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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 Petitioner (“Property Owner”) brings this appeal from the decision of the COUNTY-1 

Council-Tax Administration (“County”) under Utah Code §59-2-1217 in which the County 

denied the Property Owner the homeowner’s circuit breaker property tax relief for the 2016 tax 

year. This matter was argued before the Utah State Tax Commission in an Initial Hearing on 

February 28, 2017, in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

  Circuit Breaker Property Tax Relief is provided for at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1208 as 

follows: 
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(1)(a) Subject to Subsections (2) and (4), for calendar years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2007, a claimant may claim a homeowner’s credit that does not 

exceed the following amounts . . . 

 

 The statute specifically defines “claimant” to be the following at Utah Code Subsection 

59-2-1202(1)(a): 

“Claimant” means a homeowner or renter who: (i) has filed a claim under this 

part; (ii) is domiciled in this state for the entire calendar year for which a claim 

for relief is filed under this part; and (iii) on or before December 31 of the year 

for which a claim for relief is filed under this part, is: (A) 65 years of age or older 

if the person was born on or before December 31, 1942; (B) 66 years of age or 

older if the person was born on or after January 1, 1943, but on or before 

December 31, 1959; or (C) 67 years of age or older if the person was born on or 

after January 1, 1960. 

Circuit breaker property tax relief is based on “household income.”  “Household income” 

and “income” are defined at Utah Code Subsections 59-2-1202(5) & (6) as follows: 

(5) “Household income” means all income received by all persons of a household 

in: (a) the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which property taxes are 

due . . . 

 

(6)(a)(i) “Income” means the sum of: (A) federal adjusted gross income as 

defined in Section 2, Internal Revenue Code; and (B) all nontaxable income as 

defined in Subsection (6)(b). 

(ii) “Income” does not include: (A) aid, assistance, or contributions from 

a tax-exempt nongovernmental source; (B) surplus foods; (C) relief in 

kind supplied by a public or private agency; or (D) relief provided under 

this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109. 

 

(b) For purposes of Subsection (6)(a)(i), “nontaxable income” means amounts 

excluded from adjusted gross income under the Internal Revenue Code, 

including:  

 

(i) capital gains; (ii) loss carry forwards claimed during the taxable year 

in which a claimant files for relief under this part,  Section 59-2-1108, or 

Section 59-2-1109; (iii) depreciation claimed pursuant to the Internal 

Revenue Code by a claimant on the residence for which the claimant 

files for relief under this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109; 

(iv) support money received; (v) nontaxable strike benefits; (vi) cash 

public assistance or relief; (vii) the gross amount of a pension or annuity, 

including benefits under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 U.S.C. 

Sec. 231 et seq., and veterans disability pensions; (viii) payments 

received under the Social Security Act; (ix) state unemployment 

insurance amounts; (x) nontaxable interest received from any source; 
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(xi)workers’ compensation; (xii) the gross amounts of “loss of time” 

insurance; and (xiii) voluntary contributions to a tax-deferred retirement 

plan.  

  

 

 A person has the right to appeal the denial of this property tax relief under Utah Code 

Sec. 59-2-1217 as follows: 

Any person aggrieved by the denial in whole or in part of relief claimed 

under this part, except when the denial is based upon late filing of claim 

for relief, may appeal the denial to the commission by filing a petition 

within 30 days after the denial. 

Utah Admin. Rule R865-9I-34(A) provides that it is the number of persons residing in the 

household as of January 1 that constitutes “household” for purposes of this tax relief as follows: 

“Household” is determined as follows: 1. For purposes of the homeowner’s credit 

under Section 59-2-1208, household shall be determined as of January 1 of the 

year in which the claim under that section is filed.   

