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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on DATE, 2020,

in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-501 and §63G-4-201 et seq. Based upon the evidence and testimony

presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its:
FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) had filed an appeal of audit deficiencies issued by Respondent
(“Division”) of Utah individual income tax and interest for tax years 2013 through 2016. The Division
issued the Notice of Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax on DATE, 2018 for each tax year at issue in

this appeal.! The Taxpayers timely appealed the notices under Utah Code §59-1-501 and the matter

eventually proceeded to this Formal Hearing.

1 Respondent’s Exhibit pp. 1-12.
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2. The amount of tax, penalty and the accrued interest as listed on the Notice of Deficiency

for the tax years at issue are as follows:?

Year Tax Penalties Interest Total as of Notice Date®
2013 $$3$3$ $$$33$ $$3$$ $$3$$
2014 $$5$$ $$$$$ $3$3$$ $$5$$
2015 $$5$$ $$$5$ $$3$$ $$$$$
2016 $$3$%$ $$333$ $$$$$ $33$$
3. The Division issued the audits on the basis that both of the Taxpayers were Utah resident

individuals for income tax purposes for part of tax year 2013, beginning on DATE, 2013 through DATE,
2013 and for all of tax years 2014 through 2016.

4, At the Formal Hearing, the Taxpayers no longer contested the audit as to the tax
deficiency for the period from DATE, 2015 until DATE, 2016. They acknowledged at the Formal
Hearing that they were domiciled in Utah for this portion of the audit period and, therefore, did not
contest the tax assessment for this period. They did, however, contest the tax deficiency for the period
from DATE, 2013 through DATE, 2015, as it was their position that they were not domiciled in Utah for
this period. The Taxpayers also requested waiver of all the penalties for all of the tax years 2013 through
2016.

5. For all of the tax years 2013 through 2016 the Taxpayers were married. They were not
divorced or legally separated during these years. The Taxpayers had filed their federal returns with the
status of Married Filing Joint for the years 2013 through 2016.* Therefore, the Taxpayers were spouses
for purposes of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5).

6. Although the Taxpayers did claim dependents on their federal returns, the Taxpayers
testified that during all of the audit years they had no children which they claimed as a dependent on their
federal return who attended a public school in Utah. The Taxpayers testified that the Taxpayers did not
themselves attend a Utah institution of higher education during any of the audit period.

7. During all of the audit years, the Taxpayers had claimed one of their children as a
dependent on their federal income tax returns. This was the Taxpayers’ son, CHILD-1. The Taxpayers
testified that he graduated from HIGH SCHOOL in CITY-1, STATE-1 in DATE, 2013, although the
report card they provided from DATE, 2013 did indicate he was in eleventh grade.® Regardless, the
Division did not dispute that CHILD-1 never attended a Utah public high school or that he finished high

2 1d.

3 Total as of the date listed on the Notices of Deficiency. Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance.
4 Respondent’s Exhibit pp. 23-40 & Petitioners’ Exhibit 12.

5 Petitioners’ Exhibit Domicile 11 p. 6. (School Report Card).
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school in STATE-1. The Taxpayers testified that after high school, CHILD-1 attended college in
STATE-2 from 2013 to 2014 and then was in FOREIGN COUNTRY in 2015 and 2016.

8. The Taxpayers also had a daughter, CHILD-2, and testified that she had already
graduated from high school in 2013. The Taxpayers had claimed her as a dependent on their 2013 and
2014 federal income tax returns, but not for 2015 or 2016. The Taxpayers testified that their daughter
was attending a private university in CITY-2, Utah, from DATE, 2011 through DATE, 2015.5

9. The Taxpayers testified they had been renting a single-family residence in STATE-1,
which had ##### square feet and they had stayed in that residence until their son graduated from high
school. It was at that time, on DATE, 2013 that they purchased a ##### square foot residence in CITY-3,
Utah for $$$$$. Also in DATE, 2013, the Taxpayers downsized their STATE-1 residence from the larger
single family home that they had been leasing in STATE-1 to a condominium, with ##### square feet.
As they had done with the larger, single family home in STATE-1, they leased instead of purchased the
STATE-1 condominium.

