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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the

provisions of Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5, on July 27, 2016.

TAXPAYER-1 and TAXPAYER-2 (“Petitioners” or “taxpayers’) have appealed Auditing Division’s

(the “Division”) assessments of additional individual income tax for the 2012 and 2013 tax years. On

November 12, 2015, the Division issued Notices of Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax to the taxpayers, in

which it imposed additional tax, penalties, and interest (calculated as of October 9, 2015)* for these years, as

follows:

1 Interest continues to accrue until any tax liability is paid.
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Year Tax? Penalties Interest Total
2012 $5$$$ $5$$$ $553$ $5$3$
2013 $$$$$ P53 P55 P55

The taxpayers filed joint federal income tax returns for the 2012 and 2013 tax years, but filed separate
Utah returns for these two years. TAXPAYER-2 filed Utah resident returns for 2012 and 2013, while
TAXPAYER-1 filed Utah nonresident returns (on which he reported his Utah source income or losses) for
these years. The taxpayers also filed joint STATE-1 nonresident returns on which they reported royalty income
from oil and gas interests that TAXPAYER-2 owns in STATE-1.

The Division determined that both taxpayers were domiciled in Utah during the 2012 and 2013 tax
years. As aresult, the Division also determined that TAXPAYER-1 was a Utah resident individual for 2012
and 2013 and, thus, could not file separate Utah returns for these years on which he claimed to be a Utah
nonresident. Based on these determinations, the Division assessed the taxpayers as though they were both full-
year Utah resident individuals for the 2012 and 2013 tax years.?

The taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-2 was domiciled in Utah during 2012 and 2013. However,
they contend that TAXPAYER-1 was domiciled in STATE-2 during these years. In addition, they contend that
TAXPAYER-1 spent less than 183 days in Utah during each year at issue. As a result, they contend that
TAXPAYER-1 isa STATE-2 resident individual and a Utah nonresident individual. The taxpayers also assert
that where one spouse is a Utah resident individual and the other spouse is not, Utah laws allows for the
spouses to file separate Utah returns. For these reasons, the taxpayers ask the Commission to find that they

properly filed their 2012 and 2013 Utah tax returns and to overturn the Division’s assessments.

2 At the hearing, the Division stated that its tax assessments do not reflect payments that TAXPAYER-2
has previously made for the years at issue, specifically her prior payments of $$$$$ for the 2012 tax year and
$$$$$ for the 2013 tax year.

3 In its assessments, the Division allowed credits for income taxes paid to STATE-1.
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The Division contends that under the “new” domicile law that became effective for tax year 2012, an
individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if his or her spouse is considered to be domiciled in Utah,
unless specific conditions are met. Because the taxpayers do not meet these specific conditions and because
TAXPAYER-2 is domiciled in Utah during 2012 and 2013, the Division contends that TAXPAYER-1 is also
considered to be domiciled in Utah during these years. For these reasons, the Division asks the Commission to
find that both taxpayers are Utah resident individuals for the 2012 and 2013 tax years and to sustain its
assessments (subject to credits for the taxes that TAXPAYER-2 has previously paid to Utah for these years).

APPLICABLE LAW

1. Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104(1) (2012)*, “a tax is imposed on the state taxable income
of a resident individual[.]”

2. For purposes of Utah income taxation, a “resident individual” is defined in UCA §59-10-
103(2)(q)(i), as follows in pertinent part:

(i) “Resident individual” means:
(A) anindividual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during the taxable
year, but only for the duration of the period during which the individual is domiciled in
this state; or
(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:
() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(I1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in this state.

3. Effective for tax year 2012, UCA 859-10-136 provides guidance concerning the determination
of “domicile,” as follows:

(1) (a) Anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state if:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is enrolled in a public
kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

4 All citations are to the 2012 version of the Utah Code and the Utah Administrative Code, unless
otherwise indicated. The substantive law remained the same during 2012 and 2013.
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(if) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in accordance with
Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in
Section 53B-2-101 in this state.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
may not be determined in accordance with Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:
(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:
(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal exemption on the
individual's federal individual income tax return; and
(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public
secondary school in this state; and
(i) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in Subsection
(D(b)().

