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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on June 9, 2020 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5. The matter before the Commission is
Petitioner’s (“Taxpayer’s”) appeal filed under Utah Code §59-1-501 of a Utah individual income
tax audit deficiency for tax year 2015. Respondent (“Division”) had issued the Notice of
Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax on September 30, 2019, on the basis that the Taxpayer was
a Utah resident individual for all of 2015. The Taxpayer claims that he was not a Utah resident
from DATE, 2015 until he moved back to Utah on DATE, 2015. It was his position that he was a
resident of STATE-1 from DATE, 2015 until DATE, 2015, and then after returning to Utah was
unemployed for the remainder of 2015. Because the Taxpayer was unemployed while in Utah he
did not file a part-year Utah return for the period from DATE, 2015 until DATE 2015. However,
at the hearing the Taxpayer conceded that he was a Utah resident from DATE 2016 until DATE
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2016. Failure to timely file and timely pay penalties were issued with the audit. The amount of

tax, penalties and interest due as of the date the Notice of Deficiency was issued is as follows:
Tax Interest? Penalties Total as of Notice Date

2015 $$$$$ $$55 $$$55 $$$5

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on resident individuals of the state, in Utah Code Subsection
59-10-104(1) as follows:

. . a tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as
provided in this section . . . .

“Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(9)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual
is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of
abode in this state; and (Il) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, Utah Code §59-10-136 was adopted regarding what
constitutes domicile in the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in which Utah enacted a
statute that sets out a hierarchy of very specific factors that constitute Utah domicile. This
legislation indicates a clear change from the pre-2012 factors for determining domicile in Utah.
After the 2012 law had been in effect for a number of years, the Utah Legislature made some
limited, specific revisions to the law effective beginning with tax year 2018, but the revisions
were not made retrospective to the tax year at issue in this appeal. Utah Code §59-10-136 as in
effect for the 2015 tax year provides as follows:

() (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) s the noncustodial parent of a dependent:

L Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full.
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(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver

license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the

individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's

or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a

resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the

individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared

to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;
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(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-
102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(ii) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

4
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(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(if) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the

individual's spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter

2, Property Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence

of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered

in determining domicile in this state.


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the
burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code Ann. 859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable
cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest
imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide
additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are
more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(@) Timely Mailing...

(b) Wrong Filing Place...

(c) Death or Serious Illness...

(d) Unavoidable Absence...

(e) Disaster Relief...

(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...

(g) Tax Commission Office Visit...

(h) Unobtainable Records...

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...

(i) First Time Filer...

(k) Bank Error...

(I) Compliance History...

(m) Employee Embezzlement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.

@) The commission allows for equitable
considerations in determining whether reasonable cause exists to waive a
penalty. Equitable considerations include:

(i)  Whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the
taxes;

(i)  If the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;

(iii) The length of time between the event cited and the filing date;

(iv) Typographical or other written errors; and

(v)  Other factors the commission deems appropriate.

(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons
for late filing or payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the
inability to comply, may justify a waiver of the penalty.

(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness
does not constitute reasonable cause for a waiver. Nonetheless, other
supporting circumstances may indicate that reasonable cause for waiver
exists.

(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute
reasonable cause for waiver under any circumstance.
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DISCUSSION

The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayer was a “resident individual” in the State
of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for all of tax year 2015. It was the
Taxpayer’s argument at the Initial Hearing that he was a resident of STATE-1 until DATE 2015.
The Taxpayer acknowledges he moved to Utah on DATE 2015, but he did not find work in Utah
until sometime in 2016. Both parties acknowledged at the hearing that the Taxpayer filed a
STATE-1 2015 income tax return, although neither party submitted it as an exhibit for the
hearing. The Taxpayer did not file a Utah part-year return for the period from DATE 2015 to
DATE 2015. The Taxpayer and his representative explained at the hearing the reason the
Taxpayer had not done so was because he had no employment in Utah after he had moved to
Utah in September and his only income after moving to Utah was STATE-1 unemployment
income.

The Taxpayer was not married in 2015 and had filed his federal individual income tax
return with the filing status of “Head of Household.” Therefore, the Taxpayer did not have a
“spouse” pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5). On his federal return, the Taxpayer
had claimed ###### exemptions. This included himself, ##### children and the mother of #####
of his children. In issuing the audit deficiency, the Division allowed the Taxpayer’s filing status
as “Head of Household” and calculated the tax based on the Taxpayer having the ##### total
exemptions he had claimed on his federal return.

