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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on DATE, 2019 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5. The matter before the Commission is

Petitioners’ (“Taxpayers’”) appeal filed under Utah Code §59-1-501 of a Utah individual income

tax audit deficiency for tax year 2015. Respondent (“Division”) had issued the Notice of

Deficiency and Audit Change on DATE, 2018, on the basis that both Taxpayers were full-year

Utah resident individuals for all of 2015. The Taxpayers claimed that they were part-year Utah

resident individuals and had filed a part-year Utah return for tax year 2015. It was their position

that they had moved during the year to STATE-1 and then returned to Utah. No penalties were

assessed with the audit. The amounts of additional tax and interest due as of the date the Notice of

Deficiency was issued is as follows:
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Tax Interest? Penalties Total as of Notice Date
2015 $$55$ $$55$ $$55$ $$55$

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on individuals who are residents of the state, in Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-104(1) as follows:

. . a tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as
provided in this section . . . .

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(g)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual
is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of
abode in this state; and (Il) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding what constituted
domicile in the State of Utah. Utah Code §59-10-136 (2015)? provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full.

2 Utah Code §59-10-136 was amended by the 2019 Utah Legislature and the changes made in that session
became effective May 14, 2019, with retrospective application to tax years beginning with 2018. The 2019
revisions made changes to both Utah Code Subsections 59-10-136(2)(b) and 59-10-136(5). However, this
decision cites to the code and applies the law that was in effect for the tax year at issue in this appeal.
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(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and
(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state
to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a

church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

3
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(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(ii) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
gualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to

this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

4
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(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if)  the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah

Code Ann. 859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest
imposed under this part.”
The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide

additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are more
stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the taxpayer must
prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took
inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the
burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

DISCUSSION

Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, a “resident individual” in the State of Utah is subject
to Utah individual income tax on all taxable income regardless of where it was earned, subject to
a credit for the individual income taxes paid to another state. In this case, the Taxpayers had
moved to STATE-1, which has no individual income tax so there is not a credit available.
“Resident individual” is defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-103 as an individual who is
“domiciled” in Utah, or, if not “domiciled” in Utah, is one who maintains a place of abode in
Utah and spends in the aggregate 183 days or more per year in Utah. What constitutes being
domiciled in Utah is set out at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136. The Division argues that both
Taxpayers were “domiciled” in Utah for all of 2015 pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Sec.
59-10-136.

The Taxpayers filed their federal return with the filing status of married filing joint. The
Taxpayers were married for all of 2015, not legally separated or divorced. For these reasons,
based on the express provisions of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5), the Taxpayers were
considered to be spouses for purposes of the domicile provisions in 2015. The Taxpayers had no
minor children during the audit period and claimed no dependents on their federal and Utah part-
year return. The Taxpayers themselves did not attend a Utah institution of higher education in
2015. It was the Division’s position that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah during
the audit year.® It was not argued that TAXPAYER-2 was ever registered to vote in Utah.

3 The Division did not argue that the Taxpayers were considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection
59-10-136(1), under which an individual is domiciled in Utah if children claimed as dependents on the
individual’s tax return attend a Utah public school, or if the individual or individual’s spouse attends a Utah
institution of higher education and receives resident tuition. Instead, the Division’s position was that the
Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2).

6
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The Taxpayer proffered at the hearing that both he and TAXPAYER-2 were from
STATE-1 originally and during the audit year most of their family, including their adult children
and grandchildren, were living in STATE-1. However, they had moved to CITY-1, Utah in 2008
so he could help his father open a business in Utah. He states it was their plan that once he
helped his father get that business running, his father would open a business in STATE-1, which
the Taxpayers would manage and operate. While in Utah TAXPAYER-1 registered to vote in
Utah in 2011. He and TAXPAYER-2 obtained Utah Driver Licenses and they registered their
vehicles in Utah. The Taxpayers had leased a residence in Utah. TAXPAYER-2 worked for an
HOSPITAL in CITY-1, but in the foodservice area of the hospital.

In 2014, TAXPAYER-1 and his father started constructing the business in CITY-2,
STATE-1. The business was a BUSINESS-1 which they opened at the end of 2014.
TAXPAYER-1 stated that they had leased a building for the business that was only an exterior
shell and they built out all the interior finishes. He said they invested a lot of money into the
business and it was a nice place of which he was proud. It was TAXPAYER-2’s dream to
eventually quit her employment with HOSPITAL and work at this business because she had gone
to culinary school and her background was the food service industry. However, until the business
was running well they decided that she should continue to work for HOSPITAL. By early 2015,
TAXPAYER-1 was working 12 to 14 hour days for the new business in CITY-2, STATE-1 and it
was difficult to then commute back to CITY-1 where they were renting a residence, so by DATE
2015 they had decided to move to CITY-2. They ended their lease in CITY-1 and rented a
residence in CITY-2, STATE-1, beginning DATE, 2015. They moved all their furniture and
belongings to CITY-2 at this time. TAXPAYER-2 commuted to CITY-1 for her employment
after that. On the Taxpayers’ part-year Utah return, they did claim TAXPAYER-2’s wages for all
of 2015 from her Utah employment as Utah source income and they did pay Utah individual
income taxes on this wage income. The income that they did not claim as Utah income or Utah
source income was the income TAXPAYER-1 received from his employment at the new business
in STATE-1 after the Taxpayers had moved to STATE-1. While in STATE-1 the Taxpayers did
change their mailing address to their STATE-1 residence and provided evidence that their mail
was received in STATE-1 and that most of their bank charges took place in STATE-1.