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have domicile in this

state if:

(a) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in accordance
with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary
residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state in accordance
with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for purposes of
filing an individual income tax return under this chapter, including asserting that the
individual or the individual's spouse is a part-year resident of this state for the portion of
the taxable year for which the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this
state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met
for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual is
considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being absent;
and
(i1) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's or
the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or temporary
purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.
(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the evidence, taking into
consideration the totality of the following facts and circumstances:
(i) whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver license in this state;
(ii) whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the individual's
spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return is a resident student in accordance with Section
53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;
(iii) the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the individual or the
individual's spouse has in this state as compared to another state;
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(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to whom the
individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return;

(v) the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section 32(c)(2),
Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-102 owned or
leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a church, a
club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on
mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official government publication, other
correspondence, or another similar item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in this state on a
state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state on
a document, other than an individual income tax return filed under this chapter, filed
with or provided to a court or other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a permit or license
normally required of a resident of the state for which the individual or the individual's
spouse asserts to have domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other provisions of
this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have domicile in this state if the
individual meets the following qualifications:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and the individual's
spouse are absent from the state for at least 761 consecutive days; and
(i) during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the individual nor
the individual's spouse:
(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;
(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's
federal individual income tax return with respect to a dependent who is enrolled
in a public kindergarten, public elementary school, or public secondary school in
this state, unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection (1)(b);
(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who are enrolled
in an institution of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;
(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax
Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's primary residence; or
(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's spouse's tax home
for federal individual income tax purposes.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the qualifications of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state may elect to be
considered to have domicile in this state by filing an individual income tax return in this
state as a resident individual.
(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:
(i) begins on the later of the date:
(A) the individual leaves this state; or
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(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and
(i) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to this state if the
individual or the individual's spouse remains in this state for more than 30 days in a
calendar year.
(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended individual income
tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable interest imposed under Section 59-1-
402 if:
(i) the individual did not file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter based on the individual's belief that the
individual has met the qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state; and
(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a qualification of Subsection
(4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state.
(e) (i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files an individual
income tax return or amended individual income tax return under Subsection (4)(d)
shall pay any applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401.
(if) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-401(2), (3),
and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection (4)(d) to file an individual
income tax return or amended individual income tax return under this chapter:
(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return within 105 days after the individual fails to meet a qualification of
Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this state; and
(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection (4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full
the tax due on the return, any interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any
applicable penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty under
Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).
(5) (a) If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance with this
section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.
(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a spouse if:
(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or
(it) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing separately filing
status for purposes of filing a federal individual income tax return for the taxable
year.
(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section, an
individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a return filed under
this chapter may not be considered in determining whether an individual has a spouse.
(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's spouse claims
a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for the residential
property that is the primary residence of a tenant of the individual or the individual's spouse
may not be considered in determining domicile in this state.
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4, UCA 859-1-401(13) (2016) provides that “[u]pon making a record of its actions, and upon
reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest

imposed under this part.”
5. Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42(2) (“Rule 42”) (2016) provides guidance concerning the

waiver of penalties and interest, as follows:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are more stringent
than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the taxpayer must prove that the
commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that
contributed to the error.
(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:
(@) Timely Mailing...
(b) Wrong Filing Place...
(c) Death or Serious IlIness...
(d) Unavoidable Absence...
(e) Disaster Relief...
(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...
(g) Tax Commission Office Visit...
(h) Unobtainable Records...
(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...
() First Time Filer...
(K) Bank Error...
(I) Compliance History. . ..
(m) Employee Embezzlement...
(n) Recent Tax Law Change...
(4) Other Considerations for Determining Reasonable Cause.
(@ The commission allows for equitable considerations in determining whether
reasonable cause exists to waive a penalty. Equitable considerations include:
(i) whether the commission had to take legal means to collect the taxes;
(ii) if the error is caught and corrected by the taxpayer;
(iii) the length of time between the event cited and the filing date;
(iv) typographical or other written errors; and
(v) other factors the commission deems appropriate.
(b) Other clearly supported extraordinary and unanticipated reasons for late filing or
payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to comply, may justify a
waiver of the penalty.
(c) In most cases, ignorance of the law, carelessness, or forgetfulness does not constitute
reasonable cause for waiver. Nonetheless, other supporting circumstances may indicate
that reasonable cause for waiver exists.
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(d) Intentional disregard, evasion, or fraud does not constitute reasonable cause for waiver
under any circumstance.
6. For the instant matter, UCA §59-1-1417(1) (2016) provides guidance concerning which party
has the burden of proof, as follows:
(1) Inaproceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:
(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income:
(i) required to be reported; and
(if) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.
DISCUSSION
Pursuant to Subsection 59-1-1417(1), the taxpayers have the burden of proof in this matter. The
taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-2 was domiciled in Utah during 2012 and 2013 and, thus, was a Utah
resident individual for these years. At issue is whether TAXPAYER-1 is also a Utah resident individual for
the 2012 and 2013 tax years. For these years, Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i) provides that a person is a Utah
resident individual under either of two scenarios: 1) if the person is domiciled in Utah (the “domicile test”); or
2) if the person maintains a place of abode in Utah and spends 183 or more days of the taxable year in Utah
(the “183 day test”).
The Division does not assert that TAXPAYER-1 was present in Utah for 183 or more days during
either 2012 or 2013. As a result, the Division has not determined that TAXPAYER-1 is a Utah resident

