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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on May 5, 2020 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5. The matter before the Commission is
Petitioners’ (“Taxpayers’”) appeal filed under Utah Code §59-1-501 of a Utah individual income
tax audit deficiency for tax year 2016. On August 15, 2019, Respondent (“Division”) had issued a
Notice of Deficiency and Audit Change on the basis that the Taxpayers were Utah resident
individuals for all of 2016. The Taxpayers claim to be part-year Utah residents, having moved
into Utah in DATE of 2016. They had filed a Utah Individual Income Tax Return as part-year
residents in 2016, as well as a STATE-1 Individual Income Tax Return as part-year residents for
the months prior to their move to Utah in 2016. The amounts of additional tax and interest due

as of the date the Notice of Deficiency was issued is as follows:
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Tax Interest? Penalties Total as of Notice Date
2016 $35$$ $$55$ $0 $$55$

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on resident individuals of the state, in Utah Code Subsection
59-10-104(1) as follows:

. . a tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as
provided in this section . . . .

“Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(g)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual
is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of
abode in this state; and (Il) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, Utah Code §59-10-136 was adopted regarding what
constitutes domicile in the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in which Utah enacted a
statute that sets out a hierarchy of very specific factors that constitute Utah domicile. This
legislation indicates a clear change from the pre-2012 factors for determining domicile in Utah.
After the 2012 law had been in effect for a number of years, the Utah Legislature made some
limited, specific revisions to the law effective beginning with tax year 2018, but the revisions
were not made retrospective to the tax years at issue in this appeal. Utah Code 859-10-136 as in
effect for tax year 2016 provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full.
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(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and
(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a

church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;
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(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(i)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to

this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.
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(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended

(€)

©) (2)

(b)

(©

(6)

individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable

interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if)  the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance

with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile

in this state.

For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,

an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the

individual's spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter
2, Property Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence
of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered
in determining domicile in this state.

Utah provides for property tax assessment for all tangible property located within Utah,

but it also allows for a residential exemption on a property that is used as an individual’s primary

residence at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-103 as follows:
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@ All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be
assessed and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its
fair market value, as valued on DATE, unless otherwise provided
by law.

2 Subject to Subsections (3) through (5) and Section 59-2-
103.5, for a calendar year, the fair market value of residential
property located with the state is allowed a residential exemption
equal to a 45% reduction in the value of the property.

5) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), a residential
exemption described in Subsection (2) is limited to one primary
residence per household.

If a property owner no longer qualifies for the primary residential exemption on their
residential property they are required to take the following steps pursuant to Utah Code
Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) (2015) as follows:

Except as provided in Subsection (6), if a property owner no longer qualifies to
receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that
property owner’s primary residence, the property owner shall:
(a) file a written statement with the county board of equalization of the county in
which the property is located:
(i) ona form provided by the county board of equalization; and
(ii) notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no
longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section
59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence; and
(b)  declare on the property owner’s individual income tax return under Chapter
10, Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which the property
owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under
Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence, that the property
owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under
Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence.

Utah Code Ann. 820A-2-305 provides for removal of a voter’s name from the official
voter register, as follows:

(1) The county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register
because the voter has failed to vote in an election.
(2) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the official register if:

() the voter dies and the requirements of Subsection (3) are met;

(b) the county clerk, after complying with the requirements of Section 20A-
2-306, receives written confirmation from the voter that the voter no
longer resides within the county clerk's county;

(c) the county clerk has:

(i) obtained evidence that the voter's residence has changed;
(if) mailed notice to the voter as required by Section 20A-2-306;
(iii) (A) received no response from the voter; or
(B) not received information that confirms the voter's residence; and
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(iv) the voter has failed to vote or appear to vote in an election during the
period beginning on the date of the notice described in Section 20A-
2-306 and ending on the day after the date of the second regular
general election occurring after the date of the notice;

(d) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed from the
official register;

(e) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has been convicted of any
felony or a misdemeanor for an offense under this title and the voter's
right to vote has not been restored as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or
20A-2-101.5; or

(f) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has registered to vote in
another state after the day on which the voter registered to vote in this
state.

