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Presiding:  

 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  

 

Appearances:  
 For Petitioner:  REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, Representative 

 For Respondent:  REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, Assistant Attorney General 

   RESPONDENT, Accounting Supervisor, Division of Motor Vehicles 

    

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on August 6, 

2013.  Petitioner is requesting a refund of the $$$$$ administrative impound fee assessed when a vehicle 

owned by Petitioner was impounded following the arrest of the driver for driving under the influence.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be granted under Utah Code Ann. §41-6a-

1406(6)(c), as follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) shall be waived or 

refunded by the State Tax Commission if the registered owner, lien holder, or owner’s 

agent presents written evidence to the State Tax Commission that: 

(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s driver license 

should not be suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as 

shown by a letter or other report from the Driver License Division presented 

within 30 days of the final notification from the Driver License Division; or 

(ii) the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy of the 

stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of the impoundment. 
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DISCUSSION 

 The representative for Petitioner explained that the vehicle in question had been authorized for 

use by an employee of Petitioner. It was the employee who was authorized to drive the vehicle.  However, 

the employee had allowed another person to drive the vehicle at the time of the impound.  That person 

wrecked the vehicle and was arrested for driving under the influence.  The vehicle was declared a total 

loss due to the wreck. Petitioner also stated that the towing and impound company, COMPANY, told 

them if they surrendered the title to the vehicle to COMPANY the impound fee would be refunded to 

them.  Petitioner did not file a stolen vehicle report with the police regarding the vehicle. 

 The representative for Respondent (“Division”) explained that the fee may be refunded only 

under two circumstances pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 41-6a-1406(6)(c). This would be if the vehicle was 

stolen at the time of the impound as shown by a copy of the stolen vehicle report, or if the Driver License 

Division did not suspend or revoke the license of the driver, and the refund request was filed within 

thirty-days of the final notification from Driver License. 

 Upon review of the information provided in this matter, there is no basis to refund the $$$$$ 

administrative impound fee to Petitioner.  Petitioner had authorized an employee to drive this vehicle, the 

employee let a third person drive the vehicle. Petitioner is still the owner of the vehicle and responsible 

for it ultimately.  Petitioner did not have a police report showing that the vehicle was stolen, nor did 

Petitioner submit a letter from Driver License Division showing that no action had been taken against the 

license of the driver of the vehicle. The Petitioner argues that COMPANY had told them this fee would 

be refunded if they surrendered the title to the towing yard. However, COMPANY has no authority over 

this fee, nor may it make representations on behalf of the Division. The request should be denied.     

 

    _________________________ 

    Jane Phan 

       Administrative Law Judge 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a refund of the impound 

fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 
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request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2013. 

 

 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

Michael J. Cragun  Robert P. Pero 

Commissioner      Commissioner   
  

 

 

 


