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TAXPAYER-1
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on January 14, 2016, for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code 859-1-502.5. Petitioners (“Taxpayers”) are

appealing an audit deficiency of additional Utah Individual Income tax, penalties and interest

issued against them by Respondent (“Division”) for tax years 2012 and 2013. The Notices of

Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax were issued on May 18, 2015. It was the Division’s

position with the audit that both Taxpayers were domiciled in Utah for tax years 2012 and 2013.
It was the Taxpayers’ position that while TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah resident, TAXPAYER-1

was a resident of STATE-1. The amount of the audit deficiencies as calculated with interest as to

the date of the Notices are as follows:
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Year Tax Interest Penalties Total as of Date of Notice'
2012  $$3%% $55$3$ $555$$ $55$3$
2013  $$3%% $55$3$ $555$$ $55$$

APPLICABLE LAW

Tax is imposed on the state taxable income of a “resident individual.” See Utah Code
§59-10-104(1).
For 2012 Utah Code 859-10-103(1)(q) defines “resident individual” as follows:

(i) “Resident individual” means:

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during
the taxable year, but only for the duration of the period during which
the individual is domiciled in this state; or

(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but:

()  maintains a permanent place of abode in this state; and
(1) spends in the aggregate 183 or more days of the taxable year in
this state.

Beginning for the 2012 tax year, a new law was adopted regarding the factors to be
considered for determination of domicile at Utah Code §59-10-136, as set forth below:

(1) (a) An individual is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), a dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return is enrolled in a public kindergarten,
public elementary school, or public secondary school in this state; or

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse is a resident student in
accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is enrolled in an institution
of higher education described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state may not be determined in accordance with
Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the individual:

(i) isthe noncustodial parent of a dependent:

(A) with respect to whom the individual claims a personal
exemption on the individual's federal individual income tax
return; and

(B) who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public elementary
school, or public secondary school in this state; and

(ii) is divorced from the custodial parent of the dependent described in
Subsection (1)(b)(i).

(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that an individual is considered to have
domicile in this state if:

() the individual or the individual's spouse claims a residential exemption in

accordance with Chapter 2, Property Tax Act, for that individual's or
individual's spouse's primary residence;

! Interest continues to accrue until balance is paid in full.
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(b) the individual or the individual's spouse is registered to vote in this state
in accordance with Title 20A, Chapter 2, VVoter Registration; or

(c) the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency in this state for
purposes of filing an individual income tax return under this chapter,
including asserting that the individual or the individual's spouse is a part-
year resident of this state for the portion of the taxable year for which the
individual or the individual's spouse is a resident of this state.

(3) (a) Subject to Subsection (3)(b), if the requirements of Subsection (1) or (2) are not
met for an individual to be considered to have domicile in this state, the individual
is considered to have domicile in this state if:

(i) the individual or the individual's spouse has a permanent home in this state to
which the individual or the individual's spouse intends to return after being
absent; and

(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse has voluntarily fixed the individual's
or the individual's spouse's habitation in this state, not for a special or
temporary purpose, but with the intent of making a permanent home.

(b) The determination of whether an individual is considered to have domicile in this
State under Subsection (3)(a) shall be based on the preponderance of the
evidence, taking into consideration the totality of the following facts and
circumstances:

(i)  whether the individual or the individual's spouse has a driver
license in this state;

(it)  whether a dependent with respect to whom the individual or the
individual's spouse claims a personal exemption on the individual's
or individual's spouse's federal individual income tax return is a
resident student in accordance with Section 53B-8-102 who is
enrolled in an institution of higher education described in Section
53B-2-101 in this state;

(iii)  the nature and quality of the living accommodations that the
individual or the individual's spouse has in this state as compared
to another state;

(iv) the presence in this state of a spouse or dependent with respect to
whom the individual or the individual's spouse claims a personal
exemption on the individual's or individual's spouse's federal
individual income tax return;

(v)  the physical location in which earned income as defined in Section
32(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, is earned by the individual or the
individual's spouse;

(vi) the state of registration of a vehicle as defined in Section 59-12-

102 owned or leased by the individual or the individual's spouse;

(vii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse is a member of a
church, a club, or another similar organization in this state;

(viii) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on mail, a telephone listing, a listing in an official
government publication, other correspondence, or another similar
item;

