17-780

TAX TYPE: INCOME TAX

TAX YEAR: 2013

DATE SIGNED: 02/21/2018

COMMISSIONERS: J. VALENTINE, M. CRAGUN, R. PERO, R. ROCKWELL
GUIDING DECISION

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE-1 TAX COMMISSION

TAXPAYERS,
INITIAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioners,
Appeal No. 17-780
V.
Account No. ###H#
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE UTAH Tax Type:  Income Tax
STATE-1 TAX COMMISSION, Tax Year: 2013
Respondent. Judge: Phan
Presiding:
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge
Appearances:
For Petitioner: TAXPAYER-1

TAXPAYER-2
For Respondent:  RESPONDENT, Manager, Income Tax Auditing

STATE-IMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah STATE-1 Tax Commission on December 5, 2017 for

an Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-502.5. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”)
originally filed an appeal contesting Utah audit deficiencies for tax years 2013 and 2014.
However, prior to the Initial Hearing, Respondent (“Division”) withdrew its audit for tax year
2014 so that year is no longer at issue in this appeal. The issue before the Commission at the
Initial Hearing was the audit deficiency for tax year 2013. The Taxpayers had filed a part-year
Utah resident return for tax year 2013. The Division issued the audit for 2013 on the basis that
the Taxpayers were both Utah resident individuals for all of 2013. The Notice of Deficiency had
been issued by the Division on April 3, 2017. No penalties were assessed with the audit. The
audit deficiency and interest calculated to the date the notice was issued is as follows:

Year Tax Interest Penalties Audit Total Due?

1 This is the total balance as of the date the Audit Notice was issued. Interest continues to accrue on the
unpaid balance until paid in full.



Appeal No. 17-780

2013 35588 $558$ $0 $558$

APPLICABLE LAW
Under Utah Code 859-10-104(1), tax is imposed on the STATE-1 taxable income of a
resident individual. “Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(q), as
follows:

(i) “resident individual” means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this STATE-1 for any period of time
during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during
which the individual is domiciled in this STATE-1; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this STATE-1 but:

() maintains a place of abode in this STATE-1; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this
STATE-1.

Effective beginning with tax year 2012 the Utah Legislature adopted a law specifying the
factors considered for the determination of domicile. This law replaced the prior Tax
Commission rule defining domicile and was a significant change in this area. The new law is
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-136 and is as set forth below in its entirety:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this STATE-1 if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this STATE-
1;or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this STATE-

1.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this STATE-1 may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this STATE-1; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this STATE-1 if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in

accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;
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(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this
STATE-1 in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration;
or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this STATE-

1 for purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this

chapter, including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse

is a part-year resident of this STATE-1 for the portion of the taxable year

for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this

STATE-1.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this STATE-1, the
individual

is considered to have domicile in this STATE-1 if:

0] the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this
STATE-1 to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return
after being absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's

or the individual's spouse's habitation in this STATE-1, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
STATE-1 under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this STATE-1;

(it)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this STATE-1,;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this STATE-1 as
compared to another STATE-1,;

(iv) the presence in this STATE-1 of a spouse or dependent with
respect to whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a
personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s
federal individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the STATE-1 of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-

12-102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's
Spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this STATE-1;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this STATE-1 on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;
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(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this STATE-1 on a STATE-1 or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this STATE-1 on a document, other than an individual income
tax return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court
or other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the STATE-1
for which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this STATE-1 if the individual meets the following

qualifications:

(i)  except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the STATE-1 for at least
761 consecutive days; and

(if)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this STATE-1 for more than 30 days in a calendar
year;
(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this STATE-

unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1(b);
(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-
102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this STATE-1;
(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or
(E) assert that this STATE-1 is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this STATE-1 may elect to be considered to have domicile in this
STATE-1 by filing an individual income tax return in this STATE-1 as a
resident individual.
(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the STATE-1.:
(i) begins on the later of the date:
(A) the individual leaves this STATE-1; or
(B) the individual's spouse leaves this STATE-1; and
(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this STATE-1 if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in
this
STATE-1 for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

4
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(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
STATE-1; and

(if) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this STATE-1.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this STATE-1; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this STATE-1 in

accordance

with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile

in this STATE-1.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this STATE-1.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the

burden of proof is on the petitioner...”


