activities.” Although the Taxpayer indicated that the baler
equipment was connected to machinery used in the Taxpayer’s manufacturing process and was
therefore used in manufacturing activities and also asserted that the baler equipment was used for
scrap recycling, the Taxpayer provided no photographs or other documentary evidence to verify
the operation and use of the baler equipment. The Commission notes that Utah Administrative
Rule R865-19S-85(5) requires a manufacturer to “retain records to support the claim that the
machinery, equipment, parts, and materials are qualified for exemption from sales and use tax
under the provisions of this rule and Section 59-12-104.” Thus, the Commission finds that the
Taxpayer has not provided sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the baler equipment is used in
the actual manufacturing process or is used for a scrap recycler, to process an item sold as
tangible personal property and, therefore, has not satisfied the third requirement to qualify for the
manufacturing exemption.

The Taxpayer has not met its burden of proof in this matter. The Taxpayer has not
submitted sufficient evidence to show that the machinery and equipment are used in the actual
manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or are used by a
scrap recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property. Thus, the Commission finds
that the Division’s audit deficiency of sales and use tax on those transactions should be sustained.

II.  Computer Software

Four of the transactions are purchases of machinery, equipment, or materials that include
a computer program for die room, computer software, and label software. There is no dispute that
the Taxpayer’s purchases of the computer software satisfies the second requirement to qualify for
the manufacturing exemption.

The Taxpayer’s representatives asserted that the computer software programs purchased

from Cimex Corp are used to make the dies, which are used in the die cutting machine. They
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indicated that the Taxpayer receives a program design and the software makes the die. The die is
then rubbered and mounted into the die cutting machine. They indicated that the software is used
to make the die ready for the machine and is used in the die cutting contract. They indicated that
the purchase order for a printing contract bills the die as a separate line item. However, the
Division asserted that the software is not part of the manufacturing process and only provides the
environment in which the processing can occur. They argued that it is part of the design process
and not part of the manufacturing process itself. They argued that it is not part of the mechanical
manipulation of the boxes being stamped.

The Legislature has exempted only those items of machinery and equipment that are
“used in the manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property.”
The Commission has promulgated Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85 to provide additional
guidance on the sales and use tax exemption for certain purchases by a manufacturing facility.
Utah Administrative Rule R865-195-85(2) provides that “[t]he sales and use tax exemption for
the purchase or lease of machinery and equipment by a manufacturing facility applies only to
purchases or leases of tangible personal property used in the actual manufacturing process.”
Furthermore, Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(3) provides that “[m]achinery and
equipment used for a nonmanufacturing activity qualify for the exemption if the machinery and
equipment are primarily used in manufacturing activities.” The Taxpayer indicated that the two
Cimex computer software programs were used to make the dies, which are used in the die cutting
machine in the Taxpayer’s manufacturing process and were therefore used in manufacturing
activities. . The Commission finds that the Taxpayer has provided sufficient testimony to
demonstrate that the computer software used to make the dies is used in a manufacturing activity
and, therefore, has satisfied the third requirement to qualify for the manufacturing exemption.
Thus, the Commission finds that the following two purchases of the Cimex Software qualify for
the manufacturing exemption: the purchase of the Cimex Software on DATE in the amount of
$$33$ that was assessed a tax deficiency of $$$$$ and the purchase of the Cimex Software on
DATE in the amount of $$$$ that was assessed a tax deficiency of $$$$$. The tax amount owing
from the two Cimex computer software purchases was $$$$$ and the audit deficiency should be
reduced to exclude those transactions.

The Taxpayer indicated that the two Esko label software programs are software that is
related to the operations in the folding carton section. The Taxpayer provided no further
explanations regarding the operation and use of that software and did not provide any
photographs or other documentary evidence to verify the operation and use of that computer

software. The Commission notes that Utah Administrative Rule R865-19S-85(5) requires a
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manufacturer to “retain records to support the claim that the machinery, equipment, parts, and
materials are qualified for exemption from sales and use tax under the provisions of this rule and
Section 59-12-104.” The Commission finds that the Taxpayer has not provided sufficient
testimony or other evidence to demonstrate that the Esko computer software was used in the
manufacturing process, and, therefore has not satisfied the third requirement to qualify for the
manufacturing exemption. Thus, the Commission finds that the Division’s audit deficiency of
sales and use tax on those transactions should be sustained.