10. For 2013 to 2016, the Taxpayer TAXPAYER-1 was employed full time by the same
employer and his job was in STATE-1. The Taxpayers testified that they had purchased the CITY-3
residence as a vacation residence and they maintained the residence for their own personal use. They
never leased the residence to tenants. They testified that from 2013 until DATE, 2015, they primarily
resided in their condominium in STATE-1 where TAXPAYER-1 worked full time and TAXPAYER-2
did volunteer work. They testified that TAXPAYER-2 had spent about one month at the CITY-3
residence after the purchase in DATE, 2013 getting it set up for their use and the family spent its holidays
in the CITY-3 residence in 2013. Therefore, in 2013, TAXPAYER-2 spent more than 30 days in Utah.
The Taxpayers also provided a listing of the days that they had spent at the CITY-3 residence in 2014 for
holidays and getting their children settled in at the beginning and ending of each college year. This list
indicated that one or both of the Taxpayers had spent more than 30 days in Utah in 2014 as well.” As the
Taxpayers had moved to their CITY-3 residence full time in DATE 2015 and 2016, they clearly spent
more than 30 days in Utah for 2015 and 2016.

11. The Taxpayers testified that by DATE, 2015 they had determined that they were going to
move to their CITY-3 residence full time. They ended their lease of the STATE-1 condominium and no
longer maintained a residence in STATE-1. They had moved into their CITY-3 residence by DATE,
2015, which is why they conceded they were domiciled in Utah beginning DATE, 2015.

12. CITY-3 is located in COUNTY-1. COUNTY-1 requires an application from a property

owner on which the property owner states the property is the owner’s primary residence before granting

6 See Also Respondent’s Exhibit, p. 16.
7 Respondent’s Exhibit, p. 19.
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the primary residential exemption for a property. When the Taxpayers purchased their residence in CITY-
3, Utah, they filled out the application to receive the primary residential property tax exemption.
TAXPAYER-1 testified that he was a little confused because they had never owned a second residence
before and, also, the CITY-3 residence was the only residence that they actually owned at the time, as
they were only leasing their condominium in STATE-1. He did not dispute at the hearing that he had
filled out the application for the property tax exemption. COUNTY-1 confirmed that the property had
received the exemption from 2013 to 2016.8

13. TAXPAYER-1 testified that when they had made the decision that they were going to
move to Utah full time, he had intended to quit his job in STATE-1, but when he told that to his
employers, they instead made arrangements that if TAXPAYER-1 would continue to work for the
company he could telecommute part of his time from his CITY-3 residence. He said they did still require
significant travel back to the STATE-1 office, so he still spent much of his time there.

14. After the Taxpayers moved to Utah on DATE, 2015, TAXPAYER-1’s only employment
continued to be his STATE-1 employment and TAXPAYER-2 was not employed. TAXPAYER-1
testified that he spoke with someone in his employer’s Human Resources Department and that they told
him he could continue to have his wages listed as STATE-1 wages. It was TAXPAYER-1’s testimony
that he relied on that and did not think he needed to have Utah withholding or file a Utah return on
income he was earning from his employment in STATE-1.

15. STATE-1 does not have a state income tax.

16. The Taxpayers testified that they were registered to vote in STATE-1 and they voted in
STATE-1 in 2013 and 2014. The Division did not refute this or argue the Taxpayers were registered to
vote in Utah prior to DATE, 2015.

17. TAXPAYER-2 had obtained a STATE-1 Driver License in 2012 and provided a copy of
that record from STATE-1.° At the hearing, the taxpayers testified that she had obtained a Utah License
in 2015. TAXPAYER-1 testified he had never obtained a STATE-1 license and had a STATE-3 License
until he obtained a Utah Driver License using the address of the CITY-3 residence. The Division did not
argue that the Taxpayers had obtained Utah Driver Licenses prior to DATE, 2015.