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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DISCUSSION

In its audit, the Division is applying the domicile law at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 that
became effective in Utah beginning with tax year 2012 and substantially changed the prior
provisions in the law. The Taxpayers had filed a joint federal return in 2013 and filed a part-year
Utah resident return. On their 2013 Utah return, they claimed as Utah source income $$$$$
which was TAXPAYER-2’s wage income and paid tax on this amount. The Taxpayers excluded
from their Utah return the amount of $$$$$, which was TAXPAYER-1’s income earned from his
employment out of STATE-1.

In this case, it was not disputed that TAXPAYER-1 moved from the residence the
Taxpayers owned jointly in Utah in 2012 and rented an apartment in STATE-1. TAXPAYER-1
traveled for work extensively and his clients were primarily in STATE-1 and STATE-2. He had
a STATE-2 Driver License at this time and his vehicle was registered in STATE-2. He had never
registered to vote in Utah. When he moved to STATE-1, he stayed at an apartment he had rented
there in 2012. In fact based on the lease agreement, which he provided, it appears that
TAXPAYER-1 had been leasing this STATE-1 residence since 2009. TAXPAYER-1 has resided
in STATE-1 since 2012. TAXPAYER-1 provided canceled checks showing lease and utility
payments made in STATE-1 and bank statements and other documents mailed to the STATE-1
address. He also provided documentation of car repairs made to his vehicle in STATE-1 and
extensive flight information showing that he flew in and out of the CITY, STATE-1 airport; trips
that he indicated were for his work. These factors were all undisputed by the Division.

TAXPAYER-2, however, remained in Utah through the end of 2013. She worked part
time in Utah and resided at the couple’s Utah residence much of the time. At the hearing,
TAXPAYER-2 represented that she spent some of her time in STATE-1, although she stated she
did not stay at the apartment with TAXPAYER-1, but instead had a different apartment. The
Taxpayers were not, however, legally separated. The Taxpayers received the primary residential
exemption on their Utah residence for tax year 2013. The Taxpayers did not have minor children
during this time and neither were attending a Utah institution of higher education. TAXPAYER-
2 states that she never registered to vote in Utah and this factor was not disputed by the Division.

In September 2013, TAXPAYER-2 quit her Utah employment. The Taxpayers provided
a copy of their listing agreement that showed they listed their Utah residence for sale in March
2014 and the residence sold in May 2014 for $$$$$. TAXPAYER-2 stated that she obtained a
STATE-1 Driver License in May 2014 and they purchased a residence in STATE-1 in December
2014.
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At the hearing, the Division did not dispute any of these facts. The only documentary
evidence the Division provided at the hearing was the 2013 Utah County Tax Notice that showed
the Taxpayers had received the primary residential exemption on their residence at ADDRESS,
Utah.

It was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of
2013 based on Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) which provides “there is a rebuttable
presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile” in Utah if “the individual or the
individual’s spouse claims a residential exemption” for property tax purposes “for that individual
or individual’s spouse’s primary residence.” Under Utah Code Subsection 59-2-103.5(4)
individuals are required to notify the County in which their residence is located if they no longer
qualify for this exemption as well as declare this on their Utah individual income tax return. The
Taxpayers did not take either of these steps and did not provide evidence at the hearing that
would rebut the presumption of being a Utah domiciliary under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) for
all of tax year 2013. This did appear to be TAXPAYER-2’s primary residence in 2013 and the
law is clear that it applies even to a spouse of an individual, although in this case TAXPAYER-1
is a joint owner of this residence. The Commission has considered this provision in prior cases
and has concluded that ignorance of the law is not a factor that would rebut the presumption.?
Furthermore, the Taxpayers have the burden of proof under Utah Code Sec. 59-1-1417. The Tax
Commission must apply Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 as written and, therefore, the audit as to the

tax and interest deficiency should be upheld for tax year 2013.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission sustains the Utah individual income tax

audit issued against the Taxpayers as to the tax and interest accrued thereon for tax year 2013. It
is so ordered.
This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this

2 See Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No.
14-30 (9/2/2015); Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 16-117 (1/18/17); Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No.
16-792 (8/16/17); and Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-720 (5/6/16). These and other Tax
Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-
office/decisions.
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case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah STATE-1 Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2018.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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