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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on February 11,
2020, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-501 and §63G-4-201 et seq. Based upon the evidence

and testimony presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its:
FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) had filed an appeal of audit deficiencies issued by Respondent
(“Division”) of Utah individual income tax and interest for tax years 2014 through 2017. The Division
issued the Notice of Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax on DATE, 2019 for each tax year.! The

Taxpayers timely appealed the notices under Utah Code 859-1-501 and the matter eventually proceeded

to this Formal Hearing.

1 Respondent’s Exhibits 1-4.
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2. The amount of tax, penalty and the accrued interest as listed on the Notice of Deficiency

for the tax years at issue are as follows:?

Year Tax Penalties Interest Total as of Notice Date®
2014 $$3$3$ $$$33$ $$$$$ $$3$$
2015 $$5$$ $$$$$ $33$%$ $3$$$$
2016 $$5$$ $$55$ $33$$ $$$$$
2017 $$3$%$ $$333$ $$3$$ $33$$
3. The Division issued the audits on the basis that both of the Taxpayers were Utah resident

individuals for income tax purposes for all of 2014 through 2017. Although the Taxpayers acknowledge
that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident for all of the tax years, it was their position that TAXPAYER-2
was not a Utah resident and was instead a resident of STATE-1. All the income that the Taxpayers
claimed as received on their federal return was the wages from TAXPAYER-2’s employment in STATE-
1.

4. For all of the tax years 2014 through 2017 the Taxpayers, TAXPAYER-2 and
TAXPAYER-1, were married. They were not divorced or legally separated during these years. The
Taxpayers had filed their federal returns with the status of Married Filing Joint for the years 2014 through
20174

5. During all of the audit years, the Taxpayers had minor children which they had claimed
as dependents on their federal income tax returns.®

6. During all of the audit years, the children that the Taxpayers had claimed as dependents
were enrolled in a Utah public elementary or Utah public secondary school.®

7. The Taxpayers did not attend a Utah institution of higher education in 2014 through
2017.

8. The Taxpayers jointly owned a residence in Utah during all of the audit period and they
were receiving the residential property tax exemption on that residence for all of the tax years.
Furthermore, that residence was the Taxpayers’ primary residence.’

9. During all of the audit years, TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah.
TAXPAYER-1 voted in Utah in the 2012 and 2016 elections.® The COUNTY Voter Registration office

2 Respondent’s Exhibit 1-4.

3 Total as of the date listed on the Notices of Deficiency. Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance.
4 Respondent’s Exhibits 7-10.

5 Respondent’s Exhibits 7-10.

6 Testimony of TAXPAYER-2.

7 Exhibit 12 & Testimony of TAXPAYER-2.

8 Respondent’s Exhibit 14.
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had changed TAXPAYER-2’s voter registration status t0 “Made removable” in 2013. TAXPAYER-2
was not registered to vote in Utah during the audit years.® TAXPAYER-2 testified that he had registered
to vote in STATE-1.

10. The Taxpayers did not file Utah individual income tax returns during the audit years. It
was the Taxpayers’ contention that all the income they had received during these years was earned by
TAXPAYER-2 from his employment in STATE-1. TAXPAYER-2 worked for COMPANY-1 and from
the Forms W-2 provided by the Taxpayers with their federal filing, TAXPAYER-2’s wage income
comprised the total of the Line 7 income claimed by the Taxpayers on their federal returns for each of the
audit years.1

11. STATE-1 does not have a state individual income tax.

12. TAXPAYER-2 was working full time at his employment in STATE-1 during the audit
years. While in STATE-1, he resided in a travel trailer and leased a space at an RV park in CITY-1. He
had a Post Office Box in CITY-1, STATE-1 where he received his mail. He testified that he had obtained
a STATE-1 Driver License in 2008 and has maintained that license since that time. The vehicles that he
uses were registered in STATE-1 for all of the audit years. He testified that he had obtained STATE-1
resident fishing licenses in 2014 and 2015 and during the audit years, may have obtained Nonresident
Utah fishing licenses.

13. TAXPAYER-2 acknowledged through his testimony that TAXPAYER-1 had a Utah
Driver License and the vehicle she drove was registered in Utah. TAXPAYER-2 testified that he had no
family in CITY-1, STATE-1 and he would return to Utah to stay with TAXPAYER-1 and the children
most weekends and the times he was off from work. He explained he had a modified work schedule and
would work five long hour days and have four days off generally during this time period. Because
TAXPAYER-2 returned to Utah most of the days he was off from work, he would have been in Utah
more than 30 days each calendar year.

