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PETITIONER-1 & PETITIONER-2,
INITIAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioners,
Appeal No. 15-1614
V.
Account No. ###H#
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE UTAH Tax Type:  Income Tax
STATE TAX COMMISSION, Tax Year: 2012 and 2013
Respondent. Judge: Phan
Presiding:
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge
Appearances:

For Petitioner: PETITIONER-1, By Telephone
For Respondent: RESPONDENT, Manager, Income Tax Auditing

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on August 2, 2016 for an Initial

Hearing in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-502.5. Petitioners are appealing Utah Individual
Income Tax Audit Deficiencies for tax years 2012 and 2013. The Notices of Deficiency and
Estimated Income Tax were issued on September 23, 2015. The amount of tax, penalties and

interest for each year are as follows:

Year Tax Interest! Penalties Total as of Date of Audit Notice
2012  $$3%% $5$$$ $55$$ $555$
2013  $$3%% $55$$ $55$$ $555$

APPLICABLE LAW

Tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a “resident individual.” See Utah Code
859-10-104(1).
Utah Code 859-10-103(1)(q) defines “resident individual” as follows:

(i) “Resident individual” means:

! Interest continues to accrue on the unpaid balance.
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(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during
the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which
the individual is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:

() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in
this state.

Beginning for the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding the factors to be
considered for determination of domicile at Utah Code 859-10-136, as set forth below:

(1) (@) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) is the noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have

domicile in this state if:

(@) the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in
accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and
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(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this

State under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the

evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and

circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(it)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(¢)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-
102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(x) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

Q) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and
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(i)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the

individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's Federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1)(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
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meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of
proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code 8§59-1-401(14) provides:

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the
commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest
imposed under this part.

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide
additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are
more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
PETITIONER must prove that the commission gave the PETITIONER
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the
error.

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(@) Timely Mailing...

(b) Wrong Filing Place...

(c) Death or Serious Illness...
(d) Unavoidable Absence...
(e) Disaster Relief...


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...
(9) Tax Commission Office Visit...

(h) Unobtainable Records...

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...

(i) First Time Filer...

(k) Bank Error...

(I) Compliance History...

(m) Employee Embezzlement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...

DISCUSSION

The Division based its audit on the assertion that under provisions set out at Utah Code
Sec. 59-10-136, which became effective starting with the 2012 tax year, PETITIONER-1 was a
resident of Utah for individual income tax purposes during 2012 and 2013. It was not disputed
that PETITIONER-2 had been a Utah resident in 2012 and 2013. In fact, PETITIONER-2 had
filed Utah resident returns for 2012 and 2013, with the status of married filing separate on which
she claimed income that she had earned. The PETITIONERS had filed federal returns for both
years at issue with the status of married filing joint. The PETITIONERS did own a residence in
Utah during the tax years at issue which was located in Utah and this is where PETITIONER-2
resided. The PETITIONERS received the primary residential exemption on this residence, which
they had purchased in 2010. The issue in this appeal was whether or not PETITIONER-1 was
domiciled in Utah during these tax years.

It was PETITIONER-1’s position that he was a resident of and domiciled in STATE-1
during 2012 and 2013 and he was not a resident of Utah. He explained that he had lived in
STATE-2 from 1984 through 2007. At some point, PETITIONER-1 and PETITIONER-2 were
married and lived together in STATE-2. PETITIONER-1 had a STATE-2 Driver License and was
registered to vote in that state. In 2007, he and PETITIONER-2 separated and started to live in
separate residences. Although they no longer lived together as a couple, they did not “legally
separate” as they never filed separation papers in a court of law and have never divorced.
PETITIONER-1 moved from STATE-2 to STATE-3 at this time. He indicated that he took his
two vehicles and all his personal effects to STATE-3 and resided there for about 1 year. He states
that in December 2008 he moved from STATE-3 to STATE-1 and lived in that state through the
end of the audit period. During the audit period he was employed in STATE-1. He states that he
had all of his mail sent to the address in STATE-1 and maintained his church records in STATE-
1. He did not obtain a Driver License or register to vote in STATE-1, as he had retained his
STATE-2 Driver License and voter registration. PETITIONER-1 moved back to STATE-2 later
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after the audit period and continues to reside there. It was his position that he never lived in Utah
during any of this time period.

