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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. 859-1-502.5, on December 17, 2014.

On May 5, 2014, the Auditing Division of the Utah State Tax Commission (“Auditing Division”)
mailed a letter to TAXPAYER (“Petitioner” or “taxpayer”), in which it informed TAXPAYER that the Tax
Commission had no record of his filing a 2009 Utah individual income tax return.

Upon receiving Auditing Division’s letter, TAXPAYER determined that his employer, COMPANY-1
(“COMPANY-1"), had erroneously reported his 2009 wages to STATE-1 instead of Utah. TAXPAYER
explained that in January 2009, he informed COMPANY-1 that he had moved from STATE-1 to Utah.

However, the 2009 W-2 that TAXPAYER originally received from COMPANY -1 showed that the company
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had withheld $$$$$ of STATE-1 income tax and STATE-1 state disability insurance (“SDI””) from his 2009
wages.! Asaresult, TAXPAYER claims that COMPANY-1 failed to change the state to which it reported his
2009 wages. He stated that because of the erroneous 2009 W-2 he received from COMPANY-1 in early 2010,
his accountant prepared 2009 federal and STATE-1 returns for him to file, but not a 2009 Utah return.

To correct COMPANY-1’s error, TAXPAYER had COMPANY -1 issue a revised 2009 W-2 on which
it showed his 2009 wages to be Utah wages instead of STATE-1 wages. The revised W-2, which COMPANY -
1 prepared sometime after May 5, 2014 (after TAXPAYER received Auditing Division’s letter), now shows
that COMPANY-1 withheld $$$$$ of Utah state income tax from the taxpayer’s 2009 wages. On June 4,
2014, TAXPAYER submitted a 2009 Utah income tax return on which he reported Utah withholding in the
amount of $$$$$ and claimed a refund of $$$$$.

On June 23, 2014, the Taxpayer Services Division of the Utah State Tax Commission (“Respondent”
or “Division”) issued a Notice of Expired Refund or Credit (“Notice™), in which it informed TAXPAYER that
the time to claim a refund or credit for the 2009 tax year had expired. The Notice informed the taxpayer that
“Utah law limits the time allowed to claim a refund or credit to the later of three years from the due date of the
return, plus the extension period, or two years from the payment date.”

The Division stated that that the period for claiming a refund or credit of taxes for the 2009 tax year
generally expires on October 15, 2013, which is three years and six months after the original April 15, 2010
due date for a 2009 income tax return. Because the June 4, 2014 date on which the Tax Commission received
TAXPAYER 2009 Utah return occurred more than seven months after this October 15, 2013 deadline, the
Division determined that the Utah law precludes the Tax Commission from issuing a refund or credit for 2009.

At the hearing, however, an alternative statute of limitations period was raised, specifically whether

1 The $$$$$ amount consisted of state income tax in the amount of $$$$$ and SDI in the amount of
$$5$3.

-2-



Appeal No. 14-1531

TAXPAYER June 4, 2014 claim for refund was made within two years of the payment date. TAXPAYER
stated that it was only after Auditing Division’s May 5, 2014 letter that COMPANY'-1 revised his 2009 W-2
and would have paid to Utah the $$$$$ of withholding shown on the revised W-2. As a result, he contends
that the Tax Commission received his June 4, 2014 refund request within two years of the taxes being paid to
Utah. For these reasons, he asserts that his refund request is not barred by the statute of limitations and, thus,
should be granted.

The Division stated that when it issued its Notice denying the refund request, it had not considered the
statute of limitations associated with the date on which the tax was paid. As a result, the presiding officer gave
the Division an opportunity to provide post-hearing information to show whether the $$$$$ of withholding
from COMPANY-1 has been paid to Utah and, if so, when. In addition, the Division was asked to discuss in
its post-hearing submission whether any statutory provisions address when an amount withheld by an
employer, as reported on a revised W-2 form, is considered paid for purposes of the statute of limitations to
request a refund.

On December 23, 2014, the Division submitted a “Memo,” in which it stated that a review of
COMPANY-1’s Utah withholding account for the past four years does not show that it has remitted any
amended returns or made any payments on behalf of TAXPAYER for the 2009 tax year. The Division,
however, stated, as it had at the hearing, that its practice is to treat all withholding credits as having been made
on the due date of the income tax return for the year at issue. In the Memo, the Division stated that it could not
find a statutory reference to support this practice. It further stated that it was unaware of any Commission
decision on the issue. As a result, even though COMPANY-1 has not yet paid to Utah the $$$$$ of tax
reported on the revised W-2, the Division considers the $$$$$ of taxes to have been paid on April 15, 2010

(the due date for a 2009 income tax return) for purposes of the statute of limitations. Because the taxpayer’s
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refund request was not received within two years of this April 15, 2010 date, the Division asserts that the Utah
law precludes a refund from being issued.

