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For Petitioner: PETITIONER, Applicant 

 REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, Witness 

For Respondent: REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, Assistant Attorney General 

 RESPONDENT, from MVED 

 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

PETITIONER (the “Petitioner” or “applicant”) is appealing the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division’s 

(“MVED” or “Division”) action to deny his application for a motor vehicle salesperson’s license.  This matter 

came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. 

§59-1-502.5, on June 22, 2015.   

On or around May 26, 2015, PETITIONER filed an application (Form TC-303) to receive a motor 

vehicle salesperson’s license to sell vehicles at DEALERSHIP.  In a letter dated June 1, 2015, the Division denied 
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the application, indicating that it was taking this action “based on answers to question #2 and #3.”  PETITIONER 

has filed an appeal and asks the Commission to grant him a salesperson’s license.
1
   

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 provides statutory guidance concerning the issuance of motor vehicle 

salesperson’s licenses, as follows in pertinent part: 

(1) If the administrator finds that an applicant is not qualified to receive a license, a license may 

not be granted.   

(2)   . . . . 

(b) If the administrator finds that there is a reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or        

revoke a license issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke 

the license.  

(c) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes, in relation 

to the applicant or license holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors:  

 . . . . 

(vi)  making a false statement on any application for a license under this chapter or for 

special license plates; 

(vii)  a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled substances; 

(ix)  charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any 

court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any state or federal law involving 

motor vehicles; 

(x)    a violation of any state or federal law involving fraud; 

(xi)  a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense under 

Section 77-41-106; or 

(xii) having had a license issued under this chapter revoked within five years from the 

date of application. 

. . . . 

 

DISCUSSION 

PETITIONER has submitted an application for a salesperson’s license to sell motor vehicles at 

DEALERSHIP.  On question #2 of the application, PETITIONER was asked whether he has “been charged with, 

                         

1  With his petition, PETITIONER included another letter the Division issued on November 14, 2014, in 

which it had denied a prior application PETITIONER had submitted to work at a different dealership.  

PETITIONER did not appeal the Division’s November 14, 2014 denial within the 30-day appeals period.  

Accordingly, the issue in this case is whether or not the application he submitted on or about May 26, 2015 

should be granted. 
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found in violation of, or convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or in any other state” during the past 

10 years, and if so, to list them.  PETITIONER answered this question by writing “Please See Attached” and 

attaching a copy of his “Criminal History Report” (dated May 22, 2015).  On question #3 of the application, 

PETITIONER indicated that he is currently under probation or parole (i.e., court supervision) and that he does not 

owe any restitution.   

The Division proffered information from the 3
rd

 District Court that corroborated the disclosures 

PETITIONER made on questions #2 and #3 of his application.  The parties agree that the Criminal History 

Report and the 3
rd

 District Court information show that PETITIONER has been convicted of four crimes within 

the past 10 years, two of which occurred in both 2011 and 2014, as follows: 

2011: Class B Misdemeanor - Electronic Communication Harassment 

 Class B Misdemeanor - Electronic Communication Harassment 

2014: 3
rd

 Degree Felony - Stalking 

 3
rd

 Degree Felony – Obstruction of Justice 

  

This information also shows that for the two 2014 crimes, PETITIONER was sentenced to jail and placed on 

probation for 36 months to be supervised by Adult Probation and Parole.  PETITIONER was in jail for 

approximately four months before being released on May 17, 2015.  His probation is currently set to end in 2018. 

 PETITIONER proffered that he was a successful motor vehicle salesperson from 2001 until his arrest in 

late 2014.  He explained that all four of his convictions concern his interactions with his ex-wife with whom he 

has children.  PETITIONER indicated that because of his and his ex-wife’s contentious relationship and divorce, 

a protective order was entered that precluded him from contacting his ex-wife.  He stated that the two convictions 

from 2011 involved his telephoning his ex-wife, which was not allowed under the protective order. He stated that 

the last two convictions from 2014 also involved his telephoning his ex-wife, which led to felony charges because 

of his prior convictions for violating the protective order.
2
   

                         

2  NAME-1, who appeared on behalf of the Division, stated that a third violation of a protective order often 
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 PETITIONER stated that he is a recovering alcoholic and that he made these telephone calls while he was 

intoxicated.  He stated, however, that he has been sober for six months and that he has decided not to drink again 

because of the problems that arise when he does.  He also states that he and his ex-wife have decided that any 

communications between them will go through an intermediary, specifically through his mother, 

REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER.  PETITIONER asks the Commission to consider that he will not be 

making any more telephone calls to his ex-wife and that he will not violate the protective order again.   

 PETITIONER also asks the Commission to consider that the owner of the dealership for which he has 

applied to sell vehicles is aware of his criminal history and still wants to employ him.  The owner signed each 

page of the Criminal History Report that the taxpayer submitted with his application to show that he was aware of 

the taxpayer’s convictions.  Finally, PETITIONER asks the Commission to consider that his probation officer has 

indicated that his probation may end in 12 months instead of 36 months if he continues to meet all conditions of 

probation (in which case PETITIONER’S probation would end in March 2016).  For these reasons, 

PETITIONER asks the Commission to grant his application for a salesperson’s license. 

 REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, the applicant’s mother, also proffered testimony.  

REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER wanted the Commission to be aware that her son and his ex-wife went 

through a “nasty” divorce where her son was deceived by his ex-wife several times during the process.  In 

addition, she wanted the Commission to know that her son’s ex-wife was also charged with a crime because of 

another incident involving her son and his ex-wife’s father.  She stated that her son’s convictions are a result of 

the bitterness between her son and his ex-wife and her son’s drinking.  She asked the Commission to consider that 

her son has never stalked anyone and to understand that selling motor vehicles is his livelihood.   

                                                                               

results in a felony charge for obstruction of justice. 
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 The Division stated that it denied PETITIONER’S application pursuant to Section 41-3-209(2).  The 

Division indicated that Subsection 41-3-209(2)(b) requires it to deny a license if it finds that “reasonable cause” 

exists to deny the license.  Furthermore, the Division stated that it had “no latitude” to grant a license in this case 

because PETITIONER is still under probation.  The Division referred the Commission to Utah Admin. Rule 

R877-23V-20 (“Rule 20”)
3
 and indicates that pursuant to the rule, there is a “prima facie case” that a person 

should not receive a salesperson’s license if that person is under probation.  For a person who is under probation, 

the Division contends that the burden shifts to that person to show reason to “overrule” the prima facie case.  The 

Division states that if PETITIONER submits an application once his probation ends, the Division would probably 

grant him a license.  Until then, however, the Division indicates that the decision is with the Commission.  The 

Division stated that it submits the case “on that basis.” 

 Section 41-3-209(2)(c) lists a number of violations that constitute “reasonable cause” to deny an 

application for a salesperson’s license.  PETITIONER’S four convictions are not violations specifically 

enumerated in Section 41-3-209(2)(c).  The Commission has, nevertheless, found in prior cases that crimes not 

specifically enumerated in Section 41-3-209(2)(c) may constitute reasonable cause to deny an application for a 

salesperson’s license.
4
  Such a finding is reasonable because the use of the word “includes” in that subsection 

                         

3  Rule 20 became effective on February 9, 2012, and provides, as follows: 

There is a rebuttable presumption that reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a license 

issued under Title 41, Chapter 3 does not include a violation of a state or federal law listed 

under Subsection 41-3-209(2) if the license applicant: 

(1) indicates on the license application that the applicant has been charged with, found in 

violation of, or convicted of a state or federal law listed under Subsection 41-3-209(2); 

(2) has completed any court-ordered probation or parole; 

(3) if the license applicant has entered into a plea in abeyance, met the conditions of that 

plea in abeyance; and 

(4) paid any required restitution and fines.  

4  See USTC Appeal No. 12-2892 (Initial Hearing Order Jan. 10, 2013), in which the Commission stated 

that “the Division is not limited to finding reasonable cause only from the listed violations.  The Division could 

consider other crimes as reasonable cause to deny a license.”  Redacted copies of this and other selected decisions 

can be viewed on the Commission’s website at http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions. 

http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions
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indicates that the list of crimes that follows is not an exhaustive list.  In addition, PETITIONER’S most recent 

convictions were felonies.  Furthermore, the Commission has a responsibility to protect the public, and 

insufficient time has elapsed since PETITIONER’S recent release from jail to show that his drinking problems 

have ended and that he is unlikely to commit future crimes, including future violations of the protective order that 

is in place.
5
  For these reasons, the Commission should find that reasonable cause existed for the Division to deny 

PETITIONER’S application for a license under Section 41-3-209(2)(c). 

Although the Division had reasonable cause to deny PETITIONER’S application, the Commission may 

consider all factors surrounding the applicant’s circumstances before determining whether to grant or deny the 

license.  It does not appear that Rule 20 precludes the Commission from issuing a license to an applicant who is 

on probation because the Commission did so in USTC Appeal No. 12-2888 (Initial Hearing Order Jan. 11, 2013), 

approximately one year after the rule became effective.  Nevertheless, it has been the Commission’s general 

policy not to issue a license to a person under court supervision.  Such a policy is helpful in administering the 

licensure process.  In addition, PETITIONER has only recently been released from jail. The circumstances of this 

case do not warrant an exception to the Commission’s general policy.  For these reasons, the Division’s action to 

deny PETITIONER’S application for a salesperson’s license should be sustained. 

 

 

____________________________________ 

Kerry Chapman 

  Administrative Law Judge 

                         

5  In USTC Appeal No. 12-2892 (Initial Hearing Order Jan. 10. 2013), the Commission denied a 

salesperson license to an applicant who had never had a conviction until he had an altercation with his “now ex-

wife,” after which he was convicted of two 3
rd

 degree felonies (including one for assault), went to jail, and was 

sentenced to three years probation.  The Commission denied this applicant’s request for a license, in part, because 

all convictions were very recent and because he was still on probation and making payments towards a fine the 

court had imposed. 
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 DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the Division’s action and denies PETITIONER’S 

application for a motor vehicle salesperson’s license.  Once PETITIONER completes his probation, he may 

submit a new application for review.  It is so ordered.     

 This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and Order will 

become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed, 

or emailed, to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

or emailed to: 

taxappeals@utah.gov 

 Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.  

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2015. 

 

 

 

 

John L. Valentine   Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Robert P. Pero       Rebecca L. Rockwell 

Commissioner       Commissioner  


