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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on June 21, 2017.
TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 (“Petitioners” or “taxpayers’) have appealed Auditing Division’s
(the “Division”) assessment of additional Utah individual income taxes for the 2013 tax year. On November 1,
2016, the Division issued a Notice of Deficiency and Audit Change (“Statutory Notice™), in which it imposed
additional tax and interest (calculated as of December 1, 2016),! as follows:
Year Tax Penalties Interest Total

2013 $585% $555$ $55$ $55$$

1 Interest continues to accrue until any tax liability is paid. No penalties were imposed.
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For the 2013 tax year, the taxpayers filed a Utah part-year resident income tax return, on which they
indicated that they were STATE-1 residents from January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013, and that they were
Utah residents from June 21, 2013 through December 31, 2013. Based on these dates of residency, the
taxpayers allocated to Utah $$$$$ of their total federal adjusted gross income (“FAGI”) of $$$$$.

The Division, however, has determined that both taxpayers were full-year Utah residents for the 2013
tax year. As a result, the Division has assessed Utah tax on all $3$$$ of the taxpayers’ 2013 FAGI. The
Division proffers that the taxpayers were both 2013 full-year Utah resident individuals because they are both
considered to be domiciled in Utah for all of 2013. As aresult, the Division asks the Commission to sustain its
assessment.

The taxpayers contend that they were domiciled in STATE-1, not Utah, during the January 1, 2013
through June 20, 2013 period that they were living and working in STATE-1. As a result, they claim that they
were not Utah resident individuals for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period. For these reasons,
the taxpayers ask the Commission to find that they properly filed their 2013 Utah part-year resident return and
to reverse the Division’s assessment.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1) (2013)?, “a tax is imposed on the state taxable income
of a resident individual[.]”
2. For purposes of Utah income taxation, a “resident individual” is defined in UCA §59-10-
103(1)(q)(i), as follows in pertinent part:
(1) “Resident individual” means:
(A) anindividual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the taxable
year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is domiciled in

this state; or
(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:

2 All substantive law citations are to the 2013 version of Utah law, unless otherwise indicated.
-2-



Appeal No. 16-1791

() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.

3. Effective for tax year 2012 and, thus, applicable to the 2013 tax year at issue, UCA §59-10-
136 provides for the determination of “domicile,” as follows:

(1) (a) Anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state if:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is enrolled in a public
kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or
(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in accordance with
Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in
Section 53B-2-101 in this state.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
may not be determined in accordance with Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:
(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and
(B) whois enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state; and
(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in Subsection
D)b)().

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this

state if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in accordance
with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse’s primary
residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in accordance
with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of
filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that the
individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the portion of
the taxable year for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this
state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met
for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent;
and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or
the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary
purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

-3-



Appeal No. 16-1791

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the evidence, taking into
consideration the totality of the following facts and circumstances:
(i) whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this state;
(if) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual's
spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return is a resident student in accordance with Section
53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;
(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or the
individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;
(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return;
(v) the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2),
Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the individual's spouse;
(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-102 owned or
leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;
(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;
(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on
mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government publication, other
correspondence, or another similar item;
(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on a
state or federal tax return;
(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state on
a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under this chapter, filed
with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;
(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or license
normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual or the individual's
spouse asserts to have domicile; or
(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other provisions of
this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have domicile in this state if the
individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the individual's
spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days; and
(i) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the individual nor
the individual's spouse:
(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;
(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return with respect to a dependent who is enrolled
in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in
this state, unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b);
(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who are enrolled
in an institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;
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(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax
Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse’s primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse’s tax home
for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of

Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to be

considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax return in this

state as a resident individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and
(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to this state if the
individual or the individual's spouse remains in this state for more than 30 days in a
calendar year.

