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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on DATE, 2019, in
accordance with Utah Code Ann. 859-1-501 and §63G-4-201 et seq. Based upon the evidence and testimony

presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its:
FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) are appealing audit deficiencies issued by Respondent
(“Division”) of Utah individual income tax and interest for the tax years 2012 through 2016. The Division
issued Notices of Deficiency and Audit Change on DATE, 2018 for each tax year at issue.> The Taxpayers
timely appealed the notices under Utah Code 859-1-501 and the matter eventually proceeded to this Formal

Hearing.

1 Respondent’s Exhibit 1.
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2. Interest was assessed for all audit years pursuant to Utah Code §59-1-402. Interest

continues to accrue until the balance is paid in full. No penalties were assessed with the audits.

3. The amount of tax and the accrued interest as listed on the Notices of Deficiency were as
follows:
Year Tax Penalties Interest Total®
2012 $3$$5$ $$ $$$5 $$$55S
2013 $33$$$$ $3$ $$333$ $3$33$$
2014 $$55$S $3$ $$33$ $$33$$
2015 $3$$$$$ $$ $$$55S $$$$55S
2016 $3$$$$$ $$ $$$5$ $$$$55S
4. The Division issued the audits on the basis that both Taxpayers were Utah resident

individuals for income tax purposes from 2012 through 2016. The Taxpayers claim that they were not Utah
resident individuals for income tax purposes, and that they were living in COUNTRY 1 and COUNTRY 2
for all of the years at issue.

5. The Taxpayers had filed married filing joint federal returns for each of the tax years at issue
in the subject appeal. The Taxpayers also had filed Utah non-resident individual income tax returns for each
year with the status of married filing joint. On those returns, they claimed some Utah source income and
losses, but did not claim their other income which they felt was not Utah source income.?

6. During the years 2012 through 2016, the Taxpayers were married and not legally
separated.* They had no minor children, as their children were adults at this time. The Taxpayers claimed
no dependents on their Utah non-resident returns.®> The Taxpayers themselves were not enrolled in a public
university in Utah during the audit years.®

7. The Taxpayers testified at the hearing that TAXPAYER 1 had worked for UNIVERSITY-
1in CITY-1, Utah for many years and they had purchased a family home in CITY-1 in the 1970s or 1980s
and that is where they raised their children. TAXPAYER 1 retired from UNIVERSITY-1 in 2004. At that
time he was offered an overseas project on behalf of UNIVERSITY-1 and UNIVERSITY-2 IN
COUNTRY-2. TAXPAYER 1 AND TAXPAYER 2 moved to COUNTRY-1 in 2004 and then at some
point during the audit years they moved to COUNTRY -2 until they returned to Utah in 2017. They testified
that during these years they lived full time in COUNTRY-1 and COUNTRY-2. They would return to Utah
each year, but would be in Utah for less than one month per year with the exception of 2014. In 2014 they

2 Total as of the date listed on the Notices of Deficiency. Interest continues to accrue on any unpaid balance.

3 Respondent’s Exhibit 3.

4 It was not disputed that the Taxpayers were spouses for purposes of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5).

5 Copies of Federal Tax returns were not provided as exhibits at this hearing.

6 The Division is not arguing the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(1).
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were in Utah for three months because of a medical surgery and treatment TAXPAYER 1 received in Utah.
The Division did not contest that the Taxpayers spent most of their time each audit year overseas.

8. During all of the audit years the Taxpayers continued to own the residence that they had
purchased in CITY-1, which was located at CITY-1, Utah. During all audit years 2012 through 2016 they
were receiving from COUNTY-1 the primary residential property tax exemption on this residence.” During
all of the audit years nobody lived in this residence. The Taxpayers testified at the hearing that they were
too busy to move out their belongings and furniture to get it ready for sale during the audit years. They did
not lease this residence to tenants. The Taxpayers eventually listed this residence for sale in 2018 and it
sold shortly after the listing.

9. At some point in time, TAXPAYER 2 was working in CITY-2 and they bought a condo
located at CITY-2 Utah. Although at the hearing the Taxpayers’ testimony as to the dates when they had
purchased their various residences was a little confused, in the written response to the Division’s Domicile
Survey they stated that they owned this condo since 1973.2 They continued to own this condominium
during all of the audit years. They did not lease this condo to tenants during any of the audit years. They
testified that during the audit years they did stay in this condo when they returned to Utah during the audit
years, the Taxpayers received from COUNTY-2 the primary residential property tax exemption on this
property.®

10. The Taxpayers testified that at some point, because the CITY-2 condo was too small for
family life or family events, the Taxpayers also purchased a residence at CITY-3, Utah. They purchased
this residence in 1987.1° They owned this property for all of the audit years and received the primary
residential exemption on this property for all of the audit years. They did not lease this property to tenants
so there was no one living in this property for all of the audit years. Because they were receiving the primary
residential property tax exemption from COUNTY-2, they saved more than $$$$ in property tax each year
for just this property alone.!