(3) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the official register within
five business days after the day on which the county clerk receives
confirmation from the Department of Health's Bureau of Vital Records that
the voter is deceased.

Utah Code Ann. 820A-2-306 addresses the removal of names from the official voter
register where a change of residence occurs, as set forth below:

(1) A county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register on
the grounds that the voter has changed residence unless the voter:

(@) confirms in writing that the voter has changed residence to a place
outside the county; or

(b) (i) has not voted in an election during the period beginning on the date

of the notice required by Subsection (3), and ending on the day after
the date of the second regular general election occurring after the
date of the notice; and

(i) has failed to respond to the notice required by Subsection (3).

(2) (@) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has
changed and it appears that the voter still resides within the same county,
the county clerk shall:

(i) change the official register to show the voter's new address; and

(ii) send to the voter, by forwardable mail, the notice required by
Subsection (3) printed on a postage prepaid, preaddressed return
form.

(b) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has
changed and it appears that the voter now resides in a different county,
the county clerk shall verify the changed residence by sending to the
voter, by forwardable mail, the notice required by Subsection (3) printed
on a postage prepaid, preaddressed return form.

(3) Each county clerk shall use substantially the following form to notify voters
whose addresses have changed: "VOTER REGISTRATION NOTICE"
We have been notified that your residence has changed. Please read,
complete, and return this form so that we can update our voter registration
records. What is your current street address?

Street City County State Zip
If you have not changed your residence or have moved but stayed within the
same county, you must complete and return this form to the county clerk so
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that it is received by the county clerk no later than 30 days before the date of
the election. If you fail to return this form within that time:

- you may be required to show evidence of your address to the poll worker
before being allowed to vote in either of the next two regular general
elections; or

- if you fail to vote at least once from the date this notice was mailed until the
passing of two regular general elections, you will no longer be registered to
vote. If you have changed your residence and have moved to a different
county in Utah, you may register to vote by contacting the county clerk in
your county.

"Signature of Voter"
"The portion of your voter registration form that lists your driver license or
identification card number, social security number, email address, and the
day of your month of birth is a private record. The portion of your voter
registration form that lists your month and year of birth is a private record,
the use of which is restricted to government officials, government
employees, political parties, or certain other persons.

You may apply to the lieutenant governor or your county clerk to have your

entire voter registration record classified as private."

(4) (@) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the county clerk may not
remove the names of any voters from the official register during the 90
days before a regular primary election and the 90 days before a regular
general election.

(b) The county clerk may remove the names of voters from the official
register during the 90 days before a regular primary election and the 90
days before a regular general election if:

(i) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed; or

(ii) the voter has died.

(c) (i) After acounty clerk mails a notice as required in this section, the

county clerk may list that voter as inactive.

(ii) If a county clerk receives a returned voter identification card,
determines that there was no clerical error causing the card to be
returned, and has no further information to contact the voter, the
county clerk may list that voter as inactive.

(iii) An inactive voter shall be allowed to vote, sign petitions, and have
all other privileges of a registered voter.

(iv) A county is not required to send routine mailings to an inactive voter
and is not required to count inactive voters when dividing precincts
and preparing supplies.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the
burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code Ann. 859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable
cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest

imposed under this part.”



Appeal No. 19-1821

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide
additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest. Interest waiver provisions are as
follows in pertinent part:

(2)Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are

more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the taxpayer

must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took

inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

DISCUSSION

The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in the State
of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for tax year 2016. The Taxpayers were
married during this tax year, they were not legally separated or divorced and had filed federal
returns with the filing status of married filing joint, so they are considered to be spouses for
purposes of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5). The Taxpayers did not have children or
dependents that they had claimed on their federal return for 2016. The Taxpayers themselves did
not attend a Utah institution of higher education during 2016.

