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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on  September 10, 

2015, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-201 et seq. Based upon the evidence and testimony 

presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On or about May 13, 2015 the Petitioner (“Applicant”) submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application. (Exhibit R-1). 

2. Question number two of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been charged 

with, found in violation of, or convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or in any other 

state?” The Applicant checked the box indicating “Yes.” In the space provided, the Applicant 

wrote the following:  

2
nd

 degree felony arrested Dec. 2014 for theft of food & selling out of my car 
when @ COMPANY Plea in abeyance – For 3 years entered Feb 2, 2015.  
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3. Question number three of the application asks, “Are you currently on probation or parole, court 

supervision of any kind, or in a ‘plea an abeyance’?” The Applicant checked the box indicating 

“Yes,” and in response explained that he was paying $$$$$ per month restitution for the next 

three years. 

4. On May 20, 2015, the Respondent (“Division”) issued a letter denying the Applicant a motor 

vehicle salesperson license based on the answers to questions two and three of the application. 

(Exhibit R-1).  

5. The Applicant developed an addiction to prescription pain medication. To support that addiction, 

the Applicant stole food from his employer, COMPANY, and sold it on the side to various food 

carts.  

6. In June of 2011, the Applicant confessed his actions to the police. He had previously confessed to 

his employer, and had lost his job.  

7. The police took no action on his confession until 2014, when the case was filed with the Third 

District Court. On February 2, 2015, the Applicant entered a guilty plea that was to be held in 

abeyance for a period of three years. (Exhibit R-1).  

8. As part of the plea in abeyance, the Applicant is not to use, consume, or possess alcohol or illegal 

drugs; not to associate with any person using, possessing, or consuming alcohol or illegal drugs; 

not to frequent any place where drugs are used, sold, or distributed illegally; submit to breath 

and/or urine testing; refrain from the use of alcoholic beverages; not use, consume, or possess 

alcohol or frequent any place alcohol is the chief item of sale; submit to search of person and/or 

property upon the request of law enforcement officers; violate no laws; pay restitution in the 

amount of $$$$$; complete a substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment; and 

be supervised by AP&P for 36 months. (Exhibit R-1).  

9. The Applicant had previously held motor vehicle salesperson licenses, and stated that he did not 

receive any complaints during that time.  

10. REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER spoke on behalf of the Applicant. He stated that he has 

known the Applicant for a year, and had worked with him at another dealership. He described the 

Applicant as a hard worker who is a good salesman. He believes the Applicant is trying to learn 

from his past and provide for his family. 

11. RESPONDENT acknowledged that the Applicant had previously been granted motor vehicle 

salesperson licenses. He explained the licenses were granted because there were no violations 

listed on the application, and noted that the Division would not have been aware until the 

Applicant was convicted.  
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12. RESPONDENT explained that because it is a felony conviction and because of the amount of 

restitution involved, the Division believes there is reasonable cause to deny the license.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah Code Ann. 

§41-3-209(2), as follows in relevant part: 

(b) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a 

license issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 

license. 
(c) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes, in 

relation to the applicant or license holder or any of its partners, officers, or directors: 

(i) lack of a principal place of business; 

(ii) lack of a sales tax license required under Title 59, Chapter 12, Sales and Use 
Tax Act; 

(iii) lack of a bond in effect as required by this chapter; 

(iv) current revocation or suspension of a dealer, dismantler, auction, or salesperson 
license issued in another state; 

(v) nonpayment of required fees; 

(vi) making a false statement on any application for a license under this chapter or 
for special license plates; 

(vii) a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled substances; 

(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any 
court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any state or federal law 

involving motor vehicles; 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving fraud;  or 
(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense under 

Section 77-41-109; or 

(xii) having had a license issued under this chapter revoked within five years from 
the date of application. 

   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 The Division had reasonable cause to deny the Applicant a salesperson license under Utah Code 

Ann. §41-3-209. Utah Coe Ann. §41-3-209 mandates that a license “shall” be denied, revoked, or 

suspended for reasonable cause. While the statute goes on to enumerate certain violations that constitute 

“reasonable cause,” the Commission has previously held that the list is not exhaustive, and that other 

convictions may constitute “reasonable cause” to deny a salesperson license. 

 In the past, the Commission has considered such factors as the nature of the conviction, passage 

of time since the most recent violation, completion of probation or parole, and payment of all fines and 

restitution in determining whether to issue a salesperson license when the Division has denied the license 

for “reasonable cause.” In this case, the Applicant entered into a plea in abeyance earlier this year, owes a 

significant amount of restitution, and is not scheduled for a review date of the plea in abeyance until 

February of 2018. Based on these factors, the denial of the license should be upheld.    
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  Jan Marshall 

 Administrative Law Judge 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission upholds the denial of a motor vehicle salesperson 

license to the Applicant. It is so ordered.  

 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2015. 
 

 

 

John L. Valentine  Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 

 

 

Robert P. Pero   Rebecca L. Rockwell  
Commissioner      Commissioner       
 

Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302.  A 

Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do 

not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. 

You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance 
with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq. 

  
 
      

 