(d) An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual income

tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed under Section 59-1-

402 if:

(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's belief that the
individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of Subsection
(4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an individual
income tax return or amended individual income tax return under Subsection (4)(d)
shall pay any applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(if) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2), (3),

and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual

income tax return or amended individual income tax return under this chapter:
(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full
the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any
applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under
Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this
section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately filing
status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for the taxable
year.
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(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an
individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed under
this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual has a spouse.
(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's spouse claims
a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the residential
property that is the primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse
may not be considered in determining domicile in this state.
4, For the instant matter, UCA 859-1-1417(1) (2017) provides guidance concerning which party

has the burden of proof, as follows:
(1) Inaproceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:
(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income:
(i) required to be reported; and
(if) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.
DISCUSSION
Pursuant to Subsection 59-1-1417(1), the taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter. The
taxpayers admit that they were Utah resident individuals for a portion of the 2013 tax year, specifically from
June 21, 2013 through December 31, 2013. At issue is whether the taxpayers were also Utah resident
individuals for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 portion of the 2013 tax year (the “period at issue”).
For 2013, Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) provides that a person is a Utah resident individual under either of
two scenarios: 1) if the person is domiciled in Utah (the “domicile test”); or 2) if the person maintains a place
of abode in Utah and spends 183 or more days of the taxable year in Utah (the “183 day test”).

The Division does not assert that the taxpayers are Utah resident individuals for the January 1, 2013

through June 20, 2013 period at issue under the 183 day test. Instead, the Division contends that the taxpayers
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are Utah resident individual for this period under the domicile test. Asa result, the Commission must apply the
facts to the Utah domicile law in effect for 2013 to determine whether the taxpayers are considered to be

domiciled in Utah for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue.

. Facts.

Both of the taxpayers were born and raised in Utah. After marrying, the taxpayers purchased a home
in CITY-1, Utah in 2008 (the “Utah home”), where they lived with their children until December 2012, when
TAXPAYER-1 moved to STATE-1 for work. In early January 2013, TAXPAYER-2 and the taxpayers’ three
children also moved to STATE-1. In 2013, the taxpayers’ three children were six, four, and two years of age.
The taxpayers have never been legally separated or divorced.

Prior to moving to STATE-1 for work in December 2012, TAXPAYER-1 had worked for
CORPORATION-1 (“CORPORATION-1”) in CITY-2, Utah. In December 2012, TAXPAYER-1 took
advantage of an opportunity to “transfer” from CORPORATION-1 to CORPORATION-2.
(“CORPORATION-2"), a sister corporation located near CITY-3, STATE-1. TAXPAYER-1 explained that
his employment at CORPORATION-2 was considered a temporary assignment and that at the end of six
months, he could decide whether to continue working for CORPORATION-2 in STATE-1 or transfer back to
CORPORATION-1 in Utah. At the end of the six months, TAXPAYER-1 decided to transfer back to
CORPORATION-1 in Utah, which resulted in the taxpayers and their children moving back to Utah on June
21, 2013.

When the taxpayers moved to STATE-1 in late December 2012 and/or January 2013, they moved all
of the furnishings from their Utah home to STATE-1, where they had rented an apartment on a six-month lease
(the “STATE-1 apartment”). The STATE-1 apartment was approximately 1,400 square feet in size and had

three bedrooms and two baths. In comparison, the Utah home consists of a 0.25-acre lot and a home with
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1,300 square feet of living space, three bedrooms, and two baths on the main floor. In addition, the Utah home
has an unfinished basement that is also 1,300 square feet in size. For their Utah home, the taxpayers received
the residential exemption from property taxation for the 2013 tax year.

The taxpayers did not list their Utah home for sale when they moved to STATE-1 because they did not
know if they would be remaining in STATE-1 or moving back to Utah after six months. However, they did not
want the Utah home to remain vacant while they were in STATE-1. As a result, the taxpayers arranged for a
family to move into the Utah home rent-free until the taxpayers decided to either sell the home or move back
into it. The taxpayers explained that the family who moved into their Utah home were their friends, not family
members. During the time that this family lived in the taxpayers’ Utah home, it was that family’s primary
residence. This family moved their own furniture into the taxpayers’ Utah home.

Neither taxpayer was enrolled in an institution of higher education during 2013. In addition, the
taxpayers’ only child who attended school during 2013 was their son, who was six years of age in 2013.
During 2013, the taxpayers’ son first attended SCHOOL in, STATE-1 from January 1, 2013 through May 10,
2013, and subsequently attended a Utah public elementary school after the taxpayers returned to Utah on June
21, 2013.

After the taxpayers moved to STATE-1 in December 2012 and/or January 2013, TAXPAYER-2
obtained a STATE-1 doctor. In addition, they had all of their mail changed from their Utah address to their
STATE-1 address. They also had their church records transferred from a Utah unit of their church to a
STATE-1 unit of their church.

However, the taxpayers kept their Utah driver’s licenses and did not obtain STATE-1 driver’s licenses.