11. The Taxpayers also owned another condominium in Utah during the audit years at CITY-
2, HOME-2. They testified at the hearing that they did lease this property to tenants during the audit years.
The Division did not dispute this fact at the hearing. This property also received the primary residential
exemption for each of the audit years from COUNTY 1.%2

7 Respondent’s Exhibit 2, pgs. AUD000026-30.

8 Respondent’s Exhibit 7, pg. AUD000092.

9 Respondent’s Exhibit 2, pgs. AUD000022, AUD000096-100.

10 Respondent’s Exhibit 7, pg. AUD000092.

11 Respondent’s Exhibit 2, pgs. AUD000031-49. The primary residential exemption reduces the property tax
amount by 45% on a household’s primary residence. See Utah Code Subsection 59-2-103(2).

12 Respondent’s Exhibit 2, pgs. AUD000101-105.
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12. The Taxpayers testified at the hearing that they were unaware they were receiving primary
residential exemptions for any of their Utah properties. It was their argument that they had never applied
for these exemptions, did not know they were receiving these exemptions and would not have known what
they were for. These properties were located in three different counties. They also were unaware that they
would be entitled to the primary residential exemption for only one of their properties in Utah and should
not have been receiving a second and third residential exemption, unless that residence was leased to a
tenant and was the tenant’s primary residence. The Taxpayers did not assert that they had informed any of
the counties they no longer qualified for this property tax exemption on any of their residential properties
in Utah.

13. The Taxpayers had filed Utah Individual Income Tax Forms TC-40 as non-residents for
each tax year at issue. However, they never checked the box on page 3 of Utah Form TC-40, which is
located under the subsection on Part 7 “Property Owner’s Residential Exemption Termination” to indicate
that they no longer qualified for the primary residential exemption for any of their residences in Utah.

14. The Taxpayers were registered to vote in Utah and testified that they intended to remain
registered to vote in Utah so they could vote while TAXPAYER 1 was working overseas. However, their
voter history does indicate that they did not actually vote during the audit years.!® The Taxpayers did not
assert that they had tried to cancel their Utah voter registration or that they had registered to vote in a
different jurisdiction.

15. The Taxpayers testified that they always intended to return to Utah when TAXPAYER 1
finished working overseas, so they kept their Utah residences. They had Utah Driver Licenses which they
maintained throughout the audit period.** They did leave a vehicle in Utah to drive when they returned for
their visits and they registered this vehicle in Utah.®®

16. In 2017, TAXPAYER 1, who was now in his early 80s, decided because of health reasons
it was time to retire from his employment. TAXPAYER 1 AND TAXPAYER 2 returned to Utah.

17. Based on the facts in this matter, the Taxpayers were presumed domiciled in Utah for all
of the audit years under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) because they were receiving the primary
residential property tax exemption on properties they owned in three different counties in Utah. The
Taxpayers may also have been domiciled in Utah under other provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136,
including Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because they were registered to vote in Utah.

18. The Taxpayers did not present evidence that would rebut the presumptions under Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-136(2). They did not provide evidence that they had contacted any of the three

13 Respondent’s Exhibit 4.
14 Respondent’s Exhibit 5.
15 Respondent’s Exhibit 6.
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counties in which their residential properties were located to inform that County that they were not using
that property as their primary residence. They did not present evidence that they had requested their Utah
voter registration be canceled or that they had registered to vote in another state or country. In fact, it was
their testimony that they intended to be registered to vote in Utah.
APPLICABLE LAW
Utah imposes income tax on individuals who are residents of the state, in Utah Code Subsection
59-10-104(1) as follows:

... .atax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as provided in
this section . . ..

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows:

(9)(i) "Resident individual" means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the taxable
year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is domiciled in this
state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of abode in
this state; and (I1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding what constituted domicile in
the State of Utah. This was a substantial change in law and one that governs all tax years at issue in this
appeal. Utah Code 859-10-136 provides as follows:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom
the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the
individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is
enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:
(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and
(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or
public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in

Subsection (1)(b)(i).
(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in
this state if:
() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's
spouse's primary residence;
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(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in
accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, VVoter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes
of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that
the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the
portion of the taxable year for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a
resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to which

the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or the

individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary purpose, but
with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this
state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or
individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a resident
student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an
institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or
the individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom
the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on
the individual's or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax
return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government
publication, other correspondence, or another similar item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this
state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this
state on a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under
this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or
license normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual
or the individual's spouse asserts to have domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

6
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(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the
individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive
days; and

(ii) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the individual
nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse’s primary
residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse's tax
home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to
be considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax
return in this state as a resident individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(ii) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed
under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's
belief that the individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to
not be considered to have domicile in this state; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files

an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax

return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty

imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2),
(3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an
individual income tax return or amended individual income tax return
under this chapter:
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(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income
tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays
in full the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under
Section 59-1-402, and any applicable penalty imposed under
Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under Subsection 59-1-401(2),
(3), or (5).
(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.
(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:
(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or
(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately
filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for
the taxable year.

