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Presiding:

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge
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For Petitioner: TAXPAYER
For Respondent:  RESPONDENT, Manager, Income Tax Auditing

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on March 18, 2014, for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5. Petitioner (Taxpayer) has appealed

audit deficiencies issued for tax years 2006, 2007 and 2008. Petitioner had not filed returns for

these years and the audits were based on the information that Respondent (Division) had been

able to obtain for these years. The Notices of Deficiency and Estimated Income Tax had been

issued on January 22, 2013, for each of the years at issue. The amounts of the deficiency as

stated in the Notices are as follows:
Year Tax Interest Penalties Total®
2006 3553 3553 $5$$$ $5$$$

1 This is the interest amount as of the date of the Notice of Deficiency. Interest continues to accrue on the

unpaid balance.

2 This is the total as of the date of the Notice of Deficiency. Because interest continues to accrue the

current amount due will be higher.
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2007  $$3%$ $558$ $558$ $558$
2008  $$3%$ $558$ $55$$ $55$$

APPLICABLE LAW
State taxable income is defined in Utah Code §59-10-104(1) (2008)° as follows:

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, a tax is imposed on the
state taxable income of a resident individual as provided in this section.

The Division has authority to issue assessments under Utah Code §59-10-527(1) as
follows:

The commission shall make the inquiries, determinations, and assessments of all
taxes (including interest, additional amounts, additions to the tax, and assessable
penalties) imposed by this chapter or former chapters imposing income tax.

Utah law requires that returns are filed at Utah Code Sec. 59-10-502 as follows:
An income tax return with respect to the tax imposed by this chapter shall be filed by:

(1) every resident individual, estate, or trust required to file a federal income tax
return for the taxable year; and

(2) every nonresident individual, estate, or trust having federal gross income
derived from sources within the state for the taxable year and required to file
a federal income tax return for such taxable year.

The Commission has been granted the discretion to waive penalties and interest. Utah
Code 859-1-401(13) provides:

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the
commission may waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest
imposed under this part.

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 to provide
additional guidance on the waiver of penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Interest. Grounds for waiving interest are
more stringent than for penalty. To be granted a waiver of interest, the
taxpayer must prove that the commission gave the taxpayer erroneous
information or took inappropriate action that contributed to the error.

(3) Reasonable Cause for Waiver of Penalty. The following clearly documented
circumstances may constitute reasonable cause for a waiver of penalty:

(@) Timely Mailing...

(b) Wrong Filing Place...

(c) Death or Serious Illness...
(d) Unavoidable Absence...
(e) Disaster Relief...

3 Although there were small revisions, the code provisions were not substantially different for all
of the years at issue in this appeal.
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(f) Reliance on Erroneous Tax Commission Information...
(g) Tax Commission Office Visit...

(h) Unobtainable Records...

(i) Reliance on Competent Tax Advisor...

(i) First Time Filer...

(k) Bank Error...

(I) Compliance History...

(m) Employee Embezzlement...

(n) Recent Tax Law Change...

Utah Code Ann. 859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the
burden of proof is on the petitioner...”

DISCUSSION

The Taxpayer acknowledged that he had not been very responsible regarding things like
filing returns prior to 2006 and for the audit years at issue in this case. He was a Utah resident for
the years at issue. He had been working as a project manager for landscaping businesses during
the audit years and he indicates that he was generally working out in the field. He did not file
returns for the tax years 2006 through 2008. After receiving the audit deficiencies for these years
he was unable to find W-2’s or other proof of withholding for the years at issue. He did not file
returns for these years prior to the hearing, but at the hearing had submitted forms for each of the
years on which the amounts were penciled in. However, these were not completed forms and
were not signed by the Taxpayer.

In 2006 the Taxpayer had been working for BUSINESS-1. The Division was not able to
find any evidence of withholding for the Taxpayer by BUSINESS-1. For the year 2007 the
Taxpayer had worked for BUSINESS-1, had received unemployment and worked for a new
company, BUSINESS-2. For 2008 the Taxpayer had worked for BUSINESS-2. The Division
had found withholding for the Taxpayer recorded by BUSINESS-2 and had given the Taxpayer
credit for that withholding for 2007 and 2008. The Taxpayer argued at the hearing that if
BUSINESS-1 was not responsible about doing their due diligence then it was unfair that he was
now being held responsible for that company's actions and being charged penalties and interest.

The Taxpayer also explained that there were some extenuating circumstances that
occurred during the years at issue. His wife had been diagnosed with cancer in 2007 or 2008 and
had gone through chemo therapy treatments. Then in January 2009 the Taxpayer had triple by-
pass surgery. These medical issues had made it difficult to file returns. The Taxpayer explained
that after that time he was trying to be more responsible about filing returns.

The Division’s representative explained that as a Utah resident the Taxpayer is subject to
tax on his income under Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104. He also pointed out that under Utah Code
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Sec. 59-10-502 and 514 the Taxpayer was required to file Utah Individual Income Tax Returns
for each year by the April 15 deadline. The Division had calculated the tax amount based on the
income reported by the Internal Revenue Service and then had allowed the Utah withholding that
it had been able to find reported for the Taxpayer for the years 2007 and 2008. The Division
provided for the hearing the IRS transcripts which supported the amount of the federal adjusted
gross income in the audits for each of the tax years. The Division explained the discrepancies
between the federal transcripts and the amounts penciled in on the returns offered by the
Taxpayer. For the 2007 tax year the Taxpayer’s return did not include wages from BUSINESS-1
or unemployment compensation. These sources of income had been included by the IRS in the
federal adjusted gross income. There was no information from the Taxpayer that he had a
different amount of federal adjusted gross income for these years.

Regarding the penalties and the interest, the Division requested that they be upheld. The
Division’s representative noted that this Taxpayer had a poor account history. Prior to the tax
years at issue he had not filed returns and then he continued to not file during the audit years.
The Taxpayer had filed a 2011 return, but then not filed a 2012 return. The representative pointed
out that under Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-42 the Taxpayer would have to establish that there
had been a Tax Commission employee error that resulted in the late payment and in this matter it
was the Taxpayer that had failed to file returns and pay the tax that caused the late payment.

Upon reviewing the facts and the law, it is the Taxpayer that was responsible for filing
tax returns for each of the audit years and providing the withholding information. This was not
his employer’s responsibility. It is the Taxpayer’s failure to file and pay that has led to this audit
and the fact that the Division now has no information regarding withholding for the 2006 tax
year. Had the Taxpayer filed the 2006 return when it was supposed to be filed he would have
been able to establish withholding if there was any. Regarding waiver of the penalties, as noted
by the Division, the account history does not support waiver. Medicinal issues as serious as
cancer and triple by-pass often are cause for waiver in situations where the taxpayer has been
filing returns and then returns are not filed timely during the time the medical issues were
occurring, but then the taxpayer filed the returns within a reasonable period after the condition
was resolved. In this case although these medical conditions were understandably difficult, the
account history does not support that the failure to file was due to the medical issues because the
Taxpayer acknowledged he was not filing returns in the years prior and he did not file the returns
for the audit years after the medical situations were resolved. As noted by the Division, cause for

waiver of interest would be a Tax Commission error and none has been shown in this case.
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Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies the Taxpayer’s appeal of the audit

deficiencies for the tax years 2006 through 2008. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2014,
R. Bruce Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.
The Taxpayer may contact the Taxpayer Services Division at 801 297-7703 to discuss
financial hardship options or set up a monthly installment plan.
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