On January 19, 2015, the taxpayer submitted a response to the Division’s post-hearing Memo. The
taxpayer referred the Commission to two alternative statutes of limitations found in Utah law and contends that
these two statutes support his position, specifically Utah Code Ann. §859-10-529(12)(a) and 59-12-110.
Section 59-12-110 is a sales and use tax statute concerning bad debt and repossessions that is not applicable to
this case. However, Section 59-10-529(12)(a) is an income tax statute that should be considered further.

The taxpayer contends that because Auditing Division told him he needed to get COMPANY-1 to
change his 2009 W-2 to reflect Utah income and taxes, the revised 2009 W-2 is a “notice of change” for
purposes of Section 59-10-529(12)(a). Because Section 59-10-529(12)(a)(ii) allows a taxpayer two years to
file a refund claim if a taxpayer “is required to . . . report a change or correction that is treated in the same
manner as if the change or correction were an overpayment for federal income tax purposes|[,]” the taxpayer
contends that submitting a revised W-2 form should invoke a new two-year period to claim a refund. Although
Section 59-10-529(12)(a) specifically applies to instances where a change is made to the taxpayer’s federal tax
liability or where a taxpayer is required to file an amended state return, the taxpayer believes that the provision
is close enough to apply to his circumstances.

Finally, the taxpayer stated in his response that the refund should be granted because of “common
sense and the ex post facto doctrine.” He reiterated that as soon as he received the notice from the Tax
Commission and discovered the error on his original 2009 W-2, he had the error corrected and submitted a
Utah return. He stated that prior to his having COMPANY-1 correct its original W-2, he could not have
requested a refund because the W-2 did not show that any Utah taxes had been withheld. The taxpayer did not
explain what the ex post facto doctrine entails and stated that he may be applying the doctrine improperly.

However, he contends that it is “absurd” that the State of Utah “will confiscate money that was transferred to
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them using a Statute with a limitation that had expired before the money was even transferred[.]” He asserts
that the refund should be granted on the basis of “common sense” and because it is “the right thing” to do.

The taxpayer made one additional argument at the Initial Hearing. In case the Commission finds that
the statute of limitations period has expired and that he is not entitled to the $$$$$ refund at issue, the taxpayer
asked the Commission to consider that $$$$$ of the $$$$$ of tax COMPANY -1 originally withheld from his
wages was for STATE-1 SDI (State Disability Insurance), not for income taxes. He asserts that at the very
least, Utah should refund the $$$$$ originally reported as STATE-1 SDI and now reported as Utah income
taxes because Utah does not require SDI to be withheld from wages.

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA 859-10-514 provides for the filing of a Utah individual income tax return, as follows in pertinent

part:

@....
(a) an individual income tax return filed for a tax imposed in accordance with Part 1,
Determination and Reporting of Tax Liability and Information, shall be filed with the
commission:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(a)(ii), on or before the 15th day of the
fourth month following the last day of the taxpayer's taxable year; . . . .

UCA 859-10-516(1) provides that the Commission shall allow an extension of time for filing an
individual income tax return, as follows in pertinent part:

(1) (a) The commission shall allow a taxpayer an extension of time for filing a return.

(b) (i) For a return filed by a taxpayer except for a partnership, the extension under

Subsection (1)(a) may not exceed six months.

UCA §59-1-1410(8) provides the timeframes within which a taxpayer can generally request a refund
or credit of taxes, as follows in pertinent part:

(8) (@) Except as provided in Subsection (8)(b) or Section 19-12-203, 59-7-522, 59-10-529,

or 59-12-110, the commission may not make a credit or refund unless a person files a
claim with the commission within the later of:

-5-



Appeal No. 14-1531

(i) three years from the due date of the return, including the period of any extension
of time provided in statute for filing the return; or
(if) two years from the date the tax was paid.

Section 59-10-529(12)(a) is an alternative statute of limitations concerning the refund or credit of
income taxes, which provides as follows in pertinent part:

(12)(a) A taxpayer may file a claim for a credit or refund of an overpayment within two years
from the date a notice of change, notice of correction, or amended return is required to be
filed with the commission if the taxpayer is required to:

(i) report a change or correction in income reported on the taxpayer's federal income
tax return;

(if) report a change or correction that is treated in the same manner as if the change or
correction were an overpayment for federal income tax purposes; or

(iii) file an amended return with the commission.