individual for these years under the 183 day test. Instead, the Division contends that TAXPAYER-1 is
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considered to be domiciled in Utah during 2012 and 2013 and, thus, is a Utah resident individual for these
years under the domicile test.
. Facts.

The taxpayers have been married for many years. TAXPAYER-1 is a licensed Utah attorney who was
a professor in the (X) school at the UNIVERSITY until he retired in 1998. TAXPAYER-1 continues to
provide legal services in the tax and estate planning areas to a very small number of Utah clients. The
taxpayers have owned a home in CITY-1, Utah for many years that is titled in both of their names (the “Utah
home™).> In 1997, the taxpayers purchased a condominium in STATE-2 (the “STATE-2 condominium™). In
2002, TAXPAYER-1 took steps to change his domicile from Utah to STATE-2, including changing his
driver’s license and voter registration from Utah to STATE-2.

Since 2002 and including the 2012 and 2013 tax years at issue, the taxpayers have filed joint federal
returns and separate Utah returns, with TAXPAYER-2 filing Utah resident returns and TAXPAYER-1 filing
Utah nonresident returns.® In 2007, the taxpayers purchased a single-family residence in a gated community in
STATE-2 (the “STATE-2 home”), but kept their STATE-2 condominium as a rental property. The taxpayers
live together and spend parts of each year at their Utah home, at their STATE-2 home, and on vacations around
the world. TAXPAYER-1 explained that while he took steps to change his domicile to STATE-2 in 2002,
TAXPAYER-2 decided that she wanted her domicile to be in Utah and has never taken steps to change it.

TAXPAYER-2 still has a Utah driver’s license and is registered to vote in Utah, as she was during the 2012

5 The taxpayers explained that TAXPAYER-2’s family has owned the property on which the Utah home
is located for more than 100 years and that she inherited the property. TAXPAYER-1 stated that the only
reason his name is on the property’s title is because their mortgage company required it.

6 For the 2012 and 2013 tax years, a STATE-2 address was used for the taxpayers’ joint federal returns
and for TAXPAYER-1 separate Utah nonresident returns. A Utah address was used on the taxpayers’ joint
STATE-1 nonresident returns and on TAXPAYER-2’s separate Utah resident returns.

-9-
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and 2013 tax years at issue.” TAXPAYER-1 states that it is TAXPAYER-2 who claims the property tax
residential exemption and pays the property taxes on the Utah home.

The Utah home consists of #####-acres of land and a number of improvements, including the main
residence in which the taxpayers live, a second residence that is used as a rental property, a barn, and two
detached garages that, together, can accommodate five vehicles. The main residence is approximately ####-
square feet in size. As of the date of the hearing, the Utah home is worth approximately $$$$$. The STATE-2
home is also approximately #####-square feet in size. It has a two-car garage and is situated on #####-acres of
land in a gated community (which offers a number of amenities, such as a pool and park areas). As of the date
of the hearing, the STATE-2 home is worth approximately $$$$3.

The taxpayers did not have any dependents during 2012 and 2013, and they did not attend any school
or university during 2012 or 2013. The taxpayers were also not legally separated or divorced during 2012 or
2013. During the years at issue, the taxpayers owned three vehicles, all of which were registered in Utah.
When the taxpayers visited the STATE-2 home during the 2012 and 2013 tax years, they would take one of the
Utah-registered vehicles to STATE-2 with them. TAXPAYER-1 noted that insurance for a vehicle in CITY-2
is less expensive than insurance for a vehicle in STATE-2. TAXPAYER-2 has been a member of a church in
Utah for many years, including the years at issue. TAXPAYER-1 was not affiliated with a church during 2012
and 2013. TAXPAYER-2 has also been a member of a Utah ladies’ club and has participated in Utah charities
for many years, including the years at issue. TAXPAYER-1 did not indicate that he was a member of any club
or organization in either Utah or STATE-2 during 2012 and 2013.