In addition, TAXPAYER-1 did not register to vote in STATE-1, but remained registered to vote in Utah.? In

addition, the taxpayer kept both of their motor vehicles registered in Utah, even though they had taken the

3 TAXPAYER-2 has never registered to vote in any state. The Division proffered that Utah voting
-8-
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vehicles with them to STATE-1. TAXPAYER-1 explained that he and his wife did not obtain STATE-1
driver’s licenses, that he did not register to vote in STATE-1, and that they did not register their vehicles in
STATE-1 because they were not sure that the move to STATE-1 was permanent.

In 2014 (after the taxpayers had moved back to Utah), the taxpayers filed a 2013 federal return with a
status of married filing jointly, as well as their 2013 Utah part-year resident return. On both of these returns,
the taxpayers used their Utah address at which they were living at the time of filing. However, in or around
April 2013 (when the taxpayers were living in STATE-1), the taxpayers proffer that they used their STATE-1
address to file their 2012 federal and Utah returns, which the Division did not refute. Other than belonging to
their church, the taxpayers were not members of any organizations or clubs in either Utah or STATE-1 during
2013.

1. Applying the Facts to the Domicile Law in Effect for 2013.

UCA 859-10-103(1)(q)(i)(A) defines a “resident individual” as “an individual who is domiciled in this
state for any period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the
individual is domiciled in this state[.]” For the 2013 tax year, a taxpayer’s domicile for income tax purposes is
determined under Section 59-10-136, which contains four subsections addressing when a taxpayer is
considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsections (1), (2), (3), and (5)) and a fifth subsection addressing when
a taxpayer is not considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsection (4)).# The Commission will refer to these
subsections when determining whether the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the January 1,

2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue.

records show that TAXPAYER-1 voted in Utah in 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, and 2016.

4 Prior to tax year 2012, an individual’s income tax domicile was determined under Utah Admin. Rule
R865-91-2 (2011) (“Rule 2”), which provided, in part, criteria to be used when determining an individual’s
income tax domicile and which referred to a non-exhaustive list of domicile factors in Utah Admin. Rule
R884-24P-52 (2011) (“Rule 52”°) (which is a property tax rule). After the Legislature enacted new criteria in
Section 59-10-136 to determine income tax domicile for the 2012 tax year, Rule 2 was amended to remove any
reference to domicile and to the Rule 52 factors.
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For a married individual, it is often necessary, as in this case, to determine whether that individual is
considered to have a “spouse” for purposes of Section 59-10-136. Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b) provides thata
married individual is not considered to have a spouse for purposes of Section 59-10-136 if the individual is
legally separated or divorced from the individual’s spouse or if the individual and the individual’s spouse file
federal income tax returns with a status of married filing separately. Neither of these circumstances applies to
the taxpayers for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue because the taxpayers were not
legally separated or divorced during this period and because they filed a joint 2013 federal return.
Accordingly, for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue, TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-
2 are both considered to have spouses for purposes of Section 59-10-136.

The taxpayers do not argue that they are not considered to be Utah domiciliaries from January 1, 2013
through June 20, 2013 under Subsection 59-10-136(4). This subsection applies to a taxpayer who is “absent
from the state” if certain requirements are met, one of which is being absent from Utah for at least 761
consecutive days. The taxpayers were absent from Utah for less than 200 days. Accordingly, this subsection is
not applicable to the taxpayers’ circumstances.

As a result, the Commission must analyze whether the taxpayers are considered to have domicile in
Utah for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period under the remaining subsections of Section 59-10-
136 (i.e., under Subsections 59-10-136(1), (2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), and (3)). If an individual meets the criteria
found in any one of these subsections, that individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah, even if the
individual does not meet the criteria found in any of the other subsections.

Subsection 59-10-136(1). The taxpayers are not considered to be domiciled in Utah for the January 1,

2013 through June 20, 2013 period under this subsection because during this period, none of their dependents
attended a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school and because neither taxpayer was a

resident student enrolled in an Utah institution of higher education. As a result, the Commission must
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determine whether the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the period at issue under another
subsection of Section 59-10-136.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). This subsection provides that there is a rebuttable presumption that an

individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse claims the property
tax residential exemption on either the individual’s or individual’s spouse’s primary residence. For the 2013
tax year, which includes the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue, the taxpayers received the
45% residential exemption from property taxes, as allowed under Utah Code Ann. 859-2-103, for their Utah
home.

