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 Petitioner, 
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INITIAL HEARING ORDER  
 

Appeal No.    15-492 

 

Parcel No.  ##### 

Tax Type:      Circuit Breaker   

    Tax Year:      2013 

   

 

Judge:             Phan  

 

Presiding: 

 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 

Appearances: 

 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER 

  REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER 

  REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER 

  REPRESENTATIVE-3 FOR PETITIONER 

 For Respondent:  RESPONDENT-1, Salt Lake County Deputy District Attorney 

  RESPONDENT-2, Salt Lake County Tax Administration 

  

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 Petitioner brings this appeal from the decision of the Salt Lake County Council-Property 

Tax Administration (the “County”) under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1217. The County had denied 

Petitioner 2013 Circuit Breaker property tax relief. This matter was argued before the Utah State 

Tax Commission in an Initial Hearing on August 10, 2015, in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-

502.5.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

  The Counties are authorized to provide Circuit Breaker Property Tax Relief at Utah Code 

Sec. 59-2-1208 as follows: 

(1)(a) Subject to Subjections (2) and (4), for calendar years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2007, a claimant may claim a homeowner’s credit that does not 

exceed the following amounts . . . 
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 The statute specifically defines “claimant” to be the following at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

1202(1)(a): 

“Claimant” means a homeowner or renter who: (i) has filed a claim under this 

part; (ii) is domiciled in this state for the entire calendar year for which a claim 

for relief is filed under this part; and (iii) on or before December 31 of the year 

for which a claim for relief is filed under this part, is: (A) 65 years of age or older 

if the person was born on or before December 31, 1942; (B) 66 years of age or 

older if the person was born on or after January 1, 1943, but on or before 

December 31, 1959; or (C) 67 years of age or older if the person was born on or 

after January 1, 1960. 

 

 

The amount of the credit provided is based on “household income”.  “Household income” 

and “income” are defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1202(5)&(6) as follows: 

(5) “Household income” means all income received by all persons of a household 

in: (a) the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which property taxes are 

due . . . 

(6)(a) 

(i) “Income” means the sum of: (A) federal adjusted gross income as 

defined in Section 2, Internal Revenue Code; and (B) all nontaxable 

income as defined in Subsection (6)(b). 

(ii) “Income” does not include: (A) aid, assistance, or contributions from 

a tax-exempt nongovernmental source; (B) surplus foods; (C) relief in 

kind supplied by a public or private agency; or (D) relief provided under 

this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109. 

 

(b) For purposes of Subsection (6)(a)(i), “nontaxable income” means amounts 

excluded from adjusted gross income under the Internal Revenue Code, 

including:  

 

(i) capital gains; (ii) loss carry forwards claimed during the taxable year 

in which a claimant files for relief under this part,  Section 59-2-1108, or 

Section 59-2-1109; (iii) depreciation claimed pursuant to the Internal 

Revenue Code by a claimant on the residence for which the claimant 

files for relief under this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109; 

(iv) support money received; (v) nontaxable strike benefits; (vi) cash 

public assistance or relief; (vii) the gross amount of a pension or annuity, 

including benefits under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 U.S.C. 

Sec. 231 et seq., and veterans disability pensions; (viii) payments 

received under the Social Security Act; (ix) state unemployment 

insurance amounts; (x) nontaxable interest received from any source; 

(xi)workers’ compensation; (xii) the gross amounts of “loss of time” 

insurance; and (xiii) voluntary contributions to a tax-deferred retirement 

plan.  

  

 A person has the right to appeal the denial of this credit under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1217 

as follows: 
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Any person aggrieved by the denial in whole or in part of relief claimed 

under this part, except when the denial is based upon late filing of claim 

for relief, may appeal the denial to the commission by filing a petition 

within 30 days after the denial. 

 

The law does provide guidance on what constitutes ownership of a residence at Utah 

Code Sec. 59-2-1202(9) as follows: 

For purposes of this Subsection (9), “owned” includes a vendee in possession 

under a land contract or one or more joint tenants or tenants in common.  

 

Utah Admin. Rule R865-9I-34(A) provides how “household” is determined as follows: 

“Household” is determined as follows: 1. For purposes of the homeowner’s credit 

under Section 59-2-1208, household shall be determined as of January 1 of the 

year in which the claim under that section is filed.   

