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STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner (“Property Owner”) bring this appeal from the decision of the Salt Lake

County Board of Equalization (“the County”) under Utah Code §59-1-1006. This matter was
argued in an Initial Hearing on December 5, 2013, in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5.
The issue presented at the hearing was whether the subject property should receive the primary
residential exemption for the 2012 tax year. The County had denied the exemption for the subject
property.
APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code § 59-2-103 (2012) provides for the assessment of property, as follows:

(1) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed
and taxed at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as
valued on January 1, unless otherwise provided by law.

2 Subject to Subsections (3) and (4), beginning on January 1, 1995, the fair
market value of residential property located within the state shall be reduced by



Appeal No. 13-648

45%, representing a residential exemption allowed under Utah Constitution
Article XI11, Section 2.

(3) No more than one acre of land per residential unit may qualify for the
residential exemption.

(@) (2) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b)(ii), beginning

on January 1, 2005, the residential exemption in Subsection (2) is limited to one
primary residence per household.

Household is defined by statute at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-102(18)(a)(2012)" as follows:

@) For purposes of Section 59-2-103: (i) “household” means the association
of persons who live in the same dwelling, sharing its furnishings, facilities,
accommodations, and expenses; and (ii) “household includes married individuals
who are not legally separated, that have established domiciles at separate
locations within the state.

DISCUSSION

The Property Owner argues that the subject property should receive the primary
residential exemption for the 2012 tax year. There was not a significant dispute of facts in this
case and instead the parties present a question of the application of Utah Code § 59-2-103(2)
allowing for a primary residential exemption and the limitation at Utah Code § 59-2-103(4) that
there is only one primary residential exemption allowed per “household”. “Household” is
specifically defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-102(18) to mean “the association of persons who live
in the same dwelling, sharing its furnishings, facilities, accommodations, and expenses; and (ii)
“household” includes married individuals who are not legally separated, that have established
domiciles at separate locations within the state (emphasis added).” In this matter the Property
Owner and his spouse each have their own primary residence. For the Property Owner that is at
the Salt Lake County residence. His spouse’s primary residence was in STATE-1.

The Property Owner has owned or been a trustee of his residence in Salt Lake County,
that is the parcel at issue in this appeal, for 21 years and it has been his primary residence for all
of this time. He has filed Utah resident returns for all these years up through the 2012 tax year
and has worked in Utah. He has a Utah driver license. There was no dispute that he used the
address for the Salt Lake County residence on these items and there was no dispute that the
residence was his primary residence for the 2012 tax year. For much of the 21 year period, the
Property Owner’s spouse and children had resided at the Utah residence with him. However,
prior to the 2012 tax year, the spouse moved to STATE-1 and established a residence in that state
which she considers as her primary residence. In addition, STATE-1 has a similar property tax

exemption for properties that are a primary residence and PETITIONER’S SPOUSE is receiving

! This site is the 2012 version of the Utah Code, this subsection was renumbered in 2013, but no revisions
were made to the section.
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the exemption on that property. The County’s representative had contacted NAME OF
COUNTY in STATE-1 where her residence is located and confirmed that her property is
receiving a similar exemption in that state. The County did provide an email from NAME OF
COUNTY and tax assessment information. Both properties have identical ownership, which is a
family trust.

PETITIONER and PETITIONER’S SPOUSE are married and not legally separated.
Their children are college age and they do not have minor children residing with either spouse.
One of the children was 21 years old and attending college in STATE-2. That child has a
STATE-2 driver license and is a resident of that state. The second child had graduated from
HIGH SCHOOL, had a Utah Driver License and was 19 years old during the year in question.
She was attending UNIVERSITY in STATE-1. However, the Property Owner stated that she was
not receiving STATE-1 resident tuition as she was considered a non resident of that state based
on the Property Owner’s residency.

Utah Code § 59-2-103(2) and Utah Code 8§ 59-2-103(4) make it clear that the primary
residential exemption under Subsection 103(2) is limited to one per “household”. The exemption
has been specifically written at Utah 8Code 59-2-102(18) to be limited to one exemption per
married couple within the state, as it says, “(ii) “household” includes married individuals who are
not legally separated, that have established domiciles at separate locations within the state
(emphasis added).” It is clear then, that if PETITIONER had his primary residence in Salt Lake
County and PETITIONER’S SPOUSE had a separate primary residence but also within Utah,
they would only be allowed to receive the exemption for one of their residences.” The Property
Owner argues, however, that the limitation of one primary residence per household does not
apply to them because they have not established two separate domiciles “within the state” and
instead have only one domicile per household “within the state” and one domicile without the
state.

The Commission is unaware of a prior Commission appeal decision with the fact pattern
that one domicile was within Utah and one outside the state for purposes of the primary
residential exemption and there was no case law directly on point. The County submitted an
Opinion Letter from NAME, Deputy District Attorney, Civil Division, in which NAME opined
that the exemption should be denied for the subject property. He noted that there is not a statute

on point. He states in his opinion letter:

% See Tax Commission Initial Hearing Order Appeal No. 12-2626 (2013). This and other prior Tax
Commission decisions may be found in a redacted format for review by the parties at
tax.utah.gov/commission-office/decisions.
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It is clear from the statute that a husband and wife that have established different

domiciles within the state do not qualify for the residential exemption. It is not

clear from the statute whether the same principle applies to a husband and wife that

have established different domiciles in different states. Arguably, the legislative

policy of granting only one residential exemption to a husband and wife should

apply the same for a husband and wife who live in different states. There does not
appear to be any reasonable basis to conclude otherwise. At minim, it is not clear
whether the legislature envisions this situation or how the legislature would address

this situation.