As mentioned earlier, the taxpayers used both Utah and STATE-2 addresses on the various income tax
returns they filed for the 2012 and 2013 tax years. For these tax years, most of TAXPAYER-1’s tax forms

(1099’s, etc.) were sent to a STATE-2 address, but a few were sent to a Utah address. All of TAXPAYER-2’s

7 TAXPAYER-2 voted in Utah elections twice in 2012 and twice in 2013.
-10 -
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tax forms were sent to a Utah address. In addition, the records for TAXPAYER-1’s STATE-2 driver’s license
shows that he listed a Utah address as his “mailing address” and a STATE-2 address as his “physical address.”
1. Applying the Facts to the Domicile Law in Effect for 2012 and 2013.

UCA 859-10-103(1)(q)(i)(A) defines a “resident individual” as “an individual who is domiciled in this
state for any period of time during the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which the
individual is domiciled in this state[.]” For the 2012 and 2013 tax years, a taxpayer’s domicile for income tax
purposes is determined under Section 59-10-136, which contains four subsections addressing when a taxpayer
is considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsections (1), (2), (3), and (5)) and a fifth subsection addressing
when a taxpayer is not considered to have domicile in Utah (Subsection (4)).8

The taxpayers do not claim that Subsection 59-10-136(4) applies to them. Had Subsection 59-10-
136(4) applied to the taxpayers, they would not be considered to be domiciled in Utah. It appears that the
taxpayers were correct when they did not argue that Subsection 59-10-136(4) was applicable because one or
both of them has been present in Utah more than 30 days in a calendar year and because they claimed a
property tax residential exemption on their Utah home. As a result, the Commission must determine whether
either or both of the taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah under the remaining subsections of
Section 59-10-136. The taxpayers admit that TAXPAYER-2 is domiciled in Utah, but do not indicate whether
she is domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1), (2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), (3), and/or (5). The Division

claims that because TAXPAYER-2 is domiciled in Utah and because the taxpayers do not meet either of the

8 Prior to tax year 2012, an individual’s income tax domicile was determined under Utah Admin. Rule
R865-91-2 (2011) (“Rule 2”), which provided, in part, criteria to be used when determining an individual’s
income tax domicile and which referred to a non-exhaustive list of domicile factors in Utah Code Ann. R884-
24P-52 (2011) (“Rule 52”) (which is a property tax rule). After the Legislature enacted new criteria in Section
59-10-136 to determine income tax domicile for the 2012 tax year, Rule 2 was amended to remove any
reference to domicile and to the Rule 52 factors. As a result, the version of Rule 2 in effect for the 2012 and
2013 tax years at issue is not controlling for purposes of determining income tax domicile. Rule 52 is still used
to determine a person’s domicile for property tax purposes (i.e., specifically to determine whether a person
qualifies to claim the property tax residential exemption). However, Rule 52 is also not controlling for
-11 -
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two criteria set forth in Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b), TAXPAYER-1 is also considered to be domiciled in Utah
under Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a).

Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a) provides that “[i]f an individual is considered to have domicile in this state
in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.” However,
Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b) provides that an individual is not considered to have a spouse for purposes of
Section 59-10-136 if either of two exceptions exist, specifically: 1) the married couple are legally separated or
divorced; or 2) the married couple file federal returns with a status of married filing separately. If either
exception exists, an individual is not considered to have a spouse under Section 59-10-136, and Subsection 59-
10-136(5)(a) would have no application to the spouse of such an individual. In the instant case, the taxpayers
do not meet either of the exceptions set forth in Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b) because they were not legally
separated or divorced in 2012 and/or 2013 and because they filed joint federal returns for these years.
Accordingly, each of the taxpayers is considered to have a spouse for purposes of Section 59-10-136.

Because the taxpayers have admitted that TAXPAYER-2 is domiciled in Utah and because
TAXPAYER-1 is considered to be TAXPAYER-2’s spouse for purposes of Section 59-10-136, it would
appear, at first glance, that TAXPAYER-1 would also be considered to have domicile in Utah, pursuant to
Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a). However, Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a) only applies to TAXPAYER-1 if
TAXPAYER-2 is considered to have domicile in Utah “in accordance with this section” (i.e., in accordance
with one of the remaining subsections of Section 59-10-136). As a result, it may be helpful to discuss how the
remaining subsections of Section 59-10-136 apply to this case.

