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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter was argued in an Initial Hearing on June 17, 2021 in accordance with Utah

Code Ann. 859-1-502.5. The hearing was conducted by telephone conference call. Petitioner
(“Property Owner”) brings this appeal from the decision of the County under Utah Code Ann. §59-
2-1217 in which the County denied the Property Owner's application for circuit breaker tax relief
for the 2020 tax year.
APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code Ann. 859-2-103 provides for the assessment of property, as follows:

(1) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed and
taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as valued
on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

However, various exemptions, abatements, and tax relief are provided in the Property Tax
Act. Part 12 of the Property Tax Act provides circuit breaker tax relief under Utah Code Ann.
§59-2-1208 as follows:
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(1)(a)Subject to Subsections (2) and (4), for a calendar year beginning on or after January
1, 2007, a claimant may claim a homeowner's credit that does not exceed the following
amounts . . .

Utah Code Ann. 859-2-1202(1) defines “claimant” as the following:

(a)“Claimant” means a homeowner or renter who:

(i) has filed a claim under this part for a residence;

(i) is domiciled in this state for the entire calendar year for which a claim for relief is filed
under this part; and

(i) on or before December 31 of the year for which a claim for relief is filed under this
part, is:

(A) 66 years of age or older if the individual was born on or before December 31, 1959; or
(B) 67 years of age or older if the individual was born on or after January 1, 1960.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a), “claimant” includes a surviving spouse:

(i) regardless of:

(A) the age of the surviving spouse; or

(B) the age of the deceased spouse at the time of death;

(i) if the surviving spouse meets the requirements of this part except for the age
requirement;

(iii) if the surviving spouse is part of the same household of the deceased spouse at the time
of death of the deceased spouse; and

(iv) if the surviving spouse is unmarried at the time the surviving spouse filed the claim.

To qualify for circuit breaker tax relief “household income” must be less than a stated
amount described in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-1208 and is based on income from the preceding
calendar year. The amount is subject to adjustment from year to year based on the consumer price
index. In order to qualify for circuit breaker tax relief for the 2020 tax year, the applicant’s 2019
“household income” could be no greater than $34,167. “Household income” and “income” are
defined in Utah Code Ann. 859-2-1202 (5), (6), and (7) as follows:

(5) “Household” means the association of persons who live in the same dwelling,
sharing the dwelling’s furnishings, facilities, accommodations, and expenses.
(6) "Household income" means all income received by all members of a claimant's
household in:
(a) for a claimant who owns a residence, the calendar year preceding the
calendar year in which property taxes are due; ...

(7)(a)(i) “Income” means the sum of:
(A) federal adjusted gross income as defined in Section 62, Internal
Revenue Code; and
(B) all nontaxable income as defined in Subsection (7)(b).
(i1) “Income” does not include:
(A) aid, assistance, or contributions from a tax-exempt nongovernmental
source;
(B) surplus foods;
(C) relief in kind supplied by a public or private agency; or
(D) relief provided under this part or Part 18, Tax Deferral and Tax
Abatement.
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(b) For purposes of Subsection (7)(a)(i), “nontaxable income” means amounts
excluded from adjusted gross income under the Internal Revenue Code,
including:

0] capital gains;

(i) loss carry forwards claimed during the taxable year in which a
claimant files for relief under this part or Part 18, Tax Deferral and
Tax Abatement;

(iii) depreciation claimed pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code by a
claimant on the residence for which the claimant files for relief
under this part or Part 18, Tax Deferral and Tax Abatement;

(iv) support money received,;

(v) nontaxable strike benefits;

(vi) cash public assistance or relief;

(vii)  the gross amount of a pension or annuity, including benefits under
the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 U.S.C. Sec. 231 et seq.,
and veterans disability pensions;

(viii)  payments received under the Social Security Act;

(ix) state unemployment insurance amounts;

(x) nontaxable interest received from any source;

(xi) workers’ compensation;

(xii) the gross amounts of “loss of time” insurance; and

(xiii)  voluntary contributions to a tax-deferred retirement plan.

Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-34(2) and (3) provide additional clarification on what

constitutes “nontaxable income” for purposes of circuit breaker tax relief as follows:

(2) "Nontaxable income" includes:

(a) the amount of a federal child tax credit received under Section 24 of the Internal
Revenue Code that exceeded the taxpayer's federal tax liability; and

(b) the amount of a federal earned income credit received under Section 32 of the Internal
Revenue Code that exceeded the taxpayer's federal tax liability.

(3) "Nontaxable income" does not include:

(@) federal tax refunds;

(b) the amount of a federal child tax credit received under Internal Revenue Code Section
24 that did not exceed the taxpayer's federal tax liability;

(c) the amount of a federal earned income credit received under Internal Revenue Code
Section 32 that did not exceed the taxpayer's federal tax liability;

(d) payments received under a reverse mortgage;

(e) payments or reimbursements to senior program volunteers under United States Code
Title 42, Section 5058; and

(f) gifts and bequests.

Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-34(1)(a) addresses “household” for purposes of circuit breaker

tax relief as follows:

(1) “Household” is determined as follows: (a) For purposes of the homeowner’s credit
under Section 59-2-1208, household shall be determined as of January 1 of the year in
which the claim under that section is filed.
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Property owners have the right to appeal decisions of the county regarding circuit breaker
tax relief set out in Part 12 of the Property Tax Act as described in Utah Code Ann. §59-2-1217,
which states:

Any person aggrieved by the denial in whole or in part of relief claimed under this

part, except when the denial is based upon late filing of claim for relief, may appeal

the denial to the commission by filing a petition within 30 days after the denial.

