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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on April 24, 2017 for an Initial 

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) had appealed Utah 

individual income tax audit deficiencies under Utah Code §59-1-501 for tax years 2012, 2013 and 

2014.  Respondent (“Division”) had issued the Notices of Deficiency and Audit Change on April 

14, 2016, on the basis that the Taxpayers were full year Utah resident individuals for income tax 

purposes.  It was the Taxpayers’ position that they were not Utah resident individuals. The 

Taxpayers had filed nonresident Utah returns for the years at issue on which they had claimed 

income they felt was sourced to Utah.  No penalties were assessed with the audits. The amounts 



Appeal No. 16-792 

 

2 
 

of additional tax and interest due as of the date the Notices of Deficiency were issued are as 

follows: 

 

 

 Tax  Interest1 Penalties Total as of Notice Date 

2012  $$$$$  $$$$$  $0  $$$$$ 

2013  $$$$$  $$$$$  $0  $$$$$ 

2014  $$$$$  $$$$$  $0  $$$$$    

 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah imposes income tax on individuals who are residents of the state, in Utah Code 

Subsection 59-10-104(1) as follows: 

. . . . a tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a resident individual as 

provided in this section . . . . 

 

Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q) as follows: 

(q)(i) "Resident individual" means: 

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the 

taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual 

is domiciled in this state; or 

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: (I) maintains a place of 

abode in this state; and (II) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the 

taxable year in this state.   

 

Beginning with the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding what constituted 

domicile in the state of Utah.  This was a substantial change in law and one that governs all tax 

years at issue in this appeal. Utah Code §59-10-136 provides as follows:  

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: 

(i)    except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to 

whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal 

exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal 

individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten, 

public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or 

(ii)   the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in                      

        accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution   

        of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state. 

      (b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have  

            domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with   

            Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual: 

 (i)     is the noncustodial parent of a dependent: 

                                                           
1 Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance until paid in full. 



Appeal No. 16-792 

 

3 
 

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal 

exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax 

return; and 

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary 

school, or public secondary school in this state; and 

            (ii)  is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in  

                   Subsection (1)(b)(i). 

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have 

domicile in this state if: 

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in  

       accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or 

individual's spouse's primary residence; 

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state 

in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or 

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for 

purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, 

including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-

year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the 

individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state. 

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not  

            met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual   

            is considered to have domicile in this state if: 

(i)    the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state 

to which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being 

absent; and 

(ii)  the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's 

or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or 

temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home. 

(b)  The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this  

       State under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the  

       evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and   

       circumstances: 

(i)      whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver 

license in this state; 

(ii)     whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the 

individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's 

or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a 

resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is 

enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section 

53B-2-101 in this state; 

(iii)    the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the 

individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared 

to another state; 

(iv)    the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to 

whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal 

exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal 

individual income tax return; 

(v)      the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section 

32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the 

individual's spouse; 
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 (vi)    the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse; 

(vii)   whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a 

church, a club, or another similar organization in this state; 

(viii)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in  

  this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official 

government publication, other correspondence, or another similar 

item; 

(ix)    whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in 

this state on a state or federal tax return; 

 (x)    whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency 

in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax 

return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or 

other governmental entity; 

(xi)    the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a 

permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for 

which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have 

domicile; or 

(xii)   whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection 

(1)(b). 

            (4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other  

                        provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have  

                        domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications: 

(i)     except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and 

the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 

consecutive days; and 

(ii)    during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the 

individual nor the individual's spouse: 

                       (A)   return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year; 

                      (B)   claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's  

                                            spouse's federal individual income tax return with respect to         

                                            a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public    

                                            elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,  

                                            unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection      

                                            (1)(b); 

             (C)  are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8- 

                                            102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education  

                                            described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state; 

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, 

Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's 

primary residence; or 

(E)   assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's 

spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes. 

(b)  Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the 

qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile 

in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by 

filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident 

individual. 