The remaining subsections under which one or both of the taxpayers may be considered to be
domiciled in Utah are Subsections 59-10-136(1), (2)(2), (2)(b), (2)(c), and (3). If an individual meets the

criteria found in any one of these subsections, that individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah, even if the

purposes of determining income tax domicile for the 2012 and 2013 tax years.
-12 -
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individual does not meet the criteria found in any of the other subsections. Neither of the taxpayers are
considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(1) because they had no dependents who were
enrolled in a Utah public kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school in 2012 or 2013 and because neither of
the taxpayers were enrolled as a resident student in a Utah institution of higher education during these years.
Nevertheless, as will be explained below, it appears that both taxpayers may be considered to be domiciled in
Utah under each of the remaining subsections (Subsections 59-10-136(2)(a), (2)(b), (2)(c), and (3)).

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). Under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), there is a rebuttable presumption that

both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah in 2012 and 2013 because they claimed a property tax
residential exemption on their Utah home for these years.® TAXPAYER-1 explains that he is on the title of the
Utah home only because the mortgage company required it and that he is not the spouse who pays the property
taxes assessed to the Utah home. TAXPAYER-1 may be suggesting that Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) provides
two separate and distinct presumptions of domicile (one that applies to him and one to his wife) and that he
should be able to separately rebut the presumption that applies to him on the basis that he was not the spouse
who claimed the residential exemption. Such an interpretation, however, would be contrary to the plain
language of the statute.

Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) provides that there is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is
considered to be domiciled in Utah if the individual or the individual’s spouse claims the exemption. Even if
TAXPAYER-2 had owned the Utah home in her name only and was the only one who claimed the residential
exemption, TAXPAYER-1 would still have been an individual whose spouse claimed the exemption.
Accordingly, under this hypothetical, TAXPAYER-1 would also be considered to be domiciled in Utah unless

the taxpayers were able to rebut the presumption arising from TAXPAYER-2’s actions.'® In other words,

9 The Division argued that TAXPAYER-1, as well as TAXPAYER-2, may be considered to be
domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a).
10 Admittedly, if neither taxpayer was considered to have a spouse for purposes of Section 59-10-136
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regardless of whether TAXPAYER-2 alone or the taxpayers together claimed the residential exemption on the
Utah home for 2012 and 2013, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) rebuttable presumption applies to the taxpayers
together.

Because Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) involves a rebuttable presumption, the Legislature clearly
intended not only for there to be circumstances where an individual who claims a residential exemption is
considered to have domicile in Utah, but also for there to be circumstances where an individual who claims a
residential exemption is not considered to have domicile in Utah.'! However, the Legislature has not provided
in statute what circumstances will be or will not be sufficient to rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption.’? As a result, it is left to the Commission to delineate between those circumstances that are
sufficient and not sufficient to rebut the presumption.

The Commission has previously found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption can be
rebutted if an individual has asked a county to remove the residential exemption, and the county failed to
implement the individual’s request. In addition, the Commission has indicated that the presumption may be
rebutted if an individual received the residential exemption for a vacant home that was listed for sale and that

qualified for the exemption upon being sold.** Neither of these circumstances exists in this case. On the other

(i.e., if the taxpayers had met one of the Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b) exceptions) and if TAXPAYER-2 alone
had claimed the residential exemption, the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption would have applied only
to TAXPAYER-2 (i.e., it would not have applied to TAXPAYER-1). For reasons previously explained,
however, each taxpayer is considered to have a spouse for purposes of Section 59-10-136.
11 The Legislature did not provide that claiming a residential exemption is an “absolute” indication of
domicile (as it did in Subsection 59-10-136(1) for an individual who is enrolled as a resident student in a Utah
institution of higher education or, with certain exceptions, has a dependent enrolled in a Utah public
kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school).
12 In Subsection 59-10-136(6), the Legislature has provided that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a)
presumption does not even arise if an individual claims the residential exemption for a property that is the
primary residence of a tenant. However, once the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption does arise, the
Legislature has not provided the circumstances with which it can be rebutted.
13 See Utah Admin. Rule R884-24-52(6)(f), which provides that “[i]f the county assessor determines that
an unoccupied property will qualify as a primary residence when it is occupied, the property shall qualify for
the residential exemption while unoccupied.” While Rule 52 is no longer the controlling law for purposes of
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hand, the Commission has found that the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption is not rebutted because an
individual had never heard of the residential exemption or did not know that he or she was receiving the
residential exemption. Furthermore, the Commission has also indicated that there may be other circumstances
to be raised in future cases that will be sufficient to rebut the presumption.