III. Other Machinery and Equipment

Six of the transactions are purchases of machinery or equipment that include blowers for
the shredder, pallet racking, and pallet wrappers. The Taxpayer’s representatives provided no
testimony, documentation, or photographic evidence regarding the functions and uses of those
items. As noted above, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417(1), the burden of proof is
on the Taxpayer in this appeal. The Commission finds that the testimony and submissions
provided by the Taxpayer’s representatives did not meet the burden of proof and are not sufficient
to demonstrate that the blowers for the shredder, pallet racking, and pallet wrappers meet all of
the requirements to qualify as exempt from sales and use tax under Utah Code Ann.
§59-12-104(14). The Taxpayer has failed to show that the blowers for the shredder, pallet
racking, and pallet wrappers are machinery and equipment that are used in the actual
manufacturing process to manufacture an item sold as tangible personal property or are used by a
scrap recycler to process an item sold as tangible personal property. Thus, the Commission finds
that the Division’s audit deficiency of sales and use tax on those transactions should be sustained.
Audit Deficiencies in Schedules 1, 2, and 3 and credit in Schedule 4

Reviewing the information presented, neither party disputed that the Division properly
assessed sales and use tax in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) on the Taxpayer’s
disallowed exempt sales made during the audit period outlined in Schedule 1 and on the
unreported expense purchases made during the audit period outlined in Schedules 2 and 3.
Additionally, neither party disputed the schedule of credits for sales tax paid to sellers in error in
Schedule 4. Thus, the Commission finds that the Division’s audit deficiencies of sales and use tax
in Schedules 1, 2, and 3 and the credit provided in Schedule 4 should be sustained.

Assessment of Penalties and Interest

The Division assessed a negligence penalty in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§59-12-107(11) and §59-1-401(7)(a)(i). The Utah Supreme Court held in Benjamin v. Utah State
Tax Comm'n, that a negligence penalty is appropriate "when the tax-payer has failed to pay taxes

and a reasonable investigation into the applicable rules and statutes would have revealed that the
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taxes were due."> The Commission notes that the Taxpayer failed to pay taxes due on unreported
taxable expense purchases and unreported asset purchases during the audit period and the
Taxpayer had been instructed on the applicable statutes, rules, and methods for compliance
through a previous audit. The Commission finds that the Division’s assessment of a negligence
penalty is supported for the audit period. Based on the above findings, the Commission finds that
the negligence penalty assessed by the Division should be sustained. The Commission finds that
the Division properly assessed interest in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-12-107(11)(c)
and §59-1-402 and the Division’s assessment of interest should be sustained.

However, the Commission has discretion to waive penalties and interest under Utah Code
Ann. §59-1-401(14). The Commission has promulgated Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-42
and Publication 17 to outline the circumstances the Commission may consider as “reasonable
cause” justifying a waiver of penalties. The Commission may find reasonable cause to waive
penalties based on a taxpayer’s compliance history, as provided in Subsection (3)(I) of Rule 42:

(1) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment, filing, and
delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived.

(i1) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or reports are overdue at
the time the waiver is requested.

In this appeal, the Division submitted information that indicated the Taxpayer had
previously been audited regarding the same or similar issues. Thus, the Commission finds there is
not reasonable cause to waive the negligence penalty assessed in the audit report based on the
Taxpayer’s compliance history. No other grounds for waiving the penalties have been asserted or
are applicable in this matter. Furthermore, Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-42(4)(c) provides
that, ‘[i]n most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not constitute
reasonable cause for a waiver.” The Commission finds that the Taxpayer’s request for a waiver of
the penalties should be denied because the Taxpayer has not demonstrated that there is reasonable
cause justifying a waiver of the penalties assessed for the August 1, 2018 through April 30, 2021
audit period.

With regard to the waiver of interest, Rule R861-1A-42 specifically provides, “[g]rounds
for waiving interest are more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took
inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” Interest is not assessed to punish taxpayers.
Instead, interest is assessed to compensate the state for the time value of money. The State of

Utah was denied the use of the funds from the time the taxes were originally due. In this appeal,

> Benjamin v. Utah State Tax Comm'n, 2011 UT 14, 32, 250 P.3d 39, 47 (Utah 2011)(citing Hales Sand &
Gravel, Inc. v. Audit Div., 842 P.2d 887, 895 (Utah 1992)).
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the Taxpayer has the burden of proof and has not provided any information to show that the
Commission gave it erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the
error. Thus, the Taxpayer has not demonstrated sufficient grounds for the waiver of interest in this

appeal.

Shannon Halverson
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s audit deficiency of
$88$$ for Schedule 1, $$$$$ for Schedule 2, $$$$$ for Schedule 3, and ($$$$$) for Schedule 4.
The Commission reduces the audit deficiency for Schedule 5 to $$$$$. The Commission orders
the penalty and interest amounts assessed on the audit be reduced based on the reduced total audit
deficiency. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
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or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2023.
Tohn L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Jennifer N. Fresques
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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