After they had separated, PETITIONER-2 had moved to Utah to attend UNIVERSITY
and the PETITIONERS jointly purchased a residence in COUNTY in 2009 where she resides.
The PETITIONERS have a son who was an adult at this time and was also attending
UNIVERSITY. PETITIONER-1 states that he does support PETITIONER-2 financially and he is
the joint owner of the residence they own in Utah.

It was not until after he was audited by the State of Utah that PETITIONER-1 became
aware of the new Utah law provisions at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-136 regarding domicile and
specifically subsection 59-10-136(5) regarding when one spouse is domiciled in Utah. At the
hearing, now that he understood what the law said, he explained that he felt the law was invalid.
He argues that under Utah law, because he had not resided in Utah for 6 contiguous months, the
state of Utah had refused to issue him a Utah Driver License or register him to vote in Utah. He
also points out that he could not obtain a Utah resident hunting or fishing license. He asserted that
he would not have qualified for jury duty in Utah. He notes that he was able to obtain a resident
STATE-1 hunting or fishing license and also had been called to jury duty in STATE-1. His point
was the inconsistency in Utah laws which would state that he was domiciled and a Utah resident
for tax purposes, but not for other purposes.

PETITIONER-1 also raised the point that under federal law he had been considered to be
domiciled in STATE-1 during the audit period. He argued if there was a conflict between the
state law and federal law, the federal law would take precedence. This was a federal preemption
argument. To illustrate the inconsistency between state and federal law, he explained in a letter
dated April 23, 2016 the following:

During 2012, 2013 and 2014 | purchased several firearms out of state. Per federal
statutes, those firearms could only be transferred to me legally in my state of
residence/domicile. | have included two receipts showing background checks and
transfer of the two firearms to me. The receipts show my domicile address in
another state other than Utah. Had these firearms been shipped to Utah for
official transfer | would not have been able to complete the legal transfer of the
firearms since | was not a resident of Utah nor Domiciled in Utah. Federal law
would not allow the transfer to be completed, nor would Utah law allow the
transfer to be complete since | was not a resident or domiciled in Utah.

PETITIONER-1 provided a receipt dated February 21, 2012 that showed he had
purchased a firearm from a STATE-1 store and showed that PETITIONER-1’s address was in
STATE-1 at this time. There were also receipts in 2014 that showed PETITIONER-1 paying the
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firearm transfer fee for two different firearms with his address listed in STATE-1. Additionally,
there was a receipt for a “CBI Background Check” fee of $$$$$.

It was the Division’s position under Utah Code §59-10-136(5), effective beginning in tax
year 2012, that PETITIONER-1 was domiciled in Utah because PETITIONER-2 was domiciled
in Utah. The Division also points out that they received the primary residential exemption on the
property they owned in Utah. During the audit years, Utah Code §59-10-103 provides that a
resident individual is one who maintains a place of abode in this state and spends in the aggregate
183 days or more per year in Utah, or, in the alternative, a resident individual is one who is
“domiciled” in Utah. Utah Code §59-10-136 substantially rewrote what constituted “domicile”
from the definitions established under the prior Administrative Rule? and prior case law.® Prior to
this 2012 revision, if one spouse was domiciled in Utah, and the other was able to show that they
were, in fact, domiciled in another state, the spouses could file a joint federal return and separate
state returns using Special Instructions. Utah Code §59-10-136(5) now provides that if one spouse
is domiciled in Utah, the other spouse is domiciled in Utah, unless they are divorced or legally
separated, or unless they filed a married filing separate federal return. Specifically, Utah Code
859-10-136(5) provides, “If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in
accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.”
The PETITIONERS did not fall under the exceptions. They were not legally separated or
divorced and they filed a joint federal return.

The Division also indicated that under Utah law, they would have given PETITIONER-1
a credit for any taxes that he paid to the State of STATE-1, but that PETITIONER-1 did not pay
any taxes to STATE-1 in 2012 or 2013 so there was no credit available. The Division provided
copies of a printout from the STATE-1 which showed the data entered from the returns filed by
the PETITIONER or PETITIONERS. It is unclear from this printout whether the returns had
been filed as joint or separate, as the printout shows both PETITIONERS’ names. Although these
returns show $$$$$ in “STATE-1 Taxable Income” on Line 14 for 2012 and $$$$$ in “STATE-1
Taxable Income” on Line 18 for 2013, they show $0 “STATE-1 Tax” and indicate that the
PETITIONERS were refunded all of the withholding.