The Taxpayer, TAXPAYER-1, had been employed by the Department of the Interior and
he and TAXPAYER-2 had been living and working in STATE-1 for many years. By 2014, he
was thinking about retiring from his employment and the Taxpayers were thinking about moving
back to CITY-1, Utah to be nearer to their parents who were elderly. They purchased a residence
in CITY-1, Utah in 2014. The residence, however, was not in a livable condition at the time of
purchase as the utilities had been turned off and the power company would not turn the electricity
back on until the electrical system and power boxes were replaced to current building code
standards. The Taxpayer said there were other upgrades needed but it was the issue with the
electricity that he noted that specifically made the property uninhabitable. Although the house
was uninhabitable, the County listed it on its records as a primary residence and so the property
was continuing to receive the primary residential exemption. The property is located in
COUNTY and that County does not require an application from a homeowner prior to allowing
this property tax exemption on a residential property. The Taxpayers never informed the County
that it was not their primary residence. However, the Taxpayers maintain that they were unaware
that the property was receiving this exemption.

Although the plan had been for TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 to move to CITY-1,
Utah once TAXPAYER-1 retired in 2016, TAXPAYER-2’s mother became ill with cancer and in
2015 TAXPAYER-2 returned to Utah to assist her mother. Her thought was that she would stay
with her mother until her mother was well enough to be on her own. Unfortunately, that never
occurred in 2015 or 2016 and TAXPAYER-2 was residing in Utah for most of 2015 and 2016,

9
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but with her mother at her mother’s residence in Utah and not in the residence that the Taxpayers
had purchased in CITY-1, Utah. Although it appears that TAXPAYER-2 was primarily residing
with her mother in Utah for all of 2015 and 2016, the Taxpayers argued that she was only visiting
with her mother for a special and temporary purpose and her primary residence was still in
STATE-1 with TAXPAYER-1 until he moved to Utah on DATE, 2016.

TAXPAYER-1 retired from his employment in STATE-1, they sold their residence in
STATE-1 and TAXPAYER-1 moved to Utah on DATE, 2016. He did not move into the
residence that they had purchased in CITY-1, Utah because it was still not habitable. Instead, he
moved into his grandmother’s residence, which was across the street from the residence that they
owned. After he moved to Utah, he started working on their CITY-1 residence replacing the
electrical system and making other upgrades. The Taxpayers provided the building inspection
reports for when they obtained a certificate of occupancy as well as a letter regarding when the
water and sewer was turned on at their CITY-1 residence. This did not occur until DATE, 2017.
TAXPAYER-1 was at the hearing and stated that he had been registered to vote in STATE-1 until
after he moved to Utah, but he was unclear about TAXPAYER-2 registering to vote in Utah. In
their written answers to the Domicile Survey, they did answer that both TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 were registered to vote in STATE-1 “from maybe 2012 till moving back to Utah
in 2016.” The Division did not provide a copy of any Utah voter registration records for the
Taxpayers, nor did the Division argue that either TAXPAYER-1 or TAXPAYER-2 ever
registered to vote in Utah prior to DATE, 2016.

TAXPAYER-2 had some Utah employment in 2015 and 2016. The Taxpayers had filed
a Utah return claiming non-resident status in 2015 claiming TAXPAYER-2’s income. In 2016,
the Taxpayers had filed both STATE-1 and Utah part-year resident returns. The Taxpayers
reported $$$$$ in individual income tax paid on their STATE-1 return and the Division has
allowed them a credit for taxes imposed by another state in that amount in its audit. The
Taxpayers did not check the box on either their 2015 or 2016 Utah returns to indicate that they
were not entitled to the residential exemption on the Utah residence they owned. Their
representative at the hearing stated that the Taxpayers had prepared the returns themselves and
did not know or understand that on the return.

For the purposes of Utah individual income tax a “resident individual” is defined at Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) to include, “(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state .
..” It was the Division’s position that both Taxpayers were Utah “resident individuals” because
they were domiciled in Utah during all of 2016. Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 specifically addresses

what constitutes having “domicile” in Utah. The Taxpayers were considered to be spouses
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pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5). The Taxpayers did not meet all of the
requirements to not be considered to be domiciled in Utah during 2016 under the 761 day
exception to domicile provided at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(4) for reasons including that
their Utah property was receiving the residential property tax exemption and they were both in
Utah more than 30 days in 2016.