14. The Taxpayers have been the subject of audits for two prior audit periods. For those
prior audit periods the Taxpayers had appealed the audits and claimed that TAXPAYER-2 was not a Utah
resident individual for income tax purposes, although acknowledging TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident.
These were assigned Appeal Nos. 12-889 and 15-1985. In both of those appeals, after a hearing, the Tax
Commission found that TAXPAYER-2 was, in fact, a Utah resident individual for income tax purposes
and assessed Utah individual income taxes on all of his wages that were earned out of state. See Utah
State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 12-889
(5/30/2014) and Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 15-1985

9 Respondent’s Exhibit 13.
10 Respondent’s Exhibits 6-10.
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(8/22/2017). Appeal No. 15-1985 involved tax years 2010 through 2013, all the years immediately
preceding the subject audit. The Taxpayer acknowledged at the subject Formal Hearing that there had not
been any substantial changes in the facts of his and his family’s situation from the years at issue in Appeal
No. 15-1985 and the current audit period, which was for tax years 2014 through 2017.

15. The Taxpayers were both clearly domiciled in Utah for all of 2014 through 2017 under a
number of the subsections of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136, and are, therefore, Utah resident individuals for
individual income tax purposes.

APPLICABLE LAW

Utah imposes income tax on individuals who are residents of the state, in Utah Code Subsection

59-10-104(1) as follows:

... .atax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as provided in
this section . . . .

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(9)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the taxable
year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is domiciled in
this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of abode in
this state; and (Il) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this
state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, Utah Code §59-10-136 was adopted regarding what constitutes
domicile in the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in which Utah enacted a statute that sets out
a hierarchy of very specific factors that constitute Utah domicile. This legislation indicates a clear change
from the pre 2012 factors for determining domicile in Utah. After the 2012 law had been in effect for a
number of years, the Utah Legislature made some limited, specific revisions to the law effective
beginning with tax year 2018, but the revisions were not made retrospective to the tax years at issue in
this appeal. Utah Code 859-10-136 as in effect for tax years from 2012 through 2017 provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom
the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the
individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is
enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state; or

(if) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) s the noncustodial parent of a dependent:

4
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(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on
the individual's federal individual income tax return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or
public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in

Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in

this state if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's
spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in
accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, VVoter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including
asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of
this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the individual or the
individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to which

the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or the

individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary purpose,
but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this
state;

(if)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or
individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a resident
student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an
institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or
the individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom
the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on
the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax
return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in

5
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this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government
publication, other correspondence, or another similar item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this
state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this
state on a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under
this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or
license normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual
or the individual's spouse asserts to have domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the
individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive
days; and

(i) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary
residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse’s tax
home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to
be considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax
return in this state as a resident individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to

this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed
under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's
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belief that the individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to
not be considered to have domicile in this state; and
(it)  the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.
(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.
(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2),
(3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an
individual income tax return or amended individual income tax return
under this chapter:
(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income
tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays
in full the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under
Section 59-1-402, and any applicable penalty imposed under
Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under Subsection 59-1-401(2),
(3), or (5).
(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.
(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:
(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or
(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately
filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for
the taxable year.

(c)  Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an
individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed
under this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual
has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's

spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah provides for property tax assessment for all tangible property located within Utah, but it also
allows for a residential exemption on a property that is used as an individual’s primary residence at Utah
Code Sec. 59-2-103 as follows:

(1) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed
and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value,
as valued on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

2 Subject to Subsections (3) through (5) and Section 59-2-103.5, for a
calendar year, the fair market value of residential property located with the
state is allowed a residential exemption equal to a 45% reduction in the
value of the property.


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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(5)  (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(i), a residential
exemption described in Subsection (2) is limited to one primary residence
per household.

If a property owner no longer qualifies for the primary residential exemption on their residential
property they are required to take the following steps pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-2-103.5(4)
(2015) as follows:

Except as provided in Subsection (6), if a property owner no longer qualifies to receive a
residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s
primary residence, the property owner shall:
(a) file a written statement with the county board of equalization of the county in
which the property is located:
(i)  onaform provided by the county board of equalization; and
(if)  notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no longer
gualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that
property owner’s primary residence; and
(b) declare on the property owner’s individual income tax return under Chapter 10,
Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which the property owner no longer
qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that
property owner’s primary residence, that the property owner no longer qualifies to
receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that property
owner’s primary residence.