18. The Taxpayers had used a STATE-1 address when filing their federal tax returns for each
of the years 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016, although they had used three different STATE-1 addresses on
their returns. For 2013 the address was their first residence at RESIDENCE-1, for 2014 and 2015 the

address listed was the address for their condominium in CITY-4 and for 2016 the address listed was for a

8 Respondent’s Exhibit, pp. 21 & 22.
9 Petitioners’ Exhibit 6.
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post office box at a UPS Store.’® The Taxpayers did not file Utah individual income tax returns during
any of the audit years.

19. TAXPAYER-1 had a membership to a CLUB in STATE-1 from 2011 until 2017.

20. During the years 2013 through 2016, the Taxpayers’ children did not reside with them as
they were college students and no longer minors.

21. During the years 2013 through 2016, the Taxpayers had several vehicles that were
registered in Utah. The vehicles their children drove and a VEHICLE-1 were all registered in Utah in
DATE 2013. They left the VEHICLE-1 in Utah to drive when they were staying at their CITY-3
residence.

22. Up until DATE, 2015, the Taxpayers received most of their regular mail at an address in
STATE-1 including things like W-2s, donation receipts, high school records and employment records.
The Taxpayers did provide some evidence of mail sent to their STATE-1 address for the hearing.!

23. The Taxpayers are both presumed domiciled in Utah from DATE, 2013 through DATE,
2016 under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) because they had claimed the primary residential
property tax exemption on the residence that they owned in Utah. They maintained that residence for
their own personal use and stayed in it from time to time while visiting Utah for holidays or other
occasions. The residence was never leased to a tenant as that tenant’s primary residence and was never
listed for sale or for lease while vacant.

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1) (2016)*? imposes a tax as follows:

“a tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual[.]”
For purposes of Utah income taxation, a “resident individual” is defined in UCA §59-10-
103(2)(g)(i), as follows in pertinent part:

(1) “Resident individual” means:
(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the
taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is
domiciled in this state; or
(B) anindividual who is not domiciled in this state but:
() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(I1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.

Utah Code 859-10-136 was adopted effective beginning with tax year 2012 regarding what

constitutes domicile in the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in which Utah enacted a statute

10 Respondent’s Exhibit pp. 23-40; Petitioner’s Exhibit 12.

11 Petitioners’ Exhibit 11.

12 All substantive law citations are to the 2016 version of Utah law. The substantive law remained the same during
the 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016 tax years.
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that sets out a hierarchy of very specific factors that constitute Utah domicile. This legislation indicates a
clear change from the pre-2012 factors for determining domicile in Utah. After the 2012 law had been in
effect for a number of years, the Utah Legislature made some limited, specific revisions to the law
effective beginning with tax year 2018, but the revisions were not made retrospective to the tax years at
issue in this appeal. Utah Code 859-10-136 as in effect for the 2013 through 2016 tax years provides as
follows:

(1) (a) Anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state if:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the
individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is
enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary
school in this state; or
(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in accordance
with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state may not be determined in accordance with Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:
(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and
(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or
public secondary school in this state; and
(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in

this state if:

(@) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's
spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in
accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, VVoter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes
of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that
the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the
portion of the taxable year for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a
resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and
(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary
purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the evidence,
taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and circumstances:

6
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(i) whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this
state;

(i) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual's
spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return is a resident student in accordance with
Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described
in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or the
individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the
individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return;

(v) the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2),
Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-102 owned
or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this
state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government publication,
other correspondence, or another similar item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state
on a state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state
on a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under this
chapter, filed with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or
license normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual or the
individual's spouse asserts to have domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other provisions of
this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have domicile in this state if the
individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the
individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days;
and
(i) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the individual
nor the individual's spouse:
(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;
(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return with respect to a dependent who is
enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state, unless the individual is an individual described
in Subsection (1)(b);
(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who are
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101
in this state;
(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary residence; or
(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse's tax
home for federal individual income tax purposes.

7
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(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to be
considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax return in
this state as a resident individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and
(ii) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to this state
if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this state for more than 30
days in a calendar year.

(d) An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual

income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed under

Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's belief
that the individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be
considered to have domicile in this state; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an
individual income tax return or amended individual income tax return under
Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-
401.

(ii) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2), (3),

and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual

income tax return or amended individual income tax return under this chapter:
(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in
full the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under Section 59-1-402,
and any applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a
penalty under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this
section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately
filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for the
taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an

individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed

under this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual has a

spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's spouse
claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the
residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the
individual's spouse may not be considered in determining domicile in this state.
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Utah provides for property tax assessment for all tangible property located within Utah, but it also
allows for a residential exemption on a property that is used as an individual’s primary residence at Utah
Code Sec. 59-2-103 as follows:

@ All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed
and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value,
as valued on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

2 Subject to Subsections (3) through (5) and Section 59-2-103.5, for a
calendar year, the fair market value of residential property located with the
state is allowed a residential exemption equal to a 45% reduction in the
value of the property.

In Utah Code 859-10-136, two subsections require the Commission to determine whether the
property for which an individual or an individual’s spouse claims a residential exemption is that
individual’s or individual spouse’s “primary residence.”® To assist in determining whether a property is
considered the “primary residence” of the individual or individual’s spouse who claimed the exemption,
the Legislature enacted new property tax provisions at the same time it enacted the new domicile law in
Section 59-10-136. Specifically, to assist in the determination of Utah income tax domicile of a property
owner, Utah Code §59-2-103.5(4) provides, as follows:*

(4) Except as provided in Subsection (5), if a property owner no longer qualifies to
receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the property
owner's primary residence, the property owner shall:
() file a written statement with the county board of equalization of the county in
which the property is located:
(i) onaform provided by the county board of equalization; and
(if) notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no longer
qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103
for the property owner's primary residence; and
(b) declare on the property owner's individual income tax return under Chapter 10,
Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which the property owner no
longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103
for the property owner's primary residence, that the property owner no longer
qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for the
property owner's primary residence.

13 See Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a) and (4)(a)(ii)(D). It is noted that the term “primary residence” is also found in
Subsection 59-10-136(6). However, Subsection 59-10-136(6) concerns the “primary residence” of a tenant, not the
“primary residence” of the individual or individual’s spouse who owns the property for which the residential
exemption was claimed. Accordingly, the guidance provided in Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) does not apply when
determining the “primary residence” of a tenant.

14 During the 2013 through 2016 tax years at issue, Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) was renumbered and amended. The
amendments to Subsection 59-2-103.5(4) during the tax years at issue were nonsubstantive. In SB 13 (2019), the
Utah Legislature also amended Section 59-2-103.5 effective for tax years beginning on or after DATE, 2018.
Again, however, the SB 13 amendments have no applicability to the 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016 tax years at issue in
this appeal.
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Utah Code 859-1-401(14) provides that “[u]pon making a record of its actions, and upon
reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or
interest imposed under this part.”

Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 (“Rule 42”) (2019) provides guidance concerning the waiver of

penalties and interest that is authorized under Section 59-1-401(14), as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are more
stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the taxpayer must prove that
the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that
contributed to the error.
(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:
(@) Timely Mailing...
(b) Wrong Filing Place...
(c) Death or Serious Illness...
(d) Unavoidable Absence...
(e) Disaster Relief...
(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...
(9) Tax Commission Office Visit...
(h) Unobtainable Records...
(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor: The taxpayer:
(i) furnishes all necessary and relevant information to a competent tax advisor,
and the tax advisor:
(A) incorrectly advises the taxpayer;
(B) fails to timely file a return on behalf of the taxpayer; or
(C) fails to make a payment on behalf of the taxpayer; and
(ii) demonstrates that the taxpayer exercised ordinary business care, prudence,
and diligence in determining whether to seek further advice.
() First Time Filer:
(i) It is the first return required to be filed and the taxes were filed and paid
within a reasonable time after the due date.
(if) The commission may also consider waiving penalties on the first return after
a filing period change if the return is filed and tax is paid within a reasonable
time after the due date.
(k) Bank Error...
(I) Compliance History:
(i) The commission will consider the taxpayer's recent history for payment,
filing, and delinquencies in determining whether a penalty may be waived.
(if) The commission will also consider whether other tax returns or reports are
overdue at the time the waiver is requested.
(m) Employee Embezzlement...
(n) Recent Tax Law Change...
(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.
(&) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining whether
reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable considerations include:
(i) whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes;
(ii) if the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;
(iii) the length of time between the event cited and the filing date;

10
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(iv) typographical or other written errors; and

(v) other factors the commission deems appropriate.
(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late filing or
payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to comply, may
justify a waiver of the penalty.
(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not
constitute reasonable cause for waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting circumstances
may indicate that reasonable cause for waiver exists.
(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable cause for
waiver under any circumstance.

Utah Code §59-1-1417 provides guidance concerning which party has the burden of proof and on
statutory construction, as follows in relevant part:

(1) Ina proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner . . .
(2) Regardless of whether a taxpayer has paid or remitted a tax, fee, or charge, the
commission or a court considering a case involving the tax, fee or charge shall:

(2) construe a statute imposing the tax, fee, or charge strictly in favor of the taxpayer, and
(b) construe a statute providing an exemption from or credit against the tax, fee, or charge
strictly against the taxpayer.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in the State
of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for the audit period from DATE, 2013 through

DATE, 2016. The Taxpayers concede that they had become Utah resident individuals by DATE, 2015,
but dispute they were Utah resident individuals prior to that date. For the purposes of Utah individual

income tax during the audit period, a “resident individual” was defined at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-
103(1)(q)(i) to be, “(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state . . . or (B) an individual who is not
domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of abode in this state; and (1) spends in the aggregate 183
or more days of the taxable year in this state.” It was the Division’s position, that the Taxpayers were
Utah “resident individuals” for the whole audit period under Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i)(A), because
they were domiciled in Utah during this period.

2. Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 specifically addresses what constitutes having “domicile” in
Utah.

3. For all of the tax years at issue in this appeal, the Taxpayers were married, not divorced
and not legally separated. They had filed federal individual income tax returns with the filing status of
married filing joint. They are spouses for purposes of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5).

4. The Taxpayers did not claim they met, nor did they meet the exception to domicile
provided at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(4). Under that subsection there is an exception if the

individual and the individual’s spouse have been absent from Utah for at least 761 consecutive days and

11
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if other factors have been met. They did not meet this requirement as one or both of the Taxpayers were
in Utah for more than the 30 days of the calendar year for each year at issue and their CITY-3, Utah
residence was receiving the primary residential property tax exemption.

5. There was no evidence submitted at the hearing that indicated the Taxpayers were
domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1). Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a)(i) provides that an
individual is domiciled in Utah if “a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual’s
spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual’s or individual’s spouse’s federal individual income
tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in
this state.” Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a)(ii) provides that an individual is domiciled in Utah if “the
individual or the individual’s spouse is a resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education . . .” From the evidence submitted, the Taxpayers’ children
did not attend a Utah public kindergarten, elementary or secondary school during the audit period and the
Taxpayers themselves were not enrolled in a Utah institution of higher education during that period.

6. However, the Taxpayers are presumed domiciled in Utah under one of the provisions of
Subsection 59-10-136(2). Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “There is a rebuttable presumption that an
individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or the individual's spouse
claims a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence; (b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote
in this state in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration . . . ; or (c) the individual or the
individual’s spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of filing an individual income tax return
(emphasis added). . . . ” If an individual or the individual’s spouse meets any one of these three
provisions, the individual is presumed domiciled in Utah. The Division argued that the Taxpayers were
domiciled in Utah for all of the audit period under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) because they owned a
residence in Utah that received the residential property tax exemption. There was no assertion from the
Division and no factual information that indicated the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under
Subsection 136(2)(b) or (c). However, it was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers were domiciled
in Utah under Subsection 136(2)(a) for the entire audit period.

7. Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) provides that there is a rebuttable presumption
that an individual is considered to have domicile in Utah if “the individual or the individual's spouse
claims a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence.” For this presumption to arise, two elements must exist. First, the
taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse must have claimed the residential exemption on their Utah home.

Second, the Utah home on which the taxpayer claimed the residential exemption must be considered the
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“primary residence” of one or both of the taxpayers in accordance with the guidance provided in
Subsection 59-2-103.5(4).