NAME, goes on to cite Parker v Quinn, 64 P. 961 (Utah 1901) for the position that when
an owner claims that property is exempt the burden is on the property owner to show that it falls
within the exemption. In that case the Court had held, “The presumption is that all exemptions
intended to be granted were granted in express terms. In such cases the rule of strict construction
applies. . .”

Although the County sites to a very old case, the position that tax exemption statutes are
strictly construed against the taxpayer has been continuously upheld. The Property Owner noted
more recent cases on statutory construction in his letter dated November 1 2013, on the point
that tax exemption statues are strictly construed. The Property Owner argues if you strictly
construe the statutes at issue the Commission must allow him the exemption for the subject
property, noting that the statute “does not say, established domiciles at separate locations,” but

rather, “established domiciles at separate locations within the state.” He points out that it must

be assumed that the legislature intended every word they said and questioned why they would add
“within the state” if they intended this limitation to apply to married couples who had separate
domiciles within and without the state.

In this case the County is arguing that the Legislature must have meant to treat married
couples with two separate primary residences within the state the same as married couples with
two primary residences on within, and one without the state. However, this assumption requires
the Commission to ignore the fact that the Legislature added the phrase “that have established
domiciles at separate locations within the state” to Utah Code 59-2-102(18)(a)(ii). Had it been
the intent of the legislature that both sets of married couples be treated equally, this would have
been accomplished by ending the phrase with “that have established domiciles at separate
locations.” Furthermore, Subsection 103(4)(a), providing the limitation of one per household,

says “the residential exemption in Subsection (2) is limited to one primary residence per

® The Property Owner cites Macfarlane v Utah State Tax Comm’n, 2006 UT 25, and many of the cases that
are cited therein.
* Property Owner’s letter dated November 1, 2013, pg. 2.
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household.” In this case there is only one exemption under Subsection (2) being requested. The
STATE-1 property is receiving the exemption under some other state code and section.

The County’s argument is not supported by the Court’s decisions regarding statutory
interpretation. The Commission notes that the Utah Supreme Court held in Ivory Homes, Ltd v.
Utah State Tax Comm’n, 2011 UT 54, prg. 21, the following:

“When interpreting statutory language, our primary objective is to ascertain the

intent of the legislature. To discern legislative intent, we first look to the plain

language of the statute. “We presume the legislature used each word advisedly

and read each term according to its ordinary and accepted meaning.” However,

“our plain language analysis is not so limited that we only inquire into individual

words and subsections in isolation; our interpretation of a statute requires that

each part of a section be ‘construed in connection with every other part or section

S0 as to produce a harmonious whole. (Internal Cites Omitted)”

Because the limitation of each spouse having a separate domicile “within the state”
does not apply to the Property Owner, he is not restricted from receiving the exemption on his
Utah primary residence under Utah Code 59-2-102(18)(a)(ii), due to his wife having a primary
residence in another state. Additionally, it is noted that he is claiming only one exemption under
Subsection (2). The Commission considers all the provisions of Utah Code 59-2-103 and 59-2-
102(18) as a whole. The Property Owner’s primary residence is subject to property tax under
Utah Code Sec. 59-2-103(1), unless it is exempt. Subsection 59-2-103(2) provides the exemption
for a primary residence. It was not disputed that the Salt Lake County property was, in fact, the
Property Owner’s primary residence and place of domicile. Subsection 103(4) limits the primary
residential exemption to one per “household”. Sec. 59-2-103(18)(a) provides two separate
provisions of what would be a “household”. Subsection 103(18)(a)(i) provides a ““household”
means the association of persons who live in the same dwelling, sharing its furnishings, facilities,
accommodations, and expenses . . .” The Property Owner, according to the undisputed facts,
lived alone at his Utah residence, he was a household of one, as are many people who receive this
exemption. Based on the undisputed facts, PETITIONER’S SPOUSE did not live in the
residence, or share its furnishings facilities or accommodations. There was no information
regarding expenses, but the Property Owner was employed and had income which he claimed on
Utah returns. Under this subsection, with the Utah property being PETITIONER’S primary
residence and PETITIONER comprising a household of one, he would qualify for the exemption
because PETITIONER has only the one exemption per his “household”. Subjection
102(18)(a)(ii) adds the additional restriction to the definition of the term “household,” regarding
married couples with domiciles at separate location within the state. They are considered to be

one household, and so would get only one exemption. Married individuals who have separate
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domiciles, one in Utah and one outside Utah, are not automatically deemed a “household” under
this subsection, but could be based on the facts and circumstances under Subjection 102(18)(a)(i).
The facts and circumstances do not show that the Property Owner and PETITIONER’S SPOUSE
were a household under Subjection 102(18)(a)(i). Therefore, the Property Owner is entitled to the

primary residential exemption for the subject property.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds the subject property is entitled to the

primary residential exemption for the 2012 tax year. The Salt Lake County Auditor is hereby
ordered to adjust its records accordingly. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2014,
R. Bruce Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner



