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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on October 30, 2017 for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) are

appealing audit deficiencies for tax years 2013 and 2014. The Taxpayers had filed a Utah
resident return for tax year 2013, but had excluded income earned by TAXPAYER-2. The

Taxpayers did not file a Utah return for tax year 2014. Respondent (“Division”) issued the audits

on the basis that the Taxpayers were resident individuals in Utah for all of 2013 and part-year

Utah residents in 2014. The Notices of Deficiency had been issued by the Division on March 15,

2017. Penalties were assessed with the 2014 audit. The audit deficiency and interest calculated to

the date the notices were issued for each year is as follows:
Year Tax Interest Penalties Audit Total Due’
2013 $$$$$ $$5$$ $0 $$5$$

1 This is the total balance as of the date the Audit Notices were issued. Interest continues to accrue on the

unpaid balance until paid in full.
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2014 35588 $558$ $558$ $$$8$

APPLICABLE LAW
Under Utah Code §59-10-104(1), tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident
individual. “Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(q), as follows:

(i) “resident individual” means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during
the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the
individual is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:

() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this
state.

Effective beginning with tax year 2012 the Utah Legislature adopted a law specifying the
factors considered for the determination of domicile. This law replaced the prior Tax
Commission rule defining domicile and was a significant change in this area. The new law is
Utah Code Ann. 859-10-136 and is as set forth below in its entirety:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with

Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or
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(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's

or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
state under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(¢)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;
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(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

(i)  except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(if)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and



Appeal No. 17-609

(€)

() (a)

(b)

(©

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance

with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile

in this state.

For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(if) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,

an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a

return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining

whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the

burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code Ann. §59-1-401(14) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable

cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest

imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide

additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are
more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(@) Timely Mailing...

(b) Wrong Filing Place...

(c) Death or Serious Illness...

(d) Unavoidable Absence...

(e) Disaster Relief...

(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...
(9) Tax Commission Office Visit...

(h) Unobtainable Records...

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...
() First Time Filer...

(k) Bank Error...

(I) Compliance History...

(m) Employee Embezzlement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...

(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.
(a) The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining
whether reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable
considerations include:

(v) other factors the commission deems appropriate.

DISCUSSION

At the hearing, the Taxpayers asked for abatement of the tax because they did not know
the Utah tax law and had relied on a tax preparer at the military base where TAXPAYER-2
worked as a civilian employee. TAXPAYER-1 had explained their position at the hearing.
TAXPAYER-2 had been working as a civilian employee for the DEPARTMENT OF COUNTRY
since 2009, which is where he resided. In 2012, TAXPAYER-1 had been living primarily in
STATE with their son and daughter-in-law who just had a baby. In 2012, her son and daughter-
in-law moved to Utah and TAXPAYER-1 moved with them to help with childcare. She resided
in Utah for all of 2013, although she did travel some to COUNTRY. She was residing in the
residence with her son and daughter-in-law, which they had purchased. She did not lease or own
a property of her own in Utah. She had stated at the hearing that she could not remember if she
had registered to vote in Utah, but the representative for the Division had looked up her Utah
Driver License, voter registration and vehicle registration information. He reported that she had
both obtained a Utah Driver License and registered to vote in Utah on May 30, 2012. She also

had a vehicle registered in Utah during the audit period.
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TAXPAYER-1 had part-time employment in Utah during 2013 and had received a W-2
from that employer addressed to her at the Utah address. TAXPAYER-1 explained that she had
moved from Utah to COUNTRY in May 2014. The Division’s 2014 audit was on the basis of the
Taxpayers being domiciled in Utah through May 2014 and they agreed they were no longer
domiciled in Utah after TAXPAYER-1 had moved from the state. TAXPAYER-1 stated that the
purpose for her being in Utah in 2013 and part of 2014 was always intended to be temporary and
just to help with the childcare of her granddaughter.

The Division pointed out that for 2013 the Taxpayers had filed a married filing joint
federal return and had filed a joint Utah resident individual return. This return listed the Utah
address where TAXPAYER-1 had been staying. However, on the Utah return they had claimed
an equitable adjustment to subtract from their Utah taxable income all of TAXPAYER-2’s wage
and pension income. They had claimed on the Utah return the wage income that TAXPAYER-1
had earned while in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 did not work in Utah during 2014 and the Taxpayers
did not file a Utah return for that year. They had filed a married filing joint federal return in
2014.

It was the Division’s position that the Taxpayers were both domiciled in Utah for all of
2013 and up until May of 2014 based on provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136. The Taxpayers
were both presumed to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) because
TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah. Subsection (2)(b) provides a rebuttable
presumption that an individual is considered domiciled in Utah if “the individual or the
individual’s spouse is registered to vote in this state . . .” There is also the rebuttable presumption
at Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) that an individual is domiciled in Utah if the “individual or the
individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of filing an individual income tax
return.” The Taxpayers had done this on their 2013 Utah resident return. The Taxpayers did not
provide information to rebut these two presumptions. 2

In this appeal, the Taxpayers were primarily arguing ignorance of the Utah domicile
laws. Other taxpayers have argued that they did not have knowledge of the rebuttable
presumptions at Subsection (2) or the implications to domicile and the Tax Commission has
concluded that ignorance of the law is not sufficient to rebut the presumption of domicile under
Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2).2 The Taxpayers have the burden of proof under Utah Code

2 The Tax Commission has previously considered what factors would rebut this presumption in Utah State
Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 16-792 (8/16/17). These and other Tax Commission
decisions are available for review in a redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.

3 See Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (9/2/2015); and Initial
Hearing Order, Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17).
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Sec. 59-1-1417 and have not provided information to rebut the presumption of having a Utah
domicile. The Tax Commission must apply Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 as written and, therefore,
the audits as to the tax and interest deficiency should be upheld.

Penalties were assessed with the 2014 audit. Under Utah Code Subsection 59-1-401(14)
the Commission may waive penalties for reasonable cause. The Tax Commission often waives
penalties in these domicile cases due to the complicated nature of the law in this area.
Considering that for 2014 only TAXPAYER-2 was employed and receiving income and he had
never resided in Utah, there is sufficient cause for waiver of the 2014 penalties.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Tax Commission sustains the Utah individual income tax

audits as to tax and the interest accrued thereon for tax years 2013 and 2014. The Tax
Commission waives the penalties assessed for tax year 2014. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2018.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner


mailto:taxappeals@utah.gov
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.