8. As to the first element, the Taxpayers are considered to have claimed the residential
exemption on their Utah home for the period at issue because they had filed an application requesting the
exemption and received the primary residential exemption for the audit period. Subsection 59-2-103(2)
generally provides that a Utah residential property will receive a %%%%% residential exemption, while
Subsection 59-2-103.5(1) provides that a county may, at its option, require a property owner to file an
application before the property receives the exemption. As a result, when the residential exemption was
created by the Utah Legislature, this enactment generally added a claim for the exemption to the bundle of
rights acquired with the purchase of residential property, unless the relevant county adds the second step
of requiring formal application in order to receive the benefit of the exemption. The claim persists until
the property is relinquished through the sale of the property or until the residential exemption is removed
from the property (either by action of the county or the property owner). Therefore, simply owning a
residential property in Utah generally asserts an enduring claim to the residential exemption. In this
matter, however, COUNTY-1 does require an application for the exemption and the Taxpayers admitted
that they had filed one requesting the exemption when they bought the property in 2013, so the Taxpayers
are considered to have claimed the exemption for their Utah residence.’®

9. For purposes of determining if the second element of whether the residence is the
individual’s or the individual’s spouse’s primary residence, when Section 59-10-136 and Subsection 59-
2-103.5(4) are read in concert, a Utah property on which an individual or an individual’s spouse claims
the residential exemption is considered their “primary residence” unless one or both of the property
owners take affirmative steps to: 1) file a written statement to notify the county in which the property is
located that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a
primary residence; and 2) declare on the property owner’s Utah individual income tax return for the
taxable year that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive the residential exemption allowed for a
primary residence. The Taxpayers did not take either of these steps. Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a),
both Taxpayers are presumed domiciled in Utah for the entire audit period.

10. The Subsection 59-10-136(2) factors are rebuttable presumptions. Because Subsection
59-10-136(2) involves rebuttable presumptions, the Legislature clearly intended not only for there to be
circumstances where an individual whose actions give rise to this presumption is considered to have
domicile in Utah, but also for there to be circumstances where an individual whose actions give rise to

this presumption is not considered to have domicile in Utah. However, the Legislature has not provided

15 In a county that requires an application, receiving the residential exemption without filing an application does
not constitute a claim to the exemption.
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in statute what circumstances will be or will not be sufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
presumption. As a result, it is left to the Commission, consistent with the structure and language of
Section 59-10-136, to delineate between those circumstances that are sufficient and not sufficient to rebut
the presumption.

11. The Commission has considered what rebuts the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption
of domicile in numerous decisions and there was no information presented by the Taxpayers in this matter
that supported rebuttal of this presumption. The Taxpayers had filed an application with COUNTY-1
representing to the County that they were qualified for this exemption. The Taxpayers were maintaining
the property for their own personal use and stayed at the property on a number of occasions from DATE,
2013 through DATE, 2015 and by DATE, 2015, they were living in the property permanently. One factor
the Commission has found to rebut the Subsection 136(2)(a) presumption was where an individual whose
home was receiving the residential exemption disclosed on their Utah income tax return that the home no
longer qualified for the exemption (even if the individual did not contact the county directly).'® The
Taxpayers did not take this step. In addition, the Commission has previously found that the Subsection
59-10-136(2)(a) presumption can be rebutted if an individual has asked a county to remove the residential
exemption, and the county failed to implement the individual’s request.}” The Taxpayers’ Utah residence
was located in a County that requires an application to receive this exemption. The Taxpayers had, in
fact, applied for the exemption with the County and had not notified the County to remove the exemption.
Other factors the Tax Commission has found to rebut this presumption were that it was rebutted for the
period that a home was listed for sale, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one was residing in the
home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for sale)!® and that it could be rebutted for that
period that a home was listed for rent, but only if the home was vacant (i.e., if no one was residing in the
home even on an occasional basis while it was listed for rent) and if the home would continue to qualify
for the residential exemption by being rented to tenants who would use the home as the tenants’ primary
residence (i.e., not being rented to tenants who would not use the home as their primary residence, such as

a short-term rental).’® The Taxpayers have not demonstrated any of these type of factors to rebut the

16 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-812 (3/13/2018). These and other prior
Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decision.
17 See also Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 19-1218 (7/10/2020) in which that taxpayer had indicated on the
application that the property would only be the taxpayer’s primary residence for a period of two years and the
County granted the exemption based on the application and never removed the exemption after the two year period
had expired.

