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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on DATE for an Initial Hearing

in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-502.5. The matter before the Commission is Petitioners’

(“Taxpayers”) appeal filed under Utah Code §59-1-501 of a Utah individual income tax audit

deficiency for tax year 2015. Respondent (“Division”) had issued the Notice of Deficiency and

Audit Change on DATE, on the basis that the Taxpayers were Utah resident individuals for all of

2015. The Taxpayers claimed that they were not Utah residents in 2015 and, instead, residents of
the state of STATE 1. The Taxpayers had filed a Utah non-resident return in 2015 on which they

claimed Utah source losses. No penalties were assessed with the audit. The amount of additional

tax and interest due as of the date the Notice of Deficiency was issued is as follows:

Tax Interest? Penalties Total as of Notice Date
2015 RS $E$5S $S$$5S $5$5$$

1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full.
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APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on resident individuals of the state, in Utah Code Subsection 59-
10-104(1) as follows:

.. . atax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as
provided in this section . . . .

“Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(9)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is
domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of
abode in this state; and (1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable
year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, Utah Code §59-10-136 was adopted regarding what
constitutes domicile in the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in which Utah enacted a
statute that sets out a hierarchy of very specific factors that constitute Utah domicile. This
legislation indicates a clear change from the pre-2012 factors for determining domicile in Utah.
After the 2012 law had been in effect for a number of years, the Utah Legislature made some
limited, specific revisions to the law effective beginning with tax year 2018, but the revisions were
not made retrospective to the tax years at issue in this appeal. Utah Code §859-10-136 as in effect
for the 2015 tax year provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).
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(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, VVoter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;
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(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i)  exceptasprovided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the
individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(if) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1)(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:
(i) begins on the later of the date:
(A) the individual leaves this state; or
(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and
(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.
(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:
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(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) Ifanindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(i)  the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's

spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property

Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant of

the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in determining

domicile in this state.

Utah provides for property tax assessment for all tangible property located within Utah,

but it also allows for a residential exemption on a property that is used as an individual’s primary

residence at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-103 as follows:


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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(1)  All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed
and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as
valued on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

(2)  Subject to Subsections (3) through (5) and Section 59-2-103.5, for a
calendar year, the fair market value of residential property located with the state
is allowed a residential exemption equal to a 45% reduction in the value of the

property.

(5)  (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), a residential exemption
described in Subsection (2) is limited to one primary residence per household.

If a property owner no longer qualifies for the primary residential exemption on their
residential property they are required to take the following steps pursuant to Utah Code Subsection
59-2-103.5(4) (2015) as follows:

Except as provided in Subsection (6), if a property owner no longer qualifies to
receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that
property owner’s primary residence, the property owner shall:

(@) file awritten statement with the county board of equalization of the county
in which the property is located:

(i) on a form provided by the county board of equalization; and

(if)  notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no
longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-
2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence; and

(b) declare on the property owner’s individual income tax return under
Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which the
property owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized
under Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence, that the
property owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized
under Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[iJn a proceeding before the commission, the
burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code Ann. 859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable
cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest
imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide additional
guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest. With respect to interest, R861-1A-42(3) reads as
follows in pertinent part:

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest
are more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest,
the taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to
the error.
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DISCUSSION

The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in the State
of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for tax year 2015. It was the Taxpayer’s
argument at the Initial Hearing that he and his spouse TAXPAYER 2 were residents of STATE 1
for 2015.

The Taxpayers had been married prior to 2015 and during all of 2015 they remained
married and were not divorced or legally separated. The Taxpayers had filed a married filing joint
federal tax return in 2015. Therefore, the Taxpayers are considered to be “spouses” pursuant to
Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5).

For tax year 2015, the Taxpayers had claimed ######H# children as dependents on their
federal and Utah non-resident tax returns. The Taxpayer stated at the hearing that none of their
children had ever attended public school or a university in Utah. In their response to the Domicile
Survey, the Taxpayers had explained that in 2015 all ###### of their children were attending
schools or universities in FOREIGN COUNTRY 1. The Taxpayers also state that neither of the
Taxpayers attended a Utah institution of higher education in 2015.

The Taxpayer explained at the hearing that he was an employee of the COMPANY and
generally was assigned to work in foreign countries. He also states that the Taxpayers have
maintained a residence in the State of STATE 1 since DATE, their Driver Licenses were always
issued by the State of STATE 1 and they were registered to vote in STATE 1 since DATE. From
DATE to DATE, he states he was given a temporary assignment in CITY 1, Utah. He states that
in DATE they purchased a condominium residence for their use in CITY 2, Utah, where they
resided for the time he was stationed in Utah. At that time of purchase, the Taxpayer filled out and
signed the Signed Statement of Primary Residence, which he had submitted to COUNTY 1.
COUNTY 1 granted the property tax exemption based on that application. The Taxpayer explained
that he had added a statement to the application to better explain his position and he provided a
copy at the hearing of the Signed Statement that he had submitted to COUNTY 1. Printed on that
document just above the property owner’s signature line is the statement, “And the above described
property is my permanent, full time residence and that | have no other permanent residence either
in the State of Utah or any other state.” On his statement, the Taxpayer had crossed through the
words “or any other state” and had handwritten in the following statement above his signature.