DISCUSSION

The Property Owner had contacted the County about financial hardship issues regarding
payment of his property taxes and other issues regarding his disagreement with what the County
was doing with the tax dollars collected. Regarding his financial hardship issues, the Property
Owner and his spouse did submit a 2020 Application for Tax Abatement. RESPONDENT-1,
COUNTY Clerk Auditor, attended the Initial Hearing via teleconference and explained that he was
the one that processes these applications at the County and he reviewed the Property Owner’s
application. He stated that the County determined that the Property Owner’s household income
was too high to qualify for tax relief under Utah Code, Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 12. Therefore, the
County denied the tax relief." RESPONDENT-1 explained that at the time he would go over the
application with the individual homeowners and would tell them verbally when they did not qualify
as the County had not been issuing a written decision and so no written decision was given to the
Property Owner. The fact that there was no written decision was a factor discussed in the Tax
Commission’s Order Granting Reconsideration of Final Order and Reopening Appeal, which had
been issued by the Tax Commission on April 21, 2021. In that order the Tax Commission reopened
the appeal so the Property Owner could appeal the County’s denial of the tax relief. Whether the
County’s denial of the tax relief was proper is the subject of this Initial Hearing.

Although at this Initial Hearing the Property Owner argued his disagreement with how the
County was spending the tax dollars collected, the only issue before the Tax Commission is whether
or not the Property Owner is eligible for tax relief pursuant to the statutory provisions in Part 12.
The parties had submitted the Property Owner’s Application for 2020 Tax Abatement, which the
Property Owner and his wife, NAME-1, had signed and dated on August 28, 2020. On that
application the Property Owner had listed a total of $$$$$ in household income. To qualify for
tax relief under Utah Code, Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 12, the Property Owner’s household income

needed to be less than $$$$$. Clearly the Property Owner’s household income was over the limit.

! The County, however, did give the Property Owner a small amount of County hardship relief, but
RESPONDENT-1 explained that was based on other statutory authority that allows the County to abate
taxes and not the circuit breaker provisions.
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At the Initial Hearing before the Tax Commission, the Property Owner did not dispute his
household income amount, but he argued that he and NAME-1 had worked very hard their whole
lives to be mortgage free on their residence and that they were in a severe financial hardship
situation because of medical expenses. He stated that NAME-1 had cancer and was being treated
with chemotherapy. He explained that he knew he had to pay property taxes, but they just could
not absorb that new tax increase that the County had passed.

RESPONDENT-1 explained that it was his understanding that if a property owner was over
the income limit they could not qualify for tax relief under Utah Code, Title 59, Chapter 2, Part
12, and there was no discretion to allow the relief if the income was over the limit.

After reviewing the information submitted in this matter and the applicable law, the
Property Owner did not qualify for tax relief pursuant to Utah Code, Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 12
and the County properly denied the tax relief. It was not disputed that the Property Owner and
NAME-1 resided at the residence in question for all of 2020 and that was where they were
domiciled. Additionally they were more than ##### years of age as of January 1, 2020 based on
the birth dates they provided on the Application form. The County did not dispute that the Property
Owners met the criteria to be “claimants” for purposes of Utah Code Ann. §59-2-1202(1).
However, the County properly denied the tax relief based on the finding that their “household
income” was over the limit provided at Utah Code §59-2-1208.

“Household income” is defined by statute at Utah Code Subsection 59-2-1202(6), which
provides that “household income” is all “income.” Utah Code Subsection 59-2-1202(7) defines
“income” to be the sum of: (A) federal adjusted gross income as defined in Section 62, Internal
Revenue Code; and (B) all nontaxable income as defined in Subsection (7)(b). “Nontaxable
income” defined in Subsection (7)(b) includes amounts excluded from federal adjusted gross
income under the Internal Revenue Code such as payments received under the Social Security Act.
There is no provision in this formula that would allow a higher income in situations where a
property owner was incurring substantial medical expenses due to cancer or other illnesses.

As noted in many prior cases, the Tax Commission does not have statutory discretion to
allow tax relief where a claimant does not meet the express provisions of the statute. Furthermore,
the Tax Commission has heard a number of appeals where the claimant was only a few dollars over
the threshold income level and determined it was required to deny those property owners tax relief
because the statutory provisions for tax relief are clear as to who qualifies for the relief and do not

provide the Tax Commission discretion to grant exceptions to those provisions.?

2 The Tax Commission has considered several appeals where the property owners were only a few dollars
over the household income limit and concluded they did not qualify based on the statutory provisions. See

5
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For all of these reasons, the County has properly denied the tax relief in this matter and the

Property Owner’s appeal should be denied.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing the Tax Commission denies the Property Owner’s appeal of the
County’s decision regarding the 2020 application for circuit breaker tax relief. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal
Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must include
the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2021.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner

Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner

Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 15-460
(5/9/2016); Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Orders Appeal No. 15-2092 (5/9/2016); Appeal No.
16-1310 (2/21/2017); Appeal No. 16-1565 (4/10/2017); and Appeal No. 17-2036 (8/14/2018). The Tax
Commission’s decisions referenced herein are available for review in a redacted format at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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