The Taxpayer explained that he had ##### children who resided in Utah with his mother.
His mother, who was the children’s grandmother, had custodial guardianship of these children.
These ###Ht# children were attending Utah public schools in grades K through 12. It was
undisputed that the Taxpayer was a noncustodial parent. In fact, these children did not have a
“custodial parent” they had a custodial guardian, which was their grandmother. The Taxpayer
stated at the hearing that he was never married to the mother of these ##### children and they had
been separated for many years. He also explained that the mother of these ##### children was
not their custodial parent. She had no custodial rights to these children. The Taxpayer did pay
support for these children, which payments went to his mother, the children’s grandmother, and
he had claimed them as dependents on his tax return. In addition to the older ##### children, the
Taxpayer had ##### younger children who lived with the Taxpayer as well as these children’s
mother during the tax year at issue. These children were too young to attend school in 2015. As

noted above, the Taxpayer also claimed these children and their mother as dependents on his
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2015 federal tax return. The mother of the ##### younger children was not the mother of the
older ##### children.

The Taxpayer had been renting a residence in Utah in 2014, where he had been living
with his ####t# youngest children and their mother. The Taxpayer did not own a residence in
Utah in 2015 and states that he had never registered to vote in any state. He also did not attend a
Utah institution of higher education in 2015. The Taxpayer did have a commercial driver license
issued by the State of Utah, with a special CERTIFICATION from the State of Utah, which was
required for his type of employment.

In August 2014, the Taxpayer obtained employment in STATE-1. This was full time
permanent employment and the Taxpayer stated he moved to STATE-1 with the intent to remain
in STATE-1 indefinitely. He explained that because of the NATURAL RESOURCE BOOM and
so many workers, housing was hard to find and most workers were living in trailer camps. He
said he was able to find a more permanent lodging situation and his youngest ##### children and
their mother did move to STATE-1 to live with him in 2014. They were able to find an apartment
to lease in STATE-1 by November 2014. The Taxpayer had filed a 2014 federal return, part-year
Utah return and part-year STATE-1 return listing on those returns his STATE-1 address. The
Taxpayer did not obtain a STATE-1 Driver License because his work did not require that he
obtain one from STATE-1 and he did not want to take time off work to get one in STATE-1.
While in STATE-1, the Taxpayer did return to Utah a few times to visit his ##### children that
continued to live in Utah. He bought a car for his oldest daughter who lived in Utah to drive.
That vehicle was registered to him in Utah. He states his vehicle, which he drove in STATE-1
was registered in STATE-1.

The Taxpayer also explained that apartments were very expensive in STATE-1. In
September 2015, the Taxpayer got laid off. Rather than stay there where it was very expensive to
live they moved from STATE-1 on September 15, 2015 and returned to Utah where they resided
for a while with the Taxpayer’s mother until they could find an apartment of their own to rent.
They were living in Utah when his year-end tax documents were issued and when they filed their
2015 returns. The Division points out that they had used a Utah address on their 2015 tax returns,
but the Taxpayer points out that he was living in Utah by the time those returns were due. The
Taxpayer had filed his 2014 returns using the STATE-1 address and the Taxpayer provided
copies of the 2014 returns. Neither party presented copies of the 2015 federal or STATE-1 return.
The Taxpayer’s representative stated that the Taxpayer had filed a STATE-1 full year return for
2015 because he had no Utah income or employment in Utah after moving to Utah on DATE

2015. After moving to Utah his only income was unemployment income issued by the State of
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STATE-1. For the 2015 tax year, the Taxpayer had paid taxes to STATE-1 in the amount of
$$$$$ and the Division has allowed a credit in that amount against the Utah income taxes the
Division assessed.

The Division had originally argued that the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 59-10-136(1). At the hearing, the Division no longer argued that the Taxpayer was
domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1). However, upon giving Subsection 59-10-
136(1) further scrutiny the Commission finds that Subsection (1) applies in this matter for the
entire 2015 tax year. Under Subsection (1) an individual is domiciled in Utah if they have “a
dependent with respect to whom the individual” . . . “claims a personal exemption on the
individual's . . . federal tax return” who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in Utah. The Taxpayer did claim as dependents on his federal
return his ##### older children who were residing in Utah and enrolled in public school in Utah.

There is an exception under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(b) to being domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 59-10-136(1). Subsection 59-10-136(1)(b) provides, “The determination of whether
an individual is considered to have domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance
with Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual: (i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent .
and (ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in Subsection
(1) (b)(i)(emphasis added).” Although the Taxpayer was clearly the noncustodial parent of his
###### children who were enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary
school, the Taxpayer does not meet all of the requirements to qualify for the exception for
domicile set out at Subsection (1)(b)(ii). Specifically, Utah Code Subsection (1)(b)(ii) requires
that to qualify for the exception, an individual must be “divorced from the custodial parent” of the
dependents. The Taxpayer is not divorced from the custodial parent of these children. To the
contrary, he was never married to the mother of his children who were enrolled in a Utah public
kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school during 2015 and the mother of the children was not
their custodial parent. In this matter there was no “custodial parent” and, therefore, the Taxpayer
could not be divorced from the “custodial parent.” Thus, the Taxpayer does not meet the
exception to domicile under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(b). The Taxpayer has the burden of proof
in this matter, and has not provided any information to show that his ##### children who lived in
Utah were not enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school during any
portion of the 2015 tax year. Consequently, the Taxpayer is domiciled in Utah for the entire 2015
tax year under Subsection 59-10-136(1).