(ix) whether the individual or the individual's spouse lists an address in
this state on a state or federal tax return;

(X) whether the individual or the individual's spouse asserts residency
in this state on a document, other than an individual income tax
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return filed under this chapter, filed with or provided to a court or

other governmental entity;

(xi) the failure of an individual or the individual's spouse to obtain a
permit or license normally required of a resident of the state for
which the individual or the individual's spouse asserts to have
domicile; or

(xii) whether the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(D(b).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding Subsections (1) through (3) and subject to the other
provisions of this Subsection (4), an individual is not considered to have
domicile in this state if the individual meets the following qualifications:

Q) except as provided in Subsection (4)(a)(ii)(A), the individual and
the individual's spouse are absent from the state for at least 761
consecutive days; and

(i)  during the time period described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), neither the
individual nor the individual's spouse:

(A) return to this state for more than 30 days in a calendar year;

(B) claim a personal exemption on the individual's or individual's
spouse's Federal individual income tax return with respect to
a dependent who is enrolled in a public kindergarten, public
elementary school, or public secondary school in this state,
unless the individual is an individual described in Subsection
(1(b);

(C) are resident students in accordance with Section 53B-8-

102 who are enrolled in an institution of higher education
described in Section 53B-2-101 in this state;

(D) claim a residential exemption in accordance with Chapter 2,
Property Tax Act, for that individual's or individual's spouse's
primary residence; or

(E) assert that this state is the individual's or the individual's
spouse's tax home for federal individual income tax purposes.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), an individual that meets the
qualifications of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile
in this state may elect to be considered to have domicile in this state by
filing an individual income tax return in this state as a resident
individual.

(c) For purposes of Subsection (4)(a), an absence from the state:

(i) begins on the later of the date:

(A) the individual leaves this state; or

(B) the individual's spouse leaves this state; and

(i) ends on the date the individual or the individual's spouse returns to
this state if the individual or the individual's spouse remains in this
state for more than 30 days in a calendar year.

(d) Anindividual shall file an individual income tax return or amended
individual income tax return under this chapter and pay any applicable
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402 if:

(i) theindividual did not file an individual income tax return or
amended individual income tax return under this chapter based on
the individual's belief that the individual has met the qualifications
of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have domicile in this
state; and
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() (a)

(b)
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(ii) the individual or the individual's spouse fails to meet a
qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered to have
domicile in this state.

(i) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(e)(ii), an individual that files
an individual income tax return or amended individual income tax
return under Subsection (4)(d) shall pay any applicable penalty
imposed under Section 59-1-401.

(i) The commission shall waive the penalties under Subsections 59-1-
401(2), (3), and (5) if an individual who is required by Subsection
(4)(d) to file an individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return under this chapter:

(A) files the individual income tax return or amended individual
income tax return within 105 days after the individual fails to
meet a qualification of Subsection (4)(a) to not be considered
to have domicile in this state; and

(B) within the 105-day period described in Subsection
(4)(e)(ii)(A), pays in full the tax due on the return, any
interest imposed under Section 59-1-402, and any applicable
penalty imposed under Section 59-1-401, except for a penalty
under Subsection 59-1-401(2), (3), or (5).

If an individual is considered to have domicile in this state in accordance

with this section, the individual's spouse is considered to have domicile

in this state.

For purposes of this section, an individual is not considered to have a

spouse if:

(i) the individual is legally separated or divorced from the spouse; or

(if) the individual and the individual's spouse claim married filing
separately filing status for purposes of filing a federal individual
income tax return for the taxable year.

Except as provided in Subsection (5)(b)(ii), for purposes of this section,

an individual's filing status on a federal individual income tax return or a

return filed under this chapter may not be considered in determining

whether an individual has a spouse.

(6) For purposes of this section, whether or not an individual or the individual's
spouse claims a property tax residential exemption under Chapter 2, Property
Tax Act, for the residential property that is the primary residence of a tenant
of the individual or the individual's spouse may not be considered in
determining domicile in this state.

Utah Code 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the burden of

proof is on the petitioner...”

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code 859-1-401(13) provides, “Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause

shown, the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest

imposed under this part.”

