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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on DATE, 2019 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5. The matter before the Commission is

Petitioners’ (“Taxpayers’”’) appeal filed under Utah Code §59-1-501 of a Utah individual income

tax audit deficiency for tax year 2015. Respondent (“Division”) had issued the Notice of

Deficiency and Audit Change on DATE, 2018, on the basis that the Taxpayers were full-year

Utah resident individuals for all of 2015. The Taxpayers claimed that they were part-year Utah

residents in 2015 and had filed a part-year Utah Individual Income Tax Return for that year. No

penalties were issued with the audit. The amount of additional tax and interest due as of the date

the Notice of Deficiency was issued is as follows:
Tax Interest? Penalties Total as of Notice Date
2015 $$$5$ $$$$$ $$$$$ $$5$$

1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full.
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APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on individuals who are residents of the state, in Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-104(1) as follows:

... .atax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as
provided in this section . . . .

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(9)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual
is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of
abode in this state; and (Il) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding what constituted
domicile in the State of Utah. Utah Code §59-10-136 (2015)? provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state DATE not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

2 Utah Code §59-10-136 was amended by the 2019 Utah Legislature and the changes made in that session
became effective May 14, 2019, with retrospective application to tax years beginning with 2018. The 2019
revisions made changes to both Utah Code Subsections 59-10-136(2)(b) and 59-10-136(5). However, this
decision cites to the code and applies the law that was in effect for the tax year at issue in this appeal.
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(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state
to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(if)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
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this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official

government publication, other correspondence, or another similar

item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(ii) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state DATE elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to

this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.
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(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter DATE not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse DATE not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the

burden of proof is on the petitioner...”


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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DISCUSSION

Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104 a “resident individual” in the State of Utah is subject to
Utah individual income tax on all taxable income regardless of where it was earned, subject to a
credit for the individual income taxes paid to another state. In this case, the Taxpayers did pay
individual income taxes to STATE-1 and the Division has allowed a credit for the taxes paid to
STATE-1. “Resident individual” is defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-103 as an individual who is
“domiciled” in Utah, or if not “domiciled” in Utah, is one who maintains a place of abode in Utah
and spends in the aggregate 183 days or more per year in Utah. The Division argues that both
Taxpayers were “domiciled” in Utah for all of 2015 pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Sec.
59-10-136.

The Taxpayers had filed a part-year Utah resident return for 2015, on which they
indicated that they were Utah residents from DATE, 2015 to DATE, 2015. It was the Taxpayers’
position at the hearing that they were residents of STATE-1 from DATE, 2015 through the end of
the year and they had filed a STATE-1 Non or Part-Year Resident return consistent with this
position on which they claimed the income they had earned while working in STATE-1 from
DATE to the end of the year.

Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 contains some very specific provisions on what constitutes
being domiciled in Utah for individual income tax purposes. The Taxpayers filed their federal,
Utah and STATE-1 part-year returns with the filing status of married filing joint. It was not an
issue or disputed that the Taxpayers were considered to be spouses for purposes of the domicile
provisions under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5). The Taxpayers had no children in 2015
and claimed no dependents on their state and federal tax returns in 2015.

TAXPAYER-1 explained at the hearing that he finished his Master’s Degree at
UNIVERSITY in DATE 2015 and had a job lined up in CITY-1, STATE-1. TAXPAYER-2 was
attending UNIVERSITY-2 and walked for the graduation ceremony in DATE 2015, but still had
to complete three more credit hours through an internship over the summer semester. The
internship was through UNIVERSITY-2 for which she received her last three credit hours, but
located in CITY-1. TAXPAYER-2 did pay Utah resident tuition for the summer semester, which
ended sometime in DATE. TAXPAYER-2 did not attend the hearing and TAXPAYER-1 was not
sure of the exact date. Because TAXPAYER-2 was a student receiving resident tuition enrolled
in a Utah institution of higher education until the summer semester was over in DATE 2015, both
she and TAXPAYER-1 were domiciled in Utah under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(1) until
the summer semester was over, regardless of the fact that they had both moved to STATE-1 in
DATE 2015. Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(1) provides, “An individual is considered to have
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domicile in this state if: ... (ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.” Based on this provision of Utah law, the Taxpayers
were domiciled in Utah from DATE, 2015 through DATE 2015.3

TAXPAYER-1 did explain at the hearing that both he and TAXPAYER-2 moved to
CITY-1in DATE 2015, and that fact was not disputed by the Division. TAXPAYER-1 proffered
that they packed up their stuff in a VEHICLE and moved it to an apartment they rented in
STATE-1. He said their intent was that it was a permanent move. They did not own a home in
Utah prior to the move, they were students and were renting while living in Utah. They did not
maintain an apartment in Utah after the move to STATE-1. They rented an apartment in STATE-
1 and that was where they resided until DATE 2016, when they moved back to Utah.*
TAXPAYER-1 explained that when they left Utah and moved to STATE-1 they did intend a
permanent move, but he had more contacts in Utah and received a better job offer in Utah so they
moved back after a year.

TAXPAYER-1 obtained a STATE-1 Driver’s License and registered to vote in STATE-
1. He proffered at the hearing that he thought TAXPAYER-2 did so as well, but they had no
record of that and when they had contacted STATE-1 to obtain her voter registration, STATE-1
had no record of her registering to vote in that state. Additionally, they made a request to the
STATE-1 Division of Motor Vehicles, which had no record of her applying for a STATE-1
Driver’s License.