In the instant case, the Commission does not believe that the taxpayers’ circumstances are sufficient to
rebut the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) presumption. First, the taxpayers live together in the Utah home for a
portion of each year and have claimed the residential exemption on the home for many years. Second,
TAXPAYER-2 purposefully maintained her Utah domicile for income tax purposes even though
TAXPAYER-1 took steps to change his domicile in 2002 (under the old income tax domicile law in effect
prior to tax year 2012). Third, the taxpayers purposefully claimed the residential exemption for the 2012 and
2013 tax years. Fourth, as married individuals, both taxpayers benefitted from the Utah home receiving the
residential exemption in 2012 and 2013 regardless of who may have paid the property taxes. The specific
circumstances of this case do not warrant a finding that the taxpayers have rebutted the Subsection 59-10-
136(2)(a) presumption.

TAXPAYER-1 asks the Commission to consider that he does not meet a majority of the domicile
factors found in Rule 52, the property tax rule. As already explained, however, a consideration of
TAXPAYER-1’s separate circumstances would be improper to rebut a presumption that applies to the
taxpayers together. Furthermore, regardless of whether one of the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions
applies to an individual alone (i.e., an individual without a spouse) or to a married couple together, the
presumption cannot be rebutted by showing that the individual or the married couple would not have been

considered to be domiciled in Utah under the “old” law that was used to determine income tax domicile for tax

determining income tax domicile, there may be limited portions of Rule 52 that may be useful when the
Commission delineates which circumstances are sufficient or insufficient to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2)
presumption.

-15-



Appeal No. 15-1857

years prior to 2012. One could argue that using the old criteria found in the pre-2012 version of Rule 2 and/or
in Rule 52 to determine an individual’s income tax domicile for years when Section 59-10-136 is in effect
would be giving the new law enacted by the Legislature little or no effect, which the Commission declines to
do.1

The Commission also takes this opportunity to address the use of the 12 factors found in Subsection
59-10-136(3)(b) to rebut a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption. In Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b), the
Legislature provided 12 factors to be used when determining whether a person is considered to be domiciled in
Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3). The Commission also declines to find that an individual can rebut a
Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption by showing that he or she would not be considered to have domicile in
Utah under the 12 factors listed in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b). If the Commission were to do so, one could
argue that the Commission was giving no meaning to the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions (i.e.,
determining domicile as though the Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumptions did not exist).®

In summary, under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), there is a presumption that both taxpayers are
considered to be domiciled in Utah for the 2012 and 2013 tax years because they claimed a residential
exemption on the Utah home for these years. Even though TAXPAY ER-2 may have been the spouse who paid
the property taxes on the Utah home, the presumption applies to the taxpayers together. Furthermore, the

taxpayers’ circumstances are insufficient to effectively rebut the residential exemption presumption of

14 Again, the Commission is not precluded from considering certain facts that might be described in Rule
52 when determining whether a Subsection 59-10-136(2) presumption has been effectively rebutted. However,
the Commission will not determine an individual’s income tax domicile for 2012 and subsequent years solely
from the factors found in Rule 52.

15 This conclusion is further supported by the plain language of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(a), which
provides that a person may be considered to be domiciled in Utah subject to Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) “if the
requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not met[.]” As a result, the provisions of Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b)
only come into play if neither Subsection 59-10-136(1) or one of the presumptions of Subsection 59-10-136(2)
applies.
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Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a). Accordingly, both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the years
at issue.

Other Domicile Criteria of Section 59-10-136. Because the Commission has found that both taxpayers

are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the 2012 and 2013 years under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), the
Commission need not analyze the remaining subsections (Subsections (2)(b), (2)(c), and (3)) to see if the
taxpayers would also be considered to be domiciled in Utah under any one of these subsections. However, at
the hearing, the Division indicated that TAXPAYER-2 (but not TAXPAYER-1) might be considered to be
domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3). The Division’s assertion that TAXPAYER-2 only might be
considered to be domiciled in Utah under this subsection needs to be addressed.

Where an individual is considered to have a spouse, as in this case, Subsection 59-10-136(3) provides
that an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah if a preponderance of the 12 factors set forth in
Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) are met by either the individual or the individual’s spouse. As a result, if a
preponderance of the 12 factors set forth in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) are met by TAXPAYER-2’s actions
alone, not only is TAXPAYER-2 considered to be domiciled in Utah, but TAXPAYER-1 is also considered to
be domiciled in Utah (even if TAXPAYER-1’s actions alone do not meet any, much less a preponderance, of
the Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b) factors).!® Because both taxpayers have been found to be domiciled in Utah
under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a), the Commission will not analyze the 12 factors of Subsection 59-10-
136(3)(b) in detail. However, a cursory review of the 12 factors shows that TAXPAYER-2 meets a
preponderance of these 12 factors.” As a result, it appears that not only would TAXPAYER-2 be considered

to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3), but that TAXPAYER-1 would also be considered to