 

DISCUSSION 

Petitioner (“Property Owner”) had timely filed an application to Salt Lake County for the 

2013 Circuit Breaker Property Tax Abatement on the subject property, for which in 2013 she was 

a part owner.  Although originally the County had allowed the abatement, by letter dated October 

30, 2014, the County later denied the request and ordered the County Treasurer to cancel the 

credit and recover the amount. That letter stated, “It has been determined that the claim was 

excessive and, at a minimum, was negligently prepared. Required documentation submitted was 

incomplete. Additional documentation was requested and submitted making the claimant 

ineligible for Circuit Breaker Abatement for 2013.”  The letter informed the Property Owner that 

she had the right to file an appeal to the Utah State Tax Commission and the Property Owner’s 

timely filed appeal was the subject of the hearing. 

The Property Owner had filed the Application for 2013 Tax Abatement indicating that 

she was the only person living at the residence and she filled out the form based solely on her 

own income of $$$$$ as the “household income”.  It was the County’s contention that the 

Property Owner was not the only person residing at the property as of January 1, 2013.  The 

homeowner’s credit provided at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1208 is based on “household income” and 

if the “household income” is over a certain level, the property owner does not qualify. 

“Household income” is defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1202(5) to be income received by all 

persons in the household.  The County points out that Utah Admin. Rule R865-9I-34(A) provides 

that who is in the “household” is determined as of January 1 of the year in which the claim is 

filed.  At the hearing it was not disputed that REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER was 

also living at the residence on January 1, 2013.  He did move from the residence in March of 
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2013,
1
 so was not at the residence most of the year.  However, based on the express provision of 

the rule the County indicated they would have to add REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER 

income to that of the Petitioner and the household income would be too high for the Petitioner to 

qualify for the property tax abatement. The County did provide a copy of REPRESENTATIVE-2 

FOR PETITIONER’s federal return to establish his income.   

A reason that the County had given further review to the Petitioner’s application was that 

another co-owner of the property, NAME-1, had provided a signed and notarized statement to the 

County in which he stated that REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER and his wife, lived at 

the subject property.  It was REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER statement that Petitioner 

did not reside at the subject residence, but that REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER was 

living at the residence.  He stated that Petitioner and REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER 

were divorced.    

At the hearing, Petitioner and other co-owners of the property who attended with her 

stated that REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER statement was fraudulent and there had 

been a dispute regarding ownership of the property that resulted in a court case.  It was the 

position of Petitioner that NAME-1 statement was made as an attempt to get ownership of the 

property.  Petitioner stated that she resided at the property and had throughout 2013. Based on the 

County records provided, the recorder’s office considered Petitioner to have a 16% ownership 

interest in the subject property for the 2013 tax year.  An Order was issued on February 20, 2015 

by the Third Judicial District Court regarding the ½ interest in the property that had at one time 

belonged to NAME-2.  NAME-2 had previously been married to REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR 

PETITIONER and they had ten children together.  NAME-2 signed over her ½ interest in the 

residence to REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER and their ten children.  After the Court 

decision, the County Recorder’s Office no longer listed Petitioner as an owner, but that was not 

effective until 2015.
2
   

After reviewing the information provided at the hearing and the applicable law, the 

County was correct that Petitioner did not qualify for the property tax abatement.  It was actually 

unclear from the hearing whether REPRESENTATIVE-1 FOR PETITIONER lived at the 

property as well, but not disputed that REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER lived at the 

                                                 
1
 REPRESENTATIVE-2 FOR PETITIONER provided a copy of a lease he and his wife had entered into 

for an apartment with a move in date of March 17, 2013, which supported this position.  
2
 The parties discussed that this may be an error based on the fact that the Court’s Order only dealt with the 

½ ownership interest of NAME-2 and did not affect the other ½ interest under which Petitioner had 

acquired her interest.  However, the Court’s order and Recorder change was subsequent to the year at issue 

so are not relevant in this appeal.   
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property as of January 1, 2013 and because of this the “household income” was too high for the 

Petitioner to qualify for the abatement for the 2013 tax year. 

 

   Jane Phan 

   Administrative Law Judge 

 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies this appeal. It is so ordered.    

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

or emailed to: 

taxappeals@utah.gov 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.   

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2015. 

 

 

 

 

John L. Valentine  Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 

 

 

Robert P. Pero   Rebecca L. Rockwell  

Commissioner      Commissioner    
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