The Division argues that the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of 2016 under
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)> Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable
presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or
the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax
Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary residence . . . . ” For this presumption to
arise, two elements must exist. First, the taxpayer must have claimed the residential exemption
on his or her Utah home. Second, the Utah home on which the taxpayer claimed the residential
exemption must be considered the “primary residence” of the taxpayer in accordance with the
guidance provided in Subsection 59-2-103.5(4).

As to the first element, the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the residential
exemption on their Utah home for the period at issue because they received the primary
residential exemption for this period. Subsection 59-2-103(2) generally provides that a Utah
residential property will receive a 45% residential exemption, while Subsection 59-2-103.5(1)
provides that a county may, at its option, require a property owner to file an application before the
property receives the exemption. As a result, when the residential exemption was created by the
Utah Legislature, this enactment generally added a claim for the exemption to the bundle of rights
acquired with the purchase of residential property, unless the relevant county adds the second step
of requiring formal application in order to receive the benefit of the exemption. The claim persists
until the property is relinquished through the sale of the property or until the residential
exemption is removed from the property (either by action of the county or the property owner).
Therefore, for the tax year at issue in this appeal simply owning a residential property in a Utah
county, like COUNTY, that does not require an application generally asserts an enduring claim to
the residential exemption, so the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the exemption for

their Utah residence.?

2 The Taxpayers were not domiciled in Utah during 2016 under Subsection 59-10-136(1) because they
had no dependents enrolled in a Utah public school and they themselves did not attend a Utah institution of
higher education during the tax years at issue.

3 Furthermore, in those Utah counties that require an application, receiving the residential exemption after
filing the application also constitutes a claim to the exemption. On the other hand, in a County that requires
an application, receiving the residential exemption without filing an application does not constitute a claim
to the exemption.
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For purposes of determining if the second element of whether the residence is the
individual’s primary residence is met, when Section 59-10-136 and Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) are
read in concert, a Utah property on which an individual claims the residential exemption is
considered their “primary residence” unless one or both of the property owners take affirmative
steps to: 1) file a written statement to notify the county in which the property is located that the
property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a primary
residence; and 2) declare on the property owner’s Utah individual income tax return for the
taxable year that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption
allowed for a primary residence. The Taxpayers did not take either of these steps.

This presumption of domicile under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) is, however,
a rebuttable presumption. The Legislature did not provide what circumstances are sufficient to
rebut the presumption in Subsection (2)(a), leaving it to the Commission to determine which
circumstances are sufficient to rebut the presumption. The Commission has considered what
rebuts the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption of domicile in numerous decisions. The
Commission has previously concluded that remodeling a home that was receiving the residential
exemption, even if the home was empty while the remodeling occurred did not rebut this
presumption. See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Orders, Appeal No. 18-2130, pg.
27 (3/6/2020) & Appeal No. 19-1515, pg. 11 (5/28/2020). In addition, the Commission has held
in prior cases that a taxpayer has failed to rebut the presumption of domicile because an
individual was unaware that they were receiving the primary residential exemption.* Likewise,
the Commission has previously found that retroactively removing the primary residential
exemption and paying the difference in property tax is insufficient to rebut the presumption of
domicile.®> The Commission also found in Appeal No. 15-1332 that the presumption can be
rebutted for that period that a home was listed for sale and the home was vacant. In Appeal No.
17-1589 the Commission found that the presumption would be rebutted for that period that a
home was under its initial construction (not a remodel) and until it received a certificate of
occupancy, if the home would be used as a primary residence upon its completion. Further, the
presumption could be rebutted for that period that a home was listed for rent, but only if the home
was vacant (i.e., if no one was residing in the home even on an occasional basis while it was
listed for rent) and if the home would continue to qualify for the residential exemption by being
rented to tenants who would use the home as the tenants’ primary residence (i.e., not being rented

to tenants who would not use the home as their primary residence, such as a short-term rental).