(c) The amount of the credit or refund may not exceed the amount of the reduction in tax
attributable to the federal change, correction, or items amended on the taxpayer's
amended federal income tax return.

UCA 859-1-1417(1) provides that the burden of proof is generally upon the petitioner in proceedings
before the Commission, with limited exceptions as follows:

(1) Ina proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:

(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income:
(i) required to be reported; and
(i) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.
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DISCUSSION

Pursuant to Section 59-1-1417(1), the burden of proof in this matter is upon TAXPAYER, not the
Division. Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) provides that a taxpayer is entitled to receive a refund or credit of overpaid
taxes within either of two scenarios. The first scenario involves whether the request was made within three
years from the due date of the return (including any statutory extension). The due date of a 2009 income tax
return, with extensions, is October 15, 2010. Sections 59-10-514 and 59-10-516(1). Three years from this
date is October 15, 2013. As a result, a request for a refund or credit of 2009 taxes must be claimed by
October 15, 2013, to satisfy this scenario. TAXPAYER submitted his refund request on June 4, 2014, which
is after this October 15, 2013 date. Accordingly, TAXPAYER does not qualify for a refund of 2009 taxes
under the first scenario of Section 59-1-1410(8)(a).

The second scenario under Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) involves a determination of whether the refund
request is made within “two years from the date the tax was paid.” TAXPAYER is asking for $$$$$ of the
$$$$$ of Utah withholding that COMPANY -1 reported on the taxpayer’s revised 2009 W-2 to be refunded.
Atissue is whether TAXPAYER June 4, 2014 claim of refund was made within two year from the date the tax
was paid.

Neither party has provided any law or other precedent to show when income taxes withheld from
wages are considered “paid” for purposes of the statute of limitations. However, in USTC Appeal No. 10-0050
(Initial Hearing Order Aug. 19, 2010),? the Commission previously considered an income tax refund case in
which it addressed the statute of limitations and the date that income taxes withheld from mineral production

payments are considered to have been paid.?

2 Redacted versions of this and other selected Commission decisions can be reviewed on the
Commission’s website at http://www.tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
3 Utah Code Ann. 59-6-102(1) provides that “each producer shall deduct and withhold from each

payment being made to any person in respect to production of minerals in this state, but not including that to
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In Appeal No. 10-0050, the petitioners were partners in a partnership that produced minerals in Utah.
The partnership did not file its 2005 Utah partnership return of income, which reflects 2005 Utah source
income and mineral production withholding, until September 30, 2009. In November of 2009, the petitioners
received an original TC-65 (not a revised TC-65) from the partnership, which reflected their share of the 2005
Utah source income and withholding. The petitioners filed their 2005 Utah return within two weeks of
receiving the TC-65. The petitioners argued that they should be treated as having “paid” the withholding on
September 30, 2009, the date the partnership first filed its 2005 Utah return and reported the withholding. If
the Commission had agreed with these petitioners, their December 2, 2009 refund request would have been
made within two years of the payment date, and they would have been entitled to their refund request. But, the
Commission found differently.

In Appeal No. 10-0050, the Division indicated that there is no definition of “paid” in Utah law, but
stated that there were no additional funds remitted by the partnership in 2009 when it filed its return. The
Division’s position was that payment occurred when the funds were deposited with the State of Utah, which it
believed to have occurred in either 2005 or 2006.* The Commission concluded that “[t]he only reasonable
interpretation of when tax is ‘paid’ is when it is received by the state.” Based on the withholding payment
being made in 2005 or 2006, the Commission found that the petitioners” December 2, 2009 refund claim was
made more than two years after the payment was received by the State of Utah. As a result, the Commission

denied the refund claim.

which the producer is entitled, an amount equal to 5% of the amount which would have otherwise been
payable to the person entitled to the payment.” Utah Code Ann. 59-6-104(1) provides that “[t]o the extent the
following are consistent with this chapter, the commission shall administer this chapter in accordance with . ..
Chapter 10, Part 4, Withholding of Tax.” Accordingly, Appeal No. 10-0050 appears applicable to the
withholding taxes at issue in the instant appeal.

4 The Division’s position in the instant case appears to be different because it asks for reported
withholding to be considered “paid” on the date that the taxpayer’s return was due for the tax year at issue.

