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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on November 14, 2017.

TAXPAYERS (“Petitioners” or “taxpayers”) have appealed Auditing Division’s (the “Division”)
assessments of additional Utah individual income taxes for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years. On March 30,
2017, the Division issued Notices of Deficiency and Audit Change (“Statutory Notices™), in which it imposed
additional tax and interest (calculated as of April 29, 2017),* as follows:

Year Tax Penalties Interest Total

2013 $58$$ $585% $555% 35558

1 Interest continues to accrue until any tax liability is paid. No penalties were imposed.
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2014 $$$$$ 3558 3558 3558
2015 $55$$ 3555 3555 3555

For the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, the taxpayers were a married couple who filed joint federal
returns, joint STATE part-year resident returns, and joint Utah part-year resident returns. With each of the
2013, 2014, and 2015 Utah returns, the taxpayers included a TC-40B form on which they checked the “part-
year resident” (not the “nonresident” box). On these TC-40B forms, the taxpayers also allocated the income
that TAXPAYER-1 and/or TAXPAYER-2 earned from INSTITUTION-1 (“INSTITUTION-1") to Utah and
the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned from the STATE INSTITUTION-2 (“INSTITUTION-2") to STATE.

The Division proffers that the taxpayers were both full-year Utah resident individuals for 2013, 2014,
and 2015 because they are both considered to be domiciled in Utah throughout these years. As a result, the
Division has determined that all income that both taxpayers earned during these years is subject to Utah
taxation (regardless of where it was earned) and assessed them accordingly.? For these reasons, the Division
asks the Commission to sustain its assessments.

The taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual for all of 2013 and 2014 and
for the first 10 months of 2015, but contend that he was not a Utah resident individual for the last two months
of 2015. In addition, the taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident individual for the first nine
months of 2013, but contend that she was not a Utah resident individual for the last three months of 2013 or for
any portion of 2014 and 2015. As a result, the taxpayers ask the Commission to find that they properly filed
their 2013, 2014, and 2015 Utah part-year resident returns and to reverse the Division’s assessments for these

years.

2 For aresident individual, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-1003 (2013 — 2015) provides that a nonrefundable
tax credit may be applied against a person’s Utah tax liability based on the amount of tax imposed on the
person by another state, if certain conditions are met. Because the Division has assessed both taxpayers as
Utah resident individuals for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, it has applied a credit against their Utah tax
liability for the income taxes they paid to STATE for these years. In the event the Commission finds that the
taxpayers are both Utah resident individuals for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, the taxpayers have not
contested the amounts of the Section 59-10-1003 credits that the Division allowed for these years.
-2-
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APPLICABLE LAW

1. Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1) (2013)3, “a tax is imposed on the state taxable income
of a resident individual[.]”

2. For purposes of Utah income taxation, a “resident individual” is defined in UCA §59-10-
103(1)(q)(i), as follows in pertinent part:

(1) “Resident individual” means:
(A) anindividual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the taxable
year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is domiciled in
this state; or
(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:
() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.

3. Effective for tax year 2012 (and applicable to the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years at issue),
UCA 859-10-136 provides for the determination of “domicile,” as follows:

(1) (a) Anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state if:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is enrolled in a public
kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or
(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in accordance with
Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in
Section 53B-2-101 in this state.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
may not be determined in accordance with Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:
(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and
(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state; and
(i) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in Subsection

(D(b)().
(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state if:
3 All substantive law citations are to the 2013 version of Utah law, unless otherwise indicated. Except

as noted, the substantive law remained the same during the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years.
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(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in accordance
with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse’s primary
residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in accordance
with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of
filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that the
individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the portion of
the taxable year for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this
state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met
for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent;
and
(if) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or
the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary
purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the evidence, taking into
consideration the totality of the following facts and circumstances:
(i) whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this state;
(ii) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual's
spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return is a resident student in accordance with Section
53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;
(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or the
individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;
(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return;
(v) the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2),
Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the individual's spouse;
(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-102 owned or
leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;
(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;
(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on
mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government publication, other
correspondence, or another similar item;
(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on a
state or federal tax return;
(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state on
a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under this chapter, filed
with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;
-4 -
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(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or license
normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual or the individual's
spouse asserts to have domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other provisions of
this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have domicile in this state if the
individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the individual's
spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days; and
(i) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the individual nor
the individual's spouse:
(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;
(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return with respect to a dependent who is enrolled
in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in
this state, unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b);
(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who are enrolled
in an institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;
(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax
Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary residence; or
(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse’s tax home
for federal individual income tax purposes.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to be
considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax return in this
state as a resident individual.
(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:
(i) begins on the later of the date:
(A) the individual leaves this state; or
(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and
(it) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to this state if the
individual or the individual's spouse remains in this state for more than 30 days in a
calendar year.
(d) An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual income
tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed under Section 59-1-
402 if:
(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's belief that the
individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state; and
(if) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of Subsection
(4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.
(e) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an individual
income tax return or amended individual income tax return under Subsection (4)(d)
shall pay any applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401.
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(if) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2), (3),
and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual
income tax return or amended individual income tax return under this chapter:
(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full
the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any
applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under
Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).
(5) (a) If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this
section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.
(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:
(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or
(if) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately filing
status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for the taxable
year.
(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an
individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed under
this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual has a spouse.
(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's spouse claims
a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the residential
property that is the primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse
may not be considered in determining domicile in this state.