16 It is noted that unlike the three presumptions found in Subsection 59-10-136(2), Subsection 59-10-
136(3) is not a rebuttable presumption. It is an “absolute.” As a result, if an individual meets a preponderance
of the 12 factors found in Subsection 59-10-136(3)(b), the individual and the individual’s spouse will both be
considered to be domiciled in Utah without consideration of any other circumstances or factors.
17 It appears that approximately 8 of the 12 factors suggest a Utah domicile.
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be domiciled in Utah under this subsection (even if they were not considered to be domiciled in Utah under
another subsection of Section 59-10-136).18

It is noted that TAXPAYER-2’s actions also invoke the rebuttable presumptions of Subsections 59-10-
136(2)(b) and (2)(c) because she was registered to vote in Utah in 2012 and 2013 and because she filed Utah
resident returns for these years. As a result, there is a rebuttable presumption under each of these subsections
that both of the taxpayers are domiciled in Utah for these years. Again, because both taxpayers have already
been found to be domiciled in Utah, the Commission will not analyze each of the Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b)
and (2)(c) presumptions in detail. Nevertheless, TAXPAYER-2 purposefully decided to maintain her Utah
voter registration and voted in Utah in 2012 and 2013, and she purposefully filed 2012 and 2013 Utah resident
returns with an intention for all of her income both within and without Utah to be subject to Utah taxation
(subject to a credit for taxes paid to other states). Such actions are consistent with her stated desire to remain a
Utah domiciliary and Utah resident individual during the years at issue. As a result, it is possible that the
taxpayers would not be able to rebut either of these presumptions and would also be considered to be
domiciled in Utah under either Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) or (2)(c) because of TAXPAYER-2’s actions.®

Domicile — Summary. Both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for the 2012 and 2013

tax years under either Subsection 59-10-136(2)(a) or Subsection 59-10-136(3). In addition, it is possible that
both of them may also be considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(2)(b) or (2)(c).
Because both taxpayers are considered to be domiciled in Utah for income tax purposes for the 2012 and 2013

tax years, they are both Utah resident individuals for these years, pursuant to Subsection 59-10-103(1)(q)(i).

18 That both taxpayers may be considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(3)
because of TAXPAYER-2’s actions alone is supported by Subsection 59-10-136(5)(a), which provides that
where an individual is considered to be domiciled in Utah under this section, the individual’s spouse is also
considered to be domiciled in Utah.

19 Again, that both taxpayers may be considered to be domiciled in Utah under one of the Subsection 59-
10-136(2) presumptions because of TAXPAYER-2’s actions alone is supported by Subsection 59-10-
136(5)(a).
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The taxpayers have not met their burden of proof to show that the Division’s assessments of additional tax for
the 2012 and 2013 tax years are incorrect.
1. Taxpayers’ Other Arguments.

The taxpayers contend that the Commission should allow TAXPAYER-2 to file a separate Utah
resident return and TAXPAYER-1 to file a separate Utah nonresident return for the 2012 and 2013 tax years
because UCA §59-10-119(3) (2012) provides for separate returns “[i]f one spouse is a nonresident of this state
and the other spouse is a resident of this state[.]” Furthermore, the taxpayers point out that Utah Admin. Rule
R865-91-6(2) (2012) (“Rule 6”) provides that “[a] husband and wife, one being a nonresident and the other a
resident, may use an alternate method of calculating their separate state taxable incomes. . ..” However, this
statute and rule only apply to married individuals who are considered residents of different states. Because
both of the taxpayers have been found to be Utah resident individuals for the years at issue, Subsection 59-10-
119(3) and Rule 6(2) do not apply to them or this case.?°

TAXPAYER-1 also contends that pursuant to UCA 859-10-117 (2012), Utah should not tax any
income he earned in 2012 and 2013 other than the income (or losses) associated with his part-time Utah law
practice. Section 59-10-117, however, contains language indicating that its provisions are “[f]or purposes of
Section 59-10-116.” UCA §59-10-116 (2012) provides for a tax on nonresident individuals, not resident
individuals. As a result, neither Section 59-10-116 nor Section 59-10-117 is applicable to TAXPAYER-1,

who has been found to be a Utah resident individual for the years at issue.?* As a Utah resident individual, all

20 Although these provisions do not apply to the taxpayers’ circumstances, there are instances where
these provisions may still apply for the 2012 and subsequent tax years. As one example, consider a married
couple who are not considered to have spouses pursuant to Subsection 59-10-136(5)(b). If the married couple
were residents of different states (i.e. one a resident of Utah and one a resident of another state), they could file
separate Utah returns pursuant to Subsection 59-10-119(3) and Rule 6(2).