“CAREER TITLE, | am currently serving a two year assignment to Utah and live full-time at this

7
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address. | am a resident of CITY 1, STATE 2. At the conclusion of my assignment this property
will be sold or become a second home.”

However, after the two years TAXPAYER 1 had noted on his application regarding his
assignment in Utah, the property continued to receive the primary residential exemption, although
the Taxpayers never notified the County again that the property no longer qualified. The Taxpayer
stated that for several years after moving from the property, they had leased the property to long-
term tenants and the property may have qualified for the residential exemption for those years based
on the tenants’ use, but by DATE, the property was being used as a nightly or short-term rental and
was being leased out by a management company for that purpose. In addition, the Taxpayers did
not check the box on their Utah nonresident tax return that this property no longer qualified for the
exemption.

The Taxpayers had moved from the CITY 2 residence, by at least DATE. The Taxpayer
provided information that in DATE he was transferred to a post in CITY 1, FOREIGN COUNTRY
2 and then later to a post in FOREIGN COUNTRY 1, which is where the Taxpayers and their
children were living in DATE. After moving from the CITY 2 property, the Taxpayer explained
that they did visit the property and they stayed at the property to check on it from time to time. He
said they had kept it as an investment property.

It was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah during DATE
because they owned the residence in CITY 2, Utah that was receiving the primary residential
property tax exemption in 2015. For the purposes of Utah individual income tax a “resident
individual” is defined at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) to be, “(A) an individual who is
domiciled in this state” or in the alternative “(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state
but: (I) maintains a place of abode in this state; and (I1) spends in the aggregate 183 or days of the
table year in this state.” It was the Division’s position, that the Taxpayers were Utah “resident
individuals” because they were domiciled in Utah during the audit period. There was no
information presented that they would have been a resident based on Subsection (B). Utah Code
Sec. 59-10-136 specifically addresses what constitutes having “domicile” in Utah. The Division
argues that the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).> Subsection
59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption

in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's

2 The Taxpayers were not domiciled in Utah during 2015 under Subsection 59-10-136(1) because they
had no dependents enrolled in a Utah K-12 public school and the Taxpayers were not attending a Utah
institution of higher education during the tax year at issue.

8
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primary residence . ... " For this presumption to arise, two elements must exist. First, the taxpayer
must have claimed the residential exemption on his Utah home. Second, the Utah home on which
the taxpayer claimed the residential exemption must be considered the “primary residence” of the
taxpayer in accordance with the guidance provided in Subsection 59-2-103.5(4).

As to the first element, the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the residential
exemption on the Utah home for the period at issue because they received the primary residential
exemption for this period. Subsection 59-2-103(2) generally provides that a Utah residential
property will receive a 45% residential exemption, while Subsection 59-2-103.5(1) provides that a
county may, at its option, require a property owner to file an application before the property receives
the exemption. COUNTY 1 requires the application and the Taxpayers did sign and submit an
application to the County, although specifically noting on that application that after two years the
“property will be sold or become a second home.” In the counties that require the application,
receiving the residential exemption after filing the application constitutes a claim to the exemption.
The claim persists until the property is relinquished through the sale of the property or until the
residential exemption is removed from the property (either by action of the county or the property
owner). Therefore, the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the exemption for their Utah
residence.

For purposes of determining if the second element of whether the residence is the
individual’s primary residence is met, when Section 59-10-136 and Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) are
read in concert, a Utah property on which an individual claims the residential exemption is
considered their “primary residence” unless one or both of the property owners take affirmative
steps to: 1) file a written statement to notify the county in which the property is located that the
property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a primary
residence; and 2) declare on the property owner’s Utah individual income tax return for the taxable
year that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a
primary residence. It is clear that the Taxpayers did not take both of these steps. They did not
check the box on their Utah nonresident individual income tax return. However, the Taxpayers did
notify the County in advance that they would be using the property as their primary residence only
for a two year period. Because of this advance notice, this appeal does present a unique set of facts
to the Commission, but because they failed to take both steps they are presumed domiciled in Utah
under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).

This presumption of domicile under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) is, however, a
rebuttable presumption. The Commission has previously found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption can be rebutted if an individual has asked a county to remove the residential
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exemption, and the county failed to implement the individual’s request.* In the subject appeal, the
Taxpayers did notify the county, although in advance, that they would qualify only for a period of
two years. Instead of denying the exemption, the County accepted the application and granted the
exemption regardless of the limitation that the Taxpayer had written on the application, but then
took no action later based on the Taxpayer’s written statement on the application. Therefore, the
County was notified that the property would not qualify for the exemption after the initial two
years, but failed to take any action. Thus, Taxpayers have rebutted this presumption.  Under
Subsection 59-10-136(2), if a taxpayer meets the criteria of any one of Subsections 59-10-
136(2)(a), (2)(b) or (2)(c) the taxpayer is presumed domiciled in Utah and if the taxpayer is not able
to rebut the presumption, the taxpayer is found domiciled in Utah. The Division had argued the
Taxpayers were domiciled only under 59-10-136(2)(a) and not under any of the other Subsections
of 136(2). As the Taxpayers were never registered to vote in Utah and had filed a nonresident
return in tax year 2015, they were not domiciled in Utah under Subsections 136(2)(b) or (c).