4. For the instant matter, UCA 859-1-1417(1) (2017) provides guidance concerning which party

has the burden of proof, as follows:

(1) Inaproceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:
(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income:
(i) required to be reported; and
(i) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.
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DISCUSSION

Pursuant to Subsection 59-1-1417(1), the taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter. The
taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual for all of 2013 and 2014 and for the first
10 months of 2015. The taxpayers also admit that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident individual for the first
nine months of 2013. At issue is whether TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual for the last two
months of 2015 and whether TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident individual for the last three months of 2013
and for all of 2014 and 2015. Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) provides that a person is a Utah resident
individual under either of two scenarios: 1) if the person is domiciled in Utah (the “domicile test”); or 2) if the
person maintains a place of abode in Utah and spends 183 or more days of the taxable year in Utah (the “183
day test”).

The Division asserts that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual for all of 2013, 2014, and
2015 not only under the 183 day test, but also under the domicile test. The Division does not assert that
TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident individual for any of the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years under the 183 day
test. However, the Division does assert that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident individual for the entirety of
these three years under the domicile test. First, the Commission will apply the facts to the Utah domicile law in
effect for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years to determine whether each of the taxpayers is considered to be
domiciled in Utah for these years. Second, in the event that the Commission finds that TAXPAYER-1 is not
considered to be domiciled in Utah for all of 2013, 2014, and 2015, the Commission will determine whether he
is considered to be a Utah resident individual under the 183 day test for any period for which he is not
considered to be domiciled in Utah.
I Facts.

The taxpayers are a married couple who were not legally separated or divorced during the 2013, 2014,

and 2015 tax years. For approximately 10 years prior to 2012, both taxpayers lived and worked in STATE,
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where they owned a home. TAXPAYER-1 subsequently accepted a faculty position at INSTITUTION-1 and
moved to Utah on January 1, 2012 to begin his new job. TAXPAYER-2, who is a professor at
INSTITUTION-2, was able to take a one-year sabbatical from her STATE job, and she and the taxpayers’ son
moved to Utah in September 2012. The taxpayers’ son, who was 10 years of age in 2012, was enrolled in a
charter school in Utah from September 2012 until June 2013.4 While living in Utah, TAXPAYER-2 worked
part-time at INSTITUTION-1. TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved back to STATE sometime after
their son’s school year ended in June 2013. TAXPAYER-1 continued to work at INSTITUTION-1 and live in
Utah until the end of 2015. TAXPAYER-1 was in Utah more than 183 days of each tax year at issue, and he
moved back to STATE on or around November 1, 2015. Neither of the taxpayers was enrolled in a Utah
institution of higher learning during any of the tax years at issue.

TAXPAYER-1 explained that his position at INSTITUTION-1 involved work on a research project
and that it was a temporary job. As a result, he contends that he knew that he would be returning to STATE
eventually. TAXPAYER-1 explained that he and his wife did not sell the STATE home in which they had
lived since 2005 when they moved to Utah in 2012. This home, which is ##### square feet in size and has a
Hit#HH-car garage, will be referred to as the “first STATE home.” The taxpayers rented out this home when
TAXPAYER-2 moved to Utah in September 2012, and they sold this home in 2015.

Sometime in 2012, the taxpayers purchased another home in STATE that, in the taxpayers’ opinion,
was in a superior school district. This home, which is ##### square feet in size and has a #####-car garage,
will be referred to as the “second STATE home.” TAXPAYER-1 explained that they purchased the second
STATE home with the intention to tear it down and build a new, larger home on the lot. As a result, the
taxpayers did not rent out the second STATE home when TAXPAYER-2 moved to Utah in 2012. However,

permit issues prevented them from following through on their plans to tear down the old home and build a new

4 Utah Code Ann. 853A-1a-503.5(1) provides that “[c]harter schools are . . . considered to be public
schools within the state’s public education system[.]”
-8-
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one on the lot. As a result, they rented out the second STATE home in 2014. As of the hearing date, the
taxpayers still own the second STATE home and still rent it out.

In September 2013, the taxpayers purchased another home in STATE. This home, which is #####
square feet in size and has a #####-car garage, will be referred to as the “third STATE home.” TAXPAYER-1
stated that when TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved from Utah to STATE in 2013, they moved
“directly” into the third STATE home.> As of the hearing date, the taxpayers still live in the third STATE
home.

When TAXPAYER-1 first moved to Utah in January 2012, he rented a furnished room in a home in
CITY. When TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved to Utah in September 2012, the taxpayers rented a
different, unfurnished home in CITY. TAXPAYER-1 explained that he and his wife brought little of their
furniture from STATE to Utah because they knew that the move to Utah was temporary. As a result, they
stored most of their furniture in the second STATE home when TAXPAYER-2 moved to Utah in September
2012. TAXPAYER-1 stated that he and his wife only moved beds and “essentials” to Utah.

In December 2012, the taxpayers purchased a home in CITY, Utah (which will be referred to as the
“Utah home”). The Utah home was not the same home that they had rented in Utah for the last few months of
2012. The Utah home has ##### square feet of above-grade living space, a basement with about ###### square

feet of finished space, and a #####-car garage. The taxpayers moved into the Utah home in January 2013.

5 At the hearing, TAXPAYER-1 initially stated that TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved back
to STATE in June 2013 (after school ended). Later in the hearing, TAXPAYER-1 stated that TAXPAYER-2
and the taxpayers’ son moved “directly” into the third STATE home upon returning to STATE in 2013.
Because the taxpayers did not purchase the third STATE home until September 2013, TAXPAYER-2 and the
taxpayers’ son could not have moved “directly” into it in June 2013. For this reason and because the taxpayers
reported on their 2013 STATE income tax return that TAXPAYER-2 was a 2013 STATE resident only
between October 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013, the Commission finds that TAXPAYER-2 and the
taxpayers’ son moved back to STATE in September 2013. The taxpayers, who have the burden of proof, have
not shown otherwise. Regardless, for reasons that will be discussed later in the decision, the Commission’s
decision in this case would be the same regardless of whether TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved
back to STATE in June 2013 or September 2013.
-0-
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Both taxpayers lived in the Utah home until TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son moved back to
STATE in September 2013. As of August 3, 2013, however, TAXPAYER-1 rented out most of the Utah
home’s main floor to tenants, as shown by a lease dated July 15, 2013. The lease indicates that the tenants
leased the Utah home’s “rooms above the ground level and the garage, except the dining room [.]”
TAXPAYER-1 explained that he did not lease the basement to the tenants because he would remain living in
the Utah home’s basement while he continued working at INSTITUTION-1. In addition, he indicated that he
did not rent out the Utah home’s main floor dining room because he was able to exit the home from the
basement through the dining room. The tenants who rented most of the Utah home’s main floor brought their
own furniture into the Utah home because the portion of the Utah home they rented was unfurnished.

TAXPAYER-1 explains that he lived only in the basement of the Utah home from August 3, 2013
until around November 1, 2015, when he moved back to STATE. TAXPAYER-1’s job with INSTITUTION-
1 ended in September 2015. When TAXPAYER-1 moved back to STATE around November 2015, he
removed all of his furniture and personal belongings from the Utah home. He explained that he took some of
these belongings to STATE and donated the rest to charity. As a result, the taxpayers had no belongings in the
Utah home after November 1, 2015. In addition, on or around November 1, 2015, TAXPAYER-1 and the
tenants who had been renting most of the Utah home’s main floor entered into another lease that provided that
the tenants would begin renting the entirety of the Utah home (including the basement) beginning on January
1, 2016. The taxpayers sold the Utah home in late 2016.

Neither of the taxpayers ever obtained a Utah driver’s license or registered to vote in Utah. In
addition, they never registered a vehicle in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 explained that he brought a vehicle from
STATE to Utah when he moved to Utah in January 2012, but continued to register it in STATE for the nearly

four years he lived in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 also explained that they left TAXPAYER-2’s vehicle in STATE
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during the period she lived in Utah in 2012 and 2013. Neither of the taxpayers was a member of a church, a
club, or any organization during the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years at issue.

For each of the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, the taxpayers filed federal, STATE, and Utah returns.
All of these returns were filed with a status of married filing jointly and with an STATE address. For each of
the 2013 and 2014 tax years, the STATE and Utah returns were both filed as part-year resident returns where
the taxpayers allocated income between Utah and STATE. For 2013, the taxpayers indicated: 1) on their 2013
Utah return that they were part-year residents of Utah from January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2013; and 2) on
their 2013 STATE return that each of them was a part-year resident of STATE from October 1, 2013 to
December 31, 2013. On the 2013 Utah return, the taxpayers allocated the income that TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 earned from INSTITUTION-1 to Utah and the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned from
INSTITUTION-2 to STATE. Based on this allocation and the dates of residency asserted on the 2013 Utah
return, it appears that both taxpayers asserted on the Utah return that they were Utah resident individuals from
January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2013.

For 2014, the taxpayers claimed: 1) on their 2014 Utah return that they were Utah part-year residents
from January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014; and 2) on their 2014 STATE return that TAXPAYER-1 was a
Utah resident from January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014, and that TAXPAYER-2 was an STATE resident
from January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014. On the 2014 Utah return, the taxpayers allocated the income that
TAXPAYER-1 earned from INSTITUTION-1 to Utah and the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned from
INSTITUTION-2 to STATE. Based on this allocation and the dates of residency asserted on the 2014 Utah
return, it appears that the taxpayers were asserting on the Utah return that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident
for all of 2014 and that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah nonresident for all of 2014.

For 2015, the taxpayers did not file a 2015 STATE part-year resident return. Instead, it appears that

they filed a 2015 STATE resident return on which they both asserted to be STATE residents for all of 2015.
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On the 2015 STATE return, the taxpayers allocated all of their income to STATE and claimed a credit for the
income taxes they paid to Utah for the 2015 tax year. Nonetheless, the taxpayers filed a 2015 Utah part-year
resident return on which they indicated that they were Utah resident individuals from January 1, 2015 to
November 1, 2015. On the 2015 Utah return, the taxpayers allocated the income that TAXPAYER-1 earned
from INSTITUTION-1 to Utah and the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned from INSTITUTION-2 to STATE.
Based on this allocation and the dates of residency asserted on the 2015 Utah return, it appears that the
taxpayers were asserting on the Utah return that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident from January 1, 2015 to
November 1, 2015, and that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah nonresident for all of 2015.

1. Domicile Test.

UCA 859-10-103(1)(q)(i)(A) defines a “resident individual” as “an individual who is domiciled in this
state for any period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the
individual is domiciled in this state[.]” For the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, a taxpayer’s domicile for
income tax purposes is determined under Section 59-10-136, which contains four subsections addressing when
a taxpayer is considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsections (1), (2), (3), and (5)) and a fifth subsection
addressing when a taxpayer is not considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsection (4)).%

Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b). For a married individual, it is often necessary, as in this case, to

determine whether that individual is considered to have a “spouse” for purposes of Section 59-10-136.
Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b) provides that a married individual is not considered to have a spouse for purposes
of Section 59-10-136 if the individual is legally separated or divorced from the individual’s spouse or if the

individual and the individual’s spouse file federal income tax returns with a status of married filing separately.

6 Prior to tax year 2012, an individual’s income tax domicile was determined under Utah Admin. Rule
R865-91-2 (2011) (“Rule 2”), which provided, in part, criteria to be used when determining an individual’s
income tax domicile and which referred to a non-exhaustive list of domicile factors in Utah Admin. Rule
R884-24P-52 (2011) (“Rule 52”) (which is a property tax rule). After the Legislature enacted new criteria in
Section 59-10-136 to determine income tax domicile for the 2012 tax year, Rule 2 was amended to remove any
reference to domicile and to the Rule 52 factors.
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Neither of these circumstances applies to the taxpayers for any of the years at issue because the taxpayers were
not legally separated or divorced during 2013, 2014, and/or 2015, and because they filed joint federal returns
for all three of these years. Accordingly, for each of the 2013, 2014, and 2015 tax years, TAXPAYER-1 and

TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to have spouses for purposes of Section 59-10-136.

Subsection 59-10-136(4). The taxpayers do not argue that they are not considered to be Utah
domiciliaries for any of the years at issue under Subsection 59-10-136(4). This subsection applies to a
taxpayer who is “absent from the state” if certain requirements are met, one of which is being absent from Utah
for at least 761 consecutive days. Subsection 59-10-136(4)(a)(ii)(A) provides that Subsection 59-10-136(4)
does not apply to an individual if the individual or the individual’s spouse is present in Utah for more than 30
days in a calendar year. TAXPAYER-1 was present in Utah for more than 30 days in each of the three years at
issue. Accordingly, Subsection 59-10-136(4) does not apply to either TAXPAYER-1 or TAXPAYER-2.

As a result, the Commission must analyze whether the taxpayers are considered to have domicile in
Utah for the years at issue under the remaining subsections of Section 59-10-136 (i.e., under Subsections 59-
10-136(1), (2)(@), (2)(b), (2)(c), and (3)). If an individual meets the criteria found in any one of these
subsections, that individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah, even if the individual does not meet the
criteria found in any of the other subsections. The Commission will first analyze these remaining subsections
of Section 59-10-136 in regards to the 2013 tax year, then to the 2014 and 2015 tax years.

A. 2013 Tax Year.

Subsection 59-10-136(1). This subsection provides that an individual is considered to be domiciled in

Utah if a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual’s spouse claims a personal
exemption on their federal return is enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school,
subject to an exception found in Subsection (1)(b) that is not applicable to this case. The taxpayers claimed

their son as a dependent on their 2013 federal return. In addition, the taxpayers’ son was enrolled in a Utah
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public elementary school for the first five months of 2013 (from January 2013 through May 2013).
Accordingly, under Subsection 59-10-136(1), both TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are considered to be
domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2013 through May 31, 2013.” Because the taxpayers are not considered to
be domiciled in Utah for all of 2013 under Subsection 59-10-136(1), the Commission must determine whether
they are domiciled in Utah for all of 2013 under another subsection of Section 59-10-136.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). This subsection provides that there is a rebuttable presumption that an

individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse claims the property
tax residential exemption on either the individual’s or individual’s spouse’s primary residence. For the 2013
tax year, the taxpayers received the 45% residential exemption from property taxes, as allowed under Utah
Code Ann. 859-2-103, for their Utah home. Before determining whether the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption arises for all or part of 2013, the Commission must also consider the impact of Subsection 59-10-
136(6).

Subsection 59-10-136(6) provides that “whether or not an individual or the individual's spouse claims
a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the residential property that is the
primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in determining
domicile in this state.” This exception to the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption is clearly not applicable
for the January 1, 2013 to August 2, 2013 period that no tenants were leasing a portion of the Utah home.
Accordingly, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arises for the January 1, 2013 to August 2, 2013

period.

7 Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a)(ii) provides that an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the
individual or the individual’s spouse is enrolled in a Utah institution of higher education. While TAXPAYER-
1 and TAXPAYER-2 were both employed by a Utah institution of higher education during 2013, neither of
them was enrolled in such an institution. Accordingly, neither taxpayer is considered to be domiciled in Utah
under Subsection 59-10-136(1)(a)(ii) during the 2013 tax year.
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Atissue is whether the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption also arises for the remainder of 2013
(i.e., for August 3, 2013 to December 31, 2013), when tenants were leasing the majority of the Utah home’s
main floor and using it as their primary residence. The tenants were leasing the majority of the Utah home.
Specifically, they were leasing all but one room of the Utah home’s main floor, which had twice as much
finished living space than the basement in which TAXPAYER-1 continued to live once the tenants moved in.
Had the taxpayers not used or lived in the relatively small portion of the Utah home that the tenants did not
lease, perhaps the Commission would have found that the Subsection 59-10-136(6) exception was applicable
and that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption would not have arisen for the August 3, 2013 to
December 31, 2013 period.

However, where TAXPAYER-1 continued to live in the portion of the Utah home that the tenants did
not lease, the Commission declines to find that Subsection 59-10-136(6) precludes the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(a) presumption from arising for the August 3, 2013 to December 31, 2013 period. Subsection 59-10-
136(6) must be read in concert with, not in isolation from, Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). To find that the
Subsection 59-10-136(6) exception applies where the owner of a home receiving the residential exemption
lives in a portion of the home and tenants use the remainder of the home as their primary residence would
completely ignore the plain meaning of Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). As a result, the Commission finds that
the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption not only arises for the January 1, 2013 to August 2, 2013 period
when no tenants resided in the Utah home, but also for the August 3, 2013 to December 31, 2013 period when
tenants leased a majority of the Utah home’s main floor and TAXPAYER-1 was living in the basement.

Accordingly, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arises for the entirety of the 2013 tax year.

8 Such a ruling could lead to results that appear to be completely contrary to Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(a). For example, assume that a person who owned a home on which he or she was receiving the
residential exemption rented out a room over the home’s garage to another person who used the room as his or
her primary residence. Where the owner of the home lived in the remainder of the home (i.e., in all but the
room over the garage), the existence of this tenant would not preclude the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption from arising in regards to the owner.
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Furthermore, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arises for the entirety of 2013 in regards to
both taxpayers, even though TAXPAYER-1 was the only one of the taxpayers to live in the Utah home once
TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ son returned to STATE in September 2013. Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
provides that there is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the
individual or the individual’s spouse claims the exemption. Even if TAXPAYER-1 alone had owned the Utah
home or had been the only one of the taxpayers to claim the exemption or pay the property taxes, the rebuttable
presumption of Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) would still apply to both TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2.°
Accordingly, TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be domiciled in Utah for the entirety
of the 2013 tax year, unless they are able to rebut the presumption.

The Commission will next determine whether TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 have rebutted the
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption that has arisen for both of them. Because Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
involves a rebuttable presumption, the Legislature clearly intended not only for there to be circumstances
where an individual who claims a residential exemption is considered to have domicile in Utah, but also for
there to be circumstances where an individual who claims a residential exemption is not considered to have
domicile in Utah.1® However, the Legislature has not provided in statute what circumstances will be or will not
be sufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption. As aresult, it is left to the Commission to
delineate between those circumstances that are sufficient and not sufficient to rebut the presumption.

The Commission has previously found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption can be

rebutted if an individual has asked a county to remove the residential exemption, and the county failed to

9 This conclusion is supported by Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a), which provides that “[i]f an individual is
considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered
to have domicile in this state.”

10 The Legislature did not provide that claiming a residential exemption is an “absolute” indication of
domicile (as it did in Subsection 59-10-136(1) for an individual who is enrolled as a resident student in a Utah
institution of higher education or, with certain exceptions, has a dependent enrolled in a Utah public
kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school).
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implement the individual’s request. In addition, the Commission has indicated that the presumption may be
rebutted if an individual received the residential exemption for a vacant home that was listed for sale and which
would qualify for the exemption upon being sold.'* Neither of these circumstances exists in this case for the
2013 tax year.

On the other hand, the Commission has found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption is not
rebutted because an individual had never heard of the residential exemption or did not know that he or she was
receiving the residential exemption. Furthermore, the Commission has found that an individual has not
rebutted the presumption because he or she would not be considered to be domiciled in Utah under Rule 52,
the property tax rule used to determine income tax domicile for tax years prior to 2012. It is arguable that
using the “old” income tax domicile criteria found in the pre-2012 version of Rule 2 and/or in Rule 52 to
determine an individual’s income tax domicile for years when Section 59-10-136 is in effect would be giving
the new law enacted by the Legislature little or no effect, which the Commission declines to do.?

Similarly, the Commission has found that an individual cannot rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2)
presumption by showing that he or she would not be considered to have domicile in Utah under the 12 factors
listed in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b). If the Commission were to do so, one could argue that the Commission
was giving no meaning to the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions (i.e., that it was determining domicile as

though the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions did not exist).*

11 See Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-52(6)(f), which provides that “[i]f the county assessor determines
that an unoccupied property will qualify as a primary residence when it is occupied, the property shall qualify
for the residential exemption while unoccupied.” While Rule 52 is no longer the controlling law for purposes
of determining income tax domicile, there may be limited portions of Rule 52 that may be useful when the
Commission delineates which circumstances are sufficient or insufficient to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2)
presumption.

12 Again, the Commission is not precluded from considering certain facts that might be described in Rule
52 when determining whether a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption has been effectively rebutted. However,
the Commission will not determine an individual’s income tax domicile for 2012 and subsequent tax years
solely from the factors found in Rule 52.

13 This conclusion is further supported by the plain language of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a), which
provides that a person may be considered to be domiciled in Utah subject to Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) “if the
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The Commission has also indicated that there may be other circumstances to be raised in future cases
that will be sufficient to rebut the presumption. The taxpayers, however, have not proffered any convincing
arguments to rebut the presumption for the 2013 tax year. TAXPAYER-1 lived and worked in Utah for nearly
four years, and the Utah home received the residential exemption for all years that the taxpayers owned the
home. The specific circumstances of this case do not warrant a finding that TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-
2 have rebutted the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption. Accordingly, under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a),
TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be domiciled in Utah for the entirety of the 2013 tax
year.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). Because TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAY ER-2 have both been found to be

domiciled in Utah for all of 2013 under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), they are 2013 full-year Utah domiciliaries
regardless of whether they are also considered to be domiciled in Utah under another subsection of Section 59-
10-136. As a result, the Commission need not address the other subsections of Section 59-10-136 to resolve
this appeal. Nevertheless, it may be helpful for the Commission to make some observations about these other
subsections, beginning with Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b), an individual is
presumed to be domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse is registered to vote in Utah,
unless the presumption is rebutted. Because neither TAXPAYER-1 nor TAXPAYER-2 was ever registered to
vote in Utah, this presumption does not arise for the 2013 tax year.*

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c). Under this subsection, an individual is presumed to be domiciled in Utah

if the individual or the individual’s spouse asserts Utah residency on a Utah return. Although the Division

contends that this presumption does not arise in regards to the taxpayers, the Commission believes otherwise.

requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met[.]” As a result, the provisions of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b)
only come into play if Subsection 59-10-136(1) or one of the presumptions of Subsection 59-10-136(2) does

not apply.

14 Because neither taxpayer was ever registered to vote in Utah, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
presumption also does not arise for the 2014 and 2015 tax years. As a result, the Commission will not address
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For the 2013 tax year, it appears that TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 asserted on the taxpayers’ 2013 Utah
return that they were Utah part-year residents for the period January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2013.
Accordingly, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption arises in regards to both taxpayers for the January 1,
2013 to September 30, 2013 portion of 2013.1°

Because the Division argued that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption did not arise, the
taxpayers did not offer arguments to rebut it. Specifically, the taxpayers did not indicate whether they filed a
Utah resident return because neither of them considered themselves to be domiciled in Utah and only filed the
return because one or both of them met the 183 day test described earlier. In a prior case, the Commission
found that a person who was a Utah resident under the 183 day test and who filed a Utah resident return was
able to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption because the person was not considered to be
domiciled in Utah under any other subsection of Section 59-10-136. In the instant case, however, the
Commission has found that the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for all of 2013 under another
subsection of Section 59-10-136. Asaresult, it is questionable whether the taxpayers would have been able to
rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption that has arisen for the January 1, 2013 to September 30,
2013 period. If they are not able to rebut this presumption, both of them would also be considered to be
domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2013 under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c).

Subsection 59-10-136(3). Even if an individual is not considered to be domiciled in Utah under

Subsection (1), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c), they may be considered to be domiciled in Utah based on a
preponderance of the evidence relating to 12 specific facts and circumstances listed in Subsection 59-10-

136(3)(b). The Division indicates that the taxpayers would not be considered to be domiciled in Utah under

this subsection when it discusses the 2014 and 2015 tax years later in the decision.

15 It is further noted that even if TAXPAYER-1 alone had asserted that he was a Utah part-year resident
from January 1, 2013 to September 30, 2013, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption would still have
arisen in regards to both taxpayers for this period because TAXPAYER-2’s spouse would have asserted Utah
part-year residency.
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this subsection. A cursory review of the 12 facts and circumstances suggests that the Division’s conclusion is
correct. However, because neither party discussed this subsection in detail at the hearing, the Commission will
not discuss this subsection any further in this decision for any tax year.

2013 Domicile — Summary. Based on the foregoing, TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both

considered to be domiciled in Utah for the entirety of the 2013 tax year. As a result, TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be full-year Utah resident individuals for 2013. Accordingly, all income
that TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 earned in 2013 is subject to Utah taxation, regardless of whether each
of them lived and worked in Utah for the entire year. For these reasons, the Commission should sustain the
2013 assessment the Division has imposed on the taxpayers.

B. 2014 Tax Year.

Subsection 59-10-136(1). As discussed earlier, the taxpayers’ son did not attend school in Utah after

June 2013. As a result, during 2014, the taxpayers’ son was not enrolled in school in Utah. Furthermore,
neither taxpayer was enrolled in a Utah institution of higher education during 2014. Accordingly, neither
taxpayer is considered to be domiciled in Utah for any portion of 2014 under Subsection 59-10-136(1).1¢

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). The taxpayers claimed the residential exemption for the Utah home for

the 2014 tax year. For all of 2014, the tenants described earlier leased the majority of the Utah home’s main
floor and used it as their primary residence. However, TAXPAYER-1 resided in the Utah home for all of
2014. For reasons explained earlier for the 2013 tax year, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arises

in regards to both taxpayers for the entirety of the 2014 tax year, and the taxpayers have not rebutted the

16 The same facts that existed for 2014 and that apply to this subsection also existed for 2015. As a
result, neither taxpayer is considered to be domiciled in Utah for any portion of the 2015 tax year under this
subsection, as well. Accordingly, the Commission will not address Subsection 59-10-136(1) when it discusses
the 2015 tax year later in the decision.

-20 -



Appeal No. 17-758

presumption.t” Accordingly, under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both
considered to be domiciled in Utah for the entirety of the 2014 tax year.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c). On the taxpayers’ 2014 Utah return, TAXPAYER-1 asserted that he was

a Utah resident individual for the entirety of 2014. As a result, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption
arises in regards to both taxpayers for the entirety of 2014. For reasons explained earlier in regards to the 2013
tax year, the taxpayers would also be considered to be domiciled in Utah for all of 2014 under Subsection 59-
10-136(2)(c), unless they were able to rebut this presumption.

2014 Domicile — Summary. Based on the foregoing, TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both

considered to be domiciled in Utah for the entirety of the 2014 tax year. As a result, TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be full-year Utah resident individuals for 2014. Accordingly, all income
that TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 earned in 2014 is subject to Utah taxation, regardless of whether each
of them lived and worked in Utah for the entire year. For these reasons, the Commission should sustain the
2014 assessment the Division has imposed on the taxpayers.

C. 2015 Tax Year.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). The taxpayers claimed the residential exemption for the Utah home for

the 2015 tax year. For all of 2015, the tenants described earlier leased the majority of the Utah home’s main
floor and used it as their primary residence. From January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015, TAXPAYER-1
resided in the Utah home’s basement. However, once TAXPAYER-1 permanently returned to STATE after
November 1, 2015, neither taxpayer lived in or had any personal property in the Utah home, including the

relatively small portion of the home that their tenants were not leasing for the year. The Commission will first

17 TAXPAYER-1 stated that he would occasionally go to STATE to visit his family, then return to live in
the Utah home. These occasional absences do not result in the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arising
for less than the full 2014 tax year, nor would these occasional absences be sufficient to rebut the presumption
for any or all of the 2014 tax year.
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discuss the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption in regards to the January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015
portion of the year, then in regards to the November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 portion of the year.

January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015 Period. For reasons explained earlier in regards to the 2013 and
2014 tax years, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption arises in regards to both taxpayers from January 1,
2015 to November 1, 2015 that TAXPAYER-1 lived in a portion of the Utah home, and the taxpayers have not
rebutted the presumption for this period. Accordingly, under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015.

November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 Period. For this period, the taxpayers’ tenants were again
not leasing the entirety of the Utah home, and the taxpayers again claimed the residential exemption for all of
2015, including this November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 period. Accordingly, the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(a) presumption also arises for this period. However, whereas the taxpayers’ circumstances were
insufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption for the January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015
period that TAXPAYER-1 lived in a portion of the Utah home, the taxpayers’ circumstances are sufficient to
rebut the presumption for the November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 period.

Beginning on November 2, 2015, neither taxpayer was living in the portion of the Utah home not
leased by their tenants, and this portion of the Utah home was also vacant. As mentioned earlier, the
Commission has previously found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption can be rebutted if an
individual received the residential exemption for a vacant home that was listed for sale and which would
qualify for the exemption upon being sold (citing Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-52(6)(f)). It follows that the
presumption can also be rebutted if an individual receives the residential exemption for a vacant home that is
listed for rent and which would qualify for the exemption upon being leased. Before returning to STATE on
November 2, 2015, TAXPAYER-1 signed a lease with the tenants in the Utah home whereby the tenants

would also be leasing the Utah home’s empty basement as of January 1, 2016. These specific circumstances
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are, thus, sufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption for the November 2, 2015 to
December 31, 2015 period. Accordingly, while both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah from
January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015 under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), neither of the taxpayers is considered
to be domiciled in Utah from November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 under this subsection.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c). On the taxpayers’ 2015 Utah return, TAXPAYER-1 asserted that he was

a Utah resident individual for the period January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015. As aresult, the Subsection 59-
10-136(2)(c) presumption arises in regards to both taxpayers for this period (but not for the period November
2, 2015 to December 31, 2015). For reasons explained earlier in regards to the 2013 and 2014 tax years, the
taxpayers would also be considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) for the period
January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015, unless they were able to rebut this presumption for this period.

2015 Domicile — Summary. Based on the foregoing, TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 are both

considered to be domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015. As aresult, TAXPAYER-1
and TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be Utah resident individuals for this period. Accordingly, all
income that TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 earned from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015 is subject
to Utah taxation, regardless of whether each of them lived and worked in Utah during this period.

Neither taxpayer is a Utah resident individual for the November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 period
under the domicile test. However, the Commission must still decide whether one or both of the taxpayers are
Utah resident individuals for the November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 period under the 183 day test to
determine whether the Division’s 2015 assessment should be sustained or amended.

1. 183 Day Test.

Under the domicile test, the Commission has found that both taxpayers are full-year Utah resident

individuals for the 2013 and 2014 tax years, but not for the 2015 tax year. For 2015, the Commission has

found that both taxpayers are only domiciled in Utah from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015. The
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Division, however, contends that TAXPAYER-1 (but not TAXPAYER-2) is a 2015 full-year Utah resident
individual under the 183 day test, even if he is not a 2015 full-year Utah resident individual under the domicile
test. The Division argues that TAXPAYER-1 is a 2015 full-year Utah resident individual under the 183 day
test because he maintained a Utah place of abode and was present in Utah for more than 183 days of the 2015
tax year.

Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i)(B) provides that an individual who is not domiciled in Utah is,
nevertheless, considered to be a Utah resident individual if he or she maintains a place of abode in Utah and
spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in Utah. TAXPAYER-1, however, is not an
individual who is not domiciled in Utah during 2015. The Commission has found that TAXPAYER-1 was
domiciled in Utah for most of 2015 (specifically from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015). As a result,
under the circumstances of this case, TAXPAYER-1 is not a 2015 full-year Utah resident individual under
Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i)(B), regardless of whether he maintained a Utah place of abode and spent 183 or
more days in Utah during 2015.

This decision is consistent with prior Commission decisions. For example, in USTC Appeal No. 08-
0856 (Order Granting Petitioner’s Motion for Summary Judgment and Denying Respondent’s Motion for
Summary Judgment Oct. 28, 2010), the Commission considered a petitioner who was domiciled outside of
Utah from January 1, 2004 through approximately January 4, 2004 and who was domiciled in Utah for the
remainder of 2004 (i.e., domiciled in Utah for all but approximately the first four days of the taxable year).:8 In
that case, the Division argued that the 2004 income the petitioner earned prior to January 4, 2004 was subject
to Utah taxation because the petitioner had owned a home in Utah for several years prior to and during 2004
and because the petitioner was present in Utah for 183 or more days of 2004. The Commission did not find the

Division’s argument persuasive, in part, because the 183 day test of Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i)(B) pertains

18 Redacted copies of this and other selected decisions can be viewed on the Commission’s website at
http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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to an individual who is not domiciled in this state and because that petitioner was domiciled in Utah for most
of 2004.1°

For these reasons, the Commission does not find that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual
for the November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015 period under the 183 day test. It is also clear that
TAXPAYER-2 was not a Utah resident individual for any portion of the 2015 tax year because she was not
present in Utah for 183 or more days of 2015. Accordingly, for the 2015 tax year, both taxpayers are Utah
resident individuals only for the January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015 period that the Commission has found
them to be domiciled in Utah. As a result, the Division should amend its full-year 2015 assessment to reflect
the Commission’s decision that both taxpayers are 2015 Utah part-year resident individuals from January 1,
2015 to November 1, 2015.

V. Taxpayers’ Other Arguments.

The taxpayers contend that none of the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned in STATE after moving
back to STATE in September 2013 should be subject to Utah taxation. However, the Commission has found
that TAXPAYER-2 is a Utah resident individual for all of 2013 and 2014 and from January 1, 2015 to
November 1, 2015. Pursuant to Subsection 59-10-104(1) and Subsection 59-10-103(1)(w), all of a Utah
resident individual’s federal adjusted gross income is subject to Utah income taxation, subject to certain
subtractions and additions not applicable to this case. The Commission acknowledges that Utah Code Ann.
859-10-117(2)(c) provides that “a salary, wage, commission, or compensation for personal services rendered

outside this state may not be considered to be derived from Utah sources[.]” However, in accordance with

19 At the hearing, the Division further stated that a hypothetical individual would also be considered a
full-year Utah resident individual for a year during which the individual maintained a Utah place of abode and
spent 183 days in Utah between January 1t and July 31t of that year, even if the individual was not domiciled
in Utah after July 31% of that year and even if the individual cut all ties with Utah and never returned to Utah
after July 31t of that year. Specifically, the Division proffered that the Tax Commission could tax the income
that the individual earned elsewhere between August 15t and December 31% of that year under Subsection 59-
10-103(1)(q)(i)(B). The Division’s argument is not persuasive.
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Subsection 59-10-117(1) and Utah Code Ann. 859-10-116, Subsection 59-10-117(2)(c) only applies to a Utah
nonresident individual. Because TAXPAYER-2 is a Utah resident individual for all of 2013 and 2014 and
from January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015, Subsection 59-10-117(2)(c) does not apply to her for these
periods. Accordingly, all of the income that TAXPAYER-2 earned during 2013 and 2014 and from January 1,
2015 to November 1, 2015 is subject to Utah taxation, even if it was earned outside of Utah and even though it
may also have been subject to taxation in another state. As explained earlier, any double taxation concerns are
alleviated through the application of a credit for taxes paid to another state, pursuant to Subsection 59-10-
1003(1).

The taxpayers also contend that Utah’s relatively new domicile law (i.e., Section 59-10-136) is not fair.
In effect, the taxpayers are asking the Commission to find that the new domicile law does not always result in
good tax policy and should not be upheld under the specific circumstances of their case. The Commission’s
role, however, is to implement the law. The Commission is not authorized to change the law to achieve what
the taxpayer may consider to be a better tax policy for the specific circumstances of their case. That is the role
of the Utah Legislature. Accordingly, the Commission declines to abate those taxes that the Division properly
assessed to the taxpayers under Utah law.

V. Conclusion.

The taxpayers have not met their burden of proof to show that they do not owe the additional taxes that
the Division imposed in its 2013 and 2014 assessments. Accordingly, the Commission should sustain the
Division’s 2013 and 2014 assessments in their entireties. For the 2015 tax year, however, the evidence is
sufficient to show that the taxpayers were Utah resident individuals only from January 1, 2015 to November 1,
2015, and that they were not Utah resident individuals from November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015.

Accordingly, the Commission should order the Division to amend its 2015 assessment to reflect this decision.
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Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s 2013 and 2014 assessments in their
entireties. For the 2015 tax year, the Commission finds that taxpayers were Utah resident individuals from
January 1, 2015 to November 1, 2015, but not from November 2, 2015 to December 31, 2015. The Division is
ordered to amend its 2015 assessment accordingly. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order will
become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be
mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal
number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
or emailed to:

taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2018.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from this
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.
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