Utah Code Ann. 820A-2-305 provides for removal of a voter’s name from the official voter
register, as follows:

(1) The county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register because
the voter has failed to vote in an election.
(2) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the official register if:

() the voter dies and the requirements of Subsection (3) are met;

(b) the county clerk, after complying with the requirements of Section 20A-2-306,
receives written confirmation from the voter that the voter no longer resides
within the county clerk's county;

(c) the county clerk has:

(i) obtained evidence that the voter's residence has changed;

(ii) mailed notice to the voter as required by Section 20A-2-306;

(iii) (A) received no response from the voter; or
(B) not received information that confirms the voter's residence; and

(iv) the voter has failed to vote or appear to vote in an election during the period
beginning on the date of the notice described in Section 20A-2-306 and
ending on the day after the date of the second regular general election
occurring after the date of the notice;

(d) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed from the official
register;
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(e) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has been convicted of any felony or a
misdemeanor for an offense under this title and the voter's right to vote has not
been restored as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or 20A-2-101.5; or

(f) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has registered to vote in another state
after the day on which the voter registered to vote in this state.

(3) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the official register within five
business days after the day on which the county clerk receives confirmation from the

Department of Health's Bureau of Vital Records that the voter is deceased.

Utah Code Ann. §20A-2-306 addresses the removal of names from the official voter
where a change of residence occurs, as set forth below:

(1) A county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register on the
grounds that the voter has changed residence unless the voter:

(@) confirms in writing that the voter has changed residence to a place outside the
county; or

(b) (i) has not voted in an election during the period beginning on the date

of the notice required by Subsection (3), and ending on the day after the date
of the second regular general election occurring after the date of the notice;
and

(ii) has failed to respond to the notice required by Subsection (3).

(2) (@) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has

changed and it appears that the voter still resides within the same county, the

county clerk shall:

(i) change the official register to show the voter's new address; and

(ii) send to the voter, by forwardable mail, the notice required by Subsection (3)
printed on a postage prepaid, preaddressed return form.

(b) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has changed and it
appears that the voter now resides in a different county, the county clerk shall
verify the changed residence by sending to the voter, by forwardable mail, the
notice required by Subsection (3) printed on a postage prepaid, preaddressed
return form.

(3) Each county clerk shall use substantially the following form to notify voters whose
addresses have changed: "VOTER REGISTRATION NOTICE
We have been notified that your residence has changed. Please read, complete, and
return this form so that we can update our voter registration records. What is your
current street address?

Street City County State Zip

If you have not changed your residence or have moved but stayed within the same
county, you must complete and return this form to the county clerk so that it is
received by the county clerk no later than 30 days before the date of the election. If
you fail to return this form within that time:

- you may be required to show evidence of your address to the poll worker before
being allowed to vote in either of the next two regular general elections; or

- if you fail to vote at least once from the date this notice was mailed until the passing
of two regular general elections, you will no longer be registered to vote. If you have
changed your residence and have moved to a different county in Utah, you may
register to vote by contacting the county clerk in your county.

Signature of Voter"

register
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"The portion of your voter registration form that lists your driver license or
identification card number, social security number, email address, and the day of
your month of birth is a private record. The portion of your voter registration form
that lists your month and year of birth is a private record, the use of which is
restricted to government officials, government employees, political parties, or certain
other persons.

You may apply to the lieutenant governor or your county clerk to have your entire

voter registration record classified as private."

(4) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the county clerk may not

remove the names of any voters from the official register during the 90 days

before a regular primary election and the 90 days before a regular general

election.

(b) The county clerk may remove the names of voters from the official register
during the 90 days before a regular primary election and the 90 days before a
regular general election if:

(i) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed; or

(ii) the voter has died.

(c) (i) After acounty clerk mails a notice as required in this section, the

county clerk may list that voter as inactive.

(ii) If a county clerk receives a returned voter identification card, determines that
there was no clerical error causing the card to be returned, and has no further
information to contact the voter, the county clerk may list that voter as
inactive.