-8-—



Appeal No. 14-1531

There are some similarities and some differences between Appeal No. 10-0050 and the instant case. In
both cases, the taxpayers received a tax document on which Utah withholding was reported. In both cases, the
taxpayers did not receive either the original or revised tax document until several years after the tax year at
issue. However, the cases are different because it was determined that the partnership in Appeal No. 10-0050
remitted the taxes to the State of Utah at least three years before the refund claim was made. In contrast, in the
instant case, the Division indicates that COMPANY -1 has not yet remitted TAXPAYER taxes to the State of
Utah. In accordance with the Commission’s ruling in Appeal No. 10-0050, TAXPAYER taxes have not been
“paid” because they have not yet been remitted to the State of Utah. If TAXPAYER income taxes have not yet
been paid, then it seems illogical to find that TAXPAYER made his refund request more than two years after
the date of payment, as the Division contends. As a result, the Commission should not find that the statute of
limitations to claim a refund under the second scenario of Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) has expired.

If the Commission finds that statute of limitations (under the second scenario of Section 59-10-
1410(8)(a)) has not expired, the Commission must still consider if a refund should be issued at this time. One
option would be for the Commission to deny TAXPAYER refund request at the current time because no taxes
have yet been paid to Utah. If these taxes have not yet been paid to Utah, Utah has not received anything to
refund. However, under this option, if COMPANY -1 were to later pay the taxes to Utah, TAXPAYER would
have two years from the date of the payment to resubmit his refund request.

A second option would be for the Commission to grant TAXPAYER refund request at this time.
Then, the Tax Commission could approach COMPANY -1 to collect the taxes that they reported to Utah on
TAXPAYER revised 2009 W-2. This second option seems preferable for several reasons. First, the
Commission is aware that the Tax Commission generally approaches an employer, not the employee, to collect
income taxes that the employer withheld from an employee’s wages (and reported on the employee’s W-2) but

did not remit to the State of Utah. This appears to be consistent with Section 59-10-402(3), a withholding tax
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statute that provides that “[t]he amount withheld under this section shall be allowed to the recipient of the
income as a credit against the tax imposed by this chapter.”

Second, the Division has not explained why its position in the instant case is different from its position
in Appeal No. 10-0050. If the Division believes that its prior position and the Commission’s acceptance of itin
Appeal No. 10-0050 are incorrect, it should explain why. Until then, Appeal No. 10-0050 suggests that the
statute of limitations period found in Section 59-1-1410(8)(a) has not expired in regards to the taxpayer’s 2009
refund request because the request has not been made more than two years after the tax was paid. As aresult,
TAXPAYER still has a right to request a refund of the taxes shown on his revised W-2. If the Division
believes that the request should be made in the future after COMPANY-1 remits the tax to Utah instead of
being paid at the current time pursuant to 59-10-403(2), it should explain why. Until such explanations are

provided, it seems reasonable to grant the taxpayer’s refund request at the present time. For these reasons, the

Commission should grant the taxpayer’s refund request for the 2009 tax year.’

5 Another withholding tax statute, Section 59-10-406(5)(b)(i), provides that “[i]f an employer pays the
tax required to be deducted and withheld under this part: . . . an employee of the employer is not liable for the
amount of any payment [required to be deducted and withheld.]” The Division, however, did not argue that
this statute is applicable to this case, much less argue that it means that a taxpayer is liable for taxes that an
employer withheld but did not pay. In addition, Division has not indicated that the Tax Commission would
approach TAXPAYER to collect the $$$$$ of Utah taxes reported on the revised W-2 if COMPANY -1 does
not itself remit the taxes to Utah. For these reasons, TAXPAYER refund request should not be denied on the
basis of Section 59-10-406(5)(b).

6 If the Commission grants the taxpayer’s refund request, it need not address the taxpayer’s other
arguments. However, it may be helpful to explain why the taxpayer’s other arguments are not convincing.
First, the alternative statutes of limitations to which TAXPAYER referred in his post-hearing document do not
appear to apply to this case. Section 59-12-110 is a sales and use tax provision concerning bad debt and
repossessions that is not applicable to income tax cases. Section 59-10-529(12)(c) refers to changes made for
federal income tax purposes and does not address changes that an employer makes to an employee’s W-2 for
state tax purposes. Second, the taxpayer’s “ex post facto” argument is also not convincing. The Commission
has not applied any law that did not exist when the taxpayer made his refund request. Third, the taxpayer’s
argument about SDI funds initially withheld and paid to STATE-1 has no effect on a refund of the taxes
reported on his revised W-2 form. The Commission is aware of no Utah law that requires it to refund taxes
that an employer may have withheld in accordance with another state’s laws.
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Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission overturns the Division’s action and grants the taxpayer’s
request for a refund or credit of taxes for the 2009 tax year. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and Order will
become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request
within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be
mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2015.
John L. Valentine D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner
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