(c)  Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an
individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed
under this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual has
a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's

spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah provides for property tax assessment for all tangible property located within Utah, but it also
allows for a 45% exemption on a property that is used as an individual’s primary residence at Utah Code
Sec. 59-2-103 as follows:

(1) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed
and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as
valued on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

(2) Subject to Subsections (3) through (5) and Section 59-2-103.5, for a
calendar year, the fair market value of residential property located with the
state is allowed a residential exemption equal to a 45% reduction in the value
of the property.

(5) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), a residential exemption
described in Subsection (2) is limited to one primary residence per
household.

For purposes of the 45% property tax exemption, “Residential Property” is defined at Utah Code
Sec. 59-2-102(36)(a) (2016) as follows:


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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Subject to Subsection 36(b), “residential property,” for purposes of the
reductions and adjustments under this chapter, means any property used for
residential purposes as a primary residence.

For the purposes of Utah Code Secs. 59-2-102 and 59-2-103, Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-52
(2016) defines “primary residence” and provides as follows:

(2) “Primary residence” means the location where domicile has been
established.

(3) Except as provided in Subsections (4) and (6)(c) and (f), the residential
exemption provided under Section 59-2-103 is limited to one primary
residence per household.

If a property owner no longer qualifies for the primary residential exemption on their residential
property they are required to notify the county in which the property is located pursuant to Utah Code Sec.
59-2-103.5(4) (2016) as follows:

(4)Except as provided in Subsection (5), if a property owner no longer
qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section 59-2-
103 for that property owner’s primary residence, the property owner shall:

(a)file a written statement with the county board of equalization of the
county in which the property is located:

(i) on a form provided by the county board of equalization; and
(ii)notifying the county board of equalization that the property owner no
longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption authorized under Section
59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary residence; and

(b)declare on the property owner’s individual income tax return under
Chapter 10, Individual Income Tax Act, for the taxable year for which the
property owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential exemption
authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s primary
residence, that the property owner no longer qualifies to receive a residential
exemption authorized under Section 59-2-103 for that property owner’s
primary residence.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of
proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah Code Ann.
859-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the
commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide additional guidance

on the waiver of interest as follows in pertinent part:

(2 Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving
interest are more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of
interest, the taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer
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erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the
error.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The issue in this appeal is whether the Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in the State
of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104, for tax years 2012 through 2016. For Utah individual
income tax purposes a “resident individual” is defined at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) to be:
“(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state . . . or (B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state
but: (1) maintains a place of abode in this state; and (I1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the
taxable year in this state.” The Taxpayers were Utah “resident individuals” under Subsection 59-10-
103(1)(g)(i)(A) because they were domiciled in Utah during the audit period.

2. In 2012 “domicile” was substantially revised by statute at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136.
Under the express provisions of Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) there is a presumption that an
individual is domiciled in Utah if: “the individual or the individual’s spouse claims a residential exemption
in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, . . .” The Taxpayers received primary residential
exemptions on four different Utah residential properties in three different counties for each tax year in the
audit period. They are presumed domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).

3. The Taxpayers testified they were unaware that they had been receiving the primary
residential exemption on all of their Utah properties. They testified they did not know that there was an
exemption, had not requested the exemption and would not have known what it was for. Additionally, they
apparently were unaware that even if they were domiciled in Utah, they still would have only been entitled
to receive this exemption for one property. The Taxpayers argued that their circumstances were unique.
However, the issue has been presented to the Tax Commission in numerous appeals where a taxpayer was
claiming they were no longer domiciled in Utah, still had a residence in Utah on which they were receiving
the primary residential property tax exemption under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-103 and they were arguing
ignorance of the law regarding the exemption. Based on Utah law, individuals are only entitled to receive
the primary residential property tax exemption if that residence is where their domicile has been established.
See Utah Code Secs. 59-2-102, 59-2-103 and Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-52(2). Many individuals have
argued in appeals before the Utah State Tax Commission ignorance of the law in regards to receiving the
primary residential exemption on their Utah property as basis for rebutting the presumption set out at Utah
Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). However, the Tax Commission has concluded that ignorance of receipt

of this exemption, or the effect this exemption had on the income tax provisions is not a sufficient basis to
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rebut the presumption set out at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).* Regarding what factors would
rebut this presumption the Commission concluded in Utah State Tax Commission, Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (September 21, 2015), pg. 9:

It follows that to rebut the presumption set out at Subsection 136(2)(a) a taxpayer would
have to show something other than a preponderance of the domicile factors, for example
that the taxpayer had taken the proper steps to notify the County that they no longer
qualified for the exemption and the County then in error continued to leave the property
in that status, or that there was a tenant in the property and the tenant used it as his or her
primary residence, which would allow the property to qualify based on the tenant’s use.