18 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-1332 (6/27/2016). In another decision,
the Commission found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption would be rebutted for that period that a
home was under its initial construction (not a remodel) and until it received a certificate of occupancy, if the home
would be used as a primary residence upon its completion. See Appeal No. 15-1582.

19 See Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 17-758 (1/26/2018).
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Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption. As the Commission has noted in previous decisions, the
Commission may recognize additional grounds for rebuttal in future cases.

12. As a rebuttal for the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption of domicile, the Taxpayers
did argue at the hearing that they were willing to go back and pay COUNTY-1 the difference between the
reduced property tax they had received due to claiming the primary residential property tax exemption
and the tax that would have been charged had they not claimed that exemption. It was the Taxpayers’
position that this would be the more fair solution as it was the County whose taxes were reduced by the
Taxpayers’ action and not the State. However, the Commission has previously found that retroactively
removing the primary residential exemption and paying the difference in property tax is insufficient to
rebut the presumption of domicile.?

13. The Commission has also previously found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption is not rebutted because an individual had never heard of the residential exemption or did not
know that they were receiving the residential exemption.? Many individuals have argued ignorance of
the law as a basis to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption and the Tax Commission has
concluded that ignorance of the law is not a sufficient basis to rebut the presumptions or abate the audit
deficiency. See Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision,
Appeal No. 14-30 (9/2/2015); Initial Hearing Orders, Appeal No. 15-1154 (2/1/16); Appeal No. 16-
117(1/18/17); Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/2017); Appeal No. 17-237 (9/18/17); Appeal No. 17-609
(1/26/2018); and Appeal No. 18-88 (3/22/2019).

14. If an individual is not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection (1), (2)(a),
(2)(b), or (2)(c), he or she may still be considered to be domiciled in Utah based on a preponderance of
the evidence relating to 12 specific facts and circumstances listed in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b).
Subsection 59-10-136(3), however, is applicable only if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met. Because the Commission has already found that the Taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in
Utah for all of the audit period under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), Subsection 59-10-136(3) has no
applicability to this case.

15. The Taxpayers point out at the hearing that they had been living in STATE-1 and had
established ties to STATE-1 including maintaining a permanent residence, voter registration, driver
licenses and their child’s attendance at secondary school. They testified that when they purchased their
residence in Utah on DATE, 2013, they intended it to be a vacation home. They continued to spend most
of their time in STATE-1 until DATE, 2015 and TAXPAYER-1’s full time employment was in STATE-

1. Although these are traditional common law factors for determining domicile, the Utah Legislature

20 See Appeal Nos. 15-1582 and 17-1787.
21 See, e.g., Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-1582.
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abandoned the traditional notions of domicile when the Legislature adopted Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136
effective beginning in tax year 2012. Instead of the traditional domicile notions, the Legislature set out a
very specific hierarchy of factors to consider, clearly giving more weight to certain factors. In Appeal No.
17-1624, Conclusions of Law No. 18, the Commission explained:

Prior to Section 59-10-136 becoming effective for tax year 2012, the three factors that the
Utah Legislature described and set forth as rebuttable presumptions in Subsection 59-10-
136(2) (as well as the two education factors described in Subsection 59-10-136(1)) had
been among the numerous and non-exhaustive list of factors that the Commission had
used to determine income tax domicile for years prior to 2012 (as set forth in Rule 2
[R865-91-2]and/or Rule 52[R884-24P-52]). In Section 59-10-136, however, the Utah
Legislature established a hierarchy of specific factors described in Subsections 59-10-
136(1) and (2) to establish income tax domicile, with the education factors creating an
absolute indication of domicile and the three Subsection 59-10-136(2) factors creating
rebuttable presumptions of domicile. Thus, each of the factors described in Subsections
59-10-136(1) and (2) were given greater import than they had received in establishing
income tax domicile for years prior to 2012 (when each of these factors was merely one
of the many factors with which domicile was determined).?