 

DISCUSSION 

The Property Owner had timely filed an application to the County for the 2016 circuit 

breaker property tax relief for the tax assessment on his residence. The County denied the circuit 

breaker property tax relief for the 2016 tax year because the Property Owner’s “household 

income,” as defined by Utah Code Subsections 59-2-1202(5)&(6), exceeded the income limit for 

the 2016 tax year.  In order to qualify for this property tax relief in 2016, the “household income” 

limit was $$$$$.  For purposes of determining eligibility for the property tax relief, “household 

income” is based on the 2015 income and it includes the income of every member in the 

household. In this appeal, the household consisted of PETITIONER and PETITIONER’S WIFE.  

The County found that the Property Owner’s “household income” under Utah Code Subsections 

59-2-1202(5)&(6) was $$$$$, which was just $$$$$ over the maximum limit allowed.  

At the hearing, the County provided copies of Forms SSA-1099 for both of the Property 

Owners as well as a Form 1099-R that showed an IRA distribution.  These forms showed that the 

Property Owner had received income during 2015 as follows: 

 

Social Security –  PETITIONER      $$$$$ 

Social Security –  PETITIONER’S WIFE    $$$$$ 

IRA Distribution- PETITIONER’S WIFE    $$$$$ 

           $$$$$ 
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 The Property Owner explained that they had to withdraw money from their IRA to help 

with medical costs incurred when PETITIONER’S WIFE had a surgery.  He explained that he is 

88 years old and that he and his wife had been receiving the circuit breaker property tax relief for 

years. They had no idea that the withdrawal from their IRA would put them just $6.00 over the 

limit for the property tax relief.  He stated that had they known, they would have done things 

differently. 

 The County’s representative points out that under Utah Code Subsections 59-2-

1202(5)&(6), “household income” includes both federal adjusted gross income and nontaxable 

income.  In this case, all of the IRA distribution had been reported on the Form 1099-R as taxable 

income.1 Utah Code Subsection 59-2-1202(6) specifies that the types of nontaxable income that 

constitute “household income” include “the gross amount of a pension or annuity” and “payments 

received under the Social Security Act,” among other types of income. The County followed the 

statutory provisions and calculated out that the Property Owner was just over the maximum 

income limit to qualify for the circuit breaker property tax relief.  The County’s representative 

pointed out that there is no provision in the law that allows discretion to either the County or the 

Tax Commission to extend the limit.  In addition, the County noted that the property tax relief is a 

graduated amount that decreases as the household income increases, up to the maximum limit 

amount.  Had the Property Owners not taken out the IRA distribution, the amount of relief they 

would have received would have been $$$$$, based on their Social Security income. The County 

agreed that the situation was unfortunate, as had the Property Owners known how near they were 

to the limit, they could have taken less of a distribution.   The County stated, regardless, there was 

no basis in the law to issue the circuit breaker tax relief to the Property Owner.  The County did 

provide a prior Tax Commission decision in which the Commission had concluded it did not have 

discretion to allow the circuit breaker tax relief based on hardship.2  

After reviewing the information provided at the hearing and the applicable law, the 

County was correct that the Property Owner did not qualify for circuit breaker property tax relief, 

as the “household income” was too high to qualify for the 2016 tax year under Utah Code Sec. 

                                                           
1 However, even if some portion of the gross amount of the distribution had been listed as not taxable, the 

untaxable amount may also have been added. See Khan v. Tax Commission, 2016 UT App 142, ¶19, in 

which the Utah Court of Appeals did look at the statutory definition of “household income” at Utah Code 

Subsection 59-2-1202(6) and specifically added nontaxable IRA distributions in its application of that 

provision. 
2 The County cited to Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Final 

Decision, Appeal No. 15-460 (January 19, 2016).  This and other Tax Commission decisions are published 

in a redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions. 
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59-2-1208. There is no provision in the law that grants the Tax Commission discretion to allow 

this credit where the “household income” is over the statutory limit. 

 

   Jane Phan 

   Administrative Law Judge 

 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies the Property Owner’s appeal of the 

County’s decision regarding circuit breaker tax relief for the 2016 tax year. It is so ordered.     

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

or emailed to: 

taxappeals@utah.gov 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2017. 

 

 

 

 

John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 

 

 

 

Robert P. Pero    Rebecca L. Rockwell  

Commissioner       Commissioner  
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