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 STATEMENT OF CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission upon a Request for Reconsideration, received 

October 8, 2013, filed by the representative for Petitioner (Property Owner) asking for reconsideration of the 

Tax Commission's Order Denying Petition to Reconvene Board of Equalization, issued on September 20, 2013 

(“Final Order”).  In the Final Order the Commissions had denied the Property Owner’s request to reconvene 

the County Board for the tax years 2009 through 2012, on the basis that the request had been filed after the 

extended deadline allowed under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1004 and Utah Admin. Rule R884-24P-66.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code §63G-4-302 provides that a party may, within 20 days after the date an order constituting 

final agency action has been issued, file a written request for reconsideration.  

Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-29(3) provides that a party may file a written request for 

reconsideration "alleging mistake of law or fact, or the discovery of new evidence."  Under this rule, the Tax 

Commission may exercise its discretion in granting or denying a Petition for Reconsideration and generally 

will not reconsider based on evidence that could, with due diligence, have been discovered and produced to be 

considered in the Final Decision. 

Utah Code §59-2-1004(2) provides that the time to file an appeal to the county board of equalization is 

generally September 15
th
 of the year at issue, as set forth below in pertinent part: 

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), for purposes of Subsection (1), a taxpayer shall 
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make an application to appeal the valuation or the equalization of the taxpayer’s real 

property on or before the later of: 

(i) September 15 of the current calendar year; or 

(ii) The last day of a 45-day period beginning on the day on which the county auditor 

mails the notices under Section 59-2-919.1. 

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (2)(a), in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 

Administrative  Rulemaking Act, the commission shall make rules providing for 

circumstances under which the county board of equalization is required to accept an 

application to appeal that is filed after the time period prescribed in Subsection (2)(a). 

 

 The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R884-24P-66 to establish the circumstances 

under which a county board of equalization may accept an appeal that has been filed after the statutory 

deadline, as follows in relevant part:   

(13) Except as provided in Subsection (15), a county board of equalization shall accept an 

application to appeal the valuation or equalization of a property owner’s real property that 

is filed after the time period prescribed by Section 59-2-1004(2)(a) if any of the following 

conditions apply: 

(a) During the period prescribed by Section 59-2-1004(2)(a), the property owner was 

incapable of filing an appeal as a result of a medical emergency to the property owner 

or an immediate family member of the property owner, and no co-owner of the 

property was capable of filing an appeal. 

(b) During the period prescribed by Section 59-2-1004(2)(a), the property owner or an 

immediate family member of the property owner died, and no co-owner of the 

property was capable of filing an appeal. 

(c)  The county did not comply with the notification requirements of Section 59-2-919.1. 

(d)  A factual error is discovered in the county records pertaining to the subject property.  

(e)  The property owner was unable to file an appeal within the time period prescribed by 

Section 59-2-1004(2)(a) because of extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances 

that occurred during the period prescribed by Section 59-2-1004(2)(a), and no co-

owner of the property was capable of filing an appeal.  

(14) Appeals accepted under Subsection (13)(d) shall be limited to correction of the factual 

error and any resulting changes to the property’s valuation. 

(15) The provisions of Subsection (13) apply only to appeals filed for a tax year for which the 

treasurer has not made a final annual settlement under Section 59-2-1365. 

 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

The representative for the Property Owner states the request is based on “new information that has 

come to my attention.”  However, part of the new information was that there were several additional parcels 

similarly situated that he wanted added to this appeal.  The three parcels that are the subject of this appeal had 

been assessed as Greenbelt under the Farmland Assessment Act for many years.  The representative indicated 
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that they were removed from Greenbelt but did not specify when that occurred.
1
  The representative did 

provide that the Property Owner had told him for the 2010 tax year he had appealed a different parcel to the 

County Board of Equalization, and during a meeting with the County for that appeal had raised the concern 

that the subject parcels were overvalued. The Property Owner reported to the representative that he was told, 

“Since you are currently in Greenbelt status and are paying the reduced rate for Agricultural use, it is better to 

let sleeping dogs lie, and I would recommend that you not appeal this at this time but appeal the higher 

valuation at the time that you become subject to higher taxes.”
2
 This was offered as the reason that the Property 

Owner had not filed valuation appeals for the years at issue.  However, this conversation would not have 

explained why no appeal was filed for 2009, and very likely occurred after the September 15, 2010, deadline to 

file an appeal for 2010.   

The law makes property owners responsible for raising objections to property tax valuations in an 

appeal with the county within the time frame outlined in Utah Code Section 59-2-1004, which is generally 

September 15, of each tax year at issue. Section 59-2-1004 of the Utah Code and Utah Administrative Rule 

R884-24P-66 establish the circumstances under which a County Board of Equalization may accept an appeal 

that has been filed after the statutory September 15, deadline, but provide only an extended deadline until 

March 31, of the year following the tax year at issue.  As stated by the Commission in its Final Order, there are 

no statutory provisions that would allow the County Board of Equalization to reconvene to hear a valuation 

appeal filed after the extended deadline of March 31 of the following year.  The representative for the Property 

Owner cites no statutory authority or case law in support of its request.  This is a provision that the Tax 

Commission has heard on numerous occasions and has consistently denied requests to reconvene filed after the 

extended March 31 deadline.  The Property Owner has not provided basis for the Board of Equalization to 

accept the late filed appeal for the subject parcels,
3
 nor that would provide basis for reconsideration of the 

                         

1 The County’s action in removing a property from Greenbelt Assessment is 

appealable to the County Board of Equalization under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

506(11).  A property owner has 45 days from the day on which the County 

Assessor mails the notice to file an appeal of that action. In this case it 

does not appear that the Property Owner contested the removal from Greenbelt. 

  

2 Request for Reconsideration, pg. 2. 

3 The Property Owner has now requested additional parcels be added to this 

appeal.  He would have to file a Request to Reconvene for the additional 

parcels, however, there is no indication that the decision from that request 

would be any different from the decision in this matter.  
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Commission’s Final Order.4       

Based upon the foregoing, it is the decision and order of the Utah State Tax Commission that the 

Request for Reconsideration is denied.  It is so ordered. 

 

                         

4 As the Commission had previously noted in its Final Order, the Property 

Owner may want to consider the provisions at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1347 that in 

some cases allow the Utah County Commission to make an adjustment or deferral. 

However, to apply under that Section, the Property Owner would have to file 

his request directly with the Utah County Commission and a decision from the 

Utah County Commission is not appealable to the Utah State Tax Commission.  

DATED this _____ day of ____________, 2013. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

Michael J. Cragun   Robert P. Pero 

Commissioner    Commissioner  

 

 

NOTICE:  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order 

pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. 

 
 