However, Subsection 59-10-136(6) provides that “whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the residential
property that is the primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be
considered in determining domicile in this state.” The Division contends that the friends the taxpayers allowed
to live in their Utah home while the taxpayers were in STATE-1 should not be considered “tenants” for
purposes of the Subsection 59-10-136(6) exception. The Division argues that these friends should not be
considered tenants because the taxpayers wanted them in the home to watch over it.

The Commission has previously considered a property owner who is absent from his or her home, but
allows a person to live in the home rent-free in exchange for “services like maintaining the property and being
on site to prevent theft or vandalism[.]” Under such circumstances, the person living in the home rent-free is
considered a “tenant” for purposes of Subsection 59-10-136(6), if the home is that person’s primary residence
during the period he or she is living there rent-free.> During the period the taxpayers lived in STATE-1 and

their friends lived in the Utah home rent-free, the friends provided services to watch over the home. In

5 See USTC Appeal No. 15-1063 (Initial Hearing Order Aug. 26, 2016). This and other selected
decisions may be reviewed in a redacted format on the Commission’s website at
http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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addition, because the Utah home was the friends’ only residence during the period at issue, it was their primary
residence during this time. Accordingly, for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue, the
taxpayers’ friends who resided in the Utah home and used it as their primary residence are considered tenants
for purposes of Subsection 59-10-136(6).

For these reasons, Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption concerning the residential exemption does
not even arise. As a result, the taxpayers are not required to rebut this presumption, and they are not
considered to be domiciled in Utah under this subsection. Nevertheless, the Commission must determine
whether the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the period at issue under another subsection
of Section 59-10-136 (i.e., under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b), (2)(c), or (3)).

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b). This subsection provides that there is a rebuttable presumption that an

individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse is registered to vote
in Utah. The evidence shows that TAXPAYER-1 voted in Utah both before and after the January 1, 2013
through June 20, 2013 period at issue. For this reason and because the taxpayers have not shown that
TAXPAYER-1 terminated his Utah voter registration while he lived in STATE-1, the Commission finds that
TAXPAYER-1 was registered to vote in Utah during the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at
issue. Accordingly, under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b), the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah
during the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period, unless they are able to rebut this presumption.
Because Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) involves a rebuttable presumption, the Legislature clearly
intended not only for there to be circumstances where an individual who is registered to vote in Utah is
considered to have domicile in Utah, but also for there to be circumstances where an individual who is

registered to vote in Utah is not considered to have domicile in Utah.® However, the Legislature has not

6 The Legislature did not provide that being registered to vote in Utah is an “absolute” indication of
domicile (as it did in Subsection 59-10-136(1) for an individual who is enrolled as a resident student in a Utah
-12 -
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provided in statute what circumstances will be or will not be sufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
presumption. As a result, it is left to the Commission to delineate between those circumstances that are
sufficient and not sufficient to rebut the presumption.

Although neither taxpayer voted in Utah during the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at
issue, this factor alone is insufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption. Had the
Legislature intended actual voting in Utah to be the event that triggered domicile in Utah, it could have easily
stated so, but it did not. As a result, the Commission is not inclined to find that the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(b) presumption is rebutted by a taxpayer showing that he or she did not vote in Utah despite being
registered to do so.

Furthermore, this presumption is not rebutted on the basis that TAXPAYER-1 was the only one of the
taxpayers who was registered to vote in Utah during the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period. The
Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption provides that an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if the
individual or the individual’s spouse is registered to vote in Utah. Accordingly, TAXPAYER-1 and
TAXPAYER-2 are both considered to be domiciled in Utah even though TAXPAYER-1 was the only one of
the taxpayers who was registered to vote in Utah. This conclusion is supported by the previously-mentioned
Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a), which provides that “[i]f an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.”

Had TAXPAYER-1 also registered to vote in STATE-1, the Commission would have considered
whether this factor would have been sufficient to rebut the presumption. However, TAXPAYER-1 admitted
that he did not register to vote in STATE-1. The taxpayers suggest that they have rebutted the presumption by
showing that they and their children lived in STATE-1 and that TAXPAYER-1 worked in STATE-1 during

the period at issue. Such factors, however, are relevant in determining whether the taxpayers are considered to

institution of higher education or, with certain exceptions, has a dependent enrolled in a Utah public
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be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3). The Commission declines find that an individual can
rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption by showing that he or she would not be considered to have
domicile in Utah under the 12 factors listed in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b). If the Commission were to do so,
one could argue that the Commission was giving no meaning to the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions
(i.e., that it was determining domicile as though the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions did not exist).” For
these reasons, the taxpayers have not rebutted the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) presumption for the January 1,
2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue. Accordingly, both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in
Utah during the period at issue.