                 (c)  For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state: 

(i)     begins on the later of the date: 

(A)  the individual leaves this state; or 
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(B)  the individual's spouse leaves this state; and 

 (ii)    ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to  

                                   this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this  

                                   state for more than 30 days in a calendar year. 

(d)    An individual shall file an individual income tax return or amended 

individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable 

interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if: 

 (i)     the individual did not file an individual income tax return or 

amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on 

the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications 

of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this 

state; and 

 (ii)    the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a 

qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have 

domicile in this state. 

(e)     (i)     Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files  

                  an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax  

                  return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty  

                  imposed under Section 59-1-401. 

(ii)   The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-

401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection 

(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual 

income tax return under this chapter: 

(A)   files the individual income tax return or amended individual 

income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to 

meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered 

to have domicile in this state; and 

(B)   within the 105-day period described in Subsection 

(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any 

interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable 

penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty 

under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5). 

            (5) (a)     If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance  

                           with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile  

                           in this state. 

(b)    For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a 

spouse if: 

(i)    the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or 

(ii)   the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing 

separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual 

income tax return for the taxable year. 

(c)    Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, 

an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a 

return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining 

whether an individual has a spouse. 

            (6)  For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's  

                  spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property  

                  Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant  

                  of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in  

                  determining domicile in this state. 

 

http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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The applicable statutes generally provide that the taxpayers bear the burden of proof in 

proceedings before the Tax Commission.  Utah Code Sec. 59-1-1417 provides:  

In a proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner. .  . 

 

 

DISCUSSION 

The Division based its audit on the assertion that the Taxpayers were Utah resident 

individuals for income tax purposes for all of 2012 through 2014.  It was the Taxpayers position 

that they were residents of the FOREIGN COUNTRY and the Taxpayers had filed Utah returns 

as nonresident individuals with some Utah source income. The issue in this appeal is whether the 

Taxpayers were “resident individuals” in the state of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-

10-104.  Under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-103, a resident individual is one who is “domiciled” in 

Utah, or if not “domiciled” in Utah, is one who maintains a place of abode in this state and 

spends in the aggregate 183 days or more per year in Utah. The Division argues that both 

Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah during the audit years.  At the hearing the Taxpayers argued 

that the Commission should weigh a totality of all the facts and that the weight would support that 

the Taxpayer, TAXPAYER-1, was not domiciled in Utah.  The Taxpayers also argued that  

TAXPAYER-2 was only in Utah for special and temporary purposes. The bulk of the income 

earned at issue was from TAXPAYER-1’s employment and his employment was primarily in the 

FOREIGN COUNTRY. Although a weighing of the totality of a number of factors was a 

consideration for tax years prior to 2012, the Utah Legislature adopted Utah Code Sec. 59-10-

136, effective for tax year 2012, which specifically provides what constitutes being domiciled in 

Utah during the audit years.  

The Division argues that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah under Utah Code 

Subsection 59-10-136(2). Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2) provides, “there is a rebuttable 

presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this state if: (a) the individual or 

the individual’s spouse claims a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property 

Tax Act, for the individual’s or individual’s spouse’s primary residence” or “(b) the individual or 

the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, 

Voter Registration .  .   .”  The Division also points to Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5) which 

provides that for spouses who file federal returns with the status of married filing jointly and who 

are not divorced or legally separated, if one spouse is domiciled in Utah, the other spouse is 

considered to be domiciled in Utah.  Because TAXPAYER-1 & TAXPAYER-2 filed their federal 

returns with a status of married filing jointly and because they were not legally separated or 
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divorced during the tax years in question, they are considered to be spouses under Utah’s 

domicile laws and if one is domiciled in Utah the other spouse is also domiciled in Utah. 