As the Commission finds that the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah under Subsection (1)

for all of tax year 2015, the Commission need not analyze whether the Taxpayer would also be
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domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)? or Subsection (3). However, some limited
observations on these other subsections may be helpful in this matter. Because the Taxpayer did
not own a residence in Utah in 2015, had never registered to vote in Utah and did not claim
residency in Utah in 2015 on a Utah Individual Income Tax Return for that year, he would not
meet any of the criteria for domicile under Subsection (2). The Taxpayer was not absent from
Utah long enough for the 761 day exception set out at Subsection 59-10-136(4) to apply.

The Division had argued at the hearing that the Taxpayer would be considered domiciled
in Utah for the entire 2015 tax year under Subsection 59-10-136(3). Subsection (3) provides “if
the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met for an individual to be considered to have
domicile in this state, the individual is considered to have domicile” based on “the preponderance
of the evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and circumstances . .
. The facts and circumstances are twelve factors that are listed at Subsection (3)(b). The
Taxpayer and his representative argued that if you look at the twelve factors listed in Subsection
(3)(b) they clearly support that the Taxpayer was not domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2015
until September 15, 2015. However, because the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah for all of 2015
under Subsection (1) the Subsection (3) factors are not applicable. The Subsection (3) factors
contain many of the traditional factors considered under traditional notions of domicile. However,
the Utah Legislature abandoned the traditional notions of domicile when the Legislature adopted
Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 effective beginning in tax year 2012. Instead of the traditional
domicile notions, the Legislature set out a very specific hierarchy of factors to consider, clearly
giving more weight to certain factors and the most weight to the Subsection (1) factors. In Appeal
No. 17-1624, Conclusions of Law No. 18, the Commission explained:

Prior to Section 59-10-136 becoming effective for tax year 2012, the three factors
that the Utah Legislature described and set forth as rebuttable presumptions in
Subsection 59-10-136(2) (as well as the two education factors described in
Subsection 59-10-136(1)) had been among the numerous and non-exhaustive list
of factors that the Commission had used to determine income tax domicile for
years prior to 2012 (as set forth in Rule 2 [R865-91-2]and/or Rule 52[R884-24P-
52]). In Section 59-10-136, however, the Utah Legislature established a hierarchy
of specific factors described in Subsections 59-10-136(1) and (2) to establish
income tax domicile, with the education factors creating an absolute indication of
domicile and the three Subsection 59-10-136(2) factors creating rebuttable
presumptions of domicile. Thus, each of the factors described in Subsections 59-

2 Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to
have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary
residence . . .. (b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in accordance
with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or (c)the individual or the individual's spouse asserts
residency in this state for purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter . . .”
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10-136(1) and (2) were given greater import than they had received in
establishing income tax domicile for years prior to 2012 (when each of these
factors was merely one of the many factors with which domicile was
determined).

As the Taxpayer was domiciled in Utah during all of tax year 2015, he was a Utah
resident individual for this period and subject to Utah individual income tax on all his income,
including the income he earned while living and working in STATE-1, subject to a credit for the
taxes imposed by STATE-1. The Division has already allowed the credit for taxes paid to
STATE-1 in this matter and the audit assessment of tax is upheld.

Penalties and interest were assessed in the audit pursuant to Utah Code Sections 59-1-401
& 59-1-402. Utah Code Subsection 59-1-401(14) does provide that the Commission may waive,
reduce or compromise penalties or interest upon a showing of reasonable cause. Utah Admin.
Rule R861-1A-42 sets out what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of penalties, and
separately what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of interest. Regarding penalties, the Tax
Commission does generally waive penalties based on equitable considerations due to the
complexity and fact-sensitive nature of domicile cases. For this reason, the Tax Commission
finds reasonable cause for waiver of the penalties.

However, under Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2), reasonable cause for waiver of
interest is limited to instances where the taxpayer can prove “that the commission gave the
taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” The
Taxpayer has not asserted a basis for waiver of interest.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission finds that the Taxpayer was domiciled in

Utah and, therefore, a Utah resident individual for all of tax year 2015. The Commission sustains
the audit as to the tax and the interest accrued thereon. The Commission finds reasonable cause
for waiver of the penalties. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
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or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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