2 Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-2.

3 Based on the statute and rule in effect prior to the 2012 revision, the issue of domicile for Utah individual
income tax purposes has been considered by the Utah Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals in the
following cases: Benjamin v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 250 P.3d 39, 2011 UT 14 (Utah 2011); Lassche v.
State Tax Comm 'n, 866 P.2d 618 (Utah Ct. App. 1993); Clements v. State Tax Comm’'n, 839 P.2d 1078
(Utah Ct. App. 1995); O ’Rourke v. State Tax Comm ’n, 830 P.2d 230 (Utah 1992); and Orton v. State Tax
Comm ’'n, 864 P.2d 904 (Utah Ct. App. 1993). Because of substantial changes made in 59-10-136, much of
the findings in these cases would no longer apply beginning with tax year 2012.
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Regarding the PETITIONERS’ federal preemption issue, that if two statutes were
inconsistent the federal law would apply, the Division offered no opinion. The Division stated
that the Utah State Tax Commission did not have authority to find a statute unconstitutional. The
Division cited to Nebeker v. Utah State Tax Commission, 2001 UT 74 (Utah 2001) and to the
Utah State Tax Commission’s decision in Appeal No. 08-0892 in which the Commission had
previously stated, “The Commission is aware, however, that the Courts have consistently held
that administrative agencies do not have the authority to determine the constitutionality of
legislative enactments.”

Upon reviewing the facts in this matter, the Division’s interpretation of Utah Code §59-
10-136 and specifically Subsection 59-10-136(5) is consistent with a plain reading of these
provisions.> Utah Code §59-10-136(5) provides a bright, clear line on domicile, which is a
change from prior law and rules. PETITIONER-1 represents that he has never been a Utah
resident and under Utah Law would not have been a resident for other purposes including
obtaining a Driver License or registering to vote. He maintains that he must have been considered
a resident in STATE-1 underSTATE-1 law because STATE-1 called him to jury duty and under
federal law he could buy a firearm and have ownership transferred to him in that state. Regardless
of these factors, under the clear and direct language of Utah Code §59-10-136(5) PETITIONER-1
was domiciled in Utah for Utah individual income tax purposes for 2012 and 2013 because he
was married to a Utah resident, they had filed a joint federal return and were not divorced or
legally separated.

Penalties and interest were assessed with the audit. The Division’s representative did not
argue that the penalties be upheld. In this case, PETITIONER-2 had filed a Utah married filing
separate return for both tax years at issue. For the Division to change the status to a joint filing
the return is reversed off of the system and the system then generates a penalty as if no return was
filed. The Tax Commission may waive or reduce penalties under Utah Code 859-1-401(13) for
reasonable cause and there is reasonable cause in this matter as PETITIONER-2 had timely filed
returns that she thought were proper and PETITIONER-1 was not aware that he should be filing

Utah returns as the law had changed and 2012 was the first year that the new law was in effect.

4 Utah State Tax Commission Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Final Decision, Appeal No. 08-
0892, pg. 8 (April 5, 2010). This and other Tax Commission decisions are available for review in a
redacted format at tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.

5 Regarding statutory language, the Utah Supreme Court has stated, “When interpreting statutory language,
our primary objective is to ascertain the intent of the legislature. To discern legislative intent, we first look
to the plain language of the statute. We presume that the legislature used each word advisedly and read
each term according to its ordinary and accepted meaning.” (Internal Citations Omitted) Ivory Homes v.
Tax Commission, 2011 UT 54, { 21 (2011).
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There is no basis for waiver of interest. As noted at Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-42, for
interest to be waived the PETITIONER must prove “that the commission gave the PETITIONER
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” This audit arose
from a change in the law, specifically the adoption by the Utah Legislature of Utah Code 859-10-
136 and the Tax Commission is applying the new law as it was written. There was no showing of
error on the part of the Tax Commission.

Based on the new law that became effective in 2012, the tax and interest assessment for
tax years 2012 and 2013 should be upheld. There is reasonable cause for waiver of the penalties.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Utah Individual Income Tax Audit

Deficiencies as to the tax and interest due and waives the penalties for both tax years 2012 and
2013. Itis so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2016.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner
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Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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