(iii) An inactive voter shall be allowed to vote, sign petitions, and have all other
privileges of a registered voter.

(iv) A county is not required to send routine mailings to an inactive voter and is
not required to count inactive voters when dividing precincts and preparing
supplies.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of
proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah Code Ann.
859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the
commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide additional
guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

2 Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are more
stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the taxpayer must prove that
the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that
contributed to the error.
3 Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(@) Timely Mailing . . .

(b) Wrong Filing Place . . .

(c) Death or Serious Illness . . .

(d) Unavoidable Absence . . .

(e) Disaster Relief . . .

10
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4] Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information . . .
(o) Tax Commission Office Visit . . .

(h) Unobtainable Records . . .

(M Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor . . .

() First Time Filer . ..

(k) Bank Error . . .

() Compliance History . ..

(m) Employee Embezzlement . . .

(n) Recent Tax Law Change . . .

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.

(@) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining
whether reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable considerations
include:

(i) Whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes;

(ii) If the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;

(iii) The length of time between the event cited and the filing date;

(iv) Typographical or other written errors; and

(v) Other factors the commission deems appropriate.
(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late
filing or payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to
comply, may justify a waiver of the penalty.
(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does
not constitute reasonable cause for a waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting
circumstances may indicate that reasonable cause for waiver exists.
(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable
cause for waiver under any circumstance.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in
the State of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for tax years 2014 through 2017.
It was not in dispute that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident for all of the tax years at issue. For

the purposes of Utah individual income tax a “resident individual” is defined at Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) to be, “(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state . . . or (B)
an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of abode in this state;
and (IT) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.” It was the
Division’s position, that both TAXPAYER-2 and TAXPAYER-1 were Utah “resident
individuals” under Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i)(A) for all of 2014 through 2017, because they
were domiciled in Utah during this period.

2. Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 specifically addresses what constitutes having
“domicile” in Utah. For all of the tax years at issue in this appeal, the Taxpayers were married,
not divorced and not legally separated. They had filed federal individual income tax returns with

the filing status of married filing joint. They are spouses for purposes of Utah Code Subsection

11
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59-10-136(5). Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5)(2017) provides, “If an individual is
considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is
considered to have domicile in this state.” In this appeal the Taxpayers were not contesting that
TAXPAYER-1 was domiciled in Utah for all of the tax years at issue. Therefore, even if
TAXPAYER-2 were not domiciled in Utah on his own accord under several subsections of 59-
10-136, that fact that TAXPAYER-1 was domiciled in Utah under Section 59-10-136 means that
TAXPAYER-2 is also domiciled in Utah.

3. The Taxpayers did not meet the exception to domicile provided at Utah Code Subsection
59-10-136(4). Under that subsection there is an exception if the individual and the individual’s spouse
have been absent from Utah for at least 761 consecutive days and if other factors have been met.
TAXPAYER-1 was not absent from Utah for at least 761 days and they failed to meet the other factors.
TAXPAYER-2 returned to Utah to visit for more than 30 days per calendar year. The Taxpayers claimed
a personal exemption on their federal individual income tax return with respect to dependents enrolled in
a Utah public school and they claimed a residential exemption for their primary residence.

4. Both Taxpayers are clearly domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a). This
subsection provides that an individual is domiciled in Utah if “a dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual’s spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual’s or individual’s
spouse’s federal individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state.” The Taxpayers’ children, which they had claimed as
dependents on their federal individual income tax returns for all of the audit years, were enrolled in Utah
public schools for all of the audit years. Both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under this subsection. If
this one factor is met, the Taxpayers are unequivocally domiciled in Utah. This is not a rebuttable
presumption and there is no further weighing of other domicile factors that can outweigh this one factor
based on the express provisions of Section 59-10-136.

5. Although both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a),
both Taxpayers were also domiciled in Utah for the audit period under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-
136(2). Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a
residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's
spouse's primary residence; (b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration . . . ; or (¢) the individual or the individual’s
spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of filing an individual income tax return (emphasis
added). . . . 7 If the individual met any one of these provisions, the individual is presumed domiciled in

Utah. The Division argued that in addition to being domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a),
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both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of the audit period under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) and
(2)(b) because they owned a residence in Utah that received the residential property tax exemption and
TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah. There was no assertion from the Division and no factual
information that indicated Subsection 136(2)(c) applied to the Taxpayers’ situation in this appeal.

6. Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) provides that there is a rebuttable presumption
that an individual is considered to have domicile in Utah if “the individual or the individual's spouse
claims a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence.” For this presumption to arise, two elements must exist. First, the
taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse must have claimed the residential exemption on their Utah home.
Second, the Utah home on which the taxpayer claimed the residential exemption must be considered the
“primary residence” of one or both of the taxpayers in accordance with the guidance provided in
Subsection 59-2-103.5(4). As to the first element, the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the
residential exemption on their Utah home for the period at issue because they received the primary
residential exemption for this period. Subsection 59-2-103(2) generally provides that a Utah residential
property will receive a 45% residential exemption, while Subsection 59-2-103.5(1) provides that a county
may, at its option, require a property owner to file an application before the property receives the
exemption. As a result, when the residential exemption was created by the Utah Legislature, this
enactment generally added a claim for the exemption to the bundle of rights acquired with the purchase of
residential property, unless the relevant county adds the second step of requiring formal application in
order to receive the benefit of the exemption. The claim persists until the property is relinquished through
the sale of the property or until the residential exemption is removed from the property (either by action
of the county or the property owner). Therefore, simply owning a residential property in a Utah county,
like COUNTY, that does not require an application generally asserts an enduring claim to the residential
exemption, so the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the exemption for their Utah residence.!
For purposes of determining if the second element of whether the residence is the individual or the
individual’s spouse’s primary residence, when Section 59-10-136 and Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) are read
in concert, a Utah property on which an individual or an individual’s spouse claims the residential
exemption is considered their “primary residence” unless one or both of the property owners take
affirmative steps to: 1) file a written statement to notify the county in which the property is located that
the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a primary

residence; and 2) declare on the property owner’s Utah individual income tax return for the taxable year

11 Furthermore, in those Utah counties that require an application, receiving the residential exemption after
filing the application also constitutes a claim to the exemption. On the other hand, in a county that requires an
application, receiving the residential exemption without filing an application does not constitute a claim to the
exemption.
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that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a primary
residence. The Taxpayers did not take either of these steps, and, in fact, TAXPAYER-1 and the children
were living in this residence. Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), both Taxpayers are presumed domiciled
in Utah for the audit period.

7. Unlike the Subsection 59-10-136(1) factors, Subsection 59-10-136(2) factors are
rebuttable presumptions. The Commission has considered what rebuts the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption of domicile in numerous decisions and there was no information presented by the Taxpayers
in this matter that supported rebuttal of this presumption. TAXPAYER-1 and the children were, in fact,
residing in this residence on a full time basis and TAXPAYER-2 was also residing in this residence when
he was not working out of state. Factors the Commission has found to rebut the presumption were where
an individual whose home was receiving the residential exemption disclosed on their Utah income tax
return that the home no longer qualified for the exemption (even if the individual did not contact the
county directly).? In addition, the Commission has found that the presumption can be rebutted for that
period that a home was listed for sale, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one was residing in the
home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for sale)!® and that it could be rebutted for that
period that a home was listed for rent, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one was residing in the
home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for rent) and if the home would continue to qualify
for the residential exemption by being rented to tenants who would use the home as the tenants’ primary
residence (i.e., not being rented to tenants who would not use the home as their primary residence, such as
a short-term rental). See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-758
(1/26/2018). The Taxpayers have not demonstrated any of these type of factors to rebut the Subsection
59-10-136(2)(a) presumption.

8. In addition to being domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1) and 136(2)(a) both
Taxpayers are presumed domiciled in Utah because TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah for all
of the audit years. Subsection 136(2)(b) provides an individual is domiciled in Utah if “the individual or
the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state . . . .” Even though TAXPAYER-2 was not
registered to vote and had registered to vote in STATE-1 , he is still presumed domiciled in Utah under
Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because of TAXPAYER-1’s voter registration. She has not
offered information to rebut the presumption that arises from her being registered to vote in Utah. She

did, in fact, vote in Utah in the 2016 election and she considered herself to be a Utah resident individual.