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide

additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:


http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040200.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE59/htm/59_01_040100.htm
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(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are
more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

DISCUSSION

The Division based its audit on the assertion that under provisions set out at Utah Code
Sec. 59-10-136, which became effective with the 2012 tax year, that TAXPAYER-1 was a
resident of Utah for individual income tax purposes during 2012 and 2013. It was not disputed
that had been a Utah resident in 2012 and 2013. In fact, TAXPAYER-2 had filed Utah resident
returns for 2012 and 2013, with the status of married filing separate. The Taxpayers had filed
joint federal returns for both years at issue. TAXPAYER-2 had filed a married filing separate
return like she had for prior years relying on the Special Instructions provisions for when one
spouse was a resident of another state. The Taxpayers pointed out that they had been audited in
2007 and at that time the Tax Commission had determined that while TAXPAYER-2 was a Utah
resident, TAXPAYER-1 was not a Utah resident and so they were qualified to file under the
Special Instructions provisions, which is how they had been filing each year. These Special
Instruction provisions were no longer in effect for 2012 and going forward but the Taxpayers
were not aware of this change.

It was the Taxpayers’ position that nothing had changed with their situation in 2012 and
2013. TAXPAYER-2 had been originally from STATE-2 and her children from a prior marriage,
who were adults, and grandchildren continue to reside in the STATE-2 area. In 2006 she
obtained employment at UNIVERSITY and moved to Utah in July 2006. She bought a residence
in CITY-1, Utah prior to her marriage to TAXPAYER-1. She obtained a Utah Driver License,
registered her vehicle in Utah and registered to vote in Utah. She received the primary residential
exemption on her Utah residence. She considered herself to be a Utah resident.

TAXPAYER-1 has been a lifelong resident of STATE-1. The only time he had resided
in Utah was in the 1970’s when he attended the UNIVERSITY-2, and he pointed out that he had
to pay nonresident tuition. He stated that for 20 years encompassing the audit period he resided at
the same residence in STATE-1, which is a home that he owned at ADDRESS-1 in CITY-2. His
brother and mother live nearby and he had an adult son sometimes living in the home with him.
During the audit years, neither of the Taxpayers had minor children. TAXPAYER-1 had
provided copies of his STATE-1 Driver License which he has held since 1968. He provided
copies of utility bills for his STATE-1 residence and evidence that he had licensed his vehicle in
STATE-1. Although TAXPAYER-1 travels for work to jobsites and during the audit period had
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worked primarily in STATE-3 and STATE-4, he did not work in Utah. He also stated that over
the years he had not worked in Utah and had no Utah source income.

TAXPAYER-2 stated at the hearing that TAXPAYER-1 had told her before they got
married that he would never move to Utah. When they got married in 2006 or 2007 she
continued to live in her residence in Utah and work full time in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 continued
to reside in STATE-1. On weekends or time off from work, she would travel to STATE-1 or he
would visit her in Utah. TAXPAYER-1 stated that when he was off from his job, he had some
additional responsibilities in STATE-1 taking care of his mother who was going through cancer
treatments and his brother and adult son who also needed assistance for other reasons at this time.

In 2013 TAXPAYER-2 did end up finding employment in STATE-1, sold her Utah home
and the couple purchased a new home together in STATE-1.

The Taxpayers explained that they thought it was unfair that the new law was passed
effective 2012 but it was not publicized. They point out that they were both educated people and
they just had not heard anything about the new law until they were contacted by the Division with
the audit. They stated that had they known they would have complied with the provisions or they
may have filed separate federal returns. Because they did not know about these statutory
provisions, they felt it was unfair to be charged penalties and interest as well. They also indicated
that Utah’s domicile provisions are now different than other states. They wondered how it could
be constitutional for the state of Utah to tax TAXPAYER-1 when he was not a resident of Utah
and none of his income was from Utah sources. TAXPAYER-2 mentioned that she had contacted
her Congressman about the law and he had referred her to her state legislator.