21 See also Benjamin v. Utah State Tax Comm 'n, 250 P.3d 39 (Utah 2011). Subsections 59-10-117(2)(d)
and (2)(f) provide that in certain circumstances, Utah source income is determined in accordance with UCA
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of TAXPAYER-1’s 2012 and 2013 income is subject to Utah taxation (subject to a credit for income taxes
paid to another state).

Lastly, TAXPAYER-1 believes that the Division’s assessments should be overturned because the
Division admitted that both taxpayers could possibly be considered to be residents of STATE-2 under STATE-
2 law in addition to being residents of Utah under Utah law. Because STATE-2 does not have an income tax,
it is likely that there is no STATE-2 law concerning income tax residency. Regardless, the Division’s point is
valid. An individual may be considered an income tax resident of more than one state. For example, if an
individual is domiciled in one state yet spends 183 or more days in another state, he or she may be considered
residents of both states for income tax purposes. To avoid double taxation under such circumstances, most
states, like Utah, provide a credit for income taxes paid to another state. As aresult, the Division’s assessments
are not invalid because one or both taxpayers could also be considered a resident of a state other than Utah. In
summary, none of the taxpayers’ additional arguments invalidate the Division’s assessments.

V. Penalties and Interest.

For this case, the applicable law to determine whether the penalties and interest assessed to the
taxpayers may be waived is found in Subsection 59-1-403(13) and Rule 42.?? In Subsection 59-1-401(13), the
Commission is authorized to waive penalties and interest upon a showing of reasonable cause. The
Commission has adopted Rule 42 to provide guidance as to when reasonable cause exists to waive penalties

and interest. Rule 42(2) provides that interest is waived only if a taxpayer shows that the Tax Commission

859-10-118 (2012). The Benjamins argued that even though they might be Utah resident individuals, a portion
of their income should not be subject to Utah taxation pursuant to Section 59-10-118. The Court found
otherwise, indicating in footnote 6 of Benjamin that Section 59-10-116, Section 59-10-117, and Section 59-10-
118 apply to nonresident individuals and not to resident individuals.

22 Different criteria concerning the imposition and/or waiver of penalties and interest are provided in
Subsections 59-10-136(4)(d) and (4)(e), which apply if an individual did not file a Utah return based on a
belief that he or she was not considered to be domiciled in Utah under Subsection 59-10-136(4)(a). Because
the limited circumstances described in Subsections 59-10-136(4)(d) and (4)(e) are not present in this case,
these specific provisions are not applicable in determining whether the penalties and interest assessed to the
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gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the taxpayer’s error.?
The taxpayers have not asserted that they failed to pay Utah income taxes for 2012 and 2013 because of Tax
Commission error or erroneous advice. As a result, reasonable cause does not exist to waive any of the interest
that has been imposed. Pursuant to Subsection 59-10-401(13) and Rule 42, the Commission generally waives
penalties in domicile cases because of the complexity of the issues. In addition, the Division stated at the
hearing that it would not object to the Commission waiving the penalties it imposed. Accordingly, reasonable
cause exists to waive all penalties imposed for the 2012 and 2013 tax years.

V. Conclusion.

The taxpayers have not met their burden of proof to show that the Division’s assessments for the 2012
and 2013 tax years are incorrect (other than showing that the assessments do not reflect payments that
TAXPAYER-2 has previously made to Utah for these years). As a result, the Commission should sustain the
Division’s 2012 and 2013 assessments, except that the Commission should waive all penalties and order the
Division to reduce its tax and interest assessments to reflect the payments that TAXPAYER-2 has previously

made to Utah.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

taxpayers may be waived.
23 The Rule 42 criteria to waive interest are more stringent than the rule’s criteria to waive penalties
because a taxpayer has had use of money that should have been paid to the state and because of the time value
of this money.
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s 2012 and 2013 assessments, with two
exceptions. First, the Commission waives all penalties that have been imposed. Second, the Commission
orders the Division to adjust its assessments of tax and interest to reflect the payments that TAXPAYER-2 has
previously made to Utah for these years. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order will
become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be
mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal
number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
or emailed to:

taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2016.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay the balance resulting from this
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.
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