12 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-812 (3/13/2018). These and other prior
Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decision.
13 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-1332 (6/27/2016). In another decision,
the Commission found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption would be rebutted for that period that a
home was under its initial construction (not a remodel) and until it received a certificate of occupancy, if the home
would be used as a primary residence upon its completion. See Appeal No. 15-1582.
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The Tax Commission has considered what does rebut and what does not rebut the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) presumption of Utah domicile based on voter registration in many appeal decisions. See Utah
State Tax Commission, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 17-1624
(11/15/2019). Factors found to rebut the presumption include a showing that the individual registered to
vote in the state to which they moved relatively soon after moving there.** In this case, TAXPAYER-1
did not move and did not register to vote in STATE-1. The Commission has also found that the
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption can be rebutted if the individual who is registered to vote in
Utah requested their name to be removed from the Utah voter registry and the local county clerk or other
official who received the request did not remove the individual’s name from the registry.”® TAXPAYER-
1 did not take these actions. In addition, the Commission found the presumption could be rebutted from
the date that Utah voting laws provide for an individual’s name to be removed from the Utah voter
registry and a local county clerk does not immediately remove their name from the registry.® In this
case, TAXPAYER-1 was never made removable from the Utah voter registration records. In addition, the
Commission has found that an individual cannot rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption by
showing that they did not vote in Utah during the tax year at issue. See Utah State Tax Commission
Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 15-720 (5/6/16).1” TAXPAYER-1 did vote during one of the audit
years. The Taxpayers did not rebut the presumption that arises from TAXPAYER-1 being registered to
vote in Utah and because she is TAXPAYER-2’s spouse, he is also domiciled under this provision and it
is not rebutted.’

9. Many individuals have argued ignorance of the law in regards to voter registration or
other of the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions as a basis for rebutting the presumptions and the Tax
Commission has concluded that ignorance of the law is not a sufficient basis to rebut the presumptions.
See Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No.
14-30 (9/2/2015); Initial Hearing Orders, Appeal No. 15-1154 (2/1/16); Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17);
Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/2017); Appeal No. 17-237 (9/18/17); Appeal No. 17-609 (1/26/2018); and
Appeal No. 18-88 (3/22/2019). This appeal is different from most that come before the Tax Commission

14 Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 15-720 (3/6/2016).

15 Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 18-793 (2/22/2019).

16 Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 18-539 (4/30/2019). The Commission has also
stated that it might find that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption is rebutted if an individual moves from
Utah to a state that does not require voter registration prior to voting and if the individual eventually votes in that
state. Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 17-1552 (2/7/2019).

17 In 2019 the Utah Legislature did specifically revise the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption from being
registered to vote in Utah to actually voting in Utah during the tax year, but did not make that change retrospective
to tax years prior to 2018.

18 Furthermore, because the Taxpayers are spouses pursuant to Subsection 59-10-136(5) if a presumption under
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) or (b) arises for one Taxpayer it arises for both Taxpayers. If a Subsection 136(2)(a) or
(b) presumption has arisen then for both Taxpayers, the presumption would have to be rebutted for both Taxpayers.
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because it is the third appeal that the Taxpayers have filed asserting that TAXPAYER-2 was not
domiciled in Utah and for both prior appeals the Tax Commission found him domiciled in Utah.
Regarding tax years prior to the statutory revision of domicile that occurred beginning with tax year 2012,
the Commission had issued its decision in Appeal No. 12-889 on May 30, 2014. The second appeal did
involve tax years 2012 and 2013, after the effective date of the statutory revisions. However, the final
decision in that appeal, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 15-1985
was not issued until DATE, 2017, after most of the returns for the tax years at issue in this appeal were
already past due. After the issuance of the final decision in Appeal No. 15-1985, the Taxpayers were
aware of the domicile law that applied in the subject appeal and the Taxpayer admitted at the hearing that
his and his family’s facts and circumstances had not changed from the prior tax years.

10. TAXPAYER-2 argued at the hearing that the fact that all their income came from his
employment while working in STATE-1 should be the controlling consideration. He resided in STATE-1
during the work week in a travel trailer on a rented RV site. He registered his vehicle there and obtained a
STATE-1 Driver License. He had a post office box in STATE-1 where he received his mail.
TAXPAYER-2’s arguments are contrary to the express provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136. Utah
Code Sec. 59-10-136 provides a very specific hierarchy of factors that establish domicile. If an individual
meets any one of the factors in Subsection 136(1), they are domiciled in Utah. The Taxpayers are
domiciled in Utah under Subsection 136(1)(a). The Tax Commission need not look any further than that.
If the Taxpayers meet any one of the factors in Subsection 136(2), they are presumed domiciled in Utah
and if they do not rebut any one of these presumptions they are domiciled in Utah. The Taxpayers are
also domiciled in Utah under Subsection 136(2). The Taxpayers’ argument that other factors should be
given more weight than the Subsection (1) or Subsection (2) factors is contrary to the express provisions
of the statue. In Appeal No. 17-1624, Conclusions of Law No. 18, the Commission explained:

Prior to Section 59-10-136 becoming effective for tax year 2012, the three factors that the
Utah Legislature described and set forth as rebuttable presumptions in Subsection 59-10-
136(2) (as well as the two education factors described in Subsection 59-10-136(1)) had
been among the numerous and non-exhaustive list of factors that the Commission had
used to determine income tax domicile for years prior to 2012 (as set forth in Rule 2
[R865-91-2]and/or Rule 52[R884-24P-52]). In Section 59-10-136, however, the Utah
Legislature established a hierarchy of specific factors described in Subsections 59-10-
136(1) and (2) to establish income tax domicile, with the education factors creating an
absolute indication of domicile and the three Subsection 59-10-136(2) factors creating
rebuttable presumptions of domicile. Thus, each of the factors described in Subsections
59-10-136(1) and (2) were given greater import than they had received in establishing
income tax domicile for years prior to 2012 (when each of these factors was merely one
of the many factors with which domicile was determined).®

19 Almost all of the factors that were given greater import in Subsections 59-10-136(1) and (2) are based on
an individual or individual’s spouse availing themselves of certain benefits of being a resident of Utah, such as
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11. As the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of tax years 2014 through 2017,
they were both Utah resident individuals. Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, a “resident individual” in the
State of Utah is subject to Utah individual income tax on all taxable income regardless of where it was
earned, subject to a credit for the individual income taxes paid to another state. In this case, STATE-1 has
no state individual income tax so there was no credit available on the income the Taxpayer earned in
STATE-1.

12. Penalties for failure to timely file a tax return and for failure to timely pay the tax when
due, along with the interest that has accrued on the balance were assessed in the audit pursuant to Utah
Code Sections 59-1-401 & 59-1-402. Utah Code Subsection 59-1-401(14) does provide that the
Commission may waive, reduce or compromise penalties and interest upon a showing of reasonable
cause. Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 sets out what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of penalties,
and separately what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of interest. The Tax Commission has often
waived penalties where the issue is domicile based on the complicated nature of the law and equitable
provisions for waiver set out at Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(4). In this matter the Taxpayers did
become aware in Appeal No. 15-1985 of the new domicile law and that under the new law, the Tax
Commission had found that their facts and circumstances indicated they were both Utah resident
individuals. However, the Tax Commission’s final decision in Appeal No. 15-1985 was not issued until
after the tax return due dates for tax years 2014 through 2016. The Tax Commission finds there is cause
to waive the penalties assessed for 2014 through 2016. These facts change regarding tax year 2017. The
final decision in Appeal No. 15-1985 was issued prior to when the Taxpayers 2017 tax return was due and
the Taxpayer acknowledged at the hearing that the facts of his and his family’s situation were
substantially the same as in Appeal No. 15-1985, so there is not reasonable cause for waiver of the 2017
penalties .

13. Under Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2), reasonable cause for waiver of interest is
limited to instances where the taxpayer can prove “that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” The Taxpayers have not asserted a
basis for waiver of interest.

After review of the evidence submitted by the parties at the hearing and the applicable law, both

Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of tax years 2014 through 2017 and the audit tax and interest

having their dependent attend a Utah public school, being enrolled as a resident student at a Utah institution of
higher education, receiving a property tax benefit in the form of a residential exemption, or being able to register to
vote in Utah.
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should be sustained for all audit years. There is reasonable cause, however, for waiver of the penalties for

tax years 2014 through 2016, although the penalties for tax year 2017 should be upheld.

(s R

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission finds that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah

for all of 2014 through 2017. The Commission sustains the Division’s audit deficiency as to the tax and
interest for all tax years. The Tax Commission finds that there is reasonable cause for waiver of the
penalties for tax years 2014 through 2016. The Tax Commission finds there in not reasonable cause for
waiver of the penalties issued with the audit for tax year 2017. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights and Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must
be paid within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be assessed.
You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Tax
Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 863G-4-302. A Request for Reconsideration
must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do not file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30)
days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
859-1-601 et seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq.
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