It was the Division’s position that the audit was due to a law change. Under Utah Code
§59-10-136(5), effective beginning in tax year 2012, TAXPAYER-1 was domiciled in Utah
because TAXPAYER-2 was domiciled in Utah. Utah Code §59-10-103 provides that a resident
individual is one who maintains a permanent place of abode in this state and spends in the
aggregate more than 183 days per year in Utah, or in the alternative a resident individual is one
who is “domiciled” in Utah. Utah Code 859-10-136 substantially rewrote what constituted
“domicile” from the definitions established under the prior Administrative Rule? and prior case

law.® Prior to this 2012 revision, if one spouse was domiciled in Utah, and the other was able to

Z Utah Admin. Rule R865-91-2.

% Based on the statute and rule in effect prior to the 2012 revision, the issue of domicile for Utah individual
income tax purposes has been considered by the Utah Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals in the
following cases: Benjamin v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 250 P.3d 39, 2011 UT 14 (Utah 2011); Lassche v.
State Tax Comm'n, 866 P.2d 618 (Utah Ct. App. 1993); Clements v. State Tax Comm’n, 839 P.2d 1078
(Utah Ct. App. 1995); O’Rourke v. State Tax Comm’n, 830 P.2d 230 (Utah 1992); and Orton v. State Tax
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show that they were, in fact, domiciled in another state, the spouses could file a joint federal
return and separate state returns using Special Instructions. Utah Code 859-10-136(5) now
provides that if one spouse is domiciled in Utah, the other spouse is domiciled in Utah, unless
they are divorced, legally separated or unless they filed a married filing separate federal return.
Specifically, Utah Code §59-10-136(5) provides, “If an individual is considered to have domicile
in this state in accordance with this section, the individual’s spouse is considered to have domicile
in this state.” The Taxpayers did not fall under either of these two exceptions. They were legally
married and they filed a joint federal return.

Upon reviewing the new statute set out at Utah Code 859-10-136 and specifically
Subsection 136(5) the Division’s interpretation is consistent with a plain reading of these
provisions.* Utah Code §59-10-136(5) provides a bright, clear line on domicile, which is a change
from prior law and rules. TAXPAYER-1 had been a lifelong resident of STATE-1, never worked
in Utah, had no intent to move to Utah and no intent to become a resident of Utah. Regardless of
these factors, under the clear and direct language of Utah Code 859-10-136(5) he was domiciled
in Utah for Utah individual income tax purposes for 2012 and 2013 because he was married to a
Utah resident.

Penalties and interest were assessed with the audit. The Division’s representative did not
argue that the penalties be upheld. In this case TAXPAYER-2 had filed a Utah married filing
separate return for both tax years at issue. For the Division to change the status to a joint filing,
the return is reversed off of the system and the system then generates a penalty as if no return was
filed. The Tax Commission may waive or reduce penalties under Utah Code 859-1-401(13) for
reasonable cause and there is reasonable cause in this matter as TAXPAYER-2 had timely filed
returns that she thought were proper and TAXPAYER-1 was not aware he should be filing Utah
returns. There is no basis for waiver of interest. As noted at Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-
42, for interest to be waived the taxpayer must prove “that the commission gave the taxpayer
erroneous information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.” This audit arose

from a change in the law, specifically the adoption by the Utah Legislature of Utah Code 859-10-

Comm ’'n, 864 P.2d 904 (Utah Ct. App. 1993). Because of substantial changes made in 59-10-136, much of
the findings in these cases would no longer apply beginning with tax year 2012.

* Regarding statutory language, the Utah Supreme Court has stated, “When interpreting statutory language,
our primary objective is to ascertain the intent of the legislature. To discern legislative intent, we first look
to the plain language of the statute. We presume that the legislature used each word advisedly and read
each term according to its ordinary and accepted meaning.” (Internal Citations Omitted) Ivory Homes v.
Tax Commission, 2011 UT 54, { 21 (2011).
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136, and the Tax Commission is applying the new law as it was written. There was no showing
of error on the part of the Tax Commission.
Based on the law that became effective for tax year 2012, the tax and interest assessment

should be upheld. There is cause for waiver of the penalties.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER
Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the audit deficiencies as to the tax and

interest due and waives the penalties for both tax years 2012 and 2013. It is so ordered. The
Division is to give the Taxpayers a statement listing the revised total amount due with the updated
interest.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must
include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

or emailed to:
taxappeals@utah.gov

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2016.
John L. Valentine Michael J. Cragun
Commission Chair Commissioner
Robert P. Pero Rebecca L. Rockwell
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
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