The Taxpayers did not meet all of the requirements to not be considered domiciled in Utah
in 2015 under the 761 day exception to domicile provided at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(4)
because the COUNTY 1 Utah property was still receiving the residential property tax exemption
in 2015. Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(4) does provide an exception to being considered
domiciled in Utah if the individual and the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least
761 consecutive days and some additional criteria are met including that neither the individual nor
the individual's spouse return to Utah for more than 30 days in a calendar year or claim a residential
exemption on a Utah residence. Since the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the exemption
on their Utah residence they do not meet the criteria for the 761 day exception to domicile, as this

factor is not rebuttable in regards to Subsection 59-10-136(4). In addition, the Taxpayers did not

3 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-758 (1/26/2018). The
Commission previously found to rebut the presumption where an individual whose home was receiving the
residential exemption disclosed on their Utah income tax return that the home no longer qualified for the
exemption (even if the individual did not contact the county directly). See Utah State Tax Commission Initial
Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-812 (3/13/2018). In addition, the Commission has found that the presumption
can be rebutted for that period that a home was listed for sale, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one
was residing in the home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for sale). See Utah State Tax
Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-1332 (6/27/2016). Further, the presumption could be
rebutted for that period that a home was listed for rent, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one was
residing in the home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for rent) and if the home would continue
to qualify for the residential exemption by being rented to tenants who would use the home as the tenants’
primary residence (i.e., not being rented to tenants who would not use the home as their primary residence,
such as a short-term rental). See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-758
(1/26/2018). These and other prior Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format
at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decision

10
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show that they had not spent more than 30 days in Utah per calendar year for a 761 day period
encompassing tax year 2015.

The Division did not argue that the Taxpayers were considered domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 59-10-136(3). However, because this decision has found that the Taxpayers were not
domiciled in Utah under Subsections 59-10-136(1) or 136(2) the Tax Commission must consider
Subsection 59-10-136(3). Subsection (3) provides “if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are
not met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is considered
to have domicile” based on “the preponderance of the evidence, taking into considerations the
totality of the following facts and circumstances . . .” The facts and circumstances are twelve factors
that are listed at Subsection (3)(b). In looking at each of the twelve factors, the preponderance of
the evidence does not support Utah domicile. The twelve factors at Subsection 59-10-136(3) and

whether they indicated domicile in Utah are the following:

1. Neither Taxpayer had a Utah Driver License in 2015. This factor does not support
Utah domicile.
2. The Taxpayers did not have dependents who were enrolled in a Utah institution of

higher education. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

3. The Taxpayers did own a condominium residence in CITY 2, Utah in 2015. They
also owned a residence in the state of STATE 1 in 2015. They were, however, living at a third
residence, in FOREIGN COUNTRY 1 in 2015. There was no information to indicate that the nature
and quality of their Utah residence was superior or inferior to their living accommodations in these
other locations. However, the evidence did indicate that the Taxpayers were not maintaining their
Utah residence solely for their own personal use. They had turned it over to a management
company for use as nightly or short term rentals. They were living full time at their residence in
FOREIGN COUNTRY 1. For this reason this factor is at the most neutral in regards to Utah

domicile.

4. Both Taxpayers and their dependents were all residing in FOREIGN COUNTRY
1in 2015. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

5. The physical location of where the Taxpayers earned their earned income was in
FOREIGN COUNTRY 1. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

6. The Taxpayers did not have motor vehicles registered in Utah. This factor does

not support Utah domicile.
7. The Taxpayers did not establish that they were not members of a church, club, or
other similar organization in Utah. This factor is unknown because it was not addressed at the

hearing.

11
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8. The Taxpayers did not use their Utah address for mail, correspondence, as a listing
in a government publication, or for other purposes. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

9. The Taxpayers did not list their Utah address on their federal, Utah nonresident or
other tax returns. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

10. The Taxpayers did not assert residency on a document filed with a court or other
governmental agency. This factor does not support Utah domicile.

11. There was no indication that the Taxpayers had failed to acquire a permit or license
in the state of STATE 1 where they were claiming to be domiciled. This factor does not support
Utah domicile.

12, Neither Taxpayer was a noncustodial parent described in Subsection 59-10-
136(1)(b), so this factor is not applicable.

It is clear from the review of the information that was submitted in this matter that the
Taxpayers did not meet a preponderance of the Subsection (3) factors. Therefore, the Taxpayers
are not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection (3), and are not domiciled in Utah
under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136. As the Taxpayers were not domiciled in Utah during 2015, they

are not Utah resident individuals. The audit should be abated.

Goos R

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission finds that the Taxpayers were not domiciled

in Utah or Utah resident individuals in 2015 and abates the Division’s audit deficiency in its
entirety. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal
Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must include

the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

12
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Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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