The Taxpayers explained that they basically left Utah in 1984 and had been living out of 

Utah since that time.  They had been living and working in STATE-1 from 1996 through 2001. In 

2001, TAXPAYER-1 had an assignment in Italy. Although they were living and working in 

FORIEN COUNTRY-2 from 2001 through 2004, in 2001 they did purchase a residence in CITY-

1, Utah, which they considered to be a vacation home.  They had sold the home they left in 

STATE-1.  TAXPAYER-2’s mother resided in Utah and some of the couple’s children were 

attending UNIVERSITY in Utah.  They stated that this residence was near to recreational areas.  

After the assignment in FORIEN COUNTRY-2 they moved back to STATE-1 for a few years, 

then moved to STATE-2 from 2006 to 2009. Although they had bought and sold residential 

properties in these states as TAXPAYER-1 changed employment, they did retain their Utah 

residence from 2001 to the present. In 2009 the Taxpayers moved from STATE-2 to the 

FOREIGN COUNTRY for TAXPAYER-1’s employment.  They sold their STATE-2 residence.   

TAXPAYER-1’s employment in the FOREIGN COUNTRY lasted from 2009 through 2016. In 

2011 TAXPAYER-2 returned to Utah because her mother was elderly and needed assistance.   

TAXPAYER-2 moved her mother into the CITY-1, Utah residence and stayed with her to take 

care of her until her mother died in July of 2012.  Later in 2012 the TAXTAPERS’ son-in-law 

was diagnosed with leukemia. Their daughter and son-in-law had four young children and were 

living out of state.  They determined it was better to move this family to Utah, into their CITY-1, 

Utah residence so their son-in-law could receive medical treatment in this state. This prolonged  

TAXPAYER-2’s stay in Utah, so she could help with her young grandchildren during this 

situation. Their son-in-law died in September 2013, but TAXPAYER-2 felt that she needed to 

stay in Utah to help her daughter and the grandchildren through this difficult time.  All the time 

that family members stayed in the Taxpayers’ CITY-1 residence, the Taxpayers did not charge 

them rent and it did not appear that they could be considered tenants.2 

 TAXPAYER-2 registered to vote in Utah and did vote in person in Utah in elections in 

2012, 2013 2014 and by mail in 2015.  She also obtained a Utah Driver License in April 2012.  

For the tax years at issue, the Taxpayers received the primary residential property tax exemption 

on their residence in CITY-1 Utah.  At the hearing, it was their position that they were not aware 

                                                           
2 The Tax Commission did consider what constitutes being a “tenant” for purposes of Utah Code Sec. 59-

10-136(6) in Utah State Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order, Appeal No. 15-1063 (8/26/16). This and 

other Tax Commission decisions are published and available for review in a redacted format at 

tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions. 
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that they were even receiving this exemption, nor were they aware of the implications of 

receiving this exemption under the new tax law that became effective for tax year 2012.  

While TAXPAYER-2 was staying in Utah, TAXPAYER-1 did spend some time in Utah 

as well.  However, the Division does not dispute that most of  TAXPAYER-1’s time was spent in 

the FOREIGN COUNTRY where he had full time employment, an expensive residence which he 

leased, a car, and other contacts in that country.  When in Utah TAXPAYER-1 did work remotely 

for his employment in the FOREIGN COUNTRY and he had claimed on his nonresident Utah 

returns the income he earned while in Utah. The Company he worked for was headquartered in 

STATE-3, so TAXPAYER-1 did frequently travel back and forth from the FOREIGN 

COUNTRY to the United States for meetings in STATE-3.  He also attended board meetings and 

meetings with clients in STATE-4, STATE-5 and STATE-6.  He had filed nonresident returns in 

STATE-4, STATE-5 and STATE-6 claiming the income he earned in these individual states.3  

Regarding returns, TAXPAYER-1 also filed returns and paid taxes to the FOREIGN COUNTRY.  

He received the government healthcare and became part of the government retirement system in 

the FOREIGN COUNTRY.  

 TAXPAYER-1 obtained a Utah Driver License in March 2012. He explained that a 

driver license issued by a state in the United States made it much more convenient to travel 

within the United States.  Utah was the only state at this time where they owned a residence, so 

he had obtained a Utah Driver License and used his CITY-1, Utah property as the address for his 

license.  