4 See Appeal nos. 14-30 and 15-720.
5 See Appeal nos. 15-1582 and 17-1787.
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See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-758 (1/26/2018). In
another case, the Commission found the presumption rebutted where an individual whose home
was receiving the residential exemption disclosed on their Utah income tax return that the home
no longer qualified for the exemption (even if the individual did not contact the county directly).®
In a recent decision the Commission found the presumption rebutted where in a County that
requires filing of an application, the property owner had written on the application above his
signature that the property would only be his primary residence for a two year period, and the
County did not remove the exemption after the two year period had expired. See Utah State Tax
Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 19-1218 (7/10/2020). As prior decisions have
noted, there may be other grounds in future cases for rebutting this presumption.

The Taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter. In reviewing the facts presented
the Taxpayers had purchased the Utah residence in 2014. They did receive the primary residential
exemption on the residence. They were not trying to sell or lease the residence. The Taxpayers
did not notify the County that the residence was not their primary residence and did not check the
box on their Utah non or part-year resident tax returns filed in 2015 or 2016 indicating that the
residence was not their primary residence. The Taxpayers argue that the home was vacant and
uninhabitable and that they were unaware they were receiving the residential exemption on the
property. After reviewing the facts presented at this hearing, the law and the precedent from the
prior cases, the Taxpayers have not rebutted the Subsection (2)(a) presumption of domicile even
though the home was not habitable, because the facts that the home was vacant and being
repaired and remodeled or that the Taxpayers were unware of the exemption, as noted above,
have both previously been found to not be grounds for rebuttal of the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption.

Under Subsection 59-10-136(2), if a taxpayer meets the criteria of any one of Subsections
59-10-136(2)(a), (2)(b) or (2)(c) " the taxpayer is presumed domiciled in Utah. At the hearing, the
Division only argued that the Taxpayers met the Subsection (2)(a) presumption because of the
primary residential exemption on their Utah residence and under Subsection (2)(a) the Taxpayers

are domiciled in Utah for all of tax year 2016. Therefore, because the Taxpayers have already

6 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-812 (3/13/2018). These and
other prior Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decision.

7 There was no assertion from the Division that indicated Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) applied to the
Taxpayers’ situation in this appeal prior to DATE 2016 The Taxpayers had filed a Utah part-year
individual income tax return for tax year 2016 on which they had claimed some Utah source income and
stated that they were Utah residents for the period from DATE 2016 until DATE, 2016. The period from
DATE, 2016 to DATE, 2016 is not in dispute.
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been found to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection (2)(a) for the entire audit period, it is
unnecessary to determine whether the taxpayers are domiciled in Utah under Subsection (2)(b) or
(c); however, some observations about these subsections may be helpful. The Division did not
claim at the Initial Hearing that the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) prior to DATE, 2016. During tax year 2016, a taxpayer is also presumed domiciled in
Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) for the period of time that the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s
spouse was registered to vote in Utah. The Taxpayers had stated in the domicile survey that
neither were registered to vote in Utah until after they moved to Utah in 2016. The Division did
not challenge this at the Initial Hearing. The evidence presented indicates the Taxpayers were not
registered to vote in Utah until after DATE, 2016. Once either Taxpayer registered to vote in
Utah this presumption would arise unless rebutted, but the Taxpayers did not dispute that they
were domiciled in Utah after DATE, 2016.

Additionally, the Division did not argue for the period at issue that the Taxpayers were
domiciled under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) under which a rebuttable presumption of domicile
arises when an individual or an individual’s spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of
filing an individual income tax return as a resident or part-year resident of this state. In this
appeal the Taxpayers did claim to be Utah residents on their Utah part-year return beginning
DATE, 2016. They claimed to be STATE-1 residents on their STATE-1 part-year return from
DATE, 2016 to DATE, 2016. The Taxpayers would be presumed domiciled in Utah beginning
DATE, 2016 under this subsection, but again the Taxpayers did not dispute Utah domicile from
DATE, 2016 to the end of the year.