It was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers remained domiciled in Utah for the
remainder of tax year 2015, from the end of TAXPAYERS-2’s UNIVERSITY-2 semester in
DATE 2015 through DATE, 2015, under the presumption of domicile at Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) because TAXPAYER-2 remained registered to vote in Utah and the Taxpayers had not
rebutted the presumption. The Division provided TAXPAYERS-2’s Utah Voter Records and
voter history. TAXPAYER-2 had been registered to vote in Utah since 2011 and has remained
registered to vote in Utah up through 2018. Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) provides
“there is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in Utah” if
“the individual or the individual’s spouse is registered to vote in this state.” TAXPAYER-2 was
registered to vote in Utah in 2015, therefore both she and TAXPAYER-1 are presumed domiciled

3 The Taxpayers are also presumed domiciled in Utah from DATE, 2015 through DATE, 2015 under
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c), but the Taxpayers do not contest that they had domicile in Utah during this
period.

4 Because the Taxpayers were absent from Utah only one year, they do not meet the exception for being
absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days, which is set out at Subsection 59-10-136(4).

7
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in Utah. She did not cancel her Utah voter registration and was not able to provide evidence that
she had registered to vote in STATE-1. She had not voted in Utah in 2015. However, based on
the law in effect in 2015, not voting during the audit year was not sufficient to rebut this
presumption. See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 15-720 (5/6/16).°

The Tax Commission has considered the presumption of Utah domicile based on Utah
voter registration in many appeal decisions after Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 was adopted and
became effective beginning in tax year 2012 and concluded if someone registered to vote in the
new state or could show that they had attempted to cancel their Utah voter registration, then the
presumption would be rebutted. Utah State Tax Commission, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 17-1624 (11/15/2019) provides a review of what factors the
Tax Commission has considered to have rebutted this presumption and what has not rebutted this
presumption. The Taxpayers’ have the burden of proof in this proceeding under Utah Code Sec.
59-1-1417 and have not rebutted this presumption.

Instead, the Taxpayer argued at the hearing that the Utah resident tuition at a state
institution of higher education or voter registration are not the factors that should be controlling.
It was his argument that the factor that the Tax Commission should consider in determining
domicile was that they had actually moved from Utah in DATE 2015 to STATE-1. They had
obtained a job and internship in STATE-1, rented an apartment and moved all of their belongings
to STATE-1 in DATE 2015. TAXPAYER-1 obtained a STATE-1 Driver’s License and registered
to vote in that state. For the rest of the year they lived, worked full time in STATE-1, and did not
maintain an apartment in Utah. These were the facts that the Taxpayer argued should be
considered for determining domicile.

The Taxpayers’ factors are the type of factors found in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-
136(3). However, the Subsection 136(3) factors are not applicable if an individual is domiciled in
Utah under Subsections 136(1) or 136(2). Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a) states, “if the requirements
of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this
state, the individual is considered to have domicile in this state if . . .” and then goes on in
Subsection 136(3)(b) to list twelve factors. Other individuals have argued that if a preponderance
of, or more than a preponderance of, the twelve factors indicate domicile in a state other than
Utah, that should be sufficient to rebut the presumption of domicile that arises under Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-136(2). The Tax Commission has considered this argument and concluded it

would not be appropriate. In Appeal No. 17-1624, pgs. 23-24, the Tax Commission held:

5 This and other Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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20. Moreover, relying on the limited and exhaustive list of 12 factors
described in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2)
presumption would: 1) be contrary to the express language of Subsection 59-10-
136(3)(a), which provides that the Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) factors should be
used to determine domicile only “if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are
not met[;]” and 2) be contrary to the plain meaning of Section 59-10-136 as a
whole by allowing the hierarchy of factors set forth in Subsection 59-10-136(2)
to be rebutted by satisfying a list of factors set forth in Subsection 59-10-136(3)
that are lower in the hierarchy of domicile factors established by the Legislature.

21. As a result, when a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption is
considered in concert with Section 59-10-136 as a whole, the Commission has
generally looked to actions or inactions related to the specific factor described in
the presumption to determine whether an individual has rebutted the presumption
or not. For example, if an individual is registered to vote in Utah, the
Commission has found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption can be
rebutted by showing that the individual registered to vote in the state to which
they moved relatively soon after moving there.®

Based on the applicable law, both Taxpayers remained domiciled in Utah for all of 2015
and the Division’s audit should be upheld. The Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because of TAXPAYERS-2’s Utah voter registration. They did
not rebut this presumption by showing that TAXPAYER-2 had attempted to cancel her Utah
voter registration or registered to vote in STATE-L1.

As the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of tax year 2015, up until DATE
2015 under Subsections 59-10-136(1) and for the entire year under Subsection (2)(b) they were
Utah resident individuals. As Utah resident individuals they are subject to Utah individual
income tax pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-10-104(1) on all of their income regardless of
where it was earned or received, subject to a credit for individual income taxes paid to another
state. In this case, the Division has allowed the credit for taxes paid to STATE-1 in the audit.
The audit deficiency as to the tax should be upheld.

No penalties were assessed with this audit. Interest has been assessed under Utah Code
Sec. 59-1-402. Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2) provides that interest is waived only if the
taxpayer proves that the Tax Commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took
inappropriate action that contributed to the error. The Taxpayers have not demonstrated Tax

Commission error in this matter and the interest should be upheld as well as the tax.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

6 See Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-720 (3/6/2016).
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all
of tax year 2015 and upholds the Utah individual income tax audit deficiency as to the tax and
interest for that year. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2019.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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