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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on February 25, 2016 for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-502.5. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) are
appealing an audit deficiency of additional Utah individual income tax and interest issued against
them by Respondent (“Division”) for tax years 2012 and 2013. The Notices of Deficiency and
Estimated Income Tax were issued on June 17, 2015. It was the Division’s position with the audit
that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for tax years 2012 and 2013. It was the Taxpayers’
position that while TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident, TAXPAYER-1 was a resident of
STATE-1. TAXPAYER-2 had filed Utah resident returns for the two years at issue. The amount

of the audit deficiencies as calculated with interest as of the date of the Notices are as follows:
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Year Tax Interest Penalties Total as of Date of Notice'
2012  $$3%% $35$$ $55$3$ $55$3$
2013  $$3%% $55$$ $55$3$ $55$$

APPLICABLE LAW

Tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a “resident individual.” See Utah Code
§59-10-104(1).

For the tax years at issue Utah Code §59-10-103(1)(q) defines “resident individual” as
follows:

(i) “Resident individual” means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during
the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which
the individual is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:

() maintains a place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in
this state.

Beginning for the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding the factors to be
considered for determination of domicile at Utah Code §859-10-136, as set forth below:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in

! Interest continues to accrue until the balance is paid in full.
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accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or

individual's spouse's primary residence;

(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, Voter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
State under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(i)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse’s federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;
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(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or
other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D)(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

Q) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(if)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's Federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:
(A) the individual leaves this state; or
(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(if) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or

amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on

the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
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of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and

(if)  the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(e) (i) Exceptas provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-

401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection

(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual

income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

(5) (a) If anindividual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance
with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.

(b) For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(ii) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

(c) Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,
an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a
return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining
whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of

proof is on the petitioner...”

DISCUSSION
The Division based its audit on the assertion that under provisions set out at Utah Code
Sec. 59-10-136, which became effective with the 2012 tax year, TAXPAYER-1 was a resident of
Utah for individual income tax purposes for all of 2012 and 2013. The Taxpayers did not dispute


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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that TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident in 2012 and 2013. In fact, TAXPAYER-2 had filed Utah
resident returns for 2012 and 2013, with the status of married filing separate, although the
Taxpayers had filed married filing joint federal returns for both years at issue. It was the
Taxpayers’ position that TAXPAYER-1 had moved to STATE-1 in 2012 and was no longer

domiciled in the State of Utah after that move.

The facts presented at the hearing were that the Taxpayers had married in 2003 in
STATE-2 under a provision available in that state called a Covenant Marriage, which placed
certain obligations on the Taxpayers in the event they decided to divorce. This type of marriage
was an optional type of marriage that was available to couples in STATE-2, in the alternative to
the traditional option. The parties presented an information pamphlet titled Covenant Marriage in
STATE-22 which explained that the court could only grant a divorce or legal separation of this
type of marriage for certain, limited reasons. The Taxpayers argue that the STATE-2 Covenant
Marriage statutes do not allow for one party to file for divorce or legal separation against the
other unless certain conditions are met. The one condition the Taxpayers note is that one spouse
may file for divorce against the other if the spouses have lived apart for at least two years.?

In 2005 the Taxpayers moved to Utah where they purchased a residence in Utah and
resided together as a married couple until June 2012. At that point TAXPAYER-1 moved to
STATE-1. He had obtained a STATE-1 Driver License by July 2012 and registered his vehicle in
that state. He had rented an unfurnished apartment beginning June 1, 2012 and moved
furnishings to STATE-1. TAXPAYER-2 stated that at the time she was trying to find
employment in STATE-3. Had she been able to find employment there, it was her intention to
move to STATE-3 without TAXPAYER-1. They argue that they began at this point to live
separately and thus began the two year period which they contend was required under their
STATE-2 Covenant Marriage before they could file for divorce or legal separation. They argue
that this two year waiting period should be treated as a legal separation under Utah’s domicile law
at Utah Code Subsection 59-10-136(5).

It was not disputed that TAXPAYER-1 moved to STATE-1. He provided documentation
that he entered into a lease for an apartment with a start date of June 1, 2012 and he received

utility bills for that apartment and other mail including credit card bills addressed to him at that

? Respondent’s Exhibit 6.

® Other reasons for which the courts would allow divorce or legal separation listed in the Covenant
Marriage In STATE-2 pamphlet, Respondent’s Exhibit 6, pages 46-47, are if the respondent to the divorce
had been absent from the home where the married couple resided and has refused to return for one year. It
also provides as a separate reason under which the court would grant the divorce to be if, “The spouses
both agree to a divorce.”
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apartment address beginning in June 2012. He provided copies of his STATE-1 Driver license
which shows an issue date of July 6, 2012. He provided a copy of his STATE-1 Voter
Registration Card and evidence of both registering and insuring his vehicle in STATE-1. The
Division did not submit information that refuted the position that TAXPAYER-1 moved to
STATE-1in 2012.

The Taxpayers explained that after TAXPAYER-1 had moved, TAXPAYER-2 stayed in
their Utah residence for a period of time and prepared the house to sell. The Taxpayers pointed
out that the housing market was still volatile in 2012 and they felt they had to fix it up to get it
into saleable condition. They did sell their Utah residence in April 2013. After selling the Utah
residence, TAXPAYER-2 rented an apartment for herself and pointed out that TAXPAYER-1
was not on her lease.