Remaining Subsections of Section 59-10-136. Because the Commission has already found that both

taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue,
it is not necessary to determine whether they would also be considered to be domiciled in Utah under another
subsection of Section 59-10-136. However, it may prove useful to make some limited observations about the
two remaining subsections, specifically Subsections 59-10-136(2)(c) and (3).

Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c), there is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to
be domiciled in Utah if “the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of
filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that the individual or the
individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.” This presumption appears to arise because the
taxpayers filed a joint 2013 Utah part-year resident return on which they asserted that they were part-year

residents of Utah from June 21, 2013 through December 31, 2013. However, on this same return, they

kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school).

7 This conclusion is further supported by the plain language of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a), which

provides that a person may be considered to be domiciled in Utah subject to Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) “if the

requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met[.]” As a result, the provisions of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b)

only come into play if neither Subsection 59-10-136(1) nor one of the presumptions of Subsection 59-10-
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asserted that they were Utah non-residents from January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013, which is consistent
with their position that they were residents of STATE-1, not Utah, during this period. As a result, it appears
that the taxpayers could sufficiently rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(c) presumption for the January 1, 2013
through June 20, 2013 period at issue. Regardless, the Commission has already found that both taxpayers are
considered to be domiciled in Utah for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue pursuant to
Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b).

Lastly, under Subsection 59-10-136(3), an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah based on
the preponderance of the evidence shown by 12 facts and circumstances specifically identified in Subsection
59-10-136(3)(b). Because both taxpayers have already been found to be domiciled in Utah for the January 1,
2013 through June 20, 2013 period under Section 59-10-136(2)(b) and because neither party specifically
addressed the 12 factors of Subsection 59-10-136(3), the Commission will not determine in this order whether
the taxpayers are also considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3). However, the
Commission notes that a cursory review of the facts and circumstances appear to indicate that for the January
1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue, 3 of the 12 facts and circumstances are not applicable, 4 of the
12 factors suggest a Utah domicile, and 5 of the 12 factors suggest a STATE-1 domicile.

Domicile — Conclusion. Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b), both taxpayers are considered to be

domiciled in Utah for the January 1, 2013 through June 20, 2013 period at issue. As a result, both taxpayers
are full-year Utah resident individuals for the 2013 tax year, even though they were living in STATE-1 for a
portion of the year.
1. Taxpayers’ Other Argument.

The taxpayers do not believe that Utah should tax their income for the January 1, 2013 through June

20, 2013 period at issue, even if they are considered to be domiciled in Utah for this period. The taxpayers

136(2) applies.
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acknowledge that STATE-1 does impose an income tax. However, they contend that STATE-1 makes up for
not imposing an income tax by imposing higher sales taxes and property taxes, to which they were subject
while living in STATE-1. As a result, the taxpayers do not believe that should be required to pay any
additional taxes, including Utah income taxes, for the period at issue.

To avoid double taxation, most states, like Utah, provide a credit for income taxes paid to another
state. Utah provides for such a credit in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-1003. However, because STATE-1 does not
impose an income tax, the taxpayers did not pay any income taxes to STATE-1. Accordingly, the credit
afforded under Section 59-10-1003 is not applicable to this case. Furthermore, the Legislature has not
provided a credit for other taxes that an individual may pay to another state. The taxpayers may be suggesting
that the Commission should change or amend Utah law to effectuate what they may consider to be a better tax
policy. The Commission’s role, however, is to implement the laws that exist. Changing or amending current
Utah law is the role of the Legislature. After analyzing the income tax domicile law (i.e., Section 59-10-136)
that is applicable to the 2013 tax year, the Commission finds that the Division’s assessment of additional
income taxes under this law is appropriate.

V. Conclusion.

The taxpayers have not met their burden of proof to show that they do not owe the additional taxes that

the Division imposed in its assessment for the 2013 tax year. Accordingly, the Commission should sustain the

Division’s assessment in its entirety.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s 2013 assessment in its entirety. Itis
so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order will
become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be
mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal
number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of ,2017.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from this
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.
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