TAXPAYER-1 explained that after moving to STATE-1 and trying to keep this new
business running they were too busy to obtain STATE-1 Driver Licenses or register vehicles in
STATE-1. He also points out since it was not a major election year he did not think about
registering to vote in STATE-1 or canceling his Utah voter registration so he had not done that in
2015 either. Unfortunately, their business failed and by the end of DATE 2015, they closed the
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business. At this point, TAXPAYER-1 had no job in CITY-2 and TAXPAYER-2 was still
working in Utah, so the couple moved back to Utah by DATE, 2015. It was their proffer that had
the business succeeded they would still be living in CITY-2, STATE-1 today.

It was the Division’s position that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of 2015
under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). A taxpayer is domiciled in Utah if any one of the
rebuttable presumptions at Subsection 59-10-136(2) have been met and are not rebutted.
Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if: ... (b) the individual or the individual's spouse is
registered to vote in this state in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration . . . .”

The Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions are rebuttable presumptions, meaning an
individual is presumed domiciled in Utah, but certain factors could rebut that presumption. Based
on the information presented, the Taxpayers have not rebutted this presumption. TAXPAYER-1
did not attempt to cancel his Utah voter registration and did not register to vote in STATE-1. The
Tax Commission has considered what would rebut and what does not rebut the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) presumption of Utah domicile in many appeal decisions. See Utah State Tax
Commission, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 17-1624
(11/15/2019).5 Factors found to rebut the presumption include a showing that the individual
registered to vote in the state to which they moved relatively soon after moving there.® The
Commission has found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption can be rebutted if the
individual who is registered to vote in Utah requested for their name to be removed from the Utah
voter registry and the local county clerk or other official who received the request did not remove
the individual’s name from the registry.” The Commission has found that the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) presumption can be rebutted from the date that Utah voting laws provide for an
individual’s name to be removed from the Utah voter registry and a local county clerk does not
immediately remove their name from the registry.® On the other hand, the Commission has found

that an individual cannot rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption by showing that they

4 In addition the Taxpayers were not absent from Utah for 761 consecutive days, so they do not qualify for
the exception set out at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(4).

5 These and other Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.

6 Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 15-720 (3/6/2016).

7 Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 18-793 (2/22/2019).

8Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 18-539 (4/30/2019). The Commission has
also stated that it might find that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption is rebutted if an individual
moves from Utah to a state that does not require voter registration prior to voting and if the individual
eventually votes in that state. Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 17-1552 (2/7/
2019).



Appeal No. 18-1801

did not vote in Utah during the tax year at issue. See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing
Order Appeal No. 15-720 (5/6/16).

Additionally at the hearing, the Taxpayer states that had he known voter registration was
such a key factor he would have registered to vote in STATE-1 immediately upon moving there.
Many individuals have argued ignorance of the law as a basis to rebut the presumptions under
Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2). However, the Tax Commission has concluded that
ignorance of the law is not a sufficient basis to rebut these presumptions. See Utah State Tax
Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30
(9/2/2015); Initial Hearing Orders, Appeal No. 15-1154 (2/1/16); Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17);
Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/2017); Appeal No. 17-237 (9/18/17); Appeal No. 17-609 (1/26/2018);
and Appeal No. 18-88 (3/22/2019).

The Taxpayer argued at the hearing that using voter registration to determine domicile is
“bad law.” He explained that he had contacted Utah State NAME-1 about the law. It was
TAXPAYER-1’s proffer that NAME-1 told him that he thought the law was doing good but
realized it was a ‘terrible bill’ and that they had fixed it in 2019, but made it retrospective only
back to tax year 2018. TAXPAYER-1 also proffered that NAME-1 told him that common sense
should prevail and the law should be considered on a “case-by-case basis.” The Taxpayer argues
in this appeal that there was not a major election in 2015, and they had returned to Utah just
before the election, so he did not even think about registering to vote in STATE-1 or canceling
his Utah registration. The Taxpayer argues that they had moved from Utah, they had no Utah
property or residence and they were living in CITY-2 from DATE, 2015 to DATE, 2015. These
were the facts that the Taxpayers’ argued should be considered for determining domicile.