The Taxpayers had continued to file their federal individual income tax returns with the
status of married filing joint for 2012 and 2013. They indicated that had they filed married filing
separate they would have owed a much larger tax to the federal government.

The Division had noted that the Taxpayers rented storage units in Utah during the audit
period. TAXPAYER-1 explained that they each had a storage unit in Utah and he had chosen a
Utah storage unit because it was cheaper than leasing one in STATE-1.

The Taxpayers stated that they started negotiating divorce proceedings in the fall of 2014.
They filed a joint petition for divorce in the State of STATE-1 in January 26, 2015 and the
Decree of Divorce was entered on February 18, 2015. They acknowledged that in the STATE-1
divorce proceeding they did not have to establish to the court that they had been living separately
for two years prior to filing for divorce.

It was the Division’s position that under Utah Code 859-10-136(5), effective beginning
for tax year 2012, that TAXPAYER-1 remained domiciled in Utah after June 2012 because
TAXPAYER-2 was domiciled in Utah and they were not divorced or legally separated, nor had
they filed separate federal returns for 2012 and 2013. Utah Code 859-10-103 provides that a
resident individual is one who maintains a place of abode in this state and spends in the aggregate
183 days or more per year in Utah, or in the alternative a resident individual is one who is
“domiciled” in Utah. Utah Code §59-10-136 substantially rewrote what constituted “domicile”

from the definitions established under the prior Administrative Rule* and prior case law.> Prior to

* Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-2.

> Based on the statute and rule in effect prior to the 2012 revision, the issue of domicile for Utah individual
income tax purposes had been considered by the Utah Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals in the
following cases: Benjamin v. Utah State Tax Comm ’n, 250 P.3d 39, 2011 UT 14 (Utah 2011); Lassche v.
State Tax Comm'n, 866 P.2d 618 (Utah Ct. App. 1993); Clements v. State Tax Comm’n, 839 P.2d 1078
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this 2012 revision, if one spouse was domiciled in Utah, and the other was able to show that they
were, in fact, domiciled in another state, the spouses could file a joint federal return and separate
state returns using Special Instructions. Utah Code 859-10-136(5) now provides that if one spouse
is domiciled in Utah, the other spouse is domiciled in Utah, unless they are divorced, legally
separated or unless they filed a married filing separate federal return. Specifically, Utah Code
859-10-136(5) provides, “If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in
accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered to have domicile in this state.”
The Division argues that the Taxpayers did not fall under the exceptions. They did not file a
separate federal return, they were not divorced and it was the Division’s position that the
Taxpayers were not “legally separated.”

Although the Taxpayers argue that the STATE-2 Covenant Marriage requirement of
living apart for two years prior to filing for divorce should be construed as a legal separation, this
is not persuasive. The pamphlet the parties provided explaining Covenant Marriage in STATE-2
clearly distinguishes between the two year waiting period and a legal separation, as the two year
waiting period is also listed as one of a number of reasons the petitioning spouse can obtain a
legal separation.® Further, it should be noted that the pamphlet states spouses could be divorced
without a waiting period if “The spouses both agree to a divorce.”” The two year waiting period
under the STATE-2 Covenant Marriage laws is not the equivalent of a legal separation.

Upon reviewing the statute set out at Utah Code 859-10-136 and specifically Subsection
136(5), the Division’s interpretation is consistent with a plain reading of these provisions.? Utah
Code 8§59-10-136(5) provides a bright, clear line on domicile, which is a change from prior law
and rules. TAXPAYER-1 had moved to STATE-1 in June 2012 and the Taxpayers may have
intended to end their marriage at some point in time thereafter, but they did not obtain legal
divorce or “legal separation” until 2015. They did have the option of filing their federal return as
married filing separate and then TAXPAYER-2 could have filed a separate Utah return. As noted
by the Taxpayers, they did not do this because it would have increased their federal tax liability

substantially.

(Utah Ct. App. 1995); O ’Rourke v. State Tax Comm 'n, 830 P.2d 230 (Utah 1992); and Orton v. State Tax
Comm’n, 864 P.2d 904 (Utah Ct. App. 1993). Because of substantial changes made with the adoption of
Sec. 59-10-136, findings in these cases may no longer apply beginning with tax year 2012.

® Respondent’s Exhibit 6, pg. 49.

" Respondent’s Exhibit 6, pg. 47.

8 Regarding statutory language, the Utah Supreme Court has stated, “When interpreting statutory language,
our primary objective is to ascertain the intent of the legislature. To discern legislative intent, we first look
to the plain language of the statute. We presume that the legislature used each word advisedly and read
each term according to its ordinary and accepted meaning.” (Internal Citations Omitted) Ivory Homes v.
Tax Commission, 2011 UT 54, { 21 (2011).
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Penalties were not assessed with the audits. There is no basis for waiver of interest. As
noted at Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-42, for interest to be waived the taxpayer must prove
“that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous information or took inappropriate action that
contributed to the error.” This audit arose from a change in the law, specifically the adoption of
Utah Code 859-10-136 and the Tax Commission is applying the new law as it was written. There

was no showing of error on the part of the Tax Commission.

Based on the law that became effective for tax year 2012, the tax and interest assessment
should be upheld.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the audit deficiencies as to the tax and

interest for both tax years 2012 and 2013. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2016.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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