The Division argues that both Taxpayers are domiciled in Utah under the rebuttable 

presumptions for domicile at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2). Utah Code Subsection 59-10-

136(2)(a) provides that the individual is presumed domiciled in Utah if they or their spouse 

claims the residential exemption. The Taxpayers received the primary residential exemption on 

their Utah residence.  TAXPAYER-2 also was registered to vote in Utah, so under Subsection 59-

10-136(2)(b) both TAXPAYER-1 and  TAXPAYER-2 are presumed to have domicile in Utah.  

These are rebuttable presumptions. The Tax Commission has previously considered what factors 

would rebut this presumption in Utah State Tax Commission, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of 

Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (September 21, 2015).4 In that case the Commission 

concluded at page 9: 

                                                           
3 The Division’s representative stated that the Division had given the Taxpayers credit for the taxes paid in 

these other states.   
4 This and other Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a redacted format at: 

tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions. 
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Therefore, having made the fact that a taxpayer receives a primary residential 

exemption on a Utah residence a rebuttable presumption separate from 

Subsection 59-10-136(3) indicates the intent was something more stringent than a 

preponderance of the evidence of the common domicile factors listed in 

Subsection 136(3).  It follows that to rebut the presumption set out at Subsection 

136(2)(a) a taxpayer would have to show something other than a preponderance 

of the domicile factors, for example that the taxpayer had taken the proper steps 

to notify the County that they no longer qualified for the exemption and the 

County then in error continued to leave the property in that status, or that there 

was a tenant in the property and the tenant used it as his or her primary residence, 

which would allow the property to qualify based on the tenant’s use. 

 

The Taxpayers asserted in this hearing that they were unaware of the implications of 

receiving this exemption or even that they were receiving it on their Utah residence. In 2012 and 

going forward the Individual Income Tax TC-40 Forms & Instructions were revised to reflect this 

change and the Form TC-40 revised to add a provision, Part 7, where a property owner was to 

check if they were no longer eligible to claim the residential exemption on their property. If the 

Taxpayers no longer considered their Utah residence to be their primary residence, they had the 

affirmative requirement to notify the county that they no longer qualified pursuant to Utah Code 

Subsection 59-2-103.5(5).  In prior decisions other taxpayers have argued that they did not have 

knowledge of the receipt of this exemption or the implications to domicile for receiving this 

exemption and the Tax Commission has concluded that ignorance of the law is not sufficient to 

rebut the presumption of domicile under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136(2).5 

Additionally, under Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) both Taxpayers are presumed 

to have domicile in Utah because  TAXPAYER-2 was registered to vote in Utah.  The Taxpayers 

offered nothing to rebut this presumption.  Similar to the analysis above regarding the primary 

residence property tax exemption, a weighing of general factors set out in Utah Code 59-10-

136(3) is not sufficient to rebut this presumption.   TAXPAYER-2 was both registered in Utah 

and voted in Utah.  She did not show that she had tried to unregister or had registered in another 

state.   TAXPAYER-2 actually lived at their residence in Utah during all of the audit years at 

issue and the family members who stayed with her during this time period were not tenanats.  The 

Taxpayers have failed to rebut the presumptions set out in Utah Code Subsections 59-10-

136(2)(a)&(b) and therefore are found to have domicile in Utah.  This makes them Utah resident 

individuals subject to tax on all of their income, consistent with the Division’s audit. 

  

 
    

                                                           
5 See Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 14-30 (9/2/2015); and Initial 

Hearing Order, Appeal No. 16-117(1/18/17). 
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   Jane Phan 

   Administrative Law Judge 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s audit deficiencies of 

additional Utah individual income tax and the interest accrued thereon for tax years 2012 through 

2014.  It is so ordered.  

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

or emailed to: 

taxappeals@utah.gov 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

  

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2017. 
 

 

 

 

John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 

 

 

 

Robert P. Pero    Rebecca L. Rockwell  

Commissioner       Commissioner  

  

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.  

mailto:taxappeals@utah.gov