The Taxpayers’ argument that the voter registration should be given less weight than the
other factors is contrary to Utah law for the audit period at issue in this appeal. The Taxpayers’
factors are the type of factors found in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(3). However, the
Subsection 136(3) factors are not applicable if an individual is domiciled in Utah under
Subsections 136(1) or 136(2). Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a) states, “if the requirements of
Subsection (1) or (2) are not met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state,
the individual is considered to have domicile in this state if . . .” and then goes on in Subsection
136(3)(b) to list twelve factors. Other individuals have argued that if they met a preponderance
of, or more than a preponderance of, the twelve factors at Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b), that should
be sufficient to rebut the presumption of domicile that arises under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-
136(2). The Tax Commission has considered this argument and concluded it would not be

appropriate in Appeal No. 17-1624, pg. 23 stating, “Moreover, relying on the limited and
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exhaustive list of 12 factors described in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) to rebut a Subsection 59-10-
136(2) presumption would: 1) be contrary to the express language of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a),
which provides that the Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) factors should be used to determine domicile
only “if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met[;]” and 2) be contrary to the plain
meaning of Section 59-10-136 as a whole by allowing the hierarchy of factors set forth in
Subsection 59-10-136(2) to be rebutted by satisfying a list of factors set forth in Subsection 59-
10-136(3) that are lower in the hierarchy of domicile factors established by the Legislature.”
Based on the applicable law, both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of 2015 and
the Division’s audit should be upheld. Both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because TAXPAYER-1 remained registered to vote in Utah and has
not demonstrated factors to rebut this presumption. Additionally, the Taxpayers were not absent
from Utah for 761 consecutive days or more to meet the exception at Utah Code Subsection 59-
10-136(4). The Taxpayers moved to STATE-1 for less than one year and then returned to Utah.
As the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of tax year 2015, they were both
Utah resident individuals for that year. As Utah resident individuals they are subject to Utah
individual income tax pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-10-104(1) on all of their income,
regardless of where it was earned or received, subject to a credit for individual income taxes paid
to another state. In this case, there is no credit available because the other state is STATE-1 and
STATE-1 has no individual income tax. The audit deficiency as to the tax should be upheld.
No penalties were assessed with this audit. Interest has been assessed under Utah Code
Sec. 59-1-402. Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2) provides that interest is waived only if the
taxpayer proves that the Tax Commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took
inappropriate action that contributed to the error. The Taxpayers have not demonstrated Tax

Commission error in this matter and the interest should be upheld as well as the tax.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that both Taxpayers were domiciled in

Utah for all of tax year 2015 and upholds the Utah individual income tax audit deficiency as to
the tax and interest for that year. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner

Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner
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CONCURRENCE
I concur with the majority decision in this appeal, but the question of Utah domicile for
the period DATE, 2015 to DATE, 2015 merits a slightly different analysis. Prior to DATE, 2015
and after DATE, 2015, the taxpayers acknowledge that they were domiciled in Utah.

For the remaining period in question, the majority decision hinges on the presumption of
domicile created under Section 59-10-136(2). This Section creates a rebuttable presumption that
an individual is domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse (1) claims a
residential property tax exemption; (2) is registered to vote in Utah; or (3) asserts residency in
Utah for purposes of filing an individual income tax return.

The presumption thus created is rebuttable and does not irrefutably establish Utah
domicile. Compelling evidence that a presumption of domicile under Section 59-10-136(2) is
rebutted must encompass all of the factors enumerated by the Legislature in Section 59-10-136.
Past Commission rulings have concluded that rebutting the factors that create the presumption is
sufficient to rebut the presumption. The plain language of the statute allows for the possibility
that there could also be sufficient additional evidence that the taxpayer is not domiciled in Utah
even though the taxpayer satisfies one of the conditions enumerated in Section 59-10-136(2).
Such evidence must include all of the factors enumerated by the Legislature in Section 59-10-
136, but must give particular weight to the factors listed in Sections 59-10-136(1) and (2).

In this case, the taxpayers have no minor children enrolled in public schools in Utah or
elsewhere, and they did not pay resident tuition at any post-secondary institution in Utah or
elsewhere (Section 59-10-136(1)). The taxpayers did not receive a primary residential exemption
and did not own their primary residence in Utah or elsewhere. TAXPAYER-1 was registered to
vote in Utah. While TAXPAYER-2 was not registered to vote in Utah, it is not known whether
she was registered to vote in STATE-1 or elsewhere. The taxpayers did assert Utah residency for
part of 2015 on their tax returns (Section 59-10-136(2)). Thus, none of the factors identified by
the Legislature as critical in determining domicile rebut the presumption of domicile for
TAXPAYER-1.

These five factors can be supplemented and bolstered by the twelve factors listed in Section 59-
10-136(3), but the twelve factors in and of themselves are not sufficient to rebut a presumption
under Section 59-10-136(2). Under Utah law in effect for the 2015 tax year, the Division has

correctly determined that the taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for the entire year.

Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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