4. Furthermore, under Utah law, if an individual no longer qualifies for the property tax
primary residential exemption, the individual has the affirmative requirement to notify the county that they
no longer qualify pursuant to Utah Code Subsection 59-2-103.5(5). Beginning in 2012, the Utah Individual
Income Tax TC-40 Forms and Instructions contained an instruction that if the taxpayer no longer qualified
for the primary residential exemption the taxpayer was required to notify the county in which the property
is located. Additionally, beginning in 2012, the Utah Individual Income Tax Return Form TC-40, Part 7,
contained the requirement that a taxpayer must check a box on the taxpayer’s individual income tax return
if the taxpayer no longer qualified for a residential property exemption. The Taxpayers failed to take these
affirmative actions. Thus one of the Taxpayers’ Utah homes would be considered the Taxpayers’ primary
residence entitled to receive a primary residential exemption and the Subsection (2)(a) presumption arises.
The Taxpayers have not provided a basis to rebut the presumption caused by having the primary residential
exemption on three of their Utah properties for tax years 2012 through 2016.

5. The one factor in this case that is unique, is that the Taxpayers were receiving the primary
residential exemption on more than one Utah residential property without having all of the properties leased
to tenants, which conflicts with Utah law regarding the exemption. For taxpayers who are domiciled in
Utah, they are generally only eligible to receive one primary residential exemption per household and that
would be the household where they have established domicile. See Utah Code Sec. 59-2-103 and Utah
Admin. Rule R884-24P-52. If an individual is not domiciled in Utah, they are generally not entitled to a
primary residential exemption on any residential property in this state, unless the property is leased to
tenants and is the primary residence of the tenants. The primary residential exemption is a substantial

property tax reduction, reducing the property tax otherwise owed by 45%." The Taxpayers owned three

16 See Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (9/2/2015); Initial Hearing
Orders, Appeal No. 15-1154 (2/1/16); Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17); Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/2017); and Appeal No.
17-237 (9/18/17). Many Tax Commission decisions are published in a redacted format and available for review at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.

17 Estimating from the property tax information the Division provided, the reduction the Taxpayers had received in
property tax on the three properties they owned in Utah that sat vacant during the audit years exceeds the audit
assessments of individual income taxes for each tax year at issue in this appeal.
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residential properties in Utah that were not leased to tenants. If they were not domiciled in Utah and instead
were domiciled overseas as they have claimed, based on the statutory provisions they should have contacted
the counties to let them know they did not qualify for the residential exemption on any of these three
residential properties. Even if a property owner is domiciled in Utah, they do not qualify for this exemption
on their second, third or additional residence in this state, unless the residence is leased to a tenant as is the
primary residence of the tenant. The fact that the Taxpayers were unaware of these laws does not excuse
their noncompliance with them and is certainly not basis to rebut the presumption under Utah Code
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).

6. As the Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for tax years 2012 through 2016 under the
presumption at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), further consideration is not needed as to whether
they were domiciled in Utah due to the presumption at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) regarding
Utah voter registration. A taxpayer is domiciled in Utah if any one of the rebuttable presumptions at
Subsection 59-10-136(2) have been met and not rebutted.

7. The Division did not assess any penalties against the Taxpayers and from their testimony
in this matter it did appear that they were sincerely trying to comply with the laws as far as they understood
them and they did not know they were violating any statutory provisions. For this reason, the Tax
Commission agrees with the Division’s decision not to impose any audit penalties. Utah Code Subsection
59-1-401(14) does provide that the Commission may waive, reduce or compromise interest upon a showing
of reasonable cause. However, under Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2), reasonable cause for waiver of
interest is limited to instances where the taxpayer can prove “that the commission gave the taxpayer
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” The Taxpayers have not
asserted a basis for waiver of interest.

After review of the evidence submitted by the parties at the hearing and the applicable law, the
Taxpayers were domiciled in STATE-1 for all tax years at issue and the tax and interest accrued thereon

should be sustained.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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Appeal No. 18-209

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that the Taxpayers were domiciled in STATE-1 for

all of tax years 2012 through 2016 and sustains the Utah individual income tax audit deficiency as to the

tax and interest for each year at issue. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2019.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Rebecca L. Rockwell Lawrence C. Walters
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights and Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must
be paid within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be assessed.
You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Tax
Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 863G-4-302. A Request for Reconsideration must
allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do not file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30) days
after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-
1-601 et seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq.
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