If an individual is not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-
136(1), (2)(@), (2)(b), or (2)(c), the individual may still be considered to be domiciled in Utah
based on a preponderance of the evidence relating to 12 specific facts and circumstances listed in
Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b). Subsection 59-10-136(3), however, is applicable “if the
requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met[.]” Because the Taxpayers were domiciled in
Utah under Subsection (2)(a) for the entire audit period and (2)(b) & (c) for a portion of the audit
period after DATE, 2016, Subsection (3) is not applicable.

The Taxpayers’ representative argues in this matter that the Taxpayers can only be
domiciled in one state for tax purposes at a time. It was her position that the State of STATE-1
would have considered TAXPAYER-1 domiciled in that state in 2016, at least up to DATE, 2016
when he moved to Utah. The representative argues that the Taxpayers can then not also be
domiciled in Utah from DATE, 2016 to DATE, 2016. However, under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-

136 there are a number of scenarios under which a taxpayer could be considered domiciled in
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Utah, regardless of whether they were domiciled in another state under the more traditional
common law factors of domicile. The Taxpayers’ argument that an individual can only be
domiciled in one state at any one time may have been true under common law principles
concerning “domicile” and for Utah income tax purposes prior to 2012 (when the more traditional
application of “domicile” was in effect in Utah.) However, once the Utah Legislature amended
Utah’s income tax domicile laws by enacting Section 59-10-136 effective beginning with tax year
2012, an individual may be considered to be domiciled in Utah and in another state at the same
time for state income tax purposes (with double taxation concerns mitigated by the credit
provided under Section 59-10-1003).

The Taxpayers also argued at the hearing that the Utah domicile law was unfair because
they had never requested a primary residential exemption for their Utah property and they did not
know that they were receiving one. As previously noted the Tax Commission has considered the
argument that a taxpayer was unaware that they were receiving this property tax exemption and
found this did not rebut the presumption of domicile. Many individuals have argued ignorance of
the law in regards to the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions as a basis for rebutting the
presumptions and the Tax Commission has concluded that ignorance of the law is not a sufficient
basis to rebut the presumptions. See Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions
of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (9/2/2015); Initial Hearing Orders, Appeal No. 15-
1154 (2/1/16); Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17); Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/2017); Appeal No. 17-237
(9/18/17); Appeal No. 17-609 (1/26/2018); and Appeal No. 18-88 (3/22/2019). While the
Commission is tasked with the duty of implementing laws enacted by the Utah Legislature, the
Commission is not authorized to amend these laws to achieve what the Taxpayers may consider a
more “fair” result.?

As the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of tax year 2016, they were Utah
resident individuals. Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, a “resident individual” in the State of
Utah is subject to Utah individual income tax on all taxable income, subject to a credit for the
individual income taxes imposed by another state. In this case, the Division has allowed a credit
for the taxes that the Taxpayers had paid to STATE-1 for tax year 2016.

8 Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 was adopted effective beginning with tax year 2012 and has been applied
uniformly since that time and for the tax year at issue in this appeal. However, as the Division is already
aware, an issue similar to that addressed in this appeal has been appealed to the Utah Supreme Court and a
decision from the Court is pending in [TAXPAYER] v. Tax Commission, Utah Supreme Court Case

No #####. When the Court will issue its decision is unknown at this time. It may be in the Taxpayers’
interest to keep this appeal open by requesting a Formal Hearing in the event the Supreme Court’s decision
has some effect in this matter.
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No penalties were assessed with this audit. Interest was assessed pursuant to law. Utah
Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2), sets out what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of interest and
it is limited to instances where the taxpayer can prove “that the commission gave the taxpayer
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” The Taxpayers
have not asserted a basis for waiver of interest.

After review of the evidence submitted by the parties at the hearing and the applicable
law, the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of tax year 2016 based on the statutory
provisions in effect for that tax year and the audit assessment of additional tax and interest should
be upheld.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission finds that the Taxpayers were domiciled in

Utah for all of 2016 and sustains the Division’s 2016 audit deficiency as to the tax and interest. It
iS so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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