16. The Taxpayers primarily seemed to be arguing at the hearing that the Utah domicile law
was unfair, that it would be fairer to allow them to go back to the County and pay the property tax
difference that would have resulted from them not claiming their CITY-3 residence as their primary
residence. They also argue Section 59-10-136 as written for the tax years at issue results in bad tax policy
in their situation. While the Commission is tasked with the duty of implementing laws enacted by the
Utah Legislature, the Commission is not authorized to amend these laws to achieve what the Taxpayers

may consider to be a better tax policy.? That is the role of the Legislature.?*

22 Almost all of the factors that were given greater import in Subsections 59-10-136(1) and (2) are based on an
individual or individual’s spouse availing themselves of certain benefits of being a resident of Utah, such as having
their dependent attend a Utah public school, being enrolled as a resident student at a Utah institution of higher
education, receiving a property tax benefit in the form of a residential exemption, or being able to register to vote in
Utah.

23 Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 was adopted effective beginning with tax year 2012 and has been applied uniformly
since that time and for the tax years at issue in this appeal. There are now currently appeals of Tax Commission
decisions in other cases involving Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 pending before the courts that may possibly provide
guidance on the interpretation of Utah’s domicile law. However, no decisions have been issued by the courts on
these appeals at this time.

24 The Legislature has made some amendments to Section 59-10-136. For example, the 2019 Legislature amended
Section 59-10-136 in SB 13. Among the SB 13 changes, the Legislature amended the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
rebuttable presumption by changing the event that would trigger this presumption from being registered to vote in
Utah to actual voting in Utah during the tax year. The Legislature, however, elected for the SB 13 amendments to
take effect beginning with tax year 2018, purposefully electing not to apply the amendments to tax years prior to
2018 (including the tax years at issue in this appeal). While the Commission is tasked with the implementation of
Section 59-10-136 and SB 13 changes to this statute, the Commission is not authorized to change the effective date
of the bill and apply the SB 13 amendments to the tax years at issue in this appeal.
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17. As the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of DATE, 2013 through DATE,
2016, they were both Utah resident individuals. Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, a “resident individual”
in the State of Utah is subject to Utah individual income tax on all taxable income regardless of where it
was earned, subject to a credit for the individual income taxes imposed by another state. In this case,
STATE-1 has no state individual income tax so there was no credit available on the income the Taxpayers
earned in STATE-1.

18. Penalties for failure to timely file a tax return and for failure to timely pay the tax when
due, along with the interest that has accrued on the balance were assessed in the audit pursuant to Utah
Code Sections 59-1-401 & 59-1-402. Utah Code Subsection 59-1-401(14) does provide that the
Commission may waive, reduce or compromise penalties and interest upon a showing of reasonable
cause. Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 sets out what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of penalties,
and separately what constitutes reasonable cause for waiver of interest. The Tax Commission has
generally waived penalties where the issue is domicile based on the complicated and fact-specific nature
of the law and equitable provisions for waiver set out at Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(4). For these
reasons, the Tax Commission finds there is reasonable cause to waive all of the audit penalties for the
period from DATE, 2013 to DATE, 2016.

19. Under Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2), reasonable cause for waiver of interest is
limited to instances where the taxpayer can prove “that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” The Taxpayers have not asserted a
basis for waiver of interest.

After review of the evidence submitted by the parties at the hearing and the applicable law, the
Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for all of the audit period from DATE, 2013 through DATE, 2016 and
the audit tax and interest should be sustained for the audit period. There is reasonable cause, however, for

waiver of all of the audit penalties.

(s A

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission finds that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah
for all of the audit period from DATE, 2013 through DATE, 2016. The Commission sustains the

Division’s audit deficiency as to the tax and interest for the audit period. The Tax Commission finds that

there is reasonable cause for waiver of all the penalties for the entire audit period. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2020.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights and Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must
be paid within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be assessed.
You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Tax
Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 863G-4-302. A Request for Reconsideration
must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do not file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30)
days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§59-1-601 et seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq.
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